MAC • Face and Body Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(1107 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JasmineJolene on 3/15/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation. I bought it after reading several reviews on MUA - I was specifically looking for a foundation with no SPF as I am getting married in June.
I was advised to apply it using a buffing brush, but after experimentation I find fingers are best. I work quickly with it, and get a lovely sheer coverage that evens out my skintone. My skin is pretty good, a little red in places but no blemishes really. I do have large pores though. I like to reapply after a couple of minutes for a little more coverage, and in experimentation have applied 3 coats and not experienced any caking. Once it has dried on my skin (it's water based so you really need to allow this time to dry) I then use a buffing brush to apply loose powder. I pat it on then dust off excess. Using this method I truly get an air-brushed look that erases signs of my pores.
The bottle is excellent and shouldn't be a problem to get all the product out as it is liquidy anyway. The price is good, as you get a lot even if you do have to pay a fair amount at the outset.
As it stands, I have today been wearing this foundation for about 6 hours and have a bit of a greasy nose (nothing new!) but on the whole it has held up. Even where it has got greasy, I have none of the nasty caking and sliding off that I get with other foundations.
For reference, I have shade N3 which in the bottle I feel looks a little too dark, but which blends nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 3/14/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for a while, so I wanted to update my review. I have the shade N1, it matches my porcelain skin perfectly. I use Sephora's ultra smoothing primer (the clear gel one) then Clinique's instant perfector in Light. Now for the application: I use a damp 187 brush and squeeze about a dime size amount of F&B onto the back of my hand. Then I usually add 1-2 drops of MAC Lustre Drops. With the 187, I swirl it all together then stipple it onto my face. Once all the product is on my face, I start blending in circular motions in small sections at a time. It does have a bit of a dewy finish but doesn't look greasy at all. I think this is a wonderful foundation -- not thick or heavy, paired with the 187 brush, this combo produces a beautiful finish. Plus one bottle will last FOREVER!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 3/10/2012 11:47:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is very sheer but buildable foundation. It sets as a natural (kinda moist) finish on the skin. For all these reasons I should hate it for my combo and very oily t zone skin type, but I love it. I don't have much skin problems just need some evening out of my skin tone and this leaves the most beautiful finish on my skin. I love the way it looks when it sinks into my skin. I apply with a Real Techniques buffing brush and use my hands afterwards to really blend it in and powder only my T zone with Blot powder. This was a life saver when Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit face wash destroyed my great skin! I was left with severely dry/irritated/flaky red skin, and FB was the only thing that really moisturized my skin. This is definitely a colder weather use for me as it will be not matte enough in Texas summers hence the 4 stars, but I will continue to use it since I've found it's an amazing product to mix with my other heavier cream or foundations bought too dark! And you definitely get more bang for your buck for the massive size that it comes in!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toomuchjoy on 3/10/2012 2:50:00 AM more reviews by toomuchjoy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Every time I try to venture out and try a new foundation, I keep coming back to this one. I've been using this foundation for over a year and now I can't stand the feeling of heavier (both in consistency and level of coverage) foundations. This is my daily foundation.

Mac Face and Body is a water-based foundation with buildable light to medium coverage. I've been applying this with a Real Techniques stippling brush. It leaves a very dewy sheen on the skin so I just smooth over the center of my face with my fingers to make sure it's really set in. I powder my forehead and nose but I like the dewy effect on my cheeks. I find this is really nice in the winter when my skin's a bit dull.

I wear the shade C4 which is slightly dark for me in these winter months but the sheerness of the foundation is very forgiving so blending is key. Even so, I've been mixing it with Neutrogena Healthy Skin in a shade that's too slightly too light for me and that's been working fine.

This foundation is really good at evening the skin tone and allowing your natural skin to show through. It won't cover blemishes, so you'll have to use a heavy duty concealer. I find I can cover most of my problem areas by buffing the product in those areas and building up the layers. I apply a light layer everywhere else. Face and Body is probably best for those with dry to normal skin types.

It's also a great value for the price. You get 4 oz of product for $33. Other Mac and higher end foundations are in the $30+ range and the standard bottle size is 1 oz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzyqz1970 on 3/9/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by suzyqz1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I waited a few months before I wrote this review because quite honestly, I wasn't terribly impressed. Since you can only buy this online or at a MAC store, I was on a mission my last trip to Chicago to find this stuff. The SA matched me to C2 and I am normally a NC25 in StudioFix. Anyway, I get it home and use it. Meh. Coverage was very sheer and it seemed a little dark at first. It definately had a nice dewy finish though but I was a little concerned due to the fact I'm pretty oily. So, not totally impressed so I put it away for a while and recently started using it again. TOTALLY different experience when I apply 2 layers of this magic elixir!!! Coverage is wonderful! I get a dewy not oily non-caky finish with just a light dusting of powder over it and get this: although it went on a little dark at first, by the end of the day, it looked so natural on that it just looked like I had great skin!! To be reasonably, I'm not trying to cover active acne but I do have an acne scar or two a some mild pigmentation areas. I'm not sure if you're looking for major coverage if this is the foundation for you but I am totally in love with this foundation and I have tried a LOT. It's also pretty reasonably priced because the bottle is so huge. I've had no issues with my oily skin making it slide off my face either. We'll see if that changes come summer. I'm very pleased with the foundation. Wonderful to be able to truely build coverage with this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiyamurph on 3/9/2012 7:49:00 PM more reviews by kiyamurph

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was introduced to Face and Body last summer when my makeup artist used it on me on my wedding day. I'd never heard of it before then because I always visited the MAC counters in a department store and F&B is only sold in a freestanding pro store. I got married in July in Ohio and at the time it was super hot and humid. My makeup held up beautifully during the wedding and on my honeymoon I came across a pro store and immediately purchased this. What I love about this product is that it's perfect for people like myself with dry skin. I was previously using MAC's Studio Fix foundation and for the longest time after I applied it, I would look in the mirror and wonder why my face just didn't look the way I wanted it to. Once I finished my face with Skinfinish Natural, my face would look okay, but I noticed that the Studio Fix kind of aged me a bit. It wasn't until I purchased the F&B that I realized what was glaringly obvious about the Studio Fix is that it gives a matte finish, and paired with my dry skin it made me look dull. The F&B feels like it moisturizes my skin a little and gives me a nice dewy finish. Because I have dark skin, a dewy finish has the tendency to make me look shiny, so paired with the Skinfinish Natural, it gives me a flawless look and I no longer looked older. I honestly don't see myself using any other foundation any time soon. I've had the foundation since July 2011 and here it is March 2012 and I still have TONS of product left. I pretty much use it everyday and will sometimes put 2 layers on and I still have lots of product. I think that with the amount of product that you get, the price is justified since this will last for a very long time. I haven't noticed much separation like others have, even after having it for a long time. I do have to shake it vigorously before dispensing, but I've been doing that since day one.
As an aside, I've noticed that a lot of the negative reviews of this product are from people with oily/acne prone skin. I would NOT recommend this product for someone with problem skin. However, if you're skin is normal to dry, then this product is for you.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raylena23 on 3/9/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by raylena23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was quickly prompted to write this review because last week as I was running late for work I had completely forgot I had slapped this foundation on my face. I am used to wearing full coverage foundations like Revlon Colorstay, which I love but can clearly feel a layer of on my skin. My coworker complimented how "glowy my skin looked and as if I walked off a runway." Pfff..lol. Anyways she asked if I had any makeup on and I accidentally lied and told her no. It wasn't until I got home and seen the bottle left out on my vanity that I remembered I rushed and had put this on. Like I said, I am so used to feeling my foundation on my face that I had completely forgot!
Face and Body is so light and creamy. It truly blends into your skin seamlessly and covers more than a tinted moisturizer, if layered 2-3 times can achieve medium coverage. What I love about this is that it can cover redness and discoloration/unevenness in your skin but will still let your freckles and beauty marks show through. F&B really seems to just 'blur' your imperfections and leave you with a natural looking coverage. Looks like your real skin and not makeup at all! Obviously, fooled me for a minute!
The colors are also very forgiving. I am between an NC25-NC35, depending on season and purchased C4. It looks super orange in bottle but once applied, it's so sheer it will blend. Weather I am more pale or fake baking it up, I can use the same color and it matches just fine. Like the other reviewers have mentioned, it works great on the arms, legs, etc. I use it when I wear skirts and it helps to blur out the scars on my legs and knees. I have applied it with a latex sponge, 187, 109, and hands and as much as I like to put my spendy brushes to use, it truly does work best warming this up on your fingers and than applying.
I highly suggest you guys give F&B a try! My skin is less break out prone now that I've started using this and even if you prefer heavy coverage, just apply some concealer on blemishes and do not forget to powder! That I cannot express enough! I am only slightly oily in my tzone and this will slide of and look blotchy after a few hours with no powder. If you want to keep the dewy, natural look, just apply some msf natural very lightly and blot powder in the tzone and forehead. If you still want a matte finish and more coverage, just apply some studio fix powder and that seems to really mattify and cover a little more than the msfn.
I love this stuff and since purchasing, have not touched any of my full coverage foundations. And I am someone who prefers heavier makeup so please give this a try and you might be shocked to find you love it, just as much as me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Johelian on 3/8/2012 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Johelian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

[For reference Ė I am of mixed Filipino/English descent, with light olive skin-tone that leans towards warm/yellow. Skin-type is Combination/Sensitive, with redness on my nose & cheeks. Pronounced pores. NC20-25]


In my hunt for the perfect foundation Ė i.e. one that matches my pale yellow skin without being too dark/pink, does not slide off my red cheeks and lasts for a full work-day with little-to-no touchups Ė I have tried almost every brand under the sun. Bobbi Brown, MAC, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Chanel, Maybelline, Revlon, Bourjois, UNE...as a matter of fact, you can read my reviews on many of these here!


MAC Face & Body is one of the most popular foundations I have read about online, and I had to give it a go. I had the idea that this could be a decent summer foundation, when I didnít want to wear anything too heavy on my skin. Since MAC concessions donít stock this product Ė only the Pro stand-alone shops Ė I had to guess my best match from swatches online (in typical MAC fashion the photos online are absolutely useless). I guessed that I would be around a C2-C3; since these are quite sheer you can get away with a shade lighter or darker in most cases. I actually chose C3 in the end, which turned out to be slightly too dark; however it is just workable for my NC20-25 skin, and would suit me with a tan.


MF&B is water based, and extremely fluid. It comes in a huge 120ml squeezy bottle, and costs £23.50; considering that most foundations come in around 30ml bottles, this is a lot of product! Of course, this is balanced out by the fact that the product is very sheer, and you will end up using a lot if you want to build up coverage to any degree. Many people recommend warming the product in your hands and applying with your fingers; I HATE blending with my fingers, and have used both flat foundation and kabuki brushes with success using F&B. One-layer application offers slightly more coverage than a tinted moisturiser, and will not hide any significant sins such as spots or marks; rather, it will just even out the colour of the skin. I personally found that a second layer looked a bit plastic-y and was not at all flattering, but it did disguise my redness quite well. It does take quite a white to dry, and remains tacky to the touch even after powdering. It does not contain any SPF.


Almost immediately after squeezing the product out of the tube, you will not fail to notice F&Bís distinctive smell. It reminds me for some reason of heavy plant leaves, like geraniums; itís odd, and, as far as Iím concerned, a little off-putting! It does not last thankfully, and I canít smell it at all once the productís on. As the name suggests, you can use this all over your body to improve skin tone; I would be wary however, as the product does transfer quite easily and I imagine would stain your clothes if youíre not careful.


The Good:
1) Huge amount of product for a reasonable price.
2) Decent colour selection.
3) Natural/sheer finish, that can be build up to light/medium.
4) Moderate lastibility.
5) Can be used all over the body.
6) No oxidisation


The Bad:
1) Only available in pro stores.
2) Might be too sheer for some Ė only really ideal for skin thatís ok to begin with.
3) Hard to remove from skin due to water resistance Ė may cause outbreaks.
4) Bizarre scent.
5) Little to no oil control for oilier skin-types, so you will get shiny unless you're happy to commit to regular blotting and powdering.
6) Not transfer resistant, particularly during extensive drying time.


The Verdict
Overall a good product; light, easy coverage, and lots of it in the bottle! Possibly not enough coverage for some, and it does start look very artificial the more layers you put on. I personally will not repurchase as the coverage is too low for me and I find the scent hideous. I also find that it gets too oily on me on the average work day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DarciIzzle on 3/3/2012 3:34:00 PM more reviews by DarciIzzle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this. I have dry skin so i never break out and so i just need a sheer coverage to even out my skin because i get red splotches this doesnt make my face look flaky at all which is really hard for me to find. This doesnt fall into creases at all either, I have this scar on my nose from a sun burn when i was little and usually when i wear foundation it will collect in my scar and look really gross but this doesnt. Also the smell of this stuff is amazing its a sandalwood sent but its very subtle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dorowilson on 3/2/2012 6:12:00 PM more reviews by dorowilson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this light blendable base. I use C4 and it looks like a natural light tan on me,. It is very sheer , makes my skin look bare and great and if I need, I can put a dab of thicker foundation on top.on my nose etc. I wish it had a SPF to save me from using a separate base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products