MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1078 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bih80 on 10/13/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by bih80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Probably my favorite MAC foundation and I've tried them all. It's great all year long, great med-to-heavy coverage. I apply it with a 187 brush and blend it really well. Lasts me all day at work without caking, drying or becoming oily. Awesome foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stilllovely on 10/7/2010 5:19:00 AM more reviews by stilllovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

From the MAC site: 'A creamy, luxurious, gel-based foundation that provides medium buildable to high coverage with a natural satin finish. Hydrating, instantly revitalizes the skin while keeping it looking smooth, soft and plush. Long-wearing, water-resistant.'

I'd agree with all of that and it's not often that I agree with everything cosmetic companies claim about their products.
The coverage is fantastic. i'm using the wrong shade at the moment but I still can't help reaching for it when I'm doing my face because it's such a fantastic formulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimberlyelisabeth on 10/6/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by kimberlyelisabeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! It is a good full-coverage product that makes my horrible skin look amazing, but I don't feel like I have a full-coverage foundation on. The best way I've found to apply it is in sections with a damp sponge. I love the squeeze tube packaging, too. It makes it easy to get the right amount of product, see how much is left, use it all up, etc. I have combination skin and get really dry patches in some places, and really oily in others. I feel like this foundation really is good for the dry patches. As long as I use a good mattifying gel and setting powder I don't have any problems with oil control at all. It just gives a nice overall healthy look, and lasts the workday! Definitely my HG foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gabbygibsongirl on 10/3/2010 12:41:00 PM more reviews by gabbygibsongirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation. I have pretty clear skin except some old acne redmarks from my past brreakouts and this covers them beautifully while looking very natural. The fondation matches my skin perfectly as if im not wearing foundation. Looks super natural once it sets and leaves a beautiful slightly satin or natural matte finish wihtut looking dry or flakey on my skin.lasts most of my day only one touch up needed. I love the packaging, the squeeze tube is travel safe and you can finish the tube without hasstle. MAC went all out with this foundation. Is Def one of my HGs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathilda91 on 10/3/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by Mathilda91

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know really, if I like this foundation. It is quite good, with a heavy coverage but doesn't feel heavy on the skin. You need a very little to cover you entire face! It lasts ok, like 6-8 hours. But as long as you reaply you powder it's perfectly alright. The colours are quite good, I'm NC20. I feel however that the foundation needs to "blend" with my face to look really good. It looks better 20 minutes after application!

I needed to by a new brush, a regular foundation brush doesn't work, so I bought the 187, and wow, my face looks airbrushed! I you wan't heavy coverage this is for you. If you don't...(Try mixing it with strobe liquide)

EDIT: This foundation is awful! I like it less and less. It's a pain to apply, goes on very blotchy and settles into my dry skin. I've tried every application technique and nothing works. When my skin is good, it looks fine, but then I'd rather use a sheerer foundation. I'd like this to work when i'm red and stuff. It is not work on me at all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 9/23/2010 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

One tip: NEVER apply foundation with your fingers. The oils from your hands will get into the product and back onto your skin and may compromise the quality and consistency of your look as well as the product. Always use a clean brush or sponge, anything but fingers! It's just smearing oils and bacteria all into your nice makeup.

I'm still trying to like this product. It looks great on, but that isn't the issue. I have combination normal/oily skin (normal everywhere but the my forehead and nose) and it's very clear. However, like another reviewer, it's been giving my skin a weird "hot, tingly" feeling. I am determined to try it for a bit more (within the return period) but this foundation is not worth possibly ruining my face. I will update my review once I've decided.

For now, though, I love the texture and consistency, and how it looks in person, under fluorescent lights, and in photos. The squeeze tube is a personal favorite of mine. I love seeing clearly what I have left, and not being afraid I'll break a glass bottle. Let's hope this is just my skin adjusting, not freaking out!

Update: After a general adjusting period, I find I really like this foundation the best of anything I've tried from MAC. My skin has not broken out from it, and is no longer feeling hot or tingly when I wear it. I do find, however, my skin does get oily a lot faster than it does with my TEMPTU foundation. The end result is worth it, though. It looks fantastic up close, in pictures - basically every situation. I lightly use MAC Blot Powder to control the oil, and it never looks thick, cakey, or powdery.

I put it on using a sponge and work in sections of my face since it seems to dry quickly. I then set it with a thin layer of Mineralize Skinfinish Natural and a big, fluffy brush. Sometimes I get what I call "MAC Face," when your foundation and powder looks very powdery/cakey like it seems some MUAs there wear (not ALL, just some; just something I've always taken notice of). If this happens to me, I finish my face with blush, etc, and then use some spritzes of MAC Fix+ to take the powdery look away and really set/finish it. It never looks gross or thick, or mask-like, if I use the Fix+ after.

Overall, I really like this foundation. It is definitely my new go-to foundation at MAC!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RocketQueen88 on 9/21/2010 1:44:00 PM more reviews by RocketQueen88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

hmmm i can take or leave this foundation tbh, when i first started wearing it i loved it! The coverage is great and its easy to apply....however on the downside it is far too greasy for my liking, so if you have fairly oily skin like myself, this foundation is a definate no!
It also smells awfull and stings if you get it anywhere near your eyes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Asti1234 on 9/18/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this. It is high coverage but still manages to look natural. Leaves a semi dewy finish. I always apply my foundations using my fingers, I think this helps to blend it in. I then buff afterwards using a 187. I have normal skin and studio sculpt lasts a normal work day for me (8 hours roughly.) I set it with Mac Prep and Prime powder or MSF natural which makes it last longer. I am NC30 in Studio sculpt and NC35 in studio fix so I'm assuming it runs a bit dark? Doesn't oxidise on me thankfully. I like the packaging too, I would imagine it will be easy to squeeze out every last drop which is always a good thing :-) Overall I would recommend if you like a dewy finish with high coverage and you're not too oily skinned. X

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sftbllk25 on 9/11/2010 2:44:00 PM more reviews by sftbllk25

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Alright so I looked over the reviews and I got a lot of mixes on this one so I figured I'd give my own opinion :D
Well to start off, this was my first med to full coverage foundation, before this it had been powder and lotion, yuck! Well I LOVE this product. I have very dry skin, it's terrible, so this product does wonders to my skin due to it's lack of oils. I add a little more than a pencil eraser top amount of this foundation to about a nickel sized amount of moisturizer (Garnier Moisture Rescue SPF 15) in the palm of my hand and blend with my finger, then I apply it to my skin, from the base of the neck all the way to the forehead (all over basically). It works wonders. If I want more coverage, I just add more foundation to the lotion and blend. I let it set on my skin for about 20-30 min and apply the MAC mineralized powder in Medium, which is still pretty light yet adds a wonderful finish. I'm sure if you want a more dewy look you could add the powder sooner, and I've done so, it looks just as nice. As for the price, I think it's worth it, you get a lot and it'll last for quite sometime. Now for specifics on my foundation choice and skin tone...
I recently had to go back in to have my foundation changed since my tan has totally faded off my face and neck. The color I was using previously just wasn't working for me, it was NC 30 which was WAY too yellow, I looked sick. I came into the store without any makeup on, my natural state one would say, to have them match my foundation to a T. Without the makeup on, I'm very fair skinned with lots of pink to my cheeks. The MA helped me out sooo much. We ended up going with NW 20 which blends in wonderfully, it matches my skin and covers my pink spots leaving a lovely canvas to work with. For those who maybe confused, MAC has a bizarre way of labeling their foundations, just because it's NC, doesn't mean you're cool toned, it just means it has yellow to it (and the higher the number the more depth it has). MAC breaks their foundations down to a code, if you have yellow-golden, olive, or golden beige skin you are in the NC shades. People who have pinkish shades of skin i.e. fair with pink, etc are NWs. Crazy, huh? Hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MadamWilliams on 9/9/2010 4:39:00 PM more reviews by MadamWilliams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think this product is a good full coverage foundation.

I just can't use it. It leaves my skin with this weird hot feeling after it's been applied. I would love for MAC to come up with another similar formula - besides the runny liquids - and I hope it won't irritate my skin.

It had so much potential for me - I still love my MAC foundation STICK.

As for packaging. I'm not a fan of MAC, NARS, and other lines that make their black packaging fuzzy. It gets messy and I hate it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products