Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.8

1126 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL, STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-1,2 LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 9/15/2010 9:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

If you're looking for an easy-to-apply, dewy, natural looking liquid foundation that is non-comedogenic and water based, this is THE foundation. It works best on people who have good skin in general and no MAJOR imperfections. It give your face a natural but polished look (I like to call it "imperfect perfection"). This is NOT for you if you're looking for something really dramatic with full coverage. It evens out your skin tone and gives you a dewy fresh finish. On a regular day I need only about half a pump for my entire face, and a full pump only when I'm doing heavier makeup. I strongly suggest using the Giorgio Armani foundation brush because it makes a big difference; you end up needing less product, and you can achieve a more natural/sheer look (but you can also build your coverage if you want). It photographs really well giving you an almost photoshopped effect. I have gotten compliments about my glowing complexion, and I have even been asked if I was wearing any makeup at all!

EDIT: I took off one lippie because it is not a very long-wearing foundation. It will start to slip after a few hours.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 9/4/2010 8:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

My lovely bestie bought this for me as a present - how generous, I know!
I love how many shades there are. The lady at the counter at David Jones wasn't very helpful or nice but I never find that they are. That alone was probably enough to make me not buy the product myself except my bestie went to the US and bought it off someone who was much nicer (not that nice sales people make the product better or worse hahaha).
Anyhows, it's a lovely foundation. It is quite light in its coverage. It has great luminous properties, as its name suggests. These qualities help to deflect flaws and pigmentation however I find that you still need a good concealer underneath.
I find that this needs to be set with a powder. I use Nude By Nature translucent mineral finishing veil, otherwise it has a tendency to become shiny in the t-zone and slip right off.
You don't need much of this product, half a pump should cover the face quite nicely. It is quite pricey at $90AUD a bottle so not sure if I'll purchase again. I can see one bottle lasting for over a year even if it were used every day.
Update 11/9/10 - I have been using this every day for a week as I loved the idea of only using the foundation on places that needed some evening out. Now I have all these tiny bumps all over my face! I am SO incredibly sad as I think this is clogging up my skin. So so so so so so SO upset!!! This is going in the 'not every day wear' pile. Maybe I'll just have to get my husband to take me out more heh heh heh

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2010 9:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is GREAT. Use it & forget it, no break out for me (though it is perfumated). Non-comedogenic, but without drying out.
It is super light weight, but it covers still pretty good and you will barely see it.
GA has several colours, especially for lighter beautys or even olive-toned ones (colours you never get in Europe).
Well, the packaging might be better, you get too much out of the dispenser. And the cap does not close anymore.
I will surely rebuy it and I will surely buy more foundation from the GA range, still - it's hella expensive, but if this is the only colour taht suits you and you don't get any pimples from it, I bet you will shell the money out as I did.


on 8/10/2010 9:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I loved this foundation at first. It goes on smoothly and feels light on the skin. However, it ended up settling into my pores giving me funny dots (as one reviewer said) that I don't usually experience. It seemed to emphasize all of my flaws, even with primer. The colors are lovely and even out my skin tone beautifully, but this foundation ended up needing a lot of doctoring with other products. It's just too expensive for that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2010 7:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is gorgeous!

Not a very big bottle for the price tag (I think it was AUD$90) but I would say well worth it. I also don’t use it every day so it lasts a fair well.

I use the MAC 187 brush to apply this. I pump 1 full pump on the back of my hand and dab it with the brush before buffing it over half my face, then pump another full pump, dab, and buff it over the other half of my face. I was told that this brush gives you more of an ‘airbrushed’ look, whereas a normal foundation brush would give it a thicker, more matte look. I follow up with some Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder or NARS Laguna and I’m good to go with flawless skin that doesn’t look like I’m wearing any foundation at all.

My boyfriend, who doesn’t usually notice the small things (especially when it comes to girly things such as makeup and hair) commented that I looked like I was ‘glowing’ the first time I wore this, so it’s definitely a repurchase item for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I expected to love this foundation based on the reviews I have read. I've worn it now for a couple of weeks and I am extremely disappointed. It gives my face a flaky/crepey look. I figured my skin must just be dry so I gave it some time, but that is not the case; this foundation just has an odd look on my skin. It begins to deteriorate not long after applied and, as such, really looks bad by the end of the day. It has light coverage, but I don't need much - just basically evening out the skin tone. And even then, it's disappointing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Other

I have sensitive, combination type skin (very dry on the cheeks area!)
Sometimes my cheeks are abit red and I use foundation to cover it up. This product is too sheer and doesn't do a good job of doing that. On top of that, it makes my skin look flaky (and my skin doesn't even look flaky without makeup!) It looks REALLY bad when it starts to come off (about 4 hrs later). Oily and patchy, oxidized and not good overall!! Some other reviewers also mentioned there is alot of alcohol in this product, which is probably why it feels abit drying. (Definitely prefer face fabric over this, especially for my dry cheek areas). In conclusion, too sheer (and I don't even have much to cover - no pimples/scars/flakes, just abit of redness), drying, poor staying power, and looks bad when its coming off. The only redeeming factors are that it seems to be not very allergenic, and looks good for the first 3 hours before everything goes downhill.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2010 10:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, love this HG foundation!! My skin looks wonderful and I haven't had a breakout since I started using this. Yes its expensive, but totally worth it, plus it'll last for a long time cuz I only use 1 pump for my whole face. My combo skin doesn't get as oily in the t-zone as it used to, blot once after about 7 hours and it still isn't all that oily. I cannot say enough about this foundation, I've tried tons from drugstore to department store and have finally found my HG foundation....so happy and will definately buy again and again.


on 7/16/2010 4:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I have the most sensitive~ skin ever! My face is sensitive to the max adding to that i have combination skin. It took me forever to find a foundation that wouldn't break out my skin. First i was very skeptical about this foundation because first of the price. It's very expensive~ but let me tell you this! its just a really really really good foundation!! LIke the name says, it just feels like silk when you apply it and it gives you that dewy glow. It didn't break out my skin at all. I also think its perfect for cold and hot weather. I had no problems!!~
And this bottle lasts me a long time ~ For me I used this foundation for about 5-6 months. The coverage is I believe just perfect as well not tooo cakey and not too less of a coverage. Its just right in the middle! :]
I hope you guys try it!!!!! I definetly suggest it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2010 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great formulation. I wish they made my shade. I tried 6.5 but it is orange/peachy. But 4.5 is too pale. 5.5 is too beigey pink. Oh well.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

49 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top