Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1067 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliamoore on 3/17/2011 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Juliamoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a really wierd skin - I have rosacia with lots of pit scars and crater pores. Oh yes, my skin is oily, sensitive and COLD toned too (most FD either make me too pink or too yellow). I tried to match Nars Sheer Glow but it was too sallow looking on me (I tried 4 shades - from Deuville to Santa Fe). I never was able to pull of any liquid FD as they a) Don't match my pale skin with lots of redness and uneveness b) break me out (MUF does have silicone in it but I guess it is a different grade as I read not all of silicones are the same and doesn't clogg me). So far I love this and I am very hyper- allergic (I will update if I break out) but I don't even itch from it (Hmm... Lancome, Nars). I am 30 (Porcelain) and when I put it on - THAT'S HOW MY SKIN SHOULD LOOK!!! Flawless, matte but not flat. I don't need a concealer with it. If you have huge pores like me it might actually work. As mine looked so unnoticible unless you put your face really close. As for the staying power - I need only to blot and put powder in 3-4 hours (for me it is a record) and it looks fresh again.
Definitly give it a try!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionamimi on 3/15/2011 4:31:00 AM more reviews by fionamimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this foundation's formula, but I just couldn't find a shade to match my olive complexion... I found most of them too beige for my skin.

It's a great formula and I'm so jealous of you beige undertones right now... I'm an oily skin, too and this is just amazing...

I would purchase if the expanded the shades :) **
I think the packaging can be better...it looks like Clinique's... Meh..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sosochop on 3/13/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by sosochop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS STUFF!!! Though I don't have oily skin, I'm the type of gal who will sweat in the arctic - less than 5 minutes after I put on other foundations, they are sliding off my face and I often just rely on concealer which really only makes me sweat more. Powder only settles into my 'fine' lines as powder will do when moist... I don't know how or why this works, but I am nice and dry for hours after I put this on, and even if I do sweat, I can blot w/ tissue and the foundation remains in place (I do occasionally have to reapply to my nose as I am also a constant nose blower - LUCKY ME!!!). The price is a bit on the high side but a little goes a long way and for what it does, it's like liquid gold to me. I can't honestly answer about packaging as I was given an ENORMOUS sample by a Sephora SA and so I won't need to buy my own bottle for a while but I hope it isn't a pain to get out of the bottle... either way, I'm buying this great goop in bulk if possible!!! Thank you MUFE!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunalove on 3/9/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by lunalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin, but with dry patches. I am an NC25 and was matched to a 30 in this foundation...I dont know if this was really the best they could do, because after putting it on my whole face at home (away from sephora lighting) it does not look like a good color match. It does keep me from looking oily, especially when set with MUFE HD powder but it also has a powdery finish by itself, so it does not look natural on me. I definitely look like Im wearing foundation. It also highlights any dry areas you may have on your face, but this is with all mattifying foundations. I do love the bottle, it is very hygienic and you can actually use all of the product, and you dont have to worry about breaking it if you drop it.
EDIT: I was rematched to a 40 and it looks much better!
I HATE that they dont put the # of your foundation color on the bottle so you have no idea what color you have. I tried taking in my second bottle to repurchase (the darker one) and we couldnt figure out what it was between two of the colors. That just seems like a glaring oversight on the part of the company; why would you make it harder to figure out what color the consumer had?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jija on 3/8/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by jija

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! full coverage, matte finish, matches my skin perfectly! My skin looks healthy with this on, which can't be said for some other foundations I have used. This is by far my favorite foundation and it feels fantastic on my face. Could not be better and the price is not atrocious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fatbottomgirl76 on 3/8/2011 5:04:00 PM more reviews by fatbottomgirl76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my 3rd bottle and my fave foundation. It's the only thing I've found that matches my skin. I use Alabaster. It covers well and keeps the oil away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yeahimdanielle on 3/8/2011 3:13:00 PM more reviews by yeahimdanielle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this foundation a couple weeks ago, and I LOVE IT. I first applied it with my fingers, but I didn't think it was anything special. I then purchased the Sonia Kashuk version of the Beauty Blender (it's the same quality, but half the price) and tried applying the foundation with that. I immediately fell in love. I used this every day and it gives the most flawless look. My big problem with foundations is when they actually look like foundation (cakey..). When I wear this, it really looks like I'm not wearing any makeup at all. It stays on all day/night, so I don't even have to touch it up. My skin is mostly normal, but I still use a powder over this and it doesn't look cakey. Don't be afraid of the name, because it's not too drying at all. Actually, it can be used for a very sheer coverage foundation, and it's buildable to give full coverage. Overall, this is the best foundation I've ever tried. I recommend it 100%, but to get the best effect, I recommend using the Beauty Blender or the Sonia Kashuk sponge. The only bad thing is that I'm afraid of when the product starts to run out. I feel like the packaging is going to make it really hard to reach the last bit of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Everhill1 on 3/6/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Everhill1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Amazing foundation!!

I have tried it all and with my oily/combination skin this stays put all day! I also have large pores on my nose and this hides them completely! The only thing I have found with this foundation is that you have to work fast as it sets quickly. Sometimes I spray my face first with Fix + then work it in, otherwise I work it in with my fingers section-by-section. I am NW20 in MAC and I use #30 in this foundation. The colour stays true, I found no oxidation. I also don't have to blot through the day.
I like to try other foundations, but I always come back to this one!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vickio92 on 3/3/2011 6:16:00 PM more reviews by vickio92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

i have this in 15. It's a pretty good match to my pale, scottish, redheaded skin, much less orange than MUFE's HD in 110. It give full coverage that is buildable and I do not need concealer with it. The only downside is that it can be a bit drying and highlighting flakyness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiaobundan on 3/3/2011 5:30:00 PM more reviews by shiaobundan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best foundation I've ever used.

It is medium to full coverage, but doesn't cake up or look like i'm wearing foundation at all. A lot of foundatinos claim this, but this is the only one I think is true.

Also, it really does stay MATTE all day and it just looks like my skin. Doesn't get oily or bunch up in my pores. It feels completely weightless and all foundations claim this, but this one really delivers.

My first MUFE foundation, and now i'm itching to try the others.

Other foundations I've used and think are inferior to Mat Velvet + include: MAC Studio Sculpt, MAC Face and Body, Clinique Almost Makeup, Stila One Step, Revlon Colorstay, Rimmel (all of them), Benefit cream stick, Lorac oil-free (LORAC may be the only one that feels nearly as weightless as MUFE).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products