Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(995 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JennySG on 4/6/2009 4:48:00 PM more reviews by JennySG

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

It is the best foundation I have ever used hands down. Blends very well, the color 3 is a perfect match with my pale, pink with yellow undertones skin. I have a difficult, acne-scarred, acne prone, sensitive skin that does not agree with most foundations. Since Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk I am happier, believe it or not!
I use it after my Skyn Iceland The Antidote moisturizer and it stays put all day. Don't really care about the high price, I am definitely repurchasing!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebeccaae on 4/2/2009 12:53:00 PM more reviews by rebeccaae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is fabulous! This is my favorite liquid foundation. the price is way more than I think we want to pay, but it really does make your skin so luminous. It blends so well and I think there's a shade that will match anyone. I actually use a shade that's a bit darker than my skin to appear like I have a bit more color.. (I should be using a 5 or one less, but I use 5.5), and it doesn't look weird at all - so, you can get away with the wrong shade but it'll still work if it's close. It really lasts and your skin will feel and look soft, not cakey. It's buildable as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayyami on 3/24/2009 1:11:00 AM more reviews by mayyami

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this products for a few months as I was trying to find a replacement for my Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser. The foundation is defintely silky, and gives a natural finish. It doesn't cake, and lasts a working day over primer.

However, I thikn that the Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser delivered very similar results for a fraction of the cost, plus it had SPF 30 in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trackypup on 3/22/2009 1:02:00 PM more reviews by trackypup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fantastic foundation! It's so light, it's like I have nothing on my face. I use Chanel Teint Innocence in the winter and this in the summer! I get great coverage without caking or feeling like I'm wearing a mask. It's only downside is the cost, but after all, it is Armani

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 c00ki312 on 3/19/2009 8:30:00 PM more reviews by c00ki312

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

ugh this is amazing! light to medium buildable coverage and shade 6 is an exact match so it looks natural on me. Worn with a primer underneath my skin looks so glowy and warm. I love how it doesn't look cakey and feels like you're not wearing anything at all...really light. i think i found my HG foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yvonneliu on 3/10/2009 5:09:00 AM more reviews by yvonneliu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Will not purchase again.

It IS cakey. Medium coverage is too much for me. I am more of a LM/P&J foundation primer person who prefers light coverage and luminous finish. GA LSF, well, as the name is "luminous" enough, is unable to create my desired finish - at least not as good as LM/P&J.

Pricy. At this price point I have too many substitutes. It is GA's start foundations, but for sure not mine.

P.S. I am a MAC NC25 and uses GA #4 - I prefer fair shade in general so if you do not you might want to try darker shades

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsdarcy001 on 3/1/2009 7:02:00 AM more reviews by mrsdarcy001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is expensive ($68 USD), but if I'm going to splurge, foundation is what I'm going to spend on. I think of it as an investment. And this foundation is worth every penny! It applies like a dream, covers beautifully, and gives my skin the most beautiful, luminous glow - not a shine, not glitter, just a naturally glowing, lit from within look. I wore it to a bridal shower in a garden in Florida, then to marathon bridal errands and shopping, and then out to dinner, and when I got home, it still looked great. I did wear Smashbox primer underneath and set it with a light dusting of Coastal Scents silica powder. I had to touch up my lipgloss throughout the day but I never needed to use my pressed powder, so I'm impressed! This is definitely replacing EL Double Wear as my HG foundation. PPP ladies, I am NC20 in MAC and the SA matched me to 4.5 in this and I protested - not possible. But it's a perfect match! If you truly cannot find a foundation that is pale enough, you should check out this line. Shade 0 is the lightest, loveliest pale shade I have seen. I cannot even imagine how gorgeous it would be on alabaster skin. I'm jealous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmm307 on 2/28/2009 1:39:00 AM more reviews by mmm307

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love it. It's a little pricey, but beautiful. Great coverage and texture. It really does make skin look dewy/luminous, although it can turn oily after a while (perhaps it's only drawback). I use this for night time because it does not contain SPF, and for special occasions, because it photographs beautifully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laura22smom on 2/26/2009 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Laura22smom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely product that is as luxurious feeling to apply as you would expect from a Giorgio Armani product. I have wanted to try this for months and when I finally got it, was not disappointed at all.

Finish: Overall, I would call this a medium buildable coverage foundation. If your looking for a light, totally natural finish, this may not be for you. Not that this is "unnatural" or heavy looking. It creates a beautiful, smooth finish with a lovely, subtle luminosity. It is perfect for special occasions, weddings, nights out on the town. For me, it creates the smooth and perfect skin that I have always looked for (especially when worn with my hg Smashbox photo finish primer).


Skin Type Appropriate for: I have normal to dry skin and I think that those who tend towards oily skin might have more trouble with this product.


My details: I am 44, nc30/35 and olive skinned (normal to dry). The shade best suited to me in the winter is 5.5 and in the summer is 6.0.


Summary: I strongly recommend this lovely product but consider it more of a "dress up" product and not a daily use product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* serrabird on 2/15/2009 2:54:00 PM more reviews by serrabird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely one of the best foundations in the market. It has a cleverly designed colour range, which makes it easy to select the perfect tone for your skintone and it is the perfect match indeed. I like the natural coverage and that it makes my combination skin look luminous and silky all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products