Make Up For Ever Face & Body Liquid Make Up

4.1

889 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients (new formula): aqua, hydrogenated polyisobutene, sorbitan sesquioleate, cyclopentasiloxane, methylpropanediol, glycerin, butylene glycol, mangifera indica seed oil (mango seed butter), acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, tetrasodium EDTA, fragrance, PEG-8, phenoxyethanol, tromethamine, potassium myristate, chlorphenesin, methylparaben, propylparaben, caprylyl glycol, sodium polyacrylate, panthenol, hexyl cinnamal, limonene, citronnellol, geraniol, butylphenyl methylpropional, linalool, alpha-isomethyl ionene. May contain: CI 77891 (titanium dioxide), CI 777493 (iron oxides), CI 77492 (iron oxides), CI 77499 (iron oxides). Ingredients (old formula): aqua, mineral oil, sorbitan sesquioleate, cyclopentasiloxane, phenoxyethanol, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, triethanolamine, magnesium myristate, tetrasodium EDTA, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance. May contain: titanium dioxide, iron oxides.


on 5/2/2010 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation and has been for the past 5 years or so. I bought it after seeing some gals here on MUA with some beautiful, glowy FOTDs, and they were always wearing F&B as their foundation! I am NC20 (am actually very neutral but I have some ruddiness in my cheeks and on my nose, so I go a tad more yellow to help combat that) and wear shade 20.

This foundation is quite light coverage but if you give some time to let it dry, you can layer it to build coverage. I do one layer all over, and then a second layer on areas of redness on my cheeks and nose. The finish is dewy without being shiny and is TRULY dewy, not just sparkly or shimmery. It looks incredibly natural on. I set it with Smashbox Halo - this stuff is like it was made to go over F&B, it allows you to powder over it and not lose the dewiness, because Halo is somewhat dewy on it's own. It's a great combination. In the summer, when I am a little more tan (inevitable, I work outdoors), I switch to shade 32 which is also a perfect match. It lasts all day through sweat, sun, and sometimes 16-hour days.

Anyway, I wear this pretty much every day except super-hot days when I wear TM. Definite repurchase again and again for me. Worth every penny.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 4/30/2010 11:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was matched to 32 by a Sephora sales, I took a sample home to later realize it's too dark for me. I went back and purchased 20 instead (I'm Chinese, w/ slight yellow undertone, I'm on the light side). Shades in the store are limited; 20 was the lightest on display. I was thinking what do fair skin girls buy??

This foundation is way too sheer to make any difference on my face. Having said that, the sides of my face are a bit red because the skin there is very thin. Applying this covers the redness. I've to build 3 thin layers on my nose just to see a slight coverage to hide my blackheads. By mid day the foundation "floats" on top of my pores (not good). The pores around my nose are visible too, and this doesn't cover it 1 bit. Overall it gives a slight dewy finish.

It's not doing anything for me. It's expensively priced @ $42 CAD. People commented it lasts a long time, however for me, if I build layers, this won't last at all. Unfortunately I can't use it for my body, it's too dark; my arms and legs are lighter than my face.The coverage is extremely sheer - even more sheer than a tinted moisturizer. I'm going to try BB cream next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2010 6:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Im about an NC35 and i find myself having to mix the shades 32 and 34 together to get a good match. That being said, its an amazing product, it blends amazingly well into the skin, leaving it looking dewy and soft. The coverage is not very high, fairly sheer in my opinion, but it does cover a few areas of redness around my nose fairly well and layering is definitely possible without caking!. I mainly bought this because i have PE right now and i tend to sweat a fair amount and i have always been afraid of foundation dripping off my face leaving it splotchy. This foundation definitely does not do that, however i feel like it does fade a bit by the end of the day, but not enough so that anyone else but me would notice.


on 4/22/2010 12:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm normally a MAC NC35ish, nearing NC40 during the summer, and use the color Sand in the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizers. At first, I bought 32 in Alabaster Beige but found that it looked strange on my skin. I looked I thought it would be a good match because most people with about my skin tone seemed to buy this shade. I went back and was matched to 34 in Honey Beige by a Sephora consultant. Much better! Since I've started using this, my skin looks great. Admittedly, you need a good base of decent skin to make this work. I'm definitely someone who doesn't like dramatic makeup for everyday (my routine is light foundation/tinted moisturizer, concealer, mascara, and a light dusting of bronzer). But what I like about this is that it makes it look like my skin but better. I like this a lot better than the Laura Mercier, which would sometimes make my pores very pronounced. and in some lighting, even cakey. This gives me a dewy, smooth look. I just smooth it on over my sunscreen with just fingers, which works just fine. I don't really have the need to use brushes or sponges with this. I don't think this will work as well for people with oily skin, but I have combination skin that leans on the dry side, so this works just great. Anytime I get too shiny, I just wipe over it with an oil absorbing sheet and it looks great again. I do agree about the poor packaging, but I guess one plus is that you can get the most out of the bottle. So many people complain about the smell, but I like it. It's almost a baby powder-ish laundry smell. This is my new favorite foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2010 2:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow. I love this product. The MUFE rep at Sephora was helping me check out some MUFE products, and I ended up getting this instead of the Lancome Teint Idole. It's gel-based, so application doesn't get streaky because it's really easy to blend, even with just your fingers. In fact, I prefer using my fingers with this one. Faster and not very messy at all. Sad to buy a foundation right before summer hits, but you can always just use bronzer. I have this in 32 (light-medium Asian/golden skins), and it's a pretty good match.

Admittedly, it doesn't have as great a range of color choices as the HD foundation, but the 32 actually matches me a lot better than the 120 in the HD foundation. And the HD foundation cakes like mad! It's seriously full full fulllll coverage, and I honestly don't need that. I typically use either tinted moisturizer, powder, or light coverage foundation. I would say that the Face & Body is medium coverage. I honestly think it's great for all skin types. Gel-based skin products are excellent for all skin types really. Dry, normal, oily. Won't cake and doesn't create shine unless you're really oily. Nothing a little powder won't fix.

The only thing is that it doesn't come in a pump, but that wouldn't be very practical for a gel-based foundation, would it? I just get some out with a Q-tip.

It is supposedly waterproof when you put it on. I haven't put it to the test yet, but will update when I do. Excellent for if you go to the beach. MUFE rep said it was originally designed for Bay Watch. And she wore it from head to toe on her wedding day, haha. Good idea, because I have some scars on my legs that I would like to cover up. There's gigantic scar on my knee from a fall I took to the concrete 4 years ago. :( Still pretty prominent. [sigh] Silly tomboys, right?

And it's 1.69 oz, not 1.0 oz like most other foundations! :) I'll update how long it lasted me when I eventually run out. I don't wear foundation every day, and switch between foundations, so it'll last me a lonnnnnng time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MUFE's Face and Body foundation is really really great. I was looking for a foundation which gave more coverage than a tinted moisturizer, but not tons of coverage as I don't need it. This is the best one so far. It blends into my skin perfectly, and you only need a small amount of product for your whole face. I normally just apply it with my fingers, since it has a very thin consistency. I tend to have dry patches on my forehead and chin, but these did not exacerbate them at all, as many other foundations have. The coverage is very sheer, but is buildable. Still, don't expect the coverage of MUFE's HD foundation. The one thing I don't like about it is the packaging, as its just a simple glass bottle with no pump.


on 4/10/2010 8:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought that this product was great. I don't wear a lot of makeup but want an even skin tone. This is very light and natural feeling and works well with my Asian skin tone. It lasts well all days long and doesn't wear off or get greasy by the end of the day. I will definitely buy this again. My only complaint is that it does not come in a squeeze bottle, the glass bottle makes it hard to get out with a brush.


on 4/9/2010 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Well I have to be honest, I never thought I would really like this foundation, and now I considered it to be as close to HG as I know. The descriptions of this foundation being sheer and light turned me away from it for so long, but after hearing about it over and over again I was almost brainwashed into trying it. I purchased this from Sephora, so I knew if I ended up hating it I could return it and get a full refund. Now I run usually in between an NC15-NC20 in MAC, maybe NC25 after being tanned, and I ordered the shade 20. When I first received this in January it was a TAD too dark, but nothing I couldn't blend out and work with, now that I have been in the sun a bit, the color match is perfect. The texture of this foundation is so unique, it's like a lumpy watery gel, which sound terrible, right? However it is the unique texture and formula of this foundation that makes it so incredible, and there is nothing that I've ever tried that compared (and believe me, I can list at LEAST 20 foundations, if not more that I have tried over the years). The smell is a little odd, but I have no idea why lots of people make a big deal about it, it fades away almost immediately. Now, I've tried several methods to apply this foundation, and I've actually developed my only routine to get this foundation to build up some coverage, and it's quite easy. What I do is works in sections, I apply the foundation to the left side of my face with just a standard fdtn brush (I use Clinique's) and I apply the first layer. The trick is just to place the fdtn on, don't blend yet (and I know you guys are freaking out right now). Then I let that side of my face dry a bit, and I place the fdtn on the right side of my face. After I am done with the right side of my face, I take a flatop brush (I CANNOT sing the praises of the Sigma SS197 enough) and I buff it in to blend, then I buff the right side out. So at this point I have my first layer down, and because I gave a chance for the fdtn to "dry" a bit (this is a water based fdtn) I got a little more coverage than I would immediately blending it, which I find takes a lot of product off the face. Now for coverage in the areas I need, I go back with my fdtn brush and I apply another light layer over my problems areas (a few areas of discolorations, redness) let it set for a minute, then buff. This foundation gives an absolutely beautiful finish, and WILL NOT CAKE. This is the first and only fdtn I have ever tried that does not cling to any dry areas or areas that need to be exfoliated. I normally have somewhat oily skin with flaky patches and this foundation does not make me oily and it does not enhance my flaky areas, it's like magic. The foundation does leave a dewy finish (it is mostly water) that I just set with a mix of my Clinique transparent powder and silica microspheres. The foundation last all day, looks good all day, and photographs beautifully. When I am ready to go full time with my makeup artistry career, I will definitely use this foundation in my kit. Now, this foundation isn't going to cover all problems for someone with acneic skin, a concealer will still need to be used. If I want fuller coverage fdtn, I use MUFE HD (which is also great if you know how to use it). Bottom line, beautiful fdtn, lasts forever, you get a ton of product for $38 ( I know, maybe a lil $$$) and honestly I haven't really reached for anything else lately (but Clinique's acne solutions is impressive too). 5 stars, and I will be using this foundation for a long time to come.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2010 11:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been looking for a foundation for ages that would actually match my skin but provide a light coverage because I don't like it to feel heavy or cakey on my skin. This foundation was recommended to me from a girl at Sephora and it works like a dream. It has a watery texture and feels so light on your skin you'll forget you're wearing foundation. It matches my skin perfectly and looks very natural. Because of its consistency, it can make your face look dewy (I'd recommend this for people with normal skin types- dry, not oily or acneic because even with powder it may not do the trick) but I use powder afterwards and usually that does the trick. The packaging isn't the greatest and it's hard to get the right amount of foundation out of the bottle without getting too much or too little so that would be my only negative. It's also not cheap either but it lasts a long time (mine still is standing) so think of it as an investment purchase if you choose to get it. It pays to have beautiful skin.


on 4/7/2010 11:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Weird gelatinous, watery texture! Packaging is not so good-just a big bottle that dumps out gobs.

Gives very light coverage for me-almost like a tinted moisturizer, and it leaves me oily after awhile (but I have really oily skin.) I prefer Mat velvet + b/c that's the kind of coverage I like.

Color #34 is a good match for nc37-40 though!

Never tried it in water, but would like to =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top