Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 2.8(924 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bunny61761 on 1/6/2010 2:31:00 AM more reviews by bunny61761

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've probably tried every existing drugstore acne cleanser, and finally settled on this one. I used it a long time ago and recently came back to it, and remarkably my acne started getting better when I started using it again. Not clear, exactly, but the Oil-Free Acne Wash was the one acne-fighting cleanser I had recently tried that actually seemed to be doing its job. I wouldn't recommend this cleanser if you have any other skin type than oily, since it can be pretty drying. But if you have oily, non-sensitive skin and acne, give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyDbaby on 1/2/2010 11:15:00 PM more reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I used this many years ago when my skin was an oily mess and it worked o.k. That's my recollection anyway. I know I purcahsed it several times. I tried it again over the holidays when I found I had forgotten my usual cleanser and was stuck with this as my only option. Holy cow, how did I ever use this stuff!? It is so strong and left my skin tight and very uncomfortable feeling. I think if you are very young and a total greasepit this may be o.k. but otherwise, uh, not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ItsNayy on 1/2/2010 10:57:00 PM more reviews by ItsNayy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used this cleanser a while ago when I went away on holiday. Okay, so it leaked all over my bag which sucked. I used it for about a week and it irritated and did nothing for my skin. The cleanser itself stunk of chemicals which was rank plus it didn't even clear my skin up one bit. Such a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 deypherus on 1/1/2010 1:02:00 PM more reviews by deypherus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Didn't make my skin any better or worse.. I used it lightly with water as my skin is quite dry. Then again I've never had a miracle face wash . I think facial wash do not do much... I mean if you put too much soap it will dry your skin. If you don't it's kind of like water.
Makes no difference...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shelbyclarke on 12/31/2009 6:48:00 AM more reviews by shelbyclarke

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin but it is also sensitive. This product dried out my face out so much, I saw flakes which is something that never happened before. It made my face tight and itchy not to mention it smelled horrible. I gave it two lippies because it DID dry out my blemishes, just happened to take the rest of my face down with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dorkspork on 12/31/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by dorkspork

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's very strong, in my opinion. It dries out my skin, and I only like it because it made my back acne go away. I remember, I used it during the morning, and in the late afternoon, my face was still dry! I don't really use it anymore, for fear of dry, wrinkly skin. But, when I do use it, I use a pea-size amount, otherwise, my face will be so dry. It also did not make my pimples go away, instead, I got more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Roseandthorn on 12/25/2009 2:01:00 AM more reviews by Roseandthorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've got terrible skin. I've tried expensive products and they don't seem to help anymore than Neutrogena does. I still break out but at least this product seems to help keep it to a minimum. I'm sure there is something else out there that would work better but I'm content with this for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annachristina on 12/6/2009 12:42:00 AM more reviews by annachristina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after a weird hormonal, cystic acne breakout. It's kept me from getting further breakouts, but I can't use it daily because it's VERY drying. I'll keep it on hand to use every few days on my cheek and chin (the only two places I break out). One other thing that I noticed was that two pesky blackheads have dried up since I started using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jadejiang on 12/5/2009 10:00:00 PM more reviews by jadejiang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually quite like this product. I'm surprised with the reviews. I think this does a good job of cleaning the face and it feels nice when you use it, it's smooth.

FYI, I am referring to the Cream Cleanser, not the liquid/gel one in the pump bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JR81 on 12/1/2009 12:25:00 PM more reviews by JR81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have used and relied on this for years. It is the only face wash that helps to control my oily skin and treat breakouts without being too harsh or causing more acne. It is a harsh cleanser, so I only use it once a day in winter. I do not apply a toner after I have used this, only a soothing moisturizer. During the humid months, I bump up my use to 2X a day to control excess oiliness. Oh, and please do not use this around the eye area, it is definately not made for removing eye makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products