L'Oreal HiColor High Lift Hair Color

4.0

115 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/19/2013 3:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This dye is just glorious. I use it in the color "Red" now just to lighten my roots. Let me start with that I had medium brown hair, but wanted bright red hair. I used this, and BAM! I got red hair without using bleach with just one product! Now I use Special Effects dye for my whole hair, and just use this to lighten my roots. Great alternative if you want red hair and are afraid of bleaching.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been coloring my hair for many years. I wanted to go from my dark brown to almost black to a copper. I purchased L'Oreal Sizzling Copper from my local Sally Beauty store because it said it would lighten my hair 3-4 shades without pre-lightening. I am so glad that I did not listen to the people who said that this product was not worth the money. I absolutely love the color of my hair. I did leave it on a little longer than the recommended 30 minutes, but I am lucky enough that my mil is a former hairdresser and she does my color. I have not noticed any fading but I do not wash my hair every day and when I do wash it I use a shampoo for color treated hair. If you are looking for a change I highly recommend L'Oreal products made for dark hair if you have dark hair. If not it won't work. Do your research before doing any thing to your hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2013 11:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Wow. For how quickly this fades and how DAMAGING it is, I would never do it again. It's just not worth it. Yea vibrant, for five minutes. Waste of time, healthy hair, and excitement. I'm glad I didn't do my whole head. For what it's worth, the color does stay for a long time after, just not as vibrant. But because it's bleached, it won't go back to your original color, or even blonde for me. It stayed a shade of magenta (the color I used). So if you are looking to bleach anyway, maybe it's for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2013 2:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Original hair color : dark brown level 2 (previously colored)
Desired hair color: intense red/ using High color highlights in red.

I used this product as directed on the box, I used 30 v developer and left it on for 30 minutes. The first color application the results were not what I was looking for. My ends were a cherry coke color and my new growth was a very intense red. I read online usually two or more applications are necessary for intense red. My hair is pretty healthy so 24 hours later I re-colored my hair they same exact way, except I did not apply any color to my bright red roots. I could tell a huge difference after the second color application. I am currently a vibrant red but it's still a little patchy, I am planning on coloring my hair one a week from my last application. I have no damage from using this product. I deep conditioned my hair after each color and used a leave in conditioner as well.
If your hair is healthy a couple applications my do the trick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2013 7:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm african -american and have natural hair that I wanted to dye a plum-purplish color. I knew I had to prelighten my jet black hair but I didn't want to use a harsh bleach and risk frying my hair so I decided to use this product to give me a little lift, and act as a base for the Manic Panic Purple Haze I planned to use.

I bought the Loreal HiColor in Magenta so that when the purple faded I'd still have a nice pinky red base. The product was easy to mix, and use. I bought two tubes for my whole head and that was just enough. I did use a 20 volume developer instead of the recommended 30 because I didn't want my hair to lighten or process too fast. I wanted a slower process so that I could watch it and rinse when I was ready.

I did a patch test on some balled up shed hair from my brush and after 30 minutes my sample hair turned a cranberry-ish color which was fine for me because I didn't want it too bright.

I applied the Magenta Hicolor to my ends first because I know the the heat from your scalp makes your roots process quicker. After 15 minutes I then added it to my roots. The only thing that freaked me out is that when you have it in your hair it really makes everything pigmented and red so it's hard to tell how your hair is processing. I looked like Ronald McDonald with it all in my hair. I kept checking in the mirror and decided to wash it out after 20-25 minutes total. The results were a little patchy. I had some deep pink/cranberry randomly thru-out and mostly mid shaft of my length which I thought was odd. Overall my ends and about 65% of my hair was still dark. I will attribute this to my own error and fear of not using a 30 developer, and also not leaving it in long enough.

I put the Manic Panic purple haze on top and I got the purple tint I wanted with some areas lighter due to the hicolor. It really just looks like I have purple highlights. I would do this again, and plan to in 6 weeks but this time I will use the 30 developer as suggested.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2012 9:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

WORST PRODUCT EVER MADE! DOESN'T DESERVE A 1! If I could give negatives I would! I am no newbie when it comes to coloring, stripping, etc, hair so if a product SUCKS I know its the product not me. I followed the instructions exactly and it did the OPPOSITE of what it was suppose to!!!!!!! I am SO MAD i wasted my money and damaged my hair on this! I had gotten my hair a nice dark auburn from black with Color Oops. I should have left it alone but all the good reviews made me think this would lighten slightly and color at the same time. I got the lightest brown they had, It mad my brown roots BRIGHT blonde and the rest of my brown/auburn hair JET BLACK?!?! It also damaged it horribly. Never again will I trust L'oreal, I'll stick to Revlon Colorsilk thank you! Buy with caution people! Don't just trust others reviews.


on 11/24/2012 6:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this. I love having extremely bright hair, and manic panic fades way too fast and leaves my hair weird shades of orange. From all the bleaching I had done i order to put the MP in, the ends of my hair weren't in the best condition. I added so macademia oil to it and then left it over night then dyed it with the hicolor hilift in red the next day. The application is great, minimal to no smell, and the color I got was amazing. My hair is also extremely soft and managable. I have short hair so I only needed one box and a smidge of another box for my bangs. All in all my only complaint in the size of the tube but for being only $5.99(I have a sallys card) it's worth it.


on 10/23/2012 8:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Hair history: had my ash blonde hair high-lighted for years, got tired of it, had it dyed copper brown at a salon. That faded, I colored it myself with Age Beautiful Light Red (6R). Unhappy with the violet hue of it, I purchased L'Oreal HiColor High Lift Color in Copper Red (H10) at Sally's ( I decided I wanted something more coppery). This hair color is great. I used 20v developer because my hair was not really that dark. I really really like the hue of this dye. It's burnished deep red with just a hint of copper. Vibrant and not too dark. It smelled quite strong when I was putting it on, but my hair did not smell overwhelmingly freshly colored after washing it off. The texture is a little more liquidy than I'm used to, so I had to be really careful when applying it. It didn't sting my scalp and didn't make my hair fall out at an increasing rate like the Age Beautiful dye did. I'm new to coloring my own hair and I think I've already found my favorite. Only had it for several days, so not sure how fast it will fade, I will update when it does.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2012 4:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love red hair, and love having red hair, but with my pale complexion and pink cheeks finding a red that doesn't make me look sunburnt is difficult. H10 copper red is my perfect red! Lasts long for a red (about 4 weeks for me) and looks gorgeous and natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! I always a get a pretty color of red when i use this.I love the red colors best on me.I'm naturally a dirty blonde,blah! This color doesn't seem to fade as bad as most red colors do.i have tried all of the reds in this product.I have also colored some friends hair with it & they love it to.U gonna atleast try it.U will love it!


Back to Top