Carmex • Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(1010 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vtkind on 3/3/2010 2:07:00 PM more reviews by vtkind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My boyfriend let me borrow this once when I was out of the lip balm I was using at the time. Eight years later, it is still the only lip balm I will purchase. It goes on smooth, you can feel it start to work immediately, it instantly moisturizes, protects like nothing I've ever used before (including sunny summers and cold dry winters), and it actually allows my lips to look like I have on a pretty gloss when it's really just my natural pink color--but smooth and healthy. To be honest, I've yet to find a pink lip gloss that looks better than my natural color with Carmex. This is my HG beauty product. If I had to live with only one product, this would be it and I haven't considered changing that answer in eight years now.

Some will be turned off by the medicinal smell, but switching to one of the scented sticks will alleviate that (strawberry being my preference). Nothing--from expensive treatments like Kiehls and La Mer to cheapies like Chap Stick and Blistex--can compare to Carmex in moisturizing, protection, chapped treatment, and price. I cannot speak highly enough of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KBaylie on 3/3/2010 4:09:00 AM more reviews by KBaylie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was using Chapstick before I started using this. I always loved Carmex and can't remember why I even stopped using this. My lips were always dry with Chapstick. It wasn't until I stopped using Chapstick that I figured out it was the culprit in my extremely chapped lips. Then I saw Carmex at the store in the stick form and remembered how much this had worked for me back when I was a teenager (I used the potted form back then). I decided to buy it since it was so cheap and I love it. It moisturizes and my lipsticks and glosses go on like a dream with this. I shall not stray again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* halimeade on 2/28/2010 11:43:00 PM more reviews by halimeade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

By far the best lip balm I have ever tried. I'm not sure why I waited so long to try it! The balm is more gel-like than waxy and goes on smooth, gives my lips a very slight sheen, and moisturizes great! Much better than Burt's Bees, which I was using before. I was surprised how long it stays on my lips when I'm not eating or drinking.

Carmex comes in both the tube and ''click" stick forms, though the stick form is my favorite. Yes, there is a 'medicinal' smell in all the formulations as a result of the Camphor, but I don't notice it at all after the first 30 seconds. The Cherry and Strawberry scented ones smell quite strong!

Cheap price, great product. If ya see it next time you are at the drugstore, give it a try, you might be pleasantly surprised.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EssandeN on 2/28/2010 1:24:00 AM more reviews by EssandeN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

great price, does a fantastic job , the reason why i gave it a four is because of the smell.. smells real bad

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MichieKrum on 2/23/2010 1:11:00 PM more reviews by MichieKrum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love Carmex when my lips are dry. I use it to prime my lips before lipstick every morning. I feel it really hydrates my lips much better than Chapstick. I feel it really working when I apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ConversePrincess55 on 2/22/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by ConversePrincess55

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use Carmex for the occassional cold sore. This stuff works like magic! I put it all over my cold sore and, no matter what size, it goes away within hours. I haven't used anything since I discovered this. I prefer not to use this on my lips though, because I don't like how it feels.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SophieSpector on 2/22/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by SophieSpector

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this lipbalm because ide heard it was a "cult" product which in my mind means its really good.

The first thing I don't like is the packaging but thats my fault for getting the tub not the tube of this. The tub is nice and simple but as with all tubs not just carmex it means you have to apply it to your finger then apply it to your lips. Sometimes this gets underneeth my nail which i find really unpleasant.

Its cooling with menthol and it does help the outer layers of the lips become moisturised and I feel there is a layer of moisture on my lips which protects them from the elements for a decent ammount of time which is why I like wearing this for cold winter days and skiing.

I'm personally not a fan of the cooling sensation, its not bad its just not for me. I found myself reaching for my chapstick not my carmex when I went skiing this christmas which is just as moisturising as carmex and protects my lips from the cold but its cheaper and in a tube so its easier to use.

The smell of carmex isn't great, it dosn't bother me it just smells like menthol without any taste and I prefer the smell and tasted of chapstick.

The product is good but not better than chapstick by a long shot and the tub gets annoying all this with the cooling sensation means i'm not going to bother to buy this one again.

Hope I helped!
Sophie

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LiLLatinaFLava on 2/21/2010 2:59:00 PM more reviews by LiLLatinaFLava

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product but rarely use it. I have the one in the tub for cold sores and whatnot. I like how it moisturizes my lips and keeps them soft. I usually have to reapply in a few hours. However, when I put it on at night, the next morning my lips are soft and supple. The taste isn't that great; medicated-flavor. It leaves a cooling sensation once applied. Good product, and cheap! I'd def buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TiigerLiily on 2/21/2010 10:11:00 AM more reviews by TiigerLiily

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Favourite lip balm ever. Lips feel so soft after applying it and you can actually feel it working as it heals them. My lips are often really chapped and can bleed but this is like a miracle quick-fix for them! I can put some on ten minutes before going out and they will be soft, healed and ready for me to apply my lip makeup. Love the tingly feeling and I don't find the smell offensive. Lip balms don't have to smell or taste nice to be effective, infact taste and smell should only ever be considered as extras, lip balm is designed to heal and this certainly does!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FrejaValentin on 2/21/2010 7:34:00 AM more reviews by FrejaValentin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourite lipbalms - yes, the menthol is a little counter productive, but cocoa butter moisturizes, petrolatum holds in moisture, and salicylic acid exfoliate dry skin, so it is very effective and well worth the tiny amount of money it costs. I use this mainly at night, and then Neutrogena Norwegian Formula during the day, because it's extremely moisturizing, but less aggressive than Carmex, not to mention almost flavour- and tasteless.

I love this in the stick version for easy application, and I have the one with Mint flavour - it tastes and smells SO much better than the original flavour. So if you love it but hate the smell, I suggest you find the mint version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carmex products

More Lip Treatments products