Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4306 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 10/25/2007 3:06:00 AM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

i'm sorry to be the one to rain on the parade here but i just don't think this mascara lives up to the hype!!! i mean, yes, it's ok, but i'm not seeing the results that everyone else seems to be raving about. i purchased this tonight in Very Black because i'm a certifiable mascara crackhead and the great reviews triggered my addiction! :D anyways, i got it at Target for $6.99 so for all of you who are going to buy it or have already bought it and fallen in love, i'd point you there because it seems to be the cheapest. one thing i have to say i thought was weird was that there was no big display for Lash Blast and the employee i asked didn't seem to think they had it, then another customer pointed me to a tiny end-of-the-isle display that looked like something that was clearanced and there it was! i thought after reading all the rave reviews there would be neon lights and showgirls holding tubes or something! so when i got it home i tried it out and...meh. it only cemented my theory that rubber brush mascaras do NOT provide any mentionable volume for girls w/medium length and medium thick (or on the thin side) lashes. it seperated them nicely, the color was good and very jet black, and it gave average length. i read some reviews where people said 2 or 3 coats was where you really saw the magic but when i added only a second coat i got spidery, chunky, gross lashes. this is DEFINITELY a one-coat only mascara. and, after i had applied it and it was completely dry, i sneezed and my eyes watered, and wow! total mascara meltdown! i actually cried a black tear! so i can't imagine how this mascara would hold up in humid weather or during a rain shower or even if your eyes happen to water! it's not a bad mascara, but it's nothing special, and i wouldn't repurchase. **update** if, like me, Lash Blast just didn't impress you, i would recommend trying out Cover Girl Volume Exact mascara. is it the first rubber bristled mascara that i've found to work for me and provide length AND volume. i am really loving it, check out my review if you're interested :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelticmaddox on 10/25/2007 12:43:00 AM more reviews by kelticmaddox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yup, yup. I've fallen for this product, just like everyone else seems to have. But...in my opinion, it lives up to the hype.

With this, I get really nice looking lashes without clumping. And anti-clumping is a big thing for me.

My lashes are naturally long and dark, but this gives great length and great seperation. All they need to do is come out with a waterproof version!


The really really really sad thing is this: I can't really use this product any more. I found out recently that Cover girl still tests on animals, and because of that I refuse to use their products. This makes me really sad, as this has become my Holy Grail mascara, along with Full N' Soft.

BUT, if Cover Girl ever changes their horrific ways, then I will be first in line to buy this mascara again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cavewoman on 10/24/2007 10:24:00 PM more reviews by cavewoman

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'll add a few thoughts to the many that are listed here already.
First of all, what I like: this mascara in Very Black is very very black, a matte black, so if you like glossy lashes this isn't for you. I also like that I was able to get good visible lashes relatively fast, and also did not need a lash comb. If there is clumping, keep running the brush over the lashes again to remove them. I also like that I can apply a second coat before the first one dries, in fact, I would recommend that for a second coat application. No flakes at all for me either. I am impressed.
What I did not like, I poked myself in the eye with that humongous brush.
DiorShow is still as close to perfect as I have found in a mascara, with a few others doing reasonably well like Max Factor Lash Perfection. I don't think I would buy LashBlast again, although it pains me greatly to spend on DiorShow. That being said, three drugstore mascaras that I try and they don't work for me would pay for a DiorShow. So, I guess I should stop trying to find a drugstore mascara that works like DiorShow for me.
Final analysis, It's good, but not crazy good.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmars29 on 10/24/2007 10:03:00 PM more reviews by cmars29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very early review. But so far I love this product!! I have tried many expensive mascaras and cheap drug store ones too. Prior to this the only one that did not smudge or budge was Kiss Me...the only problem was it made me look like I had about 5 lashes. I have used this twice now; I found it at Target - yesterday was a muggy day and my mascara would normally leave me with racoon eyes but not this one. After about 12hrs there was a tiny bit of flaking but that's not a big deal. I like the nice full look. Nothing dramatic but definitely a cute wide doe eyed look which is what I like. It holds a nice curl and application was easy and clump free - I put on 2-3 coats and didn't even need to comb out my lashes...LOVE IT! This feels really light on, some mascaras are really heavy and irritating. So far so good will update if it turns on me! **Update** I used this for a week and this is my number 1 favorite mascara!! It doesn't claim to last for hours but it does. I checked my mascara at about 2am and I still had nice difined lashes with minimal flaking...and for me that is a Miracle!! I use oils as a moisterizer and even the water proof mascaras didn't hold up but this one does like a champ!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Clouded00 on 10/24/2007 9:34:00 PM more reviews by Clouded00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

though l'oreal voluminous is an HG, i pretty much had to try this. i found it at cvs. the definition is AWESOME. no stuck-together lashes or clumps. it can look very natural, or you can use lots of coats to make it look dramatic. it held a curl all day and didn't smudge at all. i'm giving it 4 out of 5 starts jut because it's not absolutely perfect. if it did a little more lengthening, then it would be. it is also a bit pricey - $8.50
update: this is now my hg mascara, i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 10/24/2007 8:40:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Okay I had originally wrote a bad review for this product. It seemed at first it was very typical d/s mascara- provided no volume or length. Over a few days the formula seemed to thicken up and now I love it. Its not my favorite drugstore mascara but its really nice. I find it separates lashes very well, feels very light weight, and gives nice length. I notice no real thickness/volumizing unless I layer a few coats. I am over all happy with this purchase and I think it is worth trying and playing around for. I do like it better then covergirl's lash exact. I have not tried volume exact to compare though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikkilici0us on 10/24/2007 7:45:00 PM more reviews by Nikkilici0us

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

would I buy this mascara again? Heck yes!! I am a HUGE mascara snob and usually only buy YSL/Lancome/Dior mascaras... this one actually compares. And trust me.. i hate the brushes with the plastic bristles... they usually do nothing for my lashes. But I love this mascara.. yes, its raved about and like usual there may be a huge rave and then a die down, but its one that I truly feel deserves the rave! Makes my lashes huge

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Surf2 on 10/24/2007 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Surf2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is such a terrific mascara! Thanks to everyone who has posted their reviews! Like everyone else, after hearing about all the hype this mascara has received, I was intrigued to try it out myself. I went to my local CVS and bought it in black for $8.50 not including tax. It takes a lot in a mascara to please me because I'm such a mascara junkie and tried tons of them out there. My lashes are long but thin and I applied 3 coats to them. The first coat was a nice, glossy natural layer. The second coat va-va-voomed them up a bit but still didn't look clumpy. The third was just amazing! It was still glossy and dramtic but also every lash was defined nicely. It also held a curl well compared to some of the other ones out there. The only drawback was at the end of the tube, a clump of mascara came out on the end of the wand. It's the best mascara and worth every penny!! My lashes did not look crunchy either!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvsbrdeddragns on 10/24/2007 6:23:00 PM more reviews by luvsbrdeddragns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I, too, shall add my two cents. Being a mascara junkie I spotted this is a magazine a month or so ago and thought "hm, I might try that". Then the makeup board went Lash Blast CRAZY for about 3 days. I found it, bought it, and like it. Not totally in love, BUT I've only tried it once. I am fortunate enough to have long lashes so I aim for volume. This did not let me down. It wasn't magical, but pretty good for volumizing. I'll have to try it on top of my Shiseido Lash Base to see what it can REALLY do. I'll update after I use it a week or so. EDIT: after first full day of wearing it, I still like it and think it's a nice volumizing mascara. Nothing special. However, at the end of the day when you go to take it off....(please remember I apply probably 3 coats or so) it takes FOREVER. Seems like you keep wiping it away and keep wiping...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckybamboozled on 10/24/2007 5:43:00 PM more reviews by luckybamboozled

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is a great drugstore mascara! From the reviews I've read it doesn't seem to work for everyone, but it's fantastic mascara for my lashes. Just enough volume and great length without clumping or flaking. I like the oversized wand seems to help me coat from root to tip without overdoing it with too many coats. I can get by with 2 coats and get great results! The oversized packaging is really nice I can reach in the bottom of my traincase without even looking to snatch this one up. Way to go CG great formula will repurchase for sure! Pic in Profile

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products