Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4453 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 foundmyhappyplace on 10/21/2003 10:06:00 PM more reviews by foundmyhappyplace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Colorstay does just that. The color stays. I am impressed with that. My skin can get slightly oily throughout the day. I don't have to worry about my foundation fading when I wear Colorstay. The tone matches my fair skin well, also. Not too orangy for a drugstore brand. The product is, however, a little too matte and chalky. I am much happier with it if I apply a nice smooth moisturizer just prior to applying.

Update: I can't stand this foundation anymore. It says to apply to a small area at a time. Even when I do this, it tends to have an uneven texture and I can sometimes see "swipes" where I applied it. I don't think I will be buying this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jgirl528 on 9/29/2003 4:53:00 PM more reviews by jgirl528

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I still love this foundation because it's the only one that stays on my face the whole day and keeps me looking matte. Before, I used to have to blot and powder my face about 2 or 3 plus times a day but now I only do it once and I feel confident that my face is fine. The only thing I wish is that they made more colors to suit my skin. Until then, I really can't find another foundation better than Colorstay. If anyone knows of any foundation as good or better than Colorstay, let me know!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachykeen01 on 9/25/2003 10:24:00 PM more reviews by peachykeen01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation covers everything, and sand beige is a good match for my skin, but it doesn't stay on me! It might be because I still put green concealer on before, since everyone else says it stays on. I'd buy it again because it just makes your skin look perfect! *edit* I just use the foundation by itself now, and it stays on all day! I just put a few dots on the places I really need it, and then I use it on my whole face.
*EDIT* I realized I just don't need this much coverage..also, it tends to look cakey most of the time. :-\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bzbibi on 9/25/2003 6:11:00 PM more reviews by bzbibi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Way too drying and looked sooo fake like latex on my face! It covers a lot, but it looks way too matte. My friend swore by it so I purchased it but I guess it doesn't work well with all people. I have asian skin that is slighly acnegenic and the color was also not a good match ^ i almost bought two colors to mix shades until i realised i did not even like the foundation itself!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 405hung on 9/20/2003 7:40:00 PM more reviews by 405hung

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Is this the "love-or-hate-it" foundation?! It gives the even/full coverage within a second, but the trick is you only apply one small section of the face at a time, and better do it FAST. Most importantly, choose the color that match with your neck color, otherwise it will make you a chalky look. Finally, don't expect the foundation can come off with the ordinary face wash. I am using DHC deep cleansing oil and then Johnson& Johnson's body wash. I do it twice and always using the wash cloth at the same time. It really doesn't take me much time to remove the makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chaoz on 9/15/2003 1:24:00 AM more reviews by chaoz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

winter is always kind to my oily skin... but come summer... my foundation usually just can't WAIT to slide itself off my face!!! And I've tried many many long-lasting or oil-control foundations..... the winner without a question... is still the original Revlon Colorstay... a little quick to dry and relatively harder to blend... but works amazing every single time... better even than the new colorstay natural in terms of long-lastingness... try not to layer as it'll create streaks and cake up... also you'll need a pretty exact match in this otherwise it'll definitely make your face look like a real mask... all in all my holy grail in a bottle..... great stuff!!! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harleyandhank on 9/13/2003 5:42:00 PM more reviews by harleyandhank

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I cannot keep makeup on my oily skin. This makeup stays on. I also need lots of coverage due to my bad skin. I do not feel this foundation on my skin due to the fact that it absorbs oil. I use buff and have never found a better match for my skin. Thrilled!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jomia23 on 9/12/2003 3:40:00 AM more reviews by jomia23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Being a fair-skinned Asian, it was hard to find the right color, one which wouldn't look to pink on me. I also use bronzer instead of actually tanning my face. It seems that Natural Tan suits me best, without looking too fake. The consistency is very thick, so I like to apply it right after moisturizing. Then I wait for it to set completely before trying to dust powder on. Sometimes I don't have to. Nor do I need to use concealer or primer; and my HUGE PORES DO DISAPPEAR after application. For the first few hours, I am shine free and the makeup doesn't rub off on anything. Alas, due to my extremely oily skin, my face eventually DOES get shiny and when I blot my face, some of the makeup comes off, leaving me with a streaky face. This is my one nemesis, and it's really no fault of the product, just my skin! Sometimes it's less hassle to use MAC StudioFix (I'm NC40), but then I do need to use primer and concealer then, and then reapply later.**sigh** UPDATE (9/15/03): ACK~~ This stuff makes my chin break out in nasty, pussie, sebaceous zits! NEVER AGAIN!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 9/11/2003 12:03:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very divided about this product for a long time. I once met a flight attendant with incredible looking skin, and I asked her what skin care she used. She said her skin was "horrible" underneath her makeup, which she deemed miraculous. I was expecting her to tell me it was Chanel or something, but she said it was Revlon Colorstay - so of course, once I hit one of the airport stores, I purchased a bottle.

I was told the same thing: "gorgeous skin, beautiful finish, what are you using?" I was delighted! But as soon as I hugged a friend and my makeup came off on his shirt, I knew I was done with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tamstrat on 9/9/2003 7:29:00 PM more reviews by tamstrat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Colorstay is a good foundation if you want long lasting coverage. Buff is a great color. The finish is heavy, so it is not for the faint of heart. But if you have imperfections in your skin (as I do) it is good for it's coverage. It doesn't blend easily however. That is the one thing I didn't like about it. But I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products