L'Oreal HiColor High Lift Hair Color

4.0

121 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/26/2013 1:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! It works amazing. There's nothing like it, it can be damaging, but not as much as having to bleach and then tone. My sister's hair color was a dark maroon color, and I used the Soft Brown with 40 volume to give her highlights, and then Red for her base. It turned out perfect. She's always wanted bright red hair, so it's amazing it worked.
At first I was iffy about the red, because it had seemed as if only her new growth was turning bright red, but at the end of it all, it was even, and the soft brown turned into caramel highlights, so it was an overall success!m



on 8/19/2013 9:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

As a hairstylist, I would buy this again and I would get it behind the chair. I foiled it in to my sister freshly colored hair (redken 6r) it looked great. I then foiled it in to my own hair.

Even thought its not bleach it's hi lift , so it still an damage your hair. Any time you are using 30 vol or 40 vol. it damages your hair. So try and only leave it on for the time on the box says. And use a deep conditioner after.

Tips for red hair- wash your hair with cold water and buy a red shampoo and conditioner. And yes it will fade but these things with help it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 11:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is seriously magic in a tube. I have never used a better hair dye. It doesn't damage my hair and if lifted my BLACK, yes BLACK hair to a bright red. This stuff is amazing. No other dye can even compare! Seriously go get this stuff! You won't regret it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2013 3:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I thought this was "too good to be true" and it was! My hair is NOT light. It did not cover my few gray hairs and it dried my hair out. Epic fail.


on 8/10/2013 5:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I wanted to love this, I really did, but I just can't. I picked this up in the color "Red Hot" which let me tell you is pretty misleading, it's a dark plum red VS what I would consider "red hot" to look like. I used the Loreal 30 Volume Developer (as recommended on the hair dye box) and followed the directions to a T. The consistency was fine and easy to work with, however my hair refused to run clear and I finally gave up, now the color was beautiful and I was in love. However after just my first shampoo (using high quality color care shampoo + conditioner) there was small patches where the color completely washed out and my hair still smelled very strongly of the dye. Skip to three days later (hair doesn't get oily so I wash it as little as possible) I shampooed again and now there are significant patches where there is no color and my hair still smells REALLY strong of hair dye. I've used the $3 shampoo boxes at Wal-Mart and have not had such awful fading as this. Also I can't touch anything with my hair until it's completely dry because it leaves a red stain. I'm happy that this was fairly cheap so I didn't lose too much money but I won't repurchase. Also it wasn't too kind of my hair, it left my hair course and poofy (not surprised because I used a strong developer).


UPDATE:
It's been 5 days and I've washed my hair two more times. My shampoo is STILL turning bright red, my conditioner comes out red, and the water from my hair leaves red splotches all over my shower walls. My hair still reeks of hair dye which is getting really annoying. Luckily what damage it did to my hair is starting to subside (thanks to my macadamia oil hair mask) but I would never buy the product again. I've washed my hair four times since dying and it's still a disaster. Considering trying color oops to completely remove the color or dish soap or anything to get this awful stuff out of my hair.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2013 9:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have medium to dark brown hair and I have always wanted to add a little long-lasting spunk to my hair without major damage.

Well this is it ! I have been using this off and on for the last two/three years and I have always had good results with this product I have used 10 and 20 developer (depending on how intense you want the results) I bought all these items at Sally's Beauty Supply

Now making the color last is easy, just use a good salon quality shampoo and condition OR an alternative is the Quantum Red shampoo (the bottle is red too) at Sally's Beauty Supply.


If you use something like Head & Shoulders shampoo this will strip ANY color out of your hair. Just spend a little more on a good salon quality shampoo and conditioner, your color will last and your hair with look and feel beautiful..... It's so worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2013 3:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This dye is just glorious. I use it in the color "Red" now just to lighten my roots. Let me start with that I had medium brown hair, but wanted bright red hair. I used this, and BAM! I got red hair without using bleach with just one product! Now I use Special Effects dye for my whole hair, and just use this to lighten my roots. Great alternative if you want red hair and are afraid of bleaching.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been coloring my hair for many years. I wanted to go from my dark brown to almost black to a copper. I purchased L'Oreal Sizzling Copper from my local Sally Beauty store because it said it would lighten my hair 3-4 shades without pre-lightening. I am so glad that I did not listen to the people who said that this product was not worth the money. I absolutely love the color of my hair. I did leave it on a little longer than the recommended 30 minutes, but I am lucky enough that my mil is a former hairdresser and she does my color. I have not noticed any fading but I do not wash my hair every day and when I do wash it I use a shampoo for color treated hair. If you are looking for a change I highly recommend L'Oreal products made for dark hair if you have dark hair. If not it won't work. Do your research before doing any thing to your hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2013 11:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Wow. For how quickly this fades and how DAMAGING it is, I would never do it again. It's just not worth it. Yea vibrant, for five minutes. Waste of time, healthy hair, and excitement. I'm glad I didn't do my whole head. For what it's worth, the color does stay for a long time after, just not as vibrant. But because it's bleached, it won't go back to your original color, or even blonde for me. It stayed a shade of magenta (the color I used). So if you are looking to bleach anyway, maybe it's for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2013 2:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Original hair color : dark brown level 2 (previously colored)
Desired hair color: intense red/ using High color highlights in red.

I used this product as directed on the box, I used 30 v developer and left it on for 30 minutes. The first color application the results were not what I was looking for. My ends were a cherry coke color and my new growth was a very intense red. I read online usually two or more applications are necessary for intense red. My hair is pretty healthy so 24 hours later I re-colored my hair they same exact way, except I did not apply any color to my bright red roots. I could tell a huge difference after the second color application. I am currently a vibrant red but it's still a little patchy, I am planning on coloring my hair one a week from my last application. I have no damage from using this product. I deep conditioned my hair after each color and used a leave in conditioner as well.
If your hair is healthy a couple applications my do the trick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top