MAC • Face and Body Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(1110 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 smatte77 on 3/24/2012 5:17:00 PM more reviews by smatte77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been eyeing this foundation for awhile now, and just picked it up during a MAC store haul. I have normal skin with the occasional period break out, slight redness around the nose, and a pore or two here or there that's slightly large. My nose can get slightly shiny during the day, but nothing crazy. In other words, my skin is pretty nice overall. I don't like the feel of heavy foundations, and I heard really good things about this stuff. I wanted something sheer that would cover up my slight redness but still let my natural skin shine through. This delivers. **NOTE - if you are someone who likes full coverage, this is NOT the product for you. However, it is buildable, so you can add a 2nd or 3rd layer without it looking cakey, and still managed to look natural. For reference, I am between an NW20 - NW25 with mostly pink undertones. I fall into the neutral category. The SA matched me to an N3, and it blends seamlessly into my skin.

The consistency is creamy and sheer. I only use a pea sized amount and it spreads really nice. It comes off as only a tad bit heavier than tinted moisturizer, and it feels really natural on your skin. The SA put MAC's Strobe Cream on before the F&B and then used the 187 brush to blend in the F&B all over my face. She then lightly dusted my T-zone with MAC Select Sheer pressed powder. When she was done, she handed me a mirror and told me to walk outside and check it out in the sun. WOW. Lovely, dewy finish. I ended up buying the Strobe Cream as well (LOVE IT).

There are couple CONS to this foundation for me. One, I do not like that it does not have an added sunscreen to it. But I wear an SPF lotion before I put on make-up so that remedies that. Two, it's waterproof and while some might find that a plus, I don't. However, I feel like the PROS overpower those issues for me, so it's worth it.

**TIP: Some have said that this foundation made them break out. The SA told me that you need to be sure you're using a waterproof make-up remover to break it up when you take it off. In other words, your normal cleanser won't cut it. I picked up Rimmel's oil-free waterproof make-up remover and it did the trick. Then I followed with my usual cleanser.

The price might sound high, but like others here have said, the amount you get is really worth it. It's 4oz for $33 and will last forever because you don't need a lot. The packaging is cute. It kind of reminds me of a craft store bottle of glue or something. It's plastic, which I love...so in case you drop it, it won't shatter. I rated it a 4 simply b/c I wish it was not waterproof and had SPF, but has nothing to do with the performance. I plan to re-purchase.

**EDIT: This stuff is AH-MAY-ZING. And after a little more research, it turns out this stuff actually DOES have some sunscreen in it. I looked on CosDNA and there are a few things in it that are actually sunscreens, even though the bottle doesn't say so. Weird. I've only been using this stuff for a few days and I AM IN LOVE. I have not broken out (fingers crossed) and I can't believe how versatile this product is. I use a light wash of it over my entire face with a duo fibre brush, and then take a little more with my fingers and pat over a blemish I have and it covers it like a concealer. Mind you, my skin is pretty nice so I'm not saying someone with problem skin will be able to conceal major problems areas, but for what I need it to do, it performs amazingly well and feels like my skin.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaMarieT on 3/23/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaMarieT

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I normally think MAC cosmetics are overrated. I'm a firm believer in the possibility of finding drug store products that rival high-end brands. However, after culminating so many foundations that only leave me disappointed and looking for more, I decided to invest in something from MAC. Honestly, this was the best decision I've made for my beauty regime as of late.



I have dry skin that is prone to being sensitive. Most foundations I try either accentuate existing dry patches or end up stealing away any moisture I had to begin with. I'm often left with a cakey and flaky face. It's always been a pain to find my perfect shade (I have a light olive skin tone that ends up looking more beige and medium). I often have problems with coverage, too. I like looking natural and complimenting the features I already have. My skin is relatively nice despite its dryness; I don't have much discoloration, any acne scars I get will disappear quickly, and I only ever get the occasional pimple around the time of my period. Skin care is a high priority of mine, so I take face specific products seriously. If you have a skin type like mine, MAC's Face and Body Foundation is something you must try. Must.



Seriously, you get A LOT of product with this, and I do mean a lot. There's 120 ml -- compare that to the average 30-40 ml found in foundations. You may pay around $33 - $35, but this will definitely last you. It's also water-based, so it feels very soothing on your face. It moisturizes, softens, and it doesn't even make your skin feel greasy or heavy in the process. The coverage allows room to build. It starts off light, but you can build it to medium. It also gives you a dewy glow that looks healthy and radiant. This doesn't melt off your face, either; Expect long-lasting staying power here. This is perfect for the warmer weather, too, being water-resistant as well.



Overall, this foundation is my HG. No longer do I need to waste cash on the search for the perfect foundation. Even if the price turns you off from purchasing this, please remember the quantity you get, the quality it offers, and how much you usually spend when looking for the right foundation. I still believe you should always start looking in drug stores for the best cosmetics for cheap (especially for eyeshadows and mascaras), but I also think foundation is the one product worth splurging for. Dry skin, this is what you've been looking for. Get it, people!


BTW, if anyone is curious, my shade is C2. I'll most likely be around C3 - C4 when I naturally tan more in the summer. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lovemymakeup on 3/15/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Lovemymakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ive finally found my summer foundation ;) light but gives me the coverage I need I'm Nc 30-35 and I got this in c4 and it blend quite well looks like skin :) only better! I like to add a lil of Mac strobe liquid as a hilighter n I get lots of complements! Love that its stays put n doesn't dry or make my skin oily overall grate foundation and u get 3x more than the reg size foundation so I bet it will last me forever! Cant wait to try n use it in my airbrush kit n apply it like that, also it photographs. Awesome

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JasmineJolene on 3/15/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation. I bought it after reading several reviews on MUA - I was specifically looking for a foundation with no SPF as I am getting married in June.
I was advised to apply it using a buffing brush, but after experimentation I find fingers are best. I work quickly with it, and get a lovely sheer coverage that evens out my skintone. My skin is pretty good, a little red in places but no blemishes really. I do have large pores though. I like to reapply after a couple of minutes for a little more coverage, and in experimentation have applied 3 coats and not experienced any caking. Once it has dried on my skin (it's water based so you really need to allow this time to dry) I then use a buffing brush to apply loose powder. I pat it on then dust off excess. Using this method I truly get an air-brushed look that erases signs of my pores.
The bottle is excellent and shouldn't be a problem to get all the product out as it is liquidy anyway. The price is good, as you get a lot even if you do have to pay a fair amount at the outset.
As it stands, I have today been wearing this foundation for about 6 hours and have a bit of a greasy nose (nothing new!) but on the whole it has held up. Even where it has got greasy, I have none of the nasty caking and sliding off that I get with other foundations.
For reference, I have shade N3 which in the bottle I feel looks a little too dark, but which blends nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 3/14/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for a while, so I wanted to update my review. I have the shade N1, it matches my porcelain skin perfectly. I use Sephora's ultra smoothing primer (the clear gel one) then Clinique's instant perfector in Light. Now for the application: I use a damp 187 brush and squeeze about a dime size amount of F&B onto the back of my hand. Then I usually add 1-2 drops of MAC Lustre Drops. With the 187, I swirl it all together then stipple it onto my face. Once all the product is on my face, I start blending in circular motions in small sections at a time. It does have a bit of a dewy finish but doesn't look greasy at all. I think this is a wonderful foundation -- not thick or heavy, paired with the 187 brush, this combo produces a beautiful finish. Plus one bottle will last FOREVER!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 3/10/2012 11:47:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is very sheer but buildable foundation. It sets as a natural (kinda moist) finish on the skin. For all these reasons I should hate it for my combo and very oily t zone skin type, but I love it. I don't have much skin problems just need some evening out of my skin tone and this leaves the most beautiful finish on my skin. I love the way it looks when it sinks into my skin. I apply with a Real Techniques buffing brush and use my hands afterwards to really blend it in and powder only my T zone with Blot powder. This was a life saver when Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit face wash destroyed my great skin! I was left with severely dry/irritated/flaky red skin, and FB was the only thing that really moisturized my skin. This is definitely a colder weather use for me as it will be not matte enough in Texas summers hence the 4 stars, but I will continue to use it since I've found it's an amazing product to mix with my other heavier cream or foundations bought too dark! And you definitely get more bang for your buck for the massive size that it comes in!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toomuchjoy on 3/10/2012 2:50:00 AM more reviews by toomuchjoy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Every time I try to venture out and try a new foundation, I keep coming back to this one. I've been using this foundation for over a year and now I can't stand the feeling of heavier (both in consistency and level of coverage) foundations. This is my daily foundation.

Mac Face and Body is a water-based foundation with buildable light to medium coverage. I've been applying this with a Real Techniques stippling brush. It leaves a very dewy sheen on the skin so I just smooth over the center of my face with my fingers to make sure it's really set in. I powder my forehead and nose but I like the dewy effect on my cheeks. I find this is really nice in the winter when my skin's a bit dull.

I wear the shade C4 which is slightly dark for me in these winter months but the sheerness of the foundation is very forgiving so blending is key. Even so, I've been mixing it with Neutrogena Healthy Skin in a shade that's too slightly too light for me and that's been working fine.

This foundation is really good at evening the skin tone and allowing your natural skin to show through. It won't cover blemishes, so you'll have to use a heavy duty concealer. I find I can cover most of my problem areas by buffing the product in those areas and building up the layers. I apply a light layer everywhere else. Face and Body is probably best for those with dry to normal skin types.

It's also a great value for the price. You get 4 oz of product for $33. Other Mac and higher end foundations are in the $30+ range and the standard bottle size is 1 oz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzyqz1970 on 3/9/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by suzyqz1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I waited a few months before I wrote this review because quite honestly, I wasn't terribly impressed. Since you can only buy this online or at a MAC store, I was on a mission my last trip to Chicago to find this stuff. The SA matched me to C2 and I am normally a NC25 in StudioFix. Anyway, I get it home and use it. Meh. Coverage was very sheer and it seemed a little dark at first. It definately had a nice dewy finish though but I was a little concerned due to the fact I'm pretty oily. So, not totally impressed so I put it away for a while and recently started using it again. TOTALLY different experience when I apply 2 layers of this magic elixir!!! Coverage is wonderful! I get a dewy not oily non-caky finish with just a light dusting of powder over it and get this: although it went on a little dark at first, by the end of the day, it looked so natural on that it just looked like I had great skin!! To be reasonably, I'm not trying to cover active acne but I do have an acne scar or two a some mild pigmentation areas. I'm not sure if you're looking for major coverage if this is the foundation for you but I am totally in love with this foundation and I have tried a LOT. It's also pretty reasonably priced because the bottle is so huge. I've had no issues with my oily skin making it slide off my face either. We'll see if that changes come summer. I'm very pleased with the foundation. Wonderful to be able to truely build coverage with this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiyamurph on 3/9/2012 7:49:00 PM more reviews by kiyamurph

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was introduced to Face and Body last summer when my makeup artist used it on me on my wedding day. I'd never heard of it before then because I always visited the MAC counters in a department store and F&B is only sold in a freestanding pro store. I got married in July in Ohio and at the time it was super hot and humid. My makeup held up beautifully during the wedding and on my honeymoon I came across a pro store and immediately purchased this. What I love about this product is that it's perfect for people like myself with dry skin. I was previously using MAC's Studio Fix foundation and for the longest time after I applied it, I would look in the mirror and wonder why my face just didn't look the way I wanted it to. Once I finished my face with Skinfinish Natural, my face would look okay, but I noticed that the Studio Fix kind of aged me a bit. It wasn't until I purchased the F&B that I realized what was glaringly obvious about the Studio Fix is that it gives a matte finish, and paired with my dry skin it made me look dull. The F&B feels like it moisturizes my skin a little and gives me a nice dewy finish. Because I have dark skin, a dewy finish has the tendency to make me look shiny, so paired with the Skinfinish Natural, it gives me a flawless look and I no longer looked older. I honestly don't see myself using any other foundation any time soon. I've had the foundation since July 2011 and here it is March 2012 and I still have TONS of product left. I pretty much use it everyday and will sometimes put 2 layers on and I still have lots of product. I think that with the amount of product that you get, the price is justified since this will last for a very long time. I haven't noticed much separation like others have, even after having it for a long time. I do have to shake it vigorously before dispensing, but I've been doing that since day one.
As an aside, I've noticed that a lot of the negative reviews of this product are from people with oily/acne prone skin. I would NOT recommend this product for someone with problem skin. However, if you're skin is normal to dry, then this product is for you.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raylena23 on 3/9/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by raylena23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was quickly prompted to write this review because last week as I was running late for work I had completely forgot I had slapped this foundation on my face. I am used to wearing full coverage foundations like Revlon Colorstay, which I love but can clearly feel a layer of on my skin. My coworker complimented how "glowy my skin looked and as if I walked off a runway." Pfff..lol. Anyways she asked if I had any makeup on and I accidentally lied and told her no. It wasn't until I got home and seen the bottle left out on my vanity that I remembered I rushed and had put this on. Like I said, I am so used to feeling my foundation on my face that I had completely forgot!
Face and Body is so light and creamy. It truly blends into your skin seamlessly and covers more than a tinted moisturizer, if layered 2-3 times can achieve medium coverage. What I love about this is that it can cover redness and discoloration/unevenness in your skin but will still let your freckles and beauty marks show through. F&B really seems to just 'blur' your imperfections and leave you with a natural looking coverage. Looks like your real skin and not makeup at all! Obviously, fooled me for a minute!
The colors are also very forgiving. I am between an NC25-NC35, depending on season and purchased C4. It looks super orange in bottle but once applied, it's so sheer it will blend. Weather I am more pale or fake baking it up, I can use the same color and it matches just fine. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, it works great on the arms, legs, etc. I use it when I wear skirts and it helps to blur out the scars on my legs and knees. I have applied it with a latex sponge, 187, 109, and hands and as much as I like to put my spendy brushes to use, it truly does work best warming this up on your fingers and than applying.
I highly suggest you guys give F&B a try! My skin is less break out prone now that I've started using this and even if you prefer heavy coverage, just apply some concealer on blemishes and do not forget to powder! That I cannot express enough! I am only slightly oily in my tzone and this will slide of and look blotchy after a few hours with no powder. If you want to keep the dewy, natural look, just apply some msf natural very lightly and blot powder in the tzone and forehead. If you still want a matte finish and more coverage, just apply some studio fix powder and that seems to really mattify and cover a little more than the msfn.
I love this stuff and since purchasing, have not touched any of my full coverage foundations. And I am someone who prefers heavier makeup so please give this a try and you might be shocked to find you love it, just as much as me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products