MAC Face and Body Foundation

4.0

1202 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene Glycol, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Talc, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Fusanus Spicatus Wood oil, Xantham Gum, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens]


on 12/26/2012 10:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Esta es una base muy ligera con un acabado satinado que le da luz a la piel (glow). No la veo útil para utilizar por sí sola, salvo para las que tengan una piel perfecta, ya que es muy poco cubritiva.
Otro detalle en contra es que no tiene FPS.
Yo la uso sobre la Dermablen de Vichy que es correctora y tiene FPS35, de esta forma la Face & Body le da un acabado luminoso a mi piel.
Pero no creo que la compre nuevamente, ya que prefiero encontrar una base que cumpla los requisitos de correctora y luminosa todo en uno. Veo esta base más útil para profesionales del maquillaje, o para quienes tienen la piel sin imperfecciones.



on 12/15/2012 6:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

(I got this in White) My skin is paler than any foundation I have found, including MAC foundations. I'm not only pale, I also have many red spots and uneven pigmentation. I only use this foundation to mix with others.
So let's start.


TEXTURE: This foundation is very liquidy, like Bobbi Browns' Skin Foundation. It spreads and blends easily, and doesn't dry too fast.


COVERAGE: If 100% is full, like MAC Full Coverage, and MAC Studio Fix Fluid is 80%, this is about 30%. It is buildable but will never cover much, so if you're planning to use this by itself, you better have decent/near perfect skin. You can spot conceal with a concealer, of course, but I would still not recommend this if you want to cover alot.


PRICE/AMOUNT: Face and Body is available in two sizes. The smallest size is 50 ml (1.7 oz) and costs 27 dollars. MAC Studio Fix Fluid is 30 ml (1 oz) for the same price, so Face and Body is cheaper.
My opinion, though, is that you can get more out of a full coverage foundation, because you can always sheer down a full coverage foundation, and still be able to get alot of coverage with a small amount.


MIXING WITH OTHER FOUNDATIONS: I mix this with other (high coverage) foundations to make the shade lighter. This takes away a bit of the coverage, making me use more - wasting money, taking more time, feeling/looking thicker, not lasting as long. I have since found a better white foundation to mix with, which already has very high coverage, so it doesn't take away any coverage. (Illamasqua Skin Base)


If you decide to mix this with other foundations, remember that Face and Body is water based, so it mixes best with water based foundations and primers. One should always try to use moisturizers, primers and foundations that are based on the same thing (silicone, oil, water) because the foundation will last much longer.


The reason I give this a 3 is because it takes away the coverage from my foundations, due to its own sheer coverage. Also, I'm not that impressed with the longevity or finish. Maybe I would use this if my skin was already perfect, but then why use a sheer foundations that barely does anything? If the skin is already good enough, one should be able to get away with powder or nothing at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2012 12:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I usually use Laura Mercier's tinted moisturizer instead of a foundation because I was one of those girls who were terrified of foundation. 6 months ago, when my Laura Mercier moisturizer was running low, I decided to shop around. I went into MAC and I've always loved their products and had a great chat with the SA. I told her about my aversion to foundation and she asked me why. I told her that I associated foundation to super white cake-y makeup that my mom used to wear when I was a kid. She asked me to trust her and she put this on me and I was shocked. It felt lighter than my tinted moisturizer and it gave me a healthier glow. I bought the small bottle just so it wasn't such a big investment and now I wish I had bought the large one. I've been using it everyday since I bought it and I absolutely love it. It hasn't caused any breakouts at all and I actually like the citrus-y scent of it. At first I applied it with a foundation brush but after reading here in MUA that it is better to apply with your hands, I've been doing that and it is so much better. I love that you can build the coverage if you need it, it gives you more control. I apply it every morning at 7am and when I come home at night after work (sometimes after 9pm), my makeup is still in place. I find this also works really well if you use a cream blush, the blush doesn't slip off your face even if you don't set it with powder. Will definitely re-purchase but I'll buy the large bottle next time!


on 12/10/2012 11:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this foundation for christmas last year, in 'C5' . I expected it to be very thick and full coverage as it being a face and body one (I never done my research) so anyway, it came in a quite large bottle with a screw cap, i have rated the packaging quality as 2 because there is no way you can use a pump with this, as it is so watery, there becomes a big runny mess squirting it directly from the bottle. Anyway, the foundation itself is actually quite good, wouldnt recomend it for oily skin but on my bad skin days my skin is oily and it went fine on me! It is a build up foundation, but I actually used it in summer as a fake tan substitute. I'd do all my tan and hair, then throw a bit of this on my face and it went beautiful. As I have olive skin, it looked natural and couldn't tell I had any on, it is a very watery foundation but is great for summer. I even used this for nights out (only for colour purposes) over a matte foundation. I am going to be purchasing this again after christmas so it is in for summer :) it also gives a few months good use. Another negative is that you have tore-apply throughout the day to top up and keep your skin looking flawless and healthy, not blotchy. Thanks for reading! xxx


on 11/29/2012 2:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I tried MAC Face and Body foundation years ago but found it far too watery and sheer for my needs at the time. I recently picked up another sample and, with it, two suggestions that have made a difference:
1. To rub it between my fingers (to warm it) before applying for more coverage.
2. Pat it onto my skin rather than rub it in.
The result: a beautiful, glowing, dewy complexion that looks natural.

Due to lack of sunscreen, I don't wear it alone unless I'm indoors all day. Instead, I am loving this to add both warmth and a glow to my slightly too pale, longer wearing liquid foundations. I mix it with Estee Lauder Double Wear (Linen) or Revlon ColorStay (Buff)- both of which are a bit too light but the closest to my skin- and end up with a smooth, healthy looking, easy-to-blend, never too matte finish that wears for hours. I'm giving this an overall 4 because of its flexibility and how it increases the quality of other products that I blend it with. Bonus: I like the scent and haven't experienced any breakouts from it so far.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2012 3:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I want to even out my skin but not add a whole lot of coverage or weight, this is it.
For light, natural coverage, I prefer it to most of the tinted moisturizers I've tried, which come in odd shades and tend to feel heavier. It does set dewy, so you will need a little translucent powder if you don't like that effect. I usually blot it down with oil-absorbing paper to remove the sheen.
I like this in hot weather because I'm going to be dewy anyway, and this is one of those products that is virtually undetectable to the naked eye if you don't set it with powder. It's also sheer enough that even if the shade you get isn't a complete match, it will blend in just fine. I've found rubbing it in with your fingers seems to "fluff" up the pigments and increases the coverage of the product.
MAC Studiofinish concealer goes on like a dream over this so I use them in combination for the "I-rolled-out-of-bed-with-perfect-skin" look.
--
The main problem, of course, is that this is one of those products that only enhances pretty-good skin. It's not going to protect, correct or mask problem skins, and if you're oily, this will make you look even shinier.
It also has a tendency to separate in the bottle over time but I haven't found that to diminish its performance. I decant it into a small eye dropper (so I can store the main bottle away in a cool dark place) and shake it before use.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2012 4:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

****ABOUT MY SKIN****
--I have normal-dry skin. Dry around my chin, nose and mouth, pretty much normal everywhere else.
--I don’t really have acne (just a few acne scars), but I have horrible hyper-pigmentation and redness on my cheeks (which requires a medium-full coverage foundation to cover it up).
****SHADE REFERENCE****
--I am a MAC NW15, and NARS Sheer Glow "Gobi Light 3", and I bought this foundation in the shade N1(which is the lightest neutral shade available) This foundation has a different numbering system to other MAC foundations, so make sure you get colour matched first.
--The colour is a little too dark for me once it dries down(it's probably a NC20).
--This foundation also comes in a white shade, which is great! You can use it to lighten up other foundation that are a little too dark
****FOUNDATION CONSISTENCY****
This foundation has a very runny, watery consistency (which makes sense since it's water based). The kind of consistency that will drip down your hand if you're not careful. Also, it has a sticky kind of feel to it. If you're blending it with your hands, it will feel slightly sticky/tacky. Once the foundation has set/absorbed into your skin, that sticky feeling goes away, so don't worry.
****FOUNDATION FINISH****
This foundation has a semi dewy/glowy finish. Not sparkly or shimmery, just gives your face a nice youthful glow.
****APPLICATION****
I have tried many ways of applying this foundation, all of which worked fine. It works fine with a brush, sponge or your fingers. The way I prefer applying it, and the way I apply pretty much all of my foundations, is to start off working it in with my fingers (the warmth in your fingers helps melt the product better in to your skin and give you a more natural finish). Then I always use a damp beauty blender sponge to blend out any streaks that my fingers left, and to make the foundation look flawless and non-cakey.
****PROS****
+This foundation is very long lasting! It is marketed as being water resistant, which it definitely is. This means you can go swimming in it and it won't come off, but if you then wipe your face with a towel (while its still wet), the foundation will come off. It is also transfer resistant and sweat resistant. *MAKE SURE U USE A WATER BASED (OIL FREE) MOISTURISER/PRIMER UNDERNEATH THIS*
+Has a very light feel on the skin, and will never look cakey or heavy! Very natural looking
+This can be used on the face and on the body (hence the name). I get those red bumps on the back of my shoulders. I use this foundation on them whenever I wear a dress/tshirt where my shoulders are visible. It offers just enough coverage to cancel out most of the redness, and because its so long lasting it wont get on your clothes or transfer (make sure you give it a few minutes to set before you put on any clothing so u dont rub it off while its still setting). You can also use it on your legs, chest, back, anywhere really.
+Has a lovely glowy finish. This can be a con (see below) if you have oily skin, but I love the glowy natural youthful finish it gives your skin!
+Comes with a huge amount of product! 120ml/4 fl.oz (4 times more than you get with most foundations which is 30ml/1 fl.oz).
+Has no SPF in it (which can be a con, see below). I love the fact that it doesn't have any SPF. It's perfect for weddings/big occasions where you know you're going to be photographed. This foundation was made for special occasions, not as an every day foundation)
+Doesn't accentuate dry patches/flakes on the face
+Shouldn't break you out (as it's water based, not oil based)
+I use this foundation to lighten up any other foundation. For example, if I think a foundation is a little too heavy feeling on the skin, I mix in a little of this stuff, and it makes it a thinner consistency and beautiful!
+It's actually very reasonably priced for how much product you get.
****CONS****
-Has VERY little coverage (sheer-light). You can build it up to a light-medium, medium at absolute most, but it's not getting anywhere near full. This won't be a con for everyone, but since I have hyperpigmentation, I need a full coverage foundation to cover it up, and this can in no way provide that. So I never use this foundation by itself (I mix it with others or use it on my body). If you have very good skin and only need light coverage, this foundation can be great for you. But if you need full coverage, not the foundation for you.
-Won't be the best for oily skinned people (as it does have that glowy finish, and has no oil controlling properties)
-This stuff settles into fine lines. Because it's so liquidy& watery, it will get into every wrinkle on ur face (from what ive experienced)
-Since this foundation is water based, you NEED TO use products underneath it that are also water based (or oil free). So your moisturiser, primer, what ever u use under this foundation also needs to be oil free (otherwise this product won't last, since if you use a moisturiser/primer with oils in it, the water in MAC face/body will clash with the oils, causing it to separate)
-I hate the squeezy nozel! You'd think its practical, but the foundation just kind of always bubbles out of the nozel (after Ive stopped squeezing the bottle), and too much always comes out (wasteful)
-Even though it comes with a lot of product, coz its so watery I use a lot more of this foundation than I do any other.
-Lack of SPF means its not practical for daily wear (use an SPF under it if u do want to wear it daily)
-Can only be bought at a separate MAC store (not counter) from what I know (in Australia that's the case anyway)
****BOTTOM LINE****
I will purchase it again, because of how versatile it is! Great for people who don't need a lot of coverage, or who want a foundation for their body. Probably not for you if you have very oily skin (will need primer/powder), or if you have a lot to cover up you will need a lot

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a really, really nice light foundation. What I love about it is the application is so easy; it is so thin in texture that I use it with my MAC 187 stippling brush to gently smooth it over my face. It also dries very well, and does not transfer onto clothing (which, sadly, so many foundations do). My skin is combination but never feels oily, it gives you a dewy look, that's for sure. I do prefer this to tinted moisturisers, if you're look for a light coverage base. I highly recommend if you're simply looking to even out skin tone, and give a nice finish. This is great for those days where you do want to wear makeup, but not make too much of an effort. I use C1 as an NC20, and it's perfect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2012 10:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm roughly an NC20 in MAC shades with neutral undertones and use the shade C1 in F&B, which is a near-perfect match for my skintone. I find it very difficult to buy foundations as most tend to lean too orange or pink or yellow on my skin but this is just right.


I like this foundation because it provides natural looking coverage, is easy to blend and is long-lasting. I have very sensitive dry skin so opt for moisturizing formulas, F&B contains several emollients and provides just the right amount of hydration for me. It's not oily or greasy in the slightest. Those with oilier skintypes may want to set with powder or use an oil-control powder though. However, I don't set it with any powder as my face doesn't get shiny throughout the day due to being dry. After 9 hours wear my skin still looks fresh and hasn't faded or slid off of my face.


I have rather good skin in terms of blemishes - my main issue is just evening out skintone. F&B does just that. I apply one layer of foundation with my hands (best way to apply in my opinion) and it completely evens out my skin and provides light coverage. If I'm going out somewhere special, I may opt for two layers of foundation for a little more coverage. It doesn't cake up or look too heavy when layered in comparison to a lot of other foundations. I always get compliments on how great my skin is when wearing F&B.


The only downside I personally have with this is the smell - rather chemically and not that pleasant, but bearable. It can also transfer a bit onto clothes if I'm not careful.


I have also tried the MakeupForever face and body foundation, which I do not like at all. It breaks me out, the longevity isn't as good as the MAC one, there is no decent colour match for my skintone, it smells bad and I find the coverage to be inferior to the MAC one also. Not to mention it's more expensive!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

---???Good foundation for those who don't like foundation???---
I know that sounds silly but I hate the feeling of having makeup all over my face. People say this is a really sheer foundation but for me personally it's still not even that sheer.


I mean that in a good way though, this product can give me a very variable amount of covergae depending on how much I put on and once I blend through I don't feel it on my face as much as I do with other foundations.
Even better is that I don't have to layer as much highlighter on top because the face and body has such a nice natural but glowy finish to it!!

Just to note, I usually use an nc43 foundation, nc42 concealer and have the face and body in C5 which I think is a good match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Vintage Style Bridal Makeup by Sharon Farrell



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top