Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 wildorchidfaire on 6/10/2003 4:49:00 AM more reviews by wildorchidfaire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Waaaah.... TOO THICK. Perhaps due to the fact that it is matte it emphasized my pores when I tried to apply it more sheer by using a wet sponge. End result was really asthetically offensive. The color (nude) somehow ended up looking WRONG on me......I also find that this thing clogs me pores and breaks me out! :( The worst thing is it's so thick that it's painful to blend. You have to be EXTRAORDINARILY quick and it allows no mistakes in blending..!!! ....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sunbaby on 6/5/2003 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Sunbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good foundation. The coverage is full and it sets in 60 sec. so it's important to blend well. I found that it controls oil well, but I used it in the winter when I don't oil as much. It's a little drying but that's ok b/c it dried up my pimples:) I used a shade that was too dark (true beige). But for the life of me I can't gage my own skin color when choosing foundations so I'll always end up with the wrong shade LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kariwilson86 on 5/31/2003 3:10:00 PM more reviews by kariwilson86

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation, only because most of you gals did. I was so confident after reading all the reassuring reviews, that this would work for me. Well....not exactly. The colour selection isn't so bad, and the fact it isn't oily and rubs off all over the place is a plus too. But, applying it and the end result isn't my fav. I tried several different ways in which I could possibly apply this, to not make it look un-even and dry on me. Nothing worked. I have oily skin, so when my oils would kick-in, my pores were enlarged, even when I used a tough loose powder. The coverage (if repeatedly applied) is REALLY strong and covering, which sometimes I need. It also has a matte finish. I guess I was just going for more of the the dewy, healthy glow, not oily finish. And yes, this stuff can still rub-off on your man...or that matter just about anything, but it still isn't as bad as others. Still, this stuff is a hell of a lot better then L'Oreal's Ideal Balance. As well, this foundation really does set in under 60 seconds, thats what makes applying a little bit difficult. It could also be more beneficial if it contained an SPF, as well a squeeze bottle would be nice. This product isn't cheap either, $17.50 (CAN)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 indira_sgr on 5/21/2003 10:18:00 PM more reviews by indira_sgr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this foundation. It dries very quickly, so if you make a mistake, you should wash your face and start all over again. Impossible to blend. I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Noahsmom on 5/18/2003 6:07:00 PM more reviews by Noahsmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is ok, but it is really thick, even for me. It does cover well and really does stay put, but it looks so un-natural. I'm not one for trying to hide the fact that I wear makeup but this screams HELLO! I'M TRYING TO HIDE SOMETHING VERY UGLY!. This makeup just can't be pretty no matter how thin you apply it or how well you can blend. I wore it to church today and just couldn't wait to take it off. It clumped around my nose and was cakey under my eyes. I was so embarrased. I tried to make it work for about 2 weeks and it broke me out. I'm not even prone to breakouts. I think it's because it is so thick and hard to remove that it must have clogged my pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 julia_82 on 5/17/2003 1:01:00 AM more reviews by julia_82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not a huge fan of cosmetics that make me look like a corpse. This gunk made my pale skin a horrible shade of grey. Not only that, it was a nighmare to put on. It dried as soon as it left the bottle and refused to blend. It was very clumpy, and was uncomfortable to wear. It's put me off Revlon products in general!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SuZen on 5/16/2003 4:11:00 PM more reviews by SuZen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This had too much coverage for me. My bf kept complaining about how heavy it looked. And I couldn't really match my skin shade perfectly. Someone who could match their skin better and wants a lot of coverage might like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kat_kinsy on 5/14/2003 3:16:00 PM more reviews by kat_kinsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

bloody awful product, thick, made my pores look huge, and looked so unnatural it was unreal (quite literally)Very chalky, thick and gloopy consistency which made it difficult to apply. would anyone like my bottle to try?????!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* irishgirl71 on 5/7/2003 10:49:00 AM more reviews by irishgirl71

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Skintype>combo,sensitive, rosacea.

I purchased this because I needed something to cover the redness on my face..You have to be really quick when blending this foundation because it dries in seconds. It does stay put and offers medium-full coverage. However, I broke out from this and cannot use it anymore. I am not fond of the tight feeling it leaves so you should moisturize before applying. I much prefer EL's Double Wear to this one..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nathalie on 4/25/2003 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Nathalie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be my holy grail foundation for spring/summer!! My sister was applying it on me for a dance show and was so amazed that it covered absolutely everything(she uses MAC btw).And let me say that I definitely do not have good skin, but this made all my red marks almost disappear. Its amazing! I got it in Nude, which looks a little orange going on, but out in the sun it looks fine on my skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products