Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 marssa on 10/24/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by marssa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

The first mineral foundation I ever tested, but not the last. I had high hopes since my friend told me this is her HG-product and she also has combination skin like me.
Well, I put it on one morning and had a normal school day for a couple of hours. When I got home - the horrors! My face had a thick layer of mush, all caked up and shiny(the reason why I anyhow give it two lipsticks out of five is that it still covered my pimples and such stuff). What a disappointment! And mind you, this result with a primer and the Flawless Matte I also bought from LL...
So, sadly, LL won't get a customer out of me at least when it comes to their mineral foundation, and luckily for me there's a ton of other mineral brands I can try out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophiebo88 on 10/22/2012 4:30:00 AM more reviews by sophiebo88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this after my long search for a foundation with no bad ingredients, unlike other mineral makeup lily lolo doesn't contain anything like talc or bismuth oxychloride that can clog pores, cause acne or irritation. I'm very acne prone, every product I have ever used in the past has caused breakouts, if enyone else has the same problem im going to share a couple of websites that have really helped me, it shows you what ingredients to avoid if you have acne prone skin
http://www.zerozits.com/Articles/acnedetect.htm
http://www.cosdna.com/

Back to this foundation, I bought a few tester pots in shades porcelain, china doll and blondie, I really thought I'd be porcelain as I'm usually paler than all foundations palest shade! Porcelain was too pale, For me china doll was the perfect match, all the shades look really natural, not too pink not too yellow just perfect. This foundation covers redness and minor imperfections, light to medium coverage, it made my skin look great and natural, it looked like I wasn't wearIng foundation :-) though I had a few spots that you could still see but I suppose that's what the concealer is for. best of all NO BREAKOUTS! I also bought tester pots of all their other products and I really reccomend The Waikiki bronzer to use with this foundation, it gives such a healthy glow to the skin

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissLA13 on 10/16/2012 6:34:00 AM more reviews by MissLA13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, LOVE this foundation! I ordered 3 samples - Porcelain, China Doll & Blondie - and discovered that China Doll is the PERFECT match for my skin. Can't even tell I'm wearing it!

I'm VERY pale & have always struggled to find a suitable colour-match for my skin, never mind the right formula. I was a big MAC foundation fan (NC15) - mainly for the colour range - but found I always had to touch-up a couple of times during the day, even though I used a primer. Also, couldn't bear wearing liquid foundation in summer or humidity - it's just too heavy & melts off!

Lily Lolo mineral foundation is beautiful...natural, buildable coverage that evens out my skintone, disguises minor blemishes & doesn't look either cakey or shimmery. I'm in my early 30's and find it doesn't settle into my fine lines around my eyes - always a bonus. I honestly think my skin has improved since I started using this daily - definitely a reduction in breakouts. And it lasts well! Like other reviewers have mentioned, the key is good preparation!!

1) Use a good moisturiser suitable for your skin-type, (I use pure argan oil, which I've found actually helps control my oily T-zone!), & LET IT ABSORB for a few minutes before applying your makeup.

2) Use a suitable primer if you have problems such as large pores or oily skin/oily T-zone. This applies to ANY foundation! (I like Benefit's The Porefessional & MAC's Matte Creme).

3) Buff your Lily Lolo mineral foundation into your skin well, using small amounts & ensuring an even coverage - building extra coverage where you need it. I use a kabuki brush, but have ordered the flocked sponge to try & compare results.

If you have larger/more noticeable blemishes, you may want to try applying your concealer before your foundation, and then touch-up with more concealer if required after applying your foundation.

If you want a full-coverage look, then this probably isn't for you as it gives such a lightweight natural looking finish - I can still see my natural freckles after application. BUT you could use the mineral foundation as a finishing powder on top of your liquid foundation for a totally flawless full-coverage finish!

10/10 from me. I am a Lily Lolo convert!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rbmilkshake on 10/11/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by rbmilkshake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Update:

Pros: - ability to buy samples means it gives mineral.newbies a solid chance to get used to mmu. Samples are generous and last ages.
- price not bad for amount
- good range of colours for light to medium skin tones.
- mix with a nice face lotion and it makes a great foundation. for my dry skin, this works much better for me and lasts much longer.

Cons: - terrible customer service. Its all hugs, kisses and "hope this helps", but they dont respond to problems well. Never impressed with a company who need to be told what the law is. If a matte product has shimmer its been mis-sold and requires a refund
-Poor colour choice for darker skin tones
-You really need a good moisturiser and brush for this.
- if your skin is in poor condition, this won't cover it up.
-Doesn't last all day if used dry.
-is NOT buildable. You have to keep this light. The more you put on, the more it looks cakey and settles into lines.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aliciaeriksson on 8/23/2012 2:05:00 PM more reviews by aliciaeriksson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
- Wide colour range
- Buildable coverage
- Soft and natural result


Cons:
- Tedious to apply, it takes quite a long time if you want some coverage. Also, it flies powder in the air so you don't really want to inhale during, haha
- Itches when it's hot, a really unpleasant feeling
- Doesn't really stay matte during the day
- Hard to work with a concealer


Overall it's an OK foundation, probably best suited for normal skin without any dry or shiny areas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 joziel on 7/22/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by joziel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm quite new to mineral foundations, having previously tried only the Base Escentuals range. I found it hard to get the right shade, there, and also didn't feel that the powder lasted all day.

I really liked it that, with Lily Lolo, I could order small sample pots for only 1.29, to try out the various shades. I ordered about 6 of them! I think I am either 'Barely Buff' (summer) or 'Warm Peach' (winter).

I also tried their finishing powders in sample size - Translucent Silk and Flawless Silk - but I'll leave those for another review - and also their Peepo under eye concealer.

In terms of the foundation, I appreciated the much wider range of shades in Lily Lolo and it has been possible to match my skin colour almost exactly.

The powder does appear to last well, but I am using it with the Lily Lolo finishing powder, so I'm not sure how much the lasting is due to that. (I didn't use a finishing powder with Bare Escentuals.)

I don't find that it makes my pores look large: It blends in well and makes my skin look smooth. Perhaps those with pore problems should try a primer, like Bare Escentuals Prime Time, before.

My slight concern is that - as with Bare Escentuals - I wish the coverage were slightly better. However, the upside, is that you get a really natural look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jillmason on 6/16/2012 9:16:00 AM more reviews by jillmason

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

As a 50 something woman with combination skin I continued the search for the perfect foundation. I found Lily Lolo and eagerly orderd a range of sample foundations, 2 full size blushers (no samples available), and 3 full size eyeshadows (no samples available). Delivery was really quick, the products arrived the following day, but I'm really struggling with them. I find the foundation really ageing, cakey, dull and uneven. The eyshadows and blushers are also dull and the texture is very coarse and quite rough. Immediately I had applied the make up my face and neck began to itch and my eyes watered badly. The following morning the skin on my face was really sore, even water made it sting, with the skin around my eyes and mouth being red and flakey. I've never been sensitive to any make up before this. It looks as though my search for the perfect make up will have to continue!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mena86 on 4/20/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by mena86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so happy to have discovered this product. I find the powder easy to apply, with good covereage and a lasting finish. I have very sensitive combination skin so have struggled with other products. Since using this foundation I have actually noticed an improvement in the dry & sensitive areas of my face. I'm never going to have to look for a new foundation again!! Hurray!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ahti on 4/11/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Ahti

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been a big lily lolo fan for years, until recently.

I made an order some months ago, and instantly found that the formula has changed; I find it extremely rude that they didn't inform the customers about the change in formula, and also the change in shades.

The old formula was very good, staying put easily for 10 hours at least, and the shades did not oxidize on the skin.
The new formula literally melts off your skin in an hour, and the shades are much darker.

So, if you are ordering from them, order a sample first, to make sure you want to order a full size in the new shades, and in the new consistency.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MarranM on 3/28/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by MarranM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Many colour options but that's about the only positive or me. Low coverage that doesn't build well and it does settle into lines as someone mentioned. Worst of all it caused me to breakout as it blokes your pores. If you have normal skin and very little to cover it might be worth a go because of the price. Otherwise I wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products