Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1106 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 6/8/2011 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation I have ever tried. HG for me.
I was a little scared of trying this foundation because my skin is dry and acne prone, but I'm so glad I did!
The finish is amazing. It looks like you're not wearing make up at all, which is amazing for me because I have a lot of acne marks to cover up. It has good coverage but I still have to use my MUFE Full Cover Concealer. I like how natural it looks and doesn't make break me out.
I have been looking for the perfect foundation for years. I'm glad I tried MUFE Mat Velvet foundation. I would totally recommend this!



on 6/7/2011 3:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping to love this stuff. I did my research before I purchased the product, and decided to give it a go. The color selection was nice, and shade 20 was able to match my skin. It provided an average amount of coverage, and stayed true to its name and provided a lovely matte velvet finish. Unfortunately, like some of the other users complained of, it settled into my pores and made them look absolutely HUGE. Also, in the Las Vegas heat, it just would not stick to my skin. No amount of primer or setting powder would make this last for more than a few hours (where as I would get quite a few more from other liquid foundations despite the heat). Overall, this product was not what I was looking for, and will be returned.


on 6/3/2011 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been using this foundation for over a year now after switching from MAC StudioTech, and love that it has a medium coverage for my acne marks, plus it doesnt break me out. My face does end up being shiny after a few hours though. I have re-purchased a couple times already. I am NC44 and was matched up to No.60 Honey Beige.


on 6/1/2011 10:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At one point in time, my HG foundation was MUFE HD. It was perfect for a couple of months, but over time I broke out and for some reason my skin was oilier than ever. This surprised me because usually my skin is dry! So, after changing my skincare routine, it just wasn't helping and I decided to get a new foundation. I heard this would help with oilier skin types so I tried it and this is definitely my new favorite! After a whole day of wearing it in FLORIDA, my t-zone has been significantly less oily and I used it without a setting powder. With the HD foundation along with the HD setting powder, my nose area was disgustingly oily. The finish is not too matte, but I am okay with it :) Also, I thought it would be thick, but I don't feel it at all. Sad part is, I feel like this shade (#30) is too light for my NC30-NC35 skin so I will definitely exchange it for a darker shade. I would recommend to anyone with combination/oily skin!


on 5/21/2011 8:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this last summer and used it for a while then decided I wanted to try something new so it's kinda just been sitting in the back of my drawer for a while now. Today I decided I'd give it a try again and i LOVE it! I have dry skin but I unfortunately get hot and sweat easily so this is great for me in the summer. Since I apply this very shortly after putting on my moisturizer it isn't completely matte; it just looks natural. The consistency is GREAT. It's slightly runny, gives great coverage, and feels natural. My only issue is that the color I have is a bit too dark for me...but since I bought it last summer that's inevitable since I was probably darker when I bought it


on 5/21/2011 4:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised this doesn't have a higher rating truth be told, due to the praise I hear for MUFE all the time.
Sephora was out of the shade of the HD I originally went in for thinking that was the better option for my combo/dry skin, and with some advice from a helpful SA, I took a chance on this. I wanted a summer liquid foundation; specifically, one without SPF to avoid the pale washed-out look it tends to generate in pictures. If not for this reason, I probably wouldn't have forked over this much for a foundation because I'm finding more and more drugstore items working for me these days, but it's becoming near-impossible to find one without SPF there that works for me.

I've never had good luck with matte foundations, my skin being a bit on the dry side of normal. The last couple of "popular" ones I attempted were disastrous: Revlon Colorstay (thick flat cakey mess), PhotoReady (thin flat cakey mess); the Maybelline mousse ones, a Milani mousse one, both also horrible (mostly orange, on top of cakey), so I was hesitant to try matte again. Most of them tend to make me look older and more parched than I already am. Ok. So. Enter MUFE.

I tried to hate this, I really did. I wanted to take it back and exchange, telling myself that I was right: pricey foundations aren't worth it and don't make a difference. I failed miserably. Over primer, moisturizer, or all by itself, this is much more natural-looking than any of the Revlon or Maybelline formulas. It's not flat or dry, not thick, doesn't settle into patches or emphasize dryness (granted I don't have a lot right now, which helps); it doesn't oxidize or morph into a different shade later on, and doesn't feel like makeup- all of which surprised me. It's actually very natural looking and I don't need to use much to get good coverage (which hopefully means this little tube will go a long way). It blends well; doesn't break me out; lasts a long time without a setting powder (although I apply a bit of Smashbox Halo on top when I really want to boost the lasting power) . It also claims it's water resistant but I've yet to test that (bonus if it is because if so it will be my every-summer foundation). Overall, this is a really nice foundation and dare I eat my words and say it? Worth the price and I'm now even more curious to see if it's even better with my Beautyblender sponge, once that arrives.
I'm wearing shade #30 right now which might be a skitch too dark, but just barely. Give it a month (or simply a week outside of Cubicle-land), and it will probably be perfection in a tube, and on my face. I've been reaching for this daily since I purchased it, so thanks Sephora, for being out of stock in a good way for a change :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2011 4:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am really really disappointed with this one because it is so DARN EXPENSIVE and did not work for me. Coverage is ok, color match is ok too, it just did not keep me matte!!! I mean, it is MAT velvet Matifying.... this is the only reason why I got it and it had such good reviews from UT gurus, and MUA overall..... "sigh".... maybe my skin is just werid. Compared to Revlon color stay, Loreal Mattephorse, Max Factor Smooth Effect, or MAC Studio Fix, MUFE performed the worse in keeping the oilies at bay. I can understand when my nose goes shiny only, but with MUFE whole T zone is shiny after like 2-3 hours, and by noon, the makeup is sliding off my nose and forehead. I have tried with primers and setting powders, no improvements. Furthermore, the finish is not that fantastic either. Soooo sad.


on 5/18/2011 12:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i didnt buy this thank god, i used a sample. it broke me out but i mean the texture was okay not the best foundation ever. i probably dont really like it just cause it broke me out, i dont even have sensitive skin.


on 5/16/2011 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I switched back to this product after having used Teint Idole and Doublewear for the past 1.5 years..ELDW is way too cakey, Teint Idole is nice but I wanted something without an SPF to avoid the ghostface in pictures.. Mat Velvet+ was a good choice; I haven't had to blot once today and I have been wearing my makeup for 5 hours now, my skin looks smooth and flawless, the price is not bad (34$ per bottle), and a little goes a long way.
My only complaints (and the reason I give 4/5 lippies) is that it does emphasize dry patches a lot (I have some dryness on some days because of the strong acne treatments I use at night time.. if I don't exfoliate before applying moisturizer and primer, this foundation causes a lot of extra flakiness), the bottle design is not one with a pump (although it does come in a squeeze-out tube, which is anti-bacterial), and the color selection is limited. I am 153 in MUFE HD, Stromboli in Nars Sheer Glow and both are a PERFECT match..I got matched to 55 in Mat Velvet and it is definately a bit too orange/pink for my skin.. It also oxidizes quite a bit from initial application.. I noticed that it seems to get pinker/tanner by the end of the day.. the difference between my face color and my neck color is REALLY obvious, which i hate.. so I may just have to use this as my weekend-night time foundation because there are no shades that match me perfectly.. If MUFE would expand the color selection for this foundation it would be PERFECT.

update: I returned this foundation for Nars Sheer Glow.. I love the way that mat velvet looks but there is not a color choice that even comes close to matching my yellow undertones, so I had no choice but to return.. if you find a color match that looks good on you though, then this is a great foundation.


on 5/14/2011 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

Im an NC25-30, and I was matched with shade 30. I feel like the color is a bit too light for me. anyways, I asked one of the beauty advisors at sephora to help me pick out a foundation that had good coverage and that lasted all day while mentioning my combo skin. She suggested I try this one. After I was matched I was impressed, So I bought it, tried it the next day over my HD primer, unfortunately it was EXTREMELY HUMID which resulted in nasty oil production and at the end of the day i had very little foundation on!! So I gave it another try thank God it wasnt humid the next day, but after 2 hours my nose was a nasty oil slick!

The coverage is Good i would say, medium-full buildable coverage, it does feel very light, but it's rather thick which i feel like i have to use more! (weird i know) It does look natural after wearing it for a bit but it ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT keep u matte for long! I don't think its worth it iMO, I wanted to love it, I really did but didnt work for me:( Revlon colorstay is better and cheaper



Back to Top