Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(423 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 pixieled665 on 5/15/2006 1:00:00 PM more reviews by pixieled665

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to order bunch of samples from Alima out of curiosity after reading other reviews on MUA. I love it that they have samples of every single thing they sell. The package arrived in three days via USPS! Each foundation sample came in their own little plastic jar, with way more than the advertised ľ teaspoon of powder inside. I also ordered a few samples each of all their other products (eyeshhadows, blushes, eyeliners, finishing powder, shimmer powders, bronzers). Each sample comes in small zip lock baggie w/ enough powder for one to several applications depending on which product it is. The colors they have are beautiful! I found a perfect foundation match with the N-5. I definitely recommend getting a few of the foundation samples because I would have thought that the C-4 or 5 would have been my perfect match, but it was just a bit too pink and light for my skin. This foundation goes on lovely and looks so natural. I was wearing BEís Medium mixed with medium beige, which I liked but found it way too shiny on my skin, but Alimas mineral foundation is much more matte and it matches my skin perfectly whereas BE is just a tad off. They have a far superior selection of colors compared to other popular mineral brands. Iím excited about experimenting with all the other samples I got.
*UPDATE* I had to stop wearing this everyday because it was drying my skin out way too much. I've switched to Everyday Minerals Matte foundation in Medium Beige/Medium Summer and found it does not irritate my skin at all. I still wear this one sometimes when I go out for the evening because the color match is PERFECT. It is just to drying on my skin to wear everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljanelle on 5/13/2006 9:40:00 AM more reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A very nice mineral makeup, but does not hold up well in summer heat, and the finish isn't quite as nice as Silk Naturals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adornedwithgrace on 5/8/2006 9:11:00 PM more reviews by adornedwithgrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Excellent shade selection, free samples with each order, good customer service and fast shipping

Cons: Does not seem to have good enough oil control for my own combination skin, appears chalky and less creamy, still expensive compared with my favorite brand, EM, and does not have discounted custom kits, feels much heavier than other brands I have tried (BE, EM, MAD minerals, etc.) where I can tell that I have it on. Unfortunately, most of these cons I have noticed are with the product itself so I will have to knock my rating down to a one.

However, our chemistries/perceptions are all different so if you are willing to spend the $2.75 each for samples, go on ahead. You will at least be pleased with the color selection. It just isn't for me...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kizmet5 on 5/8/2006 7:52:00 PM more reviews by kizmet5

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried several different mineral companies and I am in love with Alima! I find the foundation to be extremely wearable, very finely milled and in excellent true-to-life colors. The color range is extraordinary. Application is a dream, no matter how I do it, with a dry brush, damp brush, even just using my fingers. Besides the foundation, I wear the blushes and shadows every day. They're gorgeous! Alima has the best customer service. The packaging is top-notch and environmentally friendly, both of which are important to me. I highly recommend Alima Cosmetics!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tabiji on 4/20/2006 5:26:00 AM more reviews by tabiji

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had been intrigued with mineral makeup for a while, but I wasn't about to experiment with the starter kits from various lines being so costly. I saw some raves for Alima and was intrigued by their extremely inexpensive samples, so I took the plunge and OHMYGAWD, I adore this stuff.

After years of caking on liquids and creams to cover uneven skintone and occasional breakouts, I'm so thrilled to have such beautifully blended coverage. I use a dab of N2 on a fluffy eyeshadow brush to cover discolored areas, and then an all-over dusting of N3 with a big brush gives me the look of flawless, even skin. It blends beautifully and I don't have edge lines or thick cakey areas. The finishing powder in Rose Beige adds a hint of color and glow, for an end result that makes my skin look perfect. Honestly, it looks like I've been airbrushed, and it feels fabulous to not have the masky sensation of cream/liquid foundation!

The bonus samples they send have all been wonderful. I've tried the eyeshadows, blushes, and the lip balm, and they've yet to disappoint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katras on 4/19/2006 10:50:00 PM more reviews by Katras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've just received this product this morning and already I know this is my new HG. I used to wear Jane Iredale's PurePressed (in Warm Silk) but made my skin appear even drier than it was. This is perfect, for half the price of the JI. For $12.25 US I received three very generous samples, I wear Almond (W1), and the fastest s/h I have ever been a party too! Looks truely matte without a dry, chaulky powdery look. Can be built up and tip*- if you dampen a brush and apply the minerals you have all-day concealer. A little goes a long way - Love it! Off to buy the full-size:) Will update if any changes. Stopped using (?Temp.): I am the biggest (mineral) foundation whore! I'm now using Everyday minerals (see review).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 n8chiro on 4/19/2006 11:39:00 AM more reviews by n8chiro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this foundation!!! I have been using Jane Iredale (Warm Silk or Radiant) for years but after reading the reviews here I decided to try out some Alima samples. I am so glad that I did! The samples were very inexpensive and generous. I was also pleased at how quickly I received my samples plus along with the samples (foundation, bronzer and eyeshadow) that I ordered they threw in 2 eyeshadow and 1 finishing powder samples for FREE. Who doesn't like getting free samples!?! I can wear either N3 or N4 and they are beautiful! The coverage is much better then JI and are truly matte. I get really oily during the day and have found that with Alima I am only using my blotting paper 1 or maybe 2 times a day - with JI it was at least 3-4 times a day. YEAH!! I am going to be ordering the full size of both N3 and N4 (both for less than 1 JI compact!) and I am telling everyone I know how wonderful they are!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rthusia on 4/15/2006 6:13:00 PM more reviews by rthusia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product, but it lacks (for me) sufficient oil control. The company its self gets a 10 from me. They have a fabulous selection of colors. Several (It was hard for me to differentiate between W1/W2 and N1/N2) blended in well and looked extremely natural, making color selection difficult. For a beautiful natural look I stick with N2 mixed with a few scoops of N1. N's usually tend to turn orange on me; I did not notice any of that with these products. This gives a nice satin finish (not as mattifying as Aromaleigh) It actually feels very similar in texture and appearance to the Youngblood minerals. It is a lovely feeling mineral make up, very "creamy" (feels better going on than Aromaleigh) It gives FANTASTIC coverage, better than Jane Iredale pressed. It is FULLY capable alone of covering small broken capillaries (genius at this) toning down redness, and even covering up blemishes. I use it with a concealer brush first, then go over everything with an extremely EASY to use application of powder. Others are blend blend blend, this is VERY user friendly.

It is not very oil absorbing, even with the Alima Finishing Powder applied under, on top, or both. It's staying power is also limited, but touch up application is easy. Very even in color and very natural looking. Although their sample size says that it is 1/4th a teaspoon I received way more than that. The small jar it came in was packed to capacity. Their shipping was EXTREMELY swift. Their customer service is top notch and very friendly. Their company policy makes me want to quit my job and work for them! Great prices and great products. I wish there were a smaller size available in the foundation for those that like to mixFor reference sake I use Aromaleigh in 1 or 2 YL, or just 1 or 2 L. Revlon- Buff, Jane Iredale- Light Beige, Laura Mercier oilfree- Blush Ivory. I would love (read as: buy) for them to come out with their own oil control product (edit2:which they now have!) Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Sericite Mica, Iron Oxides.
EDIT: I have been using this for one year now. Sometimes I use it over a more oil controlling product, but it really does look great on the skin. Breakouts have decreased dramatically with the reduction of silicone (revlon colorstay) products I use on my face and with the daunting nextdoor neighbor the age 30 has presented me. VERY pleased with this product. I have never been accused of having even remotely "passable" skin. In the year that I have been wearing it I have received many MANY comments. I detest the glow of BE, so please understand that this compliment does not compare to the massive mica shimmer found in BE. "Beautiful glowing skin" "naturally healthy skin." A friend and I were chatting about makeup and she said to me "I don't even know why we are talking about this, you don't wear or even need makeup your skin is so beautiful." Needless to say I began to choke on my coffee, beautiful skin is not me, but I am thankful none the less to Alima for making it appear that way to even one person. (I did share my secret with my friend and upon extremely close inspection she could see that I was using makeup and that I was even covering up my share of faults.)
Edit2: Working on my second year of using this product and I still absolutely love it. I use a concealer brush first with N2 on blemishes various redness anything below cheekbone area, then an N1/2 mix above that area. Following with a flat brush (Stila) all over in my "regular N1/2 mix". It's coverage is genius, very light but pigmented enough to cover up redness specifically. I can get ready in under 15 minutes if I need to. Which is great considering what I have to work with! As with many powders under the eyes requires a little tugging (don't like). I'm usually very careful to allow my SPF or moisturizer to sink in first. I still use split colors with about 2 or 3 scoops of N1 to 1 scoop of N2 (winter now) A little paler around the eye area for brightness. Skin looks very fresh (especially with a nice cheek blusher from them) and stays in place for quite some time. Touch up is easy. Alima has to be one of my favorite companies. Customer service is excellent. I thank those at MUA who came before me for the finding of this product and this company.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carinasfashion on 4/15/2006 4:47:00 PM more reviews by carinasfashion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YES YES YES! at last, after years of searching and a lot of $$$ spent, I've finally found it. This is my HG foundation. I've tried so many department and drugstore brands and mineral brands (Jane Iredale, BE, Everyday Minerals, PF etc.) that I was losing hope. But thanx to a MUAer who recommended it, I tried it and this is hands down the best. It's very hard to add anything to all previous reviews, I just have to agree with all of them. If I just could give it 10 lippies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aalto on 3/27/2006 1:41:00 PM more reviews by aalto

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently purchased samples from this line and Iím very impressed. Of the three foundation samples I ordered, Satin (N-2) is a great match, and that has never happened before! (Iíve tried Youngblood, Iredale, Pure Luxe, J. Lynne and Philosophy). It covers very well and is easy to apply; thereís no buffing. I have pale skin with some discoloration, and this really helps to create a smooth and more even look. Thereís a huge selection of color ranges from cool, warm and neutral, to olive, golden and ebony. I highly recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products