L'Occitane 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream

4.1

854 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract, Mel Extract/Honey Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Parfum/Fragrance, Polyacrylamide, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Ceteareth-33, Alcohol Denat, Laureth-7, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Linalool, Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Coumarin, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Gerional


on 11/27/2007 12:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great hand cream! I am a nurse and it's the only thing that hydrates my hands well. I have been buying it for years. Pretty pricey but definitely worth it!



on 11/21/2007 1:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I *might* buy this again. Good basic hand-cream - very rich and thick, but spreads easily. Hands are lovely and soft. Works well on feet, overnight and under socks. Contains much shea butter (that would be the 20%, then).

Packaged in a metallic silvery tube. Expensive, but lasts for a very very long time indeed. L'Occitane also sell a "magic key" you can use to turn it up, when running out. Once you've seen one, you can very easily make your own, and thus use up those precious remnants at the bottom.

My one beef - and it's purely subjective, so hasn't brought the rating down too much - is the smell. I just don't like it. L'Occitane make their hand cream in various other scents: Lavender, Rose, Honey & Lemon - the Gingerrama nose likes. Cherry Blossom, and the Olive Tomato one - less so.

INGREDIENTS: WATER, BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER), GLYCERIN, DIMETHICONE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, PEG-100 STEARATE, GLYCERYL STEARATE, POLYACRYLAMIDE, LINUM USITATISSIMUM (LINSEED) SEED EXTRACT, HONEY EXTRACT, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, PHENOXYETHANOL, COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) OIL, BRASSICA CAMPESTRIS (RAPESEED) STEROLS, C13-14 ISOPARAFFIN, CETEARETH-33, ALCOHOL DENAT, CHLORPHENESIN, METHYLPARABEN, FRAGRANCE, ALTHEA OFFICINALIS ROOT EXTRACT, PRUNUS AMYGDALUS DULCIS (SWEET ALMOND) FRUIT EXTRACT, LAURETH-7, ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT, HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, XANTHAN GUM, BENZYL BENZOATE, CITRONELLOL, HYDROXYISOHEXYL 3-CYCLOHEXENE CARBOXALDEHYDE, COUMARIN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, LINALOOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, ALPHA-METHYL IONONE, LIMONENE


on 11/17/2007 12:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Received this hand cream as a birthday gift from a friend and, like most L'Occitane products, this is not something I would buy myself.


As the product label indicates, this hand cream contains 20% shea butter (shea butter is second on the ingredients list) and is well and truly appropriate only for dry to very dry skin. The cream has a very emollient, balmy texture that is somewhat difficult to spread, and which leaves behind an uncomfortably sticky finish. You therefore only need to use a very small amount of product.


The cream is also quite strongly fragranced with a powdery scent that smells more like artificial disinfectant than it does clean soap. Not the most pleasant L'Occitane fragrance.


The aluminium tube style packaging also means that dispensing the product when it is near its end will be tricky, unless you have one of those special rolling/squeezing devices.


Crabtree & Evelyn's Hand Therapy hand creams remain superior in every aspect, and I will not be purchasing this when, and if, I finish this.


on 11/7/2007 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i love this hand cream for years i put up with blisters and cracks on my fingertips only ever using cheap stuff thinking that that loccitane hand cream is just the same never believed it would be this great!! sorted out me hand within 7 days now i have perfect hands i love the various fragrances you can get this in. lemon and cherry blossom are my faves.
but for value and everyday i love the plain shea, its great value really lasts.


on 11/6/2007 9:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This hand creme is worth every penny! It's soooo creamy and luscious -- it moisturizes my hands without leaving them feeling greasy. Plus, the scent is just heavenly! It's so soft and fresh -- I love it!


on 11/6/2007 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I didn't know this product is good until I tried some other hand cream. It keep my hands moist without getting my palm all oily, which most hand cream do. Very good product.


on 11/4/2007 3:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Received this as a gift, but I'm aware it's not cheap. I don't need too much to moisturize, about a 1 cm smidge, but the scent is quite strong and can be overpowering to those with sensitive noses.


As long as I don't apply too much it sinks nicely into hands, but I won't repurchase because the smell is too strong.


on 11/3/2007 11:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cream, but itís incredibly pricey (especially if you keep washing youíre hands like me and need to keep reapplying), I love the packaging and I love the soft, silky feeling it gives me but you could probably get the same results with a drugstore brand and for a much cheaper price. Though it is nice to splash out on this cream as a gift or a treat to yourself. I would have given it 4 stars if it had not been so pricey.


on 11/3/2007 11:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The best hand cream I have ever used, bar none, and I've tried almost all of them. I have extremely dry hands in the fall and winter, with cracked, itchy skin, reddened knuckles and they feel like sandpaper. My skin is also very sensitive. This hand cream is the only product I have found that actually keeps my hands moisturized between hand washings and sometimes even afterwards without reapplication. It absorbs very well, and I would describe the texture as a smooth cream but not sticky or waxy. I would advise using a small amount (less than the size of penny) for both hands and massage it in well. At night, after I apply it, I wear white cotton gloves and my hands feel much softer in the morning with less redness. It is one of the more expensive hand creams on the market, but well worth it, as drugstore and even specialty store hand creams just don't measure up to this. The packaging is like a metal tube of toothpaste, and you get every last bit out of it. A terrific product, that may cost a lot, but delivers.


on 11/2/2007 8:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

this is one of the best hand creams out there. love it. its pricey, but a little goes a long way and it lasts well. i love the way my hands feel when i have used this, so soft!!!




Back to Top