L'Oreal • HiColor High Lift Hair Color • Hair Color

rated 4.1(112 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Niknak129 on 2/27/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Niknak129

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Original hair color : dark brown level 2 (previously colored)
Desired hair color: intense red/ using High color highlights in red.

I used this product as directed on the box, I used 30 v developer and left it on for 30 minutes. The first color application the results were not what I was looking for. My ends were a cherry coke color and my new growth was a very intense red. I read online usually two or more applications are necessary for intense red. My hair is pretty healthy so 24 hours later I re-colored my hair they same exact way, except I did not apply any color to my bright red roots. I could tell a huge difference after the second color application. I am currently a vibrant red but it's still a little patchy, I am planning on coloring my hair one a week from my last application. I have no damage from using this product. I deep conditioned my hair after each color and used a leave in conditioner as well.
If your hair is healthy a couple applications my do the trick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msdeety on 2/22/2013 7:31:00 PM more reviews by msdeety

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm african -american and have natural hair that I wanted to dye a plum-purplish color. I knew I had to prelighten my jet black hair but I didn't want to use a harsh bleach and risk frying my hair so I decided to use this product to give me a little lift, and act as a base for the Manic Panic Purple Haze I planned to use.

I bought the Loreal HiColor in Magenta so that when the purple faded I'd still have a nice pinky red base. The product was easy to mix, and use. I bought two tubes for my whole head and that was just enough. I did use a 20 volume developer instead of the recommended 30 because I didn't want my hair to lighten or process too fast. I wanted a slower process so that I could watch it and rinse when I was ready.

I did a patch test on some balled up shed hair from my brush and after 30 minutes my sample hair turned a cranberry-ish color which was fine for me because I didn't want it too bright.

I applied the Magenta Hicolor to my ends first because I know the the heat from your scalp makes your roots process quicker. After 15 minutes I then added it to my roots. The only thing that freaked me out is that when you have it in your hair it really makes everything pigmented and red so it's hard to tell how your hair is processing. I looked like Ronald McDonald with it all in my hair. I kept checking in the mirror and decided to wash it out after 20-25 minutes total. The results were a little patchy. I had some deep pink/cranberry randomly thru-out and mostly mid shaft of my length which I thought was odd. Overall my ends and about 65% of my hair was still dark. I will attribute this to my own error and fear of not using a 30 developer, and also not leaving it in long enough.

I put the Manic Panic purple haze on top and I got the purple tint I wanted with some areas lighter due to the hicolor. It really just looks like I have purple highlights. I would do this again, and plan to in 6 weeks but this time I will use the 30 developer as suggested.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Qu33nB33 on 12/1/2012 9:18:00 AM more reviews by Qu33nB33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

WORST PRODUCT EVER MADE! DOESN'T DESERVE A 1! If I could give negatives I would! I am no newbie when it comes to coloring, stripping, etc, hair so if a product SUCKS I know its the product not me. I followed the instructions exactly and it did the OPPOSITE of what it was suppose to!!!!!!! I am SO MAD i wasted my money and damaged my hair on this! I had gotten my hair a nice dark auburn from black with Color Oops. I should have left it alone but all the good reviews made me think this would lighten slightly and color at the same time. I got the lightest brown they had, It mad my brown roots BRIGHT blonde and the rest of my brown/auburn hair JET BLACK?!?! It also damaged it horribly. Never again will I trust L'oreal, I'll stick to Revlon Colorsilk thank you! Buy with caution people! Don't just trust others reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lilarzz on 11/24/2012 6:46:00 AM more reviews by Lilarzz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this. I love having extremely bright hair, and manic panic fades way too fast and leaves my hair weird shades of orange. From all the bleaching I had done i order to put the MP in, the ends of my hair weren't in the best condition. I added so macademia oil to it and then left it over night then dyed it with the hicolor hilift in red the next day. The application is great, minimal to no smell, and the color I got was amazing. My hair is also extremely soft and managable. I have short hair so I only needed one box and a smidge of another box for my bangs. All in all my only complaint in the size of the tube but for being only $5.99(I have a sallys card) it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LucyLastName on 10/23/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by LucyLastName

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Hair history: had my ash blonde hair high-lighted for years, got tired of it, had it dyed copper brown at a salon. That faded, I colored it myself with Age Beautiful Light Red (6R). Unhappy with the violet hue of it, I purchased L'Oreal HiColor High Lift Color in Copper Red (H10) at Sally's ( I decided I wanted something more coppery). This hair color is great. I used 20v developer because my hair was not really that dark. I really really like the hue of this dye. It's burnished deep red with just a hint of copper. Vibrant and not too dark. It smelled quite strong when I was putting it on, but my hair did not smell overwhelmingly freshly colored after washing it off. The texture is a little more liquidy than I'm used to, so I had to be really careful when applying it. It didn't sting my scalp and didn't make my hair fall out at an increasing rate like the Age Beautiful dye did. I'm new to coloring my own hair and I think I've already found my favorite. Only had it for several days, so not sure how fast it will fade, I will update when it does.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 woolgeek on 10/19/2012 4:17:00 PM more reviews by woolgeek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love red hair, and love having red hair, but with my pale complexion and pink cheeks finding a red that doesn't make me look sunburnt is difficult. H10 copper red is my perfect red! Lasts long for a red (about 4 weeks for me) and looks gorgeous and natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Christy76 on 9/29/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Christy76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! I always a get a pretty color of red when i use this.I love the red colors best on me.I'm naturally a dirty blonde,blah! This color doesn't seem to fade as bad as most red colors do.i have tried all of the reds in this product.I have also colored some friends hair with it & they love it to.U gonna atleast try it.U will love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minimartha on 9/3/2012 9:04:00 AM more reviews by minimartha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have been on a search for a rich red hair color and I finally found it. I bought L'Oreal High Lift Hair Color in Red Fire at Sally's. I also bought OREO 30 Volume Developer. I followed the directions and the results were amazing! It looks natural and really warms up my complexion. I was born with red hair but after undergoing treatment for cancer I lost my hair and when it came back it came back looking like patchwork quilt with all different shades of color from white, red, blonde, brown to black. I am so glad I bought this. I have gotten tons of compliments from my co-workers and from complete strangers. The color makes my blue eyes pop. After coloring my hair was unbelievably soft even without using conditioner. However, I did condition it using Feria conditioner. Red Fire is a cross between red and copper, it is beautiful, rich and warm.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kirstenabox on 8/17/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by kirstenabox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


When I chose this haircolor, I did TONS of research. Not just on the dye, but the color I wanted. I have naturally dark brown hair from being Portuguese. It won't do ANYTHING I want it to. I've gone to the salon several times and had them redo it because the color didn't work right. So of course, I wanted something that would work on my hair, but I didn't want to outright bleach it, and avoid breaking the bank. I decided to go red. Not Rihanna red, but red enough to notice in a darker room. The box always gives me that annoying only-red-in-the-light-of-jesus look. So, I ended up trying this. However. I spent DAYS researching how to take care of red hair, how to manage its fading, how to dye it, what is too harmful, etc. Now, most of this review is for the red, but if you want to try another color, I'd still read ahead for some of it.

First of all, if your hair is an obnoxious dark brown that has ALWAYS been stubborn to dyes in the past, why in the world would you think 30 minutes is enough time? Honestly. When you go to the salon does it take you 30 mins? If it does then I'm jealous. If you've ever had trouble with your classic box dye, this stuff is only slightly more powerful. Yes it has more of a lift than a box, but only by a shade or two, depending on the developer you choose. So if you want a HUGE difference, especially if you're trying to do the reds, leave it in longer. 15 more minutes isn't going to make it fall out.

Then of course, you need to understand your developers. Volume 10 will only DEPOSIT. Great for blondes trying to go another color, or if you only want to sort of revive your hair. You can happily buy this tube and revive your hair color after the red fades by using volume 10. It will not activate the bleach. Volume 20 will lighten 1-2 shades. This would be if you're a dark brown wanting to lighten just a tad, or if you're a dark red head wanting to take it up a notch. Volume 30, which is what the box calls for, will lighten 2-3 levels. Did you read that? 2-3 levels. If you have borderline black color dark hair, and you want to look like Rihanna, its not happening in one 30 minute sitting with 30 developer. Sorry. Anything above 30 works the same, except higher levels. These, however, are much more damaging if not monitored correctly, which is why I wouldn't use it unless you're pretty confident.

For example, I used the highlights in red, and the first time I did it, I left it in for 30 minutes. It was that kind of red that's only red under bright light or the sun. Not what I wanted. I did it again, the next night, and left the sucker on for about an hour. THEN it came out like I wanted, but it still didn't match the color on that fake hair they give you as an example. And just a note, it did not fry the crap out of my hair or ruin in. I take care of my hair well to begin with, and made sure to hydrate it properly after the dying process. If you use too strong of a developer, then you could easily ruin your hair by leaving it in long enough, so listen to the box unless you know what you're doing. You've probably noticed, surprise, there isn't a nifty little pouch of conditioner in the box. However, this doesn't mean you don't have to condition it. If you bought it at Sally's, they have really good conditioners and COLOR SEALERS in small pouches for one time use if you don't want to use something more expensive. This is a must. Even though you aren't straight up bleaching your hair, its still damaging it. So take care of it.

Since we're on the topic of taking care of your hair, I'd like to point out that RED hair is the MOST difficult to take care of. Red dye falls out every time you wash it, whether you use a color treated shampoo or not. That being said, if you don't use a color treated shampoo and conditioner, its going to fade much much more. They also make color-depositing conditioners that, hey, also come in brown for those of you trying to keep your brown from looking matte. Also, don't wash it everyday. You're just asking for it to fade faster. And honestly, it will fade, even if you only wash it twice a week. When it does fade, you can always do the roots, and touch up with a demi-permanent or semi-permanent. Like manic panic, for example, though that might be too much of a red. And if you missed it in my earlier paragraphs, you can use this SAME hicolor with volume 10 developer. If you don't have the time to worry about your hair, or you're a swimmer, or spend all day at the beach, red hair is not for you. Red is a commitment, not just a dye job.

For all hair colors and types, you need to condition your hair with something excellent right after coloring. Then, take care of it with something better than the 2 dollar stuff that says 'hydrating' on the bottle. It doesn't. If you can't afford something like Redkin because lord is it expensive, there are still plenty of other great shampoos and conditioners that are sulfate free and good for color treated hair. Sally's has some that are of great value and wonderful quality, but much more affordable than the really good stuff.

Now, after all this if you still try it out and it doesn't work, I'm sorry your hair is a b*tch. Doing it at home is literally an experiment, and if you aren't prepared for bad results, then you need to go to a salon who can fix it and do it properly. I'm not an expert, only a good quality internet worm. If you're nervous or don't know if you should try a product, whether its for hair or not, ALWAYS do your research. Don't just read reviews on makeup websites. Google blogs, hundreds of different review sites, pictures, personal experiences, ask several clerks at the store, and listen to ALL the bad ones. Some bad reviews are really silly. So read them and see if its actually a bad product, or if the reviewer just didn't understand something. Such as red hair bleeding.

Happy coloring.

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rizzles123 on 8/15/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by rizzles123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love,love,LOVE! This product! I went from a dark brown with this a a 40 ML developer! GO BUY IT ITS AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products