MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trinigal on 1/7/2011 7:41:00 PM more reviews by trinigal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't stand this stuff. I wore it for less than 3 hours and i broke out. I bought it in the shade i normally wear from mac.However, it was too dark. It's sticky and very difficult to spread with a fondation brush. It felt like i was spreading cream cheese on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 UHMANDUH9 on 1/6/2011 1:11:00 PM more reviews by UHMANDUH9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have read many many many mixed reviews about this foundation... but having tried it myself... I have to say... I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
I have combo skin & this is my perfect foundation for the winter. Very moisturizing. In the beginning I found it difficult to work with. I tried the MAC 190 , 187, and the 188.. I did not like the look of any of these brushes it gave me a very streaky look. & it turns out that a MAKE UP SPONGE worked best for me. HOWEVER; it is sort of heavy feeling on the face and that is the only thing that i do not like about it.

p.s. my color match is nc 40 / nc 42
p.s.s. after moisturizing your face ; while you wait that (5 mins) to apply make up.. put the foundation under your arm pit (sounds weird) to help warm the product up. It glides once its heated up a little bit. l

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 1/1/2011 8:57:00 AM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

(Review updated on September 11, 2011 - more thoughts and it works amazing with fingers).


I choose this because I wanted something that did it all and was cutting edge. Studio Sculpt is definitely MAC's jack of all trades foundation. Look at the long list of it's claims: lightweight cream-gel consistency, medium-full buildable coverage, natural satin finish (that can also be easily mattified), compatible with most skin types (leaning towards dry), good for troubled/sensitive skin (fine lines included!), antioxidants, hydrating, water resistant, long wearing, color true, and it was even alluded to being self setting. Read the interviews on it, it comes from so many angles that I believe being all-in-one is it's category more than anything.


PROS: Good value. Not only do you get 1.3oz vs most 1oz foundations, you only need about a pea size for the whole face! With the soft plastic tube packaging, you can squeeze out exactly how much you want, it's easy to cut open and get every last bit, and it won't break if dropped! I spend no more than $30 for makeup and this is basically that, but it will last till it expires. Formula does have many good ingredients: high amount of glycerin, many antioxidant plant extracts, Vitamin E (both forms), Vitamin C, Hyaluronic Acid, and Shea Butter. They are not buried and it ends up being a Paula's Choice for skin beneficial ingredients. SS claims to make the skin hydrated/softer over time; I never buy the makeup as skincare gimmick, but I honestly think it does just that! My skin does look better than it normally is when I take it off. I don't have one of those shocking before and afters. The coverage is also really good. Medium tofull like they say. Makes my skin look incredible (especially in sunlight!). I remember being in some pictures and my skin literally made me "WOW!" So even, hydrated, plush looking, it reminds me of those people who have really hydrated skin and you can tell it's from good health not oilyness. Blends easily enough and somewhat lives up to the good for problematic skin thing... I never use primer (or very sparingly) and it still works well. When applied with fingers, I find it idiot proof too. I just dab some dots on my face, take a tiny bit on my fingers, and then stipple and press into my skin. It's not obvious and it's a VERY fast process. Swirling/rubbing makes it like FULL coverage if I want that. Removes easy. Never broke me out, even after sleeping in it (one time I woke up with a zit and fell asleep with this on and zit was gone - no lie!).


CONS: NC15 isn't a perfect match and I also think it oxidizes a a tiny bit, however it's pretty neutral (leaning towards pink) and not a stretch to use. It's ok for my face and neck but once it changes a bit, it doesn't match my neck. While it's easy with fingers, the formula is not as brush friendly since it's thick. MAC recommends the 191 for it, promoting it when Studio Sculpt came out, but it can absorb a TON of product. With the 191 I get light-medium natural coverage, whereas with fingers it's crazy high (too much!?) coverage and nothing is wasted. If I keep the brush lightly damp and use very short strokes to spread the foundation, almost like flicks, it absorbs much less and the coverage is higher. That is doable but annoying. And while the coverage of SS is great, it can definitely appear mask like. Nobody has that even skin. Several reviewers have also noted that the foundation "fixes" itself and I gotta agree. Initially it can sometimes look cakey or dry, which is exacerbated by the fact that it's thicker formula - if you use too much or don't blend well, it can stay this way and punish you, otherwise as the day goes by, it looks better. However the finish can turn super luminescent to OILY. Not in a dripping oil way, but turn your head and watch the highlights move - WOAH! You must lock Studio Sculpt down... a simple light dusting does not cover it. I think it was formulated like this so powder doesn't mattify the finish away. With it's emollient properties, I don't FEEL it really dries it that much or at all so it can melt super fast. Not setting it enough can make it easily transfer too.


OTHER THOUGHTS: Cream-gel is accurate description. Like a gel, it has viscosity/stiffness, but it's also creamy, not so stiff like a true gel. Packaging makes it impossible to put product back in, also will damage if the antioxidants if kept outside the box. Smells like... plastic? I consider it unscented/neutral. Whatever is there, it's not strong or fragranced, it just happens to have a scent because most things naturally do. You can also feel it on the skin, not in a super heavy way. Going back to price, SS is actually one of MAC's cheapest foundations when you break it down. At 29.50 USD, it is 21.81 per/oz or 0.74 per/ml. That is a LOT less than anything else they make, surprising with the antioxidants included.


OVERALL: This is a mixed bag, but I would say it's mostly good. I really like the ingredients, packaging, and larger amount offered. Marketed pretty accurately: medium-full coverage, good for dry skin, can actually hydrate... however hydrating plus the satin finish I can see being too much for most. It needs to really be locked into place. I also would recommend this for those who use fingers and want a quick routine. I don't think I'll return to this but if I had to it wouldn't be that bad.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 1/1/2011 7:58:00 AM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was recommended to me in NC20 by the MAC SA, so i did my face in the MAC shop, and it looked OK. But a few hours later when i looked in a mirror it had taken on a powdery matte finish, NOT the look i wanted - mummified! - and was exaggerating every pore and line on my face, which, while older, is not particularly wrinkled. I hadnt applied a primer, so i decided to give it another chance the next day.
.
The following morning, i cleansed my face and applied moisturizer, giving it about 15 minutes to sink in. Next i applied a primer, not from MAC, and gave that 15 minutes to set. Then i applied this foundation. I am between NC15 and 20, and this looked yellow and too dark. As i applied it, it made my primer bead up and pill a bit. Again after a few hours i looked mummified, although it didnt sink quite as badly into my pores and fine lines.
.
I have normal to dry skin and i find this much too dry looking. Perhaps this would work better for someone with oiler skin than i have. I want my skin to look dewy, not like the life has been sucked out of it.
.
This foundation is not working for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 12/31/2010 1:05:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Separated within an hour and settled into laugh lines that are not visibly prominent. Honestly, I cannot say it's a bad foundation being I know full well a big part depends on what I am using to moisturize and prime. But, I can say that with my favorite product combo that works with ALL my other foundations, this one sucks. I will get some MAC primers and also try the Monistat one that everyone raves about. lol I would love to find something that will make it work!!


Well, with my current fav products, this took forever to apply!! I could not believe it. My all time go-to foundation is Revlon CS liq comb/oily fndt. People complain about that one. At least it goes on fast and flawless....and lasts for 24 hours....till I remove it. I had to keep rechecking my face today with Studio Sculpt. Was a PITA. Ever accidentally touch or swipe your face only to become horrified at an area of makeup missing, exposing your ruddy, red, uneven blotchy skin? Yea. If I cannot make this work it will be swap central for this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Dollysaima18 on 12/24/2010 5:33:00 PM more reviews by Dollysaima18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I heard about how good this foundation was I ran to buy it to be honest all that effort was nothing .. It's ok but it wasn't something you would expect from the mac studio line it was probably mine I don't knw .. But it was too thick and it DID NOT COVER that much :( too oily too yellow :-/
And it is not long it gets too oily and makes your face look eww :(
Tell you the truth that was my first mac foundation and that's what I got I would definetly say maxfactors long lasting foundation 10x better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hulmek2 on 12/23/2010 5:46:00 AM more reviews by hulmek2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely HATE MAC foundations and this is definitely one of the worst. It oxidises badly, transfers onto everything, and needs frequent touchups so you don't end up looking like an oil slick (which then makes you look cakey!!) and I find it hard to blend evenly no matter whether I use a brush or my fingers. It is nothing compared to Estee Lauder Double Wear (one of my HG's), or even NARS Sheer Glow, another great foundation but only if you have a yellow undertone to your skin, and I would prefer to shell out a bit more for them than ever by a foundation from MAC ever again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JunkieXL on 12/23/2010 4:57:00 AM more reviews by JunkieXL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have this one in NW15. Usually I wear NW20 in most MAC foundations but I heard the color of this product tends to look a little darker. It's the perfect match for my skintone and it blends in seamlessly. It blends like a dream on my skin... It feels soft, not heavy like a cream or watery like a gel but somewhere in between; I use a brush to apply it and use a light hand because a little goes a long way.
It covers up some red spots I had from earlier zits and makes my skin look like I never had acne at all :). The tube is a big plus for me; I don't like putting my fingers into jars to get the product out. I think I might reconsider my Studio Fix fluid and change it for this one. The Studio Fix tends to dry up feeling cakey and looking a bit orange; this one doesn't. The price is reasonable; it might not be the cheapest MAC foundation but a little goes a long way so it's worth the investment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coletteJ on 12/16/2010 11:16:00 AM more reviews by coletteJ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm really liking this so far. It has med/full coverage and a natural (not matte) finish...exactly what I was looking for. Bonus is that it matches my skin perfectly. Its kinda thick and has a interesting consistency I can't explain well...maybe a little gel/cream-ish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mackiesmom on 12/13/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by mackiesmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really like this stuff! I have really DRY skin and stuff feels soooo great going on. I use my fingers and put it on like moisturizer after a layer of a super thick moisturizer. It really feels like putting on another layer of moisturizers, i love it! I set it with MSFN.
Never had a foundation break me out, so I can't comment in that.
For reference, I'm and NC37, Asian, super dry skin, no issues with my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products