MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1085 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kittycats on 11/16/2010 8:41:00 PM more reviews by kittycats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got this in NC15, really nice pale neutral color but this has got to be one of the cakiest foundations I've ever used. Tried applying it several different ways and I never apply too much, only need a tiny pea size amount but it never fails to look cakey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 11/15/2010 4:53:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This gives excellent coverage, but its finish was too dewy for my taste, and it takes way too long to apply. Since it's so thick and gives such great coverage, you need a tiny, tiny amount, but I had to buff and blend, and I really don't have time for that in the morning. It does work wonderfully as a concealer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 8788xo on 11/15/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by 8788xo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for about 2 years now, and just finally decided to write a review. In almost 2 years, I've only purchased two tubes.. a little goes a LONG way. I use a MAC 187 brush to apply it, it provides excellent coverage... depending on the primer, and powder you use. If you use TOO much it will wind up on your phone or something else. It has staying power, if applied correctly... and depending on the conditions. I recently purchased the new long wear foundation because this one tends to fade substantially by the end of the day. But, I've still loved it nonetheless. ALSO, I have extremely sensitive skin: I'm allergic to ALL parabens iso, isobutyl, propyl, methyl, ethyl... I'm also allergic to bacitracin, aka, NEOSPORIN! I have NEVER had a problem with this, which breakouts, or itching..which is QUITE the miracle. Other than the variance in staying power, I love this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beebop808 on 11/9/2010 10:10:00 PM more reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is another MAC foundation that went right back. I too, read some of the reviews on here saying that this foundation has a little burning/tingling sensation. I totally agree! It is the same sensation I felt as well. Nonetheless, I did use this for 2 weeks before returning just to see if my skin would adapt to the foundation, sorry to say, it did not. This too has BROKE me out. That said, the lasting powder is the crappiest ever. It rubs off everywhere. But, it is quite easy to blend in comparison to the Pro Longwear and moisturizing too. Other than that, I will not be purchasing again. Gals with sensitive skin, buyer beware!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dorkspork on 11/7/2010 12:03:00 AM more reviews by dorkspork

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this out at a MAC counter, and at first, it looked cakey, but I blended it out with a big fluffy brush & put blush on, and after it oxides, it looks really nice. It looks natural, kind of. I like it, I didn't even feel it on my face. I generally wear tinted moisturizers, but MAC is alright. The lady said I was a NC44 because she matched it to my body, not my face. I feel as if the lady used too much foundation, but it was alright. I got it off with my cleanser pretty good.

I got oily after a couple of minutes, and my blackheads came out, which was bad.

I would buy it, but not use it for everyday use. Maybe special occassions. The price is crazy tho.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandaeyes66 on 11/6/2010 7:04:00 PM more reviews by pandaeyes66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is a rich, gel like consistency and is medium to full coverage. It is fantastic on my dry skin, though it would be terrible on anyone with oily skin. Only a small amount of product is needed when applying so the tube lasts a long time. I always puchase NW20 in MAC, though this foundation runs slightly darker so some people may need to go down a shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marinevd on 11/3/2010 5:32:00 PM more reviews by marinevd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My first mac foundation and what a disapointment. It's a very thick formula and i find it difficult to apply. I finally found a way with my avene thermal water and then put it on with my fingers. I won't repurchase this, i find it average for a foundation that so difficult to apply. I admit that once on it's nice but other foundations do better. I heard it photographs well, but mufe HD is way better if you're looking for a photo-friendly foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyNo5 on 10/31/2010 6:16:00 AM more reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great "old-school" foundation. It's thick and it has a lot of coverage. I've only used one MAC foundation in my life before this one, Studio Fix powder foundation, which I didn't like as it dried me out like crazy. This one doesn't. I wear Clinique's Redness Solutions moisturizer and primer underneath and this foundation glides on looking great on top, giving me a slightly dewy look which lasts all day. I'm so grateful for the lack of powderiness, especially after years of wearing minerals which can be quite drying and look powdery at times, especially in the winter. The funny thing with this foundation is that not only does it make your skin appear flawless, it actually seems to smooth out bumps and scars and make your face more even, texture-wise. I wear NC20, which looks hideously dark in the tube but works great on my very pale skin. My daughter looked at me as I took out my little sample pot of NC20 and said: "Are YOU wearing THAT shade??!" But when she saw me put it on she agreed that it was a perfect match. I've bought the full size tube since then and considering how little I need to cover my whole face, I'd say it will last me a long, long time.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sullw on 10/31/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by sullw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been searching for a holy grail of foundations for some time. I just turned 40 and I still have relatively good skin, it is firm and has just a few lines, my problem is I am super fair and I have some sun spots and rosacea which make finding the right foundation difficult.
I really liked the finish of Clinique Even Better foundation but even the lightest shade was way too dark and yellow for me so the search continued.

I have never tried MAC foundations, but I figured if anyone can get the right color for my skin it will be MAC. I got matched to NW15 which is am excellent match for my btw. Next I wanted a foundation that wasn't too shiny, though I have dry skin every foundation for dry skin tries to add lumenisity and I end up looking greasy. So I opted for the Studio Sculpt.

The coverage is definitely full and it covers all of my sun damage and the rosacea. The problem is I have a hard time applying this foundation. I have tried my hands, a foundation brush, a stippling brush and a wet sponge and nothing works very well. It takes a long time to blend this foundation.

The best method I have found is to use moisterizer then use this foundation right on top, I skip my usual Korres Quercetin & Oak primer, which I love, and apply the foundation with my hands while moisterizer is still sinking in, this helps to spread the foundation better. No setting powder needed. It does last all day and looks the same from apllication to removal but I do not recommend to someone with dry skin. Perhaps normal to oily skin would really benefit fromt this foundation.

The search continues....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 10/26/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well I said I wouldn't buy it, but I'm willing to try different application techniques, if I found one I like I might buy it (got a sample). I applied it with a damp sponge. I thought it was very thick and full coverage, which I don't like, I like sheer coverage which lets your real skin show through, which this doesn't. Later I also thought this was really hard to apply and extend, even with a damp sponge. It wasn't really a liquid texture at all but quite dry and cakey to apply. Maybe if I found a technique I liked it might work better, but I think that's just so much bother to go to when I can so easily apply other truly liquid foundations so much more easily than this. When I think of it I've tried many MAC foundations and I'm really not overly happy with any of them. My favourite foundation is MUFE's Face and Body, now searching for a second favourite because MUFE is expensive. So far I also like Clinique's tinted moisturizer (don't remember the name), Max Factor's Age Renew (don't have any wrinkles but very uneven skin tone) and my everyday Vichy (can't remember the name, it's a tinted moisturizer). =UPDATE= Got the MA at MAC to try this out on me using his pro technique and still hated it. I really just don't agree with MAC's shades they are all either too yellow or too pink, they don't have any truly neutral shades. I found a cheap foundation that I like however it's Sephora's new foundation Perfecting Cover, only 15 which makes it one of the cheaper ones around. It doesn't have a Maybelline price but it also has better quality than Maybelline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products