Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4298 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvsbrdeddragns on 10/24/2007 6:23:00 PM more reviews by luvsbrdeddragns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I, too, shall add my two cents. Being a mascara junkie I spotted this is a magazine a month or so ago and thought "hm, I might try that". Then the makeup board went Lash Blast CRAZY for about 3 days. I found it, bought it, and like it. Not totally in love, BUT I've only tried it once. I am fortunate enough to have long lashes so I aim for volume. This did not let me down. It wasn't magical, but pretty good for volumizing. I'll have to try it on top of my Shiseido Lash Base to see what it can REALLY do. I'll update after I use it a week or so. EDIT: after first full day of wearing it, I still like it and think it's a nice volumizing mascara. Nothing special. However, at the end of the day when you go to take it off....(please remember I apply probably 3 coats or so) it takes FOREVER. Seems like you keep wiping it away and keep wiping...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckybamboozled on 10/24/2007 5:43:00 PM more reviews by luckybamboozled

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is a great drugstore mascara! From the reviews I've read it doesn't seem to work for everyone, but it's fantastic mascara for my lashes. Just enough volume and great length without clumping or flaking. I like the oversized wand seems to help me coat from root to tip without overdoing it with too many coats. I can get by with 2 coats and get great results! The oversized packaging is really nice I can reach in the bottom of my traincase without even looking to snatch this one up. Way to go CG great formula will repurchase for sure! Pic in Profile

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franknbeans82 on 10/24/2007 5:32:00 PM more reviews by franknbeans82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think I may have found my new hg mascara. This stuff created the same effect that I get from a combination Estee Lauder primer and Clinique mascara...at a much cheaper price! I got it for around $7 at Walmart. It really pumped up the volume and length of my lashes! On my first day of wearing it, my coworker came into my office raving about my makeup. It struck me funny because one, she has seen me in makeup before, and two, this was the only thing I was wearing! She loved how it looked on me! Thumbs up for the brush and formula because I didn't experience any problems w/ clumping or flaking. The size of the brush was a bit intimidating on first sight, but I would assume that's part of the secret to the mega-pumped-up effect it gives! I have to say, Covergirl has outdone themselves in the mascara dept!!
Before Lash Blast:

After Lash Blast:


Sorry for the cameraphone quality photos, buy you get the idea, haha!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrincessScuzzlebutt2 on 10/24/2007 5:31:00 PM more reviews by PrincessScuzzlebutt2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The tube and brush are reallllly awkward IMO...i couldnt get this to reach all of my lashes. its just your averege thickening mascara...I wouldnt puchase again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickety on 10/24/2007 4:06:00 PM more reviews by chickety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Loving mascara is what brought me to Makeup Alley. And I am on a mission to try every mascara I can get my hands on. So I've tried a LOT of mascaras. That said, Lash Blast is NOT the best mascara out there. But it really is an excellent one. The best thing about it is its lasting power. I was a bad girl and I didn't wash my face last night. I had not one smudge or flake on my face when I woke up and my lashes still looked great. It also seems to hold a curl all day nicely. I got Lash Blast in the color "Very Black" and the name suits the color well. It is buildable, from day time natural to night time drama. It thickens up my longish wispy thin lashes a lot. For length, eh not much. But the finish is nice, no spider legs or bumpy twigs. It goes on smooth and lashes looks naturally dark and lush. I do think it may be the best drugstore mascara (that I've tried anyway). But I still love Lancome Hypnose as my ultimate Holy Grail. But I would absolutely repurchase it. And I'm very happy with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckyredlisa on 10/24/2007 4:04:00 PM more reviews by luckyredlisa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't see what the big deal is. This is a perfectly serviceable mascara, nothing more, nothing less. I've been endlessly trying different mascaras for over a year, and not your usual "trying a new brand when I run out" kind of thing- I have 5 or 6 tubes going at a time, plus I've actually been using the GWP tubes I get. So I've tried a ton, you get the idea. It is a silly obsession. LOL

This is just meh. I must wonder what ppl were using prior to LashBlast that makes it look so amazing in comparison. I find it quite similar to the other mascaras with rubber brushes, as well as the reviled Great Lash.

Reading some of the other reviews, I must laugh- "new technology" "blackest on the market" etc etc. I'm sorry, I suspect ppl are being paid to write these reviews. It was striking in my side-by-sides how NOT BLACK this was.

I did a side-by-side today against my HG YSL Faux Cils, both over my new HG product- Shiseido Mascara Base. There is no comarison. The Blast side had lost its curl before I even left the house! It is also less black, and provides far far less volume and length.

Day Two, just to be sure, testing is LB on one eye and Great Lash on the other, this time neither with primer. They go on almost the same, and as the day has gone on, they continue to look almost identical- unlike yesterday where the difference b/n LB and Faux Cils was so great I looked a bit wonky! Neither LB nor Great Lash is holding curl, providing length or volume. Just meh. Both have a wet formula that goes on without clumping.

Day 3: Compared to YSL again, this time no primer. Still looks the same- average.

This really is just another average d/s mascara. If you want natural lashes, this will do the job. But so will tons of other readily available products. But this claims to do more, and it really doesn't. So, please, do not scour the earth searching for this. There's no need to beg on the boards for a CP or post "reviews" asking where to buy it. It just ain't all that.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 miche99 on 10/24/2007 3:08:00 PM more reviews by miche99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I usually use Full n Soft, I like a more daytime look rather than super dramatic. I, just like everyone else, was wondering if there was something better. And guess what? so far Lash Blast is working for me! I love that there was no clumps and the mascara went on evenly. I got it on every lash without clumps. I was so happy! My lashes look great to me, nice separation, nice dark black color, and so far, no eye irritation. I have very sensitive eyes, so I will update this in a few days to see if I develop any probs with it. So far, I love my lashes with lash blast! Also, it doesn't make my lashes stiff. I hate that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Henna123 on 10/24/2007 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Henna123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't get the amazing effect everyone else experienced. I usually wear Shiseido Makeup Base with the Lifting Mascara and I guess my lashes are depended on those two products. LAsh Blast didn't do anything for me. it weighed my lashes down and didn't even keep the curl. The one good thing it did was make my lashes very soft opposed to the Shiseido mascara. I will not be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niferphoto on 10/24/2007 1:27:00 PM more reviews by niferphoto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was expecting something on par with Diorshow - while it's not - it still is something very good. It gives me glossy deep dark black lashes with added volume and length - but no falsie look. I would say this is the perfect daytime mascara. For night time I would go with something more dramatic. But for $8.00 I think it's great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AUDREYNICOLE on 10/24/2007 12:15:00 PM more reviews by AUDREYNICOLE

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So I fell for the hype and rushed out and spent nearly $10 on a drugstore mascara. While I normally love Covergirl mascaras, I am not loving Lash Blast. I find that the mascara handle is way to big to hold comfortably, and I can't turn it to get my lashes at all angles. I also prefer small brushes, and this one is anything but small. The end if it is about the size around of a pencil eraser. The rubber wand apply nicely, with no clumping and no flaking, but it does not provide the dramatic lashes that I am longing for. Sadly, I plan on returning this mascara, and will not purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products