MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1082 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 woahitsbrooke92 on 10/22/2010 7:27:00 PM more reviews by woahitsbrooke92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap, just wanting to try a MAC foundation. I really really love this. It doesn't settle into my pores and it blends like a dream. I have really pale NC15 skin and blackheads stand out on my nose. But this foundation really makes the little spots look invisible. Love it! Beautiful foundation. It lasts me all day, though I do have to blot during the day because of my oily/combo skin. I use it often, and it has yet to break me out, so I'm really happy about that. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SusanMary on 10/15/2010 1:04:00 PM more reviews by SusanMary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very particular about my foundation. First, it has to look natural, like skin, and I check it with a magnifying mirror to make sure.

Second, it has to last and have minimal rub off. There is nothing I hate worse than makeup on my shirt from pulling it over my head.

Third, it has to feel weightless. I loathe feeling like I have a heavy mask on my face.

Fourth, it has to be able to smooth over some nose pores and minimize some spots on my face. I don't need complete coverage, but enough.

Fifth, I need a shade that matches. Not one I can make work, but matches perfectly. I have not found this to be an easy task. In some lines the lightest is too dark, even though there are many people much lighter than me. Some are too yellow. Some turn darker as I wear them a while.

Most importantly, it cannot irritate or break me out. I have rather sensitive, acne-prone skin.

I have had all of my criteria met with this foundation. It can be used straight from the tube, which I like since you can control how much comes out, and get full coverage. You can use it with a brush and buff it in and get a medium coverage or you can use a dampened sponge to get a lighter coverage.

I use various techniques on different parts of my face - heavier under the eyes with a concealer brush to cover circles and a sponge with Fix+ sprayed on it for a more sheer finish on the rest of my face and use the sponge to stipple parts that need more coverage.

I can use powder or not, it still stays on. In the summer, I powder, and as my skin gets more dry in the fall and winter, I leave it off. At any rate, when I use this it looks like I have great skin, not great makeup.

I use NC 20 and NC 15 under my eyes and sometimes as a lighter contour when I am feeling energetic. When I get paler in the winter, I blend the two together for a perfect match.

As I get down to the end of the plastic tube, I will be able to cut it open and scoop out all of it which I cannot easily do with foundation in a pump, especially one in a glass bottle.

A little goes a long way so overall, I think this is a good deal. It works for me and I am quite persnickity.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeuplover4 on 10/13/2010 1:19:00 PM more reviews by makeuplover4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first purchased this foundation I loved it...after about 6 days into using it I felt that the foundation just does not stay on well it tends to slide off (I have dry combo skin). I feel that the coverage is moderate it doesn't really offer full coverage unless it's buildable but that normally leads to your skin looking cakey (at least with this foundation it looks horrible cakey and huge pores)...Also I feel that this foundation is not keen to sentisitve skin...So STAY AWAY if you HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN or are looking for FULL coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 guyinds on 10/13/2010 11:13:00 AM more reviews by guyinds

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I am an NW35 in the summer and an NW30 in the dead of winter. It has excellent coverage but doesn't feel heavy. I guess the initial scent smells a little like coffee, but not overpowering. I am now using the Pro Longwear Concealer underneath. A damp sponge works well for application then blend with a 187 brush. Fingers work well too, but I don't really like using fingers. I set it with Prep & Prime finishing powder which gives it a nice finish. A touch of powder during the day keeps it fresh. I also keep a darker tube (NW43) for me for shading/contouring(I have a big nose, lol). I use it under my normal color foundation and it works quite well. Love the packaging. Will definitely buy again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bih80 on 10/13/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by bih80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Probably my favorite MAC foundation and I've tried them all. It's great all year long, great med-to-heavy coverage. I apply it with a 187 brush and blend it really well. Lasts me all day at work without caking, drying or becoming oily. Awesome foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stilllovely on 10/7/2010 5:19:00 AM more reviews by stilllovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

From the MAC site: 'A creamy, luxurious, gel-based foundation that provides medium buildable to high coverage with a natural satin finish. Hydrating, instantly revitalizes the skin while keeping it looking smooth, soft and plush. Long-wearing, water-resistant.'

I'd agree with all of that and it's not often that I agree with everything cosmetic companies claim about their products.
The coverage is fantastic. i'm using the wrong shade at the moment but I still can't help reaching for it when I'm doing my face because it's such a fantastic formulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimberlyelisabeth on 10/6/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by kimberlyelisabeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! It is a good full-coverage product that makes my horrible skin look amazing, but I don't feel like I have a full-coverage foundation on. The best way I've found to apply it is in sections with a damp sponge. I love the squeeze tube packaging, too. It makes it easy to get the right amount of product, see how much is left, use it all up, etc. I have combination skin and get really dry patches in some places, and really oily in others. I feel like this foundation really is good for the dry patches. As long as I use a good mattifying gel and setting powder I don't have any problems with oil control at all. It just gives a nice overall healthy look, and lasts the workday! Definitely my HG foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gabbygibsongirl on 10/3/2010 12:41:00 PM more reviews by gabbygibsongirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation. I have pretty clear skin except some old acne redmarks from my past brreakouts and this covers them beautifully while looking very natural. The fondation matches my skin perfectly as if im not wearing foundation. Looks super natural once it sets and leaves a beautiful slightly satin or natural matte finish wihtut looking dry or flakey on my skin.lasts most of my day only one touch up needed. I love the packaging, the squeeze tube is travel safe and you can finish the tube without hasstle. MAC went all out with this foundation. Is Def one of my HGs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathilda91 on 10/3/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by Mathilda91

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know really, if I like this foundation. It is quite good, with a heavy coverage but doesn't feel heavy on the skin. You need a very little to cover you entire face! It lasts ok, like 6-8 hours. But as long as you reaply you powder it's perfectly alright. The colours are quite good, I'm NC20. I feel however that the foundation needs to "blend" with my face to look really good. It looks better 20 minutes after application!

I needed to by a new brush, a regular foundation brush doesn't work, so I bought the 187, and wow, my face looks airbrushed! I you wan't heavy coverage this is for you. If you don't...(Try mixing it with strobe liquide)

EDIT: This foundation is awful! I like it less and less. It's a pain to apply, goes on very blotchy and settles into my dry skin. I've tried every application technique and nothing works. When my skin is good, it looks fine, but then I'd rather use a sheerer foundation. I'd like this to work when i'm red and stuff. It is not work on me at all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 9/23/2010 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

One tip: NEVER apply foundation with your fingers. The oils from your hands will get into the product and back onto your skin and may compromise the quality and consistency of your look as well as the product. Always use a clean brush or sponge, anything but fingers! It's just smearing oils and bacteria all into your nice makeup.

I'm still trying to like this product. It looks great on, but that isn't the issue. I have combination normal/oily skin (normal everywhere but the my forehead and nose) and it's very clear. However, like another reviewer, it's been giving my skin a weird "hot, tingly" feeling. I am determined to try it for a bit more (within the return period) but this foundation is not worth possibly ruining my face. I will update my review once I've decided.

For now, though, I love the texture and consistency, and how it looks in person, under fluorescent lights, and in photos. The squeeze tube is a personal favorite of mine. I love seeing clearly what I have left, and not being afraid I'll break a glass bottle. Let's hope this is just my skin adjusting, not freaking out!

Update: After a general adjusting period, I find I really like this foundation the best of anything I've tried from MAC. My skin has not broken out from it, and is no longer feeling hot or tingly when I wear it. I do find, however, my skin does get oily a lot faster than it does with my TEMPTU foundation. The end result is worth it, though. It looks fantastic up close, in pictures - basically every situation. I lightly use MAC Blot Powder to control the oil, and it never looks thick, cakey, or powdery.

I put it on using a sponge and work in sections of my face since it seems to dry quickly. I then set it with a thin layer of Mineralize Skinfinish Natural and a big, fluffy brush. Sometimes I get what I call "MAC Face," when your foundation and powder looks very powdery/cakey like it seems some MUAs there wear (not ALL, just some; just something I've always taken notice of). If this happens to me, I finish my face with blush, etc, and then use some spritzes of MAC Fix+ to take the powdery look away and really set/finish it. It never looks gross or thick, or mask-like, if I use the Fix+ after.

Overall, I really like this foundation. It is definitely my new go-to foundation at MAC!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products