Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(505 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 11/8/2012 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product about 4 years ago and absolutely loved it. At that time I had acne-prone skin and this gel was amazing. It's very light, smells nice, does not cost a lot and really, really helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifebythedrop on 11/7/2012 4:28:00 PM more reviews by lifebythedrop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I freaking LOVE this stuff. I really believe it has saved my skin. I bought this with the Acne Stress gel wash and I hated the cleanser but this cream is amazing. This stuff clears up old pimples super fast and prevents new ones from happening. It also smells very nice. Doesn't make my skin dry or oily. It's awesome. GET IT. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ABAlbright on 11/4/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by ABAlbright

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I love this stuff! It is gold. I no longer have zits on my forehead or nose. It took a little longer for it to work on my chin, but I have no new zits there and my acne scars are fading. This worth it's weight in gold. Plus, it has a pleasant watermelon scent. I don't know where to find it, though. It is sold out on drugstore.com and amazon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkebonette on 11/3/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by pinkebonette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff really works. I break out about once or twice a month. If I put this on at night my acne significantly diminishes by the next morning; if I put it on in the morning it works throughout the day. That really surprised me because all the other treatments I've tried have not worked so quickly. It also has a really nice cooling sensation.

Packaging is good, and I bought this small tube 2-3 months ago and I still have some left. I use it twice a day.

That being said, it doesn't stop me from breaking out (ie. it's not preventative). It's also not moisturizing at all. I often use a light moisturizer on top. I don't mind these things too much because I've never used a treatment that works so fast. It's now a staple product for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chicasparkle21 on 11/2/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by chicasparkle21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product it's one of the best i've have ever try! i deffy think if you have bad acne you should try it! i swear by it!.. I have had bad bad acne when i was 19 and now two years later i try this product cuz my sister recommend it to me and omg! i cant believe it literally took away all my acne! i tried clinique and other expensive products, and none of them helped me with my acne, i had really really ugly pimples all over my face, cystic acne too! and now my skin it is completely clear up thanks to this. I really hope they don't discontinue this product because i still use it. I started seeing results in 2 days of using it, then ALLof my acne went away after 3 months of using this! now i get 1 or 2 pimples but thats it. I love it! and I troughly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ClooCloo on 10/24/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ClooCloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had tons of blackheads all over my nose, in between my eyebrows, and even developing on my cheeks so I knew I needed to change my skin care routine. I researched and researched which treatment would be the best for me and I learned that BHAs are supposed to be really good for unlodging blackheads. I initially tried samples of Paula's Choice BHA's which made my sensitive skin pretty raw looking and dry. I thought I'd give this a try instead after reading the reviews here and I could not be happier with my results.

Week 1
It calmed down the uncomfortable and tight redness that Paula's Choice BHA lotion/gel had caused on my skin, however I noticed during this time where I had a couple pimples on my forehead, more pimples started coming to the surface. This is a purging period, and where ever I had a couple pimples that tended to form, during my first couple weeks after using this the pimples surfaced. They healed MUCH faster than they normally would though, healing in a few days versus a couple weeks. I was freaking out during this time because of all the new pimples, but stuck it out because I heard this happens to some people.

Month 1
My skin was tons smoother, although if I used this product both day and night I noticed it would start to feel kind of raw and turn pink, so I recommend starting out maybe once a day or every other day if you have sensitive skin, and then building up your usage after that. By a month into this product although my blackheads were still there, I stopped breaking out in pimples like I normally would!!! And the blackheads around my nose were getting softer and super easy to extract after showering.

Month 3
If I did get a pimple by now, it would be small and only last a couple of days, and before using this product I had at least 2-3 pimples on my forehead for the last 2 years :( This product is A GODSEND PEOPLE.

Month 4
Blackheads on my forehead are ALL GONE except like 5, versus when I initially started this product EVERY pore on my forehead was at least semi-clogged, and now I could see clear pores, and I could actually see more oil flow during the day on my forehead because my pores were now clear!!! (not alot of oil, just a healthy sheen youd expect to see by mid-day)

Month 5
Although this product didnt COMPLETELY get rid of blackheads on my cheeks and nose, it has DRAMATICALLY improved my complexion, and has ridden me of pimples. I havent had a pimple in like 2 months....my skin hasnt been this good since like 4-5 years ago no exaggeration. The blackheads and clogged pores that I still have are extremely small now, and I'm still seeing improvements so I'm still hoping with continued use they'll finally disappear.

Use
2x a day after cleasning face, under makeup or moistruizer (but I would recommend for the first month once a day)

Tips
I have dry skin so I also use cetaphil moisturizing cream (which is the best moisturizer I have ever used, it has transformed my skin as well...but thats another review)

The only bad part is I can only buy this online :'( Ive never seen it in a store. But its only like 5-10 dollars depending on the site. I'm on my 3rd tube btw!

After trying tons of DIY at home remedies and various other drugstore products nothing has come close to this. I love you Neutrogena!! <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WiteOut on 10/17/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by WiteOut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Up until recently, I've never had much trouble with my skin. About six months ago I started breaking out around the neck and chin with what I can only hypothesize are hormone-related cystic pimples. My skin has become increasingly oily, and it's harder these days to keep my makeup from breaking down and wearing off throughout the day. I heard about this product from gossmakeupartist on YouTube as a possible solution for blackheads on the nose. I have used this product for several months now, and while the blackheads on my nose aren't GONE, they are greatly improved. But the most remarkable thing about this product is that it keeps my skin very clear and keeps those cystic pimples away. It has a thin, creamy gel-like consistency and a light, fresh fragrance. It feels very fresh and cooling on the skin. It makes my skin feel very soft and adequately moisturized, but it also does a good job controlling oil. I actually use this as a moisturizer both AM and PM. I've tried to throw a night cream into the mix, but honestly, my skin is better off when I use this alone. The only drawback to this product is that it is incredibly hard to find. I can only find it at one of the Walmarts in town. Not at Target, not at the drugstores...very frustrating. But if you can get your hands on this, I think it is a fabulous moisturizer/treatment for oily and acne-prone types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 9/15/2012 2:07:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a wonderful product! I have 30yr old, picky/finicky, acne & clog-prone, very oily skin (that was a mouth full Lol ;D) Oily skin & clogged pores are usually my daily issues though..Some time ago I read on the makeup board several people using this product for oil control under makeup (like a primer), so I got one for myself at my local drugstore for just under $7. It comes in a small squeeze tube & is green in color while in the tube & also slightly green when squeezed out until applied to the skin, then turns completely clear.

The day I purchased this I had a painful under-the-skin cystic zit just beginning to form. Normally I would hurry & slap some of my sulfur mask on it to stop it in it's tracks, but I had this in my hand & decided to give it a go & see if it could *really* perform to treat acne like it claims on the box.. And NO LIE, 6 hrs. later I looked in the mirror again & it was like magic -practically gone!! It was no longer painful, no longer red, no longer inflamed, and no longer stuck under the skin! After 6 hours it had become just a teeny tiny, (not even noticeable) whitehead that was completely gone the following morning! I thought, heck, who cares if this works under makeup as a primer or not at this point because this stuff is frickin magic for pimples!
So does it help acne? Yes, absolutely :)

For oil control, it also helps. It's labeled as "hydrating" & instructs that you use it as a moisturizer type treatment. On days I'm wearing no makeup, I'm able to wear this alone as a moisturizer, and it controls my oil for hours & hours beautifully, I'm very pleased with those results. However on days that I *do* wear makeup, I have a tough time making this product work under it. I can not use this hydrating treatment as my only moisturizer under makeup because it's too drying.. I need to use a regular moisturizer + this, then still have a tough time controlling flakies/dryness with several of my regular/daily foundations :( I do plan on experimenting w/this more now that I found it again, and plan to try with moisturizer + silicone based primer under my makeup & may have better results? -If I do I'll definately update! :D

Regardless, this stuff is amazing at tightening my pores, healing up any TTOM pimples/zits, and perfect as my moisturizer on no makeup days, ALL for less than $7, I've already repurchased once & plan to continue to do so as long as Neutrogena continues to produce it! :)

UPDATE 11/1/12
I'm still using this several times a week and it's my *go-to* for spot treating anything that pops up. It truely is a miracle treatment :)
So I was going through reviews for this product and noticed that some of the other reviewers are having a hard time finding this at brick & mortar stores and wanted to share that this is *always* in stock at all 3 of my local WalMart stores. I know everyone's area stores are different but if you've looked at the regular drugstores in your areas with no success try WalMart :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tuts311 on 8/28/2012 4:08:00 AM more reviews by Tuts311

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this more so for my large pores , I wanted a BHA. So glad i bought this because it turns out not only does it help my skin look better but a great side effect is i am less oily when i use this. So I have been applying it on my T-Zone under my Mu (as well as my regular items such as primer) and i am less oily through out the day. It also doesn't dry me out at all which is great. Can't recommend this enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BothCoasts on 8/27/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by BothCoasts

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting thing about this product:
.
I have normal skin that doesn't really break out all that often (knock on wood). It just gets a little dull and dry--a sign, according to my derm, that I should exfoliate. So I tried this stuff 2-3 times per week and it makes my skin a little softer, and a little brighter. It's not life-changing, but for me, it doesn't have to be. Thus, I recommend it.
.
My husband has ridiculously problematic skin--cystic acne (still!) that never really appears as pimples, but causes all sorts of painful pressure beneath the skin. And oily to the hilt--like, white pillowcases are dingy within a week (I'm really sorry if you were eating when you read that!)
...And he's stolen my tube. I won't say that it cures his skin problems because his issues are probably the sort that only respond to Hail Mary professional measures, but he says that it seems to work "well enough" to keep things "at bay."
.
So there you have it--two hits, one bottle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products