Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Jenibel on 11/30/2003 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Jenibel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Finally a foundation! My hg was discontinued, and I have found this. It covers very well, and you will have to blend it right away, because it can be fast drying. Also you have smooth it out around the nose area pretty fast before it sets. This stuff lasts all day! And covers very well, It is not sheer at all. I got 02, buff, which is a neutral light color. It has no pinkish or yellow undertones, and no orange at all. I think it is worth buying again and I am so glad I found it! After 2 bottles almost gone, i think I am very happy with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anne00 on 11/30/2003 12:08:00 AM more reviews by anne00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is an ok product, not the best. For some reason it doesn't seem to last all day. I have combination skin and if you have dry parts the foundation will make it more noticeable. It dried pretty quickly, which makes it quite hard to blend. The foundation has a waterly texture. I will not be re-purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 raffles on 11/25/2003 4:22:00 AM more reviews by raffles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a great foundation for oily or combination skin that needs medium, long-lasting coverage. Be sure to blend this quickly (it dries in a second!) with a slightly damp sponge and you will get a great finish.

Some of the darker shades seem slightly 'orangey'. If you have fair skin you can use Buff, which is a better, yellow-based shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chi77 on 11/23/2003 7:48:00 PM more reviews by chi77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The reason why I keep coming back to this fdtn is possibly the price. It's cheap for a smudge-proof lasting fdtn with high coverage and a shade that matches perfectly to my skintone ("buff"). If you find this cakey, thick or coming off, you're probably applying too much. Let it set for 2 minutes and dust some loose powder. I have some visible pores and so applying a makeup base prevents those areas from caking. BTW, I only use 3 pearl drops for the whole face. HTH!! UPDATE: I can now skip makeup base cause I find my pores no longer look obvious. All thanks to Olay Total Effects and Clinique Total Turnaround!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* natashik1 on 11/19/2003 2:02:00 PM more reviews by natashik1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I like this foundation because it provides a good coverage for redness and small imperfections, as well as has a good staying power. Doesn't make my skin look greasy, feels nice to apply. However, I am still looking for that One foundation that will make me just plain Happy every time I use it. Please create such foundation, anyone? :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sugarbabydoll on 11/18/2003 5:46:00 AM more reviews by sugarbabydoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

The only reason why I keep buying this would have to be that the shade buff is a pretty damn close match to my skin tone. Its a very cakey looking makeup on so your best bet is to probably mix it with a little moisturiser, its blendability is also pretty poor too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellyray on 11/6/2003 8:23:00 PM more reviews by ellyray

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favourite liquid foundation ever, namely because it doesn't come off for HOURS, it's fairly heavy (I like a lot of coverage), and the best thing- you can put ANYTHING over the top and it won't budge or smudge! Gel and cream blushes, concealers, powders, eyeshadows- it's the perfect base because, unlike all other foundations I've used, once it's on it stays on. Sure, it comes at the cost of speed (you need to apply it very slowly and carefully as it does dry quickly), and if you don't like foundations you can feel then this isn't for you, because it goes on like paint and takes a good makeup remover to get off. But the visual results are amazing. You look as fresh after 10 hours as you do the minute of application, and it's great for small skin imperfections. Try it, try it, try it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blanksugar on 10/26/2003 10:52:00 PM more reviews by blanksugar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It has good coverage and I like how it doesnt rub off unlike every other foundation ive ever tried. I dont like how it sets too quickly,how it can be drying and how it doesnt have enough yellow tones in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mamaspice on 10/22/2003 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Mamaspice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have spent the past year flirting with powder foundation seeking a HG that could handle my oily skin. I read a review here and ran to the store to get this. How could I forget about my reliable Revlon? I am now wearing the oil free version of this in Sand Beige and just love it! Looks much more natural than any powder foundation and leaves me with the flawless finish I so highly desire. Workly quickly and smartly with this product and you too could have a HG foundation like I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 foundmyhappyplace on 10/21/2003 10:06:00 PM more reviews by foundmyhappyplace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Colorstay does just that. The color stays. I am impressed with that. My skin can get slightly oily throughout the day. I don't have to worry about my foundation fading when I wear Colorstay. The tone matches my fair skin well, also. Not too orangy for a drugstore brand. The product is, however, a little too matte and chalky. I am much happier with it if I apply a nice smooth moisturizer just prior to applying.

Update: I can't stand this foundation anymore. It says to apply to a small area at a time. Even when I do this, it tends to have an uneven texture and I can sometimes see "swipes" where I applied it. I don't think I will be buying this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products