L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

3.4

152 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/1/2012 2:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

HATE IT!!!

Bought this in shade 810 Pearl Blonde
I went from a lovely shade of blonde to very dark blonde,almost green!! Bloody hate it, I am so unhappy with L'oreal and their crappy products.
How in the hell I will be leaving the house tomorrow to buy a different hair dye is beyond my knowledge.
So unhappy!!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 10/25/2012 12:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Background: I have really long, thick, wavy/curly/frizzy hair and the natural color is dark dirty mousy blonde. Two years ago it was dyed blonde, then I had darker brownish-purple with semi permanent dye; that washed off to a light poop color to which i added blond hightlights at the bottom giving it an ombre look. And that was half a year ago so I had huge roots, and generally my hair looked disgusting - vomit colored rainbow. My hair was in great condition (as good as it can, given its nature), but the color was horrid and had to be dealt with. So I decided to use Casting Creme Gloss in #600 dark blonde (named "light brown" in some countries) to even out the color. I thought about using a red color first to repigment the blonde bits, but #600 looked rather reddish on the box, so I decided to risk it and skip the red. I had never used this product before due to its relatively high price, but I decided that its time to finally try it.

Packaging: The box is quite nice, the instructions are written on glossy paper, as opposed to the cheap paper that you see in some brands of dye. The gloves were in a small plastic capsule. They were quite large, but since they had a rubbery texture they didnt slip off. The color activator was in a triangular bottle, which I didnt like because it was difficult to mix the color well. I did however like that on the box you could rip out that whole to hold the bottle. I don't understand why some people complain about it, I found that it was really helpful.

Use: The dye was easy to use. I did my roots first and then I spread it on the rest. I left it on in total about 40 minutes, which is probably too much, but since I have so much hair it took a long time to cover it all and then I had to let it all sit there for sufficient time. Once I applied the dye I put a plastic bag on my head and wrapped a towel on it so that the warmth would help the dye work. The wash off was easy, like with any other dye you foam it up and then rinse till the water runs clear. The conditioner was ok, but I didnt really like the smell of it, it smells kind of like the toilet cleaning products they use at my university.

Results: I'm not entirely satisfied with the results. The color itself is ok, kind of like on the box, but I should have used red first, because the parts that were blond are a bit too ashy. My hair feels quite dry and looks a bit dull. There is absolutely NO gloss, big disappointment on that point. But most semi-permanents leave me with dry hair, so its not that big of a deal, I can fix it with coconut oil.

In general I am glad I dyed hair. Its not beautiful, but for a semi-permanent its not bad, probably the best I've used. I will be using Casting Gloss again in a couple of weeks to fix the ashy parts, just this time I think I will use a different color.

UPDATED: Wanted to go red for new years, used 656 Teracotta. Indoors it looks purple and outdoors in the light it is magenta!!! Anyone who wants to have red hair DO NOT USE #656

Update # 2: Ok well the purple washed off to a drab magenta, but then that washed off to one of the nicest hair colors I've ever had - a gentle terracota blonde, absolutely gorgeous. It's a shame that I had to go through two weeks or horror before the nice color came, and its an even bigger shame that this shade will only last one or a couple more washes. I'm thinking of going to a hair dresser to figure out a hair dye that would replicate what I have now, so that I can have this more permanently.


on 8/26/2012 12:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this hairdye. I usually buy the chocolate colours which have the glossy brown tones built in. They have other ones like glossy golden tones, red tones etc etc but the brown ones are especially gorgeous.
Really easy to apply and even though its only a semi, it lasts for quite a long time.
Packing is nice and I like that it has the box you can use as the stand.
Best to stock up when cheap though!


on 8/13/2012 2:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the first time I colored my hair and I choose "chocolate brownie" I was hoping for a chocolate brown color, but it made my hair having reddish tone, like mahogany/ cherry. When the sun shines on it it looks unbelievably red. After about three months the color was faded to a lighter brown/red color. But I was liking this color on my hair so much that it made me buy the same color again. This time it made my hair BLACK with a bit of a cherry tone! I mean what!! I'm not sure if I had the color treatment on too long, I had it almost 25 minutes.. After I dyed my hair, I started to shed very much hair :/ Don't know if it is because of this product?


on 7/9/2012 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I originally have light brown hair but I have ended up with orangey tinges due to highlights and box blonde dye.

Last night I used Casting Creme Gloss 'Very Light Frosted Blonde' hoping that it would neutralise the orange, and it was a great success! Hurrah, my hair has lightened about 1 shade and the gold tinge has all but gone.


on 6/24/2012 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i used to spend an absolute fortune on dying my hair at the hairdressers. It just wasn't feasible after awhile and when i started working away and with no hairdresser around i had to resort to home hair color. At first i used preference, but then i started to use this and wowowow! i totally love this stuff. I always the brown shades... it could be any of them! doesn't really matter as I naturally have black Asian hair. anyway after i colour my hair with this it just end up being really glossy and shiny. I love it! The formula is super easy to apply, not drippy and you get a decent amount and i have alot of hair. I usually wait for this to go on sale for about $8 in Australia and then I stock up. Anyway if you have naturally dark hair and just want it shiny and glossy, this is a great and cheap product to achieve salon results. Yes i believe it does give you salon results if you just want one color.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love my new hair colour! so daring and beautiful. Thanks l'oreal!


on 6/19/2012 12:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I loved this!
I bought it in Iced Chocolate and absolutely loved the result. I would definitely recommend it to anyone dying their hair for the first time, or to those that dont want to start using permanents.
I thought that it provided my hair with O.K coverage, but to be certain (as my hair is long and thick) i had to use two bottles. This made my hair turn a beautiful colour, and i felt confident with my new vibrant glowing locks. I also found that the conditioner in the packaging was soo amazing and my hair felt gorgeous after the process of dying it. And the conditioner smells so yummy. I used casting creme gloss for about a year and then moved on to permanents, i regret doing so as I miss the smell of the conditioner! hehe


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was actually really impressed with this one :)
I have light-brown to brown hair and have never dyed it or bleached it.. My hair always naturally go darker in the winter and lighter in the summer (natural bleaching from the sun), but i like my hair best when its darker, so i thought i would give this a go, since its only semi-perminent, it was perfect!

I work at a beauty store, and have taken a few courses in hair-color. I understand that many of you are confused, and have gone too dark. But you have to be very careful when picking the right color, and donīt just go by name. The one i chose was 500 Light Brown, and i do not have light brown hair, but more of a true brown. When you are not sure what color to pick, i would advise you to chose the lightest one. And my best advice is to just ask anyone that is well known to colors and their functions.

I love the packaging and the fact that it is really easy to work with. It left my hair feeling really soft, and almost like i had done a deep conditioning treatment, lovely! :)

As for the color, it was just as i had anticipated. It went a little darker the places i wanted it to be (the places that tend to go light in the summer) and really darkened them back to their natural color, but did not leave me with a "color-helmet". My natural highlights were still there, only now darker. It also leaves a beautiful shine to the hair

Will repurchase and recommend both to my customers and my friends, but beware of color-choosing :)


on 6/5/2012 4:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have given this hair colour many chances and it still lets me down, leaving me with flat black hair when I just want to enhance my natural colour (Chocolatey brown). I have tried Chocolate (several times), Chocolate Brownie, Praline and Iced Chocolate. I followed the instructions to a T and was left with the same result everytime. It doesn't fade to a nice colour, very little shine and leaves my hair feeling coated and very artificial.

Pros:
Cheap
Easy to use
Decent amount of product (I have long hair, to my elbows)
Easily available (Supermarkets etc.)
Doesn't smell too bad
No ammonia

Cons:
DO NOT USE THE COLOUR GUIDES, the results are much darker and less multi-tones and highlights. Very flat colour.
Does not cover grey hair
Very little "gloss"
Gloves in the box are cheap and very fiddly to use (also HUGE)
Browns turn out black, with hints of cheap red as they fade

Overall, a very meh semi-permanent.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Feria Haircolor
657 Reviews
Elumen
15 Reviews
Pro Series
34 Reviews
Back to Top