Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 2.8(911 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 10/28/2009 6:41:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Stripped my skin completely and irritated the heck out of my eyes. Way, way too astringent for sensitive skin and eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kitkatz07 on 10/28/2009 6:37:00 PM more reviews by kitkatz07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I still have this product sitting in my bathroom counter still full. I had a really weird reaction when I used this cleanser and I dont know what it is exactly it feels very very drying with mild thingling on both side of my cheeks and numbness, crazy but true. I didnt think of anything at first so I continue using it for a couple more days and the same reaction happened so I had to stop using it completely ughh..I was so frustrated i ended up with little teeny tiny bumps on my forehead and cheeks like I had hives or something...never again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 toots13 on 10/27/2009 11:37:00 PM more reviews by toots13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to use this 10 years ago on my younger, acne prone skin and was pretty happy with it although it could by drying and didn't smell great. Back then there weren't a lot of salicylic acid washes so I was satisfied and just moisturized a lot. I recently tried to use again because my adult acne has flared up, but it is way too drying and still smells like detergent. It does help with breakouts but there are less drying options. I like the Neutrogena Stress Relief and Phisoderm Anti-Blemish SA washes much better. They clear up acne without over-drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sugarxcookieee on 10/26/2009 12:44:00 AM more reviews by sugarxcookieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don`t have anything bad to say about this product except that its a very mild cleanser. Even though it says it`s for acne, it pretty much feels and works like just a regular face cleanser. I do like how it does not dry out my skin afterwards tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kysma03 on 10/25/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by kysma03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

i had the most God awful experience with this product. The first few washes I was relatively happy but the third day using it or so I found that it as terribly overdrying and the skin around my nose was actually FLAKING and peeling off...burning almost even- I have a whole bottle sitting under my sink... will not be using this ever again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GiRLyxo on 10/19/2009 10:02:00 PM more reviews by GiRLyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I used this pretty much up until now. It kept breakouts at bay, no, it didn't completely prevent them. I've always had clear skin and I never did much except this wash and moisturizer. The price is decent and it lathers and removes makeup pretty well, it doesn't remove all my makeup. My skin is VERY different now so this product isn't effective/it doesn't work anymore. It's also very drying so a good facial moisturizer is key.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 puppyluvz on 10/17/2009 8:21:00 AM more reviews by puppyluvz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is horrible! it did absolutely nothing for my skin. As soon as my sister used it, she got horrible breakouts all over her forehead. Dont buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 doll99x2 on 10/16/2009 10:41:00 PM more reviews by doll99x2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This works pretty well on my face except after, it dries it up so much O_O;
And my face gets a little itchy.
It doesn't get rid of the pimples and stuff super fast but it does make them smaller and some of my dark marks from old pimples vanish in a few days. Also, my face is quite soft.

The bad thing is that it dries my face up so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ilovetwilight on 10/11/2009 5:37:00 AM more reviews by Ilovetwilight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this!
Even though I have dry skin, this really works for me.
I also use the Visibly Clear moisturizer and this really works for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kassandraamelaniiee on 10/6/2009 9:18:00 PM more reviews by kassandraamelaniiee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Procrastinating right now, so this will be short. LOL

Pros:
Cleans well (if you dont have a lot of makeup on)
Feels refreshing
Does sort of keep simple acne /white heads at bay.

Cons:
Smells... not so pleasant
Does not remove a lot of foundation easily
Foams up, not does not lather very well
Does not clean deep enough to keep enough dirt/oils/whatever causes simple acne

This stuff, is okay. But i would recommend the Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser and the Acne-Stress control power cream cleanser. The fresh foaming one cleans really well, and the acne stress control works wonders (although you do need to sorta steam your pores open for it to work at its best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products