Alima Satin Matte Mineral Foundation

4.0

431 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) Mica (CI 77019). May contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Excellent shade selection, free samples with each order, good customer service and fast shipping

Cons: Does not seem to have good enough oil control for my own combination skin, appears chalky and less creamy, still expensive compared with my favorite brand, EM, and does not have discounted custom kits, feels much heavier than other brands I have tried (BE, EM, MAD minerals, etc.) where I can tell that I have it on. Unfortunately, most of these cons I have noticed are with the product itself so I will have to knock my rating down to a one.

However, our chemistries/perceptions are all different so if you are willing to spend the $2.75 each for samples, go on ahead. You will at least be pleased with the color selection. It just isn't for me...



on 5/8/2006 7:52:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have tried several different mineral companies and I am in love with Alima! I find the foundation to be extremely wearable, very finely milled and in excellent true-to-life colors. The color range is extraordinary. Application is a dream, no matter how I do it, with a dry brush, damp brush, even just using my fingers. Besides the foundation, I wear the blushes and shadows every day. They're gorgeous! Alima has the best customer service. The packaging is top-notch and environmentally friendly, both of which are important to me. I highly recommend Alima Cosmetics!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2006 5:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had been intrigued with mineral makeup for a while, but I wasn't about to experiment with the starter kits from various lines being so costly. I saw some raves for Alima and was intrigued by their extremely inexpensive samples, so I took the plunge and OHMYGAWD, I adore this stuff.

After years of caking on liquids and creams to cover uneven skintone and occasional breakouts, I'm so thrilled to have such beautifully blended coverage. I use a dab of N2 on a fluffy eyeshadow brush to cover discolored areas, and then an all-over dusting of N3 with a big brush gives me the look of flawless, even skin. It blends beautifully and I don't have edge lines or thick cakey areas. The finishing powder in Rose Beige adds a hint of color and glow, for an end result that makes my skin look perfect. Honestly, it looks like I've been airbrushed, and it feels fabulous to not have the masky sensation of cream/liquid foundation!

The bonus samples they send have all been wonderful. I've tried the eyeshadows, blushes, and the lip balm, and they've yet to disappoint.


on 4/19/2006 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've just received this product this morning and already I know this is my new HG. I used to wear Jane Iredale's PurePressed (in Warm Silk) but made my skin appear even drier than it was. This is perfect, for half the price of the JI. For $12.25 US I received three very generous samples, I wear Almond (W1), and the fastest s/h I have ever been a party too! Looks truely matte without a dry, chaulky powdery look. Can be built up and tip*- if you dampen a brush and apply the minerals you have all-day concealer. A little goes a long way - Love it! Off to buy the full-size:) Will update if any changes. Stopped using (?Temp.): I am the biggest (mineral) foundation whore! I'm now using Everyday minerals (see review).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2006 11:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this foundation!!! I have been using Jane Iredale (Warm Silk or Radiant) for years but after reading the reviews here I decided to try out some Alima samples. I am so glad that I did! The samples were very inexpensive and generous. I was also pleased at how quickly I received my samples plus along with the samples (foundation, bronzer and eyeshadow) that I ordered they threw in 2 eyeshadow and 1 finishing powder samples for FREE. Who doesn't like getting free samples!?! I can wear either N3 or N4 and they are beautiful! The coverage is much better then JI and are truly matte. I get really oily during the day and have found that with Alima I am only using my blotting paper 1 or maybe 2 times a day - with JI it was at least 3-4 times a day. YEAH!! I am going to be ordering the full size of both N3 and N4 (both for less than 1 JI compact!) and I am telling everyone I know how wonderful they are!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2006 6:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this product, but it lacks (for me) sufficient oil control. The company its self gets a 10 from me. They have a fabulous selection of colors. Several (It was hard for me to differentiate between W1/W2 and N1/N2) blended in well and looked extremely natural, making color selection difficult. For a beautiful natural look I stick with N2 mixed with a few scoops of N1. N's usually tend to turn orange on me; I did not notice any of that with these products. This gives a nice satin finish (not as mattifying as Aromaleigh) It actually feels very similar in texture and appearance to the Youngblood minerals. It is a lovely feeling mineral make up, very "creamy" (feels better going on than Aromaleigh) It gives FANTASTIC coverage, better than Jane Iredale pressed. It is FULLY capable alone of covering small broken capillaries (genius at this) toning down redness, and even covering up blemishes. I use it with a concealer brush first, then go over everything with an extremely EASY to use application of powder. Others are blend blend blend, this is VERY user friendly.

It is not very oil absorbing, even with the Alima Finishing Powder applied under, on top, or both. It's staying power is also limited, but touch up application is easy. Very even in color and very natural looking. Although their sample size says that it is 1/4th a teaspoon I received way more than that. The small jar it came in was packed to capacity. Their shipping was EXTREMELY swift. Their customer service is top notch and very friendly. Their company policy makes me want to quit my job and work for them! Great prices and great products. I wish there were a smaller size available in the foundation for those that like to mixFor reference sake I use Aromaleigh in 1 or 2 YL, or just 1 or 2 L. Revlon- Buff, Jane Iredale- Light Beige, Laura Mercier oilfree- Blush Ivory. I would love (read as: buy) for them to come out with their own oil control product (edit2:which they now have!) Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Sericite Mica, Iron Oxides.
EDIT: I have been using this for one year now. Sometimes I use it over a more oil controlling product, but it really does look great on the skin. Breakouts have decreased dramatically with the reduction of silicone (revlon colorstay) products I use on my face and with the daunting nextdoor neighbor the age 30 has presented me. VERY pleased with this product. I have never been accused of having even remotely "passable" skin. In the year that I have been wearing it I have received many MANY comments. I detest the glow of BE, so please understand that this compliment does not compare to the massive mica shimmer found in BE. "Beautiful glowing skin" "naturally healthy skin." A friend and I were chatting about makeup and she said to me "I don't even know why we are talking about this, you don't wear or even need makeup your skin is so beautiful." Needless to say I began to choke on my coffee, beautiful skin is not me, but I am thankful none the less to Alima for making it appear that way to even one person. (I did share my secret with my friend and upon extremely close inspection she could see that I was using makeup and that I was even covering up my share of faults.)
Edit2: Working on my second year of using this product and I still absolutely love it. I use a concealer brush first with N2 on blemishes various redness anything below cheekbone area, then an N1/2 mix above that area. Following with a flat brush (Stila) all over in my "regular N1/2 mix". It's coverage is genius, very light but pigmented enough to cover up redness specifically. I can get ready in under 15 minutes if I need to. Which is great considering what I have to work with! As with many powders under the eyes requires a little tugging (don't like). I'm usually very careful to allow my SPF or moisturizer to sink in first. I still use split colors with about 2 or 3 scoops of N1 to 1 scoop of N2 (winter now) A little paler around the eye area for brightness. Skin looks very fresh (especially with a nice cheek blusher from them) and stays in place for quite some time. Touch up is easy. Alima has to be one of my favorite companies. Customer service is excellent. I thank those at MUA who came before me for the finding of this product and this company.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

YES YES YES! at last, after years of searching and a lot of $$$ spent, I've finally found it. This is my HG foundation. I've tried so many department and drugstore brands and mineral brands (Jane Iredale, BE, Everyday Minerals, PF etc.) that I was losing hope. But thanx to a MUAer who recommended it, I tried it and this is hands down the best. It's very hard to add anything to all previous reviews, I just have to agree with all of them. If I just could give it 10 lippies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2006 1:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I recently purchased samples from this line and I’m very impressed. Of the three foundation samples I ordered, Satin (N-2) is a great match, and that has never happened before! (I’ve tried Youngblood, Iredale, Pure Luxe, J. Lynne and Philosophy). It covers very well and is easy to apply; there’s no buffing. I have pale skin with some discoloration, and this really helps to create a smooth and more even look. There’s a huge selection of color ranges from cool, warm and neutral, to olive, golden and ebony. I highly recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2006 12:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've finally found my HG. After over 13 years of trying to find the right shade of foundation that wasnt too orange or too pink for my ethnic skin (I am filipina). The colors are BEAUTIFUL. There are like, 40 shades...you are bound to find your color (even if you have to mix), especially since minerals are so forgiving (I'm a G5 or MAC C40, but could easily get away with W5 or C5). I am SO PICKY about colour and I am incredibly difficult to match. I haven't yet mastered the powder application, but I've used it with moisurizer which looked amazing (but a little too much moisture for my oily skin) and I've used it with water, which also looks SO GOOD (but requires a little extra work to get the right consistency). Both techniques give a luminous glow without looking like, disco ball-y...Next week when I get my new shipment, I'm going to try it with aloe vera gel. I'm so excited! Samples are only $2.75 for about 4 or 5 applications. Very water-proof. (YAY!) And shipping is superfast. They are also cruelty-free. AND, so much more inexpensive than the other mineral makeup out there (*cough* Jane Iredale *cough*) Check it out ladies! www.alimacosmetics.com
UPDATE: 4 months later and I"m still in love. It is true that some days it doesn't do a whole lot of oil control, but I have pretty oily skin. The aloe vera method totally didn't work out for me as suggested on their website. It seemed like the gel did not dissolve the powder completely and when it dried i had patches of powder all over my face. For me, mixing it with water and applying with a foundation brush is the best way...lasts longer i find, and gives me that glowy look i love. Is it just me or did they increase their prices? Ah well...if you gotta have it, you gotta have it.
**UPDATE**01.22.07: I recently discovered the flocked sponge. For you ladies who can't get the coverage you would like with the brush, try a lightly dampened flocked sponge. It is even more waterproof than using a brush. Works wonders (and is less irritating on the skin)!!
**UPDATE**04/14.07: So I've been using this stuff for a little over a year now, and I'm proud to say that I'm still in love with it. My skin tone has lightened up a bit with some new skin products I've been using, so now I'm a G4. I also think, I'm going to need to toss in a little O-something in my mixture, or to dust lightly over certain areas of my face just to give myself a little healthy color, especially in the summer since I tan very easily. Ladies, don't be afraid to mix colors! We're all different and have different skintones. Sometimes, just one color shade just won't cut it. Don't give up if one color doesn't match you exactly. Also, I've converted to the Alima brushes for application. They are SUPERSOFT and non-irritable. They give a totally flawless finish. The sponge gives a little more coverage, if you need a heavier finish, but it's still a great brush.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2006 6:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thank you to previous poster for listing this brand - I am always on the look out for a great mineral foundation. I used to use Aromaleigh but the website and new formulations turned me off. I tried several others always avoiding bismuth and still didn't really like anything - too shiny,colors off, etc. Alima is wonderful and I recommend it to anyone. It is very reasonably priced and the samples are next to nothing. I love the low key yet sleek packaging, very simple and orderly. My order came with a vellum note with a lovely inspiration on it I have never heard before, causing me to look up the author, what a wonderful surprise - makeup plus a liberal arts education! That sort of thing really appeals to me. Package was sent, btw at light speed. Now - whats inside? Truly matte mineral foundation that does not look dry, dusty old or accentuate the pores. Coverage is light to medium - I am remarkably blemish free right now so nothing to conceal so I haven't tried layering for more coverage. Smooth finish and the shades are true to life - I tried two of the olive and one of the neutral shades - the olive is "me" and the neutral is who I wish I was, both blend into my skintone. Very easy to apply. Lasts all day. No itchies of course and no breakouts or hives. I also got a bunch of eyeshadow samples that are sophisticated neutrals, the most neutral of all neutral-land. If that is not enough, the company donates profits to worthy causes. Given my philosophical and political leanings, take my review of this product with a grain of salt, because this company is the one I wish I could be a part of. Producing a quality product with some corporate ethics. Check it out.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top