Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 crazytlccool on 1/19/2012 9:00:00 PM more reviews by crazytlccool

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got the huge bottle of this...boy was it a mistake! Just for reference, I have thick poofy hair with lots of natural waves. I need a shampoo that is non-volume, even anti-volume if you can believe it haha! Despite people's complaints that this shampoo weighed down their hair, I figured that's what I needed anyway. Get the stuff, use it in the shower, and I can feel right away as I am washing that it feels like I am ADDING gunk to my hair if anything! It doesn't even suds until the second time washing. As my hair drys, it looks greasy and weight down/flat at the top...the rest of my hair has these annoying fly aways. I used it for the week, needing to wash my hair everyday instead of every other day, and it didn't get any better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Syrie on 1/15/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by Syrie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've never written a shampoo review because I am usually so underwhelmed by shampoos in general...usually, for me, they're either too drying (in the case of most sulfate ones) or they don't really cleanse (in the case of sulfate-free ones). This is by far the only shampoo that's ever worked so well for me that I would feel compelled to write a review.

For one, I LOVE the scent. Clean, ocean-y (and I am a sucker for those mid-90s "ocean" type scents like Escape)--this reminds me most of that. I love the smell--which is NOT overwhelming, just nice. (so many hair products are really overwhelmingly scented, even when the scent is pleasant--Garnier Fructis, are you listening????)

Second, my hair has been just awesome since I started using this. For reference, I have damaged, dry, fine hair that I am repairing from heavy highlights/ bleach. I have a ton of hair, but it's very fine--a lot of things just weigh it down & make it look tacky and greasy.

Third, I use this in conjunction with Joico K-Pak Intense Hydrator (which is also INCREDIBLE!!!!) and about once a week (sometimes 2X, I am nursing my formerly bleached hair back to health) I follow this shampoo with K-Pak classic deep-penetrating reconstructor, followed by the intense hydrator.

My hair hasn't felt so great--and so light (I can't stress that enough!!! not weighed down by -cones) in years! THanks Joico...your products and research are awesome. You really treat hair as something as sensitive as skin.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camilla8 on 11/23/2011 10:52:00 AM more reviews by camilla8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first started using this shampoo/cond I didn't think it was anything fantastic, but it certainly did nothing bad. I took a break from it for a long while, then found it in my cabinet and decided to finish it. For some reason now I'm loving it, it makes my hair smell so good (nice scent all day long) and I generally have good hair days when I use this. Doesn't dry my hair at all and does help maintain moisture. Will repurchase, I'm almost out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 8/18/2011 7:26:00 AM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE Sept 13, 2011: Ok, the lack of hair loss has continued. Not always, but a lot more than ever before. I'm talking 0 to less than 10 strands in the drain (how is that even possible!?). Also, rinse and repeat or forget using it at all.


PROS: Originally I thought this was a pretty basic shampoo with no special qualities, except that this I lose a TON less hair in the shower. I don't have damaged hair and my hair has never broken off/fallen out, but in the shower, a lot just naturally comes out, all the loose hairs just get dislodged. I thought the less hair loss was maybe the Vitamin D that I started a month before I used this but read that Vitamin D usually takes effect in 3 months. Also, I didn't notice less hair loss till the first wash with this stuff. Worth mentioning no matter what the cause was. Now I lose little to almost NO hair in the shower. Since then I've discovered this shampoo actually works really well, provided that you follow the instructions: later, rinse, REPEAT. You must repeat. I was afraid of dryness but the shampoo is gentle, so much that with one lather/rinse only my hair would be left dry because it was not properly cleaned, so I started doing it twice with much better results. I also don't really "wash" my hair with it, I mostly concentrate on my scalp. The second wash makes HUGE body wash like foam and feels like overkill, it works.


CONS: Not sure if it really moisturizes hair, but it just doesn't leave it feeling raw or super dry. And since I need to lather, rinse, and repeat I will use it up faster.


OVERALL: I'm sticking with it. I might actually buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jntshu on 7/29/2011 11:57:00 PM more reviews by jntshu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

packaging: functional, no complaints. a pump would have been MORE convenient but meh.
price: alright for a salon shampoo, however drugstore shampoos do the same job.
product: i expected this to nourish and salvage my dry, damaged hair however the result i got was only mediocre. it did no damage but considering joico's reputation and better drugstore shampoos that i've tried, this one isn't a big winner :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heavenlyxox on 3/24/2011 4:23:00 AM more reviews by heavenlyxox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i would loveee this Shampoo, but i seem to lose more hair in the shower than usual when i use it, same goes for the treatment balm in the same range. such a shame!! It cleans well though and is one of the only shampoos that i have used that doesnt make my hair feel dry before conditioner. my hair also dried shinier and smoother (maybe a tiny bit flatter at the roots) than usual. I would recommend to anyone who wasnt paranoid about hair fall in the shower. my hair is damaged, so its prob just me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KBaylie on 2/8/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by KBaylie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this shampoo for over a month. Stopped using it a couple days ago and here's why. It made my scalp itchy, weighed my hair down, hair felt greasy, frizzy, and it made my hair really dry. It just did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ayyberena on 1/20/2011 5:09:00 PM more reviews by ayyberena

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My hair is curly, extremely dry. @ first, I felt as if this product had made my hair drier. But eventually after a couple washes my hair felt EXTREMELY soft. I don't mind the price. Smells great ! Will continue purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nell_daisy on 12/27/2010 11:33:00 PM more reviews by nell_daisy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to try this after getting the black bleached out of the underside of my hair. I need moisture badly on parts of my hair and this made my hair feel very soft and I like that it doesn't have any protein. The downside is by the end of the day, my hair felt like it was dirty. My hair is color treated so I try to only wash it every 2-3 days but I can absolutely NOT do that with this product. This would be great for someone with damaged hair that is normal or thick. My hair is just too fine to handle all the moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 queenofthenile on 12/26/2010 8:17:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this along with the Moisture Recovery conditioner. I'm in desperate need of something to get my hair through these winter months and I thought this might do the trick.

Prior to use MR I was using Neutrogena T/Gel anti-dandruff shampoo and L'Oreal Elvive Nutri-Gloss conditioner. They're both decent drugstore products, and the conditioner is very moisturising, but my wavy hair is still dull and frizzy after use. After using both the Jocio MR shampoo and conditioner a few times, I've seen very little improvement. My hair looks and feels exactly the same as it does after using drugstore products. And I think this shampoo is a bit too rich for my already greasy roots. Nice scent and comes in a good bottle with a pump though.

I officially give up on trying to turn my hair into something it's never going to be. And from now on I'm sticking to the cheap stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products