Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.9

1117 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL, STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-1,2 LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 7/13/2010 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great formulation. I wish they made my shade. I tried 6.5 but it is orange/peachy. But 4.5 is too pale. 5.5 is too beigey pink. Oh well.



on 7/13/2010 10:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this in 6.5, and thought it gave a lovely sheer glow finish, but did it make me go wowowow I want this? No it didn't, it's pretty average, plus I way prefer mineral makeup and the ease of application that comes with those. If you really wanted to try it definitely get a sample, but for me personally this would be more of a weekend foundation if even....


on 7/9/2010 10:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. But I love the Lasting Silk better. I doesn't give me enough coverage that I need. It was hard to find my color match. I mix this with other LSF color and fluid sheer and the result is awesome. I love it because when I put it on, it feels so light and feels like I'm not wearing any make up. I do use GA foundation brush which gives me a really good and even coverage. Yes, it does make your pores bigger but after an hour, pores are gone and it looked even on me. Seems like the longer I wear, the better it looks. Overall, very nice foundation. I will definitely buy it again.


on 6/25/2010 2:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am as pale as it gets, with light pink undertones, and my everyday foundation is Laura Mercier oil free in Porcelain Ivory, which is too dark for my skin tone, but blends beautifully.
My friend over at the Armani counter told me I had to try this in 00, and he gave me the tester, as it was just discontinued!
I have to say, this foundation color matches my skin and neck perfectly! But the texture is rather oily, and I would say it has sheer coverage at best. While it looks beautiful on, I can not wear it if I'm having a hormonal breakout, at least not until I find a WHITE concealor! Any suggestions?
Overall, it's an amazing option for truly pale skin, as long as that skin is in good condition!
I'm going to use up the tester, but I won't be able to repurchase as it is discontinued, and I'm still holding out for something with a little more coverage.

EDIT: I have been moisturizing with Argan Oil for about two weeks, and have tried using this again, and it's working wondrously! I wish my color hadn't been discontinued!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2010 8:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this foundation from Saks Fifth Avenue clearance section. I am an NC 30 and I use #5.5 for this GA foundation.



The PROS about this foundation is that: it has a nice, light texture and it is easy to blend. A little goes a long way and it has a nice, satin, natural finish.


The CONS: ugh! it will emphasize wrinkles, and skin imperfections that you have! those wrinkles under your eyes will be magnified, or those dry patches in your skin will be very obvious because the foundation will just settle in a clump there and doesn't do anything to enhance your complexion. NOT for oily skin girls!! If you have perfect, normal, poreless skin---this foundation would probably look fabulous on you.


I use this foundation more as a skin finisher, in conjunction with Mac full coverage foundation. Since MAC full coverage foundation is matte but doesn't emphasize wrinkles/ imperfection, I use it to conceal the eyes, dry patches/ redness, under the chin/ on the side of the nose with a foundation brush.


After the first step with MAC foundation, I use a small dab of GA foundation on my foundation brush, I blend the foundation on the outter part of my face that doesn't need much concealing, also on the forehead, nose. The combined finish/ application of these 2 foundation is great because my skin looks luminous, healthy and nearly perfect.


Definitely won't repurchase, especially with a full price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2010 8:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation for days when i need more coverage- such as dinner parties, clubbing, occasions where i will be taking many photos. Usually i use my bobbi brown skin foundation or MUFE face&body, both which i love. Honestly speaking, i dont know what all the rave is about. first, the color was not the right match- i got this in #5 and it was too pinky for me. (i am bobbi brown #3, mac nc25, revlon buff) i do not have bad skin, however this emphsized little bumps on my skin (that was barely noticeable without this foundation on) and dry patches. i really wanted to love this, however made my skin look bad. however on the plus side, i really loved the blendability of this foundation. it blends really well and easy to apply. lucky for those of you who suit this foundation! i think i will continue on with my guerlain extreme instead of this. (similar to this foundation, but with better coverage and does not emphasize the bumps on my skin- makes my skin look flawless)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2010 12:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I adore this product! Even though it is expensive ($90 in Oz...so I get people to purchase o/s for me), it is well worth it. It seems that it is particularly good for people with olive skin. I use no. 8. It gives you good coverage with a luminous glow. Love it!!


on 6/14/2010 4:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Pure silicone with very little pigment. hate this stuff!! I'm getting a rash just writing this review, yuk. I have to admit though... it does look very pretty on other ladies I've seen wear it but I am sensitive to cones, although if it's far down on the list of ingredients I can tolerate some. But this is like 100% SILICONE, not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2010 10:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

my skin became super sensitive all of the sudden, and i have tested so many foundations from other popular / 'well known' brands, sadly i'm allergic to most of them...even my old favourite RMK.

Until I tried this Luminous Silk Foundation. it is now my HG for foundation - absolutely love the smell, and it's so silky and smooth. pretty good coverage for me already as suggested by the SA. im using #5 + no allergic reaction, i got the designer cream foundation also but would recommend this for daily use. definitely worth trying.


on 6/8/2010 9:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ok, i've been using LS for YEARS. ive gone through 8 bottles in the past couple years.

pro: plumps your skin, does not leave it dry/flaky or anything. look immaculate and flawless, pump with lid. PERFECT match for me- i use number 6.5 for summer and 6 for winter. look stunning and luminous after applying. sophisticated packaging.

con: hate the chemical smell, by the end of the day u look oily and it begins to wear off. actually by the end of the day, i look like a shine ball. only looks good with a) GA primer b) first 2 hours c) first 2 hours in pictures otherwise u may look like a shine ball in pictures by the end of the night

ive tried so many other foundations but i just cannot get the right shade, right coverage, etc. others were either too a)too luminous b) too matte c) too dry d) too oily.
if i know i will be out ALL day without having the chance to redo my makeup i dont use this, but if i know i will be having dinner or seeing someone special or special events that last only for a couple of hours, I always come back to this. so in all, there is always a backup of GA LS for me in my vanity just in case my skin gets super dry and i must use this or if theres a special occasion less than 5 hours lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

50 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top