Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments

rated 4.0(500 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 WiteOut on 10/17/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by WiteOut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Up until recently, I've never had much trouble with my skin. About six months ago I started breaking out around the neck and chin with what I can only hypothesize are hormone-related cystic pimples. My skin has become increasingly oily, and it's harder these days to keep my makeup from breaking down and wearing off throughout the day. I heard about this product from gossmakeupartist on YouTube as a possible solution for blackheads on the nose. I have used this product for several months now, and while the blackheads on my nose aren't GONE, they are greatly improved. But the most remarkable thing about this product is that it keeps my skin very clear and keeps those cystic pimples away. It has a thin, creamy gel-like consistency and a light, fresh fragrance. It feels very fresh and cooling on the skin. It makes my skin feel very soft and adequately moisturized, but it also does a good job controlling oil. I actually use this as a moisturizer both AM and PM. I've tried to throw a night cream into the mix, but honestly, my skin is better off when I use this alone. The only drawback to this product is that it is incredibly hard to find. I can only find it at one of the Walmarts in town. Not at Target, not at the drugstores...very frustrating. But if you can get your hands on this, I think it is a fabulous moisturizer/treatment for oily and acne-prone types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 9/15/2012 2:07:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a wonderful product! I have 30yr old, picky/finicky, acne & clog-prone, very oily skin (that was a mouth full Lol ;D) Oily skin & clogged pores are usually my daily issues though..Some time ago I read on the makeup board several people using this product for oil control under makeup (like a primer), so I got one for myself at my local drugstore for just under $7. It comes in a small squeeze tube & is green in color while in the tube & also slightly green when squeezed out until applied to the skin, then turns completely clear.

The day I purchased this I had a painful under-the-skin cystic zit just beginning to form. Normally I would hurry & slap some of my sulfur mask on it to stop it in it's tracks, but I had this in my hand & decided to give it a go & see if it could *really* perform to treat acne like it claims on the box.. And NO LIE, 6 hrs. later I looked in the mirror again & it was like magic -practically gone!! It was no longer painful, no longer red, no longer inflamed, and no longer stuck under the skin! After 6 hours it had become just a teeny tiny, (not even noticeable) whitehead that was completely gone the following morning! I thought, heck, who cares if this works under makeup as a primer or not at this point because this stuff is frickin magic for pimples!
So does it help acne? Yes, absolutely :)

For oil control, it also helps. It's labeled as "hydrating" & instructs that you use it as a moisturizer type treatment. On days I'm wearing no makeup, I'm able to wear this alone as a moisturizer, and it controls my oil for hours & hours beautifully, I'm very pleased with those results. However on days that I *do* wear makeup, I have a tough time making this product work under it. I can not use this hydrating treatment as my only moisturizer under makeup because it's too drying.. I need to use a regular moisturizer + this, then still have a tough time controlling flakies/dryness with several of my regular/daily foundations :( I do plan on experimenting w/this more now that I found it again, and plan to try with moisturizer + silicone based primer under my makeup & may have better results? -If I do I'll definately update! :D

Regardless, this stuff is amazing at tightening my pores, healing up any TTOM pimples/zits, and perfect as my moisturizer on no makeup days, ALL for less than $7, I've already repurchased once & plan to continue to do so as long as Neutrogena continues to produce it! :)

UPDATE 11/1/12
I'm still using this several times a week and it's my *go-to* for spot treating anything that pops up. It truely is a miracle treatment :)
So I was going through reviews for this product and noticed that some of the other reviewers are having a hard time finding this at brick & mortar stores and wanted to share that this is *always* in stock at all 3 of my local WalMart stores. I know everyone's area stores are different but if you've looked at the regular drugstores in your areas with no success try WalMart :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tuts311 on 8/28/2012 4:08:00 AM more reviews by Tuts311

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this more so for my large pores , I wanted a BHA. So glad i bought this because it turns out not only does it help my skin look better but a great side effect is i am less oily when i use this. So I have been applying it on my T-Zone under my Mu (as well as my regular items such as primer) and i am less oily through out the day. It also doesn't dry me out at all which is great. Can't recommend this enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BothCoasts on 8/27/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by BothCoasts

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting thing about this product:
.
I have normal skin that doesn't really break out all that often (knock on wood). It just gets a little dull and dry--a sign, according to my derm, that I should exfoliate. So I tried this stuff 2-3 times per week and it makes my skin a little softer, and a little brighter. It's not life-changing, but for me, it doesn't have to be. Thus, I recommend it.
.
My husband has ridiculously problematic skin--cystic acne (still!) that never really appears as pimples, but causes all sorts of painful pressure beneath the skin. And oily to the hilt--like, white pillowcases are dingy within a week (I'm really sorry if you were eating when you read that!)
...And he's stolen my tube. I won't say that it cures his skin problems because his issues are probably the sort that only respond to Hail Mary professional measures, but he says that it seems to work "well enough" to keep things "at bay."
.
So there you have it--two hits, one bottle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocolovescocopuffs on 8/16/2012 10:56:00 PM more reviews by cocolovescocopuffs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I think this a great option for a BHA. It keeps my skin clear without drying it out too much. It is also a good price for 2 oz ($6). It has a light scent and feels smooth. I pretty much can't live without it. I barely get acne anymore *\o/*

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mppaul23 on 8/11/2012 8:55:00 AM more reviews by mppaul23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it from the first application! Okay I haven't used acne treatments since high school so I wasn't sure what to expect. I just wanted my skin to be healthy. Well this treatment feel really good going on and doesn't dry or flake my skin. I clean first with the Oil Free Acne Wash with pink grapefruit then follow with this and a spot treatment. So far it make my skin feel wonderful and I anticipate my once a month acne flare ups are a thing of the past or at least less noticeable. I would definitely buy again, this is a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 8/6/2012 10:49:00 AM more reviews by Neume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I wrote off Neutrogena products back in high school because they were always so drying. Now at 24 years old I'm still struggling with occasional breakouts, and after reading the great reviews here I decided to give it a chance.

About $6-7, depending on where you go, you get a well-packaged squeeze tube with a screw on cap that does not leak with travel. The product itself is very thin and liquidy, which was a turn off at first but I found allows you to spread a small amount of product over a very large area, so really only a pea size will do for face and neck. The liquid is slightly cooling and refreshing to the skin and does not sting. It claims to contain 2% Salicylic Acid. I use 1-2 times a day after cleansing.

While this hardly did anything for my face breakouts, it worked WONDERS on the acne on my back! Ever since I started using it on my back I haven't had a breakout in over 2 months!! This is unheard of for me. I just wish it did the same for my face. Otherwise, I highly recommend and plan to repurchase.



UPDATE:
Still no breakouts on my back! And the breakouts on my face are significantly less. I have added this to my permanent regimen. As a note, Amazon.com offers this as a subscription delivery, meaning they will send you one every month (or whatever time interval that you choose) for a discounted price. I get mine for only $5.12. This may be helpful as this is kind of hard to find.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cccchloe on 8/3/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by cccchloe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this product after reading about it on beautypedia.com. If i take good care of my skin using the right products, i can have beautifully clear healthy skin. If not, I can be plagued by pimples and cystic acne that take forever to go away, not to mention the marks they leave behind. I noticed my skin responded really well to acne.org's AHA lotion, so I bought this when I was at the pharmacy because it is cheap and I wanted to try a BHA. This ranked at one of Paula's top BHA products.

First, the scent. I know scents are not good in skincare, but i have to admit that i enjoy them and they are a guilty pleasure of mine, to be honest. The scent of this product was gag inducing. It smells like bad artificial watermelon gum. It's not a deal breaker for me if the product works, but wow it is nauseating, so I can't even imagine what it would be like for someone who gags over more "enjoyable" scented products.

The big problem with this product for me is the silicone in it. Paula Bedoun seems to love and encourage silicone in every product, and she includes it in her serums. My skin just does not agree with it. The more I used it, the more subsurface bumps I could feel appearing under my skin, just like every other silicone based skincare product I've used. I did not see any benefit whatsoever from the salicylic acid. I can only tolerate foundations with silicones (do they even make foundations without silicones?) maybe because I wash my face really well at night.

If you are looking for an affordable exfoliator for acne-prone skin, try acne.org's AHA lotion. It stings the first few times (but I've learned to associate that feeling with the product working), and every morning you wake up with clearer and more even skintone. It comes in a much bigger bottle, and dare I say it is actually moisturizing? For me at least. I don't need to use a separate moisturizer after. The Neutrogena one did nothing for exfoliating.. it did the complete opposite. Clog my pores.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Moneyinthebanx on 7/29/2012 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Moneyinthebanx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one acne treatment I will be repurchasing. I don't remember the price being outrageous probably between 4-7 dollars.

The packaging helps to funnel the product to the bottom so you can get every last drop, with this you can even cut the top and scrape out that among the bottom of the tube.


I like that I don't get "peely" with this product and that it helps to clear up my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sileny on 7/28/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Sileny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the best drugstore BHA product out there. According to beautypedia, it actually has the correct PH level for the salicylic acid to exfoliate and clean out pores so I gave it a shot. A week later, my skin is smoother and my pores are looking better and not sandpaper-y. The texture is extremely lightweight and gel-like and absorbs very quickly into the skin and doesn't dry or irritate it. The cucumber scent, though, is a little strong for my liking, but it fades quickly.


I used to have extremely oily skin (I'm on accutane now), so I can tell this would be enough of a moisturizer during the summer, but for those with combo or drier skin might find it lacking - I have to use a moisturizer afterwards. The small bumps have either faded or on their way to going away. It has no effect on the cystic pimples, however.


Salicylic acid works for acne because it helps with exfoliation so pores don't get clogged by itself (skin not shedding properly). If you find that this doesn't help with your acne, you might have to use an antibacterial treatment in conjunction like benzoyl peroxide (i.e. use BHA in the morning and BP at night). If nothing from the drugstore/counter works then you have to see a dermatologist, like I do. I really just use this as gentle exfoliation to use with my accutane.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products