Cover Girl Lash Blast

3.7

4329 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Waterproof: Petroleum Distillates, Polyethylene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Copernicia Cerifera Wax (Carnauba), Trihydroxystearin, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerythrityl Hydrogenated Rosinate, Tall Oil Glycerides, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines, Talc. Non-Waterproof: Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Triethanolamine, Acrylates Copolymer, Synthetic Wax, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Xanthan Gum, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Trisodium EDTA, Simethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Iron Oxides. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines.


on 10/24/2007 12:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So I fell for the hype and rushed out and spent nearly $10 on a drugstore mascara. While I normally love Covergirl mascaras, I am not loving Lash Blast. I find that the mascara handle is way to big to hold comfortably, and I can't turn it to get my lashes at all angles. I also prefer small brushes, and this one is anything but small. The end if it is about the size around of a pencil eraser. The rubber wand apply nicely, with no clumping and no flaking, but it does not provide the dramatic lashes that I am longing for. Sadly, I plan on returning this mascara, and will not purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/24/2007 12:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Curiosity got the better of me, so I purchased this. I don't know why I do this to myself when I'm perfectly happy and very content with my current mascara (L'Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black). I do see how some could hate the brush, but it's definately not as big as the DiorShow brush, and for me, I have larger eyes that I actually need a bigger size to coat in one swipe (I seem to get more on my skin with the little brushes), so in that vein, it works for me. It's just that the formula itself doesn't fatten or thicken, on me, it simply enhances and somewhat lengthens my lashes.For reference, I have long lashes, but need thickening for volume and this just doesn't do it. Of course, YMMV, but for me, this will end up being another one of my everyday, errand running, hardly have any makeup on mascaras...Voluminous, I'm sorry I thought another could make me happy. EDITED to add: how funny that when writing this review, I didn't even read the others' first. I am obviously not the only one who has feelings about this and Voluminous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2007 11:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I picked this up as a "non" waterproof mascara...as usually I wear Fantastic Lash WP. So far so good. Applied pretty easy and really brought out all my tiny lashes underneath my eyes. Actually even curled them! which is amazing considering I usually have to use a lash curler. Will continue to update as I've used it a few times.
But thought I would post the ingredients for others. *Pics down below.
INGREDIENTS:
Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite,
Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Triethanolamine,
Acrylates Copolymer, Synthetic Wax, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate,
Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Xanthan Gum, Panthenol,
Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth Sulfate,
Trisodium EDTA, Simethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Iron Oxides, May Contain:
Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2007 11:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After all the hoopla on here about how wonderful this mascara is, I decided to give it a try. Sorry, but I just don't understand what people are loving about this product.

I have had it on for two hours, and already it is smeared underneath my eyes (I have it on top lashes only). No volume, no separation, and no staying power means it will probably get returned.

Sorry L'Oreal Voluminous...I never should have cheated on you.


on 10/24/2007 11:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been perfectly happy with my three dollar tubes of Cover Girl Super Thick Lash for the last few months - it was as close as I could hope to get to a HG mascara. But I bought right into the hype of this one despite the fact that I've hated every mascara with the rubbery spiked brush (Lash Perfection, Lash Exact, Define a Lash, Volume Exact, all of them gave me really bad spider lashes and FLAKED like crazy). I had to go to Walmart, Meijer, two Walgreens and two CVS stores before I found a frickin' display of these mascaras. Cranky and nine bucks poorer, I slapped this on in the car on my naked, uncurled lashes. Hmm, not bad. Tried it again on curled lashes and while I got nothing close to "fake eyelashes", the effect was nice - thicker, a bit longer, and no clumps, yay! The formula is nice, too...no flaking or melting under my eyes. It's not a miracle mascara for me but it is definitely good enough to buy again.


on 10/24/2007 11:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had to jump on the bandwagon & try this mascara. Stopped by my local CVS just to pick one up. Almost left empty handed & disappointed when I thought the CVS didn't carry this item, but on my way out of the store I noticed a brand new display in the makeup aisle full of this mascara, so basically found it on accident. I've worn/used this for about a week now and am not disappointed in the least! My last fave CG mascara was the Triple Lash, which has since been DC'd and hard to come by. Triple was a good mascara but not my HG, since is still tended to flake. Other formulas by CG were a bust for me. I love the Lash Blast formula! I purchased the Very Black for my black, sparse, short lashes for around $8.50. The brush is teddy-bear'ish and BIG for a cover girl mascara. It's one of those silicone-type "bendy" brushes that are supposed to separate & remove glops of mascara as you apply. This brush is BIG and comes to a blunt point (vs. sharp point). It's so big that I found it alittle hard to maneuver into my corner lashes. I have smaller eyes too so the big brush was on the awkward side, but that wasn't enough to discourage me because the formula of this mascara made up for it! It's gel-like & smooth - dried quickly, which is a plus. I do not use a lash primer so my basic routine is curl, mascara (on top lashes only), comb thru, curl again, and then maybe another coat of mascara if I have extra time. The tried & true test to a 'good' mascara for me is that once it dries, if I can run a lash comb thru it w/o gobs of flakes coming off or falling into my eyes, definite plus, and this one passed w/ flying colors!!! It lengthens & volumises so that I look like I have 3X's the number of lashes that I actually do. My eyes look HUGE!!! And the curl holds all day w/o fail. Best of all, there is NO FLAKING OR RACOON EYES!!! Removal is super-easy since this is not water-proof. My usual DHC oil cleanser removes every bit of the mascara. I prefer non-waterproof mascara for easier removal but most formulas tend to smudge and/or flake, but the Lash Blast has met every expectation. Great price and the huge orange tube is definitely easy to find in my makeup bag! Definite re-purchase!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2007 10:11:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Go get 'em, ladies. This mascara is everything the hype says. I have very dark, average length and volume lashes, rarely wear mascara (but sometimes curl them without mascara). For $8 or so, you can have dramatic, glossy black (I used the "very black" color), non-clumping lashes. One coat is nice, 2 is vavavoom and 3 is very dramatic. No need to comb them. Wait a minute or so after applying before adding liner or shadow because takes time for the mascara to dry. My minor complaints are that the tube is so big and takes a bit to get used to maneuvering the wand. Will repurchase.


on 10/24/2007 9:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First off: I love L'oreal Voluminous wp...while not quite HG, I've always like the volume it provides relatively inexpensively, as I NEVER spend ridiculous amounts on department store mascara and only use DS mascaras. I don't feel the department store mascaras provide enough bang for the buck (big bucks, especially for a product you're supposed to throw away every couple of months, for safety reasons). I'm trying to "wean off" the WP (bad for lashes long-term) so I've been trying non-wp formulations with little success. HATED Voluminous: took forever to dry & left black flecks on my lids and needed to repeatedly comb through it to drag out the clumps. Forget Great Lash: always was junk, will forever be junk...still gross after all these years. Initially liked Maybelline F&S, but it turned to clumpy garbage in a week & I tossed it: ridiculously short-lived re: quality. Tried CG Lash Exact & while I loved the brush, the formulation was kind of "eh": no significant volume or lengthening for my short sparse ligh-brown lashes. THEN, I read about Lash Blast here & it seemed like a good bet: same kind of rubber brush as LE, but with volume, and people seem to love it. Why not? Picked it up for $8.49 at CVS (then used a $1 coupon), not the cheapest I've ever used but certainly reasonable. Used it this morning and LOVE IT: Love the brush, love the 1-coat coverage, love the volume, and I didn't use a lash comb for the 1st time in years. No wet and clumpy spider-lashes, has a nice gloss to it and added some length. My lashes are nicely defined and appear thicker and longer, in a reasonably dramatic (not theatrical or clownish) way. I wear contacts & have sensitive eyes so we'll see how they feel by the end of the day but so far no watering, flaking, etc...like a few other reviewers mentioned, and I've had it on since 4:30 a.m. I don't really care one way or the other about the giant orange tube, as long as the brush is easily wieldable (and it is). Hey, it will never get lost in my makeup case, right?! ;) This is a winner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love mascara and this is the best one I have come across in a long time. It makes my lashes look like false eyelashes.Great for a dramatic look It can also work for daytime . I purchased at CVS for * dollars.Would repurchase.


on 10/24/2007 8:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Back to a positive note- I love this mascara! My last mascara purchase was the new Lancome - Courbe Virtuose, and while I like it okay, I really really love this new Lash Blast. The Courbe Virtuose was over $20 (if I bought it in the store, instead of ebay that is!) and while it didn't flake or clump it didn't really make my lashes pop, but Lash Blast does. It doesn't flake or clump and makes my lashes look lush, long and plump, which up until now I thought was totally impossible! I found mine at Kroger- could not find it at my local target, but did see it at CVS, so good luck with finding it, as it has been quite the hunt to find the best deal on it! For me this is the best mascara that Cover Girl has released yet, and possibly my favorite drug-store mascara as well!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Mascara Business Card Trick by Michelle Phan

CoverGirl LashBlast Volume vs. Fusion Mascara Review! by thatgermangirl08



Back to Top