Carmex Lip Balm

4.0

1045 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Menthol 0.7%, Camphor 1.7%, Phenol 0.4% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: beeswax, cetyl esters, flavor, fragrance, lanolin, paraffin, petrolatum, salicylic acid and cocoa seed butter


on 5/28/2010 6:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Really like this stuff. As a kid thought the jar smelled bad and was greasey. Now with a milder scent and in a tube it is great. Chapstick, Burt's Bees, Petroleum jelly, none moisturized my lips for more than a few hours and were red and chapped later. Only dislike is scent. Otherwise good product.



on 5/28/2010 9:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used Blistex (blue tub) with my firt course of accutane. It worked ok but I had to reapply at least every 10minutes. On my second course of accutane I tried Carmex (yellow tub) and I must say it is the best one I have used! If you are on accutane, pls try the tub! There is also a squeeze tube lip treatment from Carmex which I think is awful & useless. Note though, if you are not on accutane, any lip treatment would work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2010 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really like this lip product. I have dry chapped lips all the time, summer or winter, its just my skin that's dry all over. It relieves, calms and soothes dry itch lips. The feeling of it on the lips is very similar to blistex daily conditioning balm, but I like this better because my lips stay moisturized without having to reapply. It really the lips moisturized throughout the night better then Vaseline. I have noticed less chapping on my lips after a week of use. It doesn't have spf so during the day its best to use an spf lip product then this on top. But on the other hand, I like the fact it doesn't have spf since you don't need it at night or when your not outside. Another downside is on the packaging it says not to apply this product more than 4 times a day. No idea why, and would like to know and hope there isn't a major alarming reason. I do stick to what it says and alternate with a another lip balm. I love the squeeze tube packaging, I feel it is more sanitary than the jar one. However, I have seen this product so many times but hesitant to buy it because the colours are hideous! The colour combo reminds me of a bottle of toxic chemical spray or something. Overall, it's a great lip product for dry lips and at very cheap price.


on 5/24/2010 5:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I know this contains a lot of bad stuff ( petrolatum, mineral oil etc.)
however, I love Carmex. And since it hasn't affected my lips in a bad way yet, I'm going to keep loving it.

It keeps my lips nice and soft. I apply this in the morning and it keeps my lips from drying out until nighttime and then I apply it again after I've brushed my teeth.
That's it!

Though if you think your skin is sensitive to any of the bad ingredients, I'd stay away as my sister tried Carmex as well and it left her with red/dry patches.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I used to hate this stuff, but I just bought it again and I love it.
I like the smell, and it feels nice on and makes my lips feel nice once its gone too.


on 5/11/2010 8:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this. It keeps my lips beautifully smooth and in amazing condition. I will never use anything else as a lip treatment, this is finally the perfect product.

The only thing I'm unsure about is how shiney it is on the lips. It kinda looks a little lip-glossy and I'm not a lip gloss girl.

I don't really want to buy the tub again though, I don't like putting my finger in it. I'll stick with tubes.

Bottom line: amazing product.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love Carmex! I bought this in some deal where i buy one get one free, and the package included 4 carmex sticks! I absolutely love Carmex! I've been using this for 2 years. I always like to try new products, but i find myself running back to this (along with Burt's Bees & Softlips)


on 4/29/2010 4:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After hearing positive things about Carmex, I had to try it out for myself. I may be in the minority with this one because it actually dried out my lips even more? I found myself constantly having to apply it and I find that annoying. Chapstick has never let me down so I don't even know why I bothered with this one. The tube is great though, for sanitary reasons.


on 4/25/2010 7:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like this stuff though it has a strong fragrance. It is super moisturizing though!


on 4/25/2010 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used the pot version of this, but I currently have the click stick of the original and I love it. I only use carmex when my lips are so dry/chapped that my fave all around lip stuff, Lip Smackers, can't heal 'em. This stuff works well in my opinion. Something to take note of- never use this on healthy, unchapped lips, because the ingredients in it-which includes salicylic acid- will dry out the lips, resulting in chapping. Carmex is a lip balm/treatment after all, not a daily lip moisturizer. I recommend Lip Smackers for daily lip care :) or when your lips are just a little bit dry.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
180 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3622 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated Carmex Products

image

Cherry- Jar

43 reviews
image

Lip Balm

1045 reviews
Back to Top