Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1076 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 4/14/2008 4:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this so tried it out after hearing all the raves and hype about mineral products.

It doesn't really feel any different from regular powders, although I would think you have to be pretty light-skinned in order for it not to look a little ashy. And I was disappointed at how it gave this weird shimmering off-white look - I don't know about everyone else here but I'm not a fan of having shimmer ALL OVER MY FACE. It just looked...strange in photos.



on 4/12/2008 9:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

cannot live without this!! i use pur minerals instead of BE b/c i'm a klutz, and i will probably spill BE's loose powder at some point. however, a friend highly recommended mineral veil b/c i have a shiny t-zone. i buff mineral veil over my foundation, and it words like a charm. (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2008 4:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Ok..well I got this product in the BE starter pack. And, it is the ONLY thing of BE's that I repurchased. I remember when I first put it on, I was like *WOW* - it really does give me that airbrushed finish. However, now that I have been using it for awhile, I forget what it does. I just know that I feel naked without it. I guess I have just gotten use to the product. But, at 25.00 usd I will keep repurchasing (even though it is a bit expensive!) Can anyone tell me if this product is actually GOOD for your skin? Point being...I don't think I could go without it because it just gives my skin that extra ooomph.


on 4/7/2008 11:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A good dependable finishing powder (I use it over my liquid foundations). Easy to find online.


on 4/5/2008 4:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think with all these BE products there is a bit of a learning curve (or at least for me there is...and judging from some reviews others seem to have the same problem as me). This product won't help you if you use the wrong color foundation (as I did when I first got my starter kit). I initially thought the whole line was going back because everything was awful looking. But then I took it a little easier when applying and now that I know what I'm doing I like it a lot. Actually, I think I positively glow. :)
I don't have oily skin, so I put just a little on after my foundation and all-over face color, and I think it sets it nicely. I don't use very much, so my jar is going to last me a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2008 11:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I swapped away all my Mineral Veil because I found something that does not cause comedones or clogged sweat glands and works much better for a tiny fraction of the price, and that is Arrowroot Powder or Maranta arundinacea...please read my reviews of this under the Unlisted Brand! Arrowroot powder can also be used as a primer, much like Rice Powder, which is another cheaper and better-performing option. Will never repurchase this product as a result of finding Arrowroot Powder! Also, I am one of the people who has had an adverse reaction to BE Mineral Veil. I have had to have four comedones/obstructed sweat glands removed by a physician as a result of using this BE Mineral Veil.


on 4/4/2008 2:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i don't like BE but i do like the mineral veil. it does in fact keep oil and shine in check while setting your mmu. it works well, but there are other mmu setting/finishing powders of better quality and better price.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Mineral Veil is really soft and fine and okay when you brush a little bit on bare skin. But one day I decided to use it over my usual liquid foundation (Revlon Colorstay) that matches my skintone pretty well and it turned a horrible orange. It is translucent in the jar I have no idea why it happened but it was pretty bad. I had to bronze down to my neck and chest and I still felt really uncomfortable with my orange face. Another thing, I don't know why you need to put a powder over powder foundation. It seems to me you brush off what you just put on little bit. So I won't be buying this again, no use for it. I'll probably give it to my mother or gramma.


on 3/31/2008 5:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't really get the purpose of the mineral veil. I don't really see a difference once it's put on but i do apply it before i put on the Bare Minerals foundation. Some people have tolled me to put it on before, NOT AFTER, if you have oily skin so that it will make it less oily. I don't really see that happening. I truly cannot see a difference in my skin with this product, in the video it said that you can use as much of this product as you would like as opposeed to the minerals foundations. But no matter how little or how much i used there is no effect.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use alot of the bare minerals line and I love this after I apply my BE primer and before and after my foundation. I also love the fact that you can use it to defuse your blush or warmth if you over apply instead of reapplying everything. I will continue to use the BE line, I love it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top