Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1120 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 6/29/2011 2:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So i have oily acne prone skin, that also gets super dry from various acne control toners and spot treatments. Now this foundation covers really well and does last a long time, but i wish it lasted longer and looked as well at the end of the day as it did upon first application. when my skin is normal and not dry, i give this 5 stars hands down. but because i often have dry patches, the matte finish tends to accentuate them more and sink in to my skin.

pros: excellent color selection, great coverage, great feel to skin after application, no breakouts

cons: accentuates dry patches, slides off after 6-7 hours off my oily areas

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/28/2011 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation! It is great if you have very oily skin like me..and I mean not a dry spot on your face oily. It has medium to full coverage, so it's great if you have oily acne prone skin. A warning: if you only have an oily t-zone then this is probably not for you. Because it clings on to any piece of skin that it dry. Also if you apply too much you can cause it to cake up. Though it is a great foundation if you know how to work it, for instance I like to apply if with clean fingers and not any thing else because it won't blend well if you use any thing else. Overall a great product for severely oily skin.


on 6/27/2011 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you're wondering how to use this, you need to use it sparingly and blend the heck out of your face. I suggest a damp sponge. It is a foundation, so it will not conceal heavy pigmentation and acne scars! If you find that it does, you're putting too much on and you're not aware of a cakey face. The good thing about this is that if you get your color matched, it provides a nice tint to even out your skin tone. And for me, the matte finish dried my skin which led to more oil unfortunately. Good luck

UPDATE: medium coverage, wont break you out, will dry you out, did not control oil for me

UPDATE (12/7/2012)
I always return to this foundation. ALWAYS. It's natural without being too matte. The coverage is very flexible, but it will not give you a full coverage. I did not know how to use this in prior years, but I know how to take advantage of this magic of a foundation. Be sure to moisturize well under this.
As for packaging, I -thought- I had run out. But I cut the bottle in half, and the foundation that stuck on the walls lasted me for a good month or so. I just put it in a separate container.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was such a disappointment! I can't believe that I wasted 34 dollars on this! I got color match when I went to sephora and I was the lightest shade number 15. The color was the only thing that worked about this foundation. It felt so heavy and I sweated it off half way through the school day. I also had to us so much concealer with so. I used the boing concealer by benefit which is also not cheap. Whenever I used my HG foundation (dream matte mouse) I don't have to use concealer at all. And I have very pigmented acne scars and acne itself. My advice is to save your money.


on 6/24/2011 10:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Mat Velvet+ is a great medium to full coverage foundation for my combo/oily skin. I find it works best in the Spring and Fall months. In winter, my skin is too dry for it. LM Silk Creme is my go-to in the winter months. As for summer...even though MUFE claims this is "Water resistant", so you'd think it would be good in the summer months, it is just too heavy. When I sweat, I can feel this makeup sitting on my skin, and it just starts to look like foundation (I'd rather it stay looking like skin)! I wore this foundation to prom this past Spring. It photographed beautifully, and looked very natural for the outside pictures. I do not need to do touch ups when I wear this foundation. I set it with MUFE HD Powder, and as the day goes on, I get a little bit dewy, but not extremely oily. I would recommend this foundation (and already have to a number of friends!), and I will probably repurchase.


on 6/24/2011 11:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this from an online store about 3 weeks ago after contemplating on whether or not to get it for more than 6 months.

And it has fast become one of the best foundations I have ever used! I'm in the shade 65 Golden Beige (I'm a MAC Studio Fix Fluid NW35/NC42 for reference) and the shade matches my skintone very well.

As the name goes, it leaves a matte finish but is not cakey or drying on the skin despite being oil-free. My t-zone does get oily after a few hours of application (even when I use a primer) so blotting is necessary for me although it might not be for anyone else.

My normal wear time is 8.30am - 6.00pm on work days. Although I live in warm & humid climate, I'm in an air-conditioned environment most of the time so the foundation doesn't slip and slide ... although it starts to look a bit greasy by about 5pm.

I also use the MUFE HD foundation (in No. 170 Caramel) but it can get oily on me very quickly so I save that for 'special occasions' when lighting and photography are high on the agenda.

I think this foundation is affordable and good value (more expensive than MAC but cheaper than Bobbi Brown) and like I said, I got mine online so it cost less than it would have at the store. I'm glad I decided to give it a try and will definitely consider repurchasing once I'm done ... although I do have another 5 different foundations to get through soooo ... it's gonna take a while!

So unless anything else comes along to completely blow me away or which received rave reviews on MUA, I'm making this my HG foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2011 7:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I went to sephora and asked the consultant there to help me find a foundation for my prom. I said I needed something that would stay put all night, and something that won't make me extra greesy (My forehead gets really oily).
She showed me this, told me it would stay all night and everything. So I bought it, and tested it out a couple days before my prom. I wore it alllll day to make sure that it will infact stay put. I wore this over an oil reducing primer that I put on my forehead only, and everywhere else only had moisturizer under it.
The color that she matched me up to ended up being wayyy too yellow for my skin color. After I put this product on, I felt so thick on my face and it stayed feeling that way for several hours. It was sooo streaky and cakey on my face, it was not attractive at all. I went in that same day (still wearing the foundation) back to sephora and asked a different consultant to help me find another foundation for my prom. She gave me a different foundation, and when she was color matching me, she didn't even realize that I had makeup on. The foundation completely soaked into my skin at that point, and my forehead was super greasy.

so basically, it's thick, cakey, streaky, and not long lasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation kicks butt. I have super-super-pale, oily, breakout prone skin and had been struggling to find a foundation that worked since I started wearing makeup 10 years ago. I was always compromising on either color to get a foundation that was compatible with my skin, or compatibility with my skin to get a foundation that color matched (normally the latter). Then I stumbled on MUFE Mat Velvet + about a year ago.

-------------------------
Pros:
1) Comes in a super light shade (15). This and CoverFX are the palest foundations you can find at Sephora, and paler than *any* drugstore foundations.
2) Doesn't break me out (and I break out really easily).
3) Actually stays matte and lasts for 12+ hours - even in the super humid Texas summers. I blot once at lunch (mostly out of habit), but can get away with skipping it easily. At the same time, I don't find it to drying in the winter (but then they're also humid here).
4) Medium coverage that can be built up or sheered out easily. When I'm going out, I just use a little more for fuller coverage. When I want a lighter look, I just mix in a little jojoba oil to thin it and this works well without causing it to seperate or anything.
5) Nice finish - matte but not in an unnatural/masky/cakey way. Plays okay if I happen to have a few patches of flakiness.
5) A little goes a long way - a bottle lasts me about 3-4 months of daily use, which is reasonable IMO.
6) Clean, sanitary squeeze bottle that is easy to get just the right amount out of. Travels well without having to worry about spills/breaking.

-------------------------
Cons:
1) This stuff is relatively thick and dries FAST. I have to do half my face at a time, and blend really quickly (like <20 sec). If you don't work fast enough or use a dense enough brush, it can end up looking patchy. I've found Sonia Kashuk's flat top brush is the best for this, tapping it on and then using quick circular motions to blend.
2) It's expensive, at $34 a bottle. Worth it, but still expensive. This fall I will probably buy 4 bottles during the BI sale so I'm set for the year and save $28 dollars.
3) It's only available at Sephora - so if you aren't near one, you won't be able to try it in person. And if I'm ever on vacation/move and run out I'm SOL until I can order one (and Sephora shipping is slow).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2011 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is my HG foundation. I stopped using it for a few years in hopes of finding something cheaper, and failed miserably. Nothing else works as well for my super oily skin, and no other color matches me better than 60. (I think in MAC, I'm roughly an NC35-45, but who knows because I've never been able to get a good match with MAC). I discovered this liquid foundation when I went into Sephora for a recommendation for wedding makeup. I wanted something that would look good in person and in pictures, and would banish the incredible shine that comes across my forehead and cheeks. I had my eye on Bare Escentuals, but the advisor shook his head, "Oh no, honey." He lead me silently to the MUFE display, picked out my shade, dropped it in my basket, and said, "That's what you need" and walked away. I wish I knew his name so I could thank him! I used this foundation for my wedding makeup and the pictures turned out beautifully. Over the next couple years, however, I got sucked into all sorts of advertising gimmicks about new products, etc etc and went on a foundation spree jumping from one foundation to the other - L'Oreal TrueMatch was pretty good - Maybelline Dream Matte was quite good, but the mousse version was horrendous - LM tinted moisturizer was ok, not enough coverage - YSL's shades were off - the list goes on. I'm back with my MUFE Mat Velvet + now. My skin is happy, and a friend of mine asked me the other day, "what products are you using lately? You are positively radiant." $34 well spent. [If you have very shiny skin, and must buy something cheaper, I'd say the best drugstore foundation for shiny skin that I've found is Maybelline Dream Matte, the original, not the mousse. My shade is honey beige.]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2011 3:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
*gives me great coverage, buildable, I usually apply powder over it but not always.
*Shade 30 (?) actually matched my weird pale but hispanic olive skin tone
*doesnt break me out
*doesnt really smell

Cons (sort of)
* it is hard to see how much is left but it isnt so bad that its a deal breaker for me.
*the shade is not easily found on the bottle! I tossed the box and didn't realize this but there is a reference # on the bottom and apparently the last 2 numbers are your shade

I am not an extremely picky person, even though the product is $34 its worth it to me

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top