Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(429 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 passionfruitface on 5/26/2006 10:06:00 AM more reviews by passionfruitface

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love Alima! I've bought two different rounds of samples and just yesterday ordered a full size satin matte foundation in damask, (N-0). Each time I've received my order in TWO DAYS! How can they do that??!? The mmu is fine and silky feeling and makes my face look "finished" without looking made up. And it stays in place all day, even if I need to blot my naturally oily spots. (Which by the way, need less blotting while I'm wearing this mmu.) Wonderful coverage and reasonable prices, too. Customer service is great. I hope Alima stays around a long long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cloudsofviolet on 5/26/2006 12:44:00 AM more reviews by cloudsofviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome foundation. I'm a yellow toned MAC NC 20/25 and W-1 works pretty good. I tried G-1 and that was much yellower and a bit darker. the foundations provide great coverage with just using a little bit. It has more of a satin rather than matte finish.Changed my mind: maybe I'm not using it right, but I have a hard time getting enough coverage for acne scars/discoloration without it looking either too light or too heavy. Going to try Everyday Minerals but I'd rec. this if you don't have alot of dark scars or much discoloration.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 semolinapilchard on 5/25/2006 6:56:00 PM more reviews by semolinapilchard

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

firstly, great service. ordered 2 samples and they sent along a couple more- good thing they did, as i had underestimated how pale their colors go- they're fantastic. unfortunately, the 'oxides', while looking fine in regular lighting, do create a stark white cast in flash photos. no good. also need slightly heavier coverage, as i have acne and scarring, etc. when applied damp, it does a nicer job. all in all, the product's good, the colors are fantastic, and the customer service is lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coopercat3104 on 5/23/2006 4:53:00 PM more reviews by coopercat3104

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow!! I ordered 4 foundation samples from their website, C-1 and C-2 and N-1 and N-2. I placed my order on Friday and recieved it Monday! Not only did they send my foundation samples but they sent another foundation sample (N-3) and a sample of the Cool Beige finishing powder and and a sample of blush in pink and a sample of the illuminating shimmer powder in Lumina. N-1 is the best foundation match I've ever had! Coverage is nice and sheer but it does cover the redness in my cheeks and around my nose and upper lip. I wore it all day to work and not only did it last all day and not cake but it didn't irrate my skin at all! In fact my skin felt better after a day of wearing this, it wasn't as red and irritated as it usually is at night. My sample should last a while since I don't need much but I also today ordered a full sized foundation in N-1 and the pink blush and shimmer powder. I also ordered some eye shadows and one of their lip balms in Hellebore. I had just about given up on mineral powder as an option but this stuff is amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JetLilotai on 5/17/2006 12:47:00 PM more reviews by JetLilotai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Rave, rave, rave. I received my samples in *two* days! They sent me the three colors I chose as well as two extra (one shade darker from both the lines I requested) so I could achieve the perfect color match. Also threw in samples of shimmer, eyeshadow, lipgloss...and wrote a sweet little message on the receipt! Thier minerals are so finely ground and pure, my acne actually looked calmer after a day of wearing this and it felt like my real skin, not my usual covered-in-oily-foundation skin. Coverage is great. And as everyone else mentioned, they have a huge selection of colors to choose from, which is great for us fringe gals like me. (I have very pale skin). I suppose their is nothing more to say, except I will be soon buying thier full sizes. Love you, Alima!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GJewel on 5/17/2006 12:53:00 AM more reviews by GJewel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is a great mineral foundation! I ordered a sample of this from their website and it came in only 3 days! They also included a second foundation sample and three eyeshadow samples free of charge! The foundation gives awesome coverage without feeling heavy. It is also more matte than BE which I like. Very long lasting as well. Just a great foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pixieled665 on 5/15/2006 1:00:00 PM more reviews by pixieled665

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to order bunch of samples from Alima out of curiosity after reading other reviews on MUA. I love it that they have samples of every single thing they sell. The package arrived in three days via USPS! Each foundation sample came in their own little plastic jar, with way more than the advertised teaspoon of powder inside. I also ordered a few samples each of all their other products (eyeshhadows, blushes, eyeliners, finishing powder, shimmer powders, bronzers). Each sample comes in small zip lock baggie w/ enough powder for one to several applications depending on which product it is. The colors they have are beautiful! I found a perfect foundation match with the N-5. I definitely recommend getting a few of the foundation samples because I would have thought that the C-4 or 5 would have been my perfect match, but it was just a bit too pink and light for my skin. This foundation goes on lovely and looks so natural. I was wearing BEs Medium mixed with medium beige, which I liked but found it way too shiny on my skin, but Alimas mineral foundation is much more matte and it matches my skin perfectly whereas BE is just a tad off. They have a far superior selection of colors compared to other popular mineral brands. Im excited about experimenting with all the other samples I got.
*UPDATE* I had to stop wearing this everyday because it was drying my skin out way too much. I've switched to Everyday Minerals Matte foundation in Medium Beige/Medium Summer and found it does not irritate my skin at all. I still wear this one sometimes when I go out for the evening because the color match is PERFECT. It is just to drying on my skin to wear everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljanelle on 5/13/2006 9:40:00 AM more reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A very nice mineral makeup, but does not hold up well in summer heat, and the finish isn't quite as nice as Silk Naturals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adornedwithgrace on 5/8/2006 9:11:00 PM more reviews by adornedwithgrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Excellent shade selection, free samples with each order, good customer service and fast shipping

Cons: Does not seem to have good enough oil control for my own combination skin, appears chalky and less creamy, still expensive compared with my favorite brand, EM, and does not have discounted custom kits, feels much heavier than other brands I have tried (BE, EM, MAD minerals, etc.) where I can tell that I have it on. Unfortunately, most of these cons I have noticed are with the product itself so I will have to knock my rating down to a one.

However, our chemistries/perceptions are all different so if you are willing to spend the $2.75 each for samples, go on ahead. You will at least be pleased with the color selection. It just isn't for me...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kizmet5 on 5/8/2006 7:52:00 PM more reviews by kizmet5

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried several different mineral companies and I am in love with Alima! I find the foundation to be extremely wearable, very finely milled and in excellent true-to-life colors. The color range is extraordinary. Application is a dream, no matter how I do it, with a dry brush, damp brush, even just using my fingers. Besides the foundation, I wear the blushes and shadows every day. They're gorgeous! Alima has the best customer service. The packaging is top-notch and environmentally friendly, both of which are important to me. I highly recommend Alima Cosmetics!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products