Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1029 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Bigfranny on 7/26/2009 6:38:00 PM more reviews by Bigfranny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Another HG for me! This the foundation that I worship (well.... almost!).
I am NC25 and wear shade 5 during the year and switch to 5.5 in the summer.
Here are the reasons why this award winning is my HG

1. The GLOW. Oh the glow is just right. This oil-free formula gives a perfect skin like finish with a medium coverage. I don't need a highlighter because it highlights all the right places.
2. You need only one pump so it lasts a while.
3. I love the pump dispenser.
4. It makes my face look flawless. Celebrity-flawless.
It is not a full coverage foundation but it covers enough any imperfection you might have.
$58 is well worth it: I've had the bottle for 6 months and I have about a third left:-)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ItalianBaybeh on 7/25/2009 8:32:00 PM more reviews by ItalianBaybeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

New HG foundation! I saw the Armani m/u counter at saks a few months ago, and had one of their MAs do my makeup for the evening. I was floored by the quality of the foundation, but after finding out that it was $60, I decided to just get the lipstick and move on.
Yesterday, after months of deliberating, I went back to the counter and bought the foundation. I use my own Body Shop foundation brush and it works perfectly. I had been turned off of the liquid foundation idea after using Bare Minerals for several years, but I'm so happy that I found this. It makes my skin silky, soft and completely natural looking. I love the pump too, so you dont make a mess when dispensing it. Usually one small pump is enough for my entire face, so it should last long too. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnypie on 7/11/2009 5:39:00 AM more reviews by bunnypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After I was done with my GA Matte Silk Foundation, which is out of the market, I bought this one in the same color, nr. 4.
I thought this would be made for all skin types, as it writes on the package, but I don't see it so at all. This might be good for dry / normal skin types, but for sure not for oily /acne prone skin types. Plus, the color is different than the Matte Silk Foundation color, even though it says nr. 4 it is not the same. It is yellowish, and I looked pretty sick and shiny all through the day. This will go back because I can't start anything with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shaleelo on 7/6/2009 9:09:00 PM more reviews by shaleelo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this when i was traveling and i was sporting my deathly white face because of the planes and stuff. so the SA sold me no. 4 which i think is too light for me now. seeing as i was on my way on holiday i forgot to mention that i would get darker.....whoops.

but anyhoo, the foundation itself is very good the coverage is very good, and the finish is exactly like the name suggests. My skin isnt the smoothest as i currently have congestion in my skin, (trying to figure that out) making most foundations not adhering to my skin as well, but this does a great job.

the colour may be a bit on the light side, but im sure once winter roles around, it would be a great match as i go super pale during the winter months :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whim22 on 6/30/2009 12:48:00 AM more reviews by whim22

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG makeup. I'm sorry some have had bad experiences with it. I was lucky enough to have Pat McGrath do my makeup with Armani the first time (total luck, she was there for 1 day, I was in NY for 1 day) and so she used a very light touch with this and I have gotten so many compliments on my skin when using this makeup. But I do mainly use it in winter as it is expensive and in summer I tend to wear just a mineral bronzer. I have bought this several times and will continue to do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rachelbabydoll82 on 6/28/2009 4:21:00 AM more reviews by Rachelbabydoll82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Aghh I cant believe I wasted so much money on this crap!!! I was so excited to buy an Armani foundation, and went to the department store all set to buy 'Lasting Finish'... only to be told its not yet available in Australia.
So I buy Luminious Silk coz im told its just as good... crap. It didnt even last an hour ( and this is in the middle of winter in Australia.) It made my skin blotchy and its just horrible...!!!!!!! Cant believe anyone would like this stuff. Today, in desperation, I bought a Clarins Matte foundation which seems alot better... but Ill keep you all posted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katie80 on 6/21/2009 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Katie80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is an incredible foundation. I wear it performing and it is flawless. I use Laura Mercier's primer, and then this. I don't wear it everyday as I feel like it's got too much coverage for day to day, but when I need to look perfect, I use it.

The only thing I don't love it that you can't really monitor how much comes out of the bottle as it disperses the same blob every time and sometimes you only need a bit to finish up your face.

Other than that, it's amazing. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luvnudao on 6/19/2009 8:58:00 AM more reviews by luvnudao

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought after many raves from MUA boards! I used it with foundation brush or sometimes my fingers. I kinda like that dewy look, great medium coverage, Although it's very expensive and the bottle is frosted so its hard to see how much it really have left.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 orchid13 on 6/11/2009 4:22:00 PM more reviews by orchid13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation .. but agree with users it looks best when applied with Mac's 187 brush. Application with a sponge, fingers, and or regular foundation brush seems to make it seem cake-y and unnatural. There is just something about the 187 that makes this foundation look beautiful and natural. I have sensitive , splotchy skin , that is prone to acne, and this foundation has not caused any negative changes in my skin. For reference I am a 5 in this foundation , Fiji in Nars, and between an NC20-25 in Mac. I would have never tried this foundation if it weren't for you great MUA'ers!!! Thanks so much for all your reviews!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rory on 5/28/2009 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Rory

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation and have repurchased many times over. I've got sensitive and acne prone skin. This foundation does not irritate my skin and provides sufficient coverage. Looks decent after 8 hours though I do need to blot every few hours during summer months.

Cons: Price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products