Make Up For Ever • Face & Body Liquid Make Up • Liquid

rated 4.1(878 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Helenaray on 3/27/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Helenaray

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I discovered this foundation years ago when I discovered many makeup artists used it. Sarah Jessica Parker used it for Sex and the City. http://makeup411.com/breakdowns/id/281/

I have been using it on-again and off-again for years.

I use #20 and #32. #20 is good for winter and #32 for summer. I mix them during the spring time.

I am looking for something new to try right now, so this is still my on and off product.

I recommend this product to people but it has to be right color.

My skin:
MAC: NC 25, C3
Makeup Forever HD: 120
Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer: Nude or a bit darker
Laura Mercier Silk Cream: Medium Ivory or Beige Ivory
CoverFX water base: M30 or M40 (Summer)
...




11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jewelryvixen305 on 3/27/2010 1:55:00 PM more reviews by jewelryvixen305

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a sample in #18 from Sephora and I am glad I only got a sample. #18 matches me perfectly but for some reason just as MUFE HD #173 the under tones are wrong for my complexion. It blends well and is very light and the coverage is great for me because I prefer sheer coverage (its a little more than sheer coverage) but it makes me look cakey and ghostly. I am not saying its a bad product, its just not for me.

Update 4/30/2010: I love this product! I had some sample left and decided to give it one more try. Welllll I moisturized and added a primer and the cakiness was not there. People like to use the words "skin like" but I think this foundation looks like "real skin". When I touch my face, there is not a lot on MU on my fingers and this foundation doesn't shift. I have oily skin, so I will have to see how it holds up through a work day. I took a lippie off because it doesn't have a pump.

Update: 6/3/2010: I used MOM as a primer and it went on nice and look good but again its a tad bit to light in color for me. By the end of the night, this foundation had turned on me. I looked dry, crackly and old. I don't know if the MOM without a moisturizer had anything to do with it but I won't try it again. I used it some weeks back without MOM and after a few hours it gave me that melted look. I really wish I could return this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 3/26/2010 8:50:00 PM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Stay away from this foundation if you have oily skin! Maybe it's because I'm not used to wearing liquid foundation (I use a powder mineral foundation) but I've never had my face grease up as fast as when I used this. I even put on a light layer of powder to set this but it just seemed like the makeup was just sliding off my face after a couple hours. True it was snowing out so it was a bit humid and I was walking around shopping but I don't have this problem when I wear my usual powder foundation. I picked this because of it's liquidy,thin consistency because I didn't want anything heavy but this just didn't work for my skin. Plus, the coverage sucks! I bought this because of the good reviews here but I'm disappointed that my experience was so off. Way too expensive, I think drugstore brands would be better than this. I'm returning this asap!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amazin90 on 3/25/2010 5:16:00 PM more reviews by amazin90

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG...HG...HG foundation!!! I absolutely love this foundation, the color, formulation, coverage, everything works for me. I get compliments on my skin and not my foundation. It just gives my skin a nice polished look and it lasts all day. I don't need much coverage, so this works perfectly and I don't feel it on my skin. I have been alternating between MAC Face and Body and MAC Moistureblend. I am glad I found this because it blows them both out the water!!! My skin is normal/dry and I only dust a little MUFE HD powder under my eyes and along the T zone to set. My skin just looks natural and glowy. I wear #18 Camel and it is perfect!!! I can't rave about this enough.

Although I love this....it is a little heavy for me for the warmer months. I am returning this to Sephora and picking up the Smashbox tinted moisturizer in medium.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaliforniaKush on 3/25/2010 2:07:00 PM more reviews by CaliforniaKush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this foundation!! It's really sheer which i love but you can definitely build coverage and it doesn't look cakey at all. It has a gel consistency but when you shake it up and dip your brush in it, its really liquid. This is definitely my new HG foundation. Right now my skin tone is kind of light medium with a yellowish undertone and Shade 32 Alabaster Beige is a perfect match. I will definitely need to get a darker shade for the summer time when i'm much tanner (tanner medium) and i will probably get #34. It's a little bit pricey but worth the price in my opinion as its great quality stuff and will probably last you a while. I will definitely re-purchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iris621 on 3/23/2010 4:32:00 AM more reviews by iris621

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i have dry skin, and i love to use this in the winter. it's very light nad offers minimal coverage. so, if u have a lot of scars and imperfections, this isn't the fdt for u. if u just want to have a healthy glow and only have minor imperfections or large pores, this is the one for u~
my face is usually clear, but it looks kind of dull and i also have some pores, and this fdt does the trick! it gives u a glow which is awesome. it's my lifesaver in the winter becoz sometimes i get so dry that most fdts looks flakey on me, but this one always blends into my skin perfectly~
however, this fdt doesn;t seem to dry and u hv to set it with a powder or it'll shift around.
i'll definitely recommend it for those who likes a sheer coverage and have dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EmpressD on 3/19/2010 6:52:00 PM more reviews by EmpressD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I generally never wore foundation, as I found a lot of them tended to be heavy, and cakey looking. When I would look for a more sheer cover, it never seemed to last. This "Face & Body Foundation" changed all that. It provided me with a cover light enough that my skin didn't feel stifled, and heavy enough that there was coverage. The one thing I did not like (but can't expecting with such a light coverage), is that it is not as durable as I would like. But it does the trick for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UDMAC on 3/19/2010 7:31:00 AM more reviews by UDMAC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

i can see how everyone loves this foundation but its not for me because no matter what shade i try, it just doesnt "look right" since they dont make shades yellow enough for me since i build it to a medium coverage. however, when i wear this later on in the afternoon hrs when im not in direct sunlight, this foundation looks great and like others have said, like im wearing nothing. the texture is like jelly, its fun to play with, and the scent smells like those scratch and sniff rose scented stickers which i dont hate but dont care for either. it doesnt have much staying power on my very oily acne prone skin but it doesnt break it out either. coverage is from light to medium with a dewy finish. im giving it a 3 since i dont hate it or love it.

by the way, i have this in shade 34 and im a c4 in mac. that was the closest shade in MUFEs F&B foundation had to offer for me in sephora which is the only place i could get it. i also tried shade 32 and dont see much of a difference since is sheer, but both shades were too pink for me since im pretty yellow. ive found better foundations for my preference and coloring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 portalhop on 3/15/2010 1:20:00 PM more reviews by portalhop

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

After reading numerous beauty blogs, I came to the conclusion that the 36 was lighter than 38 (as was stated numerous times by PPP who tried both shades). I was delighted with the coverage of 36, but was slightly suspicious of the color. In person, it looked way too pink/dark. In photos, it looked beautiful and like a match. I have decided to not wear this foundation anymore. As a NW05-10 girl, I can't afford to have a face darker than the rest of me. It just looks alien.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poonamkaur on 3/13/2010 2:38:00 PM more reviews by poonamkaur

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this product while on the hunt for something a little lighter than my usual GA LSF. I picked it up at a Shoppers Drug Mart for $42 + tax. I'm somewhere in the NC35-40 range, East Indian background, and F&B #34 is a great colour match for me!

The texture is a fluid-gel consistency, and please, PLEASE shake this product vigorously prior to using or swatching! It doesn't really separate, it just has a slight tendency to settle.

I find the foundation to feel extremely refreshing on my skin when applying, so I'm pleased by that. I shake the bottle vigorously, apply a bit of product to the back of my hand (roughly what would be accumulated under the cap of the bottle) and use a MAC 130 to apply/buff into my skin. The result is extremely natural, satiny-verging-on-luminous skin. Total love. I set it with a bit of pressed powder (I vary between Rimmel Stay Matte pressed powder, MAC MSFN and GA LSF powder, though I like Rimmel's Stay Matte best with this fdtn). I'd classify it as light to medium coverage that is very buildable if desired.

I have combination skin with a very slightly oily t-zone. This foundation does not go oily on me at all, it stays put all day. I typically apply around 6-7 a.m. and remove around 11 p.m. and the staying power is great in my experience. It should be noted that I do not use a primer, but I do wear this in conjunction with Chanel UV Essentiel sunscreen.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products