Microfiber cloths

4.5

141 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Pure awesomeness.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Ok, so these are cheap, right? Well, here's where I get them for even cheaper!
The automotive department @ walmart! I get a pack of 10 for $5! You can never have enough of these, and they even come in different colors. And, honestly, I think they are better quality then the one my sister bought at the dollar store...These ones are fluffier & they are sooo soft! (But do do a feel test. Some feel rougher then others. I manhandled all they had before I picked the ones I wanted)

So, these are the bombdiggity! They have a million applications around the house: they are good for cleaning fragile things that are prone to scratching (glass, metal, etc), picking up dust... I use them to clean my cat's & dog's teeth, face, ears, etc... and for what most people use them for, which is to remove makeup, cleanse & gently exfoliate. My sister wear a lot of bright/dark/heavy make up and she swears by microfiber cloths. (she cuts hers in half)

But, here's why I am in love with them: I use them to dry my naturally curly hair! If you have curly hair, you know that you need to not touch it as much as possible while it's drying. My hair takes FOREVER to dry, and so I use this to gently squeeze out extra water and encourage curl. Works amazingly! My hair dries much faster now, and it is a lot less frizzy then using a regular towel. It is jsut a little but bigger then my hand, but it soaks up a TON of water! I have bought several towels made specifically for curly hair (Curlease & Curls Like Us towels) and this works better! It is baiscly a cheaper version of the DevaCurl microfiber towel, only its FIFTY CENTS! You can buy bigger versions if you want, too, for a few bucks more, if you prefer to wrap you hair in a towel, but for me this works better - I just scrunch with this & go! My hair is dry be the time I get to where I am going, while before it could take 2 hours to dry!

I've stocked up, so I always have some clean ones handy to use for my face & hair and whatever else .... the are indispensable in my household. I use them for everything!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.



on 11/27/2010 2:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Me: Extremely sensitive, rosacean, acne-prone and oily. Fun times! I've had problems with my skin since I was 12 years old...mild acne, then cystic acne controlled by a round of Accutane, more mild acne accompanied by plenty of scarring in my twenties, a diagnosis of subtype 2 rosacea at 29 and now, in my thirties, generally bad, uneven acne-prone skin with the beginning signs of aging. Previous to these amazing little cloths, I'd tried literally hundreds of dollars worth of skin care products, a few "natural" remedies and even a Clarisonic to try and solve my skin woes. I wish I'd known years ago that a $1 cloth at the dollar store was the answer! I use mine with nothing but water and gently wipe off my makeup. It removes EVERYTHING, even waterproof mascara. I didn't believe it until I tried it. After removing makeup, I scrub yucky spots a little bit (acne, rosacea papules & pustules, dry spots, scars) and then rinse with water. My skin is a bit pink afterwards, but when I wake up in the morning, it's clear and brighter than it's ever been! I do the same thing in the morning, only using less pressure, top with a sunscreen and I'm good to go! I find myself using WAY less makeup (especially concealer!) and also using lighter formulas than my old heavy foundations. If you have skin problems and nothing else has worked, give these babies a try. Give it at least a week before making up your mind. That's how long it took for me to see noticeable results. I've stocked up so I'll never be out, but I will definitely repurchase when they starting looking old.

UPDATE: 1/24/11 These are overkill if used too often, I've found. I alternate now with a gentle cleanser in the morning and use these about every other night. Nothing works better at gently exfoliating and removing makeup!
ANOTHER UPDATE: 3/9/11 I've decided that chemical exfoliators are best for my skin type. Scrubbing with these cloths definitely removes makeup and grime, but my skin gets a little irritated when I use them consistently. I now save them for occasions when my skin is really flaky and then only use them gently.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm on the fence. I went out to the supermarket and bought something that was labeled "microfibre face cloth" (yes, that's an "re" not an "er" because I'm in Australia). It was the store brand and it came in a pack of four. It was cheap. It was made of polyester. Is this right? Polyester? On my face? I mean, polyester shirts feel itchy and I know this because I got a lot of 70s hand-me-down clothes when I was growing up. But being brave, I pressed on with the experiment and attempted to wash my face with the cloth in the shower. Holy red face, Batman! I guess I'm sensitive to rubbing or something but I never got such a bad reaction to 100% cotton face cloths, which I really do like. I had to apply a layer of Sudocrem to my entire face just to get the redness down. I will attempt to find "microfibre/er" cloths that are not polyester and perhaps update this review. In the meantime, the cloths I bought are going to be used as rags -- they are, so far, really good at cleaning the kitchen table but I will let you know if I have to apply Sudocrem to that too.


on 6/11/2010 8:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought a pkg of "Original Dermal Micorfiber Cloths" from Thank You Stan on Ebay.
I do not know what these are supposed to do, but I really don't find them effective. Ive used them on my face and body. I got pimples, that was about it, but as far as exfoliating, Ive used papertowel that does a better job. And I would not use the ones they sell at the dollar store on my skin. Don't people realize that the stuff @ the dollar store is cut rate because it's defective merchandise?


on 6/11/2010 6:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

A couple months ago I read the reviews on the Clarisonic system after my sister told me she had purchased one. I was tempted to save up to buy one too ($200 CDN) when I found a cheap, knock-off version at Walmart (you would not believe how little I paid!!!) Then I saw a pastel pink microfiber wash mitt at my local drugstore for $2.99 and decided to try it out, thinking hey, the microfibers are great at grabbing the dirt/dust from my floor (I have a microfiber mop), I wonder if it would work on my face for dirt and makeup? Well, long answer short, yes it does. I only use my Clarisonic dupe to deep clean once a week as I do find the brush a little abrasive, but I use the washmitt every day, morning and night, and wow! My skin hasn't been this smooth and soft in over a decade! I also switched to a very gentle cleanser, Potent and Pure Creamy Face Cleanser by Kiss My Face. The combination of all these things have left me with a face I am very happy to see in the mirror! My skin looks and feels healthier, my makeup wears better, my facial products all work better as they seem to penetrate deeper, it's just amazing! Every couple of days I toss the mitt in the wash with my towels and linens, and voila! I have saved SO much money, and now I come on MUA and find others who have made this their HG too! Note, I have very sensitive and dry skin, and the dry patches have virtually disappeared since I started this routine, and no breakouts either. I want one in every color now, and at less than $3 each, I could have a dozen and still come out way ahead! My skin has never been so happy!!! :)

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2010 5:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use microfibre cloths around the home and was always curious to see if they would work on skin too, but a bit cautious. I started off with a 'facial' one, was pleased with that, and since have progressed to softish normal ones which I think are basically the same. In an unusually crafty impulse, I cut the large square ones in half and stitched them roughly along two sides to make little mits, as well as putting a loop on with a bit of old ribbon so they dry better. It's important to have a few so you don't need to use them for more than a few days at a time before washing. I use them just with water to take off all makeup and grease, sometimes several times a day. I follow with a light moisturiser. After a couple of weeks, I'm extremely pleased with the results on my skin - it looks better than it has done in ages - much less spotty, smoother and healthier. They clearly work much more effectively than cotton flannels. I'm starting to believe that detergents and other cleansers DO make (even oily / spotty) skin worse by drying out the skin's natural oils. It makes me feel like I'm treating my skin like a living thing - a fine bit of furniture that I would not clean by sloshing a load of cheap chemicals over. Plus I'm delighted to save money and more importantly the environment by not buying endless bottles of cleanser and face wash. Time to put the cosmetics giants out of business!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2010 8:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wish I could use these on my face but I would get a huge pimple all three times I tried. I hardly used any pressure at all. My skin is super sensitive so I guess I can only use a chemical exfoliant.
Well on the upside... at least they make great hair towels!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2010 5:01:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't use anything else but microfiber wash clothes on my face. They rinse out very well and dry quickly. I use the OCM and find these clothes are perfect for that. This is one item I will buy at the dollar store because they are so inexpensive. You don't feel bad about tossing one when it has seen better days.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Yep, I use this product for exfoliating my face. A word of caution: go easy! I always use it with a foaming cleanser to add an extra layer of "slip," and I use it only once a week in my morning shower. I exfoliate my lips with this as well, using just water in the shower, rubbing gently. Scrubs simply do not do it for my congested skin, and this gives much better results than a washcloth alone.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2010 9:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is way better than using a wash cloth IMO, it's a lot softer and I think it picks up more dirt/MU. That being said, I haven't noticed any huge improvements or anything in my skin. I bought one of these online but then I saw that they were sold at the dollar store lol!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
65 Reviews
Baby Foot
25 Reviews
the sponge
634 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
25 Reviews
Mia
1029 Reviews
Back to Top