Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1079 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Kaskine on 4/16/2011 10:50:00 AM more reviews by Kaskine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Finally a liquid that does not make me look like a grease ball a couple hours later after applying! You have to get used to the spreadability of it but I really like its coverage. It also looks very natural on. I always get nice comments on my skin when I wear this and my skin is not that nice! I have acne and acne scars and it covers them well. I always see that people complain that its drying on their skin, my advice, IF YOU DO NOT HAVE OILY SKIN THIS FOUNDATION IS NOT FOR YOU! I think some people think they have oily skin when really they don't, the problem may be they are drying their face out with to much with products and not properly moisturizing and then their face compensates by sending more oil to their face...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wunverdoll on 4/7/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by wunverdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is an awful foundation. Very hard to blend, which totally accuntates any dry flakes, looks horrible, chalky and unnatural, for 25 quid you dont get a lot in the bottle either, doesnt cover anything as its meant to be full coverage! Ive only worn it once for a few hours so I cant comment on its lasting ability but it does give a very matte finish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melio617 on 4/7/2011 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Melio617

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried so many things I've lost count. I always have a hard time matching colors on my own so I finally wen to Sephora one day and asked them to find me a good foundation/concealer that would help me stay matte and they directed me over to the MUFE line. She tried a few colors of the Mat Velvet and we decided 30 was the best choice, not the perfect choice, but the best one. She did me up and I liked it, but felt like I could still see a lot of the post blemish marks that make me feel very self conscious so she went and got a matching concealer from MUFE as well. Now we were talking... I really liked the finish and coverage. I definitely use a brush for applications and it goes on smooth and I can buff it out so it looks pretty natural. I have yet to see any make up that doesn't look like make up on you. I do think it helps keep me matte, but there is a point in the day when I will have to blot a little around the nose area. I'm hoping this will be good for my upcoming wedding in May. The price is pretty comparable to other brand name foundations out there and I don't have to use a ton of it so hopefully, it'll last a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lisaanthony7 on 4/6/2011 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Lisaanthony7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I heard great things about this product so I had to try it.The color matched my skin perfectly and it is easily blendable,but I honetly think I could get the same if not better matte coverage with a cheaper foundation.The foundation goes on smooth and covers nicely ,but the coverage doesn't last,by 2 every afterboon, I'm resenting choosing this foundation.Overall opinion....will use the rest of this bottle,but will opt to try something new when its time to re-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bras2245 on 4/3/2011 6:23:00 PM more reviews by bras2245

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This foundation was good, but not quite HG. I may have liked it more if it leaned more yellow than pink (I have cooler skin but I prefer a bit of yellow in my foundation to counteract redness). It just wasn't the right color match for me, which is the main reason I didn't like it.

The finish is lovely when applied with a brush or damp sponge, and the coverage is pretty buildable. It didn't keep me matte, however - I had to blot throughout the day.

FInally, I would've preferred if the tube wasn't opaque so I could see how much I've used, although I liked squeezing it onto the brush or sponge.

I've moved onto Lorac Natural Performance in number 2 and I'm liking it much more. Overall, Mat Velvet is a decent foundation but it just isn't right for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dianab04 on 4/3/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by dianab04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect for my very oily skin. It dries fast and really sticks to the skin. It provides great coverage without having to pile it on and it allows me to use less concealer. It is a little expensive but definitely worth it. You must give this a try!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sundayfunday on 3/31/2011 3:57:00 AM more reviews by sundayfunday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I've used many foundations over the years, from drug store brands to high end, and this is my all-time favorite foundation. It lasts throughout the day, even when I get sweaty, and never makes me breakout! I love it, love it, love it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aer0057 on 3/24/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by aer0057

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this because MakeupbyTiffanyD from YouTube highly recommends this. But it caused cystic acne on my nose everytime I used it. It was also too drying for my skin and I have oily skin. Since then, I have turned to mineral makeup which seems to be better for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spacecow17 on 3/19/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by spacecow17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

You know what? I actually liked this foundation. This is really good for those with oily skin and it has great coverage, BUT I wish that they had more color choices! I just found it too pinkish for my skin tone. I am usually medium to tan in coloring (ranging from NC35-42 depending on seasons). I believe I bought a 35, but it was still too pink for my skin. Im not gonna rate it low just because it didn't work for me, it is still a decent product! It's just not for those with yellow undertones =(

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Trixiev on 3/18/2011 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Trixiev

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ehhh ... just ok. Yeah it was mat which is good for oily skin but the coverage was just not what I am comfortable with and didn't last the 8 hours I am at work. I keep on going back to my Estee Lauder Double Wear which I have been using for at least 5 years now! It's worth a try which I am always open to ... but there is much better out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products