Jonathan • Silky Dirt • Styling Products

rated 3.9(131 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rupertlilly on 5/22/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by rupertlilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Yes it is a bit better than Dirt but not much. Again, too expensive for what you get. It didn't weigh down my fine hair as much as the original Dirt did but it didn't really do anything fabulous for it either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShannonLam on 4/16/2008 11:05:00 PM more reviews by ShannonLam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I doesn't weigh down my fine, oily hair. I really like the scent. I think it smells like chocolate and marschino cherries, which yes, many might find unpleasant. Overall its a bit expensive, but a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jln7124 on 4/14/2008 10:44:00 AM more reviews by jln7124

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this from Sephora and was worried that this would leave my hair looking dirty or greasy. Still I was determined to at least try it, so I would style my hair, (blow out, flat iron) and then smooth a tiny amount of this onto my tips. It did help with frizziness but I wasn't overly impressed as I do use Frederik Fekkai's glossing cream and get a similar effect. However, one morning I decided to use it as a styling creme on my damp hair and the difference was incredible! I use this on my roots and mid shaft and blow dry as usual than flat iron and the end result is sleek and styled! It gives hair great shape and control without looking greasy or over styled. I love it and will definitely repurchase when I run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cymbaline on 4/9/2008 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Cymbaline

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this from Sephora and for a long time didn't do anything with it. One day after I showered I knew I was going to have to shower again that night so I decided to give it a shot. I used a pretty good amount of the sample, not the whole thing but maybe like at third of the tube.

I never expected what it did. I came back into the bathroom and my hair was curly!! I loved it.

the only problem was because of the humidity it started becoming a bit frizzy so I decided to purchase the product at Sephora that night but also bought the weightless smooth after testing it out against Phyto's antifizz creame.

Now I can have straight or curly hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ng76 on 4/9/2008 11:26:00 AM more reviews by ng76

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty cool. It smells like chocolate, which is kind of tacky. It doesn't make my hair that shiny though. It gives a little bit of hold, which I need sometimes. The best part about this stuff is that its VEGAN! No animal testing! :) That alone will make me buy a product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cranberry7 on 4/9/2008 11:03:00 AM more reviews by cranberry7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my new favorite product. I received a sample of it but didn't know what to do with it. I was worried it would make my hair look dirty and greasy but it didn't. I use a tiny amount and it transforms my hair from being puffy and frizzy to smooth and styled. When my sample runs out I will definitely purcahse the full sized product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 3/30/2008 9:43:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I love this stuff. This is my favorite styling product and one of the very few that works well for my super fine hair. I've tried a lot of styling products over the years that do not work for me, but this one is the best. I've been told I have a lot of hair (I seriously question that) that is super fine. I think I have an average amount of hair that is super fine. I have to wash my hair every day because it just doesn't look good if I don't. Most things weigh my hair down. But stuff works great to separate and lift my hair some. As other reviewers point out, you only need a tiny, tiny amount. Too much and it will weigh my hair down. But just a little works really well. I first tried some samples from Sephora. I wasn't expecting much. A sample lasted forever because it took such a little amount of product to make a difference with my hair. I went through another sample before I knew I had to invest in a full-sized tube. It's a BIG tube, so it'll last me for a LONG time. I highly recommend this to women with fine hair. It's the best styling product I've found.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 3/27/2008 6:55:00 AM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Although I find the scent a bit cloying, Silky Dirt is a great and easy styling aid. A tiny bit goes a long way, so though the tube is rather small, it should last for ages. I have wavy, shoulder-length hair of medium thickness, and a dab of this eliminates frizz and makes my hair soft and shiny. Though I'm sure I won't run out any time soon, I'll repurchase when I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 magsfarm on 3/13/2008 2:11:00 PM more reviews by magsfarm

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Great, light styling product. It goes on super-smooth, smells great, and holds a natural style all day. I put Oscar Blandi Jasmine Oil on my damp hair, then apply this after blow-drying. No hair spray needed (thank goodness). I've gotten 2 samples from Sephora and am about to purchase a "real" bottle of the stuff. I love it.

Update: Just bought my first full bottle. I still love the stuff, but the bottle felt enormous after using the samples for so long, and I ended up using too much my first few times. My hair ended up looking just a little too greasy and the smell was way too strong. You do not need very much of this product to make it work!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ling_ on 3/12/2008 5:03:00 PM more reviews by ling_

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have thick asian hair. Not coarse, just lots and lots of hair. This gives me control over the flyaways and leaves me with smooth hair with just a little bit of texture. I got a couple samples packets with my Sephora order and I just splurged on a full tube. I use it VERY sparingly and only from mid section down to the ends since too much can leave me with a greaseball feeling. One lippie off because the smell, although nice, is WAY too overpowering. Tone it down a bit Jonathan!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jonathan products

More Styling Products products