Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1041 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 poonamkaur on 9/19/2009 5:19:00 PM more reviews by poonamkaur

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

NC35-40. I wear shade 8 in the summer, shade 7 the rest of the year. It is a perfect match! I was traveling Europe in 2007, and I found myself in Selfridges in London, and I went to the Giorgio Armani counter to see what the brand had to offer, as I hadn't been to a GA counter in person before. I was recommended this foundation in 8, and I was tanned at the time, so it was perfect! I have fairly normal skin with a slightly oily t-zone, and this stuff lasts all day long on me! I don't even use a primer, I apply sunscreen and then this over top and it's just an awesome natural finish, not too dewy, not too matte, just awesome!

I like the packaging, I think pump bottles are great, I use exactly 1 pump for my whole face, so I appreciate the pump for this product. I typically apply with a brush, but I find fingers are just as effective. I can't remember how many GBP I paid for this product in '07, but when I repurchased in shade 7 in Holt's, I think it was $57-58 CAD + tax, something like that. It is pricey, but it's also an HG item for me, so I obviously feel it's well worth it!

The other day, the SA at the Bobbi Brown counter told me I looked flawless and airbrushed! I have had friends and family tell me that I have flawless skin (not makeup, but skin!), so that's always a reason to keep a product in rotation in my opinion :) I really love this foundation and while I do experiment with other brands, this is my go-to product for a no-fail fresh face.

EDIT: Mar.6/2010. I believe the prices of Armani Cosmetics went up significantly @ Holt Renfrew. I believe this is $65 +tax now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Contessa01 on 9/13/2009 5:54:00 AM more reviews by Contessa01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation at the moment if only for one reason - shade 6 is the yellowest I have found and suits my skin well. If your anything like me every foundation is too darn orange or pink even those brands who "claim" to be yellow based. I wish it wasnt quite so luminous given i live in a humid climate but cant find this shade in any of the matte range. Will definately repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angour on 9/12/2009 5:40:00 AM more reviews by angour

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a bottle of this foundation yesterday after having my face done at the Armani counter. I wanted something that would make my tired skin more luminous and this was just what I needed. I was a bit preoccupied at first about the texture, as it seemed a bti toooo moisturizing for me and I was preoccupied about it looking oily later on and to tell the truth, after about 1 hour since my makeup was done by an Armani counter guy, I noticed that the foundation started settling in my pores... I got really upset to be honest... However, I decided to go back home and try the application myself and the truth is it makes a LOT of difference when you use a proper brush and spend some time to blend it in. I realized that the original application was too thick and that a little bit goes a long way. Same can be said about the illuminating primer, which I wear underneath. So far I am really happy with how it looks on my skin and how my blemishes are almost invisible. love it

*Update* Ok, I could not wait till a couple of weeks later, so I will let you know what I discovered in the meantime :-) You know how a lot of people are saying that it does not seem to be staying on their skin for a long time and that it starts to slide off ... etc? Well, in my case as you read above, I found that the quantity and the application medium make a lot of difference. I use MAC foundation brush 190 and to cover my whole face flawlessly I need 2 pumps of the foundation, which I squirt into a plastic lid from my old NYX loose powder and twirl the brush with some foundation in it to make sure that the brush is loaded evenly before I apply it on my face. Before applying the foundation, I first apply the Light Master Make Up Primer by Armani and then I dust it off a bit with some Silica powder which I got on the coastalscents.com. After that I take about 2 minutes to evenly apply the foundation and I take care to really even it out with the brush, so that there are no traces of brush strokes and no excessive amount of foundation is settled into my pores. It has to be even and light, and at the same time it provides a lot of coverage. Dust it a bit more, very lightly with Silica and then finish it off with Armani Luminous Silk Powder and voila! it stays in place for the whole day with only one touch up with some powder 6 hours later! So this is the solution for those of us with slightly oily skin - get your hands on some of that Silica powder (super cheap by the way) and enjoy the flawless Armani finish :-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmbechtle on 9/5/2009 1:27:00 PM more reviews by pmbechtle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After reading all the MA raves online, and being a total foundation junkie, I got some samples of this from Nordie's in 4.5, a good color match for me. Coverage is light-to-medium, finish is semi-matte. Staying power OK, not great. Price to purchase: around 55-60 USD.
-
My overall impression: disappointing, ordinary/unremarkable, and not worth the expense.Completely obvious on my skin, in any light, even after careful blending and a good color match. I wore it with primer and finishing powder to a formal dinner. By 10:00 p.m., "dewey" had turned to "eww-ey." I actually like several d/s brands better than this! Longer lasting, better coverage and finishes - and isn't that why we wear foundation?
-
I had really hoped to love this one, but I don't.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kssevern on 8/26/2009 7:18:00 PM more reviews by kssevern

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

After trying a sample of this I finally broke down and bought it. Goes on very smooth and feels very natural. Covers all of my imperfections and does not look cakey at all. I work 12 hour shifts and at the end of the day, it looks just as good as when I left the house in the morning. I do hate the price though. I hope the bottle will last for quite a while so it's worth the money. I am a 4.5 and it blends in perfectly with my skin. I am loving this stuff. I'm sure I will keep buying it.





























































































































































































































    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjm517 on 8/23/2009 2:56:00 AM more reviews by cjm517

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My HG foundation. I've been using it for over a year which is a record for me (I used to try about 1 or 2 new foundations every month). It is the perfect color match for me (alabaster in BB and neutral toned)- #2 fits the bill and also matches me in the UV silk. It is a dream. A satiny finish and doesn't go patchy when my t-zone gets a little oily. My skin looks fabulous in pictures. It is not scented and isn't overly moisturizing like a lot of "luminous" foundations. It does not break me out and my skin looks great after I take it off. I don't use a primer underneath usually but sometimes use the korres primer or chanel blanc de chanel. I usually apply mac blot on top if I'm looking for a more matte finish. GA makes fantastic foundation. Coloring system is strange so best bet is to get matched in store if you're not confident as to what shade to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wetbandit42 on 8/18/2009 12:03:00 PM more reviews by wetbandit42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far, I love this. I wasn't expecting to based on the reviews here, and I was a bit nervous ordering this (because of the reviews and the fact that the SA color matched me over the phone), but I'm glad I pulled the trigger. I have this in shade 5. It's a little too yellow for my pink skin (I've used Dior Nude f/d in Cameo, Chanel f/d in Cameo & Gentle Ivory), but it doesn't look too yellow once it's blended in. Although it actually looks matte on, it makes my skin so glowy. It hasn't made me breakout, and I do find that I have to touch up with powder in the afternoon or blot with my Boscia linens, but I am loving it so far. The one thing I wish it had was a little more staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmab6756 on 8/17/2009 11:26:00 AM more reviews by emmab6756

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation has a lot of mixed reviews here which, I have to say, would have put me off if I had read them prior to purchase. I find this to be a very, very nice foundation. It is sheer to medium but with excellent coverage. It is yellow toned to counteract any skin redness. It blends flawlessly and provides moisture to the skin, but at the same time is oil-free and doesn't make me become slick in my t-zone.

I used to use this with a silicone-based primer underneath and it just slid right off, but since I have realised that primers don't make my foundation stay longer (quite the opposite) I have loved it. I can only recommend that if it doesn't work for you, assess what you are putting it over the top of before you disregard it. Particularly if you are putting it over an oil-based moisturiser as the two formulas will probably slip and slide together and the foundation will not last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lilyjules on 8/15/2009 6:44:00 AM more reviews by lilyjules

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

meh. this was nothing special. I tried 4.5 and 5.5. 4.5 was better for my skintone, but both of them looked very cakey on me. I had them put on (half on each side of my face) by the GA makeup artist and when I got home the boy could tell I was wearing makeup (he never notices). It was cakey and showed wrinkles I never had before! Plus when I took it off I had a breakout. NICE. it felt a bit heavy too. Not sure if the raves are from those who need more coverage than I do, but I didn't like this product on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 8/14/2009 9:36:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Prrr .. I *love* this foundation. I'm beyond bummed that GA charges so much for this goodness. I feel like I've been "saving" forever to buy a full jar, and still haven't acquired it. I've lived off samples for a while and use it sparingly because I adore this foundation! Glides on and blends beautifully and does make my skin look luminous. For me though this is more of a fall/winter foundation as it tends to fade pretty quickly during the warmer more humid months. Overall though price aside, excellent foundation that hopefully i'll actually own in my lifetime!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products