MAC • Paint Pot in Painterly • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(956 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 natalieshusterman on 3/20/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by natalieshusterman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a product to prevent creasing with eyeshadows and to create a neutral base for days when I wanted to look more pulled together. I'm fair with yellow undertones and Painterly was a bit ashy on me, but with the right amount of blending it wasn't a problem. While I liked the creamy consistency and neutral color, I was put off by the fact that it did in fact crease. I mean, the whole point of the product is to prevent creasing, right? Because I was dying to give Painterly the benefit of the doubt, I tried blotting my lids first, applying less, applying more, blending, using with and without shadow, and nothing worked. Maybe it's just me (and according to the MAC girl, it basically is, haha), but it simply didn't do as promised. You could definitely use a primer before, but that seems silly. Two primers doesn't make one right.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessglam on 3/20/2011 4:00:00 PM more reviews by princessglam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

for reference i am asian with yellow undertones and an NC35. Ive been doing alot of research before i bought this particular pain pot. Ive been torn between painterly and soft ochre! everyone says soft ochre is for people with yellow undertones! But for some reason painterly looked better on me. Soft ochre was too yellow, i felt like a banana! lol and paint pots are good base and primers! love them! they never creased on me! idk why people say it creases. its creamy but it dries really good on the lids. i have been using UDDP and after i found this, i never went back to using it. UDDP doesnt allow me to blend much, and paint pots do! i dnt use UDDP under the paint pot coz it pretty much holds itself well! definitely will buy over and over again!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 00R00 on 3/20/2011 4:36:00 AM more reviews by 00R00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this everyday as my eyeshadow base. It is the perfect tone for my NC20 skin and dark hair. It is great value for money - I bought mine back in 2009 and I still have 1/5 left. Will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rpolisk on 3/17/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this. Very easy to apply (I find that fingers work best as it can be too chalky if applied with a brush). Alone, it makes my lids even in color and allows my eye color to pop. With shadow, it allows the shadow to remain true, not migrate or break down. I even apply a bit to my undereye area at times to minimize dark circles. Does not budge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ampcuenca on 3/17/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by ampcuenca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great shadow base! This works really well on my oily lids. I love how it gives me a clean & matte canvass. Using my ring finger, I just dab a bit of this product all over my lids. I usually use it under the neutral shadows from my Too Faced Palette. It's also perfect for toning down those super bright/vibrant shadows. Would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scfindlay on 3/17/2011 4:56:00 PM more reviews by scfindlay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't live without Painterly now! It takes the redness away from my lids so the real eyeshadow color can be seen :) I have been using the same jar almost daily for 6 months and have barely made a dent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thalia773 on 3/17/2011 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Thalia773

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

absolutely loooove this as a primer. Although I don't reccommend this you could actually sleep in your eye makeup and wakeup with it still looking freshly applied. It lasts forever, not just on but such a little goes a long way, so this will last for months. It is an eyeshadow but frequently used as a primer because of its denseness and smoothness. No creases and make the top color pop! Even worn alone painterly is such a neutral color it just makes your eyes look more alert and alive. it has a pinkish beige undertone so it evens out uneven color. I have tried several actual primers and keep going back to my paint pots, nothing has topped this yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 3/15/2011 4:35:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Like many others, I bought Painterly to use as a shadow base.

I've been using Urban Decay's deservedly famous Primer Potion for years, and like it, but at times it can feel a little thick, so I gave Painterly a try.

Painterly goes on smoothly with my 195 brush, and blends seamlessly with my NW15 skin.

The only trouble, and this *may* be a deal-breaker for me, is the fact that Painterly doesn't seem to prevent creasing on my uber oily eyelids for as long as Primer Potion typically does.

That said, I like the way Painterly glides on, masking any irregularities in skin tone, and it *does* help my shadows to look better longer than they would if I didn't use any sort of base.

Therefore, I'll keep experimenting with Painterly. However, I *may* just have to accept the fact that Primer Potion is the one and only for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissDior5011 on 3/15/2011 6:15:00 AM more reviews by MissDior5011

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the paint pots I do actually like. I do only use this as a primer/base for eyeshadow. I would not wear this on its own as it is to light and looks very flat but as a base it gives the shadow something to stick/hold on to. I do find this one goes on easy and it doesnt crease like some of the other paint pots I have.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 3/15/2011 12:48:00 AM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

terrific product. great primer with the added benefit of concealing and erasing discolouration.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products