Cover Girl • Lash Blast • Mascara

rated 3.7(4317 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hellolizzie3 on 10/27/2007 4:19:00 PM more reviews by hellolizzie3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I only had to use it once and the thick big brush gave me some serious volume and drama. I usually like lancome thickening mascaras (my lashes are already pretty long). I have also been using mac's plushlash and really liking that as an alternative to lancome. due to all the hype in the forums, I swung by my CVS yesterday to pick up a tube of this wondrous stuff. And sure enough, last night using it the first time, my lashes looked like porn star fake eyelash heaven. Long, of course, but supernaturally thick. EDIT: another great thing about this mascara is that I do not need two proper coats. I do one good one, do the bottom lashes of that eye, then go back in and comb through the top one more time and VOILA!!! superb lashes! EDIT: Left the LB in my car last night, and hurriedly getting ready I went back to my forlorn tube of Plushlash, and there was just no comparison in terms of how much mascara I could get on my lashes and how thick my lashes got. LB gets my lashes so much thicker with so much less work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kelsha on 10/27/2007 12:11:00 PM more reviews by kelsha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am certainly in the minority here! I, too, went on a hunt to find this mascara after reading the rave reviews. I found that I needed several coats to make my lashes look even slightly thickened (translation-clumped together) then add to that the formula completely pulled the curl out of my lashes (and I do NOT have straight lashes). I guess one good thing to note is that it did not smudge. However, nothing special and will not repurchase. Oh well, the search continues.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocobunny on 10/27/2007 2:22:00 AM more reviews by cocobunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So I have Asian lashes, and I'll take anything that can make them look fuller. Last Blast does the trick -- really! I liked the fullness factor I got from Maybelline Full N Soft, but I had an issue with clumping and smudging throughout the day. I switched to Max Factor Lash Perfection Volume Couture and liked its staying power and separating factor, but the fullness just wasn't the same as Full N Soft. I am happy to report that with Lash Blast, I get everything that I want -- fullness, no clumping, no smudging, AND separating like a dream. I was also pleased to find that this lengthens as well, something that I don't usually look for in a mascara, but it was a pleasant surprise. Ladies, really give this a try. Sure, the fat orange tube just looks straight up awkward, but anything that can make my Asian lashes look this fluttery deserves an A in my book. Bottom line: Lash Blast does everything a mascara should do -- and it does it well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* strawberrytaurus on 10/27/2007 2:15:00 AM more reviews by strawberrytaurus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I didn't want to buy into the hype, I really didn't but I had to go to get a backup of Voluminous anyway and I saw Lash Blast while I was at Target. I decided to get the Voluminous but I also got the Lash Blast b/c I was very curious. This stuff does WONDERS. The brush is really unique. It really separates my lashes and makes them look very full with NO CLUMPS!!! I can't ask for anything more, really. I wore this all day today and there was no flaking, no smudging, nothing. I actually kind of like the shape and look of the packaging also although it is kind of big. I would have chosen another color for the tube besides orange but that's just me. The brush is huge but it's perfect for making my lashes look great. For reference I do have natually long and curly lashes. I never curl my lashes but my problem is that my lashes aren't very full and every mascara that I've used clumps. Not Lash Blast though! I'm actually going to Target to return my Voluminous. Lash Blast is my new HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dearblackgoodbye on 10/27/2007 12:04:00 AM more reviews by dearblackgoodbye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I wish I hadn't JUST puchased plush lash from MAC...last blast beats it out by a mile! i've never tried a mascara with the rubbery prickles on the applicator but this one is awesome, nice & super dark black, just what i wanted! didnt clump, didn't flake, didnt smudge..im hooked & will definately re-purchase! especially for such a fab price, mine was 7 bucks in walmart..beats out the 20+ a pop i've spent on high end mascaras...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kyidmnmaiv on 10/26/2007 11:21:00 PM more reviews by kyidmnmaiv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Lash Blast's results are what I initially expected of Volume Exact. Big, separated lashes that don't flake. The separation really is wonderful, although I was expecting more volume. Still, I'll repurchase because for me it's a good everyday mascara.

The brush is HUGE and slightly hard to work with; not good at all for the tiny corner and lower lashes. I rated the packaging low because for some reason, the plastic feels really cheap in your hand. Definitely not the "glamorous" feeling one wants when using their favorite cosmetic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skippy_gayle on 10/26/2007 11:02:00 PM more reviews by skippy_gayle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

*EDIT*


after using this for a while i noticed during wash-off, that i was losing several lashes...i didnt think the mascara was the culprit at first, but i really think it was. it wasnt hard to wash off (water and water face wash dripped onto my lids) but something about it made me lose more lashes than normal. odd.


i got this at CVS for $9 and some change since my walmart didnt have it. what do you know it's now there at walmart for just over $6. boo. anyway. i dont normally wear cover girl mascara, as im committed to max factor's, but i had to give this fatty a try!


i first have to say i LOVE any mascara with the new rubber bristles...they really grab lashes and distribute the mascara evenly. and i am SUPER loving the fat rubber brush on this baby. its HUGE and gets EVERY lash from base to tip. it defines yet it plumps every lash to its fullest! i got it in 'very black' and it is nice and dark. this mascara is so great to layer and layer with *no* flaking! i have amazingly fat lashes with 3 coats. with many mascaras, three coats sends you right into flake and clump-city...not this one. it's so great! though one coat can do you just fine, layering makes it even better!


i have to comment though, i see this fat brush being a problem for someone with thin or short lashes---its just huge-might be difficult to control. i wonder if thats why it might not have worked for some of the reviewers who didnt end up liking it.


as for the packaging-the fat orange tube is neat and i didnt have any trouble handling the odd shaped tube during application.

go CG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LindsAllie on 10/26/2007 8:50:00 PM more reviews by LindsAllie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Definitely the best of Cover Girl's "Lash" series, but not good enough for me to repurchase. Yes, it gives you some volume and some length, but not as much as I expect from a mascara - even for a daytime look. Maybe I ask a lot, but I rely on mascara to really open up my eyes, which this one really did not do. I do not expect to repurchase this, but I did not throw it away either (as I've done with MANY disappointing drugstore mascaras in an instance of sheer fury mere moments after purchasing). Not bad, but ladies: no need to scour the earth for this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ezzyb on 10/26/2007 8:37:00 PM more reviews by ezzyb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It seems like this mascara doesn't cure cancer. I haven't lost weight since using it, and world peace hasn't broken out in our household. But this mascara does thicken and seperate my eyelashes. The brush is a little wierd at first, but I got used to it. (Then I compared it to regular ones, and, whoah nelly!)

It's good but not earth shattering. I think its about as good as I can expect from a product. Will buy again if its on sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alkispice on 10/26/2007 8:35:00 PM more reviews by alkispice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I finally found this in Fred Meyer after calling Walgreens and Target for weeks with no results. It was very difficult to find, as it wasn't in the Cover Girl aisle, but on another shelf, (not even an end shelf where they carry 'new' items), along the bottom next to some Bonne Bell stuff. Strange... Anyway, it's packaged in a fat bright orange tube with a flat, lipstick like tip and retailed at FM for $8.49 plus tax.

When I got home I immediately washed, moisturized, and applied all other makeup to my face. After lining, I applied the Lash Blast in Very Black to my top lashes without previously curling or applying lash primer. First thing I noticed is the brush isn't huge like I thought it would be. I read some reviews that compared it to Bad Gal or Dior Show, but it's not a large brush at all. It's FAT. About a centimeter in diameter not including the bristles. Like a 2-inch barrel curling iron comparing to a 1 inch, that's the difference between this and lash exact brush-wise. There are definitely differences in the bristles and/or formula as well, as the Lash Blast did a much better job with volume.

The color was very nice and dark, and I achieved a lot of volume quickly, but I did get a few clumps that had to be brushed out. I think it may have just had too much mascara on the wand for the first coat. I never dipped it back into the tube for my second eye and it went on much better, with no clumps at all. My lashes came out nicely defined, long, fanned out and voluminous with a definite curl to them that wasn't there before. I will probably give this product a five after using it several more times, I just need to figure out the kinks (using the fat brush on my small eyes, figuring out the right amount of mascara to leave on the brush). In the end, my eyes look very hot with little effort and I'm happy I bought it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products