Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet PLUS Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1032 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ericajaneee on 12/13/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by ericajaneee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought a sample of this after seeing people's good reviews about it on this website. First off I do have to say that this foundation is definitely expensive which is a shame.
It smells nice and applies very easily on the skin with a medium-full coverage. It does dry quite fast though which makes it hard to blend it in well enough. Whilst wearing it it feels very lightweight and looks quite natural but the finish is a little matter than I expected. The big downside for me was how it lasted on my skin. It looked natural after I first applied it but after 5 minutes it had already slipped off and patched on the oily parts of my skin and had also sunk into the pores and fine lines around my mouth and nose. It also didn't stay on very well, even after talking on my phone for only a little while it had left an oily foundation covered film on the screen.
For now I will not be purchasing this again, but when I manage to find a primer that works well for my skin I will definitely give it another go, I suspect a good primer may make all the difference!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissJoceV on 12/9/2013 3:16:00 AM more reviews by MissJoceV

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think I have found a winner! I've tried so many different liquid foundations, it's borderline ridiculous. I constantly read over reviews on what might be best for my super sensitive, VERY acne prone, combination skin and before MUFE Mat Velvet had yet to find one. I recently purchased it and fell in love! So far NO breakouts, feels very light on the skin and STAYS MAT! (For my ladies who are dealing with acne: I cannot stress enough how hard it is trying to find a foundation that doesn't irritate the skin and cause it to break out; I'm currently on medication, as well as using topical creams and it's so frustrating trying to get my skin back to normal yet NEEDING a face full of makeup, I strongly suggest this foundation. Most important factor for me is that it does not irritate my skin, and also provides the coverage I need for the bumps and scars I do have, without looking cakey!) THANK YOU MUFE!! ;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yummigummies on 12/4/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by yummigummies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This product packaging looks budget and it is quite pricey but gives very nice finishing and natural-matt look after application. The tone for this product is also quite limited and it is only stated on the bottom of the product. I have fair, yellow/warm based skin tone and uses tone 30. It is a bit dark for me.

However I am not suitable for this product as it is too dry for me and my skin cracks after using. Highly recommended if you have oily skin. And stay away from this product if you have Normal - sensitive and dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeupbyamandam on 11/24/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Makeupbyamandam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my everyday foundation. I wear shade 35 though I am really between shades. But the 35 is perfect in the summer and I tend to dilute the color with a bit of my moisturizer or a lighter shade in the winter. I have tried MANY different foundations in many different price points and I always come back to this. I have oily skin and foundation tends to look greasy or slide off my face through out the day. I don't use a primer with it and it lasts all day with minimal shine. It really evens out my skin tone and the coverage has been unmatched for me. I find that I don't need to use as much concealer to cover blemishes and it doesn't cause my acne prone skin to break out. What I like about it is that you don't have to use a lot as a little goes a long way and I can get 6-8 months from a single bottle with daily use. It buffs flawlessly into my skin and looks picture perfect once it's set with a little powder. The packaging is great because you don't have to dip your finger in or pump it out. I just squeeze a little onto the back of my hand, dot it onto my face with my finger and buff it out with a beauty blender or stiff kabuki style brush. It stays hygienic and I feel I can get longer out of one bottle this way. The performance alone however, makes it worth the price for me. Especially since I need to replace it so infrequently. I am on my 4th bottle of this now and I will never use another now that I've got this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kayyy45 on 11/23/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by Kayyy45

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Overall, I like this product. Good coverage, natural looking and good at controlling oil. The only thing is that since it's matte it kind of looks dry/flakey SOMETIMES. But if you blend it well it shouldn't be a problem. I like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AlbinoCharm on 11/20/2013 10:14:00 AM more reviews by AlbinoCharm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have bought...and returned...this foundation 3 times now. I rarely bother returning anything, let alone making the mistake of buying it again. But with my problematic skin, I am desperate to find the perfect foundation. This was the last chance for MUFE Mat Velvet.

First things first, I am NC10. That's albino with warm undertones for all you newbies out there reading this. Finding a foundation shade match is never easy in my book, but MUFE didn't make any shades that even came close. 15 is too cool/pink...and dark. 20 looks like burnt mustard on my skin although it does have the warm undertone I need. I can deal with a foundation being a smidge too dark, but what I could not deal with was this nasty formula. MUFE Mat Velvet initially DOES go on matte, so matte that you're going to be tugging on your skin to apply it. However within 2 hours, it becomes greasy. This foundation settles into my every crater pore as it seperates from my nose...that's not a good look.

I have found better foundations at the drugstore. Clearly I've learned my lesson & won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hotdg77 on 11/19/2013 11:59:00 AM more reviews by hotdg77

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

for the price this foundation is absolutely worth it, it feels and looks just like skin. Keeps me more matte than any foundation I've tried so far. It's best when applied with a beauty blender sponge or a flat top kabuki/buffing brush depending on the coverage you want. Love how the packaging is very travel friendly with the squeeze tube so the amount of product used can be controlled. Do not recommend for dry skin types but this is best for combination/oily skin types. Comes in a nice variety of shades. Will definitely repurchase, a little goes a long way with this foundation so it may last longer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnythingVanilla on 11/13/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by AnythingVanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The best foundation! Keeps oil at bay, lasts all day, looks natural and feels light but has full coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mimiluau on 11/13/2013 1:49:00 PM more reviews by mimiluau

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, as an NC 50, I got this in the wrong shade of #75 which was slightly too dark and MUCH too red. But that's not why I'm rating this poorly. When they advertise this foundation as Matte, they're not joking. This is Matte to the point of dry, dull, and fuzzy. Maybe this could be an excellent foundation for super oily skin but for my acne-prone, sensitive, dry-cheeked, oily-t-zoned face, this was a mess. Sure it was alright on my forehead, but it made the white heads on my nose stand out and all the down hairs and dry patches on my cheeks stand out. This was NOT a flattering for my skin at all. The thing is I've seen this on YouTubers and it looked awesome which is why I got it. But this does NOT work at all on me. I also found it really difficult to apply, this doesn't spread or blend easily.

Packaging wise, I can see how it would be difficult-impossible not to experience considerable product wastage especially given the style of bottle and the consistency of the product. I suspect this could be really lovely on maybe oily skin that's smooth and in really good shape but if your skin has hairs, acne bumps, large pores etc, this may not be for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Roxas1234530 on 11/13/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by Roxas1234530

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The packaging on this foundation is really nice. Simple but controllable. Also, if you are haveing trouble knowing what color you bought, the color number is the last 2 numbers of the number sequence on the bottom if the tube. Ok, on to the actual foundation. I think the colors are quite pinky, and I I couldn't find a good yellow tone to match my skin, the actual fformula is ok and did not break me out at all!! The thing is, is it didn't control oil too long on my nose which was a bummer, and later on in the day, it was completely obvious I was wearing makeup because it became real cakey and settled into lines and looked crusty... it was heavy, and didn't really look too natural either. I was dissapointed actually... I had really high hopes. My HG foundation now is the Urban Decay naked skin, I would recommend that foundation over this as it is also oil-free and demi-matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products