Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1098 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 5/16/2011 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I switched back to this product after having used Teint Idole and Doublewear for the past 1.5 years..ELDW is way too cakey, Teint Idole is nice but I wanted something without an SPF to avoid the ghostface in pictures.. Mat Velvet+ was a good choice; I haven't had to blot once today and I have been wearing my makeup for 5 hours now, my skin looks smooth and flawless, the price is not bad (34$ per bottle), and a little goes a long way.
My only complaints (and the reason I give 4/5 lippies) is that it does emphasize dry patches a lot (I have some dryness on some days because of the strong acne treatments I use at night time.. if I don't exfoliate before applying moisturizer and primer, this foundation causes a lot of extra flakiness), the bottle design is not one with a pump (although it does come in a squeeze-out tube, which is anti-bacterial), and the color selection is limited. I am 153 in MUFE HD, Stromboli in Nars Sheer Glow and both are a PERFECT match..I got matched to 55 in Mat Velvet and it is definately a bit too orange/pink for my skin.. It also oxidizes quite a bit from initial application.. I noticed that it seems to get pinker/tanner by the end of the day.. the difference between my face color and my neck color is REALLY obvious, which i hate.. so I may just have to use this as my weekend-night time foundation because there are no shades that match me perfectly.. If MUFE would expand the color selection for this foundation it would be PERFECT.

update: I returned this foundation for Nars Sheer Glow.. I love the way that mat velvet looks but there is not a color choice that even comes close to matching my yellow undertones, so I had no choice but to return.. if you find a color match that looks good on you though, then this is a great foundation.



on 5/14/2011 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

Im an NC25-30, and I was matched with shade 30. I feel like the color is a bit too light for me. anyways, I asked one of the beauty advisors at sephora to help me pick out a foundation that had good coverage and that lasted all day while mentioning my combo skin. She suggested I try this one. After I was matched I was impressed, So I bought it, tried it the next day over my HD primer, unfortunately it was EXTREMELY HUMID which resulted in nasty oil production and at the end of the day i had very little foundation on!! So I gave it another try thank God it wasnt humid the next day, but after 2 hours my nose was a nasty oil slick!

The coverage is Good i would say, medium-full buildable coverage, it does feel very light, but it's rather thick which i feel like i have to use more! (weird i know) It does look natural after wearing it for a bit but it ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT keep u matte for long! I don't think its worth it iMO, I wanted to love it, I really did but didnt work for me:( Revlon colorstay is better and cheaper



on 5/13/2011 12:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I completely agree with the reviewer beneath saying how this product is so great. I also purchased this because I follow TiffanyD's videos and after her saying how great it was for her oily skin, I had to try this. I am NC25 in MAC and shade 40 is absolutely perfect for my skin. The formula is so light and natural, and very good coverage. I love traveling with this product also because of the packaging, it's not heavy and it's not a glass bottle so you don't have to worry about it breaking at all. This foundation is $34 and is worth every penny. But I only use this for special occasions since I will around alot of people, and touching up is really annoying, the finish stays fantastic for a long period of time. I will always repurchse this...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2011 11:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this foundation. I had been using Bare Minerals Matte Foundation prior to this and I wasnt satisfied AT All with the coverage. It only provided sheer coverage at best. I purchased Revlon Colorstay and I was ok with that, however it was cakey, hard to blend and looked really unnatural. I follow YouTube's MakeupbyTiffanyD's channel religiously and she wears this and swears by it so I finally decided to try it out. I am so glad I did. It takes a while to get color matched, however the formula is amazing. It provides full coverage IMO but doesnt look cakey at all. You need just the smallest amount so this would last me probably at least 6 months so even though it is expensive it will last you forever. I am really satisfied with this and will definitley be repurchasing...HG all the way!!!!


on 5/13/2011 11:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I have had my bottle since August (yes, August) and am now running out. A little goes a long way and it keeps my skin matte all day long. What I love about this line is that it comes in a ARRAY of colors, from the lightest skin tone to the darkest (I'm pretty dark and there were 3 more colors that were darker than me). I have finally found my staple foundation that helps keep my oily skin at bay for a good portion of the day.


on 5/12/2011 8:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this foundation! Ok, so I have acne scars and oily skin and this seems to make my skin look flawless by covering all my acne scars! However, the finish to this foundation looks like I just have great skin, doesn't look like I am wearing foundation! I'd definitely reccommend to anyone! :)


on 5/10/2011 11:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation! I suffered from acne for many many years and had left over scars. My skin has cleared up, but I still have a few spots. This foundation not only covers nicely, but it helps control my oil all day! I agree with other reviewers that it definitely highlights dry skin and flakes; unless you have oily skin-stay away! It looks best applied with fingers and blended with a brush. I lightly set it with pressed powder and love the smooth finish!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

PROS:
Full coverage, good for people with oily skin, comes in a squeeze bottle to prevent bacteria getting in, matte finish, last all day, buildable without looking cakey & the price is reasonable.

CONS: Not a good foundation for people with dry skin, dries fast so it can be difficult to blend, and you can't see through the packaging so its hard to tell when your running out.

Overall I really love this foundation & would definitely repurchase.


on 5/2/2011 12:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

While I can see how this would be a great foundation for some (nice texture, no strong odor) it was not right for me. I have dry skin (with some acne) that is easily managed with moisturizing cleansers and creams. I would start out with a fresh, dewy face (after moisture and primer) and once I applied this foundation I would have a dry, cakey canvas. Every crease and flake became painfully evident, and my face felt tight and itchy. I would not recommend this to anyone with dry skin.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent foundation, though I feel I was deceived with the amount of coverage I was going to get. I bought this when my skin wasn't that great, expecting full coverage. But I think it's a lot lighter coverage as it did not decently cover any of my red marks. On the bright side, it does even out the skin tone well and makes your skin look somehow nicer. I had to make sure that I moisturized really well right before putting on the foundation, because I noticed that when my skin was a bit drier, the foundation did not glide on as easily. If you have very oily skin, I do think that this foundation is somewhat mattifying but your skin won't stay matte for very long so you would still have to use a powder on top.


Back to Top