MAC • Paint Pot in Painterly • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(951 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 scfindlay on 3/17/2011 4:56:00 PM more reviews by scfindlay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't live without Painterly now! It takes the redness away from my lids so the real eyeshadow color can be seen :) I have been using the same jar almost daily for 6 months and have barely made a dent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thalia773 on 3/17/2011 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Thalia773

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

absolutely loooove this as a primer. Although I don't reccommend this you could actually sleep in your eye makeup and wakeup with it still looking freshly applied. It lasts forever, not just on but such a little goes a long way, so this will last for months. It is an eyeshadow but frequently used as a primer because of its denseness and smoothness. No creases and make the top color pop! Even worn alone painterly is such a neutral color it just makes your eyes look more alert and alive. it has a pinkish beige undertone so it evens out uneven color. I have tried several actual primers and keep going back to my paint pots, nothing has topped this yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 3/15/2011 4:35:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Like many others, I bought Painterly to use as a shadow base.

I've been using Urban Decay's deservedly famous Primer Potion for years, and like it, but at times it can feel a little thick, so I gave Painterly a try.

Painterly goes on smoothly with my 195 brush, and blends seamlessly with my NW15 skin.

The only trouble, and this *may* be a deal-breaker for me, is the fact that Painterly doesn't seem to prevent creasing on my uber oily eyelids for as long as Primer Potion typically does.

That said, I like the way Painterly glides on, masking any irregularities in skin tone, and it *does* help my shadows to look better longer than they would if I didn't use any sort of base.

Therefore, I'll keep experimenting with Painterly. However, I *may* just have to accept the fact that Primer Potion is the one and only for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissDior5011 on 3/15/2011 6:15:00 AM more reviews by MissDior5011

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the paint pots I do actually like. I do only use this as a primer/base for eyeshadow. I would not wear this on its own as it is to light and looks very flat but as a base it gives the shadow something to stick/hold on to. I do find this one goes on easy and it doesnt crease like some of the other paint pots I have.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 3/15/2011 12:48:00 AM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

terrific product. great primer with the added benefit of concealing and erasing discolouration.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allison1331 on 3/14/2011 8:41:00 PM more reviews by allison1331

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as the base before I apply my eyeshadow everyday. I apply it with a concealer brush and I feel that it goes on very easily and smoothly. It keeps my e/s from creasing and makes the colors appear brighter and more true to the appearance in the packaging. I also like the wide mouth of the container that makes it very easy to get all of the product out. The only set back about this product is that it does tend to get very dry as you reach the last bit in the bottom of the pot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShariJ1 on 3/14/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by ShariJ1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Love this...only reason that I don't give it a 5 is for it to really have some umph! I have to still use a primer underneath. But, this color is perfect for covering any discolorations and as a minimal base for my eyeshadows! I also use just a tiny amount under my eye (where liner goes) to help keep shadow liner in place and it works wonders!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jhereg on 3/13/2011 5:05:00 PM more reviews by Jhereg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first and only paint pot.
I threw it out today after dealing with it for about a year or so.
I had used MAC paints as shadow base, but wanted something creamier to get some shadows to adhere to them. Shade sticks were OK, but inconsistent in their quality.

What I like about Painterly: It is a perfect color. Just enough color to even out lid color. That's all I like about it.

What I dont like:
Most of this deals with packaging and delivery of the product.

It's dry. It was dry from the moment I began to use it. I stated storing it upside-down as some members suggested which actually helped, but it was still dry which lead to

It's hard to spread smoothly on the lid without tugging and leaving thick/thin spots.

It's a pain to apply. It's too thick to apply easily with a brush, so using my finger is easiest, but it's hard to get out w/o getting gobs stuck under my nails. Yuck.

Not hygienic enough. having to stick a finger or brush into a wet product meant for eyes does not make me feel confident it is clean enough.

I prefer shadesticks (the ones that are creamy) and paints. Paint pots are just a dry sticky mess that I feel is a breeding ground for germs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stability17 on 3/9/2011 11:42:00 AM more reviews by stability17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product. I would repurchase in a heartbeat.

Because my lids are so oily, I apply Painterly as a nice base to even out the color and make everything stick, and then I apply TFSI or UDPP on top. This makes my shadows NEVER crease.
Without Painterly, they always would.
I don't have a problem with packaging, in fact I like it.
I've had it for a month or so, and it's my first Paint Pot, and I haven't made a dent it.

Go out and get it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 3/9/2011 11:29:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after a MAC counter makeup session where the SA used this on me as an eyeshadow base/primer. I was previously using Elf mineral eye primer and Urban Decay primer, and neither worked as well as I'd hoped. Painterly comes in a glass jar with a black plastic screw-on lid. The product is a very thick cream, almost a clay color. I swipe my fingertip across it and rub it over my lid, it doesn't take much. It evens the skintone and provides a nice, neutral base for my shadow. It does definitely seem to hold my shadow better and keep it from creasing. For the price, you get a large amount of product. I like this and will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products