Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4306 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* etooz on 10/26/2007 11:46:00 AM more reviews by etooz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, this product has caused quite a stir-- the day before I went looking for it, there were only three or four reviews, and they were all positive. Anyway...

I went to six CVS stores looking for this stuff. I finally found it, and bought it in black without a second thought. Well, I was skeptical. However, when I tried it on, I was really surprised. I wouldn't say I have huge, thick lashes to begin with-- but they're no peach fuzz, either. I really like to have insane lashes, though. I usually curl and put several different kinds of mascara on with different brushes until I have the look I want. Obviously, I don't want clumps of lashes.

I only put Lash Blast on one eye first, to see what it looked like. What a difference! This gave me length, LOTS of volume and did a decent job of holding my curl. I went and asked my boyfriend-- he said there was a big difference, too. I did not get raccoon eyes after wearing this all day. Overall, I am very, very pleased with the formula, in fact, I may just keep using this and stop looking for a better mascara. So, why didn't I give this five stars? Well, keep going...

The packaging is a little clumsy. Aside from the fact there are virtually no bristles on the tip of the brush itself (which can make it hard to get my inner, smaller lashes), the top of the wand, where the cap screws in is very hard for me to navigate. I find I have to hinge my fingers around the bottom of the orange part (the widest part of the cap), because the incline on the cap is so steep that the wand may slip out of my hand. I understand the reservoir for the brush must be large, but making the handle for the brush so strangely shaped is downright annoying. I don't think they'll fix the packaging, though, so I'll live with it. This mascara might not be the best for people with wispy, light eyelashes, it seems like the brush was intended for people who start with more as a base. I'll definitely keep using it. ETA: Does not hold a curl. :\

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trishh621 on 10/26/2007 12:30:00 AM more reviews by trishh621

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am upset! I wish I had this mascara for my 20th reunion for highschool two weeks ago! If only! I would have stood out! Well, this mascara is very noticeable when you walk into CVS. It is probably not found yet in the area of the CoverGirl aisle, but rather on a display area. So, look around for it. I have only found it at CVS. I bought three of them....two for my kids and one for me. I did not tell my 14 year old all the hype about it. And when she came home today from schoo..she said many kids from her school commented on her eyes/mascara. When I used it yesterday and this morning.....it has this unique eye opening look after you put it on! I look forward to wearing it tomorrow! Definately a keeper....Go Orangey!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sassyrred on 10/25/2007 11:09:00 PM more reviews by Sassyrred

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After reading raves about this I HAD to try it! (since mascara/foundations are my achille's heel)

What I don't care for is the BIG FAT tube since it is bulkier to store. I also don't care for the BIG FAT brush, but everyone elses seems to like it. I find it harder to get on my lashes verses the thin brushes, yet I understand that is the point of this mascara, BIG/FAT. The last thing is that I think the price of this mascara is getting up there at $8 something a tube.

What I do like is the dark pigment, it gives volume and lengthen the first time around, but still not as dramatic as I thought it would be.

The brush on this one is the biggest compared to the earlier two, lash exact and volume lash exact. Compared to the other two it does seem to *fan* out the lashes more. When I used my Lancome Cils Booster that is when I saw the best look!

All in all it isn't that I would not buy again at some point, maybe, but since I need to choose a Yes or No answer, I will say, No.

***Edited****
After using CG Lash Exact this morning, I instantly saw the difference Lash Blast makes! I will be repurchaing Lash Blast!! I changed the rating to a 4 from a 3.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chicredress on 10/25/2007 9:01:00 PM more reviews by chicredress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Average. The formula is nice, but here is my main criticism and the thing that botches the whole experience: The brush has no real bristles at the tip and last 1/4 inch of the brush, and so if you try to sculpt and play with your lashes with the end, as one tends to do, it gets all wonked out. My more difficult eye was nearly impossible to get right; when you play around and try to perfect and separate with the wand, the mascara gets wiped onto your lashes and all globbed up-- I had to use my lash comb which I don't like to do. Weird design, disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hipchick66 on 10/25/2007 7:05:00 PM more reviews by hipchick66

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Lash Blast sucks! I searched all over, finally found it, wore it today. The Very Black is a nice dark shade, but that's the only good thing. It didn't do much at all for my lashes (even afte 3 coats), and at the FIRST drop of moisture around my eyes (was lightly raining today), it ran straight down my cheek. I've tried all kinds of mascara from low to high end in search of the perfect thickening mascara, and I'll still be searching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smashbox2 on 10/25/2007 7:00:00 PM more reviews by smashbox2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Awesome mascara! I normally don't care for CG mascara's but they did a great job with this one. Really does thicken and makes my lashes long and lush. And it holds the curl very well. Love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DamnableTreetop on 10/25/2007 5:14:00 PM more reviews by DamnableTreetop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was so disappointed in this product. It's not that it's dreadful. It's a perfectly respectable, average mascara for me. It makes my lashes darker and a little longer. That's it. I am sticking with Sky-High Curves, which gives me great length, thickness, and curl.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaclynC on 10/25/2007 4:32:00 PM more reviews by JaclynC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is ok. It's not the best thing ever. It makes my lashes very long but does not thicken at all. It gave me very long, skinny lashes. I like volume. I am going to stick with Diorshow which is the best mascara I've ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kissmeimabeanr on 10/25/2007 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Kissmeimabeanr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i agree with one of the girls that commented it works great alone but if you wear it over ur fave mascara omg false eyelashes my mom was like wow ur eyelashes are pretty are they the individuals ?? lol i was like no their mine lol but i def would repurches def top three next to ysl Faux cils, and voluminous carbon black either way when paired with either are very dramatic

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hisoneandonly on 10/25/2007 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara yesterday because I read some pretty good reviews here about Lash Blast.

I tried it last night and it was allright. I like Maybelline XXL and NYX Doll Eyes way better though.

I took a lippie off because the mascara required combing/picking through after applying more than one coat, and another off because the brush was too fat (although this is a selling feature for most it isn't for my almond, asian eyes).

The effect afterwards was nice though, my lashes were defined, looked natural, and loooong!

I think I'll stick with my other mascaras though as they are less work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products