MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1057 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 mija250 on 7/29/2010 5:04:00 PM more reviews by mija250

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was very disappointed with this foundation. I heard so many good things about MAC products but this one let me down. I really dont have large pores but this foundation made them visible from a mile away! Applying it was kinda tricky as well I learned it looked better when you just use your fingers but since I have combination skin I had to set it with some mineral powder. I guess it does work for some people just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Makeupismyaddiction on 7/28/2010 1:44:00 AM more reviews by Makeupismyaddiction

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If i could I would give a 3.5, its an okay foundation. The coverage is great, and the color choices are amazing of course. It is kinda tricky to apply though. It didnt last as long as I wanted it to. I have combo-oily skin lately and I set it with my Estee Lauder Double Matte powder and I still had some oily spots, which I never have with my EL DW foundation.. so needless to say it wont be replacing my current foundation. But for women with dry skin or normal skin, I think it would work great.. especially for going out just a few hours.

UPDATE: Instead of applying with a sponge, i used my fingers.. looked a lot better. Alone it didnt work as great, but i mixed it with my EL DW and it gave me a dewy look yet i still had full coverage. I used this foundation as a concealer and it covered great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 txgal85 on 7/27/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by txgal85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love this product, and I *did* love the initial finish and look of this foundation. The formula is super-concentrated, so it takes just a tiny bit to provide coverage. The shades were kind of off (why do NC30-42 look the exact same?!?) so I settled for NC25, which was ok, maybe slightly light but not noticable by most.Looked fab when applied with my SK Flat Top brush or Sigma SS 190, but unfortunately this product proved too much for my combo skin and became a greasy, oily mess after 3 hours or so, even when I used primer and set with powder. For dry/very dry skin, this maybe incredible, but anyone normal/combo/oily may wish to steer clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BexiiRolo on 7/27/2010 1:11:00 AM more reviews by BexiiRolo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

overall, this foundation gives me a nice coverage, buildable; but can get cakey, and it doesnt slip and slide all that much. the only downside i find to it is that it smells kind of like playdough... normally the smell wouldnt bother me but when my boyfriend notices it when hes close to my face... it has to be a turn off. Also, the gel based formula is a unique idea, but it leaves my face feeling sticky for up to 3 hrs after application. i spray the body shop vitamin E setting spray on it afterwards so the stickiness isnt as bad. i would definitely repurchase if my MUFE mat velvet + gets too expensive for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sianreya on 7/26/2010 3:57:00 AM more reviews by Sianreya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is dry and flaky all year round which has always been a consistent problem when choosing a foundation.

I visited MAC last week and explained to the MUA that I wanted a foundation suited to my dry flaky skin, with medium coverage and that I wasn't too worried about staying power. She immediately recommended Studio Sculpt and after the had applied it on me I was immediately in love.

I'd imagine this product would be horrible on those ladies with combination - oily skin. On my dry skin this product doesn't feel thick, just creamy and super hydrating. I was also colour matched perfectly (NW15) which obviously went a long way towards my love of this product.

You honestly, honestly only need a pea sized amount for your whole face. I am still playing around trying to find the best brush for this foundation but I am thinking something like the 188 would work well.

I also really like the tube but I imagine it will become frustrating when I am trying to squeeze that last little bit out. I am sure that Back to Mac still applies to packaging that has been cut open though.

Cons: This really isn't long lasting, If i rest my face against my hand for too long or blow my nose the product slides straight off.
I also have hardly noticable pores, yet this product seems to sit in them and they are suddenly extremely, extremely noticable.
Also here in Australia MAC is pretty expensive. This foundation cost $51 from Myers.

However, a perfect colour match and a foundation that does not cling to any flakes and feels so hydrating weighs out all the bad.

One lippy removed for the cons and one lippy withheld for now as my skin has broken out into red irritated patches and I am unsure as to whether this is due to studio sculpt or the new moisturiser I'm using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shbea on 7/21/2010 2:01:00 PM more reviews by shbea

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this on a whim, a little goes a long way. It lasts and lasts throughout the day - even in hight heat and humidity. I have dry skin, that mostly needs evening out and a little concealer now and then on melasma spots. This is a really good foundation that will make your skin look smooth and close to flawless with a more matte finish. LOVE it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Preeti88 on 7/20/2010 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Preeti88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoyed this foundation for the most part. I loved the coverage it gave me and I loved the fact you only need a small pea sized amount to do your whole face. The only thing that really let me down is that this made my acne come back with a vengeance. After reading up on it I realised that Shea butter is one of its ingredients and was clogging my pores as well as leaving me with an oil slick down the sides of my nose. This foundation will last you ages but I would highly recommend for normal/dry skins. I could only use this once a week without it breaking me out in order to use this up. This is one of MAC's better foundations but not its best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jonnycarter on 7/5/2010 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Jonnycarter

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I first purchased this product off the mac website as it explained it was part of the well defined range which was for more hd generation of make-up. It said it was'Long-wearing, water-resistant.' which is what i was looking for in a foundation.
So when i recieved it i had to try it immediately because i was so excited. I applied only a pea size amount onto the whole of my face as most people recommended this was all you needed.It blended really well and gave a perfect high coverage, I was so pleased with it.But as the day went on it started to go oily within 1-2 hours and i had to blot my face several times. I noticed that it transfered and rubbed off quite easily even though it was supposed to be a water resistant long wearing foundation.So id say the coverage and blendability is really good but the resistancy and texture makes it better for more Normal - Dry skins
But overall it is a good foundation but i think not for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cares50 on 7/4/2010 5:47:00 AM more reviews by Cares50

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use this foundation for late fall/winter use. I like the way it covers either using a damp sponge for light to med coverage, or with a foundation brush for full coverage. I do find that it's important to use a very good moisturizer with this product as it does tend to get flaky around nose and chin area - especially where people are using electric heat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bigbang0428 on 6/23/2010 2:53:00 AM more reviews by bigbang0428

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is an okay product.
it does make me break out in little bumps or even whiteheads sometimes, and also it doesn't cover my imperfections by itself, but with a concealor it does, and this foundation matches my skin color SO WELL that i'll continue to use it until i find a better foundation that matches my skin while not clogging my pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products