MAC Face and Body Foundation

4.0

1156 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene Glycol, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Talc, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Fusanus Spicatus Wood oil, Xantham Gum, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens]


on 7/4/2012 10:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So I'll start out by saying that I have combination skin- oily t-zone and really dry everywhere else. I first was suggested by a MAC employee "studio fix fluid." found that stupid fix is terrible for dry skin and I don't have many imperfections just the one pimple here and there. I have red hair and freckles and I embrace my freckles so I took back the studio fix asking for a "lighter coverage" but not a tinted moisturizer because I like liquid foundation. Im an NW20 and was matched with N2 in this and I loooooove this product! No breakouts so far and if I ever breakout badly it's because of a bad foundation. This is the only MAC foundation that people have said didn't break them out. It is $33 usd but you get 4 oz!! That's a ton for a liquid foundation!! Definitely going to repurchase whenever it's used up!



on 6/24/2012 12:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been wearing this foundation in N1 for about a year and have almost gone through 1 bottle. It is a much larger bottle than most foundations. I apply with an essence of beauty foundation brush. This foundation gives a very light, natural coverage that even out my skin tone, but does not look like I am wearing a ton of make up. It also doesn't emphasize my fine lines. My skin is pretty sensitive and this does not irritate it or cause breakouts. For a primer I use the Hard candy primer available at walmart and I finish with a light dusting of NARS powder in Snow, which adds a little bit more coverage. I usually finish with Fix+ as well. The staying power is ok, it lasts through a work day but I have to re apply if I'm going out after work. Overall, I really like this for a light coverage, natural looking every day foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2012 12:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

First of all I want to say that English is not my mother tongue. So don't kill me if I make the occasional grammar and vocabulary mistake.
So on with the review:
I live in a country where heavy make up is a little frowned upon. That's why this foundation is perfect for me. It's water based so it is very natural. Because it is water based, you do have to shake it every time you used it. I bought this product TWO years ago, and today I finally ran out of it. TWO YEARS. I must say that I use this product as a concealer, because my skin is not that bad at all. But two years is a long time and I use it as a concealer on regular bases.
What I do have to say that after a year the smell becomes different. But I think that that is more than logic.
It gives a very light coverage, so it isn't for everyone.
You get a lot of product and the price is decent.
I recommend it for persons with pretty good skin. It doesn't cover that great. It is more like a tinted moisturizer.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2012 12:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. This is fast becoming my favorite. I have this in C7 which I set with C6 powders. Good shade match especially on undertone but, slightly dark which is why I set it with a lighter powder. The match is excellent for summer. I can also set this with MSF Natural in Medium dark or Lancome Dual finish in Caramel. It can be layered and works on my skin whether dry or oily. Does not make me look greasy. I used this on vacation for some reason my eyes and skin were bone dry and it still looked great. Also photographs well.


on 6/14/2012 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm in love with this! My new holy grail light-medium coverage foundation! I use my everyday minerals flat kabuki brush to apply it, usually two thin layers. I have some redness on my cheek and this actually covers it! I have major redness under my nose that isn't completely covered so I need concealer for that (MAC's prolongwear concealer). Other than that, it looks perfect. I set it on my forehead, nose, under my nose (redness), and chin (basically keeping cheeks glowy/dewy) and it stays on! I have oily/combination skin and this still works for me. People call this a summer foundation but I don't do my foundations by seasons (besides the color).. I do it by how much coverage I want that day. This is the perfect light-medium coverage foundation & I will be using it all year round! I'm an NC30-32 (sometimes a little darker) and C3 will be good year round, which I'm sooo excited for! I have extremely warm yellow undertones and my face matches my neck perfectly. The finish is so dewy and extremely natural. I didn't understand it when people said it looked like skin but it really just looks like I have better skin than I do (less redness in my cheeks). Love it!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2012 3:33:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

THIS ONE IS A WINNER, SUITABLE FOR EVERYONE...
I absolutely love MAC pro face and body foundation. The formula is light and versatile, can be used alone or with other products. It is also buildable for just the right coverage according to your preference. I am so impressed with the performance as well. I use this on my entire face and decolletage. It lasts all day.
Suitable for all skin types from oily to dry to combination. I have dry/mature skin and after wasting $ trying almost every "anti-aging" foundation out there - this really works for me. And it's not even advertised as such :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As a fan of MAC's staying power on most products (their lipsticks stain my lips well into a day after adventures, rarely re-apply), I am afraid that this product just hadn't held up to the expectations I had.

I have skin that is very oily only when I wear moisturizer and foundation or excercise a lot, but without make up, I feel relatively oil-balanced.

My skin has acne scars from late elementary-junior high (where as I'm 18 now) and overall pinkness because I am fair skinned with warm undertones, anemic, and have extremely sensitive skin; regardless of if I touch my blemishes or not, they will scar because of the sensitivity.

This product provided temporary relief for me. For a few weeks, my skin looked absolutely perfect using it. I did have to use a few layers because it is thin, and I know that contributed to this oiliness factor, but I used very thin layers and built them up with a MAC stippling brush; as a MAC make up artist applied on me when I bought it.

I got compliments on my skin within the first few weeks, and had several people even ask what foundation I use (which had never happened before)

However, a few weeks later, my skin started breaking out even worse than before I started using it. Whereas since about 16-17, I haven't gotten too many bad pimples.. I have blackheads on my nose and small bumps that sometimes have red pigment, but mostly contribute to uneven texture. But post using this, my skin began developing puberty acne again, which for me was a hell of gross cystic/pustule acne. Really unfortunate.

When I would wash my face after using this, it felt like such a relief to get it off. It is definitely a make up that you MUST wash off as soon as possible. Not ideal for the person who cannot stick to a very routine skincare schedule, around the same times daily and the same methods.

There were a few times where I fell asleep with it still on, and woke up sometimes nearly wanting to cry because my skin would react so badly to it. Because my skin was in a bad condition, I felt insecure about even spending the night with my boyfriend or friends at the time... I didn't want to fall asleep with my make up still on and wake up to a nasty oil slick and break out in the morning, but I didn't want to wash my face before bed and expose the terrible damage the make up had done to my skin (majority of my friends either don't wear foundation/never have, use it very rarely, or use it very sparingly- as to cover up a pimple here or there and use it more like a dab of concealer). I have hardly any friends that have full on acne, let alone pimples... some of them freak out when they get a SINGLE pimple.

One of my old best friends who has had maybe 5 pimples in her life and the most beautiful skin ever tried to convince me to not wear foundation, but when you've had bullying as a child for bad skin, foundation is unfortunately a shield of armor... and those who have not experienced terrible skin would not understand, and the brave ones who can bear their blemished skin are really inspiring.

There are times where I will let myself not wear foundation, but during this period of using this, I did not even want to look at my skin without it.

At school, the lights and humidity affected my skin a lot with this makeup also, so if you're in a bright lit/warm area and you also have oily/acne prone skin, you might experience the sliding oil slick mess I did. By 2nd period, my makeup felt as if it had slid entirely off my face. I was re-applying it several times a day, and then just gave up because I hated the cakey feel and prefer to wash my face before I put on make up rather than re-apply it over old makeup.. especially with foundation!

However, if you're someone with either of these...
- nearly perfect skin
- dry skin
- non-sensitive skin that isn't prone to break outs

then it might really work for you. I don't want to entirely bash this, because it's great for people who have tough skin that can handle a lot and want their skin to really glow (the look it provided for me in the first few weeks). I have seen my friends with dry skin apply it and the oil in it actually makes their skin look way better because it balances it. However, the oils in this on top of oily skin are a war zone.

As tempted as I am to try this once more, I don't think I could handle the long-term effects again.
Not to mention that the large bottle needs to be cut open with scissors if you plan on getting the last of the product out, because it is so big, there is probably an ounce worth just lining the inside of the bottle.

I will continue to look for a product just like this minus the oil/break out effects.
Good luck to the dry-skinned, this will probably not give you problems unless you are prone to break outs!

xoxo
(P.S. I know some people appreciate the detail, but that many don't have the time to read my novels... So if you stopped reading/skipped over a lot, it's totally understandable. I applaud anyone who read my full review. I type/talk a lot, so naturally I will always leave long reviews. :) )

17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2012 2:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the best foundation I've used and I've used quite a few. At first I felt it didn't provide enough coverage for me, but I've since fallen in love with the natural look I can achieve with this product. When I get blemishes, I do rely on a good concealer. I have combination skin, and I do also use prep + prime powder to eliminate some of the shine. I've had more compliments on my complexion than ever since using this foundation so I'm really happy and will keep repurchasing. Good value!


on 6/2/2012 12:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to find a nice, light foundation for the summer that I would be able to use even if I happen to tan a little more. This is seriously perfect! It's definitely thinner than your average foundation because it's water-based, so it's kinda strange to work with at first. I apply it like how I apply any other foundation, and I let it set for a couple of minutes before applying a second layer. The coverage is pretty light, but it cancels out any redness (for me) pretty well. You can build up this foundation in several layers and it still won't look cake-y, which is awesome! After, I set it with my Korres Setting Powder, and it seems to stay on my face pretty well throughout the day without turning my face into an oil canvas. However, I have noticed more clogged pores, and I'm not sure if it's due to the foundation or my mistake of constantly falling asleep with my makeup on (oops!).

At $33.00 USD for 4 oz, you really can't beat that price. The average high-end foundation is around $42.00 USD for 1 oz, so you're definitely getting your money's worth. The packaging does suck a little because it can get really messy, but that's normal.

I've yet to use this on my body (back acne scars) and I hope it works as well as it does on my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2012 2:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

can i start of saying, my skin is far from perfect and i still use this foundation. im fed up of hearing reviews about how apparently this foundation isnt suited for blemished skin. yes, it wont cover blemishes well, but foundation isnt made to cover up blemishes, its for evening out skintone. concealer is for blemishes! so dont feel that if youve got acne you must cover up your skin with a mask of heavy foundation.
rant aside, this foundation is beautiful, very light but buildable coverage, and leaves a sheen to the skin. i find with this foundation i need to powder throught the day, but it lasts surprisingly well, considering its water based. oh, and it looks like your skin, but better. i know alot of foundations claim this, but f&b really does. plus it has great value for money, you get like triple the amount of a regular foundation and the price isnt bad at all. highly reccomended.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top