Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1112 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 6/19/2011 3:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
*gives me great coverage, buildable, I usually apply powder over it but not always.
*Shade 30 (?) actually matched my weird pale but hispanic olive skin tone
*doesnt break me out
*doesnt really smell

Cons (sort of)
* it is hard to see how much is left but it isnt so bad that its a deal breaker for me.
*the shade is not easily found on the bottle! I tossed the box and didn't realize this but there is a reference # on the bottom and apparently the last 2 numbers are your shade

I am not an extremely picky person, even though the product is $34 its worth it to me

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/14/2011 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This foundation is incredible for oily skin! If you have dry skin, you should probably stay away from this foundation because it will cling to dry patches, but if you're oily this is the best mattifying foundation ever! This is one of the few foundations that actually matches my very pale skin, and lasts on my combination/oily skin for over 8 hours. It's a bit tricky to blend because it sets rather quickly, but I like this because it does not budge!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Compared to other foundations I've tried (high end and drugstore), this one is average.

It looks beautiful when first applied, photographs well and smells nice, but it's not quite full coverage and only lasts around 4-6 hours. I can also feel it on my face...a sticky film-like sensation that's kind of annoying. The bottle says it's water resistant, but not so much when it's hot outside and you're sweating.

I purchased this in shade 20 Ivory...here's a little guide to foundations I've tried that are very similar to this shade:

>MAC Studio Fix Fluid -NC15
>Revlon Colorstay-Buff 150
>Estee Lauder Double Wear- 1N1 Ecru
>MUFE HD-117 Marble
>NARS Sheer Matte- Deauville

I'll most likely only use this foundation for photography and during the winter when it's not as hot and humid outside.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2011 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I actually really love this foundation. It is versatile and long-lasting. I went through a phase where I was mixing it with moisturizer and it worked wonderfully to give me light, matte coverage. Now I'm back to using it on my T-zone and over blemishes only, and I love how easy it is to blend and build this foundation. From time to time I still have issues with oiliness depending on the weather or how much sunscreen I'm wearing, but 95% of the time my face is shine-free. A little goes a long way, which is nice because the price tag is a little high. Also, this is one of MUFE's non-pump packagings, so it's easy to get every last bit out of the tube. Definitely recommend.


on 6/10/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had the hardest time finding a colour match to this product. However, I purchased the colour 30 which was still not a exact match. Just as a reference I am a very light NC20. Anyways, the first day I wore this foundation, my bff told me that my foundation looked a bit off. I also had to agree but the application and look of the mufe mat velvet initially is amazing. However, it slides and oxidizes horribly as with most mufe face products (i've also tried the hd foundation and concealer... go with Laura Mercier secret camoflouge!!). I would deff not recommend to those who have oily skin! There are way better products out there that are much more long lasting!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2011 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know what I was thinking buying this. I have dry skin. IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN AND CAME HERE TO SEE IF YOU SHOULD BUY IT, TURN AND RUN. This just is not for dry skinned people. It sucks every single little oil in your face away. Dry spots galore. The reason I gave it a 3 instead of a 1 is because I can't give it a fair rating because it's not meant for me. I personally like the squirt top packaging.


on 6/8/2011 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation I have ever tried. HG for me.
I was a little scared of trying this foundation because my skin is dry and acne prone, but I'm so glad I did!
The finish is amazing. It looks like you're not wearing make up at all, which is amazing for me because I have a lot of acne marks to cover up. It has good coverage but I still have to use my MUFE Full Cover Concealer. I like how natural it looks and doesn't make break me out.
I have been looking for the perfect foundation for years. I'm glad I tried MUFE Mat Velvet foundation. I would totally recommend this!


on 6/7/2011 3:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping to love this stuff. I did my research before I purchased the product, and decided to give it a go. The color selection was nice, and shade 20 was able to match my skin. It provided an average amount of coverage, and stayed true to its name and provided a lovely matte velvet finish. Unfortunately, like some of the other users complained of, it settled into my pores and made them look absolutely HUGE. Also, in the Las Vegas heat, it just would not stick to my skin. No amount of primer or setting powder would make this last for more than a few hours (where as I would get quite a few more from other liquid foundations despite the heat). Overall, this product was not what I was looking for, and will be returned.


on 6/3/2011 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this foundation for over a year now after switching from MAC StudioTech, and love that it has a medium coverage for my acne marks, plus it doesnt break me out. My face does end up being shiny after a few hours though. I have re-purchased a couple times already. I am NC44 and was matched up to No.60 Honey Beige.


on 6/1/2011 10:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At one point in time, my HG foundation was MUFE HD. It was perfect for a couple of months, but over time I broke out and for some reason my skin was oilier than ever. This surprised me because usually my skin is dry! So, after changing my skincare routine, it just wasn't helping and I decided to get a new foundation. I heard this would help with oilier skin types so I tried it and this is definitely my new favorite! After a whole day of wearing it in FLORIDA, my t-zone has been significantly less oily and I used it without a setting powder. With the HD foundation along with the HD setting powder, my nose area was disgustingly oily. The finish is not too matte, but I am okay with it :) Also, I thought it would be thick, but I don't feel it at all. Sad part is, I feel like this shade (#30) is too light for my NC30-NC35 skin so I will definitely exchange it for a darker shade. I would recommend to anyone with combination/oily skin!


Back to Top