MAC • Face and Body Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(1094 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 WaikikiGoddess on 2/10/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by WaikikiGoddess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product. I haven't worn liquid foundation in years and decided to give this one a go. I went to MAC and the makeup artist matched me at N2. It looked fine in the store, but once I got home, I saw how pink it was on my skin. Took it back for C2 which was much better. I loved the coverage - sheer and glowy. That was exactly what I wanted in a foundation. I didn't like how it felt on my skin, though. I could feel it all throughout the day. I applied it with the duo fiber brush like the sales associate said, but it still felt heavy and sticky on my face. It also caused major clogged pores for me. I took it off using an oil-based cleanser and then followed with a foaming cleanser. I still had clogged pores along my chin, jaw and forehead. I returned it without any problems, but now I have to deal with my skin. Although I didn't like the foundation, I thought it was a great value at $32.50 for 4 ounces. And the nozzle top is a great idea. I really wish this foundation would have worked out for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* basmah on 2/10/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this product yet, because I love it. I am not a foundation person. I find most foundations too heavy on my skin. I generally prefer tinted moisturizers, but it's very hard to find a good one. On my skin, this offers a little more coverage than a tinted moisturizer. It is very light, I can hardly feel that I have make up on and the finish is very natural, so nobody else can see that I'm wearing foundation. I use the Sephora Mineral Powder Brush to apply this, and it gives an almost airbrush finish, but in a natural way (does that even make sense?). It's beautiful. It evens out my skin tone and makes the redness in my skin almost disappear. I am absolutely in love with this product and I find that almost all other foundations pale in comparison, because after using this one they all feel heavy on my skin. I also love the fact that this does not cling to dry patches, which is a big plus during the winter. I am very pale and N1 is slightly too dark, but when blended down into my neck it's fine. I would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 damsel19 on 2/10/2012 6:17:00 AM more reviews by damsel19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I am actually surprised at the other reviews which say that this foundation is so nice and so on and on.. Well each on their own!!
I don't know if I got a wrong batch or something, the foundation was very runny, my brush couldn't hold it. And it smelled a bit off as well. Did nothing for me, didn't even give me a sheer cover or anything.
Horrible, don't understand the hype.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellimacster on 2/9/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by ellimacster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have combination skin and I pretty much have no scars what so ever. I do have dark circles and uneven skin tone though! This foundation is a perfect match for me, it's a lot less coverage than your typical foundation but it's a little more than a tinted moisturizer. I would definitely suggest getting this if you just need it to even out your complexion. The price is great since there's so much product! I think I paid about $8 more than the regular Mac foundations that only had 30 ml. This one has much more!

As for the packaging, it took a while to get used to. Sometimes I ended up squirting more product then I needed :( = lots wasted! However I am getting used it to now, I can dispense just enough :)... unfortunately, I had to go through 1/3 of the bottle first before things got easier.

I do find that my oily t zone starts to kick in 4 hours after application though, but maybe I just need to find a better setting powder? Right now, I'm using macs prep and prime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 1/24/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had gone back & forth for several weeks about getting this foundation. I finally did it. I had to ask the board what color they thought I'd be for NC20, since it's pretty much the dead of winter(that's the color I usually am this time of year). I was given several answers but I did my own research and came up with C2. I really have to add that I am NOT NC20 like I thought I was. I tried using my NC20 concealer and it is too light, and my NC30 is too dark. So I'm going to say I'm NC25 and I've pretty much been that for several months now. C2 is perfect. It's not pink nor is it yellow. It seems pretty neutral to me. I have never ever been a foundation wearer, I usually stick to msfn or mineral foundation. I am already in love with the way this looks on the skin. It's natural looking like a tinted moisturizer but covers just enough for me. What I've been doing lately is applying only concealer and msfn & the last few days only concealer. I have so many old acne marks or scars that haven't quite gone away that I end up putting concealer on so much of my face so I figured I'd give this a try. The product itself is very runny and when first applied I didn't see very much coverage. It did seem dewy and wet for a few minutes. When it dried, I reapplied. It gave me the perfect coverage while still looking natural and not cakey. After this dried I added msfn just to get rid of the dewy finish it left, being an oily skin person I do not want to look dewy. I did not have to add any concealer today whatsoever. For this being one of my first foundations, I'm very impressed. I used a Mac 188 to apply instead of my fingers. The one last thing I'd like to add is, I've had pretty bad acne inflicted skin for some time and only in the last 3 weeks has it improved greatly. I probably would never have used this when my skin was full of breakouts.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmcmsp on 1/17/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by mmcmsp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation for a everyday look when you don't need much cover and just want to look healthy. I have dry skin and it makes me look so much better... I shake well and put a little amount in my hands. I rub my hands and put on like I put my moisturizing cream just pressing into my skin. It looks amazing. I use in C3 and usually don't powder. When I do I use Mineralize Skin Finish or the Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Loose Powder to set the concealer. It goes really well with Select Cover-up and Select Moisturecover by MAC also.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cb0205 on 1/15/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by Cb0205

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to give this 4 lippies because it's really, really good if you want a light foundation/tinted moisturiser.
DO NOT BUY THIS if you need a lot of coverage. I have pretty clear skin, the occasional tiny blemish and sometimes my complexion can be a little uneven or pale and in need of some oomph.
Like most girls, I find it difficult to leave the house without my mask on. Even with clear skin, a bit of war paint goes a long way to help your confindence. I find this foundation perfect for my needs. Its thin and doesn't look like you are wearing make up. It is also a dewy finish so you look fresh. Yes, I will agree that sometimes it looks a bit sweaty but just swipe over your t zone and chin with some MAC blot powder or MAC loose translucent powder and it looks beautiful. I also take my blot powder with me for touch ups during the day. I have given up trying to find the foundation to last all day with no touch ups. For me, it is just a fact of life that my nose gets oily. A little maintenance during the day is not difficult.
The smell is yummy but strange as I am used to the other MAC foundations that have no smell. It also is a plastic bottle so that is perfect for me as I drop things all the time.
It takes a little bit of getting used to- the lesser coverage. But I have recieved so many compliments on how fresh I look, I'm happy to step it down a notch.
It is also great for going out. I like to do fun eyes or really bright lips and sometimes with a thick foundation it really just looks like you are too done up. I don't want to look like I apply my makeup with a shovel.
Price wise, this is amazing. 120mls for AUD$60? Hell yes. It will last about a year I think. Some people on here have said it lasts even longer.
The only thing I am a little annoyed about is the colour I bought. I'm an NC20 and the MUA gave me an C4. I think it is too dark, but considering how thin it is, it kind of just washes on and blends well so its not so bad. Next time I will probably go for a C2 or C3. Its summer in Australia now so I am more tanned than normal. I was hungover when buying it and didn't take much notice so its more my fault and the MUA is probably just one of those people who are trying to make the world a more tan place, one person at a time.
I use my 187 to put it on. Fingers don't work with this for me, it tends to stick to my dry patches. Everyone has a different way though so just find what works for you.
No SPF takes the one lippie off. In Australia I should really have one and I am too lazy to ever apply one before make up everyday.
Yay for Face and Body!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 paradoxia1234 on 1/14/2012 3:01:00 PM more reviews by paradoxia1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I find this foundation pretty pointless. I don't really think it deserves the label 'foundation', it gives practically no coverage , sort of like a lightly tinted moisturiser . It didn't cover the fading acne scars on my cheeks... or the stretch marks on my body (NC43) even after i put 3 layers on . And I find that it does transfer so it rubs off on clothes , the closest shade to me C5 is too grey for my golden undertones and dims my face down. I guess the nice thing about it is that it gives a sexy healthy sheen to the face and body, and it does give sheer coverage so it tones stuff down very very slightly. Overall, I'm quite underwhelmed. Update: It broke me out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dunnoleh on 1/14/2012 10:35:00 AM more reviews by dunnoleh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

4 lippy out of 5 because if you don't set it, it can look abit too dewy/sticky on bareface.


My first time writing a review and i find it necessary because this is one foundation i'm never leaving.


A bit of background information, i have Oily/Combi skin, i'm an asian guy, i have tan/honey coloured skin and i'm on C5 for this foundation.


I only have 2 kinds of foundation at the moment and it's face & body from MAC(C5) and MUFE(#34). My skin condition is actually pretty good but i slap on abit of this foundation sometimes to even out my skin tone, and the colour i'm wearing gives me this golden flawless skin which i like alot.


I've tried various application method and i think the most effective method for foundation is possibly this...





1- Exfoliate your face


2- Moisturize (I use Clinique's Dramatically Different Gel because it gives me oil control, my face gets REALLY oily mid day)


3- Primer (I use MUFE's HD primer in 0. I'm not sure if it actually makes a difference but the MA from Sephora told me primers not only acts as a good canvas for foundation but they also creates a protection barrier for your skin *shrugs*)


4- Shake your MAC F&B well and i pour it on my fingers, warm it up by rubbing and press them all over my face, blend it out with my fingers and let the heal melt them. I start from my face, work it out, then forehead, then neck.


As much as this product is transfer proof, The oil from my face melts the product and if i'm not careful, i'll have to say byebye to my white collar shirt, so becareful.


5- Sometimes, i wet a small piece of sponge and run it through my face, the water breaks down the foundation a little bit and blends it even better, but you can skip this step if you're lazy because it's always sheer enough.




I only do 1 layer with this because 2nd layer gives me the fake tan look and i avoid it at all cost. Maybe if you're lighter skin tone you don't have to worry but if you're working on tanned colours, take extra care.


Because this foundation gives a dewy look, i always set it with loose powder, i use the MAC's prep and prime transparent powder to set it, i used to buff it in but i noticed when i buff, it makes it look a little cakey sometimes, so i learned a new technique which is to press the kabuki into your face all over, when you think it's good enough, you buff ONLY SLIGHTLY to sweep away the excess powder.


I have to emphasize i have oily skin so i tend to put a little more than normal, so again, take note.


In an hour or two, the heat from my face starts melting the foundation and sometimes the oil from my face melts into the foundation and it gives me this slightly dewy and healthy look, so i'm kinda happy i have abit of oil on my face, just make sure you blot it once in a while so you dont look like you just survived a BP oil spill.


I haven tried enough foundation to know if they is my holy grail or not but i'm more than happy to stick with MAC's F&B for a very very long time.


If i were to compare the MAC's F&B to MUFE's F&B foundation, i'll have to say MAC's look more golden and healthy, while MUFE looks more natural and less shiny.


I use both but i prefer MAC's for the golden healthy look!



6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FallinginLove on 1/14/2012 10:01:00 AM more reviews by FallinginLove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Face and Body Foundation. Sheer to medium coverage. Buildable. Like most Mac foundations, tends to look a bit orange. I've got the lightest C1 shade and it's still looks too orange for my skin (I'm NC15 in winter). Another con- application. The formula is very runny, takes a long time to dry and soak into the skin. When dried looks good (except the dry areas, would not recommend it for dry skin), but until then it looks and feels too moist and unpleasant.
Biggest Pro- Photographs well. You know that ghost-look you get when photographed at night with a flash? It usually happens to me with most of my other foundations because they have SPF in them (reflect light). No such problem with this foundation. It's a miracle. I wish it wasn't so orange and gross to apply...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products