Guerlain Parure SPF 20 Powder Foundation

3.8

71 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/19/2009 5:51:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I do love Guerlain products! I find this to be the best powder foundation on the market. It is very finely milled and covers as much, or as little as you like. The compact itself is of course, Beautiful, Elegant actually. What is inside is the most important however. There is a very light feminine, lady like fragrance that I am addicted to. It is a softer fragrance than Dior powder foundation, and I do not believe that it would interfere with any other perfume one would like to wear. I wear the Rose Delicat 12 for my med. with pink toned skin. It matches perfectly, and does not change colors. Got to love that about Guerlain. I think most ladies would love this powder if they gave it a try, and probably never go back. Oh...the Elegant compact is refillable too. A big plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/7/2009 9:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Yes, this is an expensive product and yes I would repurchase and will keep repurchasing irrespective of that!
I have become a huge Guerlain makeup fan about 2-3 years ago and I keep getting reminded over and over again when I buy new products why that is the case. There is something about Guerlain powders/foundations that is bar none. Guerlain takes beautiful complexions seriously, there is no doubt about that. I have a good complexion to start with so my challenge was to find something (foundation, powder) that would just enhance what I have, without looking like I have makeup on. My second criteria was simplicity - I can't be bothered with primers, then foundation, then setting powder - I do not have tons of time in the morning to do my makeup. My Guerlain SA recommended I try Parure compact and I put it on the half of my face while leaving half of it without anything. Well, that instant I was sold. I saw a velvety skin finish, that is both matt and glowy at the same time (I know that sounds like an oxymoron, but it's true), there was no sign of mask-like effect or powdery face. The texture is phenomenally fine, you can feel under your fingertips the silkiness of the product. I usually put this just over my moisturizer in the morning and use a concealer for the problematic parts of my face and I'm pretty much done. I have actually used this both with a brush and the included sponge. Unlike one of the reviewers below noted, I have no issue using the sponge, you just have to know when to use what: if you use a brush the effect will be even lighter and more transparent, however, with the sponge you may get a bit more coverage (still natural) which is especially good when you need to look at your best. If you decide to use the brush, I recommend a soft-bristle brush, NOT the Meteorites brush (irrespective of what the SA tells you) otherwise the product will disappear from the pot in no time. If you use the brush, the best way to apply is to "buff" it in, almost like the mineral foundations. If you want and have it at home, you can always finish it off with a light dusting of your favourite Meteorites for a perfectly luminous skin. This product gets top scores in my makeup book. BTW, the compact is refillable and I believe the refill costs about $45 CAD.
UPDATE: After I've been using this for a few months, I still LOVE it!!!! Definitely HG and the best product for my skin. I've tried a few other foundation products in between, just to ensure I am not missing out on something, but none can compare to this! I use it with a kabuki brush that I long time ago received with my Bare Minerals, buff it in the same way I would mineral foundation, and it works better than anything else I've tried. My face looks just amazing with this and I received numerous compliments. AWESOME product!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2008 9:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is the business. I have NC45 GGG/DDD skin and I picked up #24 Mythic Dore during FF. I have pretty good skin, and usually use MAC MSFN on days that I need a pick-me-up but the Guerlain blows the MSFN out of the water. It makes my skin radiant and you cannot even tell that I am wearing anything. It's not chalky, doen't irritate, and just makes me glow. If you can get a color match (not always the easiest thing), this will not disappoint.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2008 8:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

It seems that foundation is a totally subjective subject and this cn be shown from the ratings..
For me, this is the best foundation i have tried so far. My skin is extremely sensitive, i have some red blemishes, oily t-zone, dry cheeks... PLUS i live in the United Arab Emirates, which means dryness and humidity..A disaster!!! i tried lots of brands , even pharmaceutical , which are considered the best for my case. Everything in vain..
Before 2 months i purchased Guerlain powder in dore star 23 and since then, my adventure trying to find the best foundation for me, has finished!

The coverage is buildable, but it is full and light, giving a soft-velvet like result.. Another thing i like is the fact that the powder does not dry my cheeks..and this was a negative point with ALL my previous foundations.

As for the staying power i can't really be objective cause i wear always primer. Above primer, the result is amazing, as it stays for good 5 hours without refreshing it...

I am happy i bought this foundation, i will definately buy again. Also because the price seems scary, i am pleased i knew refills are available.. ;-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2008 1:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i really like this, its so easy to apply (with a brush of course, you'd be crazy to smear powder foundation on with the sponge thing that comes with it). it makes my skin look really healthy and like i have no make up on. whenever i wear it i get comments on how healthy my skin looks. in fact today a make up artist asked me if i was wearing make up and if so, what it was because my skin looked great. coverage is pretty sheer but it really sorts out blotches, redness, and minor boo boos due to the light reflecting what-nots or whatever they are! i cant understand the bad reviews... at worst this is a really good quality face powder. a little dust of this over regular foundation gives the most polished, perfect look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2008 12:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am not very fond of compact foundations - most of them usually look too masky and are drying for the face. One of the best that I've tried have been Kanebo Total Finish and the old Clinique Double Powder when I was a lot younger (I don't remember exact name any more)...This is not exception - it is better and less drying than most of powder foundations that I have tried, but it is still a bit drying and for me too heavy. If you don't have exactly dry skin it could work for you. My skin is quite dry and I can't imagine to wear something like that every day - that would destroy my complexion. I also don't see much of those special "crystal" pigments that Guerlain is talking about. Foundations looks quite good for the first half of hour or so - skin looks flawless, than it starts to annoy me and I am afraid that it looks a bit mask-like. The golden compact is nice but too complicated IMO (Guerlain is notorious for complicated packaging) and sometimes it is hard to open it. I didn't like the old Guerlain's powder foundations either - they were all even more masky than this one and extremely drying. Parure is maybe the best Guerlain's compact foundation so far, but still not very good. I will not repurchase, that's sure.


on 8/15/2008 3:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation, The compact is beautiful, I have very good skin so I don't need to much coverage, the only complain that I'd have is that the finish is a little dusty. I'm going to keep use in it, but do I'll buy this again? probably not, just because is very expensive and for $60dlls, you want to be in loveeee with the product, and I'm really don't.


on 8/13/2008 7:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Realy great powder! My face glow all day!
I already have second refill.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Veryyy nice foundation. It makes my face look flawless and it doesn't look like I caked on a ton of makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2008 3:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I, too, am kind of shocked by the low rating...are we talking about the same product here?

Firstly, I never use any kind of foundation. I have used pressed powders, but they can be drying so I bought this mainly because I was shocked how perfectly the color matched my skin.
The product is not drying, and it covers beautifully...obviously it's not going to absolutely cover all evidence of skin problems or whatever - and I think that some people think it would - but is still a powder after all. I'd go for liquid foundation beneath this if your skin is that problematic. If not, this is a great option for you. It never dries out skin and it lasts...providing a solid base to all makeup.
I absolutely love Guerlain because of the quality, the ingredients, the fact that it won't make me breakout or anything...and because it's just a perfect powder foundation.
The price is kind of steep, BUT, I was going to buy the same thing buy Laure Mercier, and her was about $10 cheaper, but contained talc and less quality ingredients.

I'd definitely recommend buying this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top