Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1113 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation kicks butt. I have super-super-pale, oily, breakout prone skin and had been struggling to find a foundation that worked since I started wearing makeup 10 years ago. I was always compromising on either color to get a foundation that was compatible with my skin, or compatibility with my skin to get a foundation that color matched (normally the latter). Then I stumbled on MUFE Mat Velvet + about a year ago.

-------------------------
Pros:
1) Comes in a super light shade (15). This and CoverFX are the palest foundations you can find at Sephora, and paler than *any* drugstore foundations.
2) Doesn't break me out (and I break out really easily).
3) Actually stays matte and lasts for 12+ hours - even in the super humid Texas summers. I blot once at lunch (mostly out of habit), but can get away with skipping it easily. At the same time, I don't find it to drying in the winter (but then they're also humid here).
4) Medium coverage that can be built up or sheered out easily. When I'm going out, I just use a little more for fuller coverage. When I want a lighter look, I just mix in a little jojoba oil to thin it and this works well without causing it to seperate or anything.
5) Nice finish - matte but not in an unnatural/masky/cakey way. Plays okay if I happen to have a few patches of flakiness.
5) A little goes a long way - a bottle lasts me about 3-4 months of daily use, which is reasonable IMO.
6) Clean, sanitary squeeze bottle that is easy to get just the right amount out of. Travels well without having to worry about spills/breaking.

-------------------------
Cons:
1) This stuff is relatively thick and dries FAST. I have to do half my face at a time, and blend really quickly (like <20 sec). If you don't work fast enough or use a dense enough brush, it can end up looking patchy. I've found Sonia Kashuk's flat top brush is the best for this, tapping it on and then using quick circular motions to blend.
2) It's expensive, at $34 a bottle. Worth it, but still expensive. This fall I will probably buy 4 bottles during the BI sale so I'm set for the year and save $28 dollars.
3) It's only available at Sephora - so if you aren't near one, you won't be able to try it in person. And if I'm ever on vacation/move and run out I'm SOL until I can order one (and Sephora shipping is slow).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 6/19/2011 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is my HG foundation. I stopped using it for a few years in hopes of finding something cheaper, and failed miserably. Nothing else works as well for my super oily skin, and no other color matches me better than 60. (I think in MAC, I'm roughly an NC35-45, but who knows because I've never been able to get a good match with MAC). I discovered this liquid foundation when I went into Sephora for a recommendation for wedding makeup. I wanted something that would look good in person and in pictures, and would banish the incredible shine that comes across my forehead and cheeks. I had my eye on Bare Escentuals, but the advisor shook his head, "Oh no, honey." He lead me silently to the MUFE display, picked out my shade, dropped it in my basket, and said, "That's what you need" and walked away. I wish I knew his name so I could thank him! I used this foundation for my wedding makeup and the pictures turned out beautifully. Over the next couple years, however, I got sucked into all sorts of advertising gimmicks about new products, etc etc and went on a foundation spree jumping from one foundation to the other - L'Oreal TrueMatch was pretty good - Maybelline Dream Matte was quite good, but the mousse version was horrendous - LM tinted moisturizer was ok, not enough coverage - YSL's shades were off - the list goes on. I'm back with my MUFE Mat Velvet + now. My skin is happy, and a friend of mine asked me the other day, "what products are you using lately? You are positively radiant." $34 well spent. [If you have very shiny skin, and must buy something cheaper, I'd say the best drugstore foundation for shiny skin that I've found is Maybelline Dream Matte, the original, not the mousse. My shade is honey beige.]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2011 3:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
*gives me great coverage, buildable, I usually apply powder over it but not always.
*Shade 30 (?) actually matched my weird pale but hispanic olive skin tone
*doesnt break me out
*doesnt really smell

Cons (sort of)
* it is hard to see how much is left but it isnt so bad that its a deal breaker for me.
*the shade is not easily found on the bottle! I tossed the box and didn't realize this but there is a reference # on the bottom and apparently the last 2 numbers are your shade

I am not an extremely picky person, even though the product is $34 its worth it to me

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This foundation is incredible for oily skin! If you have dry skin, you should probably stay away from this foundation because it will cling to dry patches, but if you're oily this is the best mattifying foundation ever! This is one of the few foundations that actually matches my very pale skin, and lasts on my combination/oily skin for over 8 hours. It's a bit tricky to blend because it sets rather quickly, but I like this because it does not budge!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Compared to other foundations I've tried (high end and drugstore), this one is average.

It looks beautiful when first applied, photographs well and smells nice, but it's not quite full coverage and only lasts around 4-6 hours. I can also feel it on my face...a sticky film-like sensation that's kind of annoying. The bottle says it's water resistant, but not so much when it's hot outside and you're sweating.

I purchased this in shade 20 Ivory...here's a little guide to foundations I've tried that are very similar to this shade:

>MAC Studio Fix Fluid -NC15
>Revlon Colorstay-Buff 150
>Estee Lauder Double Wear- 1N1 Ecru
>MUFE HD-117 Marble
>NARS Sheer Matte- Deauville

I'll most likely only use this foundation for photography and during the winter when it's not as hot and humid outside.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2011 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I actually really love this foundation. It is versatile and long-lasting. I went through a phase where I was mixing it with moisturizer and it worked wonderfully to give me light, matte coverage. Now I'm back to using it on my T-zone and over blemishes only, and I love how easy it is to blend and build this foundation. From time to time I still have issues with oiliness depending on the weather or how much sunscreen I'm wearing, but 95% of the time my face is shine-free. A little goes a long way, which is nice because the price tag is a little high. Also, this is one of MUFE's non-pump packagings, so it's easy to get every last bit out of the tube. Definitely recommend.


on 6/10/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had the hardest time finding a colour match to this product. However, I purchased the colour 30 which was still not a exact match. Just as a reference I am a very light NC20. Anyways, the first day I wore this foundation, my bff told me that my foundation looked a bit off. I also had to agree but the application and look of the mufe mat velvet initially is amazing. However, it slides and oxidizes horribly as with most mufe face products (i've also tried the hd foundation and concealer... go with Laura Mercier secret camoflouge!!). I would deff not recommend to those who have oily skin! There are way better products out there that are much more long lasting!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2011 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know what I was thinking buying this. I have dry skin. IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN AND CAME HERE TO SEE IF YOU SHOULD BUY IT, TURN AND RUN. This just is not for dry skinned people. It sucks every single little oil in your face away. Dry spots galore. The reason I gave it a 3 instead of a 1 is because I can't give it a fair rating because it's not meant for me. I personally like the squirt top packaging.


on 6/8/2011 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation I have ever tried. HG for me.
I was a little scared of trying this foundation because my skin is dry and acne prone, but I'm so glad I did!
The finish is amazing. It looks like you're not wearing make up at all, which is amazing for me because I have a lot of acne marks to cover up. It has good coverage but I still have to use my MUFE Full Cover Concealer. I like how natural it looks and doesn't make break me out.
I have been looking for the perfect foundation for years. I'm glad I tried MUFE Mat Velvet foundation. I would totally recommend this!


on 6/7/2011 3:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping to love this stuff. I did my research before I purchased the product, and decided to give it a go. The color selection was nice, and shade 20 was able to match my skin. It provided an average amount of coverage, and stayed true to its name and provided a lovely matte velvet finish. Unfortunately, like some of the other users complained of, it settled into my pores and made them look absolutely HUGE. Also, in the Las Vegas heat, it just would not stick to my skin. No amount of primer or setting powder would make this last for more than a few hours (where as I would get quite a few more from other liquid foundations despite the heat). Overall, this product was not what I was looking for, and will be returned.


Back to Top