Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4309 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 WriterGal82 on 10/23/2007 3:16:00 PM more reviews by WriterGal82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I gave into the MUA hype and picked up an obnoxiously large, bright orange tube of this stuff. I'm a fan of rubberized bristles (I own LE, VE, MFVC and Inimitable) so I had to at least try it out. At $8.49, it was pricey for Cover Girl. But at least it's cheaper than Inimitable, I reasoned. The ginormous tube is terribly hard to use. Every time I use it, I feel as though I'm going to drop it on myself, and it's very awkward. The brush itself is probably double the thickness of LE. I'm a fan of fat brushes in general, so that's not a big deal to me. But those who hate thick wands may not like this. As far as the formula, it's pretty wet, but dries quickly. It goes on nicely and gives me decent length and separation. When the product is completely dry, it doesn't flake or smudge, but it does make my lashes feel pretty crunchy. Overall, it's not bad, but I don't think it's living up to the hype. Plus, it doesn't work well with the Shiseido base (talk about clump city!), and for that reason, I'd much rather use Inimitable than Lash Blast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bebe712 on 10/23/2007 2:28:00 PM more reviews by bebe712

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Finally a mascara that delivers! This with shiseido mascara base underneath, you are golden. I tried everthing and I must say Yves saint Laurent faux, givenchy (fly away) and this one works the best. If your short on cash go with Cover Girl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shmoopy on 10/23/2007 1:06:00 PM more reviews by shmoopy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was huge on the MUA boards, so I had to try it..... Below is a picture of me with one eye with LB and one naked eye. I used several coats to build up to the length/thickness on the LB eye. It was time consuming which was the biggest turn off to me..I could have easily put on fake lashes in the same amount of time with a much better/dramatic appearance. I much prefer my HG mascara, Rimmel Volum'Eyes, because of the brush. The LB does wear great with no transfering or smudging. Some of the girls said the mascara in the pics below look clumpy. After someone pointed out that my other FOTD's/pics of mascara do not look this spidery/clumpy, I have decided to edit this review a bit. I took a look through my pics and I agree. At first I thought it might be my application, but other MUA'ers are experiencing the same problem with the LB. Overall, I'd say it's just an okay mascara.

http://img.makeupalley.com/8/8/5/4/789399.JPG
http://img.makeupalley.com/8/8/5/4/789400.JPG

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinaxtina on 10/23/2007 10:31:00 AM more reviews by xtinaxtina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I know I'm in the minority here, but this went on clumpy & looked unspectacular on me, didn't hold the curl or anything. In fact, it looked like not great mascara, which is what it is (on me). However, I didn't like Lash Exact either, which many love, so it may just be something about me & my eyelashes. This one is going back to CVS for a refund.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PattyG on 10/23/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by PattyG

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

Although I already have my holy grail mascaras in Max Factor Volume Couture and MF Lash Perfection, I still find myself wanting to try a new mascara just for the heck of it. Well, I had seen this mascara a while back in WWD and thought it was really cool, the orange spaceship tube. NOT!!! It's bulky, hard to hold and makes application awkward. The formula itself (I got the darkest black) is excellent, but no better than the MF Volume Couture, and I can handle that tube a whole lot better with it's slimmer design.

I can't rave about this mascara honestly because it's a klutzy tube design and that just turns me off to it. I keep hitting my upper lid, depositing mascara hits to my lids...not a pretty sight! LOL

I guess someone thought, well, we're all doing the rubber brush thing, WHAT can we do that's a bit different? Well, the big, fat tube fails at the launch pad...a dud.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovelicorice on 10/23/2007 8:35:00 AM more reviews by ilovelicorice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I guess all of the hype over this product got my expectations too high. I searched everywhere for this mascara over the weekend and finally found it at a Walgreens 40 minutes from my house. I tried it out this morning before work and my first impression was that it is fair at best. The formula itself is nice and it coated my lashes well, but I usually like to start applying my mascara very close to my lash line for maximum impact and the huge size of this brush wouldn't allow me to get that close without the risk of jabbing myself in the eye. I felt like I only coated about 75% of my lashes because I couldn't get down to the lash line. I am going to continue using this product and see if anything improves. I realize it's probably too early to review a product after only one application so I will edit this after I use it a few more times.

**EDIT** Okay, I've worn this stuff a full day now. I got home from work and my lashes were perfectly intact! I wanted to play around with it some more though, since I was rushed for work in the morning when I first put it on. I wiped it off with eye makeup remover and applied it again- more carefully this time. It really made my lashes look awesome! I put on a ton of coats but the formula is wet so it's easy to do that without clumping, etc. The only minor problem is that since the brush is so big, I sometimes get it on my bottom lashes at the same time, but that's not a huge deal. I really like this product now- my lashes have never looked like this. I suggest those that didn't like this stuff at first to keep playing around with it- it's a really good product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genalewis on 10/23/2007 7:32:00 AM more reviews by genalewis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a fantastic mascara! I have been wearing lash extensions lately, and they have wrecked the natural lashes underneath. I had been looking for a mascara that was going to make my skimpy eyelashes look long and full. This really does the trick! And what curl! Wow...I am seriously impressed. I love the applicator...I have never used anything but the regular brush wand before. The little rubbery bristles work magic on my lashes.

This is going to give my eyes a welcome break from falsies, and I will look fabulous in the meantime. Who knows...with this stuff, I might not even go back to false eyelashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollicita on 10/23/2007 3:12:00 AM more reviews by hollicita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yeah yeah yeah! Love this stuff!!!! Ran out of my Diorshow about a week ago, and was dreading forking over the $23 (I think) for it... read about Lash Blast on here, and bought it hoping it was as good as everyone said it was.... and surprise, it is! I love it even more than Diorshow! I can put on multiple coats without my lashes getting clumpy or looking brittle. The wand is awesome, I love the brush, and I love the color (I got the "very black"). Makes my lashes look awesome!!! I saved nearly $20 with this stuff... fantastic! No more Diorshow for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayanquice on 10/23/2007 12:52:00 AM more reviews by mayanquice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

What a great mascara! I went to get it today & tried it on s soon as I got to the car & it went on just like I wanted it to rich & thick I was sceptical at first because of the brush but it really was amazing my lashes have never been this full and long. I usually have to use a primer to get close to what I got w/ just a few strokes og this stuff. I can only imagine what it will look like with a primer....I'll update this review soon w/ a pick of a w & w/o comparison.
UPDATE: The only thing I notice that is different after a few months of using is that it irritates my eyes. My eyes are sensitive. They burn like crazy in the begining then it goes away. I put yes I owuld repurchase but I will try others & repurchase if I can't find anything better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SMMY on 10/23/2007 12:35:00 AM more reviews by SMMY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is like the mostest awesomest product ever. I heart this so much! It makes my lashes look fuller and longer. I can't recommend it enough. Heck, it's even getting celeb. endorsements and it's just been released. You need this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products