MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1078 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyNo5 on 10/31/2010 6:16:00 AM more reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great "old-school" foundation. It's thick and it has a lot of coverage. I've only used one MAC foundation in my life before this one, Studio Fix powder foundation, which I didn't like as it dried me out like crazy. This one doesn't. I wear Clinique's Redness Solutions moisturizer and primer underneath and this foundation glides on looking great on top, giving me a slightly dewy look which lasts all day. I'm so grateful for the lack of powderiness, especially after years of wearing minerals which can be quite drying and look powdery at times, especially in the winter. The funny thing with this foundation is that not only does it make your skin appear flawless, it actually seems to smooth out bumps and scars and make your face more even, texture-wise. I wear NC20, which looks hideously dark in the tube but works great on my very pale skin. My daughter looked at me as I took out my little sample pot of NC20 and said: "Are YOU wearing THAT shade??!" But when she saw me put it on she agreed that it was a perfect match. I've bought the full size tube since then and considering how little I need to cover my whole face, I'd say it will last me a long, long time.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sullw on 10/31/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by sullw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been searching for a holy grail of foundations for some time. I just turned 40 and I still have relatively good skin, it is firm and has just a few lines, my problem is I am super fair and I have some sun spots and rosacea which make finding the right foundation difficult.
I really liked the finish of Clinique Even Better foundation but even the lightest shade was way too dark and yellow for me so the search continued.

I have never tried MAC foundations, but I figured if anyone can get the right color for my skin it will be MAC. I got matched to NW15 which is am excellent match for my btw. Next I wanted a foundation that wasn't too shiny, though I have dry skin every foundation for dry skin tries to add lumenisity and I end up looking greasy. So I opted for the Studio Sculpt.

The coverage is definitely full and it covers all of my sun damage and the rosacea. The problem is I have a hard time applying this foundation. I have tried my hands, a foundation brush, a stippling brush and a wet sponge and nothing works very well. It takes a long time to blend this foundation.

The best method I have found is to use moisterizer then use this foundation right on top, I skip my usual Korres Quercetin & Oak primer, which I love, and apply the foundation with my hands while moisterizer is still sinking in, this helps to spread the foundation better. No setting powder needed. It does last all day and looks the same from apllication to removal but I do not recommend to someone with dry skin. Perhaps normal to oily skin would really benefit fromt this foundation.

The search continues....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 10/26/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well I said I wouldn't buy it, but I'm willing to try different application techniques, if I found one I like I might buy it (got a sample). I applied it with a damp sponge. I thought it was very thick and full coverage, which I don't like, I like sheer coverage which lets your real skin show through, which this doesn't. Later I also thought this was really hard to apply and extend, even with a damp sponge. It wasn't really a liquid texture at all but quite dry and cakey to apply. Maybe if I found a technique I liked it might work better, but I think that's just so much bother to go to when I can so easily apply other truly liquid foundations so much more easily than this. When I think of it I've tried many MAC foundations and I'm really not overly happy with any of them. My favourite foundation is MUFE's Face and Body, now searching for a second favourite because MUFE is expensive. So far I also like Clinique's tinted moisturizer (don't remember the name), Max Factor's Age Renew (don't have any wrinkles but very uneven skin tone) and my everyday Vichy (can't remember the name, it's a tinted moisturizer). =UPDATE= Got the MA at MAC to try this out on me using his pro technique and still hated it. I really just don't agree with MAC's shades they are all either too yellow or too pink, they don't have any truly neutral shades. I found a cheap foundation that I like however it's Sephora's new foundation Perfecting Cover, only 15 which makes it one of the cheaper ones around. It doesn't have a Maybelline price but it also has better quality than Maybelline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 canadianskaterskick on 10/24/2010 9:00:00 PM more reviews by canadianskaterskick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really love this product.... however i couldnt give it a 5 just cause I found it really hard to match my skin some days it looks great and some days i feel orange. NC 20 thinking ill try NC 15 next time hopefully less of an orange tone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alwaysconfused on 10/23/2010 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Alwaysconfused

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It's difficult for me to review this product. Sometimes I love it and sometimes I just feel like I can't deal with it. First of all, it was very difficult to find a color match. I'm usually NC20 and wear C1 in F&B but NC20 was sooo dark and orange on me! I gave it to my mother, though, and she absolutely loves it. NC15, however, is quite light but matches pretty well. There just seems to be too big of a different between NC15 to NC20.

As many people have said, the coverage is excellent. Very little goes a very long way. The problem with such a thick formula, however, is that can be hard to blend. Your face must be heavily moisturized or this can look cakey and can enhance the appearance of flakes. If you can get past these problems though, this does look beautiful. My skin can be dry and flakey and when I first put this on, I'm usually not thrilled with the way it looks. However, after about 25min, it settles in and looks flawless.

Also, I find that this is even better when mixed with a little moisturizer. The coverage still remains high but it's easier to blend and prevents cakiness. Overall, while there are some faults, I really do like this foundation and I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Amie on 10/23/2010 6:36:00 AM more reviews by Amie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Thank god i got a sample of this, it made my face burn and itch immediatly upon application. didnt cover anything and looked patchy and greasy. would nenver buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 woahitsbrooke92 on 10/22/2010 7:27:00 PM more reviews by woahitsbrooke92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap, just wanting to try a MAC foundation. I really really love this. It doesn't settle into my pores and it blends like a dream. I have really pale NC15 skin and blackheads stand out on my nose. But this foundation really makes the little spots look invisible. Love it! Beautiful foundation. It lasts me all day, though I do have to blot during the day because of my oily/combo skin. I use it often, and it has yet to break me out, so I'm really happy about that. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SusanMary on 10/15/2010 1:04:00 PM more reviews by SusanMary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very particular about my foundation. First, it has to look natural, like skin, and I check it with a magnifying mirror to make sure.

Second, it has to last and have minimal rub off. There is nothing I hate worse than makeup on my shirt from pulling it over my head.

Third, it has to feel weightless. I loathe feeling like I have a heavy mask on my face.

Fourth, it has to be able to smooth over some nose pores and minimize some spots on my face. I don't need complete coverage, but enough.

Fifth, I need a shade that matches. Not one I can make work, but matches perfectly. I have not found this to be an easy task. In some lines the lightest is too dark, even though there are many people much lighter than me. Some are too yellow. Some turn darker as I wear them a while.

Most importantly, it cannot irritate or break me out. I have rather sensitive, acne-prone skin.

I have had all of my criteria met with this foundation. It can be used straight from the tube, which I like since you can control how much comes out, and get full coverage. You can use it with a brush and buff it in and get a medium coverage or you can use a dampened sponge to get a lighter coverage.

I use various techniques on different parts of my face - heavier under the eyes with a concealer brush to cover circles and a sponge with Fix+ sprayed on it for a more sheer finish on the rest of my face and use the sponge to stipple parts that need more coverage.

I can use powder or not, it still stays on. In the summer, I powder, and as my skin gets more dry in the fall and winter, I leave it off. At any rate, when I use this it looks like I have great skin, not great makeup.

I use NC 20 and NC 15 under my eyes and sometimes as a lighter contour when I am feeling energetic. When I get paler in the winter, I blend the two together for a perfect match.

As I get down to the end of the plastic tube, I will be able to cut it open and scoop out all of it which I cannot easily do with foundation in a pump, especially one in a glass bottle.

A little goes a long way so overall, I think this is a good deal. It works for me and I am quite persnickity.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeuplover4 on 10/13/2010 1:19:00 PM more reviews by makeuplover4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first purchased this foundation I loved it...after about 6 days into using it I felt that the foundation just does not stay on well it tends to slide off (I have dry combo skin). I feel that the coverage is moderate it doesn't really offer full coverage unless it's buildable but that normally leads to your skin looking cakey (at least with this foundation it looks horrible cakey and huge pores)...Also I feel that this foundation is not keen to sentisitve skin...So STAY AWAY if you HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN or are looking for FULL coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 guyinds on 10/13/2010 11:13:00 AM more reviews by guyinds

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I am an NW35 in the summer and an NW30 in the dead of winter. It has excellent coverage but doesn't feel heavy. I guess the initial scent smells a little like coffee, but not overpowering. I am now using the Pro Longwear Concealer underneath. A damp sponge works well for application then blend with a 187 brush. Fingers work well too, but I don't really like using fingers. I set it with Prep & Prime finishing powder which gives it a nice finish. A touch of powder during the day keeps it fresh. I also keep a darker tube (NW43) for me for shading/contouring(I have a big nose, lol). I use it under my normal color foundation and it works quite well. Love the packaging. Will definitely buy again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products