MAC • Face and Body Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(1026 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 hellofrankie on 9/5/2011 9:50:00 PM more reviews by hellofrankie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this foundation, at the cost of $40 something dollars (in Canada). The MAC MUA said that this would be good for my oily/combination skin and matched me to C2. Honestly, I should've just tried it in store then walked on it for a day to see it's lasting power but I didn't (I've never been too good at saying no to sales associates, unfortunately). By the time I realized that this foundation wasn't for me, I had misplaced the receipt. Plus I kept thinking that I should try it with different powders, primers, application methods and/or brushes. Over the last few months, I have tried to make this work for me and Ive come to the realization that this is sadly a $45 burden in my makeup collection. Let me state first what I did like about it: 1) the packaging: the squeeze tube is easy to use, and the plastic bottle is travel-friendly. 2) The smell: I know other ppl don't like it, but I actually liked this slight floral scent, better than some wax/chemical smell I usually smell from foundations 3) Layering: this product is condusive to many layers and doesn't pill or cake. High points for that.

Onto what I didn't like (which were too many for me to keep using this product): 1) the oil: I honestly don't know what the MUA was thinking selling me this foundation. The moment I set this, my face would be "glowy" then quickly become greasy within an hour, despite all my efforts (primer, powder, less product etc). 2) Smudging: it came off so easily onto my clothes, my boyfriends clothes, my hands, no matter what I did, it would not fully "set". Even my trusty Clinique powder could not make this stay on my face. Hours would pass by but it would still smudge onto clothes or hands. Alas I can't even use it for legs or arms, for fear of smudging
3) durability: similar to #2, the foundation would be gone in about 4 hours, leaving me with blotchy skin.

I do truly regret buying this foundation. Please please go and get a sample first to try it before you purchase, since obviously there is a variety of experiences (obv some ladies enjoyed this). Just try it first!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 esmerelda2007 on 9/3/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by esmerelda2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I really wanted to like this. In fact, I do like it. Love how the shade is just perfect for me. (N9). I dont have to mix shades or anything -its perfect. But! I turn to a greaseball by the time I reach my workplace in the morning. And I need several touchups with my blot powder during the work day to keep my face shine-free. Weird, cos I dont have oily skin per se. But what is a real deal-breaker for me is this: this is the only foundation I have uses so far that is BRAEAKING ME OUT. I never ever have breakouts - just the occasional pimple here and there when my period is coming. But every moring I see this tiny little pimples that yes, they do dry up a few days later but they're leaving tiny scars, as well! So, no repurchase on this one. NW45 in MAC.
I guess I'll stick with my revlon colorstay and MAC Studio Fix powder foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Megan88 on 8/31/2011 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Megan88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this after reading the good reviews on here & glad I did! I don't like wearing heavy foundation, it breaks me out & my skin is pretty good most of the time so I don't need full coverage, but I needed something more than my mineralize skinfinish natural for work to make me look 'done up', but not too much... if you get what I mean! This fits my needs perfectly. Its sheer, somewhere between a tinted moisturiser & an actual foundation, & when worn with the skinfinish on top makes me look polished and healthy, a real 'natural' makeup look. I think you need to wear it with powder, its too dewy otherwise.
I apply it with my fingers and rub it in like a mouisturiser, which is quick & easy in the morning. Sometimes I use 2 layers if i feel the need. It blends easy. With the powder on top it seems to last all day too. Also It's 120ml so its a good deal for the price I reckon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelydiva on 8/23/2011 4:34:00 AM more reviews by lovelydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Of all mac foundations i've tried this is by far the best foundation. I have combination skin and most of the foundations doesnt last on my face well but this one does. Now i wear this everyday to school becos it is lightweight..it gives a decent coverage and more than a tinted moisturiser i must say. The best dewy/glowy foundation i've tried so far. I use powder on top to make a little matte finish. I tried with my fingers, it didnt work..now i'm using with coastal scents dome shape kabuki foundation brush...Just perfect!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XxTiffanybabeexX on 8/21/2011 10:18:00 PM more reviews by XxTiffanybabeexX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

even though i just got this foundation a couple days ago im ready to review it. I really like this foundation. some basic information about it is that is offer very light and breathable coverage but can easily be built aswell, which is a plus. you get tons of products 4 oz asopposed to the standard 30ml/1 oz in most foundations. Has a versitile finish un-powdered has a very dewy/satin look and set with a powder it has a semi-matte to matte finish. aswell as it being water resistant. now, on to why i adore it. for reference i have decent skin with an somewhat oily chin, dry cheeks and normal everywhere else. this products is great on my combo skin, it last all day. i put on a layer then on i put another layer on my chin around my nose and set it on my chin with translucent powder and nowhere else and it looks so pretty. i rearly use concealer when i wear this foundation, so i dont compromise the finish of it. i just find anything is wrong with this foundation. I own several mac foundations and i can pick out several things that i hate about all of them, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jueykang on 8/20/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by jueykang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Love this! Feels like a tinted moisturizer, but with more coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 staraya on 8/16/2011 1:08:00 PM more reviews by staraya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

From the many reviews I've read and the people I know that swear by this I wish I could love this, but I just can't. Now, I do love my MAC eyeshadows and blushes but when it comes to foundations I can't stand them. I've never broken-out from other foundation be it HE or DS but whenever I put any MAC foundation be it SFF, Studio Sculpt, Pro Longwear. I always seem to break out.
This feels more like a tinted moisturizer than anything else, but unlike the TM this doesn't really 'sink' into your skin. It just sits there. Transfers like crazy. The coverage is build-able but can look too oily if layered too much, can make you look like a grease ball if you're oily. It comes with 4fl oz of product compared to the standard 1fl oz foundations come in. Great for people with good skin that just need to even out their skin tone. Good for dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 8/13/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is exactly what I wanted; a light water-based foundation that would give me good coverage. I wear C3 (usually NC30-35). C3 is a great match since it blends effortlessly and gives no obvious lines. I find using just one layer is a bit sheer for me, so two layers is just right and covers the redness on my cheeks. I still need to do the usual concealer around the eyes and nose since Face and Body doesn't cover that too well. It gives me a fresh dewy glow and is very natural looking. Has a moisturizing formula and didn't accentuate dry flakes of skin (which is usually a problem I find with foundation). I do have an oily T-Zone, so this still needs to be set with powder because it doesn't provide the best oil-control (in my opinion). It has a runny consistency, so I avoid applying with a brush since it soaks up too much product and wastes it. I usually just apply with my fingers then use a sponge to blend. For me, it was transfer resistant and comes off easily with my regular cleanser. Has been the most priciest foundation I've brought so far (NZD $75), but it comes in a big 120mL bottle which will last me for quite sometime. Is flash photography friendly too. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hippiepippie on 8/13/2011 10:28:00 PM more reviews by hippiepippie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I realize I sound soo spoiled with good skin now, but this really is too covering a foundation for me. Prior to this I used MAC Studio Moisture Tint in Light (I have F&B in the lightest shade, N1), which had the perfect coverage for my skin .. However this is much cheaper (even though it's without spf, which I apply separately), so this is how I make it work: First I apply my ordinary moisturizer, then spf 15 for the face, and then I mix more of my ordinary moisturizer with this foundation (a little bit more moisturizer than F&B) and apply to my face and neck. I turns out very nice, so I don't see why I'd stop using it. And that much moisturizer all together is actually good for my face, 'cause I have really dry skin. If this is how this foundation is gonna be, I will repurchase. Five lippies.
--------------
EDIT: This broke me out LIKE CRAZY. HUUUGE boils along my entire jawbone, and more and more appeared all the time. And I am not acne prone, and never have been. Not more than a couple of days after I stopped using this, they stopped popping up. I am tossing this in the thrash can (but would actually prefer to burn it in my back yard, if I had one :D). One lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shoegal27 on 8/11/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by shoegal27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Ohh, how I wish I could love this foundation!! I bought it at the big, big, big Sephora on the Champs Elysees in Paris; had my whole face done by the beautiful guy on the MAC counter, bought all the make up and a load of Sephora PRO brushes......... For that day, I loved it. Then I got it home. I just could not recreate that beautiful, luminous glow that looked dewy and not, well, SWEATY. That's the only way I can describe it. The bottle sits in my make up drawer and every so often I bring it out and try again. I've tried it with all my brushes, as a primer under Bare Minerals foundation AND slapped it on with my fingers. Also, I have oily Mediterranean skin which looks like an oil slick if I don't use a powder, but a powder over this makes it look cakey. It has never made me break out in spots or anything but I do have very robust skin which never really does anything. I hate to say it too, but I think the guy colour matched me wrong and I didn't notice because of all the bronzer/blusher on my face in the shop; I have NC42/NW30 depending on the time of year, and the nice man matched me an N2. I've tried friends' colours and I'm definitely more an N5. That said, some of my friends loved it, one is a model and won't use anything else. Such a shame as I really like the idea and want to love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products