Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1095 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 stacey0125 on 5/13/2011 11:43:00 AM more reviews by stacey0125

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really love this foundation. I had been using Bare Minerals Matte Foundation prior to this and I wasnt satisfied AT All with the coverage. It only provided sheer coverage at best. I purchased Revlon Colorstay and I was ok with that, however it was cakey, hard to blend and looked really unnatural. I follow YouTube's MakeupbyTiffanyD's channel religiously and she wears this and swears by it so I finally decided to try it out. I am so glad I did. It takes a while to get color matched, however the formula is amazing. It provides full coverage IMO but doesnt look cakey at all. You need just the smallest amount so this would last me probably at least 6 months so even though it is expensive it will last you forever. I am really satisfied with this and will definitley be repurchasing...HG all the way!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HerSheLips on 5/13/2011 11:01:00 AM more reviews by HerSheLips

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I have had my bottle since August (yes, August) and am now running out. A little goes a long way and it keeps my skin matte all day long. What I love about this line is that it comes in a ARRAY of colors, from the lightest skin tone to the darkest (I'm pretty dark and there were 3 more colors that were darker than me). I have finally found my staple foundation that helps keep my oily skin at bay for a good portion of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thinkpink550 on 5/12/2011 8:32:00 PM more reviews by thinkpink550

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this foundation! Ok, so I have acne scars and oily skin and this seems to make my skin look flawless by covering all my acne scars! However, the finish to this foundation looks like I just have great skin, doesn't look like I am wearing foundation! I'd definitely reccommend to anyone! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Girlythings on 5/10/2011 11:51:00 PM more reviews by Girlythings

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation! I suffered from acne for many many years and had left over scars. My skin has cleared up, but I still have a few spots. This foundation not only covers nicely, but it helps control my oil all day! I agree with other reviewers that it definitely highlights dry skin and flakes; unless you have oily skin-stay away! It looks best applied with fingers and blended with a brush. I lightly set it with pressed powder and love the smooth finish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautymarked71 on 5/7/2011 6:31:00 PM more reviews by beautymarked71

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
Full coverage, good for people with oily skin, comes in a squeeze bottle to prevent bacteria getting in, matte finish, last all day, buildable without looking cakey & the price is reasonable.

CONS: Not a good foundation for people with dry skin, dries fast so it can be difficult to blend, and you can't see through the packaging so its hard to tell when your running out.

Overall I really love this foundation & would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Spoan on 5/2/2011 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Spoan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

While I can see how this would be a great foundation for some (nice texture, no strong odor) it was not right for me. I have dry skin (with some acne) that is easily managed with moisturizing cleansers and creams. I would start out with a fresh, dewy face (after moisture and primer) and once I applied this foundation I would have a dry, cakey canvas. Every crease and flake became painfully evident, and my face felt tight and itchy. I would not recommend this to anyone with dry skin.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ithinkuracontra on 5/1/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by ithinkuracontra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent foundation, though I feel I was deceived with the amount of coverage I was going to get. I bought this when my skin wasn't that great, expecting full coverage. But I think it's a lot lighter coverage as it did not decently cover any of my red marks. On the bright side, it does even out the skin tone well and makes your skin look somehow nicer. I had to make sure that I moisturized really well right before putting on the foundation, because I noticed that when my skin was a bit drier, the foundation did not glide on as easily. If you have very oily skin, I do think that this foundation is somewhat mattifying but your skin won't stay matte for very long so you would still have to use a powder on top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupwithM on 4/30/2011 11:28:00 PM more reviews by makeupwithM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for a long time. I love this foundation. I have oily and acne prone skin and this did not break me out. It is really matte so if you don't like that look you will not like it.

The only thing I would change is where they have the number of the color. Mine rubbed off after I finished the bottle and it was annoying to rematch my color again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hellokittybrock on 4/30/2011 1:40:00 PM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is a joke. LOL Yes it does control oil and it is 100% matte. But it is super unnatural and cakey. I would rather blot my face a few times a day then to look made up and super unnatural. Coverage is high. The HD foundation on the other hand is not too bad. But unsuitable for oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jyangsmiles on 4/25/2011 11:19:00 PM more reviews by jyangsmiles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this foundation!
It's easy to apply, the coverage is smooth and 'velvety', it mattifies my terribly oily skin, and lasts pretty much the whole day!
I do get a bit of a shine at the end of the day, but it seems more like a healthy shine rather than an oily shine.
I'll definitely buy it again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products