Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1065 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* donnahsueh on 4/8/2014 2:26:00 AM more reviews by donnahsueh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have finally found my HG foundation!!! (Too bad it's so pricey :() Ever since I started wearing makeup, I've struggled to find a foundation for me that suits my oily skin. And I've finally found it! This is the only foundation that I have found to CONTROL MY OIL! On top of that, it gives me a beautiful, flawless medium coverage. My skin looks even in texture and color and at the same time, natural. I can't say enough good things about this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bmacieje on 4/7/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by bmacieje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have mixed reviews on this one. I received it as a gift, unfortunately it is not my shade (I'm porcelain and this appears to be beige) but I had fun trying it on.

Pros:
- Full coverage: it covers large pores, scarring, uneven skin tones, redness
- Liquid appears to change to powder finish just seconds after application
- No cakey appearance
- Definitely water resistant
- Nice packaging on the outside
- Small amount can cover a large part of the face

Cons:
- The formula dries up so fast on my skin, that if I need to blend, i need to do it FAST
- Makeup is not light weight. it feels heavy, I can definitely feel its presence on my face
- There is a tendency for the foundation to "ooze" out when the lid is removed. I'm not sure if it's either because there is excess air in the bottle or too much product has been squeezed into the bottle. So close IMMEDIATELY after use if this happens.
- Takes more effort to blend due to its thick consistency.
- Slight fragrance, don't need my face to have a light smell

I'm on the fence with this product. It covers the imperfections very well, but it's so thick that I can feel it on my face. That's something I don't want.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizzchan12 on 4/3/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

From reading previous reviews, I can tell that this foundation either works very well for people or really does not at all. I really like this foundation, however. It probably is the best matifying liquid foundation I've ever used and definitely one of my favorites. My skin has become less oily during the past few years, but this product still works just as nicely with my skin as it did when I was a grease ball. I don't have any noticeable dry spots with this foundation, but my skin is not really dry by any means, so I'm not the right person to tell you if dry patches will be exposed with this foundation. I will say though, that I discourage anyone with dry areas or dryness in general from using this foundation because it is matifying, so it is meant for those with normal-oily skin. I have combination skin where I get oily on my forehead and chin, and this foundation makes me look fresh and polished and keeps my oil under control. I like the MUFE HD foundation as well, and I love MUFE foundations because the coverage is lovely, even, and medium-full, but the feel is light and not caked-on looking at all. I like this foundation's staying power and shine control properties, and I would definitely recommend this for those of you struggling with oil/shine control. Like I said before, those of you with dryness may not have good results with this product, but check out the HD foundation from this brand. Click on my username or go to the link below to see my review on MUFE HD:
http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=104149

Makeup Forever foundations really are superb, in my opinion. I've always had good results and would recommend to others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mommycristy on 3/26/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Mommycristy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited for this product!!! I wanted to love it sooo much! But i hate it. I have combination skin but i get really dry patches on the side of my face . This foundation enhanced them and it look horrific ! On the side of my face i have horrible acne so the one pro is the coverage . It does have excellent coverage .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sandy1213 on 3/14/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by Sandy1213

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh gave me pimples. :( great coverage and was def matte so it looked great on my oily skin, Until a couple days later when I had a face filled with like 3-4 cystic pimples!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jenary on 3/12/2014 4:08:00 AM more reviews by Jenary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Blends easily, lasts all day. Good coverage. Worth the price. Only small amount needed. Works great on my combination skin. T-zone appears dewy (not greasy) after hours of exposure. Mix it with super matte loose powder for extra matte hold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rockyBbeauty on 3/10/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by rockyBbeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this foundation for two years. In the beginning it was my holy grail! I have oily skin and this was the first foundation I purchased for my skin type and I was really pleased at how flawless and matte the coverage was but how it still looked like skin, hence the "velvet" part. Back then I only wore foundations to go out so for the 5 hours I would wear it I loved it and it photographed beautifully. As soon as I got hired at Sephora I was forced to wear a full face everyday and it was not until then that I realized how fast this foundation broke down and how awful it would make the rest of my makeup look. Contour would have fallen down, blush would disappear into my pores and my acne scars would start showing through, it made me my skin so shiny it looked wet, and my skin felt "mucky" and gross. I would feel so uncomfortable when looking in a mirror, i would even blot throughout the day to prevent that oiliness but nothing helped, I tried translucent powder and oil-control setting makeup spray, it would help for a little but nothing ever made me completely happy. I realize that my skin could have gotten use to the product but regardless It stopped doing what it said. My skin is so oily that I would have to use silicone based mattifying primers but the foundation would get really patchy in areas especially when I applied it with a beauty blender, it was almost as if it was picking up the foundation more then it was putting it down, probably because of the matte properties. But even when using a brush the foundation would still get oily and patchy, even when using non-silicone primers, I was done trying to make it work for me. Nothing against the product and I love MUFE as a brand but I would not re purchase this foundation again, I've never seen makeup look so broken and I never want to look in the mirror and feel that way again. I'm looking for a new foundation and so far the Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Foundation is looking like a keeper! any suggestions?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lucycamp on 3/8/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Lucycamp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation it looks very natural I have gotten so many compliments on my makeup after I started using it..... Sadly my nose still get super oily (it's my problem area)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Spageddies on 3/1/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by Spageddies

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product, I have oily skin so the idea of a matte foundation was perfect for me. I was matched at sephora with their color iq tool. when I tried it on in the store I was amazed at how the color matched perfectly and how the finish looked like natural skin. I purchased a tube and wore the foundation every day that week, and by the end of every day my face was a slick mess. I also developed a huge zit on my cheek, which was not normal. I tried different finishing powders, sprays,and primers and nothing helped. I had to return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 2/27/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was so excited that this came in my color, but this foundation was a big letdown for me. The palest shade is a perfect neutral ivory, but this is in no way matte, besides the fact that it emphasizes dry spots. This sat horribly on top of my skin and separated like crazy. By noon I was an oil slick. Glad I tried a sample before buying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products