Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1072 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 aer0057 on 3/24/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by aer0057

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this because MakeupbyTiffanyD from YouTube highly recommends this. But it caused cystic acne on my nose everytime I used it. It was also too drying for my skin and I have oily skin. Since then, I have turned to mineral makeup which seems to be better for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spacecow17 on 3/19/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by spacecow17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

You know what? I actually liked this foundation. This is really good for those with oily skin and it has great coverage, BUT I wish that they had more color choices! I just found it too pinkish for my skin tone. I am usually medium to tan in coloring (ranging from NC35-42 depending on seasons). I believe I bought a 35, but it was still too pink for my skin. Im not gonna rate it low just because it didn't work for me, it is still a decent product! It's just not for those with yellow undertones =(

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Trixiev on 3/18/2011 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Trixiev

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ehhh ... just ok. Yeah it was mat which is good for oily skin but the coverage was just not what I am comfortable with and didn't last the 8 hours I am at work. I keep on going back to my Estee Lauder Double Wear which I have been using for at least 5 years now! It's worth a try which I am always open to ... but there is much better out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mestisa757 on 3/18/2011 8:25:00 PM more reviews by mestisa757

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Reallly wanted to love it, since I have oily, acne-prone skin that has some redness and marks. It does great with coverage and it definitely dries matte, however I found that after using it for a few days it dried my face out so bad that I started peeling around my nose and mouth. Also looked cakey beneath my eyes. Had to return it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amartoglio on 3/18/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by amartoglio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is awesome! I have oily/combo acne prone suuuuper sensitive skin and this did not break me out. It is a little drying around my mouth area. It does dry matte. Coverage is medium. Very dark acne marks need a dot of cover up. Makes my face look flawless. Squeeze bottle is hygenic. TIP: I squeeze the air out before I put the cap back on so that when I open it again the air pressure doesn't cause it to squirt everywhere. I've really been wanting to try the MUFE Face & Body but havn't got around to that one yet. I don't mind paying more for quality products but I honestly feel this one is a tad expensive for such a small amount.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliamoore on 3/17/2011 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Juliamoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a really wierd skin - I have rosacia with lots of pit scars and crater pores. Oh yes, my skin is oily, sensitive and COLD toned too (most FD either make me too pink or too yellow). I tried to match Nars Sheer Glow but it was too sallow looking on me (I tried 4 shades - from Deuville to Santa Fe). I never was able to pull of any liquid FD as they a) Don't match my pale skin with lots of redness and uneveness b) break me out (MUF does have silicone in it but I guess it is a different grade as I read not all of silicones are the same and doesn't clogg me). So far I love this and I am very hyper- allergic (I will update if I break out) but I don't even itch from it (Hmm... Lancome, Nars). I am 30 (Porcelain) and when I put it on - THAT'S HOW MY SKIN SHOULD LOOK!!! Flawless, matte but not flat. I don't need a concealer with it. If you have huge pores like me it might actually work. As mine looked so unnoticible unless you put your face really close. As for the staying power - I need only to blot and put powder in 3-4 hours (for me it is a record) and it looks fresh again.
Definitly give it a try!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionamimi on 3/15/2011 4:31:00 AM more reviews by fionamimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this foundation's formula, but I just couldn't find a shade to match my olive complexion... I found most of them too beige for my skin.

It's a great formula and I'm so jealous of you beige undertones right now... I'm an oily skin, too and this is just amazing...

I would purchase if the expanded the shades :) **
I think the packaging can be better...it looks like Clinique's... Meh..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sosochop on 3/13/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by sosochop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS STUFF!!! Though I don't have oily skin, I'm the type of gal who will sweat in the arctic - less than 5 minutes after I put on other foundations, they are sliding off my face and I often just rely on concealer which really only makes me sweat more. Powder only settles into my 'fine' lines as powder will do when moist... I don't know how or why this works, but I am nice and dry for hours after I put this on, and even if I do sweat, I can blot w/ tissue and the foundation remains in place (I do occasionally have to reapply to my nose as I am also a constant nose blower - LUCKY ME!!!). The price is a bit on the high side but a little goes a long way and for what it does, it's like liquid gold to me. I can't honestly answer about packaging as I was given an ENORMOUS sample by a Sephora SA and so I won't need to buy my own bottle for a while but I hope it isn't a pain to get out of the bottle... either way, I'm buying this great goop in bulk if possible!!! Thank you MUFE!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunalove on 3/9/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by lunalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin, but with dry patches. I am an NC25 and was matched to a 30 in this foundation...I dont know if this was really the best they could do, because after putting it on my whole face at home (away from sephora lighting) it does not look like a good color match. It does keep me from looking oily, especially when set with MUFE HD powder but it also has a powdery finish by itself, so it does not look natural on me. I definitely look like Im wearing foundation. It also highlights any dry areas you may have on your face, but this is with all mattifying foundations. I do love the bottle, it is very hygienic and you can actually use all of the product, and you dont have to worry about breaking it if you drop it.
EDIT: I was rematched to a 40 and it looks much better!
I HATE that they dont put the # of your foundation color on the bottle so you have no idea what color you have. I tried taking in my second bottle to repurchase (the darker one) and we couldnt figure out what it was between two of the colors. That just seems like a glaring oversight on the part of the company; why would you make it harder to figure out what color the consumer had?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jija on 3/8/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by jija

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! full coverage, matte finish, matches my skin perfectly! My skin looks healthy with this on, which can't be said for some other foundations I have used. This is by far my favorite foundation and it feels fantastic on my face. Could not be better and the price is not atrocious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products