Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 GlamourKitten on 1/21/2004 2:57:00 PM more reviews by GlamourKitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This make-up did wonders for me! I have been using it for quite some time. It gives me that flawless look thats very difficult for me to achieve. I have acne scars :::Sighs:: but this does the trick for me. Kinda hard to blend but otherwise works great. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MyNewHobby on 1/15/2004 5:46:00 PM more reviews by MyNewHobby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for ColorStay Natural. All I have to say is WOW! Use a brush to lightly apply this and a flawless face emerges. I am extremely impressed with how light and natural looking this is. It does not work well under my eyes(dark circles) so, I use regular CS with Maybelling Smooth Results Concealer and Clinique Continuous Coverage Concealer. Absolutely Flawless! I am fair w/combo skin and Ivory is a perfect match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Designkelly on 1/13/2004 11:40:00 AM more reviews by Designkelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation, its my HG. I've repurchased it various times over the years and have yet to find something better. I've stuck with it and have not regretted it. Everytime I look for another foundation I stop and realize how much I like this one...I hope it never becomes discontinued

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atomic_girl on 1/7/2004 10:56:00 PM more reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There are definite pros and cons to Revlon Colorstay Foundation.

Pros: I have oily skin that's a bit red and blotchy due to severe acne that I suffered from years ago, so I look for foundations that provide medium to full coverage and have a matte finish. Colorstay has one of the nicest finishes I've ever encountered: it's smooth, even, and velvety, and doesn't emphasize my large pores or settle into themm The colour Buff matches my light skin well and doesn't have any pink or orange tone to it. And this foundation's claims of not rubbing off and staying put are very true...which brings me to...

Cons: This foundation is very tricky to apply. You can't use your fingers to blend it; a sponge is necessary (I found that a sponge-on-a-stick type brush worked OK, but even then, it was very difficult to blend). It sets very quickly, so if you make a mistake and overapply, you're out of luck, although a bit of powder can camouflage application errors. Finally, this makeup is rather difficult to wash off. After a few wipes with a baby wipe, scrubbing with Noxzema and a washcloth, and going over my face with toner, I was STILL picking up traces of makeup.

Another minor gripe: I hate glass bottles for foundation, and this one has a particularly wide opening, so it's very easy to pour out too much. A pump or a squeeze tube would be much more convenient!

Conclusion: Although I love the way it looks, Revlon Colorstay Foundation is not worth the trouble for everyday wear. I'll save it for special occasions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 puckerup on 1/4/2004 4:00:00 PM more reviews by puckerup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

YUCK!!! Did not work with my very oily skin. I was oily everywhere (cheeks, T-zone, chin) when I used this stuff. It enhanced my large pores, which was not a pretty picture. Not the type of girl that thinks only high end products are the bomb but this stuff...well, let's just say I will not repurchase. Like Revlon Colorstay Natural much better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cherry_crush on 1/2/2004 5:05:00 AM more reviews by cherry_crush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

dont even TRY blending this with your fingers. Compared to other foundations I LOVE the color, LOVE the consistency, but HATE the fact that unless you blend it within 6 seconds it dries and leaves lines that are impossible to rub off unless you clean your entire face. I guess this would be an excellent foundation if you know what youre doing, otherwise be careful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eleanor_The_Cute on 1/2/2004 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Eleanor_The_Cute

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I had been looking for years for a foundation that stayed matte all day and wouldn't slide off . . . and I found it! Yay! Revlon ColorStay may be my Holy Grail (I'll have to wear it a few more times to be sure) because it keeps my oil-prone skin matte through a whole day working frozen foods at my local super Wal-Mart (read: hard physical labor), it sets to my skin quickly and I don't have to use powder or blotting papers, it feels light enough so my face feels naked but it covers well enough to hide cystic acne scars without looking cakey, it doesn't settle into my pores or move around on my face and every time I look in the mirror it really does look like I just applied it. I sweat at my job and even that doesn't phase this foundation. The bottle is a little aqward, and it's more expensive than most drugstore brands, and I do have to work fast to blend and I spend more time removing it at the end of the day than with other foundations, but those are merely minor, minor drawbacks which won't keep me from using it or from buying this makeup again. I am quite pleased with it overall. I wish I had tried it years ago! Update 02/18/04: The wide-necked bottle isn't a problem when I use a makeup sponge rather than my fingers. Sponges are more sanitary and you avoid getting oils in the makeup from your fingers, so I always use a sponge now. Applies and blends better with sponge, too. Am truly amazed at the staying power of this foundation. This is on my permanent Holy Grail list as the best heavy-duty coverage foundation with serious staying power & anti-shine properties.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 perfumeslut on 1/1/2004 8:21:00 PM more reviews by perfumeslut

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Skip this thick mess of a foundation and go straight to the paint store for some colored spackle. Unless you are 13 and experiencing terrible breakouts forget this. To much foundation when you hit 35 or so AGES you ladies. Stick to a lighter foundation like Loracs (which are the best) or try Revlons Colorstay Natural that has a much lighter consistency.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Racer_girl on 12/28/2003 11:19:00 AM more reviews by Racer_girl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been using this foundation since i first started wearing makeup (abt 3 years ago) And i have tried quite a lot of others (including high end brands)in between, none have matched up, and i keep repurchasing this over and over again.

It is a bit hard to blend if i compare it to other foundations, but i can live with that. Coverage is v.good, colour is great, not too yellowy or orangey looking, etc (i have alot of probs with foundation colors) It lasts all day, looks great and natural. plus, it's oil free and looks good in pictures. It doesn't look horrible at the end of the day like alot of foundations do.

Love it! I have yet to find something to match up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsomevinyl on 12/19/2003 12:22:00 AM more reviews by playsomevinyl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this makeup is way too thick and heavy. i like my foundation to look flawless and natural at the same time. this definitely isn't it. it makes me look terribly fake and dull...like i'm hiding something terribly ugly underneath. there is nothing pretty at all about it. unless you have extremely damaged skin you want to cover up, (this covers like a mask!) stay away from this. after a few weeks of using, my skin actually started to deteriorate. my pores also seemed to get noticebly larger as well. perhaps because it was so thick my skin wasn't able to breathe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products