Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1015 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hailey0675 on 5/22/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by hailey0675

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

One of my favourite foundations. I've repurchased this several times. For reference I'm an NC44 and use #9 during summer and #8 if I'm really pale during winter. My combination skin is prone to breakouts. This foundation matches my skin exactly so I can achieve that nude/no makeup look by varying the amount I use. If my skin is particularly blotchy or has more breakouts I layer on a little more. I use less on those days that my skin is looking clear. Whichever way I wear it my skin feels light and able to breathe. Because I have big pores if I pack the foundation on I have to soak up excess with a makeup sponge, but this doesn't impact the coverage. The staying power is very good too. I do not have to reapply and only use powder once, usually at lunch time. However this is normal, whichever foundation I'm using. Other advantages are the packaging (uses a pump) which is hygenic and helps the foundation last longer because you know exactly how much to use. The only possible drawback for me would be the price, however I feel that for this foundation is worth it because it lasts long and matches both my skin colour and type. I'd rather spend more getting something than works than pay less on something that I'd have to compromise on. As with all things one man's meat is another man's poison. I always get a makeover or obtain a sample before I decide to buy a product. MAs are not always realistic or honest so their opinion is not a factor that I consider when making a purchase. It has to be right for you based on proper testing.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pennyhoney on 5/20/2009 3:56:00 PM more reviews by pennyhoney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Eh....

My bro's GF had flawless skin that did not look like she wore makeup....then one day, she was sick and showed up looking pretty "ordinary" and blotchy and oily skin. She didn't bother to put makeup on!

I was shocked. I had to ask her what she used. I went to Bloomingdales and got matched up, bought it, and I have to say, it didn't give me the coverage and flawless skin it gave my bro's GF.

So 5 lippies for her great look, but just a regular 3 lippies for me.

I guess this works for some, and not for others. Hopefully, you can get a free sample and not to have buy it and find out the hard way.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suchetab on 5/19/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by suchetab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I am going to have to agree with the previous reviewer here. I went to try this out at Saks and I specifically told the beauty consultant that in my line of work I can't wear a full make-up face, so put it on as light as possible. She put waaay too much and tried too hard to cover my dark circles (I was born with them. Hee hee!) It looked oily, slick, sticky. Also the shade was not a good match. She asked me if I get darker in the summer and I said yes, so I guess she just used a darker shade instead of my current color :-( It was a hot day and with my oily skin it looked like my face is melting. I washed it off in 15 minutes. I think these beauty consultants don't realize that most people don't work in warm lights all day! Duh!!

I am going to give it another shot in winter and also I will ask for a sample so I can play with it. I will up the rating if it works out better then.

Right now I will just continue to love my Dream Mousse cheap wonder.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PamelaMartin on 5/18/2009 3:50:00 PM more reviews by PamelaMartin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This was really disappointing. I specifically bought this foundation FROM the Armani flagship store on 5th Ave and NOT a department store cosmetic counter, upon recommendation from the beauty consultant there. I bought the foundation, the Armani blender brush and a creme blush for $175...not a small amount for 3 products.

This is the most "slippery", "oily" foundation I have ever used. It looks "greasy" on my skin- not "dewy", not "luminous"... moreover, it FEELS greasy. Using a sheer powder over it (Chanel or Clinque) doesn't seem to help and I feel like I'm defeating what the foundation is touted to do (by beauty editors and magazines all over)

I have pretty "average" not oily/not dry skin. In fact, the consultant at Armani commented on how "dry" my current foundation looked (MAC Studio Fix) and lathered me up with their Crema Nera moisturizer before applying the Luminous Silk. I have tried all different types of moisturizers with the product, and nothing, from a creme to a lotion to a gel seems to combat the shine. I've even tried it with no moisturizer at all and I'm still slick after an hour. It does cover well, and I've used it to "spot even" my complexion, but then I get greasy patches- not so much on my cheeks- but my nose and forehead are awful. Bare faced I don't have this much oiliness. By midday it's completely slipped off my face, along with the creme blush.

I would say unless your skin is extremely dry, this foundation might be disappointing for you. I'm sad- I was ready to love it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cupcakebabe on 5/4/2009 12:07:00 AM more reviews by cupcakebabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

wow well I was really excited when I went to bloomingdales because I saw it in a magazine and it was names top 25 beauty products but I wouldnt buy it again its not much coverage its really for people who have dry flaky skin not for someone that has combination to oily skin like me but it gives you a nice glow it kinda perfects your skin but I wouldnt buy it again

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mayrei on 5/2/2009 5:07:00 PM more reviews by mayrei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Revised 10/23/09: I can't make up my mind about this foundation. I've been trying it for almost a year now. Some days it works, some days it doesn't. It's a mess in the summer, when my skin gets super oily... but it still doesn't hold up all day in cooler weather, either. It seems like it's too easy to apply too much, and then it sits on the skin looking obvious. On its good days, it looks fabulous, though. I've found that this looks best applied in a sheer layer with a damp sponge... the coverage is decent for a sheer/medium foundation like this, and I find that I only need to use concealer on the worst spots. So if you have normal or dry skin, this might work out great for you.

------------
I'm approximately an NW15 in MAC, leaning towards neutral, and I got this in shade 2. It was a little too pink for me, so I added my sample of shade 4 to the bottle and now it's a perfect match. 2 is more pink, 4 is more yellow. I just needed a touch of yellow to get it closer to my own skin tone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ggordil on 5/2/2009 2:22:00 AM more reviews by ggordil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation, and I think I would if I had skin that was dry. But I don't. My skin is really oily and even if I use a primer, this foundation ends up sliding off my skin by the end of the day.
**Update***
In the last few months I have been changing my skin routine and it has made my skin so much better. I now love wearing this foundation. I still have to wear a primer. I use monistat powder gel. I will buy this again even though it is so expensive because the bottle lasts a really long time.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenjava on 5/1/2009 10:33:00 AM more reviews by goldenjava

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for a foundation in the correct shade with a glow for forever! Finally, I tried LS 5.5. It's brilliant. I normally do not even use foundation because I could never find one I like. But once in a while I do like a bit of evening out my skin tone when I'm tired. I have pretty good skin so I only use it on my nose and on my cheeks, thus the bottle will last longer. I like the fact that it's a pump dispenser so it keeps the foundation in the bottle clean. I also bought fluid sheer in the No. 1 as I have a golden yellow undertone. Mix that in at night for a more luminous effect. All works out very nicely. I am going to buy the LS in probably a 6 or 6.5 for the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Slawrie127 on 4/28/2009 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Slawrie127

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got this product in color #2 which is the palest they sell at Bloomingdale's( I know there is a zero but i can only find that at the Armani website and they've been out for about 2 months). When i got the product in the mail i was so excited....This did not last long. I pumped one small drop onto the back of my hand . It looked quite yellow almost orange, then i put it on my face. It did not improve, and the texture was nothing special. All in all this was a complete let down after so many beauty awards and rave reviews.Also the bottle was so tiny for the large amount of money I had to dole out. Needless to say i returned the product and was happy to have a full refund.So my point is i would not recommend this to anyone with very fair skin. Although it may work for a darker skin color i wouldn't know.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PetalsofMemory on 4/28/2009 1:13:00 AM more reviews by PetalsofMemory

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best foundation EVER and I've tried sooo many. Looks amazing in person AND in pictures!!!!!! it hurts me to pay $58 dollars a bottle of my student budget, but I will NEVER be without this. Leaves u with a flawless healthy looking glow that u see on the red carpet . I wear number 6, I have light olive color skin :).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products