MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1097 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Allalala on 11/23/2010 1:39:00 AM more reviews by Allalala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry skin and the girl @ MAC suggested I try this product. The texture of this foundation was a bit weird (kinda like mousse) but when I applied it, it just sat on my skin and didnt blend well. I tried various ways of applying this foundation - with a brush, sponge, stipple brush, fingers..... you name it!!! But still couldnt get it right.
The colour was right but I could see some caking on my nose after about 2 hours of wearing it. By the end of the day, looking in the mirror, I could see that the makeup was really streaky.
I love MAC, but am not impressed with this foundation.

UPDATE: have now broken out badly from this foundation and am reverting to my good ol' Studio Fix which is always reliable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lessandes on 11/22/2010 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Lessandes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I'm now using the Studio Sculpt Foundations by MAC since a while on me as well as on my clients.

First, I didn't really like the texture of it, since it seemed to thick and therefore hard to blend on the skin. Besides I thought that it would look pretty pancake-like, due to that texture. Anyways, I found out that, when you're applying it to the skin, it looks kinda awkward for the first seconds but it kinda blends much better after some time and turns from foundation to good looking skin.

When I applied it to my face for the first time, I used twice as much as I needed - that stuff is really high coverage! Besides, it's buildable. I don't have much blemishes on my skin but due to my fair skin tone dark circles to cover or reddish, irritated spots and if you don't have the right concealer, you can just apply a second (or third) layer of foundation (still, I wouldn't recommand since it tends to crease if you use too much).

I like the color range of it way more than the Studio Fix-stuff...Studio Sculpt seemed to be not THAT yellow and a little lighter as well although they use the same numbers for it). The Studio Fix in NC15 is much too dark and too yellow for me, since I'm a porcelain skin girl, Studio Sculpt NC15 is still a little bit too dark but it's not really showing since I'm using just a little bit of it.

I experienced less creasing/caking around the mouth area than with other foundations, but more around the eyes.

My skin felt pretty good after washing it off, so it seemes to have a moisturizing effect as well.

What I really don't like about the foundation is, that it seems to come off very very easy.....you just habe to touch your face and then you can see the foundation on your fingers. Guess what happens with turtlenecks or similar stuff.....it's maybe okay for models on photoshoots if theys don't have to change dresses frequently or if it is just about portraits but I wouldn't recommand using this stuff for brides since I'm not sure if it won't come of when the kiss someone hello....

So my overall rating is good, it just should be a little more touch-proof ... but maybe it's to fix with a certain powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kittycats on 11/16/2010 8:41:00 PM more reviews by kittycats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got this in NC15, really nice pale neutral color but this has got to be one of the cakiest foundations I've ever used. Tried applying it several different ways and I never apply too much, only need a tiny pea size amount but it never fails to look cakey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 11/15/2010 4:53:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This gives excellent coverage, but its finish was too dewy for my taste, and it takes way too long to apply. Since it's so thick and gives such great coverage, you need a tiny, tiny amount, but I had to buff and blend, and I really don't have time for that in the morning. It does work wonderfully as a concealer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 8788xo on 11/15/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by 8788xo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for about 2 years now, and just finally decided to write a review. In almost 2 years, I've only purchased two tubes.. a little goes a LONG way. I use a MAC 187 brush to apply it, it provides excellent coverage... depending on the primer, and powder you use. If you use TOO much it will wind up on your phone or something else. It has staying power, if applied correctly... and depending on the conditions. I recently purchased the new long wear foundation because this one tends to fade substantially by the end of the day. But, I've still loved it nonetheless. ALSO, I have extremely sensitive skin: I'm allergic to ALL parabens iso, isobutyl, propyl, methyl, ethyl... I'm also allergic to bacitracin, aka, NEOSPORIN! I have NEVER had a problem with this, which breakouts, or itching..which is QUITE the miracle. Other than the variance in staying power, I love this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beebop808 on 11/9/2010 10:10:00 PM more reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is another MAC foundation that went right back. I too, read some of the reviews on here saying that this foundation has a little burning/tingling sensation. I totally agree! It is the same sensation I felt as well. Nonetheless, I did use this for 2 weeks before returning just to see if my skin would adapt to the foundation, sorry to say, it did not. This too has BROKE me out. That said, the lasting powder is the crappiest ever. It rubs off everywhere. But, it is quite easy to blend in comparison to the Pro Longwear and moisturizing too. Other than that, I will not be purchasing again. Gals with sensitive skin, buyer beware!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dorkspork on 11/7/2010 12:03:00 AM more reviews by dorkspork

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this out at a MAC counter, and at first, it looked cakey, but I blended it out with a big fluffy brush & put blush on, and after it oxides, it looks really nice. It looks natural, kind of. I like it, I didn't even feel it on my face. I generally wear tinted moisturizers, but MAC is alright. The lady said I was a NC44 because she matched it to my body, not my face. I feel as if the lady used too much foundation, but it was alright. I got it off with my cleanser pretty good.

I got oily after a couple of minutes, and my blackheads came out, which was bad.

I would buy it, but not use it for everyday use. Maybe special occassions. The price is crazy tho.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandaeyes66 on 11/6/2010 7:04:00 PM more reviews by pandaeyes66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is a rich, gel like consistency and is medium to full coverage. It is fantastic on my dry skin, though it would be terrible on anyone with oily skin. Only a small amount of product is needed when applying so the tube lasts a long time. I always puchase NW20 in MAC, though this foundation runs slightly darker so some people may need to go down a shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marinevd on 11/3/2010 5:32:00 PM more reviews by marinevd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My first mac foundation and what a disapointment. It's a very thick formula and i find it difficult to apply. I finally found a way with my avene thermal water and then put it on with my fingers. I won't repurchase this, i find it average for a foundation that so difficult to apply. I admit that once on it's nice but other foundations do better. I heard it photographs well, but mufe HD is way better if you're looking for a photo-friendly foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyNo5 on 10/31/2010 6:16:00 AM more reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great "old-school" foundation. It's thick and it has a lot of coverage. I've only used one MAC foundation in my life before this one, Studio Fix powder foundation, which I didn't like as it dried me out like crazy. This one doesn't. I wear Clinique's Redness Solutions moisturizer and primer underneath and this foundation glides on looking great on top, giving me a slightly dewy look which lasts all day. I'm so grateful for the lack of powderiness, especially after years of wearing minerals which can be quite drying and look powdery at times, especially in the winter. The funny thing with this foundation is that not only does it make your skin appear flawless, it actually seems to smooth out bumps and scars and make your face more even, texture-wise. I wear NC20, which looks hideously dark in the tube but works great on my very pale skin. My daughter looked at me as I took out my little sample pot of NC20 and said: "Are YOU wearing THAT shade??!" But when she saw me put it on she agreed that it was a perfect match. I've bought the full size tube since then and considering how little I need to cover my whole face, I'd say it will last me a long, long time.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products