Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4453 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Nathalie on 4/25/2003 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Nathalie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be my holy grail foundation for spring/summer!! My sister was applying it on me for a dance show and was so amazed that it covered absolutely everything(she uses MAC btw).And let me say that I definitely do not have good skin, but this made all my red marks almost disappear. Its amazing! I got it in Nude, which looks a little orange going on, but out in the sun it looks fine on my skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CamiLynn on 4/8/2003 11:44:00 PM more reviews by CamiLynn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I thought I liked this product but after someone told me it look cakey I have not used it since. Also this foundation lacks a color for very light skin like mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaraJean75 on 4/5/2003 8:06:00 PM more reviews by TaraJean75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this before Bare escentuals and its definitly my runner up! Great for all day wear! but you do feel a little masky!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sally2002 on 4/2/2003 9:18:00 AM more reviews by sally2002

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation when it first came out (and then again last year, trying one more time), but it's SO thick and mask-like and smells SO bad that I just can't handle it. The new Colorstay Stay Natural is a much better foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catrpillrgirl on 3/21/2003 3:53:00 AM more reviews by catrpillrgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Colorstay Lite was my favorite, I love it!! I've used it for a year. Buff is perfect in color, it stays on, keeps shine away, and doesn't break me out at all! I tried so many foundations searching for one that doesn't break me out ever and now that I finally have, it appears to have been discontinued!! I'm out and there's none to be found anywhere.What's up with Revlon? Nothing for oily skin now! BTW, don't be fooled by New Complexion's claim of oil-free, in two days it broke me out in huge pimples, the size of which I have not experienced since high school. I gave it away, no more acne.

The regular Colorstay is decent, but the texture is chalkier than the Lite version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BEVERLYS on 3/11/2003 9:25:00 PM more reviews by BEVERLYS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


I was really surprised when I first used this a few weeks ago. The texture is light on the skin and I always imagined a long-lasting foundation to be really really thick and mask-like. The coverage it gives is light-medium and while it does make me look like I have foundation on, it isn't very obvious or artificial looking. I find that if I don't blend quickly enough, it 'sets' on my skin and looks cakey.. but if I apply a thin layer of oil-free moisturizer beforehand, it glides on much more easily :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 copleywjc on 3/11/2003 5:18:00 PM more reviews by copleywjc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great coverage, no streaking, not too dry so doesn't clog up on skin. Really lasts a long time...great colors - matches perfectly with my skin tone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kittyhawk on 3/7/2003 5:39:00 PM more reviews by kittyhawk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is an affordable foundation and a little goes a long way. The texture reminds me of Estee's Double Wear. And I could find a perfect match in Buff. But I wish Revlon would improve the packaging like putting this in a pump bottle or squeeze out tube. And I wish it had at least spf15 rather than the miserable spf6. As for lasting power and budge proof effect, I give Estee Double Wear a higher ranking. **UPDATE** I've to drop my score from a "4" to a "1". This foundation separates and settles into every pore and fine line on my forehead, cheeks and mouth areas. Ok, it'll have to go into the garbage bin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Redhead58 on 3/7/2003 2:47:00 AM more reviews by Redhead58

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used Color Stay foundation in Natural Beige for a long time, and was happy to see that it's now in a pump!! The original glass bottle is messy and wasteful, but man, the quality of this stuff is amazing. It's sweatproof and has always made my skin look flawless. It covers a multitude of imperfections. I use a cheap Jane powder with it and the results are great. I'm usually not so product-faithful, but I am to this foundation. Worth the kind-of-high price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Reinhardt on 3/6/2003 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Reinhardt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I bought Revlon's Colorstay NATURAL makeup, the one with the pump. (MAKE SURE of the pump. The other pumpless one is poop.) The price was $12. I am not one to spend a lot in makeup, so that price I am NOT used to.

My gawd, flawless.

I highly recommend it. And the color Nude is so exact to my skin, it's eerie.

Everyone goes so crazy over this new Revlon product, that I said what the hell. And boy am I glad.

Frigging amazing. It stays so "put" that it did not come off on my tissue when I blew my nose. Unreal!

It even spreads well and a little dab with do ya!

I found my foundation Holy Grail. And my quest only took 17 years. I thank all for this suggestion.

Please give it a chance. Go to Rite Aid, which has that guaranteed makeup thing, and buy it and keep the receipt.

If you have oily skin or oily/normal (like me), I strongly believe that this is YOUR foundation.

My only gripe is that it comes in a glass container (with a pump! Remember the pump). I am a little clumsy, so I am going to wrap the container in bubblewrap and a rubberband. But if you ever think you hear an anguished scream out in the hills somewhere, it's me and it's because the container fell and broke.

Now onto a totally smudge-proof mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products