Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4292 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 cutestuff on 10/25/2007 12:12:00 PM more reviews by cutestuff

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Yes...I'm a sucker...I went out and bought this mascara at Walgreens...(7.99 which is highish). The empty brush is shown on the package..so scary or not..and I wasn't, fat or thin the formula of the mascara is MORE important to me than the BRUSH!!!

The application went on smooth, not clumpy, but I had to build up my lashes cuz on my lashes it went on thin. I let it dry GOOD between coats and it gave me a nice thickness. I don't have spider lashes!!

The Orange color of the tube is perfect marketing for the Halloween/Autumn season.....so it's not hard to miss!!

My fave mascara of all times IS Definicils, but I've been using Lash Stylist or Telescopic and I'm happy with those results.


I'd buy this again..only if it was on sale though. It's good to know that you can have a few mascaras to fall back on in case your fave is not at the store!!!


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashmiaka on 10/25/2007 11:37:00 AM more reviews by ashmiaka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i'm really liking this mascara. the brush is as if dior show and lash exact mated and produced a baby. i have long thin limp asian lashes... and this mascara definitely brings my lashes to life when applied. no need for mascara primer-- 2 quick coats of this and there is visible oomph in fullness. it also holds a curl very well for a volumizing mascara. there is a little bit of clumping, but it's not bad at all. i could do without the obnoxious packaging, but it's just a minor detail that i'm willing to overlook for the gem of a product inside the tube.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FracturedBroken on 10/25/2007 11:05:00 AM more reviews by FracturedBroken

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. It's the only mascara that I've ever used that makes my thin stubby asian lashes visible. I don't get the fake lashes that others have claimed, but I really don't think that'd ever be possible for me. It's the only mascara that I've used that doesn't flake or smudge and can create volume and length.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 denise2648 on 10/25/2007 10:00:00 AM more reviews by denise2648

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Alone, it is good-makes my lashes long although I like my lashes to be thick too so I would not say that this has the "fake lash" look on me as others have claimed it has on them. I tried it over my regular mascara and wow-it really gives the dramatic look that way! I still stick by my Max Factor Lash Lift but since not all stores carry Max Factor, I would buy Lash Blast again if I was in a bind and needed mascara right away,but I would not consider it a must have mascara for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 perfumeslut on 10/25/2007 8:59:00 AM more reviews by perfumeslut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand the raves about this mascara. It goes on choppy and does not give you any length whatsoever. The brush is very fat and awkward to use in my opinion. A bust for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 10/25/2007 4:57:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Hmm after all the hype here I figured I would have to beat down women swarming the display at Meijer but low and behold it has been there for the past few days when I have stopped for groceries and nobody has touched the display more or less until I purchased a tube for $7.29, which me being the cheap ass that I am, thought that was slightly too much...but then I figured I paid around $6 for Lash Exact & Volume Exact so it wasn't that big of a deal.
The said I usually use Volume Exact which I love although I am currently using the Rimmel one with the same brush concept...I think it is called VolumeEyes or something like that.
I love the fat orange tube. It's just something more fun for packaging for mascara I guess, but I don't care about that. And to be honest although I'm sure I would have tried this mascara eventually, all the hype did make me try it sooner. Got it home and thought let's test this sucker out..and removed the mascara from one eye. Yes just one, the other eye needed to be my control group.

The big old brush was definitely scary at first as it felt like it would take over my eye, but it worked better than expected. It didn't attack my lash line leaving tiny bits of mascara that looked like sloppily applied liner like some mascaras tend too. However I have unresolved beef with the fact that the huge brush doesn't tape off much at the end to a finer point, making damn near impossible for me to get the itty bitty baby lashes near the inner corner of my eye.

So I did a coat, and proceeded to wait a few minutes to apply a second, just so I could hopefully get the full effect. I have to be honest, I'm not feeling the second coat as much. Hell yeah my lashes look a whole lot fatter, but I also fear that they tend to look a little clumpy too. And the weirdest part of all, they are actually so big that I can like...see them. I'm not sure if I like that. I don't know about you but I don't normally notice my own eyelashes in my day to day vision.

I look closer...there is a bit of clumpiness, but not as much as I feared. And my lashes still look nicely fanned out. I am however a wee bit still pissed about the fact that I can't reach the tiny lashes in the inner corners.

Now the real test, I decide to compare it with my current regular mascara that I'm not wowed by, but I like fair enough. Wow, now I do see a difference. My mascara that I thought did a fair enough job of fanning out my lashes looks a bit unnatural compared to Lash Blast. It also makes them look a bit on the spikey side and does NOTHING volume wise compared to Lash Blast.

Just for kicks I give myself a 3rd coat of Lash Blast. Probably a little too dramatic for everyda wear, but I'm pretty impressed that I can do this and not have my eye lash turn into one giant clump. They remain pretty fanned out, individualized, and fattened up. No way can I do this with the Rimmel one I am using. It would turn into 1 giant freak lash.

I still need to give it some more wear before my final decision, but the outlook looks very positive. I am not like a fanatic about this but it is rare that I go orgasmic for a makeup product ;) But I am growing rather fond of how fat my normally thinny thin thin lashes look. I could definitely get used to this product.

BTW...there are pics in my profile of this on my eye...3 coats, just playing around, sloppy application, uncurled lashes =P

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 10/25/2007 3:06:00 AM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

i'm sorry to be the one to rain on the parade here but i just don't think this mascara lives up to the hype!!! i mean, yes, it's ok, but i'm not seeing the results that everyone else seems to be raving about. i purchased this tonight in Very Black because i'm a certifiable mascara crackhead and the great reviews triggered my addiction! :D anyways, i got it at Target for $6.99 so for all of you who are going to buy it or have already bought it and fallen in love, i'd point you there because it seems to be the cheapest. one thing i have to say i thought was weird was that there was no big display for Lash Blast and the employee i asked didn't seem to think they had it, then another customer pointed me to a tiny end-of-the-isle display that looked like something that was clearanced and there it was! i thought after reading all the rave reviews there would be neon lights and showgirls holding tubes or something! so when i got it home i tried it out and...meh. it only cemented my theory that rubber brush mascaras do NOT provide any mentionable volume for girls w/medium length and medium thick (or on the thin side) lashes. it seperated them nicely, the color was good and very jet black, and it gave average length. i read some reviews where people said 2 or 3 coats was where you really saw the magic but when i added only a second coat i got spidery, chunky, gross lashes. this is DEFINITELY a one-coat only mascara. and, after i had applied it and it was completely dry, i sneezed and my eyes watered, and wow! total mascara meltdown! i actually cried a black tear! so i can't imagine how this mascara would hold up in humid weather or during a rain shower or even if your eyes happen to water! it's not a bad mascara, but it's nothing special, and i wouldn't repurchase. **update** if, like me, Lash Blast just didn't impress you, i would recommend trying out Cover Girl Volume Exact mascara. is it the first rubber bristled mascara that i've found to work for me and provide length AND volume. i am really loving it, check out my review if you're interested :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelticmaddox on 10/25/2007 12:43:00 AM more reviews by kelticmaddox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yup, yup. I've fallen for this product, just like everyone else seems to have. But...in my opinion, it lives up to the hype.

With this, I get really nice looking lashes without clumping. And anti-clumping is a big thing for me.

My lashes are naturally long and dark, but this gives great length and great seperation. All they need to do is come out with a waterproof version!


The really really really sad thing is this: I can't really use this product any more. I found out recently that Cover girl still tests on animals, and because of that I refuse to use their products. This makes me really sad, as this has become my Holy Grail mascara, along with Full N' Soft.

BUT, if Cover Girl ever changes their horrific ways, then I will be first in line to buy this mascara again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cavewoman on 10/24/2007 10:24:00 PM more reviews by cavewoman

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'll add a few thoughts to the many that are listed here already.
First of all, what I like: this mascara in Very Black is very very black, a matte black, so if you like glossy lashes this isn't for you. I also like that I was able to get good visible lashes relatively fast, and also did not need a lash comb. If there is clumping, keep running the brush over the lashes again to remove them. I also like that I can apply a second coat before the first one dries, in fact, I would recommend that for a second coat application. No flakes at all for me either. I am impressed.
What I did not like, I poked myself in the eye with that humongous brush.
DiorShow is still as close to perfect as I have found in a mascara, with a few others doing reasonably well like Max Factor Lash Perfection. I don't think I would buy LashBlast again, although it pains me greatly to spend on DiorShow. That being said, three drugstore mascaras that I try and they don't work for me would pay for a DiorShow. So, I guess I should stop trying to find a drugstore mascara that works like DiorShow for me.
Final analysis, It's good, but not crazy good.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmars29 on 10/24/2007 10:03:00 PM more reviews by cmars29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very early review. But so far I love this product!! I have tried many expensive mascaras and cheap drug store ones too. Prior to this the only one that did not smudge or budge was Kiss Me...the only problem was it made me look like I had about 5 lashes. I have used this twice now; I found it at Target - yesterday was a muggy day and my mascara would normally leave me with racoon eyes but not this one. After about 12hrs there was a tiny bit of flaking but that's not a big deal. I like the nice full look. Nothing dramatic but definitely a cute wide doe eyed look which is what I like. It holds a nice curl and application was easy and clump free - I put on 2-3 coats and didn't even need to comb out my lashes...LOVE IT! This feels really light on, some mascaras are really heavy and irritating. So far so good will update if it turns on me! **Update** I used this for a week and this is my number 1 favorite mascara!! It doesn't claim to last for hours but it does. I checked my mascara at about 2am and I still had nice difined lashes with minimal flaking...and for me that is a Miracle!! I use oils as a moisterizer and even the water proof mascaras didn't hold up but this one does like a champ!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products