Carmex Lip Balm

4.0

1033 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Menthol 0.7%, Camphor 1.7%, Phenol 0.4% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: beeswax, cetyl esters, flavor, fragrance, lanolin, paraffin, petrolatum, salicylic acid and cocoa seed butter


on 4/6/2010 5:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I normally use Lucas's papaw ointment but lately that hasn't been helping my super dry lips. I finally decided to buy carmex and to my surprise it actually got rid of my dry lips! Its moisturising and I don't mind the smell - I kind of like it haha however the cooling menthol sensation is sometimes a hit AND miss depending on the day and how I'm feeling.
I've got this in the tube version and I will be buying this again. Small and compact!



on 4/5/2010 2:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this because I saw someone on Youtube that said it worked really well for them. So I got it at my local CVS for around a dollar. The formula itself is very light, clear, and works well. HOWEVER, it smells horrible. It's to the point that I hold my breath for as long as I can after I apply it, and after I run out of breath, I have to breathe through my mouth. I can only apply it to the outer parts of my lips because it has a chemically taste and HORRIBLE scent. It makes me cringe just thinking about the smell. I won't buy again, I'll just stick to my lip balm.


on 4/4/2010 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

i use the jar version of this and it kind of annoys me that in winter time it gets so hard that i can't get the product out... so what i do is, i leave it next to the fan of my laptop, at home or work, and it melts to just the right consistency... that or i have to leave it in my pants pocket :) i love it on my lips after 5 minutes i can't feel them chapped anymore. good stuff! i've bought it over and over again

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2010 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the tub version of carmex for many years now, it's so cheap and it gets the job done. I don't know why some people get dried out lips from this, it moisturizes mine so well.. I use it everyday multiple times a day.. before I go to bed, in the morning as my go-to balm, whenever my lips are dry. Staying power is not super good, max maybe 2 hours. The smell doesn't bother me, it's not even that strong. Carmex gives a nice gloss on your lips - not overly glossy or too made up, yet not as bland as your bare lips. If you have pigmented lips like me and it's hard to find a good natural looking balm (or if you think your natural lip color looks better than anything you have tried), this is for you. It makes your bare lips look way nicer. P.S. - for some reason the stick version of carmex is not as smooth and goes on kind of "gunky", so I prefer the tub version. Next I will try the one that looks like a slim shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2010 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I picked this up on sale at a DS for $0.99 and fell in love with it all over again. When ever I have lip issues to the point I need something anything to put me out of my misery this is my go to product. It's a shame I'll go for a few days and then remember "Carmex!" by the next day I'm a happy camper again and within a few days all better.


This is not for the faint hearted type, it does burn and tingle but that because it's working (feels so good it hurts). Each time I'm in need of a lip rescue I have to get use to the smell and taste again which isn't the best but a small price to pay for it's wonderfulness.


UPDATE (01/01/2011) Still a favorite


on 3/28/2010 12:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am in love with this product! I have went through six tubes of this product already. it's just so amazing. I've use to have dry, cracked lips all the time and nothing seemed to work. I honestly tried everything single thing I could and nothing ever worked till I discovered this! I've now been using it for three years and can't stop buying it!


on 3/27/2010 9:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After all, what can you say about Carmex? Anyone with chapped lips has surely used this at some point in time. The ultimate medicinal product for dry lips, the only hesitation one might have about it is its rather potent effect (sort of menthol like) - but that doesn't bother me at all and so I always have this product everywhere - in the car, my purse, by my bed....it works wonders!


on 3/27/2010 2:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

love it (:
it's so easily recognizable.
makes me lips really soft.
im addicted to ittttt!
mmmmmmm <3


on 3/27/2010 2:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Had trouble with dry/chapped/peeling lips for years, but thanks to this my lips always feel great now.

How can you not love this? :D


on 3/26/2010 12:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I'll keep using this product until I sweep the daises. It cheap, good quality and it's medicated and be purchased in so many places. I even saw it in my wedding makeup artist's tool box. But both of us use the unflavored version. The funniest thing is, it's one of my guy friends who introduced me to it year ago and I still love it. Ha! I bought it for my uncle who lives in Canada and introduce it to my mom and brother. Love, love love Carmex!


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1522 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3603 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top