L'Oreal • HiColor High Lift Hair Color • Hair Color

rated 4.1(105 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 minimartha on 9/3/2012 9:04:00 AM more reviews by minimartha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have been on a search for a rich red hair color and I finally found it. I bought L'Oreal High Lift Hair Color in Red Fire at Sally's. I also bought OREO 30 Volume Developer. I followed the directions and the results were amazing! It looks natural and really warms up my complexion. I was born with red hair but after undergoing treatment for cancer I lost my hair and when it came back it came back looking like patchwork quilt with all different shades of color from white, red, blonde, brown to black. I am so glad I bought this. I have gotten tons of compliments from my co-workers and from complete strangers. The color makes my blue eyes pop. After coloring my hair was unbelievably soft even without using conditioner. However, I did condition it using Feria conditioner. Red Fire is a cross between red and copper, it is beautiful, rich and warm.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kirstenabox on 8/17/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by kirstenabox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


When I chose this haircolor, I did TONS of research. Not just on the dye, but the color I wanted. I have naturally dark brown hair from being Portuguese. It won't do ANYTHING I want it to. I've gone to the salon several times and had them redo it because the color didn't work right. So of course, I wanted something that would work on my hair, but I didn't want to outright bleach it, and avoid breaking the bank. I decided to go red. Not Rihanna red, but red enough to notice in a darker room. The box always gives me that annoying only-red-in-the-light-of-jesus look. So, I ended up trying this. However. I spent DAYS researching how to take care of red hair, how to manage its fading, how to dye it, what is too harmful, etc. Now, most of this review is for the red, but if you want to try another color, I'd still read ahead for some of it.

First of all, if your hair is an obnoxious dark brown that has ALWAYS been stubborn to dyes in the past, why in the world would you think 30 minutes is enough time? Honestly. When you go to the salon does it take you 30 mins? If it does then I'm jealous. If you've ever had trouble with your classic box dye, this stuff is only slightly more powerful. Yes it has more of a lift than a box, but only by a shade or two, depending on the developer you choose. So if you want a HUGE difference, especially if you're trying to do the reds, leave it in longer. 15 more minutes isn't going to make it fall out.

Then of course, you need to understand your developers. Volume 10 will only DEPOSIT. Great for blondes trying to go another color, or if you only want to sort of revive your hair. You can happily buy this tube and revive your hair color after the red fades by using volume 10. It will not activate the bleach. Volume 20 will lighten 1-2 shades. This would be if you're a dark brown wanting to lighten just a tad, or if you're a dark red head wanting to take it up a notch. Volume 30, which is what the box calls for, will lighten 2-3 levels. Did you read that? 2-3 levels. If you have borderline black color dark hair, and you want to look like Rihanna, its not happening in one 30 minute sitting with 30 developer. Sorry. Anything above 30 works the same, except higher levels. These, however, are much more damaging if not monitored correctly, which is why I wouldn't use it unless you're pretty confident.

For example, I used the highlights in red, and the first time I did it, I left it in for 30 minutes. It was that kind of red that's only red under bright light or the sun. Not what I wanted. I did it again, the next night, and left the sucker on for about an hour. THEN it came out like I wanted, but it still didn't match the color on that fake hair they give you as an example. And just a note, it did not fry the crap out of my hair or ruin in. I take care of my hair well to begin with, and made sure to hydrate it properly after the dying process. If you use too strong of a developer, then you could easily ruin your hair by leaving it in long enough, so listen to the box unless you know what you're doing. You've probably noticed, surprise, there isn't a nifty little pouch of conditioner in the box. However, this doesn't mean you don't have to condition it. If you bought it at Sally's, they have really good conditioners and COLOR SEALERS in small pouches for one time use if you don't want to use something more expensive. This is a must. Even though you aren't straight up bleaching your hair, its still damaging it. So take care of it.

Since we're on the topic of taking care of your hair, I'd like to point out that RED hair is the MOST difficult to take care of. Red dye falls out every time you wash it, whether you use a color treated shampoo or not. That being said, if you don't use a color treated shampoo and conditioner, its going to fade much much more. They also make color-depositing conditioners that, hey, also come in brown for those of you trying to keep your brown from looking matte. Also, don't wash it everyday. You're just asking for it to fade faster. And honestly, it will fade, even if you only wash it twice a week. When it does fade, you can always do the roots, and touch up with a demi-permanent or semi-permanent. Like manic panic, for example, though that might be too much of a red. And if you missed it in my earlier paragraphs, you can use this SAME hicolor with volume 10 developer. If you don't have the time to worry about your hair, or you're a swimmer, or spend all day at the beach, red hair is not for you. Red is a commitment, not just a dye job.

For all hair colors and types, you need to condition your hair with something excellent right after coloring. Then, take care of it with something better than the 2 dollar stuff that says 'hydrating' on the bottle. It doesn't. If you can't afford something like Redkin because lord is it expensive, there are still plenty of other great shampoos and conditioners that are sulfate free and good for color treated hair. Sally's has some that are of great value and wonderful quality, but much more affordable than the really good stuff.

Now, after all this if you still try it out and it doesn't work, I'm sorry your hair is a b*tch. Doing it at home is literally an experiment, and if you aren't prepared for bad results, then you need to go to a salon who can fix it and do it properly. I'm not an expert, only a good quality internet worm. If you're nervous or don't know if you should try a product, whether its for hair or not, ALWAYS do your research. Don't just read reviews on makeup websites. Google blogs, hundreds of different review sites, pictures, personal experiences, ask several clerks at the store, and listen to ALL the bad ones. Some bad reviews are really silly. So read them and see if its actually a bad product, or if the reviewer just didn't understand something. Such as red hair bleeding.

Happy coloring.

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rizzles123 on 8/15/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by rizzles123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love,love,LOVE! This product! I went from a dark brown with this a a 40 ML developer! GO BUY IT ITS AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ximachikenx on 8/12/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by ximachikenx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was on the hunt for a good red box dye but I never found one I liked so ended up purchasing this in Magenta from Sally's. It's relatively inexpensive and gives great results. I didn't want my hair too red so I used this with 20 volume developer for 30 minutes, applying heat to my hair while I was waiting. The results turned out just the way I wanted, but it was a tad uneven because I decided to use only one tube; for my hair (a couple inches longer than shoulder length) I probably should have used a box and a half. My hair ended up being a dark yet vibrant magenta-red. Red hair requires a lot of maintenance but it is such an eye-catching color and it looks great, if you are willing to commit to being a redhead. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladyyluck18 on 7/16/2012 5:20:00 AM more reviews by ladyyluck18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

so i wanted to go from a level 2/3 dark brown to a vibrant red, and one of my friends recommended this to me. her hair before was the same color as mine was and her hair came out a very pretty red. i bought the intense red.
so i slapped all the color on my head and waited about 30, 35 minutes. washed it out, and come to find out (at first) that my roots were brighter than the rest of my hair. which was my bad for not lifting the previous color out anyways.
so after about another wash, it starts showing more and more everywhere, and just not my roots. i was starting to get very happy with it.
that was 2 weeks ago, it's still vibrant, but i need a retouch. already bought another box and i can't wait to see the results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 6/27/2012 8:40:00 AM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have naturally brown/black hair that I wanted to have an auburn reflect in the sunlight. Box dyes just do not cut it if you need a lot of lift in your hair. I bought L'Oreal HiColor in Red Hot and mixed it with 40 volume developer. I applied it to the length of my hair first and then to my roots after half an hour. My roots developed into a beautiful vibrant auburn while the length of my hair stayed somewhat dark. The second time I pre-lightened my hair and the results were PHENOMENAL. No salon has come close to giving me hair this vibrant. I used the Magenta shade also and it came out a stunning, bright auburn. People stop me all the time and ask about my hair colour and I am so happy to say I do it at home for less than $10. Even my hairdresser was astounded at how beautiful the Red Hot looks. I do prefer the Magenta, which is more of a neon shade, whereas the Red Hot gave more of a deep red glow.

These products are fantastic so if the colour does not show up at all, you are doing something wrong. I will say the names are a tad misleading; the first colour I used is more of a brick/auburn than a fire engine red so "Red Hot" is kind of a misnomer. But overall, if you want crazy, vivid, eye-catching hair, the HiColor is the way to go.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaitlynelizabeth1 on 6/27/2012 12:49:00 AM more reviews by kaitlynelizabeth1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My natural hair color is a medium brown. A few years ago I went black, then straight to almost bleach blonde. My hair was fried for a year, and I just recently went back brown. I use a 3N color. I've beenw anting red in my hair for a long time, and today bought this product on a whim, refusing to buy the Ion Brights and bleach again. I used a 30 developer, and left it on for 30 minutes. I rinsed, reapplied, and then all over colored (still in correction because the bleach won't take the dark just right) and left the red on for about 50 minutes (5 plus the 45 for my brown). It's beautiful! Bright red in my bangs, face framing streak, and underneath on one side. You just have to have patience, and the time. Excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zippsters89 on 6/26/2012 12:06:00 AM more reviews by zippsters89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot express how much love this color... I have been coloring my hair for years (6 to be exact) and I have always gone for colors with a more red undertone to them. I have very dark brown almost soft black hair, so of course I always have a hard time getting that full beautiful red color without killing my hair. This color has a lightener in it already so it strips and colors the hair all at once. I use this in the color magenta and on my skin tone it looks amazing. I get so many complements; but of course I always warn that red hair is high maintenance. Also, you do really need to take care of your hair with deep conditioning and a color refreshing product. Personally I have not noticed more damage to my hair then usual but I do have a very rigorous conditioning routine and I do not wash my hair everyday (only about every 2 to 3 days). So if you are up to the maintenance I would most defiantly recommend this color if your hair is naturally dark... if it is NOT naturally dark I would not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ElishaS on 5/3/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by ElishaS

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Please don't buy this product. I know you'll skim past this review and only read the good reviews (Like i did) but hear me out.
I did my research before deciding to buy this product and i read a LOT of reviews. I read some horror stories but i chose to look past them and go by the really positive ones instead. STUPID ME!
I LOVE L'Oreal products, they're some of the best, so i thought this was a brand i was familiar with and could trust to turn my dark brown hair a little bit lighter. But no. I hadn't had my hair cut for 6 years and i liked my long healthy (dyed) hair. I never wanted it short, ever! Unfortunately i now have short hair as a result of using this. It stripped everything but the colour from most of my hair. I used this in July 2011 and in August 2011 i couldn't deal with the horrendous split ends anymore and had to cut it all off. It was cut up to my shoulers!!!! (And by split ends i literally mean that EACH strand of my hair could have up to 6 different splits)
It's currently May 2012 and my hair is still really short (Now above my shoulders) because the damage was so bad i had to trim my hair SO much. So please, if you're reading this and you still use the product and something goes wrong, don't say someone didn't warn you.

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ilse333 on 4/28/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Ilse333

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

My hair is an unfortunate color. It's a mousy brown that turns gold in the sun and goes brassy no matter what coloring products are used on it. Currently it's long and has been colored and highlighted multiple times. So even though it's been looking dull and dry lately and I wanted highlights, I didn't want to use bleach in any way on it.

I tried this in Ash Blonde, not expecting much. But it came out looking very pretty and natural - not brassy or like overly stripey highlights. That said, I wouldn't call it "ash" but more of a golden blonde. Best of all, it didn't seem to leave my hair in any worse condition that it initially was. I'll use again.

ETA: My hair reverted to brassy within 5 days. I moved on to Clairol Second Nature, which was much gentler and more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products