MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

1132 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%; Titanium Dioxide 2%, Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Polymethylsilesquioxane, Isostearic Acid, C4-24 Alkyl Dimethicone/Divinylmethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tamarindus Indica Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Haberlea Rhodopensis Leaf Extract, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root Extract, Shea Butter, Yeast Extract, Quercus Suber Bark Extract, Phytantriol, Dextrin Palmitate, Dextrin Palmitate/Ethylhexanoate, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Chloride, Palmitic Acid, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG -10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecyl PCA, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Dipropylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Stearate, Hexylene Glycol. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this product about a year ago on the suggestion of one of my friends who swears by MAC products. And for a while, I used it without incident. The coverage was good, though it did smell a little odd and was quite drying.

Then after three months of using it, I broke out worse than I ever had in my history of using foundation. I ended up on antibiotics and Differin cream to clear it up and that took months. I'm never buying MAC foundations ever, ever again.



on 3/4/2011 2:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product to give it a try since I have dry skin from accutane. I found that the foundation is rather heavy feeling. I know it is gel based but it seemed to sit on top of my skin and wear off really easily. Probably not buying it again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation cuz it sounded like something I was looking for. I don't really like the feel of foundation so I'm picky on the texture, this is suppose to be gel based, so it seemed like it would melt into my skin? Lol well I do like the texture but you have to have a light hand with this. I find that if you apply too much half way through the day you will see it separate around the mouth or any lines you may have. I apply with a flat foundation brush then go back and buff it out with a stippling brush to insure I get off any extra foundation there may be. I gave it a 3 because I do like the look but its a lot of work to get it to look good. Lol I'm a mom of 2 and time is of the essence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2011 11:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For all the expensive things I do to and for my skin, I have been using Revlon foundation bc my skin is SUPER dry, sensitive and reactive! I frequently try new products and have to instantly remove bc of redness, stinging, itching, tingling etc.

This product could be my new fave!

I had a little challenge coming home the first time with the wrong color (after being color-tested aka frustrating) I am VERY neutral and just learned that although it would make sense that MAC's NW means Neutral Warm, it is actually the opposite and the NW's come out cool.

So NW20 and NW25 samples in hand, I finally got the right color. I've read people on here who have said this product makes them look greasy? I would give a digit on my pinky to look greasy-being dry dry dry and living in the THE dryest state-CO.

So. So far its working. Dewy as promised. Not sparkley or shiny-just nice and dewy. No burning stinging or itching and GREAT medium coverage you could easily build. The color match is perfect. I am LOVING it thus far. : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2011 6:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister gave me a tube of this since she had an extra. I put it on, not expecting to be impressed by it (currently my favorite fdtn is GA LSF but can't justify the $60 at the moment.) After I applied it with a stipple brush, I was shocked at how great it looked - medium coverage, dewy finish, but not heavy or greasy feeling. I have dry skin with a few fine lines, and this foundation buffed everything away - no flakies, no lines, just beautiful and glowing skin.


on 2/22/2011 12:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm still not sure about this product. I bought it mainly cause I wanted my beloved Pro Longwear, but more coverage. I told the lady at the MAC counter and she reccomended this.
The texture is weird. I feel it needs a ot of time to actually sink into my skin. Also the finish is not natural whatsoever. Not entirely bad, cause for some looks I like my skin to look a bit "fake", but totally inapropriate to wear during the day imo.
Also my skin has quite a yellow undertone. The Pro Longwear in NC15 was perfect for me. The Studio Sculpt in the same shade doesn't seem as yellow to me though.
When I first apply it, it doesn't look like my skintone at all. But after a while it sorta turns into it.
I've had this for a while now and I'm not crazy about it. Will defenitely purchase the Pro Longwear again. I wish we could return things that are already used over here, but unfortunately we can't.
So I'll keep using this foundation and hope I'll fall in love with it later on. *sighs*
What I do like is the packaging though. I wish all MAC foundations came in this.


on 2/22/2011 12:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this foundation, it goes on easily, is full-coverage, and really evens my skin-tone well. I'm a pale chick, being NW15-20, so it's hard to find a foundation that really matches me. The foundation has good staying power, and if you add a mineral finish overtop, it looks pretty darn natural.

However, there are better, less chemical foundations out there that I really prefer. Korres and Tarte both make full-coverage, easily matched choices, and for my money, I'd rather buy those instead. Why does MAC have to put so much cr*p in their makeup? At least there are not parabens in this formula (wouldn't have purchased otherwise), but I will not buy again when there are other, better, options out there.


on 2/21/2011 4:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is actually the best foundation I've ever tried. I would say the coverage is medium-full, and it covered up all my blemishes and acne scarring. :) It lasts all day on my face with no transfer, and it didn't come off until I washed my face, even without primer. It was a TAD oily for my combination skin, but nothing too bad. Best of all, it didn't clog my pores at all. :)


on 2/18/2011 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have always suffered with dry skin on my face and have never had much success when it comes to buying foundation so when I read on the mac site that studio sculpt foundation was a medium to full coverage (which is what I like) and that it was great for dry skin I just couldn't resist. I went into my local mac store and picked up studio sculpt in NC20 along with mac mineralise skin finish natural in light/medium. I apply this with my celina birtwell foundation brush and have found that you hardly have to use any but the coverage is definately buildable so it is suitable for anyone who wants a light to medium or even fuller coverage as it never looks caked on or unnatural. It leaves my skin feeling so soft and although it isn't oily or glittery it gives a really nice glow to your face which I've never acheived with any other product. I have heard alot of women refer to a product as their ''holy grail'' but have never found anything I liked very much or got consistant results from but this is definately my holy grail of all the make up I own and I will continue to buy this because it never disappoints me and leaves me feeling really confident in how my skin looks. I haven't had any issues with getting break outs with this and have actually found that my skin looks alot better since I've been using this so even though it is quite pricey I think it is definately worth it for both quality and the fact that it will last a really long time as you only have to use a tiny amount and because of the tube you don't get any waste with it. I can't praise this product enough <3


on 2/17/2011 5:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I generally do not wear liquid foundation because I dislike the shine and too heavy coverage of most foundations. When MAC released the Studio Sculpt gel foundation I wanted to try it. I really like the consistency of this product. It's not runny but nor is it too thick to blend. I use MAC's 109 brush to apply this on my skin in small circular motions blending outwards because my cheeks need the most coverage. I have in the past mixed this with strobe cream to give my skin a more glowy appearance.


This product gives my skin a nice dewy look without looking cakey or heavy. It covers very nicely and evens out my texture. I do have to be certain to blend because it can settle into fine lines. I like the way it makes my skin look. I use NC40 in select sheer pressed powder with a big fluff brush to set the powder.


The packaging is very hygienic. No messy fingers or over pumping to waste product. It comes in a squeeze tube so it allows you to control the amount of application. I use the back of my hand to warm up the product. I like that a little goes a long way. I did not have any issues with oxidation unlike other foundations.


The downside is the color system -- Normally I don't stray from my normal NC40, but this runs a lot lighter so I have to go up a couple shades before I found a match with NC44. It boasts medium to high full coverage with a satin finish. I didn't find this to be completely matte nor too shiny, the satin part sounds about right. I keep it more on the medium side since my skin doesn't need too much coverage. I normally wear MAC's select sheer pressed powder on a daily basis, but I would definitely break this out for a special occasion or a night out when I want to look extra flawless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Request: My Current Foundation Routine and Blue,Brown and Gold Evening look by Toni3luv



Back to Top