MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1093 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mackiesmom on 12/13/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by mackiesmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really like this stuff! I have really DRY skin and stuff feels soooo great going on. I use my fingers and put it on like moisturizer after a layer of a super thick moisturizer. It really feels like putting on another layer of moisturizers, i love it! I set it with MSFN.
Never had a foundation break me out, so I can't comment in that.
For reference, I'm and NC37, Asian, super dry skin, no issues with my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vampvixen on 12/5/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Vampvixen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE This foundation during the winter when my skin is very dry and has redness. This foundation covered my redness up like a dream without using much product. The color match was spot on and the foundation blended in flawlessly without being cakey. I looked as if I have Perfect skin and even get compliments everytime i wear it. I love the hygenic squeeze tube packaging also. My gripe will be the staying power but theres nothing like a little powder wont fix. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anna2602 on 11/30/2010 6:08:00 AM more reviews by anna2602

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As a teenager I tend to break out quite often.
But I wouldn't say my skin is oily, I actually feel it's pretty dry at times.
I bought this in February, so my skin was on the dryer side (like everyone's skin tends to get in the winter months), especially for me, since I live in Norway (brr!)
The Mac-lady recommended this to me if I wanted full coverage that moisturized and looked natural so I went for it.
I did use all of this and enjoyed wearing it at times, but I found many of the times I put it on it just looked really cakey and streaky, and we all know that HORRIBLE, IRRITATING feeling when our foundation doesn't look right. Argh!
It does "moisturize", and won't dry skin out, but can make you break out (I can't really state this for sure, since I tend to break out anyway) and look really cakey.
I can like thicker, moisturzing foundations, but I think for example Lancomes Photogenic Lummescence would be a better choice for me.
This was a tad TOO thick for me I think.
WOULD repurchase again to try it out again, it has been a while and I now have a different skincare routine. But I will definately (at least after reading all the great reviews on it!) give PhotogenicLummescence a go first!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 femmearab on 11/29/2010 11:40:00 AM more reviews by femmearab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very nice coverage..
My skin is very dry but its working out well with this foundation!
Don't like the price though..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 divaliciousss on 11/23/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by divaliciousss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation because it isn't as drying as studio fix liquid, however it is quite cakey! Once I apply it i have to wipe my cheeks if i smile otherwise it goes all cakey and looks awful.
The best thing about this foundation is that it gets better with time. At the end of the night I look as if I've just put my foundation on and if I fall asleep in it, in the morning my skin looks absolutely flawless! It's strange but much appreciated! It works well with powder and doesn't transfer off easily.
I don't think the coverage is amazing and it tends to look streaky but again, after you've been wearing it for a few hours it starts to look better and sit better on your face. It doesn't feel too heavy and it isn't too expensive. If I can't find a better foundation I'll stick with this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 11/23/2010 5:01:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has super coverage. It has a very thick texture that's packed with pigment.
Its quite easy to use too much but if you use enough, it will look really natural and make your skin look like a baby's.
A powder is definetly needed after.
I dont think this is a good choice if you have oily skin, you will shine up pretty soon.
I like to use it in the winter months and when i need that extra coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Allalala on 11/23/2010 1:39:00 AM more reviews by Allalala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry skin and the girl @ MAC suggested I try this product. The texture of this foundation was a bit weird (kinda like mousse) but when I applied it, it just sat on my skin and didnt blend well. I tried various ways of applying this foundation - with a brush, sponge, stipple brush, fingers..... you name it!!! But still couldnt get it right.
The colour was right but I could see some caking on my nose after about 2 hours of wearing it. By the end of the day, looking in the mirror, I could see that the makeup was really streaky.
I love MAC, but am not impressed with this foundation.

UPDATE: have now broken out badly from this foundation and am reverting to my good ol' Studio Fix which is always reliable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lessandes on 11/22/2010 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Lessandes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I'm now using the Studio Sculpt Foundations by MAC since a while on me as well as on my clients.

First, I didn't really like the texture of it, since it seemed to thick and therefore hard to blend on the skin. Besides I thought that it would look pretty pancake-like, due to that texture. Anyways, I found out that, when you're applying it to the skin, it looks kinda awkward for the first seconds but it kinda blends much better after some time and turns from foundation to good looking skin.

When I applied it to my face for the first time, I used twice as much as I needed - that stuff is really high coverage! Besides, it's buildable. I don't have much blemishes on my skin but due to my fair skin tone dark circles to cover or reddish, irritated spots and if you don't have the right concealer, you can just apply a second (or third) layer of foundation (still, I wouldn't recommand since it tends to crease if you use too much).

I like the color range of it way more than the Studio Fix-stuff...Studio Sculpt seemed to be not THAT yellow and a little lighter as well although they use the same numbers for it). The Studio Fix in NC15 is much too dark and too yellow for me, since I'm a porcelain skin girl, Studio Sculpt NC15 is still a little bit too dark but it's not really showing since I'm using just a little bit of it.

I experienced less creasing/caking around the mouth area than with other foundations, but more around the eyes.

My skin felt pretty good after washing it off, so it seemes to have a moisturizing effect as well.

What I really don't like about the foundation is, that it seems to come off very very easy.....you just habe to touch your face and then you can see the foundation on your fingers. Guess what happens with turtlenecks or similar stuff.....it's maybe okay for models on photoshoots if theys don't have to change dresses frequently or if it is just about portraits but I wouldn't recommand using this stuff for brides since I'm not sure if it won't come of when the kiss someone hello....

So my overall rating is good, it just should be a little more touch-proof ... but maybe it's to fix with a certain powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kittycats on 11/16/2010 8:41:00 PM more reviews by kittycats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got this in NC15, really nice pale neutral color but this has got to be one of the cakiest foundations I've ever used. Tried applying it several different ways and I never apply too much, only need a tiny pea size amount but it never fails to look cakey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 11/15/2010 4:53:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This gives excellent coverage, but its finish was too dewy for my taste, and it takes way too long to apply. Since it's so thick and gives such great coverage, you need a tiny, tiny amount, but I had to buff and blend, and I really don't have time for that in the morning. It does work wonderfully as a concealer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products