Make Up For Ever Face & Body Liquid Make Up

4.1

897 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients (new formula): aqua, hydrogenated polyisobutene, sorbitan sesquioleate, cyclopentasiloxane, methylpropanediol, glycerin, butylene glycol, mangifera indica seed oil (mango seed butter), acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, tetrasodium EDTA, fragrance, PEG-8, phenoxyethanol, tromethamine, potassium myristate, chlorphenesin, methylparaben, propylparaben, caprylyl glycol, sodium polyacrylate, panthenol, hexyl cinnamal, limonene, citronnellol, geraniol, butylphenyl methylpropional, linalool, alpha-isomethyl ionene. May contain: CI 77891 (titanium dioxide), CI 777493 (iron oxides), CI 77492 (iron oxides), CI 77499 (iron oxides). Ingredients (old formula): aqua, mineral oil, sorbitan sesquioleate, cyclopentasiloxane, phenoxyethanol, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, triethanolamine, magnesium myristate, tetrasodium EDTA, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance. May contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: It's been a long time since I wrote my original review, and I wanted to say that I still love this foundation. I've found that by finishing it with a light powder (I use MAC Mineralize Skinfinish), I no longer need to use concealer, and it looks and stays better than ever. I often get compliments on my skin, which is the best I could hope for from a foundation.

-

I've been using this foundation for a few months now. It took me a while to get used to it and to perfect my application technique; I've found using a triangle wedge works best to blend it and achieve a healthy, smooth skin.

That's what it is: a second skin. I love this stuff. I have quite a few pimples and freckles and some scars and even with all these blemishes, my skin still looks FRESH and lovely wearing this. I can cover my pimples pretty well with this, though I do have to follow with some concealer. That's both good and bad, because this isn't thick enough to completely cover blemishes, but the fact is it makes my overall face just... pretty. Not too shiny, not too matte, but just young, mostly-clear skin. It doesn't cake, although I find it helps to moisturise before I use it. I generally have quite oily skin, and even so this doesn't become an oil slick. I don't even use powder to set it, and it still stays for about 7 hours! What I also love about this is that its as light as mineral makeup - I can't feel it on my face. There's no heavy, thick feeling, or even the vague sensation of having liquid on my face.

For pretty skin that looks completely natural, I highly recommend this. If you have blemishes like me then be prepared to go over them with some concealer, but the overall effect on your face is LOVERLY.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 6/7/2010 7:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Dear F&B: where have you been all my life?!? Since my skin has cleared up (thanks spiro!) I've been looking for a lighter coverage foundation and have fallen in love with this stuff. This looks like my skin, just better. I'm about nc15 and #20 is a perfect match, which I'm actually surprised about because a lot of reviewers matched to #20 have mentioned being nc25. The best way to apply (for me) is with my fingers (which kinda sucks cuz I have so many awesome foundation brushes.) I rub it on my skin and let it dry for a sec then pat it in to blend and set. Follow with MSF natural and it just looks beautiful!


on 6/4/2010 12:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Definately a better face and body foundation compared to MAC face and body (which i like very much!).
I like light to medium buildable coverage with natural finish. I HATE thick foundation that looks like a mask and this is an awesome alternative to most liquid foundation out there that can do that! It's color selection is pretty wide (I'm between a C2 and C3 in MAC and I'm between 32 and 34 in MUFE face and body). It's summer right now so I got 34 so that I can look healthy and glowy.
texture: on the runny side. it's very thin and watery. the best way of applying this is to rub and pat it into skin like you would with moisturizer.
staying power: very good. I set this with a generous amount of any pressed powder and it stays put! I use a big fluffy brush and pat the powder on rather than brushing the powder around all over my face
I highly recommend this for ladies with minor imperfection that can get away with wearing something light to medium. it evens out the skintone and adds a healthy glow. this foundation enhances the look of your skin instead of masking your skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation definately has a unique texture, I love the natural finish. I love the buildable coverage. I think maybe I need something better to set it with, I find it doesn't last long enough on the skin. Especially on my nose.
I do find it pretty expensive. And I'd prefer a pump packaging but don't want to pay extra for one.
Will purchase again.


on 5/31/2010 3:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation.It is the only one I have found that looks
like I have nothing on my face.It does not accentuate my dry
patches!I have tried MANY including MUA HD.Hated it!!
$40 down the drain! Showed every flaw I had.Face and Body
has pretty good staying power,too.Does not break me out
and I break out easily.They were using mineral oil in this but
changed that and now it never breaks me out.I wish it came
in better color choices.I use the#20 and it is the perfect shade but is a tad too dark around the chin/neckline.#38
made me look like Casper.The two mixed did not
yield a good result either.So...lastly the price...not so bad
considering you get a lot more than other brands.Mine lasts
close to a year.Also it has no SPF but I can live with this
for this wonderful HG foundation.If anyone knows of any-
thing better let me know!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2010 1:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Wow! I tried this based on MUA reviews and I love it. The coverage and finish are just what I have been looking for; sheer to light coverage, non-greasy, but buildable while still looking natural. Porcelain 2 (for light skin with pink undertones) is a perfect match for my cool, fair complexion. I've always found tinted moisturizer too moist / finish too wet for my oily skin, not so with F&B. My powder goes over it like a dream leaving a beautiful finish. It truly does look natural on its own. I apply with my fingers and get perfect results. I have no issue with the bottle. They put preservatives in makeup for a reason after all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2010 9:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've had this for a while now, months actually. I bought it based on the reviews here, and really wasn't that into it. I would try it, not be happy, go back to another foundation regularly and then give it another go. For some odd reason, after I had decided just to give up on it, I gave it one more chance a couple weeks ago. I completely love it now. I don't know if it's because it's summer and my skin has changed slightly, or maybe it's because I started applying with my fingers instead of using brushes or sponges, but it is like a completely different foundation. Actually, I've started using my fingers for most of my foundations lately. I'm finding it just looks much more natural on my face. First started with my Chanel, much better with fingers, and now this. What I like about MUFE F&B is the dewy finish. Honestly, like someone else said, the finish is truely dewy, not shiny, not sparkley, just a nice healthy dewy finish. Shear, but coverage is fine for my skin. And it's buildable. No mask look, no settling into lines. So glad I decided to try this again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2010 2:05:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Goes on sheer and is build able. I highly recommend this product, as it's completely non-oily too.


on 5/2/2010 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation and has been for the past 5 years or so. I bought it after seeing some gals here on MUA with some beautiful, glowy FOTDs, and they were always wearing F&B as their foundation! I am NC20 (am actually very neutral but I have some ruddiness in my cheeks and on my nose, so I go a tad more yellow to help combat that) and wear shade 20.

This foundation is quite light coverage but if you give some time to let it dry, you can layer it to build coverage. I do one layer all over, and then a second layer on areas of redness on my cheeks and nose. The finish is dewy without being shiny and is TRULY dewy, not just sparkly or shimmery. It looks incredibly natural on. I set it with Smashbox Halo - this stuff is like it was made to go over F&B, it allows you to powder over it and not lose the dewiness, because Halo is somewhat dewy on it's own. It's a great combination. In the summer, when I am a little more tan (inevitable, I work outdoors), I switch to shade 32 which is also a perfect match. It lasts all day through sweat, sun, and sometimes 16-hour days.

Anyway, I wear this pretty much every day except super-hot days when I wear TM. Definite repurchase again and again for me. Worth every penny.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2010 11:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was matched to 32 by a Sephora sales, I took a sample home to later realize it's too dark for me. I went back and purchased 20 instead (I'm Chinese, w/ slight yellow undertone, I'm on the light side). Shades in the store are limited; 20 was the lightest on display. I was thinking what do fair skin girls buy??

This foundation is way too sheer to make any difference on my face. Having said that, the sides of my face are a bit red because the skin there is very thin. Applying this covers the redness. I've to build 3 thin layers on my nose just to see a slight coverage to hide my blackheads. By mid day the foundation "floats" on top of my pores (not good). The pores around my nose are visible too, and this doesn't cover it 1 bit. Overall it gives a slight dewy finish.

It's not doing anything for me. It's expensively priced @ $42 CAD. People commented it lasts a long time, however for me, if I build layers, this won't last at all. Unfortunately I can't use it for my body, it's too dark; my arms and legs are lighter than my face.The coverage is extremely sheer - even more sheer than a tinted moisturizer. I'm going to try BB cream next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top