MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

1145 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.


on 3/16/2011 6:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went to MAC and asked one of the sales people to help me find a foundation for my dry skin. When I wear foundation it leaves really gross dry skin flakes on my forehead. Obviously not attractive. The woman recommended this foundation. I'm a NW20 and she put it on me in the store. My skin does not feel dry or tight and best of all no flakes! I would definitely recommend this product for people with dry skin



on 3/12/2011 9:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I bought this after reading good reviews on it.
I have dry or very dry skin depending on the season.

The salewoman said I should have NW15. I'm very pale with pink undertones. Once I got home and tried it on I could tell it was too dark for me. But I've been using it anyway.

I also think it's a bit thick and sticky when it comes on the skin. You can feel it althrough the day, that you are wearing foundation, it didnt marry with the skin and it didnt have great coverage. It felt a little bit like wearing a mask.

It felt and looked a bit better when I used a tinted primer underneath it.
I think the trick with this product is to wear a primer and to just add little by little so it doesn't get too thick and sticky.

I don't think I will repurchase this because the color was too dark eventhough it's their lightest color. It didn't feel super and coverage was so and so.
I still have half the tube left to use once spring and summer comes around. Maybe I'll blend it with other foundations to see it I can get a better result.

I bought this at the taxfree and paid 245 SEK = $37 and that is cheaper than buying it at MAC Stockholm.
But sadly enough still much more expensive than buying it in USA.
If I lived in the USA I would buy MAC products all the time because the price is so much better there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is very sticky and never felt like it set properly, even with powder over it. Other than that coverage is average and it has a dewy finish. I will not be purchasing this foundation again.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this product about a year ago on the suggestion of one of my friends who swears by MAC products. And for a while, I used it without incident. The coverage was good, though it did smell a little odd and was quite drying.

Then after three months of using it, I broke out worse than I ever had in my history of using foundation. I ended up on antibiotics and Differin cream to clear it up and that took months. I'm never buying MAC foundations ever, ever again.


on 3/4/2011 2:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product to give it a try since I have dry skin from accutane. I found that the foundation is rather heavy feeling. I know it is gel based but it seemed to sit on top of my skin and wear off really easily. Probably not buying it again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation cuz it sounded like something I was looking for. I don't really like the feel of foundation so I'm picky on the texture, this is suppose to be gel based, so it seemed like it would melt into my skin? Lol well I do like the texture but you have to have a light hand with this. I find that if you apply too much half way through the day you will see it separate around the mouth or any lines you may have. I apply with a flat foundation brush then go back and buff it out with a stippling brush to insure I get off any extra foundation there may be. I gave it a 3 because I do like the look but its a lot of work to get it to look good. Lol I'm a mom of 2 and time is of the essence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2011 11:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For all the expensive things I do to and for my skin, I have been using Revlon foundation bc my skin is SUPER dry, sensitive and reactive! I frequently try new products and have to instantly remove bc of redness, stinging, itching, tingling etc.

This product could be my new fave!

I had a little challenge coming home the first time with the wrong color (after being color-tested aka frustrating) I am VERY neutral and just learned that although it would make sense that MAC's NW means Neutral Warm, it is actually the opposite and the NW's come out cool.

So NW20 and NW25 samples in hand, I finally got the right color. I've read people on here who have said this product makes them look greasy? I would give a digit on my pinky to look greasy-being dry dry dry and living in the THE dryest state-CO.

So. So far its working. Dewy as promised. Not sparkley or shiny-just nice and dewy. No burning stinging or itching and GREAT medium coverage you could easily build. The color match is perfect. I am LOVING it thus far. : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2011 6:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister gave me a tube of this since she had an extra. I put it on, not expecting to be impressed by it (currently my favorite fdtn is GA LSF but can't justify the $60 at the moment.) After I applied it with a stipple brush, I was shocked at how great it looked - medium coverage, dewy finish, but not heavy or greasy feeling. I have dry skin with a few fine lines, and this foundation buffed everything away - no flakies, no lines, just beautiful and glowing skin.


on 2/22/2011 12:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm still not sure about this product. I bought it mainly cause I wanted my beloved Pro Longwear, but more coverage. I told the lady at the MAC counter and she reccomended this.
The texture is weird. I feel it needs a ot of time to actually sink into my skin. Also the finish is not natural whatsoever. Not entirely bad, cause for some looks I like my skin to look a bit "fake", but totally inapropriate to wear during the day imo.
Also my skin has quite a yellow undertone. The Pro Longwear in NC15 was perfect for me. The Studio Sculpt in the same shade doesn't seem as yellow to me though.
When I first apply it, it doesn't look like my skintone at all. But after a while it sorta turns into it.
I've had this for a while now and I'm not crazy about it. Will defenitely purchase the Pro Longwear again. I wish we could return things that are already used over here, but unfortunately we can't.
So I'll keep using this foundation and hope I'll fall in love with it later on. *sighs*
What I do like is the packaging though. I wish all MAC foundations came in this.


on 2/22/2011 12:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this foundation, it goes on easily, is full-coverage, and really evens my skin-tone well. I'm a pale chick, being NW15-20, so it's hard to find a foundation that really matches me. The foundation has good staying power, and if you add a mineral finish overtop, it looks pretty darn natural.

However, there are better, less chemical foundations out there that I really prefer. Korres and Tarte both make full-coverage, easily matched choices, and for my money, I'd rather buy those instead. Why does MAC have to put so much cr*p in their makeup? At least there are not parabens in this formula (wouldn't have purchased otherwise), but I will not buy again when there are other, better, options out there.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top