Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4272 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* firesyren on 10/23/2007 6:31:00 PM more reviews by firesyren

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well with Lash Blast I paid $9 for a mascara that is mediocre at best. I was really expecting more. What Lash Blast provided was a 'normal' look for me; lashes obviously had mascara on them, but no substantial lengthening or volumizing. This formula caused my eyes to water whenever the wand was close to my eyes. In addition, the end of the wand itself was huge, really so big as to be unwieldy and hard to use. And, when I tried to build more coverage on my lashes, this formula left small blobs of mascara on the tips of my lashes. Max Factor and Cover Girl both make mascaras that perform better than this, at a better price.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nerdalicious on 10/23/2007 6:30:00 PM more reviews by nerdalicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Well I stalked all the drugstores and I finally found the elusive Lash Blast. I was so excited to give it a try that I actually took off my makeup the same night and tried it on right there. I wasn't completely sold. It was just ok. But I figured that hey, I really love all the rubber type wands, and it's at least worth another go before I return. So I used it in my regular makeup routine this morning and things got a lot better! The brush really is huge compared to other rubber wands, about twice the thickness. At first I found the big brush a little awkward, so I do recommend that you practice with this before you have to wear it out. After wiping some mascara off the brush, I really like how it looks on me. If this makes sense, since the brush is so huge, it spreads my lashes out more like a fan. That is a problem I have with many mascaras. They will lengthen and thicken but in doing so clump my lashes together. Then when I comb them out, they look too thin. This gives me the volume and thickness I want without the clump effect.

Edited to add: After the 3rd or 4th time using this, it started to flake off badly into my eyes. This is NOT a winner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SupaFly10579 on 10/23/2007 3:38:00 PM more reviews by SupaFly10579

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This mascara provoked me to write my first and probably only review here. Bought it based on people's hysterical reviews and was extremely disappointed. The wand is huge and it's easier to get the mascara all over your eyelids with the huge clumsy brush. Doesn't lengthen at all and only thickens after numerous coats. This mascara is good for someone who doesn't want dramatic, thick, lush lashes. Gives you meager lashes AT BEST. Save your money and your time searching for this lousy mascara. I'm returning mine today.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WriterGal82 on 10/23/2007 3:16:00 PM more reviews by WriterGal82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I gave into the MUA hype and picked up an obnoxiously large, bright orange tube of this stuff. I'm a fan of rubberized bristles (I own LE, VE, MFVC and Inimitable) so I had to at least try it out. At $8.49, it was pricey for Cover Girl. But at least it's cheaper than Inimitable, I reasoned. The ginormous tube is terribly hard to use. Every time I use it, I feel as though I'm going to drop it on myself, and it's very awkward. The brush itself is probably double the thickness of LE. I'm a fan of fat brushes in general, so that's not a big deal to me. But those who hate thick wands may not like this. As far as the formula, it's pretty wet, but dries quickly. It goes on nicely and gives me decent length and separation. When the product is completely dry, it doesn't flake or smudge, but it does make my lashes feel pretty crunchy. Overall, it's not bad, but I don't think it's living up to the hype. Plus, it doesn't work well with the Shiseido base (talk about clump city!), and for that reason, I'd much rather use Inimitable than Lash Blast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bebe712 on 10/23/2007 2:28:00 PM more reviews by bebe712

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Finally a mascara that delivers! This with shiseido mascara base underneath, you are golden. I tried everthing and I must say Yves saint Laurent faux, givenchy (fly away) and this one works the best. If your short on cash go with Cover Girl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shmoopy on 10/23/2007 1:06:00 PM more reviews by shmoopy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was huge on the MUA boards, so I had to try it..... Below is a picture of me with one eye with LB and one naked eye. I used several coats to build up to the length/thickness on the LB eye. It was time consuming which was the biggest turn off to me..I could have easily put on fake lashes in the same amount of time with a much better/dramatic appearance. I much prefer my HG mascara, Rimmel Volum'Eyes, because of the brush. The LB does wear great with no transfering or smudging. Some of the girls said the mascara in the pics below look clumpy. After someone pointed out that my other FOTD's/pics of mascara do not look this spidery/clumpy, I have decided to edit this review a bit. I took a look through my pics and I agree. At first I thought it might be my application, but other MUA'ers are experiencing the same problem with the LB. Overall, I'd say it's just an okay mascara.

http://img.makeupalley.com/8/8/5/4/789399.JPG
http://img.makeupalley.com/8/8/5/4/789400.JPG

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinaxtina on 10/23/2007 10:31:00 AM more reviews by xtinaxtina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I know I'm in the minority here, but this went on clumpy & looked unspectacular on me, didn't hold the curl or anything. In fact, it looked like not great mascara, which is what it is (on me). However, I didn't like Lash Exact either, which many love, so it may just be something about me & my eyelashes. This one is going back to CVS for a refund.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PattyG on 10/23/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by PattyG

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

Although I already have my holy grail mascaras in Max Factor Volume Couture and MF Lash Perfection, I still find myself wanting to try a new mascara just for the heck of it. Well, I had seen this mascara a while back in WWD and thought it was really cool, the orange spaceship tube. NOT!!! It's bulky, hard to hold and makes application awkward. The formula itself (I got the darkest black) is excellent, but no better than the MF Volume Couture, and I can handle that tube a whole lot better with it's slimmer design.

I can't rave about this mascara honestly because it's a klutzy tube design and that just turns me off to it. I keep hitting my upper lid, depositing mascara hits to my lids...not a pretty sight! LOL

I guess someone thought, well, we're all doing the rubber brush thing, WHAT can we do that's a bit different? Well, the big, fat tube fails at the launch pad...a dud.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovelicorice on 10/23/2007 8:35:00 AM more reviews by ilovelicorice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I guess all of the hype over this product got my expectations too high. I searched everywhere for this mascara over the weekend and finally found it at a Walgreens 40 minutes from my house. I tried it out this morning before work and my first impression was that it is fair at best. The formula itself is nice and it coated my lashes well, but I usually like to start applying my mascara very close to my lash line for maximum impact and the huge size of this brush wouldn't allow me to get that close without the risk of jabbing myself in the eye. I felt like I only coated about 75% of my lashes because I couldn't get down to the lash line. I am going to continue using this product and see if anything improves. I realize it's probably too early to review a product after only one application so I will edit this after I use it a few more times.

**EDIT** Okay, I've worn this stuff a full day now. I got home from work and my lashes were perfectly intact! I wanted to play around with it some more though, since I was rushed for work in the morning when I first put it on. I wiped it off with eye makeup remover and applied it again- more carefully this time. It really made my lashes look awesome! I put on a ton of coats but the formula is wet so it's easy to do that without clumping, etc. The only minor problem is that since the brush is so big, I sometimes get it on my bottom lashes at the same time, but that's not a huge deal. I really like this product now- my lashes have never looked like this. I suggest those that didn't like this stuff at first to keep playing around with it- it's a really good product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genalewis on 10/23/2007 7:32:00 AM more reviews by genalewis

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a fantastic mascara! I have been wearing lash extensions lately, and they have wrecked the natural lashes underneath. I had been looking for a mascara that was going to make my skimpy eyelashes look long and full. This really does the trick! And what curl! Wow...I am seriously impressed. I love the applicator...I have never used anything but the regular brush wand before. The little rubbery bristles work magic on my lashes.

This is going to give my eyes a welcome break from falsies, and I will look fabulous in the meantime. Who knows...with this stuff, I might not even go back to false eyelashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products