Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1063 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brookebaird on 1/2/2010 2:02:00 AM more reviews by brookebaird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It took over 20 years to find he perfect foundation. This is it. Great coverage considering how much redness I have. However, enough skin shows through so it looks dewy and natural. The imperfections seem to disappear.
The 4.5 color is a perfect match to my skin - which is neither warm nor cool in undertone. Love, love, love, this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gomalley on 12/31/2009 8:12:00 PM more reviews by gomalley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Love this foundation. I've very fair skin. My dermatologist infact recommended it to me, she said that Mac doesn't allow your skin to breath, and this makeup is much lighter and allows your skin to get some air. I do however find it a little bit drying around my nose but I think that's probably just my skin!

Love it as a foundation, far prefer it to Chanel, Clinique, I seem to have tried all the others but I'm happy to have found my true love with Armani! Would definitely recommend it. Has a nice consistency and isn't too much nor too light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ibrusat on 12/29/2009 4:49:00 PM more reviews by ibrusat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great range of colours, GA is one of the very few brands which has a colour that suits my fair complexion perfectly (n. 3 and I am NC15). It goes on like a dream. But ... it is not very good for dry skins. It is weightless with just the right amount of coverage, but looks horrible on dry patches.GA has finally changed the pump. It is now easy to get the rigth amount of product without any waste. The price has increased over 6 in a very short period of time even if the formulation stayed exactly the same. This is pretty bad.
Avoid in winter if you have dry skin. I use it only in the spring and summer and I love it. But during the winter it is not moisturising enough. It does not have SPF, but I use a moisturising cream with sun screen. Still one of the best foundations on the market. Decent staying power (I have never came across any foundation that stays on all day, despite the various marketing claims). GA has the best make up I have ever used. I always go back to it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abaker5 on 12/28/2009 10:55:00 PM more reviews by abaker5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've dropped in and out of this product since they've released it maybe five years ago now. It definitely has its flaws (slides off if not set with powder & can make me breakout if i wear it every day), but in terms of finish and colour spectrum it just cant be beaten. I used a 5.5 in winter and a 6.5 in summer, they blend amazingly and really warm up my complexion. I love the way its luminous without being shimmery. Its also the only foundation I really like without an spf in it -- a must for parties/weddings etc as sunscreens make your foundation look white in flash photography. I tend to wear this for night and use my YSL radiant touch for day, given its longer wearing and has an spf.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monchichi on 12/25/2009 2:58:00 PM more reviews by monchichi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I simply do not understand how this product does not get an average rating of 4 lippies... I think this is a wonderful foundation and better than much others which I have used who cost much more! I have this in colour 6,5 which is too dark for my complexion. This is not the foundation it's fault because there are plenty of colours. A stupid SA and a hurry me, is a better explenation! I have dry skin and most foundations look 'foundation' on me. This is not at all chalky, cackey or whatever negative. The finish is beautiful: no shine, not too obvious 'glowy foundation', just healthy looking skin. Smell is non offending. Texture silicony... Coverage: modest at it's best. Positive: you can layer and layer and layer and still it appears natural, yet fresh! Only downside: lasting power. It disappears... Not very fast, but do not expect to last a whole day. It will not. The foundation it's finish is too beautiful to set with powder which could maybe lengthen the foundation on skin. I use it 'bare'. Will probably not buy again, because I would like to try the new Helena Rubinstein... Good nude foundation. (I have tried the designer shaping foundation also but is not at all as good as this one. Designer... has more coverage but is more matt and not as natural. I do not understand why that is targeted for more aged skin, as I think that Luminous is more what 'older' ladies can use)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trigirl2 on 12/25/2009 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Trigirl2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is hands down the best foundation I have ever used. It has a silky finish and blends beautifully. I have acne prone skin and it hasnt caused me caused any issues. I only need minimal coverage and a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 funkiemunkiee on 12/16/2009 6:54:00 PM more reviews by funkiemunkiee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay foundation, definately not my favourite. It provides a sheer-medium coverage and its quite buildable. Its also doesn't dry out my skin, which is nice. What I don't like about this foundation is that it fades throughout the day. Even after a few hours, it looks like I didn't put any foundation on, but not in a good way. It melts off my nose the quickest because I get oilier there at times. It also leaves my skin really sticky, which i hate. It's not heavy on my skin, but if I touch my face, it feels sticky. Even if I set it with powder, it will still feel sticky. The pump drives me crazy because you can't twist it open and its also really hard to control the amount you want.


Overall, too expensive and fades throughout the day. Won't repurchase. Shade #4 is suitable for NC20, I got it at Holt Renfrew for i think about $62-$65CAD.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 livandluv on 12/2/2009 12:11:00 AM more reviews by livandluv

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

As of now, this is my everyday foundation. I do not use primer or setting powder ( i absolutely hate primers and am scared of the cakey look i see many people get with setting powder). I use this in 5.5, which is lighter than my body but darker than my face (I know its bad, but i only use sunblock on my face :/). Im pretty oily which some dry patches on the lower half of my face and i generally really like (not love) this product.....for the first three hours. At first it is beautifl and glowy, but After that, it starts kind of melting off my nose (where I am the oiliest). But, besides that i cannot find the correct color match, this looks very beautiful before it starts melting. It rubs off too easily for my taste, too. For this reason I will try the new UV lasting GA foundation. WIll keep using this (alternating with the beautiful teint resist YSL foundation) until i can try the UV GA foundation (PLEASE work!!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phizzybee on 11/28/2009 5:36:00 AM more reviews by phizzybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

my favourite (i replaced for a good price) great colour range especially for PPP. (2, 3.5 neutral undertones) prep your skin well. i find in between one pump and two is just right for a medium cover, for fair blemish prone skin. i tried it with armani foundation brush, but i prefer finger tip application. shake and blend well. if youre able to treat yourself. one pump, finished with the designer compact foundation. (the brush included applies very well, and it leaves a powder like finish)..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DahliaSimone1981 on 11/21/2009 9:26:00 AM more reviews by DahliaSimone1981

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

by far, the best foundation i have ever tried...i bought a bottle off of e-bay on a whim a while back and it has surpassed my expectations. it may not be for some, but it made my skin look absolutely perfect, young and dewy (i stray away from powders of any form as i like the fresh, dewy look). it is well worth the investment and will remain the go-to foundation for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products