MAC • Face and Body Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(1098 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kellor on 2/25/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by kellor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Disclaimer – Not a true product review; mixed foundation with MAC Face & Body White to find suitable shade.


Pros:
Coverage - reduces redness, light but buildable if needed
Packaging - HUGE
Consistency
Smell – non-floral
Longevity – 6+ hrs wear without touch up


Cons:
Price (must think of it as an investment)
Color Range – N1 is much too dark for me


Skin Type – Combination, Extremely Sensitive
Coloration – Cool toned and very fair


MAC is an amazing brand, though I tend to shy away from their foundations. Their foundations are typically too heavy and too dark for my liking. I’ve been using Face & Body in the shades N1 and White with great success for three years. Face & Body is my go to fall/winter foundation because it gives my skin a needed pick-me-up during the cold seasons.


I must mix the shade N1 with Face & Body White to get the right shade for my skintone. I tend to get oily gradually along my T-zone, the area around my mouth is on the dryer side, and above all my skin reacts poorly (allergic) to almost every product. Face & Body is a dream on my skin. It doesn’t cling to dry spots, it lasts amazingly well on my T-zone, and it hasn’t given my skin a rash. I don’t suffer from acne, just the occasional blemish, so I don’t know how well it covers acne and/or scaring.


The finish can be on the “dewy” side as-is, but a good finishing powder gives it a very nice satin finish. It doesn’t transfer with my skin type. It’s the perfect product when my skin is dehydrated. I wouldn’t wear it during the summer as it’s unbelievably humid where I live – that would just be asking for makeup trouble.


This is a fantastic product for age spots! I gifted this foundation to my mom and grandmother this past Christmas, and they both cannot stop raving about it. My mom uses it to even out her skintone (brown spots) and she can’t live without it now. My grandmother cannot believe the difference it has made with regards to her hands. Her hands look almost 15 yrs younger and the women at her bridge club want to know her secret.


This is a very versatile product and well worth the investment. My family and I will never be without MAC Face & Body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lulu2387 on 2/19/2012 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Lulu2387

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Now I have oily skin and would usually wear Bare Minerals, but I wanted to try this product for years after doing so many reviews and actually buying it once and returning it within half an hour. To start things of f my skin has cleared up a great deal, meaning minimum to no acne breakouts for months, brighter complexion and a more even toned complexion. And I achieved this by using Raw African Black Soap ( looks like a brick ), 100% Pure Brightening Set, and Makari De Suisse Oralight Supplements. Mac Face & Body Foundation is very oily & kind of sticky but I love the way it gives my skin the appearance of flawless skin with out the look of heavy, piled on foundation. My method of applying this foundation is with my hands, and what I do is squeeze some on to my finger tips and warm it up a bit. Then I apply it to my face like I would with a moisturizer, then pressing it into my skin to make sure it sticks and blends. Once I am done I let it sit for a few minutes to add my setting powder, which can be my Bare Minerals or Makeup Forever Hd Powder. With the Bare Minerals it can tend to move and transfer but with blotting sheets and my MUFE Hd Powder im good to go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 2/14/2012 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't used this for a long time, but I don't find it concealing enough to continue using it... I have trouble skin, with scars and acne, so I was looking for something matte and refining...this foundation feels a lot more like a moisturizer...or it looks like that actually...cause it does not hide imperfections and it makes my oily skin look GREASY in just 1 houre...does nothing...

But it might surely work if you have any other kind of skintype...

Still, this is not enough for my acne-skin...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* christi4200 on 2/13/2012 1:21:00 AM more reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm NC35 and I wear this in C4. I am in absolute love with this foundation. First off, let me say this is actually much cheaper than most popular drugstore foundations, like Revlon Colorstay, for example. Mac F&B is $32 for 4 ounces! That's $8 an ounce guys!!! Revlon Colorstay and most other drugstore foundations are upwards of $12 for an ounce! And lately when I see the just released DS foundations, they're like $17 for one ounce of product. So I rated this product as dirt cheap for this reason.
Besides the wonderful value, this is just such a great foundation. It's thin and I love thin watery foundations. They blend beautifully and naturally, feeling and looking like a second skin, so that you can't tell that you're wearing makeup at all. All the new generation foundations are thin and watery like this, but MAC came out with F&B years ago. Since this can be used on your body as well, it has awesome film forming properties, which means it doesn't transfer to your clothes (or your SO's!) or your cell phone, which as we all know is so gross to get off your phone and it's all covered in foundation. I have never been a foundation girl, even when I've tried foundations that I liked ok, I never ended up wanting to wear it regularly. Except this. It is thin, but it has amazing coverage and pigmentation for such a thin product. Don't get me wrong, it's not medium or full coverage on the first layer, but it's very buildable, which is another thing I adore about this makeup. I can wear one layer during the day, or two if I'm going out at night and want to look more perfect and polished. You could do three layers too if you have problem skin. My skin is normal to dry, and I'm currently on retin a as part of my anti-aging skincare, and the flakes I sometimes get from that are not accentuated in any way by this foundation. Also, some people say their F&B went bad because the bottle is so big, so I was advised by other MUA ers to decant a small amount into a travel size bottle to keep with my makeup, and to put the rest in the fridge, and that's exactly what I did. Just fill up your small bottle when it gets low, but keep the big one in the fridge, and you'll have no problems with it going bad or separating, like some have complained of. If you want a natural foundation that looks like your own skin, will last forever because it's HUGE, can be sheer or medium coverage, and is cheaper than your average DS foundation, buy this!!! If you couldn't tell, this is my HG! And I don't throw that term around loosely. I also own MUFE F&B, and I like this better.

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 WaikikiGoddess on 2/10/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by WaikikiGoddess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product. I haven't worn liquid foundation in years and decided to give this one a go. I went to MAC and the makeup artist matched me at N2. It looked fine in the store, but once I got home, I saw how pink it was on my skin. Took it back for C2 which was much better. I loved the coverage - sheer and glowy. That was exactly what I wanted in a foundation. I didn't like how it felt on my skin, though. I could feel it all throughout the day. I applied it with the duo fiber brush like the sales associate said, but it still felt heavy and sticky on my face. It also caused major clogged pores for me. I took it off using an oil-based cleanser and then followed with a foaming cleanser. I still had clogged pores along my chin, jaw and forehead. I returned it without any problems, but now I have to deal with my skin. Although I didn't like the foundation, I thought it was a great value at $32.50 for 4 ounces. And the nozzle top is a great idea. I really wish this foundation would have worked out for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* basmah on 2/10/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this product yet, because I love it. I am not a foundation person. I find most foundations too heavy on my skin. I generally prefer tinted moisturizers, but it's very hard to find a good one. On my skin, this offers a little more coverage than a tinted moisturizer. It is very light, I can hardly feel that I have make up on and the finish is very natural, so nobody else can see that I'm wearing foundation. I use the Sephora Mineral Powder Brush to apply this, and it gives an almost airbrush finish, but in a natural way (does that even make sense?). It's beautiful. It evens out my skin tone and makes the redness in my skin almost disappear. I am absolutely in love with this product and I find that almost all other foundations pale in comparison, because after using this one they all feel heavy on my skin. I also love the fact that this does not cling to dry patches, which is a big plus during the winter. I am very pale and N1 is slightly too dark, but when blended down into my neck it's fine. I would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 damsel19 on 2/10/2012 6:17:00 AM more reviews by damsel19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I am actually surprised at the other reviews which say that this foundation is so nice and so on and on.. Well each on their own!!
I don't know if I got a wrong batch or something, the foundation was very runny, my brush couldn't hold it. And it smelled a bit off as well. Did nothing for me, didn't even give me a sheer cover or anything.
Horrible, don't understand the hype.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellimacster on 2/9/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by ellimacster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have combination skin and I pretty much have no scars what so ever. I do have dark circles and uneven skin tone though! This foundation is a perfect match for me, it's a lot less coverage than your typical foundation but it's a little more than a tinted moisturizer. I would definitely suggest getting this if you just need it to even out your complexion. The price is great since there's so much product! I think I paid about $8 more than the regular Mac foundations that only had 30 ml. This one has much more!

As for the packaging, it took a while to get used to. Sometimes I ended up squirting more product then I needed :( = lots wasted! However I am getting used it to now, I can dispense just enough :)... unfortunately, I had to go through 1/3 of the bottle first before things got easier.

I do find that my oily t zone starts to kick in 4 hours after application though, but maybe I just need to find a better setting powder? Right now, I'm using macs prep and prime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 1/24/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had gone back & forth for several weeks about getting this foundation. I finally did it. I had to ask the board what color they thought I'd be for NC20, since it's pretty much the dead of winter(that's the color I usually am this time of year). I was given several answers but I did my own research and came up with C2. I really have to add that I am NOT NC20 like I thought I was. I tried using my NC20 concealer and it is too light, and my NC30 is too dark. So I'm going to say I'm NC25 and I've pretty much been that for several months now. C2 is perfect. It's not pink nor is it yellow. It seems pretty neutral to me. I have never ever been a foundation wearer, I usually stick to msfn or mineral foundation. I am already in love with the way this looks on the skin. It's natural looking like a tinted moisturizer but covers just enough for me. What I've been doing lately is applying only concealer and msfn & the last few days only concealer. I have so many old acne marks or scars that haven't quite gone away that I end up putting concealer on so much of my face so I figured I'd give this a try. The product itself is very runny and when first applied I didn't see very much coverage. It did seem dewy and wet for a few minutes. When it dried, I reapplied. It gave me the perfect coverage while still looking natural and not cakey. After this dried I added msfn just to get rid of the dewy finish it left, being an oily skin person I do not want to look dewy. I did not have to add any concealer today whatsoever. For this being one of my first foundations, I'm very impressed. I used a Mac 188 to apply instead of my fingers. The one last thing I'd like to add is, I've had pretty bad acne inflicted skin for some time and only in the last 3 weeks has it improved greatly. I probably would never have used this when my skin was full of breakouts.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmcmsp on 1/17/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by mmcmsp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation for a everyday look when you don't need much cover and just want to look healthy. I have dry skin and it makes me look so much better... I shake well and put a little amount in my hands. I rub my hands and put on like I put my moisturizing cream just pressing into my skin. It looks amazing. I use in C3 and usually don't powder. When I do I use Mineralize Skin Finish or the Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Loose Powder to set the concealer. It goes really well with Select Cover-up and Select Moisturecover by MAC also.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products