MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation


1148 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.

on 4/30/2011 6:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

acne-prone/ oily-combination skin
NC 25

best match for my skin tone (ever!)
no breakouts
pores seem smaller
great staying power
no strong fragrance
tube packaging
comes off with cleanser and water

have to blot in the middle of the day sometimes

It blends in seamlessly. Putting it on in conjunction with the Fusion Beauty acne-prone primer magnifies its coverage and staying power. Even without primer though, it stays on all day. I live in a very dry climate and my skin tends to be very oily, but I was pleasantly surprised to find no flaky spots and at the same time, an overall, decent natural-looking matte face. Admittedly, you might have to blot throughout the middle of day, maybe once or twice.. On days, I forget to blot, it still looks fairly decent when I get home. By fairly decent, I mean, yes it's somewhat shiny, but I don't look like a complete grease face whose makeup is falling off. I'm guessing if you do the whole primer+foundation+powder deal, this would be perfect! I have never tried it with a powder on top though.

I have had no breakouts with this and I've been using it since December 2010. When I have breakouts, the coverage for this is good as well. I just have to put on some concealer on the bigger pimples and the smaller ones, sometimes not at all. This covers my acne scars (hyperpigmentation) just as well without concealer. I can also layer it when I need more coverage than usual.

For me, this is definitely better than Select SPF 15 and Studio Fix. HG foundation for sure.

***Awesome situation:
I was stuck outside and it was raining a little bit... walked a good deal for about 25 minutes. All that time, I was thinking my make up must have been toast already. I got in to the restaurant to find that it was still there and my face still looked the same! I don't even know how.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 4/29/2011 4:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I will review Studio Sculpt and the Mac counter, but the rating is only for the product itself. I went to the MAC counter at Dillard's and asked for a medium to full coverage foundation. A girl covered in tattoos, tight clothing, trendy haircut and flawless yet bold makeup stepped out to help me. She suggested Mac Studio Sculpt and applied it with their foundation brush. She then told me I could take their mirror to the entrance where the natural sunlight was coming in so I could see what the makeup was going to look like. It looked pretty good. She suggested their mineral powder, but said I didn't need a concealer. She didn't offer to let me try their eyeshadow, mascara or any other product. One bad thing about their counter is that it is almost always busy so some of their girls don't want to spend a lot of time on customers.
I went ahead and purchased the powder, foundation and a lipstick for around $70. I got home and my husband and mother-in-law noticed the foundation didn't quite look right which I secretly didn't want to believe. After using it twice along with the powder I realized that the shade was too pale and yellow for my light, slightly warm toned skin. The product is thick and hard to apply with fingers. Also, I couldn't wash it off with my regular face wash. It took three times to get all of the makeup off. I went back to the counter, receipt in hand and avoided the original girl and went for a hispanic girl with a ton of makeup on. Told her the problems with it being too yellow and not washing off. She said, "What, they didn't tell you it was waterproof?" I said no. She said that Studio Sculpt is more for when you want to get photos done. News to me. She offered Studio Fix Fluid in NW 15 (which I'll also do a review for) which had a touch more pink in it than the other girl gave me. NW 15 was perfect for me. Didn't look pink or yellow and blended flawlessly with fingers. She suggested also that I use a bronzer in the summer if I wanted to look more tan instead of purchasing a darker foundation. I purchased Eco Tools foundation brush for when I want to have a little more coverage. We'll see how that works.
The problem with being light skinned and medium brown hair (people mistake me for Hispanic), people look at me and probably think cool tones. But, I'm actually in between and it really depends on the product and how yellow it is. I'm very happy Dillard's has a good return and exchange policy.
For me, it wasn't as easy as I thought it would be to find the right person to help me get the right product. Second time was a charm. Find someone who is willing to take a little extra time with you to help. Still, neither girl offered to help me try other products to help complete the look. I'm not sure if they're trained to be cosmetic conservationists or what.
So: to sum it all up. This foundation is too thick for my taste, difficult to find the right color - no leeway there because of the thick coverage, good for photos but not for everyday, waterproof - doesn't wash off easily and probably requires buying their specific makeup remover, and absolutely requires a foundation brush to apply it with. Will not buy again.

on 4/28/2011 2:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation left my skin with a dewey and fresh appearance, and felt comfortable. It's medium coverage, and when I first bought it, I blended with my fingers, which left it looking too thick in my hairline. I used a foundatin brush, and it looked smooth and seamless. It looks nearly identical to Clinique's supermoisture foundation on me, only a thicker coverage than Clinique's sm, and NO GLITTER/SHIMMER. Clinique's has shimmer, and this one doesn't. Which is good, because I like to use a highlighter on my cheekbones, and bridge of my nose, so this helps me avoid shimmer overload, but still maintain a dewy medium coverage. It's hard to find the Medium and buildable, dewy, no shimmer combination. Usually the dewy look comes with shimmer, or sheer coverage.

It's important to note that I don't think this would work on very oily skin at all. I have normal skin that's dry in the forehead area. It does look moist and dewy in the t-zone area all day, which works great for me. I bought nw40 and it still looked a little yellow on my face, but when I cover it with mac select sheer pressed powder in nw43, it looked tan, and matched my chest and arms perfectly. I wear this foundation on days I want a heavier coverage. It only lost 1 lippie b/c it does look a little yellow on it's own, and I have pink/red undertones.

on 4/27/2011 2:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Awesome fndtn!

Me: NC30 ~ normal / dry skin, not prone to breakouts. Redness around nose / mouth, chin area.

Pros for SS fndtn~ covers well ( med), matches skintone, blends easily, wears all day ( water resistant), stable s/s protection, contains antioxidants, doesn't break me out or enhances any dry areas, looks natural w/ a slightly dewy finish.

Cons for SS fndtn ~ still need a lil concealer around nose ( broken caps), finding the right way to apply can be a pain ( narrowed it down to MAC 168 or blue peep sponge for my best results).

Overall, very impressed with this fndtn. It has replaced my EL DW. Will definitely repurchase ;)

on 4/18/2011 8:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Loved the packaging and loved the consistency, but that's where the love ends. The MUA recommended this to me even though I told her I had oily skin. DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU HAVE OILY SKIN! It looked alright right after I put it on, but it had a really dewy finish and already looked a little greasy, and about an hour after that, my face was shiny and gross with oil. I took it straight back and the MUA who did my exchange told me that he was very surprised someone recommended this foundation for oily skin because it's a gel and meant for dryer skin types. So yeah, this didn't work for me. :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 4/16/2011 8:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love how this foundation looks in NC 25 applied with the 187 brush. This foundation and the 187 brush provide an air brush look with coverage. I have a light to medium complexion with combination normal skin. In my oily areas and dry areas this performed very well. Again I really recommend the brush for application. When I first tried this I did not use the brush and was not impressed at all. This did not cause me to break out or have any allergy break out of red bumps which certain products cause me to have.

on 4/12/2011 3:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i bought this foundation a while back at my local mac counter, i usually use the mac studio fix fluid but i decided to give this a go, the one thing i would say is if you are quite pale skinned and fine the other mac foundations dark on you give this a try i was really suprised i am lighter than the mac range but this in nc15 was perfect:

really nice coverage
brilliant for pale skin
wont transfer that much
lasts a long time (you only need a little amount)

settles slightly into pores and lines
looks very dewy unless powdered
for the price you dont get much in the bottle

hope this review helped if you need anymore info on this let me know

on 4/10/2011 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I usually use MAC's Studio Tech, but I decided to give this one a try. It's definitely thicker than Studio Tech. I thought it would be more creamy, but it seems more like a liquid foundation. It has good coverage, and lasts me through the day. You definitely get more product, compared to the Studio Tech. They're the same price, but I can't tell if I'd repurchase. I definitely like the matte finish, and it doesn't seem to make my face oily. I use MAC's 190 brush to apply, and I only need less than a pea-size amount.

on 3/31/2011 12:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is one of the worst foundations I have ever tried. I always get sucked into wearing Mac foundations every couple of years or so and always regret it. I've tried studio tech and studio fix back in the day in high school where I used to wear NC 25-30 trying to fake a tan. If I knew how matte this foundation looks on, I would have never purchased it. Thank god I got it for super cheap on E-bay, but I still hate wasting money.

This foundation has a glue like texture and is extremely thick. I've tried applying it with my fingers and then a sponge. I even wet the sponge thinking it would make it easier to apply, but no such luck. When you first put it on, it looks like you have a mask on. In natural sunlight, any redness I had on my face, and other then that I have good skin, you could see and it would settle into parts of my face like my cheeks. I absolutely hate the color selections on Mac foundations and have yet to understand how every shade, I bought this foundation in NC15 the lightest they have, looks orange on my skin. I'm fair/olive complexion, and don't enjoy looking that fake orange color that I've found all Mac foundations have on me. The most un-orange shades I've found are in the NW line so perhaps I should stick to that color line. Forget about going to one of the Mac girls at the counters who always recommend colors that are about 2 shades darker then your skin color.

on 3/27/2011 6:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i'll keep this short. pros: gives a nice natural matte finish, and a little goes a long way. cons: it sat on top of my skin no matter how much i blended or buffed or set with powder. i will only repurchase if i can't find a better foundation. but i hope i don't have to!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv

Back to Top