Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(952 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 missrachelkennedy on 2/10/2009 4:53:00 AM more reviews by missrachelkennedy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Purpose was recommended to me just earlier today on the skin care board and I picked some up at work and used it to wash my makeup off when I got home. So far, so good.

Pros:
Moderately priced and readily available at most drug and grocery stores.

Did not leave my face red, itchy, taut, or dry like almost every cleanser.

Left my face feeling so soft to the touch it felt like I had used a scrub.

Removed all of my makeup easily and completely. (I even tested by cleansing quickly then drying my face on a brand new white towel, not even the tiniest residue of makeup rubbed off!)

No cons yet, except that I wish there was an option besides the pump bottle - I go back and forth between home and the boyfriend's a lot and pumps are not easily portable! I will update once I have been using this product a little longer.

UPDATE: I have now been using this for a few more days. For the first day it looked like this was going to make my skin produce MORE oil during the course of the night and my pores started to look bigger - but I believe that was just my skin purging all the sh*t from using bad soaps to wash makeup off for the last few months. Now my skin looks perfectly normal after use and I think Purpose is going to work well for me. Too soon to tell if there will be any skin-clearing benefits, but as long as it takes my makeup off without CAUSING breakouts or dryness, then it's exactly what I was looking for.

ANOTHER UPDATE: I refused to even finish using the bottle because after the "purging" of oil I had thought my skin was doing it switched to drying, cracking and peeling. And when I used it continually to get rid of eye makeup it eventually started causing my eyes to itch. Nevermind. This stuff doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yelloworange on 2/9/2009 5:22:00 PM more reviews by yelloworange

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily skin and this is my go-to cleanser. I have bought this repeatedly for the last 3 years. I'm so glad I discovered it! It doesn't make my face feel dry or taut and it has a lovely light herbal smell. My routine is; Use Neutrogena makeup remover cloths first then cleanse with this then moisturize with Neutrogena's Oil Free Fresh Moisture. It leaves me with fresh, perfectly balanced matte skin. I use various BHA products throughout the week to exfoliate, and eye cream. I remember trying Clinique's Mild facial soap and it sucked the moisture out of my skin and I'm oily. Still love most Clinique. Anyway, the only con about this stuff is that they don't make it in bigger sizes. It usually cost's about $5 bucks a pop and I go through pretty fast. I think it's a great gentle cleanse for those with oily/combo skin, IMHO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarika on 2/9/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by sarika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this after a visit to my Derm, who prescribed me Duac, Differin, and Minocycline for acne. It seems very gentle and non-irritating, but also works well enough to remove light makeup. You only need a small pump to work up a good lather, which I love. The price is fantastic as well. This is just fine for my dry and sensitive skin (due to the prescription creams/meds I'm sure), but oilier girls may need something stronger. Deducted a lippie because the packaging is awful...I can't leave it in the shower because water somehow gets in and ruins it! Same problem I've had with Neutrogena, but you'd think they would fix this by now?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllGirl on 2/6/2009 8:59:00 PM more reviews by AllGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent makeup remover and I have now been using it for 10 months. It removes all of my makeup gently without stripping my skin. It also takes off my eye makeup.

I follow with a cleanser (I personally believe there should be a makeup remover step and a cleansing step) and toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stomishi on 2/1/2009 9:44:00 PM more reviews by stomishi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great gentle cleanser that works well without drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mais on 1/31/2009 1:52:00 PM more reviews by mais

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a cleanser that didn't dry out my normal-combination skin. I have used the Clinique mild cleanser, but it didn't remove all of my makeup, and I didn't want to add another step to the 3-step program!!! I bought this after watching Rice Bunny on youtube, and she highly recommended this. This cleanser removes all of my makeup (eye and face) in a gentle way. After I wash my face, it feels so clean and fresh. I highly recommend this cleanser, and it's dirt cheap, and Allure loves it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 1/30/2009 8:37:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product if you have oily skin, but for my combination skin this dries it out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dang11 on 1/23/2009 3:08:00 PM more reviews by dang11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was really surprised that this gentle cleanser could make my face feel so clean and refreshed.And somehow eliminate some of my acne with its deep cleansing formula.YAY!!!!!!! My T zone still gets a little oily later in the day, but that's a common thing for me. This cleanser is great! Definitely will buy this again! :) Good use for everyday.Although I do think the bottle is rather....small for 7 bucks.>.<
Update!: I've found a better cleanser for my acne, so I don't think I'll be buying this again. but I still recommend it, especially for people with normal skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarbliss on 1/15/2009 1:42:00 PM more reviews by sugarbliss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is perfect for everyday. It's great for all skin type. It's gentle enough for dry/sensitive skin but cleanse well even for my oily skin. It's in a gel type that's very similar to Cetaphil but I like this cleanser better. Cetaphil leaves my skin sort of tingly but Purpose doesn't. I like the fact that the bottle is clear so that I'll know when to get a new bottle. It's great that it's in a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 medandz on 1/12/2009 9:43:00 PM more reviews by medandz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love this face wash! I have used this for years, started out with the bar and switched to this when it came out. I have switched to different types of face wash and always come back to it! It cleans your face, doesn't dry it out and you can use it to wash off eye makeup too! I will always use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products