Carmex • Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(1005 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ConversePrincess55 on 2/22/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by ConversePrincess55

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use Carmex for the occassional cold sore. This stuff works like magic! I put it all over my cold sore and, no matter what size, it goes away within hours. I haven't used anything since I discovered this. I prefer not to use this on my lips though, because I don't like how it feels.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SophieSpector on 2/22/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by SophieSpector

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lipbalm because ide heard it was a "cult" product which in my mind means its really good.

The first thing I don't like is the packaging but thats my fault for getting the tub not the tube of this. The tub is nice and simple but as with all tubs not just carmex it means you have to apply it to your finger then apply it to your lips. Sometimes this gets underneeth my nail which i find really unpleasant.

Its cooling with menthol and it does help the outer layers of the lips become moisturised and I feel there is a layer of moisture on my lips which protects them from the elements for a decent ammount of time which is why I like wearing this for cold winter days and skiing.

I'm personally not a fan of the cooling sensation, its not bad its just not for me. I found myself reaching for my chapstick not my carmex when I went skiing this christmas which is just as moisturising as carmex and protects my lips from the cold but its cheaper and in a tube so its easier to use.

The smell of carmex isn't great, it dosn't bother me it just smells like menthol without any taste and I prefer the smell and tasted of chapstick.

The product is good but not better than chapstick by a long shot and the tub gets annoying all this with the cooling sensation means i'm not going to bother to buy this one again.

Hope I helped!
Sophie

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LiLLatinaFLava on 2/21/2010 2:59:00 PM more reviews by LiLLatinaFLava

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product but rarely use it. I have the one in the tub for cold sores and whatnot. I like how it moisturizes my lips and keeps them soft. I usually have to reapply in a few hours. However, when I put it on at night, the next morning my lips are soft and supple. The taste isn't that great; medicated-flavor. It leaves a cooling sensation once applied. Good product, and cheap! I'd def buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TiigerLiily on 2/21/2010 10:11:00 AM more reviews by TiigerLiily

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Favourite lip balm ever. Lips feel so soft after applying it and you can actually feel it working as it heals them. My lips are often really chapped and can bleed but this is like a miracle quick-fix for them! I can put some on ten minutes before going out and they will be soft, healed and ready for me to apply my lip makeup. Love the tingly feeling and I don't find the smell offensive. Lip balms don't have to smell or taste nice to be effective, infact taste and smell should only ever be considered as extras, lip balm is designed to heal and this certainly does!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FrejaValentin on 2/21/2010 7:34:00 AM more reviews by FrejaValentin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourite lipbalms - yes, the menthol is a little counter productive, but cocoa butter moisturizes, petrolatum holds in moisture, and salicylic acid exfoliate dry skin, so it is very effective and well worth the tiny amount of money it costs. I use this mainly at night, and then Neutrogena Norwegian Formula during the day, because it's extremely moisturizing, but less aggressive than Carmex, not to mention almost flavour- and tasteless.

I love this in the stick version for easy application, and I have the one with Mint flavour - it tastes and smells SO much better than the original flavour. So if you love it but hate the smell, I suggest you find the mint version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iodine on 2/20/2010 11:13:00 PM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this stuff is the worst for your lips: it Over exfoliates so you feel you have to keep applying. Had something like this problem with Lancome lipstick, too. It has those kind of additives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JSif on 2/20/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by JSif

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if this product works at all, because the second I put it on my lips, I start gagging from the smell and have to take it off. It's in the top ten most disgusting things I've ever smelled, that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LorelaiNoah on 2/20/2010 5:42:00 PM more reviews by LorelaiNoah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I would repurchase, yet rarely ever use. I like it better than regular chapstick. But the menthol in it is counterproductive by taking away any chance of it moisturizing your lips well. I much prefer bonne bell. (P.S I hate tube applicators).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beachblond on 2/20/2010 12:56:00 AM more reviews by beachblond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only lip balm that I've ever used that actually heals. With all the others, they're just there for scent and flavour but they don't actually do anything. With Carmex I notice a change in the texture of my lips. It heals them after I've been biting them too much, and makes them really really soft. Smells terrible, tastes bad too, but it works. I have jars and tubes all over the house, and in all my bags. And the best part is that it only costs between $1-$2. This is the best lip product out there, and I would recommend it to everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessiWho on 2/16/2010 1:54:00 AM more reviews by JessiWho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I. LOVE. THIS. I put this on after I exfoliate my lips with sugar and honey and a toothbrush. Makes your lips feel unbelievably soft! This is great for winter, very cheap, and no re-applying!
I recommend this to everyone with chapped lips and to people who just need a lip balm for everyday uses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carmex products

More Lip Treatments products