Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 jillmason on 6/16/2012 9:16:00 AM more reviews by jillmason

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

As a 50 something woman with combination skin I continued the search for the perfect foundation. I found Lily Lolo and eagerly orderd a range of sample foundations, 2 full size blushers (no samples available), and 3 full size eyeshadows (no samples available). Delivery was really quick, the products arrived the following day, but I'm really struggling with them. I find the foundation really ageing, cakey, dull and uneven. The eyshadows and blushers are also dull and the texture is very coarse and quite rough. Immediately I had applied the make up my face and neck began to itch and my eyes watered badly. The following morning the skin on my face was really sore, even water made it sting, with the skin around my eyes and mouth being red and flakey. I've never been sensitive to any make up before this. It looks as though my search for the perfect make up will have to continue!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mena86 on 4/20/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by mena86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so happy to have discovered this product. I find the powder easy to apply, with good covereage and a lasting finish. I have very sensitive combination skin so have struggled with other products. Since using this foundation I have actually noticed an improvement in the dry & sensitive areas of my face. I'm never going to have to look for a new foundation again!! Hurray!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ahti on 4/11/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Ahti

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been a big lily lolo fan for years, until recently.

I made an order some months ago, and instantly found that the formula has changed; I find it extremely rude that they didn't inform the customers about the change in formula, and also the change in shades.

The old formula was very good, staying put easily for 10 hours at least, and the shades did not oxidize on the skin.
The new formula literally melts off your skin in an hour, and the shades are much darker.

So, if you are ordering from them, order a sample first, to make sure you want to order a full size in the new shades, and in the new consistency.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MarranM on 3/28/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by MarranM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Many colour options but that's about the only positive or me. Low coverage that doesn't build well and it does settle into lines as someone mentioned. Worst of all it caused me to breakout as it blokes your pores. If you have normal skin and very little to cover it might be worth a go because of the price. Otherwise I wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janebeavan on 2/11/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by janebeavan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I admit I have always been very sceptical about mineral foundations in general - I tried Bare Minerals once but it seemed overpriced, messy and made me look slightly shimmery which is not a good look for me as my skin tends to be a bit oily anyway. I read some great reviews of Lily Lolo and ordered some samples. I have been using it everyday for the past 4 weeks and really like it so far. It looks natural and gives quite reasonable coverage, far better than I had expected. It really evens out my skin tone and is not at all shimmery. BUT it isn't that great a absorbing oil though and I find I do need several touch-ups during the day.

I do think that skin preparation is absolutely key to getting the most out of this foundation. I have found that applying moisturiser before hand and really massaging it in (and I don't mean a quick rub with the fingers, I mean really massaging it in for at least 30secs) and leaving it to absorb for a few minutes before applying the mineral foundation seems to work wonders. I also use the super kabuki brush which makes the application process really easy. When I have used the foundation over hastily applied moisturiser it just doesn't work - it simply slides off and even looks quite cakey. Spending a few minutes massaging in your moisturiser and leaving it it absorb totally tranforms the way this foundation looks.
I use Blondie - which I intially thought would be too pale but actually is perfect for my fair-medium skin tone. The fact you can order small samples from Lily Lolo is fantastic as you don't have to spend loads to get the right shade. The foundation is also reasonably priced (compared to other mineral foundations anyway) and best of all totally natural and cruelty free. A little goes a long way and after 4 weeks I'm still using my sample pot.

I think this will be a great foundation to wear when I want a 'no-makeup' look but I don't think it will be an everyday foundation for me simply becuase it isn't mattyfying enough for me with my oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elisajessica on 2/3/2012 8:24:00 AM more reviews by elisajessica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have this mineralfoundation in the shade Blondie which is a good light/medium shade. The foundation gives a good coverage and by applying several layers you get better and better coverage, which is something I need.
It evens out the skin tone and covers redness pretty good. I also like that it gives a matte finish, some mineralfoundations give a very sparkly and glittery finish but that's not the case with the Lily Lolo.

Now the the cons with this foundation. One thing you need to know before you buy Lily Lolos foundation is that it has got a very dry consistency and it feels a little bit drying for my skin. So if you've got dry skin Lily Lolo might not be right foundation for you.
I have acne-prone skin with dryness on the surface and for me this isn't the ultimate mineralfoundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xxxspell on 1/6/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by xxxspell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this foundation for years and loved it. Half way trough my last pot I am ordering a new batch a some 3 months ago: I am happy that now the sifters have a cover , the white caps nowadays have the lily Lolo Logo instead of the old design but that is not a tragedy. However I detect a slight change in the formula : this stuff does not cover as well anymore, remains powdery longer on the face and eventually it won‘t befriend my skin and work with it, is not creamy anymore. I go back to using my older powder jar some days, then back to the new jar in disbelief and I think is defiantly a change there that I do not approve with. Have I gone mad, anyone else noticed this???????? Maybe I got a bad batch or something????

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 12/15/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for over a year now, so I thought I'd finally share my views. I've tried so many different mineral foundations, I've actually lost count. I started with Bare Escentuals, went onto Pur Minerals, Laura Mercier, Everyday Minerals, GloMinerals, Maybelline, Jane Iredale, Merle Norman, Meow Cosmetics, Avon, Sephora brand and probably 20 other brands I can't recall at the moment. I have to say there's NOTHING like Lily Lolo. My problem with most mmu is that they bond to your skin so intensely and you have to buff like crazy to get it all evened out. They accentuate flakes and are usually overly glimmery. And if you start with too little, the application takes forever and looks patchy. On top of that, they dry my skin like crazy and end up making me break out in a rash.
Lily Lolo is almost like a loose powder with coverage. You can start out with as much or as little as you want, brush it on and it never looks cakey or fake. You can apply layer after layer and it still looks natural. It doesn't pool around my pores or settle into fine lines or anything like that. It looks very natural and healthy and provides decent coverage (NOT full, but I HATE full coverage foundations that make you look like plastic). The shades are great for me, as I'm really pale. Those with darker skin would definitely have a problem with their shade selection. Overall, doesn't make me break out, coverage is good and it's comfortable on my skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gardeniagogo on 11/20/2011 7:07:00 PM more reviews by gardeniagogo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Best foundation on the planet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juga24 on 8/14/2011 8:30:00 PM more reviews by juga24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have found nothing better than Lily Lolo, which I have been using for five years now. Every so often, I decide I'd like a change of pace... a new product that's easier to get in the States or the latest "It" foundation, but I have never been able to find a product as good as LL. I'm in the shade Porcelain. Finding foundation pale enough for me in the States is an enormous challenge and it seems the Brits get it right. It's not only the color that's perfect, though; everything from its buildable coverage, to its staying power, to its finish is spot on. I acquired VERY sensitive, acne-prone skin during my university years and this does not irritate my skin whatsoever. The trick to keeping it looking great all day is using it with the right moisturizer for your skin type, but I imagine that's true of any foundation. It doesn't need a primer to stay put 8+ hours. I use with sparing amounts LL's concealers in Blondie and Blush Away to cover hyperpigmentation and blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products