Maybelline • Dream Liquid Mousse • Liquid

rated 3.3(1061 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 dawn26 on 11/15/2010 11:43:00 AM more reviews by dawn26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am surprised by the negative reviews for this foundation. I really like it. It matches my skin perfectly and doesn't make me look like I have makeup on. I have combination skin and seem to have hormonal acne. This doesn't cover all my flaws totally, but I use a concealer for that. I make sure I start with a good moisturizer, then apply this. It goes on like silk. It seems to just even out my skin tone. I love that it has a pump.

The only negative is there is no SPF coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RicheleBarbie on 11/13/2010 1:36:00 AM more reviews by RicheleBarbie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

not for people with oily skin like myself. looks great at first but becomes extremely oily after. I shouldve read the label though, for people with normal/dry skin. which I definitely agree. to finish this up I use it on the weekends but that's about it. I wish it was made for oily skin since I love the light - medium coverage but then I am a little relieved since maybelline tests on animals so i am not supporting that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hinduae on 11/12/2010 3:54:00 AM more reviews by hinduae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

love the pump bottle

i use a pump of light 1 and another of light 2 to get the perfect shade

and use light 2 as a concealer

amazing coverage very buildable non drying needs to be set with loose powder lasts around 10 hours on me love it !

** update ** a bit greasy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachama2 on 11/10/2010 2:05:00 PM more reviews by rachama2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this foundation all up and then bought dream satin mousse because it was on discount. Wish I hadn't because even though I have oily skin, this liquid foundation works better for me. It gives me ok coverage. If I want less coverage I just use one thin layer and if I want more coverage I get some more product on my finger which I apply the foundation with. But if you use more than 1 layer you HAVE to take a tissue or something like that to remove excess and than apply the other layer because if you do it in one step it gets ugly.
Like I said, it works good for my oily skin because it doesn't give me an oily face but a nice glowy finish. I don't think the foundation stays on the entire day though which don't like. But ok. It's very hygenic because of the pump, but that also means I cannot reach for the bottomlayer because it's glass.

Other downpoint is that the foundation leaves on my clothes and stuff...

If you have found your perfect foundation for oily skin that leaves a glowy face tell me! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 starfishh on 11/10/2010 10:16:00 AM more reviews by starfishh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is okay I guess but definetely not the best.

The lightest shade seems to match perfectly in pictures but in real life it seems a bit orangey to me. It has good coverage and isn't cakey but makes my skin feel even oilier.

Also, this foundation contains sodium chloride, which is rated a 5 on a scale of one to five for potential to cause acne on Zero Zits.com. I've had acne the entire time I've been using it, but I don't know for sure if it's the culprit. However, if your skin is oily or acne prone I'd make a point of avoiding products with ingredients that could make your skin worse, just to be safe. If your skin is fine and doesn't break out, this would be a good foundation if you can find a good color match. Otherwise I'd steer clear of this. I'm going to stop using it and see if my skin improves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pixietrixie on 11/8/2010 11:03:00 AM more reviews by pixietrixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is crap, imo. I've had better luck with foundations from the dollar store than this one. There's so much wrong with it I don't even know where to begin. Of course, everyone's skin is different so what doesn't work for me might work for someone else.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nicole33 on 11/7/2010 2:23:00 PM more reviews by nicole33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I would probably give this a better review if the colour selections weren't so terrible. I'm fair and when I tried the Ivory 1 it's too pink and the Ivory 2 is too orange and too dark for me.

The texture is nice andI it blends nicely but I just think I look like an oompa loompa.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rg1991 on 11/6/2010 7:17:00 PM more reviews by rg1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Freakin' love this stuff. I used Nars Sheer Glow before, but never again.
Compared to Sheer Glow, and Revlon's Color Stay, I can see why this is called "liquid mousse". Other foundations feel almost like paint compared to the liquid consistency of this one. Yes, of course it's not a mousse, but it's definitely more workable and blendable which makes it 'fluffy' in a sense. It's weird.
Anyway. What impressed me is how this is the first time I've found a foundation that matches me EXACTLY. I did not have to mix with some other foundation to get the right tone, blah blah blah the everlasting frustration. No, none of that. And I see based on other posts that others are finding the same. Great job Maybelline.
And of course, it has a pump - huge plus.
I have combo skin, so I have some dry areas, and I get a little oily on my nose.
With this foundation, yes I still get a little oily, but not to the point where it's unmanageable and totally disgusting. I'm at the U for about 9 hours a day, of course my skin is going to have some reaction. Girls, just carry some powder with you or some oil absorbing sheets.
Also, one pump is enough. I bet you most of the people that say they could sell their face to the oilsands in Alberta are probably using too much make up. Less is more. Trust me, one pump goes a long way, especially when you've moisturized (if you need to), primed, concealed, applied foundation, then powder.
Overall, awesome foundation. I used to use a brush to apply Nars or Revlon, but with this one, my damn fingers are the best tool.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cecekath00 on 11/5/2010 3:53:00 PM more reviews by cecekath00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is crap. Its extremely greasy, causes breakouts, and definitely gets in your pores. Also, it looks oily after 2-3 hours. Why is it even called mousse? Its not even close.
The positives are that it matches your skin tone well (I bought porcelain ivory) and it has decent coverage.
If you have acne-prone skin, this product is not good for you. If you have perfect skin, its great. But not a lot of people are blessed with perfect skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CreativeBeauty on 11/4/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by CreativeBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product gets a big Thhhhhhhhhhhbbbbpppppppp....

It really falls flat for me.
I don't know how it's called "mousse", honestly. But, that is really the least of my issues concerning this foundation.
I don't think that the problems I had with it are really all on the foundation, but it just really didn't work for me.

Since I have pretty oily skin, at one point I was putting powder on before the foundation, then powder on after the foundation to try to sandwich and set the liquid. Most of the time, after a few hours, it was already sliding off my face. Ew. It looked terrible. I put it in my make up drawer and have only pulled it out out of extreme necessity.

For combo/dry skin people, I'm sure this would work much better.

There was one pro, though. I was able to find a really great match for my skin tone. :p

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Liquid products