Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5238 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 WorthlessWonder on 5/27/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by WorthlessWonder

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is not that great. It's good enough if you already have long lashes naturally and you just want to colour them darker and get them a little thicker, but it does absolutely nothing for length or curl.

I personally found this mascara a bit too hard after drying, though it wasn't nearly as bad as the Maybelline Volume XXL waterproof. I have blond eyelashes naturally and this really did colour them darker, but it didn't do much for them otherwise. The brown shade in which this mascara comes is really lovely though.

No, I guess Maybelline mascara's are just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hapticmotion on 5/26/2014 4:45:00 PM more reviews by hapticmotion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I already have visible lashes, so with that pretense, this straightened out my already there lashes and made things worse. I was better off just not adding anything to them! So if you're someone with no visible lashes, I can't imagine what it would NOT do for you! D:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 5/24/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised at the poor reviews for this product. I actually like Great Lash. It's my go to mascara when I need an emergency replacement for my Just For Redheads mascara. Affordable and available virtually everywhere, I like it in the dark brown. Great Lash is more for a natural look and is especially suited for blondes and redheads. Personally I think it looks garish to have HUGE black lashes against pale skin and red or blonde hair. It's important to step back and look at the whole picture. You want all of your makeup to blend. If you're honest with yourself, you might realize that a more subtle black or brown lash might actually look better.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I always wipe the wand on some tissue before using. This takes off any extra product allowing for the most natural application. I recommend doing this regardless of what type of mascara you're using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 malabug on 5/21/2014 2:11:00 AM more reviews by malabug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have found I like thinker masscara formulas. I keep coming back to this. I have lashes I feel pretty good about they are are pretty long naturally kinda curly and dark and I have a lot of them . maybe my good luck makes me easy to please but for me I like this in soft black it's perfect for every day. Its the masscara equivalent if a mlbb lipstick. Makes my lashes stand out against my eye makeup or frames my eyes when I go for a bold lip and simple eyes. AND I DOESNT GIVE ME RACCOON EYES .yes I wanted to raise my voice a bit

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Synthpopper on 5/21/2014 12:01:00 AM more reviews by Synthpopper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this maAscara with a passion. It does absolutely nothing for my lashes. I'm not sure why it gets rave reviews in some magazines. I've tried it twice in the span of several years and guess what? I still hated it. There are so maAny better mascaras out there. Really any other mascara is better. Don't waste your time or money on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pvining on 5/20/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by pvining

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Grey    

I am apparently different from most mascara users in that I prefer a really natural look. I don't really want to lengthen or thicken my lashes. Just darken them. This product does exactly that. With a little practice, I learned how much to apply (I wipe the applicater off on a tissue before applying it to my lashes). Most mascaras are too thick and gloppy for my taste. I like that this one is more thin and watery. It leaves a pretty, natural look, and wears well all day. The dark brown shade is perfect for me. I look natural, just a little enhanced. And if I ever want a little more oomph, I can always just apply another coat or two. Since Loreal Bare Naturale mascara has been discontinued (so sad), I use Great Lash when I want that same soft, natural look and feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Barbirivera on 5/17/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Barbirivera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara because it's supposed to be a classic and a must-have. After using it for a awhile I can say it's not a terrible product but it's definitely not worth the hype either. This mascara is nothing special, if you have long beautiful lashes that don't need much help, use this! But if you're looking for volume or whatever, better go for the Colossal or The Falsies. Since Great Lash is in my makeup drawer (and I try my best to use everything I have), I've been using this on my bottom lashes. The brush is rather small so it works perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 5/15/2014 3:25:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

All of the magazines I read keep telling me Maybelline’s GREAT LASH mascara is THE product to have. Eventually I caved and tried it. How could ‘America’s Number One Mascara’ let me down?


As soon as I opened the tube to try it out it became clear I wasn't going to love it - the brush is small and has widely-spaced bristles which just clumps my lashes together. Trying to separate and fan out my lashes using the wand resulted in poked eyes on more then one occasion.

After the eventual application my lashes still looked quite limp, as the wet formula gives no volume or length to my lashes. During the day I noticed that my lashes looked limp, and the mascara had started to flake a bit.


On the plus side; this mascara is easy to remove, and is cheap. If you prefer a natural look, the this may be worth checking out.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vivalalita on 5/15/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by vivalalita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was everyone's first mascara in junior high. Oh those blissful junior high days of baby blue eyeshadow and blush overload craze.. yuck. And that's exactly how I feel about this mascara. How is it even being manufactured? Who buys this?? This stuff is the equivalent to a lash tint. No length, no volume, no curl. It just cremes onto your lashes and the equally crappy brush brushes your lashes together in a lash related clump disaster. Terrible terrible terrible!! This would be great for someone with amazing eyelashes who just wants color, or someone like junior high me, a young foolish girl who could afford nothing else and knew no better.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 qhqy on 5/15/2014 7:58:00 AM more reviews by qhqy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Kinda don't understand why this mascara is so raved about. The wand isn't great, neither is the formula. It doesn't hold my curl well and it's so wet. The wand is so small and the bristles are so separated they don't give me volume or length! It's been around since the 70s/80s I believe which I don't get why it's such a cult classic- maybe the bottle and it's colours? Not sure. I love maybelline mascaras but somehow this one isn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products