Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(428 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 4/19/2006 10:50:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've just received this product this morning and already I know this is my new HG. I used to wear Jane Iredale's PurePressed (in Warm Silk) but made my skin appear even drier than it was. This is perfect, for half the price of the JI. For $12.25 US I received three very generous samples, I wear Almond (W1), and the fastest s/h I have ever been a party too! Looks truely matte without a dry, chaulky powdery look. Can be built up and tip*- if you dampen a brush and apply the minerals you have all-day concealer. A little goes a long way - Love it! Off to buy the full-size:) Will update if any changes. Stopped using (?Temp.): I am the biggest (mineral) foundation whore! I'm now using Everyday minerals (see review).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 n8chiro on 4/19/2006 11:39:00 AM more reviews by n8chiro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this foundation!!! I have been using Jane Iredale (Warm Silk or Radiant) for years but after reading the reviews here I decided to try out some Alima samples. I am so glad that I did! The samples were very inexpensive and generous. I was also pleased at how quickly I received my samples plus along with the samples (foundation, bronzer and eyeshadow) that I ordered they threw in 2 eyeshadow and 1 finishing powder samples for FREE. Who doesn't like getting free samples!?! I can wear either N3 or N4 and they are beautiful! The coverage is much better then JI and are truly matte. I get really oily during the day and have found that with Alima I am only using my blotting paper 1 or maybe 2 times a day - with JI it was at least 3-4 times a day. YEAH!! I am going to be ordering the full size of both N3 and N4 (both for less than 1 JI compact!) and I am telling everyone I know how wonderful they are!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rthusia on 4/15/2006 6:13:00 PM more reviews by rthusia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product, but it lacks (for me) sufficient oil control. The company its self gets a 10 from me. They have a fabulous selection of colors. Several (It was hard for me to differentiate between W1/W2 and N1/N2) blended in well and looked extremely natural, making color selection difficult. For a beautiful natural look I stick with N2 mixed with a few scoops of N1. N's usually tend to turn orange on me; I did not notice any of that with these products. This gives a nice satin finish (not as mattifying as Aromaleigh) It actually feels very similar in texture and appearance to the Youngblood minerals. It is a lovely feeling mineral make up, very "creamy" (feels better going on than Aromaleigh) It gives FANTASTIC coverage, better than Jane Iredale pressed. It is FULLY capable alone of covering small broken capillaries (genius at this) toning down redness, and even covering up blemishes. I use it with a concealer brush first, then go over everything with an extremely EASY to use application of powder. Others are blend blend blend, this is VERY user friendly.

It is not very oil absorbing, even with the Alima Finishing Powder applied under, on top, or both. It's staying power is also limited, but touch up application is easy. Very even in color and very natural looking. Although their sample size says that it is 1/4th a teaspoon I received way more than that. The small jar it came in was packed to capacity. Their shipping was EXTREMELY swift. Their customer service is top notch and very friendly. Their company policy makes me want to quit my job and work for them! Great prices and great products. I wish there were a smaller size available in the foundation for those that like to mixFor reference sake I use Aromaleigh in 1 or 2 YL, or just 1 or 2 L. Revlon- Buff, Jane Iredale- Light Beige, Laura Mercier oilfree- Blush Ivory. I would love (read as: buy) for them to come out with their own oil control product (edit2:which they now have!) Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Sericite Mica, Iron Oxides.
EDIT: I have been using this for one year now. Sometimes I use it over a more oil controlling product, but it really does look great on the skin. Breakouts have decreased dramatically with the reduction of silicone (revlon colorstay) products I use on my face and with the daunting nextdoor neighbor the age 30 has presented me. VERY pleased with this product. I have never been accused of having even remotely "passable" skin. In the year that I have been wearing it I have received many MANY comments. I detest the glow of BE, so please understand that this compliment does not compare to the massive mica shimmer found in BE. "Beautiful glowing skin" "naturally healthy skin." A friend and I were chatting about makeup and she said to me "I don't even know why we are talking about this, you don't wear or even need makeup your skin is so beautiful." Needless to say I began to choke on my coffee, beautiful skin is not me, but I am thankful none the less to Alima for making it appear that way to even one person. (I did share my secret with my friend and upon extremely close inspection she could see that I was using makeup and that I was even covering up my share of faults.)
Edit2: Working on my second year of using this product and I still absolutely love it. I use a concealer brush first with N2 on blemishes various redness anything below cheekbone area, then an N1/2 mix above that area. Following with a flat brush (Stila) all over in my "regular N1/2 mix". It's coverage is genius, very light but pigmented enough to cover up redness specifically. I can get ready in under 15 minutes if I need to. Which is great considering what I have to work with! As with many powders under the eyes requires a little tugging (don't like). I'm usually very careful to allow my SPF or moisturizer to sink in first. I still use split colors with about 2 or 3 scoops of N1 to 1 scoop of N2 (winter now) A little paler around the eye area for brightness. Skin looks very fresh (especially with a nice cheek blusher from them) and stays in place for quite some time. Touch up is easy. Alima has to be one of my favorite companies. Customer service is excellent. I thank those at MUA who came before me for the finding of this product and this company.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carinasfashion on 4/15/2006 4:47:00 PM more reviews by carinasfashion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YES YES YES! at last, after years of searching and a lot of $$$ spent, I've finally found it. This is my HG foundation. I've tried so many department and drugstore brands and mineral brands (Jane Iredale, BE, Everyday Minerals, PF etc.) that I was losing hope. But thanx to a MUAer who recommended it, I tried it and this is hands down the best. It's very hard to add anything to all previous reviews, I just have to agree with all of them. If I just could give it 10 lippies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aalto on 3/27/2006 1:41:00 PM more reviews by aalto

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently purchased samples from this line and Iím very impressed. Of the three foundation samples I ordered, Satin (N-2) is a great match, and that has never happened before! (Iíve tried Youngblood, Iredale, Pure Luxe, J. Lynne and Philosophy). It covers very well and is easy to apply; thereís no buffing. I have pale skin with some discoloration, and this really helps to create a smooth and more even look. Thereís a huge selection of color ranges from cool, warm and neutral, to olive, golden and ebony. I highly recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ch3r on 3/5/2006 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Ch3r

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've finally found my HG. After over 13 years of trying to find the right shade of foundation that wasnt too orange or too pink for my ethnic skin (I am filipina). The colors are BEAUTIFUL. There are like, 40 shades...you are bound to find your color (even if you have to mix), especially since minerals are so forgiving (I'm a G5 or MAC C40, but could easily get away with W5 or C5). I am SO PICKY about colour and I am incredibly difficult to match. I haven't yet mastered the powder application, but I've used it with moisurizer which looked amazing (but a little too much moisture for my oily skin) and I've used it with water, which also looks SO GOOD (but requires a little extra work to get the right consistency). Both techniques give a luminous glow without looking like, disco ball-y...Next week when I get my new shipment, I'm going to try it with aloe vera gel. I'm so excited! Samples are only $2.75 for about 4 or 5 applications. Very water-proof. (YAY!) And shipping is superfast. They are also cruelty-free. AND, so much more inexpensive than the other mineral makeup out there (*cough* Jane Iredale *cough*) Check it out ladies! www.alimacosmetics.com
UPDATE: 4 months later and I"m still in love. It is true that some days it doesn't do a whole lot of oil control, but I have pretty oily skin. The aloe vera method totally didn't work out for me as suggested on their website. It seemed like the gel did not dissolve the powder completely and when it dried i had patches of powder all over my face. For me, mixing it with water and applying with a foundation brush is the best way...lasts longer i find, and gives me that glowy look i love. Is it just me or did they increase their prices? Ah well...if you gotta have it, you gotta have it.
**UPDATE**01.22.07: I recently discovered the flocked sponge. For you ladies who can't get the coverage you would like with the brush, try a lightly dampened flocked sponge. It is even more waterproof than using a brush. Works wonders (and is less irritating on the skin)!!
**UPDATE**04/14.07: So I've been using this stuff for a little over a year now, and I'm proud to say that I'm still in love with it. My skin tone has lightened up a bit with some new skin products I've been using, so now I'm a G4. I also think, I'm going to need to toss in a little O-something in my mixture, or to dust lightly over certain areas of my face just to give myself a little healthy color, especially in the summer since I tan very easily. Ladies, don't be afraid to mix colors! We're all different and have different skintones. Sometimes, just one color shade just won't cut it. Don't give up if one color doesn't match you exactly. Also, I've converted to the Alima brushes for application. They are SUPERSOFT and non-irritable. They give a totally flawless finish. The sponge gives a little more coverage, if you need a heavier finish, but it's still a great brush.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julieolivia on 2/8/2006 6:16:00 PM more reviews by julieolivia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Thank you to previous poster for listing this brand - I am always on the look out for a great mineral foundation. I used to use Aromaleigh but the website and new formulations turned me off. I tried several others always avoiding bismuth and still didn't really like anything - too shiny,colors off, etc. Alima is wonderful and I recommend it to anyone. It is very reasonably priced and the samples are next to nothing. I love the low key yet sleek packaging, very simple and orderly. My order came with a vellum note with a lovely inspiration on it I have never heard before, causing me to look up the author, what a wonderful surprise - makeup plus a liberal arts education! That sort of thing really appeals to me. Package was sent, btw at light speed. Now - whats inside? Truly matte mineral foundation that does not look dry, dusty old or accentuate the pores. Coverage is light to medium - I am remarkably blemish free right now so nothing to conceal so I haven't tried layering for more coverage. Smooth finish and the shades are true to life - I tried two of the olive and one of the neutral shades - the olive is "me" and the neutral is who I wish I was, both blend into my skintone. Very easy to apply. Lasts all day. No itchies of course and no breakouts or hives. I also got a bunch of eyeshadow samples that are sophisticated neutrals, the most neutral of all neutral-land. If that is not enough, the company donates profits to worthy causes. Given my philosophical and political leanings, take my review of this product with a grain of salt, because this company is the one I wish I could be a part of. Producing a quality product with some corporate ethics. Check it out.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnOmali on 10/18/2005 11:37:00 AM more reviews by AnOmali

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Hands Down The BEST Mineral Foundation I Have Ever Worn And I Have Tried EVERYTHING!!!



Details: It goes on very light (it's very finely milled) and the color range is AMAZING and I'm VERY hard to match)...



It lasts forever, and it does not make my oily acne-prone skin break out at ALL! It actually seems clearer than before!



The coverage is ALSO very good and it never looks cakey unless you overdo it with the flocked sponge and don't buff it in with the brush - nor does it settle into fine lines like other powder/mineral foundations unless you just have dry, flaky skin that needs some exfoliation or a better moisturizer (and sometimes I have a LOT to cover when I break out). I LOVE THIS MAKEUP!!! And as a performer, I KNOW makeup!!!


( http://www.AnOmali.us )



Please, do yourself a favor and check it out. I have tried EVERY Mineral Line there is...I LOVE this foundation (and their blush and finishing powders, too)...;)




http://www.alimacosmetics.com/




***UPDATE***
(10/25/07)

I can't believe the frenzy that my happy Alima Discovery began over two years ago!!! I love Alima still...other than the need for a pressed foundation from time to time to travel with, I don't see myself straying anytime soon! Kate has even more colors now (I still do a little mixing, but it is minimal and my life requires perfection), tons more products, and to this day, nothing looks more natural.



PS: I am a G6/W5 mix - heavy on the warm - about 3 parts to one part golden most days + a tiny bit of bronzer for contour and warmth! HG no matter what else I try!





***UPDATE***
(3/25/09)

So I am STILL hooked on Alima after all these years and no matter how much I stray, and stock up every time Kate has a great sale (she has AMAZING sales a few times a year that save me a ton plus every time you order, you get a few dollars off of your next order based on how much you previously spent - a great system!).



I mix in a little W6 (the tiniest bit) sometimes, but find that my original mix is about spot on even though our skin tones/undertones vary slightly EVERY day - which most people do not seem to know.



After reading some of the other folks reviews, I can honestly say, with the exception of those of you who just have allergic reactions (which is rare), the fault of your makeup not working is usually because you either made a poor color choice (try more samples and learn more about what works on your skin via undertones), or you are using the wrong skin care products - particularly your moisturizer. First off - you MUST EXFOLIATE RELIGIOUSLY to have healthy skin that is a great canvas for makeup...



I have tried everything (I have oily, acne-prone skin with surface dehydration, patches, etc.). After trying everything known to man (I am not a top reviewer for nothing - lol), you should find a pure vitamin e oil or jojoba oil as your base for Alima mineral foundation. You can use it alone (I usually do this or I apply it over my Aqua Glycolic Cream or Lotion depending on what's going on with my skin), or combine it with your moisturizer... This will make the makeup apply beautifully, eliminate the appearance of dry patches that ALL minerals exaggerate if your skin is not properly exfoliated and moisturized, and give you that glowy natural look even with heavy coverage.




RECAP: TRY THESE METHODS BEFORE GIVING UP OR WRITING A REVIEW...because I promise you, MOST of you will LOVE this foundation if you follow these simple steps! Hope this is helpful - these tips saved my life and my skin looks AMAZING as does my makeup: EVERYDAY!

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products