Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1080 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would never put this on my face again.
It is clearly just corn starch. Look at the ingredients. There is nothing mineral about it. I think it is really sad to see a product deteriorate in quality so much since it has gone into mass production.
Ciao!



on 5/20/2008 5:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

mineral veil, oh you make my skin look flawless and like i've been shot by my boyfriend photographer with his beauty dish light (which makes your skin look PERFECT no joke). your price i do not mind (although i did get 2 regular sized containers of you for free...SCORE!) because your container is oh so large and lasts a long time, as i only need a little bit. BE products don't expire either because they are natural products. i put this on with the feather light brush i got from the complexion enhancers starter kit and it feels oh so luxurious going on with that brush.


on 5/17/2008 11:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this product is good, but i don't think it's worth the money. I do like the bare minerals foundation, and will keep purchasing that, but I'm not sure this does anything additional for me.


on 5/15/2008 5:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love Mineral Veil. It really gives your skin a soft, airbrushed glow and and it makes your makeup last much longer. I put it on after i put on my BE foundation and Warmth. It is the perfect thing to go over Warmth since Warmth has such an intense color. The only thing to keep in mind if you have dry skin is to use this only on your cheeks and try to avoid the rest of your face because it is primarily made of corn starch which is incredibly drying to your skin. If you have oily skin it is perfect for shine control but for those with dry it can leave your skin parched and flaky. That happened to my forehead when I first started using it because it I applied it all over my face. Another good variation of Mineral Veil is the Feather Light version. It gives a glow to the skin whereas the original is matte.


on 5/6/2008 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A great loose setting powder. Achieves what it should: a great, airbrushed, finished look.

The only drawback? It's pricey, and I tend to go through a jar in about 2-4 months.


on 5/4/2008 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absoluetly love BE, but mineral veil is my favorite product! It gives me that flawless, airbrushed look that I cannot achieve with any other product! I will continue to use this forever!


on 5/3/2008 9:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first started using this product, I purchased it with the starter kit along with all the other bare minerals. I continued to repurchase because I liked the way it set my foundation, but I soon came to feel like it was too expensive of a product for what it did. I now use a drug-store version of the mineral veil and it works just fine. A great product, but just an overly-priced translucent setting powder.


on 5/3/2008 9:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In the DVD that came with the starter pack, Mineral Veil was used to cover blemishes and red patches but I have found that it does nothing to those areas and perhaps makes them even drier and noticable. When used to set foundation, however, it does a decent job. In this case, I'd use the kabuki brush rather than the intended max coverage concealer brush.


on 5/2/2008 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was disappointed with this product because I've heard of so many great things about it. When I first started using it, I thought it was great, light and sheer. I do have sensitive skin and breakout easily- thank god I didn't start breaking out, but my skin did become dry and flakey. Sensitive-skin girls, becareful!


on 4/28/2008 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use Mineral Veil to set my foundation/concealer, and it really gives my skin a natural looking glow while minimizing oiliness. I've tried other powders when I was too lazy to get my butt to sephora, and everything else makes my skin look cakey or makes me break out.

UPDATE: I am no longer buying this. MUFE HD powder has set the gold standard for powders. I can't stop raving about it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top