Too Faced Retractable Kabuki Brush

4.6

271 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/18/2011 8:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've had this for probably a year now just never reviewed. bottom line is if you are looking for an extremely soft brush that gives the sheerest coverage this is the way to go. The teddy bear hair is definitely very soft and doesn't loose its softness once washed (mines still so soft) and i haven't had any problems with packaging not to mention its very cute. The problem is i bought this to apply mineral foundation/ bronzer and it really doesn't work because its just not corse enough to pick up that much pigment. I do find i can do a decent job of blending by sliding the retractable thing up and making the brush smaller and denser but this is awkward and i really never use it that way but you could. I do use it for translucent powder and probably would by it again if I lost it for that purpose.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/9/2011 1:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is hands-down the best kabuki brush I've ever used. I got this for Christmas a few years ago (because I couldn't part with $30 for a brush myself) & fell in love. It's so soft -- I can't even describe how soft it is. It says it's made with "teddy bear hair," and it really is as soft as a fluffy teddy bear. I used this for everything -- bronzer, blush, mineral foundation -- and it worked perfectly for everything.There was never any shedding and it never began to get rough or scratchy. The packaging is adorable too and never got banged up no matter how much I carried it around. However, I recently dropped it on a hard floor and it broke. The pink outer part under the brush popped off, and the lid won't stay on without that part. So now it's just a squat kabuki brush with a black handle. I suppose I could glue the bottom back on, but I'm too lazy. I still use this because it works just the same, it's just not as cute or travel-friendly now. If I ever find myself with $30 just sitting around, I'll totally buy this in it's original form again. It's amazing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 5:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I carry this brush with me in my purse b/c it's small and comes in a really pretty pink package. If I could carry my Sigma F80 brush with me I would but since it's too big. I love this brush. I apply my powder with this brush and the bristles on this next to my F80 is the softest ever!!! You need to get this even though the price tag will set you back about $32 :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2011 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i totally love this brush, but not for the reasons I thought I would. My original intention was to use this to apply face powder, which it did a decent job of doing. However, when I accidentally left my makeup bag with my blush brush in it at my boyfriend's house, I had to choice but to use this instead to apply my blush for the day. It works amazingggg for blush application! It puts the blush right where you want it and makes it super easy to build color. Let me just say that I'm so glad I left my blush brush at my bf's house that day, because now I use this instead :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2011 8:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite kabuki ever! It is so soft and I love the color!!! It is just AMAZING!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2011 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. It's soft like baby skin and very dense for mineral powder or any loose powders. I only washed it twice so far but never had sheding problem. This is the cutest kabuki brush I've ever seen and everytime I use this, I feel like my make up looks even better. I am in love with their brushes and if they come out with a stippling brush, i'd so run and get it!!! ^^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2011 10:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was introduced to this brush by a Sephora clerk when I asked her to point me to the softest powder brush she had in the store. I have extremely sensitive skin which will turn bright red if a brush is even the least bit rough. I had never bought a makeup brush before and I balked at the $30 price tag. I left the store empty handed, but the softness and density of the Too Faced Kabuki haunted me for weeks afterward. I finally went back to Sephora and bought the brush vowing to return it if buyer's remorse set in. It never has.


Fast forward two years later and I'm now a makeup brush junkie. It was all because of this brush. Worth every penny! Luxuriousy soft and dense, this brush buffs powder foundation, face powder, and blush to a fine sheen. Since it's retractable, it travels well and stays clean in makeup drawers or bags. It does take forever to dry when I wash it, but that's a small price to pay for an otherwise magnificient brush. I personally love the hot pink color--it looks and feels so girlie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really love this brush. I've been on a months' (years'?) long hunt for the best synthetic kabuki brush, and I have settled on my top 3: this one, Makeup Forever's, and Sigma's F80 and/or F84. I like the Smashbox face & body brush #19 as a non-synthetic buffing brush.

THIS one finds its place in my handbag, as it's the only retractable version. I LOVE that it's retractable; it was a major selling point, as it's the first decent retractable kabuki I've found. I use it for mostly touchups, as I find the Makeup Forever kabuki to be possibly a bit denser. I don't know. They're both great. I am not a big pink fan, but I love this brush.

Pros:
Retractable(!!) (cleaner, more appropriate for carrying in a purse)
Soft, dense fibers (even application)
Buffs to a really pretty, even finish
Dark color of tips makes it easy to see how much product you're using
Minimal shedding

Cons:
Pink (eh, not a big deal)
Time it takes to dry (also not that big of a deal)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just picked up this brush from Ulta, much hesitation to spend that much on a brush, but I had been using a cheapy Kabuki I wasn't impressed with. I'm glad I spent my thirty two dollars plus tax on this brush. The adorable pink packaging is great it has great presentation. It isn't made of animal hairs, and the fibers feel lucious up agianst your skin. I just want to rub it all over my face : ) It applies my translucent powder and blush beautifully and from what I've read the quality really holds up, so I probably won't be repurchasing this product for a few years.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this to apply sunless tanner to my face and neck, it works perfect and is super soft. I do not like it for powder at all though, it just doesn't apply smoothly for me, it applies liquid very nicely though. I actually bought it for my Sun Bunny bronzer but ended up getting a 187 for it instead after seeing how this brush worked with it. I love that it retracts so I can keep it out on my vanity, it's super cute!

I've had mine for a year and wash it all the time, it has never shed and it's flower print/logo hasn't faded one bit! It still looks brand new.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
Core Collection
226 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
118 Reviews


Back to Top