Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.8

1099 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER CYCLOPENTASILOXANE GLYCERIN ISODODECANE ALCOHOL POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE HEXYL LAURATE DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE PHENOXYETHANOL ACETYLATED GLYCOL STEARATE MAGNESIUM SULFATE ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE TRISTEARIN CELLULOSE GUM NYLON-12 LIMONENE BENZYL SALICYLATE LINALOOL DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER PARFUM / FRAGRANCE DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE METHYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 5/23/2010 3:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Im not sure what all the excitment is about on this foundation. The colors are weird and Its not all that great compared to other luminous foundations. Its good but not the best and not enough to buy again, especially sence they dont have a good color for me.



on 5/17/2010 7:28:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I totally surprised myself by loving this product. I generally steer away from designer name brands believing that they are over-marketed, over-packaged and over-priced. But I absolutely love this foundation. It's the perfect balance of sheer and coverage, very light, looks like skin but better. It has a slight glow without looking oily. It's gorgeous.

I use it with a sheer fluid bronzer also from Armani which I also would never have bought but the salesperson gave me a tester and after using it for a week I couldn't live without it.

The packaging is fine. One pump is all I need for a full-face light coverage for the day. I pump a splodge onto the back of my hand and apply it with a foundation brush. I've been using it about a month and I think the bottle will last ages at this rate.

Speaking as someone who has been using Neutrogena and Revlon products most of my life I can't believe I'm giving rave reviews to this but it is truly superior and just seems to be a good match for my skin at this time in my life (56 - and needing all the help I can get).

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2010 2:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I became infatuated with this product from all the awards and reviews, but do not have a store in my state that sells it. I had a terrible time finding the right shade until I found a great lady Kariann at a store in Charlotte (I think I am Not to Mention store) who graciously sent me little samples. I am shade 5.0. In all the reading I did I discovered that the .5 shades have extra orange in them, so the numerical progression is confusing if you are selecting on a gradient scale. 4.5 was too orange, 4 was a bit orange, and 5 was just right. I compared the samples and turns out the color samples on the giorgioarmanibeauty-usa site were pretty accurate when I used Firefox, but not so much on Safari. (Mac) None of the store samples online were as useful on my Mac. I was about a NC20 and about a Rose Ivory in LM, but it was becoming too orange for me. LM Rose Ivory is closer to the 4.5 or 4 in GA. Anyway, I have 55 y/o skin and the makeup did seem to give me some hatchmarks around the lips even with the light primer, but less with a moisturizer or the LM secret finish on those spots after applying the foundation. I really like it though. I am not sure how great it can look because I just started playing with it. I think the GA foundations are overall more orange-y because they are geared for Italian skin as I was told by their customer service person. I didn't find a lot of people too knowledgeable in calling various stores except for the lady in Charlotte, she knew a lot. Since I have no store nearby I will be purchasing from the most educated and nice SA, so in a way, it's better. I had it on for about 6 hours now and it has NOT bothered my rosacea, so that's amazing in itself! Most things go kaput on my face pretty quickly and I get red rashes right away. I will review more on the wearability as I try it out longer. I was so impressed by how it took to my skin with their blender brush, just amazing how it blended effortlessly. It looks great and feels not-there after a bit of time, not long. I left it on all night and didn't know it was there. *************Well, I retract this review because after wearing this foundation it just all ended up settling in my fine lines even with extra moisturizer and primer. I no longer recommend it based on my own experience unless you have no fine lines or dry spots, that's just my own experience. I even tried both of the Armani primers and neither was good enough to prevent the dessert look around my mouth, smile, and generally all over. I also ended up with makeup dots in every pore. Not too good. I have been cleansing and exfoliating, so it's not that. I just don't find it good enough to suit my needs.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2010 6:36:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

WOW! $90 Australian Dollars for a foundation ? what was I thinking. It is just OK. I must admit I do like Revlon Colorstay far better. Colour choice was great - I have fair to medium skin in Colorstay I am Sand Beige but in Armani I am #5. I just cannot justify the price for this so so foundation now if it was half that price I would be happy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2010 8:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is AMAZING!!!! I have searched hi and low for a foundation - i tried about 12 different ones. I have even tried others after using Armani and i have always gone back to it. I've been using it for about 3 years now and I haven't had any breakouts (I am prone to spots). It makes my skin look clear and fresh - I have acne scarring and this covers all!! My skin also looks flawless in photos.

There are however two downsides:
1) It's expensive (£32)
2) In the UK you can only buy it in Selfridges or Terminal 3 at Heathrow Airport!!!

I have over overlooked both as this product is amazing!


on 5/9/2010 11:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I finally caved and bought this when it appeared again on In Style's best of beauty awards since I was getting tired of the powdery look of my powder foundations.

Great packaging with a pump and even the black paper packaging looks elegant. Definitely pricey at $59US a bottle but I'd buy it again.

I'm a NC35/C4 and bought the LSF in a 6.5. The color is a touch more golden than my natural skin tone but it's overall a great match and very flattering. Does not oxidize on my combination skin. I've been using this for 2 weeks now and no breakouts.

Texture is smooth and coverage is light to medium. I don't think I'm "luminous" when I wear it but overall I'm pretty happy with it. Will update if anything changes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2010 2:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

After reading the reviews here and checking in with my makeu-up guru SueS, at long last, I bought it. For those who are NC40, the 6.5 will be your exact match. Just lately I've decided to spend more money on foundations because 1) I'm getting older and felt I needed something higher-end to give me a higher quality, longer lasting radiance. 2) I'm always looking for brands/shades that make exact matches for my NC40 skintone, which is a hard match.

One pump on the back of my hand does it. I dot it on, blend it in with my fingers, dust a little setting powder on top and I'm done. I don't use a foundation brush for this - I just don't need it. The formula is so fine and silky, I was just brushing it away. With my fingertips, I can lay it down evenly and quickly. Blending is not an issue.

Now, here's the thing...the SA said that this was buildable. And it might be, but imo, this is for complexions that just need to be evened-out and not covered up. I could still see my freckles through it, which was fine, but I would have been disappointed if I had been trying for more converage. The texture is smooth and silky on the skin and I kept touching my jaw to see if it dried out - it didn't.

From what I could tell, it was not terribly pore clogging. I used it with LM Primer for staying power and set it with a powder, but I did have to go over my T-Zone with my Clarisonic twice to make sure I got all of it out of my pores. It did not break me out at all. In fact, the formulation makes your skin feel super soft and smooth. I'd definately buy it again, but I plan to make this bottle last as long as possible, due to the expense.

NOTE: For a little more coverage, one pump of this mixed with Honey shade of the L'Oreal Colormatch is perfect for transitioning from NC40 to NC42! Yay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation! My color is 5.5 which matches my skintone exactly.

Here are some pros:
- Foundation gives you sheer to medium coverage without feeling too heavy
- It's not cakey
- Has a dewy finish
- Pump is very sanitary

Cons:
- Price ($58/59 USD)
- Small amount of product (30 ML)

I have repurchased this product a few times, but the price is pretty outrageous for the amount of product it has. I have been using the MAC face and body foundation which has the same effects but for a fraction of the price. Plus you get a ton of product (120 ML).


on 5/2/2010 9:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have to admit I am a foundation junkie, so of course I had to try and buy this foundation. While it is a nice foundation, it is not worth the price tag. I was matched to 4, generally NC/NW 15/20.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2010 6:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I am NW20 and I was matched to LSF ($59) in 4.5. Coverage is medium, and appears polished, professional, and obviously made-up. I prefer something more sheer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

50 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
Back to Top