Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1077 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 5/15/2008 5:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love Mineral Veil. It really gives your skin a soft, airbrushed glow and and it makes your makeup last much longer. I put it on after i put on my BE foundation and Warmth. It is the perfect thing to go over Warmth since Warmth has such an intense color. The only thing to keep in mind if you have dry skin is to use this only on your cheeks and try to avoid the rest of your face because it is primarily made of corn starch which is incredibly drying to your skin. If you have oily skin it is perfect for shine control but for those with dry it can leave your skin parched and flaky. That happened to my forehead when I first started using it because it I applied it all over my face. Another good variation of Mineral Veil is the Feather Light version. It gives a glow to the skin whereas the original is matte.



on 5/6/2008 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A great loose setting powder. Achieves what it should: a great, airbrushed, finished look.

The only drawback? It's pricey, and I tend to go through a jar in about 2-4 months.


on 5/4/2008 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absoluetly love BE, but mineral veil is my favorite product! It gives me that flawless, airbrushed look that I cannot achieve with any other product! I will continue to use this forever!


on 5/3/2008 9:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first started using this product, I purchased it with the starter kit along with all the other bare minerals. I continued to repurchase because I liked the way it set my foundation, but I soon came to feel like it was too expensive of a product for what it did. I now use a drug-store version of the mineral veil and it works just fine. A great product, but just an overly-priced translucent setting powder.


on 5/3/2008 9:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In the DVD that came with the starter pack, Mineral Veil was used to cover blemishes and red patches but I have found that it does nothing to those areas and perhaps makes them even drier and noticable. When used to set foundation, however, it does a decent job. In this case, I'd use the kabuki brush rather than the intended max coverage concealer brush.


on 5/2/2008 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was disappointed with this product because I've heard of so many great things about it. When I first started using it, I thought it was great, light and sheer. I do have sensitive skin and breakout easily- thank god I didn't start breaking out, but my skin did become dry and flakey. Sensitive-skin girls, becareful!


on 4/28/2008 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use Mineral Veil to set my foundation/concealer, and it really gives my skin a natural looking glow while minimizing oiliness. I've tried other powders when I was too lazy to get my butt to sephora, and everything else makes my skin look cakey or makes me break out.

UPDATE: I am no longer buying this. MUFE HD powder has set the gold standard for powders. I can't stop raving about it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2008 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used to use BE foundations with this product, but even after I stopped using their bareMinerals, I am still a huge fan of Mineral Veil. I use it over my tinted moisturizer and under concealer and blush. I also put some on my eyelashes, because it makes my lashes thicker when applying mascara - a little trick a BE associate taught me. I've been using this product for almost 4 years now, and I can't really remember what it's like to be without it. I have combination skin, and Mineral Veil makes it less oily. I also dab a little extra with a concealer brush on my oiliest spots, and it does a great job of soaking up the oil without making a mess. Love it! Although I wish it was cheaper.....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2008 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a Bare Minerals Starter pack and this is the only product that impressed me. I have used True Mineral makeup for a few years, but it's expensive and not widely available so I decided to try Bare Minerals instead. Wasn't happy with the BM foundations--didn't think they covered well enough so I went back to True. The Mineral Veil is wonderful, though! I love the way it finishes. I would have never bought if I hadn't gotten it in the starter kit, but I will buy it again when I run out.


on 4/24/2008 8:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This used to be my favorite, until I found a pressed mineral base that is better and their perfecting powder, the counterpart to BE's mineral veil, does a much better job at giving a nice, flawless, matte finish. I've converted over to GloMinerals instead after being a loyal BE customer for over 7 years. Their makeup line is much much better, especially for acne sufferers.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top