Guerlain • Parure SPF 20 Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 3.7(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* northender on 12/20/2008 9:51:00 AM more reviews by northender

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is the business. I have NC45 GGG/DDD skin and I picked up #24 Mythic Dore during FF. I have pretty good skin, and usually use MAC MSFN on days that I need a pick-me-up but the Guerlain blows the MSFN out of the water. It makes my skin radiant and you cannot even tell that I am wearing anything. It's not chalky, doen't irritate, and just makes me glow. If you can get a color match (not always the easiest thing), this will not disappoint.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IoannaAmeerah on 11/22/2008 8:30:00 AM more reviews by IoannaAmeerah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It seems that foundation is a totally subjective subject and this cn be shown from the ratings..
For me, this is the best foundation i have tried so far. My skin is extremely sensitive, i have some red blemishes, oily t-zone, dry cheeks... PLUS i live in the United Arab Emirates, which means dryness and humidity..A disaster!!! i tried lots of brands , even pharmaceutical , which are considered the best for my case. Everything in vain..
Before 2 months i purchased Guerlain powder in dore star 23 and since then, my adventure trying to find the best foundation for me, has finished!

The coverage is buildable, but it is full and light, giving a soft-velvet like result.. Another thing i like is the fact that the powder does not dry my cheeks..and this was a negative point with ALL my previous foundations.

As for the staying power i can't really be objective cause i wear always primer. Above primer, the result is amazing, as it stays for good 5 hours without refreshing it...

I am happy i bought this foundation, i will definately buy again. Also because the price seems scary, i am pleased i knew refills are available.. ;-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsMarley on 8/28/2008 1:17:00 PM more reviews by MsMarley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i really like this, its so easy to apply (with a brush of course, you'd be crazy to smear powder foundation on with the sponge thing that comes with it). it makes my skin look really healthy and like i have no make up on. whenever i wear it i get comments on how healthy my skin looks. in fact today a make up artist asked me if i was wearing make up and if so, what it was because my skin looked great. coverage is pretty sheer but it really sorts out blotches, redness, and minor boo boos due to the light reflecting what-nots or whatever they are! i cant understand the bad reviews... at worst this is a really good quality face powder. a little dust of this over regular foundation gives the most polished, perfect look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doree_001 on 8/16/2008 12:28:00 PM more reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not very fond of compact foundations - most of them usually look too masky and are drying for the face. One of the best that I've tried have been Kanebo Total Finish and the old Clinique Double Powder when I was a lot younger (I don't remember exact name any more)...This is not exception - it is better and less drying than most of powder foundations that I have tried, but it is still a bit drying and for me too heavy. If you don't have exactly dry skin it could work for you. My skin is quite dry and I can't imagine to wear something like that every day - that would destroy my complexion. I also don't see much of those special "crystal" pigments that Guerlain is talking about. Foundations looks quite good for the first half of hour or so - skin looks flawless, than it starts to annoy me and I am afraid that it looks a bit mask-like. The golden compact is nice but too complicated IMO (Guerlain is notorious for complicated packaging) and sometimes it is hard to open it. I didn't like the old Guerlain's powder foundations either - they were all even more masky than this one and extremely drying. Parure is maybe the best Guerlain's compact foundation so far, but still not very good. I will not repurchase, that's sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 esthersau on 8/15/2008 3:12:00 PM more reviews by esthersau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation, The compact is beautiful, I have very good skin so I don't need to much coverage, the only complain that I'd have is that the finish is a little dusty. I'm going to keep use in it, but do I'll buy this again? probably not, just because is very expensive and for $60dlls, you want to be in loveeee with the product, and I'm really don't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 etatop on 8/13/2008 7:53:00 AM more reviews by etatop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Realy great powder! My face glow all day!
I already have second refill.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Burningdesir3 on 8/12/2008 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Burningdesir3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Veryyy nice foundation. It makes my face look flawless and it doesn't look like I caked on a ton of makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hrisoula25 on 8/6/2008 3:57:00 PM more reviews by hrisoula25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I, too, am kind of shocked by the low rating...are we talking about the same product here?

Firstly, I never use any kind of foundation. I have used pressed powders, but they can be drying so I bought this mainly because I was shocked how perfectly the color matched my skin.
The product is not drying, and it covers beautifully...obviously it's not going to absolutely cover all evidence of skin problems or whatever - and I think that some people think it would - but is still a powder after all. I'd go for liquid foundation beneath this if your skin is that problematic. If not, this is a great option for you. It never dries out skin and it lasts...providing a solid base to all makeup.
I absolutely love Guerlain because of the quality, the ingredients, the fact that it won't make me breakout or anything...and because it's just a perfect powder foundation.
The price is kind of steep, BUT, I was going to buy the same thing buy Laure Mercier, and her was about $10 cheaper, but contained talc and less quality ingredients.

I'd definitely recommend buying this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hana86 on 6/19/2008 8:50:00 AM more reviews by hana86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best power foundation ever!!!
It's good good coverage and makes your skin glow~!!
it doesn't dry your skin.. it feels very smooth ~!
and I can't believe the rating is this low, I totally recommend it! it's abit expensive but u get what u pay for! ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 qingyin on 5/28/2008 1:26:00 PM more reviews by qingyin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really shocked by the low rating here. I've been using makeup for 8 years and this is the only compact foundation I can ever use up and then willingly bought a refill.
I have dry skin but this foundation just melt in perfectly, not cakery at all. It gave my skin a flawless and glowing finish, covered up most imperfections(I dont have much actually).
The price is reasonable too, 33 pounds inclu. packaging and 23 pounds for refill only. I'm on my first refill now and I'm sure when it goes out, I'll repurchase.
here's a picture of me wearing this foundation.
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y82/cindy_arora/diary%20other/OTHER%202/2008%20new/41_a-3.jpg

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Powder products