Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4453 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 craff on 5/18/2004 3:27:00 PM more reviews by craff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Unlike some others, I don't find this foundation hard to apply(probably because I apply in sections anyways), nor do I find it drying. I have combo/dry skin, and this foundation reduces shine in my t-zone (even hours later), matches my skin tone pretty well (Buff), and doesn't dry out my skin (maybe because I apply moisturizer - Dove Sensitive Essentials Day Lotion) before applying foundation. I only wish that the packaging for the full size is like the sample. I'd prefer it in a plastic tube much more than in a glass bottle with a wide neck. Other than that, this is the best foundation I've tried.
**Update: Unfortunately this turned out to be too drying for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 5/17/2004 5:19:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i really like this stuff, and have used it for years. it doesn't streak, fade, or turn a nasty color by the end of the day. on it's own, it gives very opaque coverage, and i look like i am definitely wearing foundation. so i mix it with sunscreen to make a great tinted moisturizer. add a drop of their skinlights into the same concoction, apply, and voila! a beautiful dewy face that only took, uh, 3 products to create.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PamperedPrincess842 on 5/17/2004 3:23:00 PM more reviews by PamperedPrincess842

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily, acne-prone skin that is a foundations worst enemy. Nothing ever seems to last on my skin or cover everything up as well I want. I have very fair skin, so every little red pimple, dot,scar, or whatever, shows up. I feel naked and vulnerable if I walk out of the house without foundation on. Yet, with summer coming, I was wondering if I should just give up on wearing foundation. It's only going to melt off my face or change colors or magnify my pores. What's the point? Then I tried Revlon Colorstay Make-Up in Ivory. I AM IN LOVE!

It gives excellent full coverage, lasts for hours, the color is a good match for my skin(not too orange), it doesn't settle into my pores and make them look huge. It's near perfect. I so wish I had tried this stuff 7 years ago when I was 13 and started my quest for the perfect foundation. No foundation ever lasts on my skin! This is the only one.

I don't like the glass bottle packaging, I don't like that it dries quickly which can make it difficult to blend, and I don't like the $11.99 price tag at CVS. But I still love this stuff and will continue to buy it forever and ever! It makes my skin look so much better, and that is all that matters to me =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gruveechik on 5/15/2004 9:41:00 PM more reviews by gruveechik

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i'd give 5 lippies for perfect Caramel Colour. 3 huge lippies off b/c of ingredients: why Retinyl Palmitate?! that's a MAJOR irritant & only afterwards did i realize this foundation has it - dinosaur companies use this form of VitA! Re-read other MUA reviews (on other irritating ingredients) & was too scared to wear this stuff for a day. i don't ever get bumps/acne - except from Retinyl Palmitate & i'm very upset that here in Canada - Revlon only carries Caramel in this foundation & in Skinlights. i suspect this may be an excellent product if it wasn't for the Retinyl Palmitate. Hey Revlon - RU trying 2 drive me nuts? Why not carry New Complexion in Caramel here in Canada? Sorry MUAers - this is a huge rant - i'm down to scraping the bottom of my old foundation stick (Olay #82) = desperate & majorly pissed off with Revlon sucky CANADA!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessica_Dior on 5/11/2004 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Jessica_Dior

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i have been using the colorstay ever since the line started
i have very oily skin
it is best that i have used
wish revlon would some light reflective properties to the foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Corey73 on 5/11/2004 8:50:00 AM more reviews by Corey73

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had so much trouble with finding foundation in the past. I have extremely oily skin which, in my thirties, still breaks out in tiny zits here and there. I have been using retin-a since my twenties and a few months ago, I started working long hours on film sets in LA, CA in different locations and climates and not since high school, started getting some cystic acne. I now use Tazorac also.

My skin is now in better condition, but still oily and I still get small breakouts around the T-zone from time to time. Most foundations slide off me within hours or change color.

I found Revlon color stay on a tip from Allure Mag. I have used Natural Beige and Medium Beige. This stuff is amazing. I have worked 16 hour days on a set and it still stays! I have gone snowboarding in below freezing conditions and it still stays and I have received compliments on my skin!

The bottle is a bit cumbersome. Someone on this board mentioned a pump bottle. I have yet to see one. I use a Q-tip for application over a moisturiser. I concentrate mostly on my T-Zone which tends to get a bit red and oily. Other than that I just need a thin coat. A little goes a long way. You do need to work fast. The oil free stuff dries quick.

It is a bit pricey for drugstore foundation, but it is worth it.

I find that I don't have to blot my face nearly as much as before, and when I do this foundation doesn't budge.

I also work part-time as a go-go dancer in a night club. I work as many as twelve 10 to 15 minutes sets dancing within a five hour period. My make-up still looks fresh at the end of a shift!!

I highly recommend this to those of you with shiny or problem skin.

Also, when I travel, I either pack the bottle in a plastic lock bag or pour some into a smaller container. No shattered glass so far:-)

Also, today I had lunch w/ a friend. We had drinks @ Hard Rock Cafe and was carded in the middle of the day. The bartender did a double take. I am 36. That's how good this foundation works for my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marciabrdy on 5/4/2004 1:22:00 PM more reviews by marciabrdy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have used this for years. Its great for covering acne and making your skin appear flawless. It does need to be blended in quickly as it dries fast. I go back and forth between this and Lancome Maquicontrole but always come back to the Revlon. Cant beat the price either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 t4729 on 4/29/2004 12:31:00 PM more reviews by t4729

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Good full coverage...but can be cakey if applied to heavily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bri_Bri on 4/22/2004 9:56:00 AM more reviews by Bri_Bri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Bought this stuff (gasp! a drugstore brand!) after reading reviews on here, and I'm wearing it for the first time right now. It looks different in every lighting! I'm not sure I like it...blending was easy, product high-quality, but even the lightest shade's too dark, and it's fairly unnatural. It looks excellent in some mirrors, though...who knows. Will update this later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachum2323 on 4/14/2004 2:27:00 AM more reviews by rachum2323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been purchasing this product for over a year now and rely on it to cover acne scars, ruddiness, and acne, which it does VERY well and it's wonderful medium/heavy coverage is definitely its best PRO. Some CONS are that it is extremely difficult to blend perfectly. I use a darker shade that my skin tone because i am ghost white and find that a darker shade gives me a healthier glow, however, this is not a good foundation for that sort of thing because it is hard to blend at the jawline and onto the neck. I also think it may cause me to break out because it is of such heavy consistancy, but until i find another foundation with such great heavy coverage that won't rub off, i'll stick to this one! (btw, if someone DOES know of a foundation that offers heavy coverage, let me know!:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products