Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(958 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colourfulapple on 2/20/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by colourfulapple

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It smells good and keeps my skin looking fresh. It is not too drying for combination skin but also control my acne. I used it to remove my eye makeup though it does not remove waterproof mascara well. The only problem I have about it is the packaging. It is not travel-friendly. I wash my face in the shower and noticed that my facial wash is more diluted as the weeks goes by. Water somehow entered the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vtrammell on 2/19/2009 7:50:00 PM more reviews by Vtrammell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has been the best face cleanser I've used. Its so gentle on my skin and I use it day & night, sometimes 3 times a day. My face is very acne prone and it does not cause breakouts and its really takes off all of my makeup.
This cleanser is a great buy at a great price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boezoe on 2/19/2009 1:12:00 PM more reviews by boezoe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this face cleanser every day & night. It does not cause breakouts on my face & it takes off my makeup, even mascara & eyeliner, very well. It is inexpensive & I buy it when at the grocery store so it's convenient to buy when I'm running low. Best facial cleanser I've ever used.
EDIT: Okay, so I'm updating my early posts because I have fallen in love with LUSH. As said above, I thought Purpose was the best cleanser ever but my skin began breaking out on a regular basis while using so I had to make a switch. Thanks to youtube, I discovered LUSH products & my skin is better than it's been for years. Read my LUSH reviews if your interested in what works best for my acne & dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ksasr05 on 2/18/2009 7:08:00 PM more reviews by ksasr05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this face cleanser because it is super gentle on my skin and seems to work really well. Its a great cleanser for a great price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashwal on 2/17/2009 9:23:00 PM more reviews by ashwal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this face wash. I was looking for something gentle, that would not overdry my skin or leave me feeling greasy and Purpose does the trick. It just leaves your skin feeling "in between" not tight and not greasy, just right. It also completely removes my makeup which I really like also. I have had no breakouts from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siobbhan on 2/14/2009 11:08:00 AM more reviews by siobbhan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The first time I used this was in one of the top NYC dermatologists office. She kept it in the bathroom for patients to wash their face with before she looked at them. Ive been hooked ever since. I have oily/dry/sensitive skin that suffers the occasional breakout. It gently cleans my face, removes all makeup, and doesnt leave a residue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missrachelkennedy on 2/10/2009 4:53:00 AM more reviews by missrachelkennedy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Purpose was recommended to me just earlier today on the skin care board and I picked some up at work and used it to wash my makeup off when I got home. So far, so good.

Pros:
Moderately priced and readily available at most drug and grocery stores.

Did not leave my face red, itchy, taut, or dry like almost every cleanser.

Left my face feeling so soft to the touch it felt like I had used a scrub.

Removed all of my makeup easily and completely. (I even tested by cleansing quickly then drying my face on a brand new white towel, not even the tiniest residue of makeup rubbed off!)

No cons yet, except that I wish there was an option besides the pump bottle - I go back and forth between home and the boyfriend's a lot and pumps are not easily portable! I will update once I have been using this product a little longer.

UPDATE: I have now been using this for a few more days. For the first day it looked like this was going to make my skin produce MORE oil during the course of the night and my pores started to look bigger - but I believe that was just my skin purging all the sh*t from using bad soaps to wash makeup off for the last few months. Now my skin looks perfectly normal after use and I think Purpose is going to work well for me. Too soon to tell if there will be any skin-clearing benefits, but as long as it takes my makeup off without CAUSING breakouts or dryness, then it's exactly what I was looking for.

ANOTHER UPDATE: I refused to even finish using the bottle because after the "purging" of oil I had thought my skin was doing it switched to drying, cracking and peeling. And when I used it continually to get rid of eye makeup it eventually started causing my eyes to itch. Nevermind. This stuff doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yelloworange on 2/9/2009 5:22:00 PM more reviews by yelloworange

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily skin and this is my go-to cleanser. I have bought this repeatedly for the last 3 years. I'm so glad I discovered it! It doesn't make my face feel dry or taut and it has a lovely light herbal smell. My routine is; Use Neutrogena makeup remover cloths first then cleanse with this then moisturize with Neutrogena's Oil Free Fresh Moisture. It leaves me with fresh, perfectly balanced matte skin. I use various BHA products throughout the week to exfoliate, and eye cream. I remember trying Clinique's Mild facial soap and it sucked the moisture out of my skin and I'm oily. Still love most Clinique. Anyway, the only con about this stuff is that they don't make it in bigger sizes. It usually cost's about $5 bucks a pop and I go through pretty fast. I think it's a great gentle cleanse for those with oily/combo skin, IMHO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarika on 2/9/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by sarika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this after a visit to my Derm, who prescribed me Duac, Differin, and Minocycline for acne. It seems very gentle and non-irritating, but also works well enough to remove light makeup. You only need a small pump to work up a good lather, which I love. The price is fantastic as well. This is just fine for my dry and sensitive skin (due to the prescription creams/meds I'm sure), but oilier girls may need something stronger. Deducted a lippie because the packaging is awful...I can't leave it in the shower because water somehow gets in and ruins it! Same problem I've had with Neutrogena, but you'd think they would fix this by now?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllGirl on 2/6/2009 8:59:00 PM more reviews by AllGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent makeup remover and I have now been using it for 10 months. It removes all of my makeup gently without stripping my skin. It also takes off my eye makeup.

I follow with a cleanser (I personally believe there should be a makeup remover step and a cleansing step) and toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products