Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 2.8(928 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 DawnPeach on 1/16/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by DawnPeach

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used this years ago and I dread even the thought of it. This stuff is a nightmare. Not only did it dry my face out to the point that it cracked, but it made my acne worse. I hate the chemically smell and I do not recommend this for anyone trying to clear their skin. A total waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jbarba24 on 1/14/2010 5:45:00 PM more reviews by jbarba24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had been using the Clinique liquid facial soap and it was great on my skin. I ran out and couldn't afford to buy it so I bought this product. I had used it in the past and I dont know why I bought it again. The first two days were great! My face felt soft and clean. I used the same routine and the third day I noticed I had small little bumps all over my face. By the next day it got worse. I am pretty sure it was this product so I wont be using it again. I might work for some people but not me. I will just have to save up for a different wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 turquoiserose on 1/13/2010 1:44:00 AM more reviews by turquoiserose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this more than a few times over the years. Didn't think it was too bad. I think I like the smell better than the new redness reducing one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sanrob on 1/10/2010 12:26:00 AM more reviews by sanrob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used it twice and had a terrible reaction to it. My face swelled up, especially under my eyes and now have a rash that can only be described as tiny pimples on my face, neck and chest. Four days now and the swelling is finally going down, but it is by no means better and considering going to the doctor. I am sensitive but never experienced anything like this before, it really scared me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tinzeh on 1/6/2010 10:40:00 PM more reviews by Tinzeh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I think to a degree this really helped my skin clear, but i think that was with the help of the spot treatment from neutrogena. I used it just then on my combo oily skin and feeling it now it leaves my skin abit dry but moisturiser will help that. I dont think i will buy this again, if i do ill get the foam version of it and ive been looking for the green one that says it helps with redness.
This product has 2% salicylic acid which is good but wasted in a cleanser as its on your skin then washed off, i used this as a spot treatment and it worked well so i might buy this exact cleanser again for the purpose of a spot treatment inwhich i dab it on zits and leave it there because i found it dried them up well, and thats a cheap way too since its big.
Overall, its dryingish, a good spot treatment and i might buy again for use as a spot treatment only. Id rather use the foam version of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bunny61761 on 1/6/2010 2:31:00 AM more reviews by bunny61761

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've probably tried every existing drugstore acne cleanser, and finally settled on this one. I used it a long time ago and recently came back to it, and remarkably my acne started getting better when I started using it again. Not clear, exactly, but the Oil-Free Acne Wash was the one acne-fighting cleanser I had recently tried that actually seemed to be doing its job. I wouldn't recommend this cleanser if you have any other skin type than oily, since it can be pretty drying. But if you have oily, non-sensitive skin and acne, give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyDbaby on 1/2/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I used this many years ago when my skin was an oily mess and it worked o.k. That's my recollection anyway. I know I purcahsed it several times. I tried it again over the holidays when I found I had forgotten my usual cleanser and was stuck with this as my only option. Holy cow, how did I ever use this stuff!? It is so strong and left my skin tight and very uncomfortable feeling. I think if you are very young and a total greasepit this may be o.k. but otherwise, uh, not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ItsNayy on 1/2/2010 10:57:00 PM more reviews by ItsNayy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used this cleanser a while ago when I went away on holiday. Okay, so it leaked all over my bag which sucked. I used it for about a week and it irritated and did nothing for my skin. The cleanser itself stunk of chemicals which was rank plus it didn't even clear my skin up one bit. Such a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 deypherus on 1/1/2010 1:02:00 PM more reviews by deypherus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Didn't make my skin any better or worse.. I used it lightly with water as my skin is quite dry. Then again I've never had a miracle face wash . I think facial wash do not do much... I mean if you put too much soap it will dry your skin. If you don't it's kind of like water.
Makes no difference...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shelbyclarke on 12/31/2009 6:48:00 AM more reviews by shelbyclarke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin but it is also sensitive. This product dried out my face out so much, I saw flakes which is something that never happened before. It made my face tight and itchy not to mention it smelled horrible. I gave it two lippies because it DID dry out my blemishes, just happened to take the rest of my face down with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products