Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.9

1069 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER CYCLOPENTASILOXANE GLYCERIN ISODODECANE ALCOHOL POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE HEXYL LAURATE DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE PHENOXYETHANOL ACETYLATED GLYCOL STEARATE MAGNESIUM SULFATE ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE TRISTEARIN CELLULOSE GUM NYLON-12 LIMONENE BENZYL SALICYLATE LINALOOL DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER PARFUM / FRAGRANCE DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE METHYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This has got to be my HG foundation at the moment! I love almost everything about it, the colour I use is 4 and thats a perfect match. I love the finish it gives, it makes my face glow as for the coverage its sheer to medium but its very buildable and feels light even when I need more coverage, but trust me a little bit goes a long with this foundation (but I guess that depends on your skin). I just wish it lasted a little longer on my face thats the only issue I have with it, I must say it does look lovely when I set it with the luminous silk powder. I can't wait to try the lasting silk UV foundation.

EDIT: I've started using a primer now which keeps my foundation looking fresh all day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/15/2010 3:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Itís not a bad foundation, but not good either. Iíve been using shade no1.
PROS: Coverage is sheer to medium but itís easily buildable without looking cakey . Foundation itself is a little oily and IMO works best with foundation brush (works with fingers too though). Looks good right after the application Ė gives a nice glow. Looks great on photos. Packaging is very hygienic. The pump gives too much product at once but I actually didnít had much trouble with controlling it. I could easily twist and open the pump when there wasnít much product left but getting it out was a completely diff matter. Iíve finished this small bottle in 7 months Ė very efficient.
CONS: Not only it fades during the day but also it made me look very greasy and shiny, even if I set it with powder. Iíve got a normal/combination skin but I donít think it works best with dry skin. It made my imperfections very visible and my acne scars looked even more red than before putting any foundation. It actually felt heavy on my skin and also kind of sticky. I looked tired at the end of the day and it made my face look grey and unhealthy. Price! Itís definitely not worth 60 USD.
I think it works better with darker skintone. Do not recommend ppl with fair complexion. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2010 7:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was truly disappointed at this product after reading raves about it in magazines and here. Maybee my expectations were to high, but it didn't do much for my skin. It was ok coverage but I can get an ok foundation for a fraction of the price of this one (58ß). Not worthy of the price!! Need touch ups, and settle in to pores and lines. Look as though I was wearing alot of make up right after application which during the day fades. I apply it with a brush wich seems to be the best way of using it.


on 1/13/2010 10:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I mix this with some moisturiser to get the perfect non made up look. Feels like you're not wearing any foundation at all. Perfect.


on 1/13/2010 3:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is what I have been using for a few years now.
Why I like it? It feels so light, like nothing is on your skin. I use #4 and its a great match for me, pale but not pink. I use my fingers and a pump n a half cover my entire face (i mix it with fluid sheer#2 for extra glow). Its very build-able, you can get a sheer to medium coverage with it. It does come in a glass bottle, i have dropped it about a million times and it has yet to shatter. One bottle lasts me nearly a year (So they might be plastic by now lol).
Why i didn't give it a perfect five- because unless you take the time to use powder to set it on your nose, it will come off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2010 2:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this looks good for the first 2 hours for me but after that it seems to shift and rub off easily. this kind is really light texture. i returned it. im using designer cream foundation right now from ga and im satisfied. probably try the lasting silk later in the summer, hopefully its stays on longer then lsf. *** edit***- i just bought the armani master primer n it works really good with lsf . but it sucks without that primer cuz it just look oily after. with the master primer it looks fresh all day. i work 10 hrs in a day n it looks totally fresh

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2010 2:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

It took over 20 years to find he perfect foundation. This is it. Great coverage considering how much redness I have. However, enough skin shows through so it looks dewy and natural. The imperfections seem to disappear.
The 4.5 color is a perfect match to my skin - which is neither warm nor cool in undertone. Love, love, love, this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2009 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Love this foundation. I've very fair skin. My dermatologist infact recommended it to me, she said that Mac doesn't allow your skin to breath, and this makeup is much lighter and allows your skin to get some air. I do however find it a little bit drying around my nose but I think that's probably just my skin!

Love it as a foundation, far prefer it to Chanel, Clinique, I seem to have tried all the others but I'm happy to have found my true love with Armani! Would definitely recommend it. Has a nice consistency and isn't too much nor too light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2009 4:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great range of colours, GA is one of the very few brands which has a colour that suits my fair complexion perfectly (n. 3 and I am NC15). It goes on like a dream. But ... it is not very good for dry skins. It is weightless with just the right amount of coverage, but looks horrible on dry patches.GA has finally changed the pump. It is now easy to get the rigth amount of product without any waste. The price has increased over £6 in a very short period of time even if the formulation stayed exactly the same. This is pretty bad.
Avoid in winter if you have dry skin. I use it only in the spring and summer and I love it. But during the winter it is not moisturising enough. It does not have SPF, but I use a moisturising cream with sun screen. Still one of the best foundations on the market. Decent staying power (I have never came across any foundation that stays on all day, despite the various marketing claims). GA has the best make up I have ever used. I always go back to it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2009 10:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've dropped in and out of this product since they've released it maybe five years ago now. It definitely has its flaws (slides off if not set with powder & can make me breakout if i wear it every day), but in terms of finish and colour spectrum it just cant be beaten. I used a 5.5 in winter and a 6.5 in summer, they blend amazingly and really warm up my complexion. I love the way its luminous without being shimmery. Its also the only foundation I really like without an spf in it -- a must for parties/weddings etc as sunscreens make your foundation look white in flash photography. I tend to wear this for night and use my YSL radiant touch for day, given its longer wearing and has an spf.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Glitter Makeup Tutorial by Only Wafa

Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

48 reviews
Back to Top