Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatanYah on 5/15/2012 8:50:00 PM more reviews by NatanYah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

This is a little better than the Tresemme heat protectant. I was hoping for some shine, bounce, and less stiffness. I'm going to finish the bottle and shop around for a better heat protectant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shaypril on 3/30/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by Shaypril

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It smells great but is not worth the price whatsoever because it doesnt do anything. It doesnt sprit but its not very misty when it comes out. It leaves my hair very wet after applying (having to blow dry it again) and sticks too. I do not recommend buying this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nearyroth on 2/13/2012 11:33:00 PM more reviews by nearyroth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Only heat protectant I use! I can only put a few spritz before it made my hair crunchy but I put about 4 squirtz all over. It really works and smells AMAZING!! A teensy bit expensive,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanchita777 on 1/22/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by sanchita777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I Super love this product! I use it when I curl my hair with a wand! I have never tried it for flat ironing. But let me just say if you want to curl your hair this is perfect. I take small sections mist it once or twice, then wrap my hair around my curling iron. The curls last all day, they are slightly crunchy, (but not hard or crispy like hairspray). It is a got to have product for me. I have thick long, naturally curly, frizzy hair and this just makes my hair do exactly what I want it to do. I really love it, and I will continue to buy it as long as they make it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lizziex3 on 1/21/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Lizziex3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My mom gave me this spray because she doesn't use flat/curling irons.
I don't like it at all. It made my hair very crunchy and dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erins720 on 12/31/2011 6:36:00 PM more reviews by erins720

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really surprised by the so-so reviews on here because this stuff has been an absolute godsend for me. I have naturally curly hair that I always wear straight so I typically straighten 3 nights a week from curly and touch up every morning. Needless to say, I do everything I can to minimize the inevitable heat damage this causes. I put off buying this for a long time because the price, which isn't crazy expensive, seemed astronomical considering how frequently I'd go through bottles my former product (Vo5). I thought the Vo5 worked rather well, until I finally decided to try this.

I think the reason so many people dislike it is because they're not using it correctly, though I don't blame anyone for that. The directions, buried in a sea of microscopic writing on the back of the bottle, only say to "use evenly over dry hair" and don't specify how much to actually use. In my case, I use much, much less of this than any other heat product I've tried before even though it works so much better in minimizing damage than any of them have. It can easily cause stiffness, crunchiness, and greasiness if overused or not used correctly but that's really any hair product you use. You also need to make sure the product has dried before you iron, but you should never iron wet or damp hair anyway. This dries super fast--in just a few seconds. If your hair is EVER sizzling when you flat iron, you're doing something wrong and yes, it will obviously cause damage. With this, it's definitely about making sure all of your hair has gotten the product evenly but not using a lot. One bottle lasts me about two months, even straightening as frequently as I do.

I separate my hair into two sections on either side of my head to start, tying up one while I'm doing the other. I use this on the entire half of my hair at a time in layers, making sure that all of my hair gets sprayed. It comes out as a fine mist and is easier to manage getting a small amount of product to cover evenly if you hold the bottle 6-8 inches or so from your head rather than spraying it at close range. The only place I spray more directly is my ends--I gather the entire section and spray from the bottom. I do straighten each part in smaller sections with clips as I go along but I don't use or need any additional product (I feel like if I sprayed each little section, it wouldn't get on as evenly and I'd end up using too much). The iron glides right over and the results are smooth, soft, shiny hair. No dryness, no stiffness, and no greasiness. Like I said, I always used so much of my other product that I was very, very hesitant to use so much less with this. However, I've been using it almost two years now so the long term results speak for themselves to me. As for the smell, it's not feminine by any means but it isn't bad. Love it or hate it, though, it doesn't linger at all after straightening so is it really that much of an issue?

If it makes a difference, as much as I love this spray, I use a Sedu iron, not a Chi one. I've tried pretty much every brand of high-priced flat irons out there (as well as many cheap ceramic ones as a young teenager, a rite of passage of course) and even though I eventually succumbed to the Chi hype a few years ago, it was short lived because Chi irons have proven to be crap for me compared to the Sedu and Solia ones I've used. Just saying.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MRahman119 on 12/18/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by MRahman119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this product and have been using it for years. A lot of people seem to experience a "crackling" when they use this product...this would be true for ANY heat protectant if you do not allow it to dry properly. I section my hair off then spray this in the first section. Give it about 30 seconds to dry (combing through it to detangle seems to speed up drying time) then I proceed to flatiron the section. I repeat this for each section. Hair type might also play a factor in how effective this product is for you. I am Asian and my hair is slightly coarse; this product works great for my hair type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Soarin on 12/15/2011 8:56:00 AM more reviews by Soarin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to protect my hair from heat from my chi-iron and from heat when blow-drying. I bought it at Target were I paid $12 but here in Holland you pay like 15 ($20) for the Same product.

I use it before blow-drying or om dry hair before using my chi Iron. It does nothing for my hair. It leaves a grenst, sticker layer on my hair. It doesn't protect my hair from heat. I Would never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Aimee87 on 11/28/2011 1:00:00 AM more reviews by Aimee87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, I'm actually really disappointed that this did nothing positive to my hair, I only hope the one advantage I got was protection from my straightening iron which I'm not even sure I got while straightening my hair. My hair felt dry, stiff like allot of people have said on here, which I'm not surprised because that was exactly how I was going to describe that it did to my hair before even deciding to write a review on it. I still use it cause there is still so much of it left in the bottle, and I'm using it until I can find better alternative till then my hair still needs protection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Marissaa212 on 11/13/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Marissaa212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I dont reallly know how im supposed to know if an iron guard works? hhaha. but i dont think it makes your hair stiff... and it tastes horrible. js. DO NOT TASTE IT! trust me i did on accident.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products