MAC Face and Body Foundation

4.0

1137 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene Glycol, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Talc, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Fusanus Spicatus Wood oil, Xantham Gum, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens]


on 5/8/2012 6:45:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAC Face and Body Foundation is different than almost any foundation on the market. It is very sheer - probably too sheer for anyone who likes the LOOK of foundation or needs much coverage due to blemishes or discoloration. However, I think this is a great foundation for a person with good skin who just wants a bit of coverage or a mature complexion that shows too many lines & wrinkles with traditional foundation. EVERY time I wear this - at the end of the day when I look in a mirror I think, "what foundation do I have on because my skin looks great!" ...and I am 59 with some spots and capillaries I prefer to make go away!

A few things to know. You have to shake it well prior to use. You should put a little concealer over any issue areas prior to use and then buff this product into your skin. It is buildable if you are patient and let the first application dry before reapplying but you will never (in my opinion) get the look of traditional foundation - which for me took a while to get used to. But, I am tired of looking older due to foundations....both liquid and powder. This looks good on me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 5/8/2012 2:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This by far my favorite foundation by MAC. Its 120ml and its only $33.

Consistency:
You have to shake the bottle to mix the product well. Its runny because it is water based.

Coverage:
Sheer - Light to Medium, the great thing about this product is its buildable. If you have a clear skin, this is perfect for you. But if you are like me who has few blemishes you need to have to apply the product twice.

Finish:
It has a dewy finish and I set it with my MAC MSF - Medium.

Shade: C4

I find it easier for me to apply it with my fingers but if you are more comfortable with brushes, I recommend using MAC 187. If you are looking for a sheer coverage, this is for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 1:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE! very well blendable, nice subtle smell and lovely coverage (i don't really ever get acne or any bad pimples, therefor no blemishes!) it does balance out my skin tone though and and gives me a lovely glow! my very dry skin feels very moisturized with this, wouldn't recommend it for the oily ones though! i'm not quite sure how long-lasting it is, it's definitely a good idea to wear a powder to give it more staying-power! also the amount of foundation you get is amazing for the price!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Perfect coverage for evening out skintone. It doesn't break me out and doesn't make me shiney as long as I wear a light moisturizer underneath it. It already has a dewiness to it so you want to save the heavier moisturizers for night time before bed, I wouldnt wear this with them. It has a orangey scent and it's impossible to look cakey it's so light and airy on my skin. I feel like it lets my skin breathe and you cannot even tell I'm wearing it, it just looks like real eventoned skin. All you need is a good concealer to pat on top of any problem spots and you'll love this foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2012 5:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

There are certain things that I like about this foundation, but it certainly also has its downsides. I like the colour selection, where N2 is close to perfect most of the year. Usually, I'm unable to find a match in MAC's foundations for my light, neutral skintone, with NC being too yellow, and with NW most of the time leaning orange. I also like the fact that F&B is light, yet buildable, and that it doesn't transfer once it's set. But that's about it. First of all, I normally prefer not to use powder on top of liquid foundation, because my skin is dry, and I find that it accentuates any dry flakes/spots, plus gives a more matte result. With this foundation, I just have to use powder on top, because the result with foundation on bare (moisturised, primed) skin is just too sticky, and feels quite heavy, despite its lightness. So I won't repurchase, and will probably test MUFE F&B, to see whether that fares better in the stickiness department.


on 5/1/2012 2:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for 2 years now and I am only on my second bottle. I like the light coverage but you must powder over it to make it last. You get a huge amount for your money. Best foundation for people that just want their skin to be even and dewy looking. Not suggested for acne as it doesn't cover near enough. The bottle tends to leak out of the top no matter how it is stored and use half of what you think you will need, as a little goes a long way.
EDIT** I have stopped loving this. Since I have removed it from my regimen I have seen fewer breakouts (none to be exact), healthier skin and more evenness. I think my problem is that I have great skin to begin with and only need concealer here and there.


on 4/28/2012 9:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Lightweight liquid skin! That's how I would describe MAC FB. I'm around NC20/25 and I use C1. Now, I know that some people complain of the lower amount of coverage it gives but I think it actually covers fairly well. It's lightweight, similar to a tinted moisturizer, but the coverage is similar to a medium coverage foundation. This is not for you if you have very obvious scarring, hyperpigmentation, etc to cover up. But if you have ok skin with some redness, slight scarring, etc then this is great.

ONE BIG CON: if you have easily congested, acne prone skin, DON'T get this! I can't wear this everyday because after a week, my skin would be plauged with zits! But I find that if I wear this just for special events, then my skin won't act up. I wouldn't repurchase just because it doesn't suit my skin, but I think would be great if you don't have acne prone skin. :)


on 4/27/2012 3:58:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love MAC Face & Body foundation. I have the N2 and C1, use moisturizer first, put some F&B on my hand, dot onto face, apply it with a duo fibre stippling brush, then with fingers press into skin all over - perfect, quick, lasts well, somewhat buildable. Light coverage, but more than many tinted moisturizers. Dewy finish but may depend on the moisturizer you use underneath it (I use Clinique DDML and add EL Daywear or Moisture Surge Intense sometimes). Shake up the bottle before using. Best for dry or mature skin, or for those super-dewy runway looks. (NC20-25).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2012 10:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Awful! No coverage.... It was like applying water to my face. Didn't do anything for me. Very disappointing due to the high ratings it got. Tried to put it on several ways and still got the same result. Seemed more sheer than tinted moisturizer. Back to mac it goes.


on 4/25/2012 9:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why I didn't buy this to begin with. It's the best foundation I have used up until now. I used to use L`oreal Infallable. Used L`oreal foundations for years and I was on the hunt for something better because it just wasn't make my skin look dewy and nice. It was always cakey! Tried this at the MAC store and was sold. It gives your skin a nice dewyness. It doesn't get cakey. Blends nice and gives a nice buildable coverage. Although I use a MAC concealer for a little more "coverage"(ie: acne, redness...) It may seem a little pricey, but it lasts! I bought mine in November and I have just under half left. L`oreal Infallable lasted me maybe a month. I wear it everyday and sometimes redo my makeup 2x a day because of my job. I think it's worth it for the price. I highly recommend to give it a try:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Vintage Style Bridal Makeup by Sharon Farrell

Back to Top