Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

2.8

945 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Salicylic Acid (2%), Other: Water, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Disodium EDTA, Benzalkonium Chloride , Yellow 5, Red 40, Fragrance 07/2013


on 3/8/2010 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this stuff. My skin is never really cleaned with it, and it's never moisturized by it. If you use this, you need to exfoliate a mess more a week, especially if you wear makeup. I hate this wash. The pump is convenient if it works, but even with this, i get so impatient and throw out the wash before I finish it because of how desperate I get when I see the blackheads day-in and day-out.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been breaking out with deep underground pimples on my chin for several months and this has completely cleared them up. The redness I had is also noticably improved and best of all, the little bits of dried skin that have blocked my pores for ever have completely cleared up. Apparently this stuff doesn't work for every condition, hence the mixed reviews, but for me, my skin has NEVER looked better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2010 3:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product i got as a sample
it doesn't do so good
because it's soooo drying
oily skin should benefit
dry and sensitive shouldn't use

(\ /)
(^_^)
C(")(")


on 2/19/2010 7:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this back in June. My friend gave it to me since she has dry skin and this was just too dry for her. I liked the tight feeling I get after I washed my face with this cleanser. However, I can see visible spots around my lips and nose flaking. I remember very clearly my forehead completely cleared up for two days. Then those pimples came back to haunt me again. My guess was that I probably didn't get enough sleep and I was not aware of my diet because it was summertime. Not fond of the smell. Willing to give this product a second shot though!


on 2/19/2010 3:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this cleanser a few months ago when I ran out of my usual one and was in a hurry. At first I used it twice a day and it worked reall well, I was pimple free and had very soft skin. I loved it! But now I realize that it's starting to dry my skin out, especially around these cold winter months (I live in Canada) so I've limited it to once a day and then moisturize after I use it. It's going well so far!. Note: This is a gentle cleanser, so if you have bad acne, I'm pretty sure this won't be strong enough for you


on 2/19/2010 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff has made my skin look and feel so much better. I used to have 3-4 BIG pimples on my chin. I tried a few other cleansers and they did nothing for me. After using this product for two weeks twice a day my pimples are pretty much all gone. All I have left is the scarring. It was a bit drying at first, but moisturizer fixed that good and now my skin is used to it. I understand it hasn't worked for everyone, but it worked amazing for me.


on 2/12/2010 4:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a month ago because I ran out of foam cleanser to use after my DHC Oil Cleanser and the SA at the drugstore recommended this.
My skin is normal/combination. A pimple would pop up once in a while as I am in my adolescent years, nothing major and the SA said it would work on me because it was supposedly a "gentle" cleanser for teenagers and highly recommended by dermatologists. I was like alright since I was in a hurry for a foam cleanser.
That was a bad mistake.
This made me break out like crazy around my T-zone, especially the area between my eyebrows. It also had a distinct smell that I wasn't very fond of.


on 2/8/2010 8:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great cleanser, but use it when it's necessary, not more than twice a day or it will dries your skin (can cause more acne) My face was breaking out badly when I was in Australia. Very dry yet I had pimples and acne scars mostly all over my face. But I read everywhere that salicylic acid is 'the best way' to control and help remove the acne..what a lot crap..maybe that works for most ppl, but not for me..I just realize that If you want to keep acne away from your face, you have to re-balance it..not over drying it, not over moisturizing it..I used this on and off for 3 years, at first I was head over heels with this, my tiny bumps that can turn into nasty cystic acne was gone, and it stayed that way...for only a month of two. I think my face had become immuned to certain cleansers most of the times, including this one..I've tried almost everything, St. Ives, Kanebo, Shiseido, Givenchy, and most of the drugstore cleanser.. but honestly I kept coming back to this..Now I moved abroad and my face is hell a lot better and clearer, and I don't use this anymore..only use washcloth with warm/hot water..Try this cleanser, but stick to the no more than twice a day rule..


on 2/5/2010 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Well, I can't say this has made all my acne dissapear but I really like it as a cleanser. It really makes my skin feel clean and I do think it helps when I am breaking out very badly.

i think it is particularly effective for acne on the back.

I have oily skin so I don't find it drying unless I use a ton of it more than once a day.

I say its a good cleanser to use either occasionally or only once a day. Get a more gentle cleanser in addition.


on 1/28/2010 11:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Maybe this works for some.


CONS: Too harsh and not that effective on treating/preventing blemishes, for being so harsh on the skin. Smells bad.


ALTERNATES: Alba Botanica Natural Acne Dote cleanser or some name like that is helpful for one of my teens. The other needs to use Paula's Choice CLEAR cleanser and toner/exfoliator for beautiful results. AND We like to use Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer to keep flakes away.


Back to Top