Wet 'n' Wild • Color Icon Palette - Comfort Zone • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(456 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 AnnaCate007 on 3/20/2011 11:03:00 AM more reviews by AnnaCate007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this about 3 weeks ago and have used it pretty much every single day since then. The colors are crazy pigmented and they blend fairly easily. They are all shimmer, which is slightly disappointing, but I can live with it. The are super soft, which is nice on the eyes... but not so nice when they crumble. The packaging leaves a lot to be desired and i find it hard to travel with this because it does have a tendency to break. The definer color on the right bottom is a tad bit too red for my skin, but when you mix it with a cooler brown color i find that it creates a pretty cool effect. These are great neutral colors that you can take from day to night with little effort. I really love the greens. They are clearly green, but not so much that when you wear them you have crazy green makeup. Very subtle and i have been having a fun time mixing and matching them with other eyeshadows.

I'm a broke college student. And as much as i would LOVE to go to mac or sephora and drop hundreds of dollars to build up a great eyeshadow collection, I just can't afford it. WnW has been a total budget saver for me. I can get very good eyeshadows at an amazing price and because of that I have a wide range of shades and colors that I wouldnt otherwise be able to have. Are they the best quality? No. But i'm willing to work a bit with them in order to make them really good quality. Yeah, the packaging leaves loads to be desired, but for 6 bucks I'll struggle with it a bit. I would definately recommend this for a beginner just getting their feet wet in the make up world. Its a great price to be able to practice a bit with color placement and blending. Its also great for learning what colors look good on you and your skin. I would MUCH rather spend 6 dollars at walgreens to find out that a color doesnt work than spend 20 at mac to find out its just not right.

I have already purchased a backup because i know i love most of these colors and i can see myself hitting pan on a few of them for sure.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tresha on 3/19/2011 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Tresha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like the darker colors in this palette, but the lighter ones are very chalky on my nc42 skintone. With a 4.99 price tag...No big loss. Nice to have in my collection, but I doubt I will be wearing this palette much. I prefer the Blue Had Me At Hello palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Raven2322 on 3/18/2011 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Raven2322

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I found this product the other day when it came back into stock at my walgreens. I'd heard so many good reviews and I'd been on the hunt for it. I have to say I love the bottom right definer color, love love love it. It's one of the main reasons I bought this palette. I saw a swatch and had to have it. The formula is very soft and I've only had a little fall out. I will say I wish they weren't all shimmery, but that's because I don't like to have a full shimmer eye. Other than that, great product, for a great price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kristenhonto on 3/14/2011 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Kristenhonto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Seeing how much hype was around this palette you can imagine that I was super excited to receive this in a swap. The pigment and texture is fantastic as it is with all WnW eyeshadows, but the colors aren't as pretty as I thought they were going to be :(. Some of them are dupes of the Naked Palette... my favorite shade is the light green. Also, there's a very strange color in the bottom right corner... It's reddish-brown with a green sheen =X. Very weird... I'm not sure how I would use it. All in all, I know I will get some use out of this but it's not an HG like I thought it would be =\.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Schni on 3/13/2011 3:30:00 PM more reviews by Schni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This palette is such a bargain!
It is so cheap and the quality is really good. The colors are extremly pigmented and soft. The color selection is great too. Only downside is that there is fallout...
Other then that the palette is perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ryan1223 on 3/13/2011 3:10:00 PM more reviews by ryan1223

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette picked it up at walgreens the other day and when i used it boy was i impressed the first day i used it, it held up to an 11.5 hour work day no touch ups in the middle and by time i got home it still looked perfect but mind you that was also with UDPP. The colors are gorgeous and you can make sooo many looks out of this one palette. All the colors are very pigmented and buttery smooth. Iv been using it everyday since iv gotten it so i most likely will go back for a backup!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 3/12/2011 10:12:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The colors are great in this palette. If you are new to makeup I'd pick this up. Or if you are like me and want to experiment with cheaper colors before spending more. There are a few negatives...the colors do not stay on all day. Even with a primer, I had to retouch in the afternoon. The bottom left (copper) is so creamy that it smeared like crazy on my eyes. That color also broke in the pan after 1 use. The green side stayed on my eyes better, but I still had to retouch. For the most part I'm happy with it, but I won't buy another one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LindsayRoseEliz on 3/12/2011 12:57:00 PM more reviews by LindsayRoseEliz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this palette! The first three colors on the left side remind me of the trio "Egyptian Sands," which i've been desperately wanting to dupe, since "Egyptian Sands" was the first eyeshadow palette i ever bought. Ah, nostalgia. The left side of the palette definitely leans warm, while the right side mostly leans cool with the greens.

Also, the MAC Club dupe (4th shade on the right side) is gorgeous!

Edit: These shadows are insanely fragile. The darkest color on the left got a little chip in it, and now every time i open/close the shadow flakes and gets all over the other shadows. While i still think it's a good palette, i would not repurchase it and will probably have to throw it out or depot the shadows (which i'm reluctant to do in case they break and get over the shadows in my palette).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tazzyface on 3/11/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by tazzyface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I live in Australia so I had to buy these palettes online. It still worked out to be dirt cheap. The quality is beyond anything I've ever used! I can also wear all of these shadows, unlike the Blue Had Me At Hello palette (they need a bit of tweaking as they don't quite suit my neutral-warm complexion and hazel eyes). The duochrome is amazing! I'm so glad I bought these. I've since gone on to purchase the Color Icon trios. I love that they'd co-ordinated the colours since I'm a newbie with eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ella343 on 3/11/2011 9:53:00 PM more reviews by ella343

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a great palette of earth tones, even if it weren't $5, as if a classic quad of neutral brown shimmers moved next door to a quirkier set of neutrals, still wearable, but with green undertones. More thoughtfully put together than UD Naked palette, quite a feat for eight colors.



The left side begins with a white gold, not unlike Nylon, but with a sparkle that breaks up the frost, so on the skin it's more of a sparsely glittering effect than an even frost; too sparkly for the browbone, if you follow WnW's suggestion, but quite festive on the lid with a slick of liquid liner. Next, comes a metallic rose gold, more pink than yellow, so it goes on like a beige with twist, followed by bronze shimmered with a little gold. Not the most intriguing colors, but useful, and on the right skin tone, would double as a highlighter. Finally, a dark smoked out brown with a faint plum undertone; the copper flecks make it seem special, but they don't register on the skin unless you make an effort, so it's really quite a standard expresso. The green side starts with a silver shimmer, blunted by the perfect amount of taupe to turn it warm, and in some lights, it picks up a creamy, pinkish sheen. The most colorful shade in the octect, a spring green shimmer dusted with gold, comes next. The olive-looking shade is really a soft charcoal, flecked with gold; it's no Erika F by a long shot. Finally, the Club dup, a warm cocoa brown with a bluish green holographic iridescence.



From the texture, I'd say Comfort Zone emulates Stila or Shiseido, which tend to be soft and creamy, while the shades themselves recall MAC. In spite of the impressive longevity, texture, and payoff, the pigments are not so finely milled as that of a high-end shadow. I like this palette, it's a positive step in the right direction. However, I do not find equivalent to luxury eyeshadows: the finish is somewhat coarse, they apply unevenly (you can see the brush strokes), so consequently they require much more involved blending.

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Eye Shadow products