Bare Escentuals • Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1068 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 suiw on 4/24/2008 8:47:00 PM more reviews by suiw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my favorite, until I found a pressed mineral base that is better and their perfecting powder, the counterpart to BE's mineral veil, does a much better job at giving a nice, flawless, matte finish. I've converted over to GloMinerals instead after being a loyal BE customer for over 7 years. Their makeup line is much much better, especially for acne sufferers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sasscass on 4/17/2008 5:11:00 AM more reviews by sasscass

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: this product is very natural and organic, it lasts forever

Cons: on the pricier side and it made my skin look slightly chalky when first applied.

I think I will probably buy this again, but I am going to do my research on alternatives - it's really important to me to have something very natural and not too heavy on my skin so it can breathe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amwong on 4/14/2008 4:31:00 AM more reviews by amwong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this so tried it out after hearing all the raves and hype about mineral products.

It doesn't really feel any different from regular powders, although I would think you have to be pretty light-skinned in order for it not to look a little ashy. And I was disappointed at how it gave this weird shimmering off-white look - I don't know about everyone else here but I'm not a fan of having shimmer ALL OVER MY FACE. It just looked...strange in photos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzlesley on 4/12/2008 9:07:00 PM more reviews by mzlesley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

cannot live without this!! i use pur minerals instead of BE b/c i'm a klutz, and i will probably spill BE's loose powder at some point. however, a friend highly recommended mineral veil b/c i have a shiny t-zone. i buff mineral veil over my foundation, and it words like a charm. (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BRANDI7013 on 4/10/2008 4:20:00 PM more reviews by BRANDI7013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ok..well I got this product in the BE starter pack. And, it is the ONLY thing of BE's that I repurchased. I remember when I first put it on, I was like *WOW* - it really does give me that airbrushed finish. However, now that I have been using it for awhile, I forget what it does. I just know that I feel naked without it. I guess I have just gotten use to the product. But, at 25.00 usd I will keep repurchasing (even though it is a bit expensive!) Can anyone tell me if this product is actually GOOD for your skin? Point being...I don't think I could go without it because it just gives my skin that extra ooomph.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovemilag on 4/7/2008 11:23:00 PM more reviews by lovemilag

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A good dependable finishing powder (I use it over my liquid foundations). Easy to find online.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcaird on 4/5/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by mcaird

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I think with all these BE products there is a bit of a learning curve (or at least for me there is...and judging from some reviews others seem to have the same problem as me). This product won't help you if you use the wrong color foundation (as I did when I first got my starter kit). I initially thought the whole line was going back because everything was awful looking. But then I took it a little easier when applying and now that I know what I'm doing I like it a lot. Actually, I think I positively glow. :)
I don't have oily skin, so I put just a little on after my foundation and all-over face color, and I think it sets it nicely. I don't use very much, so my jar is going to last me a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RtiQlitQT on 4/4/2008 11:02:00 PM more reviews by RtiQlitQT

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I swapped away all my Mineral Veil because I found something that does not cause comedones or clogged sweat glands and works much better for a tiny fraction of the price, and that is Arrowroot Powder or Maranta arundinacea...please read my reviews of this under the Unlisted Brand! Arrowroot powder can also be used as a primer, much like Rice Powder, which is another cheaper and better-performing option. Will never repurchase this product as a result of finding Arrowroot Powder! Also, I am one of the people who has had an adverse reaction to BE Mineral Veil. I have had to have four comedones/obstructed sweat glands removed by a physician as a result of using this BE Mineral Veil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maupauer on 4/4/2008 2:50:00 AM more reviews by maupauer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i don't like BE but i do like the mineral veil. it does in fact keep oil and shine in check while setting your mmu. it works well, but there are other mmu setting/finishing powders of better quality and better price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 frankenstain on 4/3/2008 4:01:00 AM more reviews by frankenstain

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Mineral Veil is really soft and fine and okay when you brush a little bit on bare skin. But one day I decided to use it over my usual liquid foundation (Revlon Colorstay) that matches my skintone pretty well and it turned a horrible orange. It is translucent in the jar I have no idea why it happened but it was pretty bad. I had to bronze down to my neck and chest and I still felt really uncomfortable with my orange face. Another thing, I don't know why you need to put a powder over powder foundation. It seems to me you brush off what you just put on little bit. So I won't be buying this again, no use for it. I'll probably give it to my mother or gramma.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products