Lancome Hypnose Drama


502 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$


Aqua/Water/Eau, Paraffin, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cera Alba/Beeswax/Cire Dabeille, Cera Carnauba/Carnauba Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Acacia Senegal/Acacia Senegal Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycerin, PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone, Steareth-20, Simethicone, Sodium Polymethacrylate, Phenethyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Panthenol, Polyquaternium-10, Phenoxyethanol . May Contain/Peut Contenir : CI 77266/Black 2, CI 77499/Iron Oxides.

on 5/30/2010 7:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this thinking that it would be a more dramatic version of Hypnose...It's not. Hypnose is one of the best mascaras I've used, love it. Hypnose Drama is one of the worst. The formula is very watery compared to the original, watery to the point that it's messy. Some reviewers said that it took a long time to dry, I thought it dried too quickly and unlike the original, once it dries you can't put another coat on. The brush is very different from the original, it's absolutely horrible, I don't like it at all and unfortunately the brush from the original is not interchangeable with the Drama. I did get a bit more length but not the volume compared to the original and despite combing through still looked spidery. I'll stick with the original formula- it's fantastic!

on 5/28/2010 11:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been a long-time user, and lover, of Lancome’s Hypnose mascara. When the Hynose drama came out I thought I would give it a try. I am so disappointed with this mascara! It is nothing like the Hypnose. The formulation was super thick and the brush did nothing to help in the application. I have farily long lashes that are of average fullness and the mascara, despite my best efforts was super-clumpy and thick. I had to use a clean wand/brush to try to un-due the damage which, due to the thickness of the product, ended up removing much of it. Don’t waste your time and money, stick with the regular Hypnose or alternately Dior Show.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff! After using Chanel, LORAC, drugstore name it...this is one mascara that really made a 'wow' impact for me. Truly looks like I am wearing fake lashes! I look like the AFTER picture for a Latisse ad. :) Love it!

on 5/17/2010 9:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this is one of the best mascaras ive tried,really opens my eyes.

-highly pigmented
-really volumising
-lengthens like crazy

- Flakes
-dries so so fast

Overall i would buy again its one of the best on the market and deffo earns its hype,it just needs to last longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wasn't my favorite. It clumps terribly and doesn't separate well.. The U and "hump" technique the brush gives you doesn't do anything for me.

on 5/16/2010 12:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am torn. It does make beautiful lashes but it takes a lot of work to do so. I was talked into this by the SA at my local lancome counter after going to to pick up my beoved defencils. It is very very clumpy and thick. I have to whipe of the brush and the use as directed and THEN I use a spoolie to go over my lashes one more time. I can wear it everyday as it makes my lashes to big to wear behind my glasses though I wear it on days I do contacts. I probably wouldnt buy it again but I do like the end effect.

on 5/11/2010 6:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Since I have this mascara I forget to use my lashcurler. This is the best new mascara in ten years! (and I have them all!!!)
This mascara has a quality that no other mascara has: not only it makes your lashes thicker and beautiful deep black, it also spreads the lashes like the tail of a peacock.
It gives the face an open fresh look.

Don't get confused by the form of the brush. Follow with the bow of the brush the form of your eyelid and comb the lashes. That's all.
Fake lashes would wish they look like my lashes LOL.

on 5/9/2010 7:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was so exited to try this out and was SO DISAPPOINTED !!!
it made my lashes hard,clumpy and awful ! Its also really ,,harsh´´ to your eyes when you aplly it ! Horrible product there are WAY BETTER mascaras at the drugstore !

on 5/8/2010 12:44:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a GREAT mascara. I personally think that it is one of Lancome's BEST mascara. Most of Lancome's mascara either flake horribly (Definicils Pro) or Smudge horribly (Definicils). This DOESN'T! It gives a good amount of length and TONS of volume. I even slept with this on...and while the curl completely went away, it only flaked a TEENY BIT. and I'm a Contact Lense wearer with sensitive eyes, and this doesn't bother me! It can feel a little heavy on the lashes though. I use the Shu Uemura lash curler. This mascara doesn't hold a curl very well. After 7 hours, the curls is completely gone. ONE coat is everyday natural, and TWO is insane volume and REALLY DRAMATIC LASHES! THREE coats is CLUMPCLUMPCLUMP. I really like the brush of this mascara. I also really like the formula. It's not so wet like other Lancome mascaras. The formula does have a STRONG rose scent. It's not unpleasant, but you can definitely smell it while applying the mascara. It goes away after a while.
I like this mascara a lot, but it is a little too dramatic for me. I would buy again, and keep it in my makeup kit for special occasions, like dances and such.

-Lots of Volume with no clumping (clumps at the third coat...but you really don't need a third coat)
-Good amount of length
-Really dark
-Flakes only a TEENY bit (but I rub my eyes a lot)
-Doesn't smudge (I have REALLY watery eyes, and it might smudge just a little...and I mean so little you can't really tell)
-Doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes
-Nice brush

-rose scent (which I personally don't really care for. It's not bad or untolerable though)
-doesn't hold curl really well

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 5/3/2010 10:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can see the mixed feelings on this mascara but I'm gonna have to say I LOVE IT. There's a technique to it that never fails me and I was tought this buy my favorite SA makeup artist, Fred :) He told me: use the "s" curve side first, going side to side in short motions as you move up along the lashes, if that makes any sense! THEN turn the "s" curve down and move the other side of the brush up the lashes to push them up and volumize. At that stage you do not move side to side. I was sold on this product because of the results from this application! It looks like I have false eyelashes on and even more so when you do more than one application. EVERYONE is distracted from any flaws on my face (I have so many) to my long, dramatic eyelashes! It really makes my green eyes pop. I have no issue with the drying seems to be the same as any other's not waterproof though, if that matters to you.

Top Rated Lancome Products


Foundation Brush

150 reviews

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top