MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

1120 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.


on 1/17/2011 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this foundation in the winter time since it is gel base and isnt drying. I would not say that it is full coverage, but more like medium coverage. I love its consistency. It looks very natural compared to MAC's studio foundations. It doesnt dry matte, more like a dewy look. I sometimes set it when I want a matte finish. I love this product. It really feels light and never has broken me out. This is my favorite product to use in the winter time.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation was a hude disapointment, i have dry to combo skin and this foundation is horrible, no matter how i applied it, how much or little i used, it looked dry, cakey and transfered like crazy, i tried applying it with several different brushed, sponges or my fingers and it just wasnt working for me, the coverage wasnt that fantastic either, if u have quite dry flakey prone skin i would not recomend this product, im yet to come across a mac foundation i like, this product also made me break out like crazy!! The only thing i liked about this product was the packaging, i would defently not re purchase this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2011 6:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a swap because I had been dying to try MAC foundation. this one is all right. it does keep my skin moisturized enough in the winter, but I find that it makes my face look white in photos (possibly due to the SPF?), which really bothers me. however, I do like that it's in a squeeze bottle so it's hygienic and it doesn't come pouring out of the bottle due to its consistency. it also provides the coverage I need. overall, I'd say Studio Sculpt is decent, but I wouldn't spend the money on buying it again, especially since I prefer Revlon Photoready and Colorstay which cost half or even a third of the price.

UPDATE 02/08/11: been using this more and I think I'd change it from 3 to 4 stars. I like how it gives my face a healthy, dewy look. it's still not as good as my Revlon foundations though ;)


on 1/10/2011 6:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Applied with a brush this foundation has a medium to full coverage. It looks quite nice after it set with powder and stayed on well. However it felt quite heavy esp. around the nose area.


on 1/10/2011 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE the Studio Sculpt Foundation! It makes me look perfect. It gives me a full-coverage, skin-like finish. I don't even need concealer for my facial flaws anymore.

The packaging is great too. I really like the squezze tube and foundation itself smells like butterscotch (it fades after a few hours though).

I have acne-prone, sensitive, and dry skin but this has not caused me any breakouts. This is also one of the only MAC foundations with a reliable sunscreen.

I apply my Studio-Sculpt with a foundation brush, then lightly dust studio fix on top to set it. I also use the Select Sheer Powder for touch-ups. It's a wonderful formula, stays on all day, and is practically water-proof.

Give it a try, it may be your HG foundation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2011 10:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff, in NW 20, is my favorite foundation ever - I won't use anything else! The texture and color are perfect and it is so clear this is quality stuff. It is really pricey for me but it lasts forever, so it is worth it. No complaints about the packaging. I tried a liquid foundation by MAC for a lighter texture in the summer but I didn't like it as much as this one, so I came back to Studio Sculpt. I apply with a makeup sponge for the best result, with a primer or without and sometimes with the Strobe Cream, and then with powder or bronzer after. I buy this again and again.


on 1/8/2011 12:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i'm nc30 in other mac foundations....i have dry skin and thought this gel like product from such huge brand was goin to work for me.....i've alwys been MAC fan,but this foundation is HORRIBLE enough to make me loathe mac foundations!!! .... i've worn this foundation for more than a week now and i can say i'm damn disappointed with this one...i bought it no matter how pricey it turned out to be... but studio sculpt is not worthy of its price... looks cakey no matter how little pea sized amount u apply...settles into fine lines..making u look mask like... and not at all natural...tried applying with strobe cream...tried mixing with other moisturizers...tried with Fix+ spray too...but in vain!!....
don't be blinded by the brand name...!!!!!!!!!!!
there are some amazing foundations offered by the other brands too...!!!...research...n go find it !.....
however, i must agree dat mac foundations can be closer to ur skin tone...!!
also Fix+ spray is more rose water like..smells like it too... the ingredients dont seem great too..!! and most of all its pricey...and i dont recommend Fix + spray too....although i have really dry skin...


on 1/7/2011 9:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have wanted to try this prodcut for so so long. Mainly because I have very dry skin. I read and reread all of the reviews on MUA. I decided to get the NC20 which when I first applied looked too dark, however in different lighting looked good and melded to my skin. I usually wear a primer with titanium dioxide so it was alright. It is a very interesting product in that how you prepare/prime your face before hand makes such a difference. If you have dry skin moisturise well before had or it will emphasise drieness/wrinkels. But dont over moisturise or you will look oily. I am still experimenting with this product,however at the moment I apply a pea size amount to the back of my hand, then place a dot on my forehead then blend, then cheeks then blend then chin, etc, I then go over any areas that need exta coverage. I think the finish is lovely, luminous, highly pigmented and nice to work with. I often keep foundations/blemish balms in the fridge. so the consistency is similar to this. I personally did not have a problem with spreading the product as i am used to using a thicker consistency. I am going to keep experimenting with this foundation, as I think it is different than any other I have used. But one were proper face prep is essential

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't stand this stuff. I wore it for less than 3 hours and i broke out. I bought it in the shade i normally wear from mac.However, it was too dark. It's sticky and very difficult to spread with a fondation brush. It felt like i was spreading cream cheese on my face.


on 1/6/2011 1:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have read many many many mixed reviews about this foundation... but having tried it myself... I have to say... I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
I have combo skin & this is my perfect foundation for the winter. Very moisturizing. In the beginning I found it difficult to work with. I tried the MAC 190 , 187, and the 188.. I did not like the look of any of these brushes it gave me a very streaky look. & it turns out that a MAKE UP SPONGE worked best for me. HOWEVER; it is sort of heavy feeling on the face and that is the only thing that i do not like about it.

p.s. my color match is nc 40 / nc 42
p.s.s. after moisturizing your face ; while you wait that (5 mins) to apply make up.. put the foundation under your arm pit (sounds weird) to help warm the product up. It glides once its heated up a little bit. l


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv



Back to Top