Chanel • UV Essentiel Protective UV Care Anti Pollution SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 4.2(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kokolani on 11/14/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by kokolani

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I thought i had found my perfect sunscreen, but this last bottle was greasy and broke out my skin badly--problems i never had with this product before! so now i realize they changed the formulation :( so i'm very very bummed and back to no sunscreen and resorting to hats when i hang out outdoors (pain)

i LOVE this stuff. and i am extremely picky about sunscreen. i am allergic to the chemical ones and most cause breakouts, but this one is:
lightweight, silky, zinc physical (primarily) sunscreen, high spf 50, doesn't make me feel greasy, look white, or cause major breakouts like all the others have and once it soaks in i can't even tell its on.
it was practically worth risking sun damage before to avoid those nasty breakouts from the various sunscreens i had tried, but i am soooo happy to have found this one!!!!! the price is steep but mine lasted for 5 months using about a dime size daily and so it isn't that bad when you think about how superior this product is.
also chanel doesn't test on animals so that is another reason i like it.
worth every penny to me and will keep buying as long as i can afford it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swirlyloon on 11/12/2011 4:33:00 AM more reviews by swirlyloon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

ok, I started to wear sunscreen since I was eleven so I could protect my face, well actually my mom insisted me too.
my mom forbids me to buy drugstore skincare so I just follow her when she buys me skincare and makeup :)

I think I have around 3 chanel skincares that I've reviewed so far, but I'll try to add more.

My morning skincare routine is this:
1) wash my face with cold water
2) use Chanel beaute initial eye gel
3) Use Chanel hydramax gel creme
4) Use Chanel sunscreen

i'm not sure what I can say about this sunscreen, I've recently been to India and i've came back and I've got a beautiful tan. but the thing is suncreen does NOT avoid your tanned! i'm fourteen, I dont have brown spots or wrinkles what so ever, so I can't say, all I can do is to prevent myself from having these problems.
it's a pretty decent sunscreen i'm not sure how much it is but i'm assuming it wont be cheap since it's Chanel.

I do recommend! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 10/31/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this sunscreen, even though it has fragrance it does not irritate my sensitive skin at all nor does it cause any breakouts. It does leave a very slight white cast, but it doesnt bother me as I just use Mac studiofix powder over it. It is very lightweight and I like how it is matte and has a high Zinc content. The price is very high for the amount you get though (30ml) but otherwise it is worth it for the non greasy factor and high protection! EDIT: I use this every day and I am now on my 3rd bottle with soon to be purchasing my 4th! HG. I hope they never discontinue this!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chanel2110 on 9/29/2011 3:55:00 PM more reviews by chanel2110

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'd buy this again, but only if I were going on a long, sunny vacation. It was wonderful for that - I went to Hawaii, and needed something that wouldn't provoke my sensitive/acne skin and this was great. It was light, but very effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jessabell on 9/28/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Jessabell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT********* OK, this product still holds its own with its texture and ingredients so ive bumped its rating down to a four. HOWEVER ive been doing some heavy research and unfortunately it appears that all PA systems like this only go as far as approx 10 on the ppd scale of uva protection. unfortunately if you live outside of europe or dont have la roche posay at hand etc.. this is as good as you are likely to find. BUT if you can get la roche posay DO IT. Its cheaper and far more effective than this or other pa ones. for example if you have normal to dry combo skin get their spf 50 fluid extreme! it has a whopping ppd of 38!!!! if you have oily or spot prone skin get their spf 30 ac it has an impressive ppd of 20! as does vichys capital soleil in spf 30 or 50 (cant remember). Also you absolutely need to use a 1/4 tea spoon for face and neck individually! ok youll see a white cast (as the same with this one) but if you want good nice skin ladies im afriad thats the price!! if you dont have a white cast with this you are not using it properly and thus its a waste of your money and time. I wont purchase this again the price isnt justifiable when i can buy a better one with more product for literally half the price. im sticking with la roche posay spf 30 AC. European sunblocks are the best and no fancy chanel logo can top the effectveness of them unless they bring it up to scratch. This is still a lovely sunblock but its not as great as any of la roche posays ones. Luckily they are all over the place here in ireland. please always always look for the ppd on the box, it may be really tiny but it should be there and if in doubt get out the i phone and google!
**************************************************************************


*****************************************************************************
My absolute HG product! I tried lots including the famous La Roche Posay' fluid but i found it to be too oily and i think it caused a minor break out due to the fact it was chemical vs physical sunblock.

I love this because: 1)of its mattifying effect, 2)it makes a fantastic makeup base 3) that it's slightly moisturising but has NEVER after 8 bottles caused me to break out at all which is amazing for me lol 4) it does leave a white cast but its expected due to its extremely high zinc oxide content :-). 5) that it is a physicial block which relays heavily on zinc oxide to shield from the suns rays. Im not gonna get into the wonders of zinc oxide but if you look into it youll be super impressed with its abilities and consequently this sunblock as it has a very high zinc content at around 17.5 or 18 %!!
I use the recommended amount for sunblock on my face etc individually which in reality means it only lasts me a month or a little longer. its 40 euro but i put aside a tenner a week for it which is fine for me personally and i can have the comfort of knowing my skin is looked after. I would be happier if it came in a 50 ml rather than a 30ml but at least the packaging doesnt allow for waste.



it has a an SPF factor of 50 and it has the best UV rating you can get according to the standard set by shiseido etc (asian standard) which is the +++ standard, ( one +=fair, ++= good and +++=very good.) This is a great way to determine approx how effective the uva proctective qualities of a product are as most fail to explain and just splash SPF on their products. SPF is NOT indicitive of the uva protection.

Whether you buy this one or not always ensure it has at least a ++ rating regarding UVA.The "+" standard is a fantastic way to know how protected you are from UVA.

Alternatively you can check the % of the active ingredients eg 13% of zinc oxide is still good. Do your own reserach because sunblock is so important if you care for your skin. It cant be praised highly enough.

(also, peter thomas roths spf 30 mineral physical brush is very handy and good idea too because your sunblock becomes ineffective during the day if you are in a heavy climate etc... or chemical sunscreen wearer as they absord into the skin rather than stay on the outlayers like chanel but either way always good to top up at least once more during the day and the bursh is a great idea)

All in all chanels uv 50+++ is a fantastic braod spectrum sunscreen. I would recommend this to anyone (maybe not extremely dry skins though),

Sorry for the rant lol

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poppydoll on 8/12/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by poppydoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful sunscreen! I don't have any HG products but I would say this one definitely comes close.

Pros:
- Melts into my skin and feels like silk.
- Does NOT make me super oily/greasy like other SSs I've tried and has even held up in very hot/humid weather conditions.
- My BB cream and TMs apply smoothly over top of it
- SPF50 yay
- No breakouts
- Fragrance is pleasant
- Packaging is simple, convenient, and practical.

Cons:
- $$$$ for the small amount
- A friend of mine has used this a few times when we're gettng ready together and she has said that she does need to do a bit more rubbing when getting the product to blend in. I'm quite pale so it's never crossed my mind but with her being tan, it might be something for other girls to look out for.

My search for a sunscreen is stopping here. It is a lot of money but since it works so well with my skin, I'll continue to repurchase!

For background I've used sunscreens from Neutrogena, Olay, Laneige, Lancome, and none of them come close.


3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 petrene on 7/31/2011 1:53:00 AM more reviews by petrene

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Finally bought a bottle after trying out the samples few times.Wasn't convince earlier cos found it a bit thinner and drier compared to those I've used before like Christian Dior,Clarins and lancome. But couldn't resist to be convinced with good reviews I read here.Well,after trying out on the 3rd sample,I love it especially it makes my RMK foundation looksand stay good with the help of my fav chanel whitening rosee make up base!

I'll bring this over to my coming 1mth NZ holiday vacation this time,but since is winter I also bought Shiseido creme SPF 50 just incase Chanel is too dry in the winter time.Will bring along my left over CD sunscreen too and leave my Clarins SPF 40 behind since gonna be more exposed and outdoorsy this time!

Really hope Chanel protects me this time from sun spots and pigmentation (uva) after the bad experience I had with Lancome and Clarins sunscreen in the States last year!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eva5 on 7/28/2011 6:38:00 PM more reviews by Eva5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Thats a hell of a lot of money to pay to get blocked pores. On my cheeks. Where I never get them. It stung my eyes too.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wickedcoolmama on 7/27/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by wickedcoolmama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this review is for the multi-protection daily UV care, SPF 50 by Chanel.
it's exact same packaging as Vital Lumiere Aqua but in white. i use this on my face as my daily UV protection and as a makeup base. it wears nicely under makeup, has velvety smooth texture, tiny amount covers the entire face - so easy to spread. if i'll be in the sun all day, i make sure i put on 2 layers of this. one thin layer first and then another layer after couple min. it's quite pricey but feels luxurious...just like the La Mer spf.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lwsege on 6/30/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by lwsege

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HG of my suncreen! I really hope that they can come in a bigger bottle like 50ml or above. I like the powdery feel yet moisturizing enough and quick absorption. I can almost apply my makeup just right after this. It gives that matte and smooth feel onto my skin. Lightweight, high SPF protection, great base for makeup, etc. Just like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Sunscreen products