Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.2(454 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cendana on 10/6/2009 3:03:00 AM more reviews by cendana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so I got the sample for this from my local David Jones store. It comes in a 2ml travel-friendly tube, and I was surprised at how big the brush is. It's an S-shape bushy brush, which supposed to give your eyelashes that extra drama (volume). And it did, for me. I've read a lot of bad reviews on it, and good ones. For me it is a nice mascara. It makes my eyelashes feel really soft, and gives more volume, but not so much that it looks like falsies. It doesn't do anything for Curl though, it just gives Volume and Length, I'd say.

Yes, it does have a fragrance to it, and from the moment I put it on it lingered for at least another half an hour or so. To me it smells like rose petals, a very very strong garden rose fragrance to it, and that's probably what puts a lot of people off. So if you're very sensitive to Rose smells or anything with fragrance on your make up, stay away from this.

I give it 3 lippies because I like it, somehow. For those days when I don't need super curled eyelashes, just a super soft eyelashes.
But I won't repurchase it because it's overpriced in my opinion. Hope it helps~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ihraracerkim on 9/27/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by ihraracerkim

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've always been a Lancome mascara fan! Love Definicils and Hypnose. They perform well with no flaking or smudging and remove easily with bi-phase removers like Bi-facils. I use Wal-Mart's Equate brand which is a dead ringer for Bi-facils, but costs $4! This new Hypnose Drama IMO is incredible! It gives you any look you could want!!! One coat gives evenly coated, long, dark and natural looking lashes. The trick to this mascara giving you thick, false eyelash looks is waiting a few seconds in between coats. If you're in a hurry, I'd suggest using the old Hypnose. But, If you have a couple extra minutes to spend on your mascara application I'd have to say this stuff is amazing. @ 57 yrs. old my lashes have thinned out, but this mascara takes my lashes back to my younger days. I've gotten many compliments already wearing this. I'd give Hypnose Drama 6 lippies if I could!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 silkcut on 9/18/2009 6:24:00 PM more reviews by silkcut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a total Hypnose addict, and think Lancome are the Kings of Mascara- This however is a disappointment.

The smell is so strong and overpowering, gives me a headache- not what a mascara should do!

I'll say no more other than stick to Hypnose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovelove999 on 9/16/2009 9:23:00 PM more reviews by lovelove999

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is TERRIBLE!! Waste of money!! I have long lashes anyway, and wanted something that thickened, which is what this mascara promised. Absolutely awful, this stuff clumped like crazy and it didn't do anything more to my lashes than a drugstore mascara. I sent this product right back, and now i'm using L'Oreal Volume Collagen mascara in Blackest Black which is awesome!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ValerieD16 on 9/16/2009 4:20:00 PM more reviews by ValerieD16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have used every Lancome mascara and hated this one. I have short lashes and this clumped and hit my lid when I tried to apply. This is good if you have lush lashes or can take a lot of time to apply, but I hate when trying to get small lashes and end up with in on my eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* poeticsinger on 9/15/2009 3:02:00 PM more reviews by poeticsinger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this mascara a lot. I never tried the original so I can't compare but this is good stuff. It doesn't flake and it makes my lashes longer. I have no complaints. Would re-purchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* L22nene on 9/6/2009 5:06:00 PM more reviews by L22nene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Saw the ad with Kate Winslet advertising this and had to try it. Couldn't find it at any Lancome counter, neither macys or Nordys, had to go to sephora to get it. first couple of applications were ok, I felt it left my lashes uncomfortably clumpy, but after some working out with a lash comb, left a very nice appearance. Also has a strong chemically scent. Definitely gives more volume, and length compared to my low end fave mascara, lash blast by Covergirl. But you do have to comb through lashes to get that nice separated lash look. I have since been asked 3 times while wearing this mascara if my lashes are fake, so that makes this a winner in my book. would prob. purchase this again.

UPDATE: So after about a month and a half of using this, I realized that my 3 dollar low end mascara was working way better than this. This leaves my lashes so clumpy after application. Any mascara that costs over $25 shouldn't require you to have to do extra work like comb through them!! This stuff went back to Sephora...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alliwilt on 9/5/2009 7:44:00 AM more reviews by alliwilt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was SO excited when this mascara was launched as a devout Hypnose user but couldn't have been more disappointed. 2 lippies because it doesn't flake or budge during the day but the brush is horrible, the formula smells disgusting and I had to comb my lashes for ages to get them separate again. Stick to Hypnose!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katina on 9/2/2009 2:55:00 AM more reviews by Katina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm so on the fence about this mascara...It did make my lashes long, fat and dramatic I must admit. And there was no flaking and no panda eyes which I always get after an hour from, say...Diorshow Blackout. But the scent was so harsh and chemical. I could actually smell it an hour later....Smell a mascara??? That has never happened to me before!
Edit: I partytested Drama last night! The party lasted 22 hours....even after that long a time Drama didn't budge, didn't flake, didn't smudge under the eyes!!! The rest of the make-up was long gone and smudged but my lashes looked perfect!!!! I'm bringing the rating up to a five. I guess I can live with the nasty smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtack on 8/30/2009 9:36:00 PM more reviews by mtack

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! This is the worst Lancome mascara ever! There is no high drama with this mascara, but brittle lashes. The color is call excessive black, are you kidding me? It is more like dark gray. The regular Hypnose is 100% much better and the deep black is darker. Also, my eyes were so itchy and red, absolutely a horrible mascara. This is going tomorrow back to Sephora. FYI, this is not at all like Fatale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products