L'Occitane 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream

4.1

858 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract, Mel Extract/Honey Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Parfum/Fragrance, Polyacrylamide, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Ceteareth-33, Alcohol Denat, Laureth-7, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Linalool, Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Coumarin, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Gerional


on 12/2/2007 9:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

doesnt smell good, greasy, the little tin is a mess and the cap is a pain to put on. overpriced. I found nothing to really like about htis product and gave away my freebie.



on 12/1/2007 11:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best hand cream I have yet to try. I love the smaller tubes so I can tuck it into my bag. This stuff is not greasy, absorbs readily and delivers results. While the price is not totally outrageous, my friends who swear by drugstore stuff think I am nuts spending double digits on hand cream!


Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I find this handcream too thick and sticky for me and I am just using it up at night time. Would not buy again.

The company makes a big play on there being 20% Shea Butter in the ingredients however Philosophy Handmade has around 80% of Shea Butter in its ingredients and is absorbed almost instantly by my skin and I love the scent. ( I do not work for Philosophy). One of my favourite hand creams.


on 11/28/2007 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very moisturizing, lovely hand cream and i would purchase this again. I'm trying out the Jurlique rose hand cream at the moment but so far i don't see a lot of difference in quality between the two so i might return to L'occitane in the future- it's also a little cheaper.


on 11/27/2007 12:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great hand cream! I am a nurse and it's the only thing that hydrates my hands well. I have been buying it for years. Pretty pricey but definitely worth it!


on 11/21/2007 1:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I *might* buy this again. Good basic hand-cream - very rich and thick, but spreads easily. Hands are lovely and soft. Works well on feet, overnight and under socks. Contains much shea butter (that would be the 20%, then).

Packaged in a metallic silvery tube. Expensive, but lasts for a very very long time indeed. L'Occitane also sell a "magic key" you can use to turn it up, when running out. Once you've seen one, you can very easily make your own, and thus use up those precious remnants at the bottom.

My one beef - and it's purely subjective, so hasn't brought the rating down too much - is the smell. I just don't like it. L'Occitane make their hand cream in various other scents: Lavender, Rose, Honey & Lemon - the Gingerrama nose likes. Cherry Blossom, and the Olive Tomato one - less so.

INGREDIENTS: WATER, BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER), GLYCERIN, DIMETHICONE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, PEG-100 STEARATE, GLYCERYL STEARATE, POLYACRYLAMIDE, LINUM USITATISSIMUM (LINSEED) SEED EXTRACT, HONEY EXTRACT, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, PHENOXYETHANOL, COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) OIL, BRASSICA CAMPESTRIS (RAPESEED) STEROLS, C13-14 ISOPARAFFIN, CETEARETH-33, ALCOHOL DENAT, CHLORPHENESIN, METHYLPARABEN, FRAGRANCE, ALTHEA OFFICINALIS ROOT EXTRACT, PRUNUS AMYGDALUS DULCIS (SWEET ALMOND) FRUIT EXTRACT, LAURETH-7, ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT, HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, XANTHAN GUM, BENZYL BENZOATE, CITRONELLOL, HYDROXYISOHEXYL 3-CYCLOHEXENE CARBOXALDEHYDE, COUMARIN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, LINALOOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, ALPHA-METHYL IONONE, LIMONENE


on 11/17/2007 12:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Received this hand cream as a birthday gift from a friend and, like most L'Occitane products, this is not something I would buy myself.


As the product label indicates, this hand cream contains 20% shea butter (shea butter is second on the ingredients list) and is well and truly appropriate only for dry to very dry skin. The cream has a very emollient, balmy texture that is somewhat difficult to spread, and which leaves behind an uncomfortably sticky finish. You therefore only need to use a very small amount of product.


The cream is also quite strongly fragranced with a powdery scent that smells more like artificial disinfectant than it does clean soap. Not the most pleasant L'Occitane fragrance.


The aluminium tube style packaging also means that dispensing the product when it is near its end will be tricky, unless you have one of those special rolling/squeezing devices.


Crabtree & Evelyn's Hand Therapy hand creams remain superior in every aspect, and I will not be purchasing this when, and if, I finish this.


on 11/7/2007 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i love this hand cream for years i put up with blisters and cracks on my fingertips only ever using cheap stuff thinking that that loccitane hand cream is just the same never believed it would be this great!! sorted out me hand within 7 days now i have perfect hands i love the various fragrances you can get this in. lemon and cherry blossom are my faves.
but for value and everyday i love the plain shea, its great value really lasts.


on 11/6/2007 9:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This hand creme is worth every penny! It's soooo creamy and luscious -- it moisturizes my hands without leaving them feeling greasy. Plus, the scent is just heavenly! It's so soft and fresh -- I love it!


on 11/6/2007 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I didn't know this product is good until I tried some other hand cream. It keep my hands moist without getting my palm all oily, which most hand cream do. Very good product.




Top Rated L'Occitane Products

image

Milk bar soap

79 reviews
image

Verbena

81 reviews
Back to Top