Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

2.8

948 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Salicylic Acid (2%), Other: Water, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Disodium EDTA, Benzalkonium Chloride , Yellow 5, Red 40, Fragrance 07/2013


on 3/23/2010 3:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Hate to say it but it does the job. Since its a gel, it never feels completely washed off your face even when it is. Hate that. Foams and other cleansers give you a thoroughly cleansed feeling but this doesn't if you know what I mean. It does wash off foundation really well. And also washes off mascara and liquid liners (although NOT waterproof/gel liners). However, it does sting your eyes if you try to wash off eye makeup. Smell is whatever and doesn't linger. This cleanser is probably best for summertime since it does dry a bit..a teeny bit.



on 3/15/2010 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this! i bought it just because I didn't know what else to buy and had no other face wash at home. The next day that after washig my face with this gave me huge pimples!


on 3/10/2010 5:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As much as I generally love Neutrogena products, this one didn't do much for me. Basically, it just seemed like liquid soap. My skin was no better or worse after using it for two weeks.


on 3/8/2010 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this stuff. My skin is never really cleaned with it, and it's never moisturized by it. If you use this, you need to exfoliate a mess more a week, especially if you wear makeup. I hate this wash. The pump is convenient if it works, but even with this, i get so impatient and throw out the wash before I finish it because of how desperate I get when I see the blackheads day-in and day-out.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been breaking out with deep underground pimples on my chin for several months and this has completely cleared them up. The redness I had is also noticably improved and best of all, the little bits of dried skin that have blocked my pores for ever have completely cleared up. Apparently this stuff doesn't work for every condition, hence the mixed reviews, but for me, my skin has NEVER looked better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2010 3:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product i got as a sample
it doesn't do so good
because it's soooo drying
oily skin should benefit
dry and sensitive shouldn't use

(\ /)
(^_^)
C(")(")


on 2/19/2010 7:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this back in June. My friend gave it to me since she has dry skin and this was just too dry for her. I liked the tight feeling I get after I washed my face with this cleanser. However, I can see visible spots around my lips and nose flaking. I remember very clearly my forehead completely cleared up for two days. Then those pimples came back to haunt me again. My guess was that I probably didn't get enough sleep and I was not aware of my diet because it was summertime. Not fond of the smell. Willing to give this product a second shot though!


on 2/19/2010 3:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this cleanser a few months ago when I ran out of my usual one and was in a hurry. At first I used it twice a day and it worked reall well, I was pimple free and had very soft skin. I loved it! But now I realize that it's starting to dry my skin out, especially around these cold winter months (I live in Canada) so I've limited it to once a day and then moisturize after I use it. It's going well so far!. Note: This is a gentle cleanser, so if you have bad acne, I'm pretty sure this won't be strong enough for you


on 2/19/2010 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff has made my skin look and feel so much better. I used to have 3-4 BIG pimples on my chin. I tried a few other cleansers and they did nothing for me. After using this product for two weeks twice a day my pimples are pretty much all gone. All I have left is the scarring. It was a bit drying at first, but moisturizer fixed that good and now my skin is used to it. I understand it hasn't worked for everyone, but it worked amazing for me.


on 2/12/2010 4:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a month ago because I ran out of foam cleanser to use after my DHC Oil Cleanser and the SA at the drugstore recommended this.
My skin is normal/combination. A pimple would pop up once in a while as I am in my adolescent years, nothing major and the SA said it would work on me because it was supposedly a "gentle" cleanser for teenagers and highly recommended by dermatologists. I was like alright since I was in a hurry for a foam cleanser.
That was a bad mistake.
This made me break out like crazy around my T-zone, especially the area between my eyebrows. It also had a distinct smell that I wasn't very fond of.


Back to Top