Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1057 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slippingbeauty on 2/27/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very nice foundation if you have oily skin or an oily t-zone. As with most MUFE face products, the color selection is really nice. I am quite fair and hard to match, but I had no trouble selecting the right shade. It offers a medium-yet-buildable coverage that's wonderful for every day. I have acne-prone skin and this did nothing to cause breakouts as far as I can remember. It gave me that perfect porcelain "doll skin" that I had always searched for. I wouldn't recommend it, however, if you have dry skin or are prone to dryness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizalicious87 on 2/25/2011 12:59:00 PM more reviews by lizalicious87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

so i have been searching for a good foundation for years i have tried them all. I had heard mixed reviews about this foundation so I was scared to try it. I wanted a foundation that had great coverage, didnt clog pores, an didnt look like a mask. Well i found it this is one of the best foundations i have tried. It has great coverage, without being cakey. doesnt clog pores and doesnt get oily, which i tend to get. also doesnt feel heavy i hardly feel like i have make up on. i was using mac studio fix and this is hands down much better. Mac was too heavy and made me feel oily and cakey. you gotta try it its great last all day and i dont have to reapply...i am happy so far. however i have notice that it doesnt stay on for 16 hours and its lacking something i will continue to search.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkskyequeen on 2/25/2011 9:49:00 AM more reviews by darkskyequeen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first high end liquid foundation after using a powder foundation for several years. The MA at Sephora matched me perfectly with #65 in Golden Beige!!! So perfect is the colour, that I finally realized that I don't look naturally dull and grey but instead I actually have colour in my face. This foundation has enough yellows for my NC43/C6 skin tone. The thing though.. is this foundation is pricey!! It does last awhile on my very oily skin compared to foundation in the old days but it's no match for Revlon Colorstay (in Toast) except for in color match. Revlon colour runs a little red on me but I'm sure it will be more perfect in the summer months and I'll switch back to it. Mat velvet also seems to exaggerate the dryness/flakes on my skin... flakes that i can't even see until I apply it. It also gets streaky by the end of a 12 hr day.. so it just doesn't wear as naturally.


Foundation Comparison MUFE Mat Velvet vs Mac Studio Fix Fluid:


Recently I was on the hunt for an alternative foundation that has the same perfect colour as Mat Velvet but has better staying power and perhaps with a better price point. So decided to try out the Mac Studio Fix fluid in NC44. NC44 is almost dead on perfect match with #65 Mat Velvet in Golden Beige and a perfect match for my skin tone. So i decided to do an experiment. I wore mat velvet on one half of my face and Mac studio fix on the other half. As a base I used oil free moisturizer and Sheer envy primer before application and after application I dusted off with Mac Blot powder and Mac Prep and Prime finishing powder. Both have similar consistency when applying. Mat velvet though seemed to accentuate the areas dryness on my skin. Studio Fix went on more smoothly but only slightly. Coverage for both are almost identical. After 2 hrs I had the exact same oiliness on both sides of my face. After 4 hrs though Mat velvet was only slightly more oilier. Both started the smudge off the face when my skin was oily if I scratched it (this doesnt happen with Revlon Colorstay BTW). They both transferred the same on a kleenex. Funny thing.. they both have a slight oxidation but it actually makes my skin look better with the colour being a tad more golden until I blot with a blot sheet. I see no difference in oxidation colour between Mat velvet and Studio Fix. Makeup removal on oily skin is easy (compared to Revlon colorstay) but when I applied both to the back of my hand Studio Fix had better staying power and I had to use makeup remover. Mat velvet still washed off easily. Also they both photograph the same even with Mac Studio Fix having sunscreen in it. In terms of packaging they are both easy to use as long as you buy the pump with the Studio Fix. It's easier to travel with the Mat velvet packaging since it's nice and sleek.. but really for me it's not a selling point.


Final thoughts:


I would say Studio Fix fluid seems like a dupe for Mat velvet except that Studio fix has sunscreen. For the price I would without a doubt choose Mac Studio Fix Fluid. Plus it has a very very slight edge on Mat Velvet in terms of smoother application and more oil control. These differences though are hard to see. The only other thing is I would make sure to use a good make up remover for Mac since it may be deceiving when it looks like it's removed. Maybe this accounts for some of the breakouts that people are reporting with it compared to Mat Velvet. Also don't underestimate the power of water!! I find the way how these foundations apply and wear is much more improved when I've been drinking lots of water and less coffee. I'm still on the hunt for my HG foundation. That foundation would have the colour match of the MUFE and MAC but the quality of the Revlon colorstay.


If I could I would rate this a 3.5. I would not buy again only because Mac Studio Fix Fluid Fluid is cheaper and has sunscreen.

Update: I ended up ditching this and studio fix fluid. Now moving on to Mac Matchmaster. Amazing foundation and excellent colour match!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evillittlekitten on 2/24/2011 11:32:00 PM more reviews by evillittlekitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm one of those Px orphans, looking for a replacement foundation with a good color match. MUFE has a really excellent range of pale shades: No. 15 disappears right into my skin.


The coverage is really good. A thin layer will color correct red splotchiness. A couple extra dabs will knock out any remaining redness (like around the nose) or spots -- even if you're mid-breakout, like me, you can get by without concealer.


The finish is definitely matte. In the morning, it's actually a little TOO flat for my tastes, but by midday, thanks to my combination skin, I'm dewy. The fact that the foundation stays put and "adapts" is a huge bonus. In that respect, it kind of reminds me of a good cream foundation: it just MELTS into your skin as the day wears on.


But don't take that to mean that it's moisturizing -- it's not. In fact, drier areas on my skin (like around my nose during the winter) can start to itch. Bottom line is that a good exfoliation/skincare regimen will go a long way to ensuring good results with this foundation, as it doesn't take too kindly to dry, flaky patches.


That said, despite frequent noserubs and bad habits like resting my chin in my hand, this foundation stays put. After 11ish hours of wear, I've still got my face.


Application is simple: I use an old-fashioned foundation brush. The squeeze bottle makes it super easy to dispense and keep clean (seriously, why don't more companies use this kind of container?). I find that the formula dries somewhat quickly, so I work in zones, blending as I go.


I'm hesitant to call any foundation HG, but this one is damn close.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gltrbug on 2/23/2011 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Gltrbug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is actually super light but has good coverage. It doesn't feel tight or cakey on my skin. I always get oily thru the day and this does a pretty good job of keeping me not so shiney (I still get oily but not as soon). I apply with a foundation brush and stipple for extra coverage. I use the Duo Matte as a finishing powder with a kabuki because I like a full coverage look, it also helps keep the shine down. I'm starting to get some fine lines and this doesn't settle in or emphasize them like I would think a matte foundation would. So far I am happy with it and plan to purchase again. I bought 20 (and 200 in Duo Matte) and it matches my pale skin perfect. (I used to wear MAC NW20 and it was a little dark but I was tanning then.) 20 has a beige undertone (the next shade lighter and darker are both pink based)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rockangel04 on 2/13/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by rockangel04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This had about medium coverage for me and the shade range was somewhat good but it didn't really keep my matte like I wanted it too. It applies nicely and has a natural matte finish and it has relatively good staying power. I had been using a sample for a few days and I learned of this cosmetic database organization that rates the safety of cosmetics and this had the highest rating of being unsafe. Please forgive me as I do not remeber what the website is. But that sord of turned me off of this. Even if it was safe I probably wouldn't buy because it didn't do what I needed it to do. Suprisingly enough while I was on that website I seen how unsafe bare minerals is too, and they are suppose to have the foundation that is "good" for your skin but apparently not. I'm still likeing my MAC studio fix and will continue to stick with that unless something can top it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 astronaut on 2/12/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by astronaut

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This has been the only product that made a noticeable difference with my insanely oily teenage skin. I was VERY oily and was desperate so I used any mattifier I could get my hands on and even tried the Milk of Magnesia home remedy (which felt like my skin was burning...) I wear this foundation when I know I'm going to have a long rough day lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dzcml88 on 2/7/2011 3:25:00 AM more reviews by dzcml88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for around 2 weeks now, and was really concerned about it breaking me out, but so far, so good.

It feels nice on my skin, and isn't drying at all. Although, if you are prone to flakiness, I would recommend you try something else. If the extent of your flakiness isn't too bad however, you might like this this foundation if followed by a good exfoliation and moisturising/hydrating routine. I know I do =)
It also definitely lives up to its promise of keeping your skin matte. By matte, I don't mean flat (like MACs studio fix fluid), but it gives a surprisingly nice finish. I guess one would say "velvety"! I suppose what I'm trying to say it.. It keeps your skin looking like skin.
Coverage is fine. I have some bad-ish acne scarring, and I find that concealer isn't really that necessary anymore, unless I'm going for perfectly clear-looking skin.
Staying power is decent. Does not melt off, even in humid weather. Haven't tested its waterproof claims though.

Overall...
Pros:
1) Does not break me out! - Acne-prone skin friendly!!
2) Gives a good matte finish without taking out all the dimension from my face - relatively natural finish.
3) Pretty good coverage and staying power
4) Feels comfortable on my skin
5) Good for keeping oily skin at bay.
6) Buildable! and looks great applied with anything (fingers, brush, sponge)

Cons:
1) Could be less expensive =p
2) Not for those with flakey/ very dry skin
3) If you're looking for a medium-full coverage foundation, this is not it. - Concealer still needed if you're looking to cover everything.

I wouldn't really classify this as my absolute HG foundation just yet, as I'm always looking for better, but I do really like it, and I would repurchase it. I think that its a pretty darn good all-round foundation for its price range.
---------------
Update: After months of using this, I've realised that this makes me quite oily after a few hours. I do live in the tropics, but my new MUFE HD one doesn't! Am happier using that instead. Not removing any lippies, because it is quite a good foundation in more normal climates.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sjc11 on 2/5/2011 11:00:00 AM more reviews by sjc11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this foundation so badly. I really loved the coverage, and it was a great match for my skin color in the lightest shade. Finally, something that didn't turn orange! But my problem is that I'm using a skin regimen to clear my acne, and it's working but leaving me flaky, and this foundation is too drying for that and to be honest, it didn't even keep any oiliness at bay. I simply did not like the texture it left my skin with, and did not like the fact that not only did it pronounce on my flakes, but it also didn't even keep me matte. It just emphasized all my flaws and at the end of the day, I would not repurchase. I got it only a month or so ago so I think I'm actually going to return it. Too expensive to just rot in my makeup drawer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KGirl24 on 2/2/2011 3:59:00 PM more reviews by KGirl24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination/oily skin and I am prone to breakouts. My skin breaks out easily so I have to be very careful as to what I put on my face. This foundation did not break me out, which is a plus, however I did not find it suitable for my oily t-zone. When I would first put it on it looked very nice, velvety. After a few hours, maybe 4, my t-zone was extremely oily and the foundation became cakey. I was very disappointed because I really wanted to like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products