Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1106 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 11/15/2014 5:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really do love this stuff. It's clear it's high quality stuff. It's very pigmented and definitely full-coverage; if you're looking for a light foundation this is NOT the one for you. Because it is so very pigmented, it doesn't take much to get the job done which means the bottle should last a decent amount of time (though not long enough to justify the price if you're using it daily, in my opinion). I recommend stippling it on because that's what has worked best for me and I tend to use less of it with this method.

As long as you use a good setting powder this won't oxidize and turn orange on the skin, and it won't reflect light in photos. It's best for oily skin, though I think as long as someone with dry skin uses a good moisturizer, this stuff would be fine for them as well.

Cons:

It is OIL-BASED and that makes it difficult to remove. I use a wash cloth and a little bit of organic extra virgin olive oil to make sure I get rid of all of it. Face-wash on your fingers probably won't do the trick and this will clog your pores and cause breakouts if you leave it on too long.

Make Up For Ever is EXPENSIVE and the only reason I buy this foundation is because I wear a full face of make up so very rarely these days (mostly just for special occasions and photo shoots). Due to the price I would NOT recommend this as a daily foundation unless you have the expendable income.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/14/2014 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG foundation, absolutely no doubt about it. If I'm having a bad skin day, a good skin day or in between I'm always happy with the way this looks after I'm done applying my makeup. It always covers up my blemishes, and makes my skin look good without looking cakey. It does keep me relatively mat, but I do use the Becca mattifying primer with it to help keep it in place since I'm so oily. The best part about this foundation is that it doesn't break my out! Thank goodness for this stuff.


on 11/4/2014 6:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My HG of foundations. It's by far the best I ever used


on 11/3/2014 3:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The best foundation so far! The coverage never fails me throughout the day.


on 10/10/2014 10:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A good foundation, overall. I bought this because of the wide shade range - this is one of the VERY few foundations which is light enough for very fair people, and also I'd heard great things about the coverage. I love high coverage foundations and prefer matte also, so it was an easy decision to buy this. I will say, it definitely does tick all those boxes.

The lightest shade is by far the lightest foundation I've ever come across, though it has a pink undertone and I'm not fond of pink undertones, it's a really good match for me. It's lighter than Missha's perfect cover no.13, which I also have, and that'd be a good almost dupe for someone looking for very fair colours with a bit of coverage. It definitely has full coverage. It's not overly thick, but even a small amount will cover every imperfection and make you look like a doll. This foundation can pretty much double up as concealer.

My only problem with it is that it can easily cake on dry skin. If you're oily skinned then just ignore this last paragraph, but if you have normal-dry skin it can be a bit difficult to work with. You'll need to moisturise well, prime, then use a beauty blender, or just gently pat it on with finger tips or it WILL cake and accentuate dryness. I may repurchase this in the future for special events, but not right away as it's pretty expensive in Aus.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this from sephora for $42 CAD, which I think is a pretty reasonable price for a bottle of foundation. I've only had it for a few weeks but I can already tell it's going to be a favourite. The coverage is great and the lasting power is wonderful. The one thing I've noticed is that it can cling slightly to dry patches so I typically moisturize with argan oil about 10 minutes before makeup application, and then prime with my porefessional by benefit. The foundation lasts a full 8 hour retail shift and still looks like I first applied it. I also adore the packaging. I can throw this into my travel makeup bag and not worry about the bottle breaking. It's great so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2014 9:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I used to LOVE this foundation when I was in my 20's. I have combination skin, oily in T-zone. This foundation was able to keep my face matte and it stayed long during all those late night partying I used to have. I'm now in my 30's, maybe it's cuz the change in my skin or the color that I got.. It now goes on my skin pale, dry and flaky. It is good if you have oily/combination skin, but not for drier skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I normally use makeup forever the regular HD foundation. I did not like this makeup at all. I don't swear much to begin with but with it being waterproof I was happy. It melts right off, when you touch your face it goes everywhere. I returned it.


on 9/20/2014 6:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been reading reviews and watching reviews on this product for literally a month before buying it. And I finally bought it yesterday! It makes my skin perfect looking. It also has kept me dry, because I have combination skin, so I love that. I do not like the packaging; I would prefer a pump and it oxidized on me (in my opinion) my sister said it didn't but I think it did. They didn't have my perfect match, I'm in the middle of 30 and 35 but overall I really love it!


on 9/15/2014 4:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this foundation. Before this foundation I never wore anything on my face besides a full coverage powder, and I am now realizing ive been missing out! I have extremely oily skin and also very acne prone skin. As a nurse who works 12 hr shifts, my makeup was always flawless when I started the shift, then 6-7 hours in I became a greasy mess! With this product I dont have to blot throughout the day, nor do I need to retouch at all. Ive also noticed that over the past 2 weeks I have not experienced any new breakouts (and my skin normally reacts very quickly when it irritated due to a new product). I feel that a little bit goes a long way with this product. I usually use about a pea-size, dot it around my face and blend it in with my beauty blender. Due to my oily skin I always need to set with a powder, so I use the duo mat powder, and I have flawless skin for hours. Much better than when I just used Clinique's Perfectly Real powder. I would definitely say to moisturize your skin very well prior to use, since it is so matte. You also will need to stick to an exfoliating regimen of maybe once to twice a week. But overall, aside from the price, I give this product a thumbs up! I will be purchasing again


Back to Top