Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4436 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 s1p1i2c5 on 6/25/2003 3:48:00 AM more reviews by s1p1i2c5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff b/c I have very oily skin and any other foundation would be running off my face within 3 hours. It is a little thick, but if you give it a chance and play around w/ different ways to apply it, it'll pay off. I found it helps to make it a little lighter if I mix it w/ a little bit of astringent and "pat" it on with the makeup sponge. It's definatly worth it if you cant be touching up your foundation all day

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seangel3 on 6/19/2003 9:40:00 PM more reviews by seangel3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is a great foundation! When I have used this, I looked very put-together all through the day. That is something that I have never seen before! Covered any dry spots evenly and looks very natural, not too cakey. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lil_short_me on 6/19/2003 6:28:00 PM more reviews by lil_short_me

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

i found this foundation great at absorbing oil, and my face tends to get oily and VERY shiny but this foundation absorbs the oil very well. it sets pretty quickly, so you have to be pretty fast in applying it. it covers everything well, blemishes, spots, etc. and also, i went swimming with it, sweated and stayed in the sun for the whole day and at the end of the day, the foundation didnt come off! it doesnt smell, it actually has a very slight pleasant smell to it and it has even helped my skin. i noticed that i haven't been having any breakouts! this foundation is great :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yellowskingirl on 6/10/2003 12:52:00 PM more reviews by yellowskingirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Ok, me=super sensitive currently healing skin. hyperpigmentation aka red acne scars (not the pitted or ice pick ones, flat red pimple ghosts) all over my cheeks and chin. I needed super full coverage in an oil free makeup. I FOUND MY HG!!! this is really huge! I am a MAC nc30(slightly darker actually, but not nc35, yellow olive with cool undertones) I customized this foundation (rite had on sale buy 1 get 1 free) I use Natural beige and medium beige together to get the perfect neck shade. It seriously does not budge, even after sweating!!! And yeah it sets REALLY FAST, do 1 section at a time. I use the sponge to cover my whole face evenly, then my fingers to go over darker scars and blemishes(keep baby wipes with you if you dont do your makeup at home, it will stain your hands). I can't even say how happy I am now that I can cover all the crap on my skin. no breakouts, no irritation. Use moisturizer underneath for sure, for even coverage. This is for those girls who need full coverage that wont break them out. To remove I use my vitamin e bar(99 cent store) lather in my hands then to face, then using rinsed baby wipe cleanse the rest of the way. It does come off. Make sure to wash it off completely to avoid clogging. NOT FOR DRY SKIN! Use the colorstay natural for that. HG HG HG HG HG!!!! I am so happy finally!

UPDATE: I have since changed preferences to something a bit less masky!! This is ok if you have horrible skin imperfections, but the look can be REALLY MADE UP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wildorchidfaire on 6/10/2003 4:49:00 AM more reviews by wildorchidfaire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Waaaah.... TOO THICK. Perhaps due to the fact that it is matte it emphasized my pores when I tried to apply it more sheer by using a wet sponge. End result was really asthetically offensive. The color (nude) somehow ended up looking WRONG on me......I also find that this thing clogs me pores and breaks me out! :( The worst thing is it's so thick that it's painful to blend. You have to be EXTRAORDINARILY quick and it allows no mistakes in blending..!!! ....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sunbaby on 6/5/2003 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Sunbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good foundation. The coverage is full and it sets in 60 sec. so it's important to blend well. I found that it controls oil well, but I used it in the winter when I don't oil as much. It's a little drying but that's ok b/c it dried up my pimples:) I used a shade that was too dark (true beige). But for the life of me I can't gage my own skin color when choosing foundations so I'll always end up with the wrong shade LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kariwilson86 on 5/31/2003 3:10:00 PM more reviews by kariwilson86

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation, only because most of you gals did. I was so confident after reading all the reassuring reviews, that this would work for me. Well....not exactly. The colour selection isn't so bad, and the fact it isn't oily and rubs off all over the place is a plus too. But, applying it and the end result isn't my fav. I tried several different ways in which I could possibly apply this, to not make it look un-even and dry on me. Nothing worked. I have oily skin, so when my oils would kick-in, my pores were enlarged, even when I used a tough loose powder. The coverage (if repeatedly applied) is REALLY strong and covering, which sometimes I need. It also has a matte finish. I guess I was just going for more of the the dewy, healthy glow, not oily finish. And yes, this stuff can still rub-off on your man...or that matter just about anything, but it still isn't as bad as others. Still, this stuff is a hell of a lot better then L'Oreal's Ideal Balance. As well, this foundation really does set in under 60 seconds, thats what makes applying a little bit difficult. It could also be more beneficial if it contained an SPF, as well a squeeze bottle would be nice. This product isn't cheap either, $17.50 (CAN)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 indira_sgr on 5/21/2003 10:18:00 PM more reviews by indira_sgr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this foundation. It dries very quickly, so if you make a mistake, you should wash your face and start all over again. Impossible to blend. I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Noahsmom on 5/18/2003 6:07:00 PM more reviews by Noahsmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is ok, but it is really thick, even for me. It does cover well and really does stay put, but it looks so un-natural. I'm not one for trying to hide the fact that I wear makeup but this screams HELLO! I'M TRYING TO HIDE SOMETHING VERY UGLY!. This makeup just can't be pretty no matter how thin you apply it or how well you can blend. I wore it to church today and just couldn't wait to take it off. It clumped around my nose and was cakey under my eyes. I was so embarrased. I tried to make it work for about 2 weeks and it broke me out. I'm not even prone to breakouts. I think it's because it is so thick and hard to remove that it must have clogged my pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 julia_82 on 5/17/2003 1:01:00 AM more reviews by julia_82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not a huge fan of cosmetics that make me look like a corpse. This gunk made my pale skin a horrible shade of grey. Not only that, it was a nighmare to put on. It dried as soon as it left the bottle and refused to blend. It was very clumpy, and was uncomfortable to wear. It's put me off Revlon products in general!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products