Paula's Choice All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 25

3.7

120 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide (Light Cream: 12.67%; Nude: 12.4%; Sand: 12.18%; Wheat: 11.83%; Fawn: 11.14%). Other Ingredients: Water, Isohexadecane (thickener/texture enhancer), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Silica (absorbent silicone), Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate (skin conditioning agent), Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol (silicone emollient), Hexyl Laurate (emulsifier), Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidant), Polysorbate 80 (thickener), Polyethylene (film-former/slip agent), Alumina (opacifying agent), Magnesium Sulfate (thickener), Aluminum Stearate (thickeners), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer), Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickener), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone-based emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Iron Oxides (mineral pigments).


on 2/4/2009 12:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love alot of Paulas products but foundation is not one of them. I prefer a fuller coverage so I got a sample of this in Wheat, which I think is close to NC25. I should have gone one shade darker but for winter this would be ok colour-wise.
Now, after i applied it, I didnt even feel like i needed to powder as it sets to a matte finish. But this is NOT full coverage. I would say it borders on medium, I applied two layers in order to cover some of my natural cheek redness. And as for blemishes or any other really bad things you may have on your face, you'd need a separate concealer on top of this.
I suspect most girls would like the coverage this gives, but with a name like "all bases covered" I simply expect more coverage. I wouldnt buy this again simply because I shouldnt have to apply 2 coats of foundation in order to get the coverage I want. In this case, its just not the right foundation for me. Although it feels beautiful once it sets and gives the skin a lovely satin matte finish and doesnt look dry. So I think its a great foundation but just not good enough for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/30/2008 10:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Paula's products are FABULOUS! This is my 3rd favorite foundation of Paula's, with her "Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF20" being my absolute all time fav, and her "Best Base Forward" being my #2! This provides medium-full natural matte coverage, that looks truly fresh, natural, and lasts all day on my very oily skin. I actually think this foundation is appropriate for oily/combo skin, since on my oily skin it looks nice and matte, and does not contain any chemical sunscreen (only mineral), which tend to cause more oiliness and breakouts. A dream to blend, and even very fair skinned gals will get a match. Also, Paula's shades are hands down, the most natural looking you will find! Highly recommend this if you want fuller coverage!


on 10/3/2008 6:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used every foundation in the world. I have used Armani, Laura Mercier, Bobbi Brown, Chanel, Shiseido, Prescriptives, Mally, Clinique, Bare Escentuals, Makeup Forever. You name it I have used it and this is a fantastic foundation. You'd think because it is cheap that it would rival drugstore brands, but it is not so! This rivals Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer in texture which I think is one of the best feeling foundations available, but it covers as well and it lasts all day. I have used Estee Lauders Double Wear foundation and although it lasts all day it is impossible to take off. THis lasts all day and actually comes off. I use her Cleanser to take off my makeup which I also love. I love Paula's products. I use Sand and my equal in Mac is N25.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2008 6:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I didn't have high hopes for this foundation, considering the so-so reviews and the lower price tag. Amazingly, this is actually one of the BEST foundations I've ever tried. The lightest shade, "Light Cream", matches my skin better than any makeup I've ever tried. It blends in effortlessly, covers beautifully (one reviewer below mentioned an airbrushed effect, which is a great description), never cakes, is totally buildable and NEVER makes me break out (a miracle within itself!). It's also nice and moisturizing, which is perfect for when my skin is feeling a little parched. My only complaint and reason for taking away one lippy is that it doesn't last as long as I'd like.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2008 1:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

such an amazing foundation. I have fair/medium skin color and wheat is a perfect color for me. I top it with Laura Mercier's loose powder and my skin almost looks airbrushed.


on 4/21/2008 4:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This really works well for me. It doesn't give super duper coverage, but it's enough for me and I don't have that great of skin. When you first put it on it doesn't blend all that well (b/c of the sunscreen, I think) but then it just melts in your skin. I follow it up with Laura Mercier's mineral m/u and my skin looks great. The color choices are minimal but very neutral. I think you would have a hard time finding the right color if you were more than a medium skintone.


on 3/19/2008 2:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product and I was surprised to read all the variations people have had using it. I have fair to medium skin (NC30) and have been using Wheat during the winter. I have normal skin that tends toward the dry side and it is fairly clear. I normally don't use foundation on my entire face, but I swipe a stripe down my nose, around my nostrils and lips and on my forehead. Blended out it makes my skin look luminous and even! It's really incredible the difference it makes! The coverage is on the lighter end of medium; even though when it first comes out it feels thicker, once it is blended out it will be a sheerer wash of cover. It is definitely a foundation though: I use it to even my skin tone and now as a concealer under my eyes. I admit, the undereye circles aren't too bad, but they are noticable without this product. The finish is satiny and glow-y -definitely not for anyone prone to oiliness. The shades all seem beautiful and truly neutral (it's almost impossible for me to use any drug store foundations because they are all so pink!) although my only complaint is that they are fairly light. As it gets sunnier I am not sure that the darkest shade (Fawn) will be dark enough. The SPF is nice, but I feel like it makes the foundation tinge to white a little bit (likely more noticeable in flash photography), which is probably why she has stayed away from creating darker shades. Although it's only available on her website, the price isn't too bad (less than $15) and if you can catch a break with a shipping promotion or discount, it's even better. Also, I've had success with almost all of her products -especially the BHA lotion and liquid when I had "trouble" skin. I have tried her tinted moisturizer and it is definitely what it is: sheer, but it also has a good selection of (light) colors if a TM is what you are looking for. Hope this helps :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2008 12:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have to agree with others on the representation of colors for the foundation. I am fair, freckled and over 50, yet both of my choices were WAY too light. The first "Sand", one step up from the lightest color looks like what I thought my coloring is but was ghastly looking. The next color up,"Wheat" and one color away from the darkest offered , made me look almost as sickly as the first.
The sample policy is great, the quick attention to orders and returns is also great.


on 2/28/2008 11:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation has the potential to be great because of the physical sunscreen and the great color choices but Paula left a great deal to be desired in the "coverage" area! I did not get any coverage from this! This is not medium coverage. I am not even sure it is sheer coverage, perhaps it is actually a tinted moisturizer in reality. I was impressed with the color. I used nude and found it to be very natural looking although it did not cover any flaws. I will not repurchase. I even tried applying twice as much as normal to get more coverage and I wound up with a big messy, smeary face. This is just not going to cover anything.Packaging is good and price was good too. The high percent of titanium dioxide was great but it's not enough to make me buy this again. Unless you have perfect skin, dont try this.


on 2/4/2008 8:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow! This foundation is awesome--good coverage, excellent moisturization, very natural-looking. At first I didn't like this foundation, because I had gotten the 2nd lightest color (with most foundations that is right for me). It was too light and I looked a bit vampire-ish. In fact, someone asked me if I was ill! Then I tried the color Sand, and what a difference that made! It says that Sand if for light-to-medium or medium skin tones. Well, I am pretty pale and it's winter here, so there is no way I'm a medium skin tone. But I digress. If you have dry skin like me, this may work for you. Just get a couple different sample colors and remember that this foundation runs pale.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top