MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

1115 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.


on 1/9/2011 10:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff, in NW 20, is my favorite foundation ever - I won't use anything else! The texture and color are perfect and it is so clear this is quality stuff. It is really pricey for me but it lasts forever, so it is worth it. No complaints about the packaging. I tried a liquid foundation by MAC for a lighter texture in the summer but I didn't like it as much as this one, so I came back to Studio Sculpt. I apply with a makeup sponge for the best result, with a primer or without and sometimes with the Strobe Cream, and then with powder or bronzer after. I buy this again and again.



on 1/8/2011 12:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i'm nc30 in other mac foundations....i have dry skin and thought this gel like product from such huge brand was goin to work for me.....i've alwys been MAC fan,but this foundation is HORRIBLE enough to make me loathe mac foundations!!! .... i've worn this foundation for more than a week now and i can say i'm damn disappointed with this one...i bought it no matter how pricey it turned out to be... but studio sculpt is not worthy of its price... looks cakey no matter how little pea sized amount u apply...settles into fine lines..making u look mask like... and not at all natural...tried applying with strobe cream...tried mixing with other moisturizers...tried with Fix+ spray too...but in vain!!....
don't be blinded by the brand name...!!!!!!!!!!!
there are some amazing foundations offered by the other brands too...!!!...research...n go find it !.....
however, i must agree dat mac foundations can be closer to ur skin tone...!!
also Fix+ spray is more rose water like..smells like it too... the ingredients dont seem great too..!! and most of all its pricey...and i dont recommend Fix + spray too....although i have really dry skin...


on 1/7/2011 9:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have wanted to try this prodcut for so so long. Mainly because I have very dry skin. I read and reread all of the reviews on MUA. I decided to get the NC20 which when I first applied looked too dark, however in different lighting looked good and melded to my skin. I usually wear a primer with titanium dioxide so it was alright. It is a very interesting product in that how you prepare/prime your face before hand makes such a difference. If you have dry skin moisturise well before had or it will emphasise drieness/wrinkels. But dont over moisturise or you will look oily. I am still experimenting with this product,however at the moment I apply a pea size amount to the back of my hand, then place a dot on my forehead then blend, then cheeks then blend then chin, etc, I then go over any areas that need exta coverage. I think the finish is lovely, luminous, highly pigmented and nice to work with. I often keep foundations/blemish balms in the fridge. so the consistency is similar to this. I personally did not have a problem with spreading the product as i am used to using a thicker consistency. I am going to keep experimenting with this foundation, as I think it is different than any other I have used. But one were proper face prep is essential

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't stand this stuff. I wore it for less than 3 hours and i broke out. I bought it in the shade i normally wear from mac.However, it was too dark. It's sticky and very difficult to spread with a fondation brush. It felt like i was spreading cream cheese on my face.


on 1/6/2011 1:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have read many many many mixed reviews about this foundation... but having tried it myself... I have to say... I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
I have combo skin & this is my perfect foundation for the winter. Very moisturizing. In the beginning I found it difficult to work with. I tried the MAC 190 , 187, and the 188.. I did not like the look of any of these brushes it gave me a very streaky look. & it turns out that a MAKE UP SPONGE worked best for me. HOWEVER; it is sort of heavy feeling on the face and that is the only thing that i do not like about it.

p.s. my color match is nc 40 / nc 42
p.s.s. after moisturizing your face ; while you wait that (5 mins) to apply make up.. put the foundation under your arm pit (sounds weird) to help warm the product up. It glides once its heated up a little bit. l


on 1/1/2011 8:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

(Review updated on September 11, 2011 - more thoughts and it works amazing with fingers).


I choose this because I wanted something that did it all and was cutting edge. Studio Sculpt is definitely MAC's jack of all trades foundation. Look at the long list of it's claims: lightweight cream-gel consistency, medium-full buildable coverage, natural satin finish (that can also be easily mattified), compatible with most skin types (leaning towards dry), good for troubled/sensitive skin (fine lines included!), antioxidants, hydrating, water resistant, long wearing, color true, and it was even alluded to being self setting. Read the interviews on it, it comes from so many angles that I believe being all-in-one is it's category more than anything.


PROS: Good value. Not only do you get 1.3oz vs most 1oz foundations, you only need about a pea size for the whole face! With the soft plastic tube packaging, you can squeeze out exactly how much you want, it's easy to cut open and get every last bit, and it won't break if dropped! I spend no more than $30 for makeup and this is basically that, but it will last till it expires. Formula does have many good ingredients: high amount of glycerin, many antioxidant plant extracts, Vitamin E (both forms), Vitamin C, Hyaluronic Acid, and Shea Butter. They are not buried and it ends up being a Paula's Choice for skin beneficial ingredients. SS claims to make the skin hydrated/softer over time; I never buy the makeup as skincare gimmick, but I honestly think it does just that! My skin does look better than it normally is when I take it off. I don't have one of those shocking before and afters. The coverage is also really good. Medium tofull like they say. Makes my skin look incredible (especially in sunlight!). I remember being in some pictures and my skin literally made me "WOW!" So even, hydrated, plush looking, it reminds me of those people who have really hydrated skin and you can tell it's from good health not oilyness. Blends easily enough and somewhat lives up to the good for problematic skin thing... I never use primer (or very sparingly) and it still works well. When applied with fingers, I find it idiot proof too. I just dab some dots on my face, take a tiny bit on my fingers, and then stipple and press into my skin. It's not obvious and it's a VERY fast process. Swirling/rubbing makes it like FULL coverage if I want that. Removes easy. Never broke me out, even after sleeping in it (one time I woke up with a zit and fell asleep with this on and zit was gone - no lie!).


CONS: NC15 isn't a perfect match and I also think it oxidizes a a tiny bit, however it's pretty neutral (leaning towards pink) and not a stretch to use. It's ok for my face and neck but once it changes a bit, it doesn't match my neck. While it's easy with fingers, the formula is not as brush friendly since it's thick. MAC recommends the 191 for it, promoting it when Studio Sculpt came out, but it can absorb a TON of product. With the 191 I get light-medium natural coverage, whereas with fingers it's crazy high (too much!?) coverage and nothing is wasted. If I keep the brush lightly damp and use very short strokes to spread the foundation, almost like flicks, it absorbs much less and the coverage is higher. That is doable but annoying. And while the coverage of SS is great, it can definitely appear mask like. Nobody has that even skin. Several reviewers have also noted that the foundation "fixes" itself and I gotta agree. Initially it can sometimes look cakey or dry, which is exacerbated by the fact that it's thicker formula - if you use too much or don't blend well, it can stay this way and punish you, otherwise as the day goes by, it looks better. However the finish can turn super luminescent to OILY. Not in a dripping oil way, but turn your head and watch the highlights move - WOAH! You must lock Studio Sculpt down... a simple light dusting does not cover it. I think it was formulated like this so powder doesn't mattify the finish away. With it's emollient properties, I don't FEEL it really dries it that much or at all so it can melt super fast. Not setting it enough can make it easily transfer too.


OTHER THOUGHTS: Cream-gel is accurate description. Like a gel, it has viscosity/stiffness, but it's also creamy, not so stiff like a true gel. Packaging makes it impossible to put product back in, also will damage if the antioxidants if kept outside the box. Smells like... plastic? I consider it unscented/neutral. Whatever is there, it's not strong or fragranced, it just happens to have a scent because most things naturally do. You can also feel it on the skin, not in a super heavy way. Going back to price, SS is actually one of MAC's cheapest foundations when you break it down. At 29.50 USD, it is 21.81 per/oz or 0.74 per/ml. That is a LOT less than anything else they make, surprising with the antioxidants included.


OVERALL: This is a mixed bag, but I would say it's mostly good. I really like the ingredients, packaging, and larger amount offered. Marketed pretty accurately: medium-full coverage, good for dry skin, can actually hydrate... however hydrating plus the satin finish I can see being too much for most. It needs to really be locked into place. I also would recommend this for those who use fingers and want a quick routine. I don't think I'll return to this but if I had to it wouldn't be that bad.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2011 7:58:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was recommended to me in NC20 by the MAC SA, so i did my face in the MAC shop, and it looked OK. But a few hours later when i looked in a mirror it had taken on a powdery matte finish, NOT the look i wanted - mummified! - and was exaggerating every pore and line on my face, which, while older, is not particularly wrinkled. I hadnt applied a primer, so i decided to give it another chance the next day.
.
The following morning, i cleansed my face and applied moisturizer, giving it about 15 minutes to sink in. Next i applied a primer, not from MAC, and gave that 15 minutes to set. Then i applied this foundation. I am between NC15 and 20, and this looked yellow and too dark. As i applied it, it made my primer bead up and pill a bit. Again after a few hours i looked mummified, although it didnt sink quite as badly into my pores and fine lines.
.
I have normal to dry skin and i find this much too dry looking. Perhaps this would work better for someone with oiler skin than i have. I want my skin to look dewy, not like the life has been sucked out of it.
.
This foundation is not working for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Separated within an hour and settled into laugh lines that are not visibly prominent. Honestly, I cannot say it's a bad foundation being I know full well a big part depends on what I am using to moisturize and prime. But, I can say that with my favorite product combo that works with ALL my other foundations, this one sucks. I will get some MAC primers and also try the Monistat one that everyone raves about. lol I would love to find something that will make it work!!


Well, with my current fav products, this took forever to apply!! I could not believe it. My all time go-to foundation is Revlon CS liq comb/oily fndt. People complain about that one. At least it goes on fast and flawless....and lasts for 24 hours....till I remove it. I had to keep rechecking my face today with Studio Sculpt. Was a PITA. Ever accidentally touch or swipe your face only to become horrified at an area of makeup missing, exposing your ruddy, red, uneven blotchy skin? Yea. If I cannot make this work it will be swap central for this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2010 5:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I heard about how good this foundation was I ran to buy it to be honest all that effort was nothing .. It's ok but it wasn't something you would expect from the mac studio line it was probably mine I don't knw .. But it was too thick and it DID NOT COVER that much :( too oily too yellow :-/
And it is not long it gets too oily and makes your face look eww :(
Tell you the truth that was my first mac foundation and that's what I got I would definetly say maxfactors long lasting foundation 10x better


on 12/23/2010 5:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely HATE MAC foundations and this is definitely one of the worst. It oxidises badly, transfers onto everything, and needs frequent touchups so you don't end up looking like an oil slick (which then makes you look cakey!!) and I find it hard to blend evenly no matter whether I use a brush or my fingers. It is nothing compared to Estee Lauder Double Wear (one of my HG's), or even NARS Sheer Glow, another great foundation but only if you have a yellow undertone to your skin, and I would prefer to shell out a bit more for them than ever by a foundation from MAC ever again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv

Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top