L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ezzie25 on 8/26/2012 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Ezzie25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this hairdye. I usually buy the chocolate colours which have the glossy brown tones built in. They have other ones like glossy golden tones, red tones etc etc but the brown ones are especially gorgeous.
Really easy to apply and even though its only a semi, it lasts for quite a long time.
Packing is nice and I like that it has the box you can use as the stand.
Best to stock up when cheap though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Viktoriiaaaa on 8/13/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Viktoriiaaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first time I colored my hair and I choose "chocolate brownie" I was hoping for a chocolate brown color, but it made my hair having reddish tone, like mahogany/ cherry. When the sun shines on it it looks unbelievably red. After about three months the color was faded to a lighter brown/red color. But I was liking this color on my hair so much that it made me buy the same color again. This time it made my hair BLACK with a bit of a cherry tone! I mean what!! I'm not sure if I had the color treatment on too long, I had it almost 25 minutes.. After I dyed my hair, I started to shed very much hair :/ Don't know if it is because of this product?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kangaruth on 7/9/2012 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Kangaruth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I originally have light brown hair but I have ended up with orangey tinges due to highlights and box blonde dye.

Last night I used Casting Creme Gloss 'Very Light Frosted Blonde' hoping that it would neutralise the orange, and it was a great success! Hurrah, my hair has lightened about 1 shade and the gold tinge has all but gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoangrl on 6/24/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by hoangrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i used to spend an absolute fortune on dying my hair at the hairdressers. It just wasn't feasible after awhile and when i started working away and with no hairdresser around i had to resort to home hair color. At first i used preference, but then i started to use this and wowowow! i totally love this stuff. I always the brown shades... it could be any of them! doesn't really matter as I naturally have black Asian hair. anyway after i colour my hair with this it just end up being really glossy and shiny. I love it! The formula is super easy to apply, not drippy and you get a decent amount and i have alot of hair. I usually wait for this to go on sale for about $8 in Australia and then I stock up. Anyway if you have naturally dark hair and just want it shiny and glossy, this is a great and cheap product to achieve salon results. Yes i believe it does give you salon results if you just want one color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BornPrettyReviews on 6/23/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by BornPrettyReviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love my new hair colour! so daring and beautiful. Thanks l'oreal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Isabel97 on 6/19/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Isabel97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I loved this!
I bought it in Iced Chocolate and absolutely loved the result. I would definitely recommend it to anyone dying their hair for the first time, or to those that dont want to start using permanents.
I thought that it provided my hair with O.K coverage, but to be certain (as my hair is long and thick) i had to use two bottles. This made my hair turn a beautiful colour, and i felt confident with my new vibrant glowing locks. I also found that the conditioner in the packaging was soo amazing and my hair felt gorgeous after the process of dying it. And the conditioner smells so yummy. I used casting creme gloss for about a year and then moved on to permanents, i regret doing so as I miss the smell of the conditioner! hehe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helenanoelle on 6/6/2012 6:08:00 AM more reviews by helenanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually really impressed with this one :)
I have light-brown to brown hair and have never dyed it or bleached it.. My hair always naturally go darker in the winter and lighter in the summer (natural bleaching from the sun), but i like my hair best when its darker, so i thought i would give this a go, since its only semi-perminent, it was perfect!

I work at a beauty store, and have taken a few courses in hair-color. I understand that many of you are confused, and have gone too dark. But you have to be very careful when picking the right color, and donīt just go by name. The one i chose was 500 Light Brown, and i do not have light brown hair, but more of a true brown. When you are not sure what color to pick, i would advise you to chose the lightest one. And my best advice is to just ask anyone that is well known to colors and their functions.

I love the packaging and the fact that it is really easy to work with. It left my hair feeling really soft, and almost like i had done a deep conditioning treatment, lovely! :)

As for the color, it was just as i had anticipated. It went a little darker the places i wanted it to be (the places that tend to go light in the summer) and really darkened them back to their natural color, but did not leave me with a "color-helmet". My natural highlights were still there, only now darker. It also leaves a beautiful shine to the hair

Will repurchase and recommend both to my customers and my friends, but beware of color-choosing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Aoc on 6/5/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by Aoc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have given this hair colour many chances and it still lets me down, leaving me with flat black hair when I just want to enhance my natural colour (Chocolatey brown). I have tried Chocolate (several times), Chocolate Brownie, Praline and Iced Chocolate. I followed the instructions to a T and was left with the same result everytime. It doesn't fade to a nice colour, very little shine and leaves my hair feeling coated and very artificial.

Pros:
Cheap
Easy to use
Decent amount of product (I have long hair, to my elbows)
Easily available (Supermarkets etc.)
Doesn't smell too bad
No ammonia

Cons:
DO NOT USE THE COLOUR GUIDES, the results are much darker and less multi-tones and highlights. Very flat colour.
Does not cover grey hair
Very little "gloss"
Gloves in the box are cheap and very fiddly to use (also HUGE)
Browns turn out black, with hints of cheap red as they fade

Overall, a very meh semi-permanent.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jobanana on 5/31/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Jobanana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had bad experiences with dying my hair in the past with permanents fading to horrible colours so for a long time I would only get my hair dyed by a professional. However, I recently decided to a semi-permanent a go, since it would wash out eventually if I didn't like it and I felt the condition of my hair would be better with a semi than a permanent.

I chose Casting Creme Gloss because it was the ONLY semi-permanent in my area! I had blonde hair growing out and dark mousy blonde roots. I wanted just one all over colour and something similar to my natural colour but less dull and slightly warmer. I chose dark blonde and was really happy with the results. I had glossy hair which was really a nice light brown but did fade to a nice dark blonde as well.

I will definitely use again although I'm not sure if I will use the same colour next time or whether I will try a darker, warmer brown.

My only criticism of Casting Creme Gloss is that there aren't enough colours available in NZ shops.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 villierstowngurl on 4/9/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by villierstowngurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The worst hair dye!!!! It turn my light brown hair BLACK!!!! I used the shade light brown to even out the colour of my hair and to add shine. I left it on for the recommended amount of time, but when I dried my hair it was black with a reddish tone! I'm so disapointed, I had finally got my hair back to its natural colour and was planning on going blonde in the next few weeks, but now I'm back to square one with black hair.

I immediately jumped in the shower and wash my hair three times with a strong clairifing shampoo and washing up liquid but it made no difference!

Do not use this product! It is a waste of money and ruined my hair!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products