MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

1146 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.


on 2/22/2011 12:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this foundation, it goes on easily, is full-coverage, and really evens my skin-tone well. I'm a pale chick, being NW15-20, so it's hard to find a foundation that really matches me. The foundation has good staying power, and if you add a mineral finish overtop, it looks pretty darn natural.

However, there are better, less chemical foundations out there that I really prefer. Korres and Tarte both make full-coverage, easily matched choices, and for my money, I'd rather buy those instead. Why does MAC have to put so much cr*p in their makeup? At least there are not parabens in this formula (wouldn't have purchased otherwise), but I will not buy again when there are other, better, options out there.



on 2/21/2011 4:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is actually the best foundation I've ever tried. I would say the coverage is medium-full, and it covered up all my blemishes and acne scarring. :) It lasts all day on my face with no transfer, and it didn't come off until I washed my face, even without primer. It was a TAD oily for my combination skin, but nothing too bad. Best of all, it didn't clog my pores at all. :)


on 2/18/2011 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have always suffered with dry skin on my face and have never had much success when it comes to buying foundation so when I read on the mac site that studio sculpt foundation was a medium to full coverage (which is what I like) and that it was great for dry skin I just couldn't resist. I went into my local mac store and picked up studio sculpt in NC20 along with mac mineralise skin finish natural in light/medium. I apply this with my celina birtwell foundation brush and have found that you hardly have to use any but the coverage is definately buildable so it is suitable for anyone who wants a light to medium or even fuller coverage as it never looks caked on or unnatural. It leaves my skin feeling so soft and although it isn't oily or glittery it gives a really nice glow to your face which I've never acheived with any other product. I have heard alot of women refer to a product as their ''holy grail'' but have never found anything I liked very much or got consistant results from but this is definately my holy grail of all the make up I own and I will continue to buy this because it never disappoints me and leaves me feeling really confident in how my skin looks. I haven't had any issues with getting break outs with this and have actually found that my skin looks alot better since I've been using this so even though it is quite pricey I think it is definately worth it for both quality and the fact that it will last a really long time as you only have to use a tiny amount and because of the tube you don't get any waste with it. I can't praise this product enough <3


on 2/17/2011 5:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I generally do not wear liquid foundation because I dislike the shine and too heavy coverage of most foundations. When MAC released the Studio Sculpt gel foundation I wanted to try it. I really like the consistency of this product. It's not runny but nor is it too thick to blend. I use MAC's 109 brush to apply this on my skin in small circular motions blending outwards because my cheeks need the most coverage. I have in the past mixed this with strobe cream to give my skin a more glowy appearance.


This product gives my skin a nice dewy look without looking cakey or heavy. It covers very nicely and evens out my texture. I do have to be certain to blend because it can settle into fine lines. I like the way it makes my skin look. I use NC40 in select sheer pressed powder with a big fluff brush to set the powder.


The packaging is very hygienic. No messy fingers or over pumping to waste product. It comes in a squeeze tube so it allows you to control the amount of application. I use the back of my hand to warm up the product. I like that a little goes a long way. I did not have any issues with oxidation unlike other foundations.


The downside is the color system -- Normally I don't stray from my normal NC40, but this runs a lot lighter so I have to go up a couple shades before I found a match with NC44. It boasts medium to high full coverage with a satin finish. I didn't find this to be completely matte nor too shiny, the satin part sounds about right. I keep it more on the medium side since my skin doesn't need too much coverage. I normally wear MAC's select sheer pressed powder on a daily basis, but I would definitely break this out for a special occasion or a night out when I want to look extra flawless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2011 3:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to foundation. I use this everyday in the winter and I love it! I won't use this in the spring/summer though because it's a pretty thick consistancy. But I love the covarage it gives me. It really does evens out my skintone. I won't repurchase I think because I like to try out new foundations =]


on 2/12/2011 2:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my first ever MAC foundation and was a little treat to myself as I'm a student and it seems that MAC costs way more in the UK than the US!
I was so excited to get this and loved the packaging straight away. Loved the consistency too, felt very luxurious. Happy with coverage, even though it took a LOT of blending to get a natural-looking finish. The downsides come after a few hours after application when your skin starts to resemble an oil slick! For the first time in my life I'm carrying around blotting papers and powder! Yesterday I also noticed, like many reviewers, a bumpy, rough feeling rash on my cheek and chin. Currently trying to get rid of it with face packs, exfoliants, anything I can get my hands on! :(
Think I'll be heading out to try something a little more forgiving on Monday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2011 6:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Im currently using Mac Studio Sculpt SPF 15 in NW25 with MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural Powder in Medium. At first i was reasonably happy with these products but as time has passed i have come to discover that its really nothing special. The foundation is easily transferable to clothes, i find the colour looks a little to dark or orange for my face (the SA seemed to believe i was wrong and the other colour would be too light), it wears off easily in my t-zone throughout the day and by the end of the day i have a moderate coverage everywhere but my t-zone. It cost me $51 which is reasonably expensive for me and a 4hr drive to my nearest MAC Store. I prepare my face properally using a moisturiser and primer and concealer and applying the founation with a brush so maybe my technique could be improved to have a better overall finish of the foundation?? But Overall this foundation is OK but i think ill be trying Estee Lauder Double Wear next (which works out cheaper than this foundation on SNET :) )

EDIT: I hate this foundation. It makes my face oily and it looks awful by half way through the day. Very disapointed.


on 2/3/2011 12:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my FAVORITE foundation ever! Lately my skin has been HORRIBLE and this stuff covers it and give my skin a healthier look and glow ! It looks natural and covers up my redness really well. I'm on my second bottle. Not that I finished the first one, but it was just too dark because I bought that in the summer. I love the its a gel, and it moisturizes my skin. It doesn't dry out my skin or make it look cakey ! I have dry skin and oily t zone but not VERY oily just a little throughout the day. Didn't break me out. My favorite foundation ever. I apply with my fingers for less coverage. And for a more full coverage I use a flat top kabuki. I usually set it with a powder foundation just because my skin has been horrible lately. But when my skin is back to normal I'll probably just apply with fingers for less coverage. I usually set with maybelline mineral foundation. I am NC20 , definitely going to repurchase! BTW, AMAZING coverage but not cakey or looks like you have makeup on. NATURAL and sunscreen is a plus ! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2011 9:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love the texture of this foundation. Leaves my skin dewy and hydrated, when first applied. It's just a shame that this doesn't last :(
After about an hour or so, the foundation has sunk into pores and accentuates lines I didn't know I had! Makes me look tired and ill. Within around 2 and a half hours, it's all come off! The colour is also quite orange, despite being NW15 and can look cakey and drying around my forehead. Really wanted to love this foundation :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2011 8:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my favourite foundation. I had never used a liquid foundation before, and the MA recommended it to me (NW15). I wear the face primer, then I apply this using a foundation brush, and then I stipple it in with my 187 brush. I then set it using the Skinfinish Natural (Light). Although it was a bit of an expensive purchase (considering I bought the powder and primer with it) but I've had it for about eight months, and I can definitely get a few more months out of this product. It's soft and full coverage while not looking cakey or fake. Would definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top