Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1071 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 4/28/2008 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use Mineral Veil to set my foundation/concealer, and it really gives my skin a natural looking glow while minimizing oiliness. I've tried other powders when I was too lazy to get my butt to sephora, and everything else makes my skin look cakey or makes me break out.

UPDATE: I am no longer buying this. MUFE HD powder has set the gold standard for powders. I can't stop raving about it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/27/2008 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used to use BE foundations with this product, but even after I stopped using their bareMinerals, I am still a huge fan of Mineral Veil. I use it over my tinted moisturizer and under concealer and blush. I also put some on my eyelashes, because it makes my lashes thicker when applying mascara - a little trick a BE associate taught me. I've been using this product for almost 4 years now, and I can't really remember what it's like to be without it. I have combination skin, and Mineral Veil makes it less oily. I also dab a little extra with a concealer brush on my oiliest spots, and it does a great job of soaking up the oil without making a mess. Love it! Although I wish it was cheaper.....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2008 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a Bare Minerals Starter pack and this is the only product that impressed me. I have used True Mineral makeup for a few years, but it's expensive and not widely available so I decided to try Bare Minerals instead. Wasn't happy with the BM foundations--didn't think they covered well enough so I went back to True. The Mineral Veil is wonderful, though! I love the way it finishes. I would have never bought if I hadn't gotten it in the starter kit, but I will buy it again when I run out.


on 4/24/2008 8:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This used to be my favorite, until I found a pressed mineral base that is better and their perfecting powder, the counterpart to BE's mineral veil, does a much better job at giving a nice, flawless, matte finish. I've converted over to GloMinerals instead after being a loyal BE customer for over 7 years. Their makeup line is much much better, especially for acne sufferers.


on 4/17/2008 5:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: this product is very natural and organic, it lasts forever

Cons: on the pricier side and it made my skin look slightly chalky when first applied.

I think I will probably buy this again, but I am going to do my research on alternatives - it's really important to me to have something very natural and not too heavy on my skin so it can breathe.


on 4/14/2008 4:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this so tried it out after hearing all the raves and hype about mineral products.

It doesn't really feel any different from regular powders, although I would think you have to be pretty light-skinned in order for it not to look a little ashy. And I was disappointed at how it gave this weird shimmering off-white look - I don't know about everyone else here but I'm not a fan of having shimmer ALL OVER MY FACE. It just looked...strange in photos.


on 4/12/2008 9:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

cannot live without this!! i use pur minerals instead of BE b/c i'm a klutz, and i will probably spill BE's loose powder at some point. however, a friend highly recommended mineral veil b/c i have a shiny t-zone. i buff mineral veil over my foundation, and it words like a charm. (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2008 4:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Ok..well I got this product in the BE starter pack. And, it is the ONLY thing of BE's that I repurchased. I remember when I first put it on, I was like *WOW* - it really does give me that airbrushed finish. However, now that I have been using it for awhile, I forget what it does. I just know that I feel naked without it. I guess I have just gotten use to the product. But, at 25.00 usd I will keep repurchasing (even though it is a bit expensive!) Can anyone tell me if this product is actually GOOD for your skin? Point being...I don't think I could go without it because it just gives my skin that extra ooomph.


on 4/7/2008 11:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A good dependable finishing powder (I use it over my liquid foundations). Easy to find online.


on 4/5/2008 4:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think with all these BE products there is a bit of a learning curve (or at least for me there is...and judging from some reviews others seem to have the same problem as me). This product won't help you if you use the wrong color foundation (as I did when I first got my starter kit). I initially thought the whole line was going back because everything was awful looking. But then I took it a little easier when applying and now that I know what I'm doing I like it a lot. Actually, I think I positively glow. :)
I don't have oily skin, so I put just a little on after my foundation and all-over face color, and I think it sets it nicely. I don't use very much, so my jar is going to last me a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin

Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top