Farouk CHI 44 Chi Iron Guard

3.3

180 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PG-Propyl Silantriol, Parfum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Methylisothiazolinone, Ceramic.


on 5/31/2012 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product is great, it smells great and makes my hair soft and shiny. I think the reason why some people say it makes their hair crunchy is as other people have said.. They use to much. I section my hair and make sure its completely dry before apply. I spray 2-3 sprays onto my hands and i rub through each section of hair. I then brush it through when im all finished and then flat iron. My results are excellent! My hair stays straight, no burnt smell :) and it makes my hair sooo sooo soft and shiny. Will def repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/15/2012 8:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a little better than the Tresemme heat protectant. I was hoping for some shine, bounce, and less stiffness. I'm going to finish the bottle and shop around for a better heat protectant.


on 3/30/2012 8:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It smells great but is not worth the price whatsoever because it doesnt do anything. It doesnt sprit but its not very misty when it comes out. It leaves my hair very wet after applying (having to blow dry it again) and sticks too. I do not recommend buying this product.


on 2/13/2012 11:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Only heat protectant I use! I can only put a few spritz before it made my hair crunchy but I put about 4 squirtz all over. It really works and smells AMAZING!! A teensy bit expensive,


on 1/22/2012 2:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I Super love this product! I use it when I curl my hair with a wand! I have never tried it for flat ironing. But let me just say if you want to curl your hair this is perfect. I take small sections mist it once or twice, then wrap my hair around my curling iron. The curls last all day, they are slightly crunchy, (but not hard or crispy like hairspray). It is a got to have product for me. I have thick long, naturally curly, frizzy hair and this just makes my hair do exactly what I want it to do. I really love it, and I will continue to buy it as long as they make it.


on 1/21/2012 11:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

My mom gave me this spray because she doesn't use flat/curling irons.
I don't like it at all. It made my hair very crunchy and dry.


on 12/31/2011 6:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm really surprised by the so-so reviews on here because this stuff has been an absolute godsend for me. I have naturally curly hair that I always wear straight so I typically straighten 3 nights a week from curly and touch up every morning. Needless to say, I do everything I can to minimize the inevitable heat damage this causes. I put off buying this for a long time because the price, which isn't crazy expensive, seemed astronomical considering how frequently I'd go through bottles my former product (Vo5). I thought the Vo5 worked rather well, until I finally decided to try this.

I think the reason so many people dislike it is because they're not using it correctly, though I don't blame anyone for that. The directions, buried in a sea of microscopic writing on the back of the bottle, only say to "use evenly over dry hair" and don't specify how much to actually use. In my case, I use much, much less of this than any other heat product I've tried before even though it works so much better in minimizing damage than any of them have. It can easily cause stiffness, crunchiness, and greasiness if overused or not used correctly but that's really any hair product you use. You also need to make sure the product has dried before you iron, but you should never iron wet or damp hair anyway. This dries super fast--in just a few seconds. If your hair is EVER sizzling when you flat iron, you're doing something wrong and yes, it will obviously cause damage. With this, it's definitely about making sure all of your hair has gotten the product evenly but not using a lot. One bottle lasts me about two months, even straightening as frequently as I do.

I separate my hair into two sections on either side of my head to start, tying up one while I'm doing the other. I use this on the entire half of my hair at a time in layers, making sure that all of my hair gets sprayed. It comes out as a fine mist and is easier to manage getting a small amount of product to cover evenly if you hold the bottle 6-8 inches or so from your head rather than spraying it at close range. The only place I spray more directly is my ends--I gather the entire section and spray from the bottom. I do straighten each part in smaller sections with clips as I go along but I don't use or need any additional product (I feel like if I sprayed each little section, it wouldn't get on as evenly and I'd end up using too much). The iron glides right over and the results are smooth, soft, shiny hair. No dryness, no stiffness, and no greasiness. Like I said, I always used so much of my other product that I was very, very hesitant to use so much less with this. However, I've been using it almost two years now so the long term results speak for themselves to me. As for the smell, it's not feminine by any means but it isn't bad. Love it or hate it, though, it doesn't linger at all after straightening so is it really that much of an issue?

If it makes a difference, as much as I love this spray, I use a Sedu iron, not a Chi one. I've tried pretty much every brand of high-priced flat irons out there (as well as many cheap ceramic ones as a young teenager, a rite of passage of course) and even though I eventually succumbed to the Chi hype a few years ago, it was short lived because Chi irons have proven to be crap for me compared to the Sedu and Solia ones I've used. Just saying.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I absolutely love this product and have been using it for years. A lot of people seem to experience a "crackling" when they use this product...this would be true for ANY heat protectant if you do not allow it to dry properly. I section my hair off then spray this in the first section. Give it about 30 seconds to dry (combing through it to detangle seems to speed up drying time) then I proceed to flatiron the section. I repeat this for each section. Hair type might also play a factor in how effective this product is for you. I am Asian and my hair is slightly coarse; this product works great for my hair type.


on 12/15/2011 8:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this to protect my hair from heat from my chi-iron and from heat when blow-drying. I bought it at Target were I paid $12 but here in Holland you pay like 15 ($20) for the Same product.

I use it before blow-drying or om dry hair before using my chi Iron. It does nothing for my hair. It leaves a grenst, sticker layer on my hair. It doesn't protect my hair from heat. I Would never buy it again.


on 11/28/2011 1:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I'm actually really disappointed that this did nothing positive to my hair, I only hope the one advantage I got was protection from my straightening iron which I'm not even sure I got while straightening my hair. My hair felt dry, stiff like allot of people have said on here, which I'm not surprised because that was exactly how I was going to describe that it did to my hair before even deciding to write a review on it. I still use it cause there is still so much of it left in the bottle, and I'm using it until I can find better alternative till then my hair still needs protection.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews
Back to Top