Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 2.8(920 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 shelbyclarke on 12/31/2009 6:48:00 AM more reviews by shelbyclarke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin but it is also sensitive. This product dried out my face out so much, I saw flakes which is something that never happened before. It made my face tight and itchy not to mention it smelled horrible. I gave it two lippies because it DID dry out my blemishes, just happened to take the rest of my face down with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dorkspork on 12/31/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by dorkspork

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's very strong, in my opinion. It dries out my skin, and I only like it because it made my back acne go away. I remember, I used it during the morning, and in the late afternoon, my face was still dry! I don't really use it anymore, for fear of dry, wrinkly skin. But, when I do use it, I use a pea-size amount, otherwise, my face will be so dry. It also did not make my pimples go away, instead, I got more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Roseandthorn on 12/25/2009 2:01:00 AM more reviews by Roseandthorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've got terrible skin. I've tried expensive products and they don't seem to help anymore than Neutrogena does. I still break out but at least this product seems to help keep it to a minimum. I'm sure there is something else out there that would work better but I'm content with this for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annachristina on 12/6/2009 12:42:00 AM more reviews by annachristina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after a weird hormonal, cystic acne breakout. It's kept me from getting further breakouts, but I can't use it daily because it's VERY drying. I'll keep it on hand to use every few days on my cheek and chin (the only two places I break out). One other thing that I noticed was that two pesky blackheads have dried up since I started using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jadejiang on 12/5/2009 10:00:00 PM more reviews by jadejiang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually quite like this product. I'm surprised with the reviews. I think this does a good job of cleaning the face and it feels nice when you use it, it's smooth.

FYI, I am referring to the Cream Cleanser, not the liquid/gel one in the pump bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JR81 on 12/1/2009 12:25:00 PM more reviews by JR81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have used and relied on this for years. It is the only face wash that helps to control my oily skin and treat breakouts without being too harsh or causing more acne. It is a harsh cleanser, so I only use it once a day in winter. I do not apply a toner after I have used this, only a soothing moisturizer. During the humid months, I bump up my use to 2X a day to control excess oiliness. Oh, and please do not use this around the eye area, it is definately not made for removing eye makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theused on 11/19/2009 3:05:00 AM more reviews by theused

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is what ive been using for the past 6-7 months....and i like it so far.........i have jaw line acne so this works............im not so happy about the color...buts the formula not the damn color...:)

UPDATE: this is still good......i love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 keia1113 on 11/11/2009 12:04:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible.

I have been fighting my oily acne prone skin for a while now. The skin on my face is not at all sensitive & have had no problem using benzoyl peroxide products, Retinol or salicylic acid in the past.. I've used a lot of drugstore and prescription products with no issues. Nothing has irritated me more than this horrible face wash.

I broke out in a rash after 2 days of this, and some areas of my skin began to darken and peel.
.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 scarletquill on 10/29/2009 3:29:00 AM more reviews by scarletquill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This worked fantastically for me at first. I used about 3 bottles of it before it stopped preventing breakouts on my skin. I think my skin got so used to the product that it stopped being effective. My skin became bumpy and a bit dryer than it used to be before I started using it. The packaging also annoyed me, even with the pump closed, it always leaked in my cosmetic bag or weekend bag. After a long-haul flight, so much of it had leaked all over my cosmetic case. I was so annoyed because I had wrapped the top up and everything! Maybe I should have put it in a zip-lock bag, but hey, if I have to do that to a product that should seal itself, then I'm not going to bother buying it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 10/28/2009 6:41:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Stripped my skin completely and irritated the heck out of my eyes. Way, way too astringent for sensitive skin and eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products