L'Occitane • 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(839 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 birtiechang on 10/7/2007 11:52:00 PM more reviews by birtiechang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It moisturizes very well, and it's not greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* margiemoo on 10/4/2007 10:17:00 AM more reviews by margiemoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to work as a casual in a homewares store that stocked L'Occitance products and I think I was pretty much responsible for using up all the testers for this product! I used to have to fold towels for hours during my shifts, so my hands would be completely sucked dry of moisture and sometimes slit open from opening dusty cardboard boxes. This very lightly fragranced handcream would revive them, soften them and condition my cuticles. It's non-greasy so during a long, say, eight hour shift, I'd have to re-apply several times. It is, nonetheless, a very effective handcream. Comes in a 150ml aluminium tube, retails in Australia for $34.95, I would repurchase eventually but I like to brand hop so I'm currently trialling Aesop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leila12 on 10/1/2007 9:49:00 AM more reviews by leila12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice subtle scent, moisturizes well and quickly, does not leave my hands greasy at all and I love the little tube. I especially like how it moisturizes my cuticles/area around my nails - most lotions tend to just lay there. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Keeshond on 9/29/2007 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Keeshond

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one big, greasy mess. However, that doesn't mean it doesn't work. Don't apply this before you actually have to use your hands because they will be coated in butter for about 20 minutes or more! Best is to use it before you go to sleep, in my opinion. Works as a great foot cream, too. The packaging mimics 19th century beauty products, and performs just as well...The cap hurts your fingers when trying to get it off; the metal tube is hard to squeeze (especially when covered in the lotion, which it will be) and looks horrid when you fold it up to get more product out; and the label will peel off soon and leave a disgusting sticky glue on your tube. Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunyc on 9/27/2007 12:06:00 PM more reviews by lunyc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this cream before going to bed about twice a week, and it makes such a difference! My hands are soft and look healthy. Once the winter kicks in, I'll be using it more often to prevent cracking, which my hands tend to do from the cold air. I do think this cream is really expensive, but it's the only one that works for me, so I see it as an investment. Plus, it lasts a long time since a dab will do the trick nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isengfox on 9/21/2007 12:29:00 AM more reviews by isengfox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Got a small samples-size on flights to Malaysia. Love it. Very handy for handbag. Smell can be overpowering though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nanman86 on 9/19/2007 1:19:00 AM more reviews by nanman86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

There are a large variety of hand creams on the market. Which one to purchase? What makes them stand out? One of the things I appreciated about the packaging for this product was the fact that it contained all the necessary information on the back [sometimes products can claim to be the "end all of solutions" but lack the necessary facts to back up their claim]. Luckily L'Occitane did an excellent job of informing me, the customer, why this hand cream is one of the better hand creams on the market.

It also didn't help their Sales Associate was on hand to gush about the product, and inform me it's the number one selling product in their store, and for the company world wide.

As a guy [don't ask why I'm on this website, it's a long story] I have to wash my hands a lot. So they get very cracked and so forth. Shea is a good source of healing dry and dehydrated skin. So this product contains the necessary amount of Shea butter and is specifically formulated for dry hands. 25% Shea Butter is very nourishing.

The only reason that stops this great product from getting a perfect score- is the price. Yikes! It's expensive. Whenever I shop in L'Occitane, the price of my overall purchase always adds up pretty fast! Also, it does leave a greasy texture after the application that takes a while to go away. So if your not careful, you'll leave finger prints and paw marks everywhere.

Other then that, it's a great product!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 erotic_snail on 9/16/2007 10:00:00 PM more reviews by erotic_snail

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately this doesn't work for me. My hands are a normal sort of dry, they aren't cracked or peeling and don't require anything heavy duty - which is fortunate because for me this is completely ineffective at doing anything!
It feels nice and rich to apply, though takes a while to absorb (I would overlook that in a cream that worked).
I was hoping for something that would make my hands feel soft and moisturised - this hasn't changed a thing to be honest. I wish I could experience what it is everyone is raving about but this is truthfully the most useless hand cream I've used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rbella on 9/15/2007 2:01:00 AM more reviews by rbella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love, love, love this hand cream. My hands have a tendency to be dry (I wash them constantly) and this stuff works wonders. I have tried so many other lotions, creams, etc. and this is the only one that I really like. I did subtract one lippie because it leaves a bit of an oily residue after application. It is really expensive for hand cream, therefore I only use it when absolutely necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Leah06 on 9/6/2007 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Leah06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I actually like this very rich and lush cream for my hands. It is dead expensive for a hand cream but long lasting and it smells nice and keeps your hand moisterized. So probably one of the best hand creams on the market. Now I have to figure out where to buy it as I can't in my country and usually buy it online.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products