L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(146 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Isabel97 on 6/19/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Isabel97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I loved this!
I bought it in Iced Chocolate and absolutely loved the result. I would definitely recommend it to anyone dying their hair for the first time, or to those that dont want to start using permanents.
I thought that it provided my hair with O.K coverage, but to be certain (as my hair is long and thick) i had to use two bottles. This made my hair turn a beautiful colour, and i felt confident with my new vibrant glowing locks. I also found that the conditioner in the packaging was soo amazing and my hair felt gorgeous after the process of dying it. And the conditioner smells so yummy. I used casting creme gloss for about a year and then moved on to permanents, i regret doing so as I miss the smell of the conditioner! hehe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helenanoelle on 6/6/2012 6:08:00 AM more reviews by helenanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually really impressed with this one :)
I have light-brown to brown hair and have never dyed it or bleached it.. My hair always naturally go darker in the winter and lighter in the summer (natural bleaching from the sun), but i like my hair best when its darker, so i thought i would give this a go, since its only semi-perminent, it was perfect!

I work at a beauty store, and have taken a few courses in hair-color. I understand that many of you are confused, and have gone too dark. But you have to be very careful when picking the right color, and donīt just go by name. The one i chose was 500 Light Brown, and i do not have light brown hair, but more of a true brown. When you are not sure what color to pick, i would advise you to chose the lightest one. And my best advice is to just ask anyone that is well known to colors and their functions.

I love the packaging and the fact that it is really easy to work with. It left my hair feeling really soft, and almost like i had done a deep conditioning treatment, lovely! :)

As for the color, it was just as i had anticipated. It went a little darker the places i wanted it to be (the places that tend to go light in the summer) and really darkened them back to their natural color, but did not leave me with a "color-helmet". My natural highlights were still there, only now darker. It also leaves a beautiful shine to the hair

Will repurchase and recommend both to my customers and my friends, but beware of color-choosing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Aoc on 6/5/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by Aoc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have given this hair colour many chances and it still lets me down, leaving me with flat black hair when I just want to enhance my natural colour (Chocolatey brown). I have tried Chocolate (several times), Chocolate Brownie, Praline and Iced Chocolate. I followed the instructions to a T and was left with the same result everytime. It doesn't fade to a nice colour, very little shine and leaves my hair feeling coated and very artificial.

Pros:
Cheap
Easy to use
Decent amount of product (I have long hair, to my elbows)
Easily available (Supermarkets etc.)
Doesn't smell too bad
No ammonia

Cons:
DO NOT USE THE COLOUR GUIDES, the results are much darker and less multi-tones and highlights. Very flat colour.
Does not cover grey hair
Very little "gloss"
Gloves in the box are cheap and very fiddly to use (also HUGE)
Browns turn out black, with hints of cheap red as they fade

Overall, a very meh semi-permanent.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jobanana on 5/31/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Jobanana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had bad experiences with dying my hair in the past with permanents fading to horrible colours so for a long time I would only get my hair dyed by a professional. However, I recently decided to a semi-permanent a go, since it would wash out eventually if I didn't like it and I felt the condition of my hair would be better with a semi than a permanent.

I chose Casting Creme Gloss because it was the ONLY semi-permanent in my area! I had blonde hair growing out and dark mousy blonde roots. I wanted just one all over colour and something similar to my natural colour but less dull and slightly warmer. I chose dark blonde and was really happy with the results. I had glossy hair which was really a nice light brown but did fade to a nice dark blonde as well.

I will definitely use again although I'm not sure if I will use the same colour next time or whether I will try a darker, warmer brown.

My only criticism of Casting Creme Gloss is that there aren't enough colours available in NZ shops.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 villierstowngurl on 4/9/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by villierstowngurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The worst hair dye!!!! It turn my light brown hair BLACK!!!! I used the shade light brown to even out the colour of my hair and to add shine. I left it on for the recommended amount of time, but when I dried my hair it was black with a reddish tone! I'm so disapointed, I had finally got my hair back to its natural colour and was planning on going blonde in the next few weeks, but now I'm back to square one with black hair.

I immediately jumped in the shower and wash my hair three times with a strong clairifing shampoo and washing up liquid but it made no difference!

Do not use this product! It is a waste of money and ruined my hair!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SignMeUp on 4/6/2012 9:34:00 AM more reviews by SignMeUp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Dulled my hair, made it look like straw. I absolutely hate what this stuff did to my hair. Creme gloss is a very misleading name, as it worked opposite to what the name implied. I had to work really hard trying to rescue my hip-long hair after using this, to no avail. Had to cut several inches off. Hate.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Melony on 3/19/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Melony

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have porous hair which was dyed lighter about four years ago. I'm trying to get back to my natural hair colour. The bottom 3-4 inches of my hair is lighter than the hair on the rest of my head. It is not that noticeable as my hair is naturally medium reddish brown with blonde patches and extremely curly, however every 3-5 months I put through a semi-permanent colour to tone the light patches down and blend everything together. I don't like using permanent colours because they always seem to bleach my hair a shade or two back (noticeable when the colour fades out, which always happens with my hair). I usually use L'Oreal Casting - I'm not completely happy with the results I get but Casting seems to be the only quality semi-permanent dye left on the New Zealand market. Casting tends to skew toward reddish undertones in most of their browns, and always turns out much darker than the box picture which is probably due to my hair type. That's fine, it usually fades reasonably quickly (2-3 weeks). This time however, I am completely unhappy with the result.

My usual brown was unavailable, so I picked up a colour called 'Brownie' which looked like a warm chocolate brown with red undertones. The result: very dark, purple-red hair! It's Mahogany or Cherry, not Chocolate. It's not even a warm or natural red - it's cold-toned. I have tried shampooing my hair every day but so far the only thing that's faded a bit is the bleached patches at the bottom of my hair - which now look pinkish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starbabii on 2/16/2012 1:35:00 PM more reviews by starbabii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used the colour 360 black cherry on my brown (dyed) hair. I don't really like using permanent colours anymore because of past uses and the fact that it can ruin fine hair easily and i like to change my hair colour often.

I did every thing the instructions told me to do (except i left the colour on my roots a few minutes longer to even out the colour) and i have to say i was really impressed with the colour. And one thing i like most about it is that when the colour stars to fade it always goes a nice colour, not a orange or pink like you might think. There was actually no smell from the hair dye it actually smelt pleasant because of the no ammonia

I would definently buy this again because it is great coverage for different coloured roots and the colour that came out on my hair was quite similar to the picture on the box. It depends on your previous hair colour really. (i wouldnt recommend using it if you were bolnde thought).

i have has this hair colour on for about 8 weeks roughly and its still looking good. Its only just starting to show my roots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 salice23 on 1/30/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by salice23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have naturally incredibly thick, shoulder length ash blonde hair that I originally went to a salon to go to a dark chocolate brown colour, with red tones (a nice $200 exercise, which I do not wish to repeat). When my colour started to fade, I jumped on the home dye bandwagon. After a few trial and errors with various dark brown dyes (I had black hair at one stage), I switched to Solfine Crema Colour, which really isn't as good as it's cracked up to be (in my opinion). So, recently, I have been trying to put a bit of purple in the underneath layers of my hair. My hair may have been too dark (was a reddy brown brassy colour at the time) to take in the purple, and I was getting fed up with having a brassy colour.

And that's when I stumbled upon L'Oreal's Casting Creme Gloss in Plum (316). I purchased it (after debating between Plum and Black Cherry), took it home and decided "screw it, I'm just going to use it all over my hair instead of the underneath layers". The colour turned out quite well - looks a little black in no lighting/low lighting, but in the light is a lovely rich shade of purple, and my previous red colour shines through at the tips slightly, which is pretty much what I wanted! My hair feels incredibly glossy and smooth and smells quite nice! The only thing I didn't really like about this dye was the application - I had to squirt it into a bowl and then use a hair dye colour brush (like they use when hairdressers bleach/colour hair) to apply it. But that's just the way I felt more comfortable doing it. It took me about 30 minutes to put the colour all over (I was running around, doing other stuff), and I left it in for 30 minutes, which is not what the instructions say, so don't go ahead and take my word of advice :P

I love the colour, I really do. Hopefully it will last the promised 28 washes! I just kind of wish they made this in a permanent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Weltfremd on 1/24/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Weltfremd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I routinely dye my hair black and have done since I was about thirteen. I never had any problems with shades because well, black is black. The reason this one is so high up on my list of favourites is because of how beautiful it makes my hair. It's unbelievably shiny, soft and generally much healthier looking after using this dye and the effect lasts for quite a while.


I live in hope that they'll finally make a permanent version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products