Wet 'n' Wild • Color Icon Palette - Comfort Zone • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(439 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 kendramarie1 on 3/6/2011 4:39:00 PM more reviews by kendramarie1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's pigmented, inexpensive, lasts a long time, and the colors are great to work with. This is definitely a thumbs up! I love all the colors, they are just so rich in color. Comfort Zone is my all time favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkohli on 3/6/2011 9:38:00 AM more reviews by nikkohli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Out of the three this palette is my favorite: most workable colors with my eyes/skin tone and most pigmentation.

The good--these shadows are SO soft. They just glide on and blend wonderfully. With a primer they last all day without creasing and a little goes a long way--the pigmentation is wonderful. I prefer to use the browbone color on my eyelids bc I have hooded eyes and it looks really nice. It is shimmery but I don't have any trouble with fallout.

The bad- Like others, I reeeeallly wish they had a matte shade or two. It is hard to create a daytime look using this palette alone because of all the shimmer--I am a teacher and I don't want my eye makeup to look like the 13 year old girls I teach!
Also, the packaging is crap. I know I shouldn't complain too much because the product is great for the price but I worry everyday I am going to snap the lid.

Would I buy it again? Yes, but I think this will last a long time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 3/3/2011 8:53:00 PM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Meh.


Though I wasn't stalking Walgreen's for this pallette like so many have been, I had decided that if I ran across one, I would pick it up. But admittedly, I was pretty excited to happen upon one the other day.


I will say that the texture, the blendability, and the pigmentation of these shadows is excellent. I have no quibble with the quality at all. I think they are far, far superior to the shadows offered by some of the more prestigious drugstore brands.


But...


I just wasn't terribly impressed with the colors.


One the left side of the pallette, I found only the lid and the browbone color to be anything I would use with any frequency. The crease color was a really unremarkable ashy brown and not particularly flattering to my green eyes. The bottom color, which looked like a deep, sparkly eggplant, was a very disappointing charcoal when blended out that didn't really seem to go with the other colors, as it lacked any warmth whatsoever. For that reason alone it didn't work for me, but also, it was just far too harsh for my pale complection. Also, I experienced a LOT of fallout, though I was very sparing with the product and used a small defining brush to apply it.


On the green side..again, the brow and lid colors were very nice, but the crease color was disappointing, because again, it blended out into a muddy charcoal type hue. The green was evident, but just barely. The bottom color seemed to be a gorgeous shimmery duochrome, but actually blended out to an oddly flat reddish brown, which was really weird. So...$5 for four colors I *might* use from time to time...hmmm. Not such a great deal. Certainly better than wasting $20, $30 or even more for mediocre department store pallette, but still a disappointment.


Sorry to be the voice of dissent, I just thought that it was a very disappointing product overall.


EDIT: I was wrong about the medium brown on the left side. After playing around a little bit, I realized it isn't an ashy brown, but rather a warm-ish taupe. It actually works really well with the browbone color on the green side. The shimmery champagne lid color it was meant to be paired with is too warm for it. But interestingly, THAT color looks nice in the crease with the browbone color as a wash from lash to brow. As for the taupe/brown...I found that if I used the browbone color from the right side as a wash from lash to brow, and then put it in the crease, it creates a really pretty subtle daytime look. It looks fabulous with UD Underground 24/7 liner. I tried using the "definer" shade again, to intensify the look for evening but it just didn't work. It really is horrible, so I stand by my original asessment of that shade. Instead I used Bare Escentuals "Drama" and that looked really nice. I still think that the pallette is a disappointment overall, but I'm learning to make it workable.



Also...I would like to add that I really don't understand why someone feels compelled to inject petulant and pissy remarks directed at other users into their review simply because they happen to disagree about product. For the record, I'm not a novice makeup user, (I'm a professional) I do watch Goss quite often and find him very knowledgeable and charming, and I believe products that need other products to make them work properly are inferior and should be indentified as such so we can all make informed decisions about how we spend our money.


Grow up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mmg0091 on 2/26/2011 6:00:00 PM more reviews by mmg0091

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this palette! the neutrals really complement my skin :)
i wish there were some matte colors, though. I'm really loving WnW lately!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gorbe on 2/26/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love it! Almost didn't pick it up b/c there was a little scratch on the bottom of one of the shadows, but I figured oh well, it was the last one and they aren't super easy to find I'm sure. The pigmentation is great, they are easy to apply and blend, and they wear well with a primer. I don't really have problems with fall out on my face, it is a little powdery in the pain, but it doesn't bother me. Also I believe the bottom right shade is the MAC club dupe that is in that Night Elf palette I never could find. And this palette has more wearable colors (at least for me) than that one. And it's bigger! Yay! <3 wet n wild and this palette, all the colors are flattering, wearing shades and you can create a myriad of looks with just this alone. Definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sh3D3vil84 on 2/25/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by Sh3D3vil84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Well it's funny the hype about these new palettes because I wasn't exactly hoping to find this palette. It found me! I was looking at the wet n wild section hoping to find the 6 pans people have been raving about (I'm late) and I didn't see them. Never fear! I did find them on the ebay.

Anyway, I saw this and the Petal Pusher and I was like OMG stunning! However, this 8 pan palette does have a drawback. It is kinda powder-y and does create a LOT of fallout. It's workable and for the color pay-off, selection of shades, and cost it definitely outweighs the bad. The good things about this palette is I did notice a long wear time with a primer which I liked. Didn't seem to crease either. They are highly pigmented, but I do find that the darker shades you can go very light while the lighter ones you do have to work with a bit more. Just depends on if you have a heavy hand or not. I tend to be more heavy handed. I would say that some of these shades could be found easily in a Cover Girl/Maybelline trio or quad and I know there are supposed MAC dupes, but there are certain shades I haven't seen in drugstores such as the shade in the bottom right hand corner. I think that overall for Wet n wild this palette is great. On the big scheme of eyeshadow? Just okay.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitten14 on 2/25/2011 3:35:00 PM more reviews by kitten14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought all three of the new 8-pan palettes, and I love them all but this one is the most wearable for me. I love neutrals and have a ton, but there are shades in here that I don't have anything close to. I love pairing the mossy green shade with the dark sparkly brown on the outer v and MAC's Amber lights on the inner "v". I am still playing with the combinations and mixing things from what I already own and with the three palettes together, they go with so many different looks. The shadows are long wearing and highly pigmented. I used my MAC 224 brush to lightly dab the mossy green and it picked up enough to use all over one eyelid, if that tells you anything. Overall you really can't beat the price for $5, that is if you can find them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alevalerio1986 on 2/23/2011 12:04:00 PM more reviews by alevalerio1986

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Out of all 3 new 8 pan pallets from Wet n Wild this is my favorite. The colors are gorgeous shimmery nuetrals. The pigmentation is awesome, and you can't beat the price.

The only downside is the fall out but I can deal with that. The color pay off alone is worth it. I was also hoping to see some matte shades as the previous 6pan pallets (lust, vanity, etc) included both shimmer AND matte shades which were awesome. Unfortunately, this particular pallet was all shimmer shades.

I am really looking forward to more pallets like these from Wet n Wild...and I hope they re-release the holiday pallets because I was unable to get my hands on them the first time around :( Ultimately, Comfort Zone is a great buy, definitely recommend this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 2/22/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by isavella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First things first- I totally stalked the crap out of this palette like a crackhead. What is wrong with me? It's just makeup.
Finally found it...I'm not going to review each color, other reviews pretty much have it covered. I have MAC Club, and vastly prefer the original to the dupe in this palette (it's just too red). My favorite (so far) is the highlighter on the green side. It's silvery and smooth, and looks awesome w/ my dark skin and eyes. Actually, I think the green side is a lot better than the brown. Regardless, the other shades are a GREAT starter pack of warm neutrals that you can create a ton of different looks with. I'm not the type to get all complicated, I maybe use 2 shades of shadow at a time. I find that this palette has a lot of good options for that. I also think the dark brown shade might be a dupe for UD Roach...haven't tested side by side. All in all, good buy for 5 bucks- smooth, lasts, and you get 8 freaking decent shades. Totally glad I'm a creepy makeup stalker.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ColdFire on 2/20/2011 2:45:00 PM more reviews by ColdFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I must have searched 3 or 4 different Walgreens-es once a week for a month before I finally found one of these. I had really high expectations for this palette because I've been really impressed by WnW, their new Color Icon trios are wonderful and I thought this would be more of the same.
I'll talk about each of the colors separately; I have neutral/slightly cool undertones for reference.
Brown side: Browbone - an ok highlighter, on the frosty side. Eyelid - pulled way too orange on me, not flattering. Crease - I really like this one but it's very pigmented, so I have to be careful with it. Definer - This one is really nice as a liner but is on the warm side.
Green side: Browbone - I really wanted to love this one but it pulls sooo green on me and just looks weird. Eyelid - I can't figure out how to make this one look right. Crease - nice shade but so dark and pigmented that it's easy to go overboard, so I'd use it as a liner instead. Definer - the MAC Club dupe that was also in the Night Elf palette, and just like the NE version I can't get the duochrome to show up and it just looks red-brown.
Maybe this is just a result of me "doing it wrong" but I can't get these colors to work for me...I've had it for almost two weeks and I maybe use 3 of the colors. That being said, the quality of the shadows is good, they're very pigmented and blend easily, so I can't knock down the rating entirely. I did see that the darker colors in particular were quite crumbly, every palette on the shelf at Walgreens had pieces missing and loose in the palette getting powder all over the place...I'm not sure if it was just that batch because I've seen others looking crumbly, too.
I also found that this palette was more difficult to open than other WnW palettes, I feel like I'm going to snap a nail every time I open it.
I'm not sure if I would buy this palette again, but I would recommend that people give it a try if they like warm colors. At $4.99, it really is a steal.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Eye Shadow products