Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(971 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 smarteepants712 on 3/16/2009 3:38:00 PM more reviews by smarteepants712

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this cleanser as a cheaper alternative to Neutrogena One Step Gentle Cleanser. I use a foaming wash to take off all my facial makeup and I usually only have to take eye makeup remover after to clean up what's left behind. With this cleanser, I would take toner to my face afterward and the cleanser did not remove all my foundation (this should be pretty simple b/c I have oily skin and not much remains for me by the end of the day). It really felt like taking nothing to my face. Everyone else really likes this, and maybe those reviewers use something else to take off makeup or have dry skin. It doesn't really do anything good for my skin either (probably as a result of not thoroughly cleansing my makeup from my skin) and really feels like foamy water to me.

Perhaps one of the most bothersome aspects is the packaging. I leave my cleanser in the shower generally b/c that's where I use it most often. Water seeps into the bottle and I didn't really notice for a few weeks until my bottle was full again. I don't keep it where water directly drips on it either, just incidentally. Its not worth the $6 I paid for it. If it was $3....I'd consider it again, but for now I'll stick with the Neutrogena which is the most effective gentle cleanser I've tried so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 velikii on 3/16/2009 3:17:00 PM more reviews by velikii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite drugstore cleanser and I use it often. It has never caused me any breakouts or dried up my skin. Plus, it removes my makeup quite well. I love the fact that it's gentle yet it lathers well. Great product. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ObscureRadium on 3/15/2009 4:50:00 PM more reviews by ObscureRadium

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this Cleanser! It feels so soft on my skin and I haven't had any horrible break outs since I started using it. The only thing I don't like it the fact that the bottle is so small and I have to pay so much for barely anything. I got through each bottle so fast.

One thing I didn't like was the pump, every bottle I had it kept breaking so I had to put a regular pop open cap to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thaodora on 3/8/2009 6:01:00 AM more reviews by thaodora

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this cleanser! I have oily/combination skin, and I believe the misconception with oily skin types is that you have to "dry" up your skin with strong harsh products. That is a blatant myth my friends...I have tried everything out there high end, and low end, and I must say that this cleanser is perfect for me. I would definitely recommend this product, which I have :) it removes my makeup effortlessly, it has a pleasant smell, and the packaging is cute I think. My skin is left feeling clean, not stripped of natural "good" "essential" oils and it's easy on the wallet. Go get it! You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 karizma9i6 on 3/8/2009 5:30:00 AM more reviews by karizma9i6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great "go to" cleanser. Since I have dry and sensitive skin, I almost exclusively use Purpose, Cetaphil and Clinque face wash. And yes, I know that dry skinned girls are supposed to stay away from foamy face washes... but this one's okay! Cetaphil has never done me wrong, but I'm always skeptical how well it's actually cleaning my face. Purpose, on the other hand, cleans great without irritation. I love the foamy lather that takes off 90% of my makeup. A little goes a long way with this product. I found it to be more drying compared to Cetaphil, but once I'm out the shower, I slap on a thick cream anyway, so it doesn't bother me too much. Probably not my HG, but one that I'll continue to use in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thedogatemyname on 3/7/2009 8:15:00 PM more reviews by thedogatemyname

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great cleanser! I highly recommend this cleanser over any other that I can currently purchase in a drugstore. No burning, stinging, overdrying, etc...

The smell is wonderful and it helped clear up the skin that Neutrogena with Helioplex burnt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jjkrh on 3/6/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by jjkrh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What a find! Very gentle and cleanses well. I have not had any bad reactions which is wonderful. A good addition to any cleansing routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elles7781 on 3/3/2009 2:03:00 AM more reviews by elles7781

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is AMAZING! I adore it. I havebeen using this cleanser for 3 months now, and my skin has honestly never looked better. A must have for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 guardbabie09 on 3/2/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by guardbabie09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser since I have very dry skin and even this doesn't dry it out! I am not crazy about the packageing though because it is easy to get water in it and can dilute the product greatly but I just make sure to not leave it in the shower and its oh kay. Love the smell too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beebop808 on 3/1/2009 9:17:00 PM more reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this product for about a year, maybe even a little longer. I like this because it takes off your makeup without over drying your skin. The bottle says its a good eye makeup remover as well, but when I use it on my entire face, including my eyes, they do burn at times.............so be warned do not wash your eye makeup as if you were using an actual eye remover this does tend to sting. Other than that, its really gentle if you have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products