It's a 10 • Miracle Leave-In Product • Hair Treatments

rated 4.0(409 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nudylipstickgirl on 5/31/2014 1:58:00 AM more reviews by nudylipstickgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a bad leave in conditioner, very pricey though. You have to be a little light handed with this as it is not obvious that it can be a little heavy on the hair if you spray it directly onto the hair. I got it as a sample through an Ulta purchase and on the travel size there was no directions so like a doe doe I look at the product use on the website to see the directions after the fact. I'm not sure I like this product well enought to pay the full price, Sallys has a similar leave in conditioner call Ion hydrating leave in that is in a white and blue striped bottle that has a similar feel and weight for a fraction of the price and smells really good but I couldn't see myself using it either because it felt heavy. I think this might be good through the dry seasons when I just need to preserve the integrity of post treatments.
Slight short update on this review. After flat ironing my hair I thought I would try this as a finishing creme so I sprayed into palm, suggested use for dry hair, and smoothed it on the dry frazzed ends and it seemed to help seal and smooth. I don't know if it was because I had already pretreated before blow drying but it is a nice finish, still has a coated feeling but tolerable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Luna73 on 5/25/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Luna73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Summary: Meh. It's not bad, but it's nothing special.

I got this as a freebie at Ulta. It works fine as a detangler/basic leave-in conditioner, but it didn't do anything that comes close to being a "miracle." I noticed no shine, no extra softness, etc. It doesn't even smell particularly good.

I'll use up this bottle -- it's the perfect size to take on vacation, use up and toss. But there are better options out there.

Alternates: If you just want a basic leave-in, any drug store brand works just as well. If you're looking for something to really transform your hair, I'd recommend Kendi oil or one of its many competitors to get real shine and deeper conditioning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 5/22/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like most reviewers, I got this as a gift at Ulta. The first time I used it, I could not believe how amazing my hair felt! What I like to do is spray it into my hand, mix it with Argon Oil, and apply it to my hair that way. My hair is very curly and unruly when wet, this product does everything it claims. My hair is more manageable in its wet state, and much smoother when its dry. I know the full size is a bit pricey, but I will definitely be purchasing it when I run out of the sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 5/21/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had been hearing about this product for quite some time. But, I really wasn't all that interested in paying a lot of money for the normal sized bottle (which is very small) that it comes in. So, that's why, I shied away from buying it for years. At the salon inside of my local Walmart, they were were doing a buy one, get another one 50% off on this product.

I had to wait quite a good while before more came in stock, because when they had first put it on sale, the leave in sold out in a relatively short amount of time.

So, I put up with waiting for more to come in stock. One day, I happen to pass the salon and look inside and saw the female working inside there putting more of the leave in on the shelves. I purchased the biggest bottle they offered, along with the normal sized bottle.

First off, I do not use this on my hair every week. I may use it every 2weeks or so. This is one product, I don't recommend being heavy handed with no matter how thick or long your hair is. As, you will end up going through a lot of product way too fast that way.

I wear my hair naturally curly, I have regular steam treatments done on my hair, and I use direct heat (flatirons and blowdryers) on my hair very infrequently. I do use both natural and non-natural products on my hair. As long as my hair agrees with a product, then that's all that matters to me.

I do own quite a lot if haircare products in my stash (that I am currently working to get down), but my current regimen really is a pretty simple one. I use Shea Moisture's Curl and Shine Shampoo, deep condition with Shea Moisture's Anti Breakage Masque, apply It's a 10 sparingly all throughout my hair or sometimes skip this step and go straight to applying my Mixed Chicks Leave In to my soaking wet hair, section by section, making sure to thoroughly detangle each section as I go through. When I am finished, I let my hair air dry. At night, I put a little bit of the Mixed Chicks Replenishing Oil on my hair and on my scalp for moisture. I will do this maybe 1-2 times a week. I only wash my hair every 5-7 days. At night, I will wear my satin bonnet, even though I also sleep on satin pillowcases, or I will pull my hair back into a low ponytail to prepare my head for going to bed. In the morning when I want to refresh my curls, I take a small amount of the Mixed Chicks Leave In and apply it to any areas of my head that need re-touching. And, that's it.

I will admit that the exact products that I use in my regimen are subject to change, but I continue to remain faithful to sticking with as simple a hair care regimen as simple.

I do consider the It's a 10 Leave In to be a luxury item, due to it's high price tag. If you can afford it, then by all means, I say go for it. But, if it's not in your budget, then that's OK too. As, there are a lot of other leave ins on the market that cost less and probably give you good results just the same.

It's a 10 Leave In doesn't magically transform your hair overnight. It helps with increasing the overall health of one's hair through continued usage. Also, it doesn't have the best smell to it, nor does it have the least. As, its scent falls right in-between the two. I choose to deal with it. But, for some, I can see it being a turnoff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 5/14/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a deluxe sample at an Ulta grand opening - they were basically giving the trial-sized bottles ($13) away. That's the only reason I got to try it because good god it is expensive. Way outside of my price range! The 4 oz bottle is $22! With daily use that MIGHT get you three weeks, depending on the length and thickness of your hair of course. Price is why I said I would not buy again.

That being said, I do like this stuff a lot. It allows me to air-dry my hair and not absolutely hate it. It makes my hair very soft and not feel like straw/itchy/tangly without blow-drying, which nothing else ever has quite so effectively (and my hair is actually quite healthy). It also does well to smooth it out and straighten my natural wave bit too. I just sprayed it on on hot lazy evenings when I didn't want to blow-out and that was the only product I would use. Then I would style my hair as usual in the morning.

If you've got money to burn and hair that you want to feel soft without being weighed down or any feeling of stickiness, this stuff is legit. (If you don't have the money to burn, try the Loreal Evercreme Leave-in Spray, it's a pretty good alternate!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aliciamarie61592 on 5/13/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by aliciamarie61592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this product as a free sample from my local Ulta store. I was kind of skeptical at first because not all free samples are that great, but I'm glad I used it. I have thin, slightly damaged hair that has been bleached a couple times and deep conditioner barely helps. When I use It's A 10 after I towel dry my hair, my hair is soft and manageable all day even after I style it using my flat iron. It doesn't weigh my hair down or leave a greasy residue and the smell is great. I would definitely recommend this product to people! It works GREAT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MamaMo on 5/6/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by MamaMo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was recommended to use this by a family friend who is a hairdresser. Is it nice? Yes, it does seem to help my hair lie down and behave. I have a little past bra strap hair and I do at least 5 spritzes to my hair and it doesn't weigh it down (very fine, straight hair, easily greasy), but I had to take off a lippie because it's not amazing as a leave in. I like the lavender hair oil from Dr Bronner's much better, although admittedly I do not use heat on my hair, so I'm not looking for heat protection. The other lippie I took off was for the smell- this plasticky smell that lingers in my hair for at least a day. It's not a deal breaker for me, I'm going to finish the bottle, but not anything I'm going to buy once I'm done with the sample size. Other silicone serums didn't smell like this, so I don't think it's the silicone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KyrstyLynn on 5/4/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by KyrstyLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say this product is my absolute favorite in my hair routine! I use this after showering and it makes my hair so soft,silky, shiny, bouncy and it brightens up my highlights. I normally leave my hair in a towel for like 15 minutes after shower then apply my agadir argan oil and blow dry my roots a little. Then let my hair air dry for a little bit before applying this stuff. I spray a few pumps in my hand for each side of hair and comb through. Talk about silk!! I love this stuff and will repurchase it over and over snf over . Dont spray too much or you'll have a headache and some heavy hair. Just use a tiny tiny little bit is all you'll need for gorgeous hair!!! Trial and error

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 x0tiffanym on 5/2/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by x0tiffanym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have mixed feeling with this stuff. 2 of my friends swore by it and they know the crazy mane im dealing with. I figured this would do the trick to tame the wild beast living on my head. Eh. So I washed and conditioned my hair, then sprayed this on my hair while damp. I definitely noticed as I ran my fingers through to spread it evenly that my hair felt conditioned. As it dried I did see that my frizzies weren't as crazy but still frizzies to say the least and my hair was softer but nothing special. And the smell I cannot stand, nor can I even explain what it smells like. Its weird. warning: do notttttt use too much cause as it dries you'll notice your hair feels sticky and waxy, it happened to me and I just had to rinse it out. And its waaaaay too expensive. I can understand if this actually did everything it claims, but it does not. This may work quite well for medium to fine textured hair but for people with coarse frizzy manes like mine this is not the bees knees.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 starfishnet on 4/24/2014 12:22:00 AM more reviews by starfishnet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

IT REEKS! Sprayed it on and I had the worst headache ever... ALL DAY. Can't appreciate anything with that repulsive odor. Sorry but YUCK!!! Seriously, wasn't smell a factor during the testing phase of this product?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More It's a 10 products

More Hair Treatments products