Clairol • Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight Shampoo [DISCONTINUED] • Shampoo

rated 3.3(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Sakurazukamori on 4/16/2009 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Sakurazukamori

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The name is misleading. I am Brazilian and here they labeled this as a shampoo for STRAIGHT hair, not straightened. I was afraid to buy it, but I gave it a chance. My hair is reaaaaally straight, thin and oily. I always use baby shampoos and my hair had always loved them.
This time, it also loved this shampoo: it was shinny, light and cleans well. About being straight, I cannot tell since my hair is already very straight.

I would not buy this again because I discovered they did test in animals and I am completely against it. I researched previously and I had found they did not test on animals, but then I saw evidence of testing and I won't buy again. Also, the price here in Brazil is really abusive. People pay US$ 2, we here pay R$20 ( what is something about 8-10 dollars, can you believe it?)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 almostmrsparker on 4/6/2009 3:57:00 PM more reviews by almostmrsparker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Really? They seriously advertise this as "Dangerously Straight"? Howabout "Dangerously Flowery and Pink!" It smells nice, and lathers well, but does NOTHING for straightening. Then again, I can't expect too much from something that cost under $3.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beauticonnexion on 3/28/2009 10:09:00 AM more reviews by beauticonnexion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A regular shampoo. I used a small travel size on my trip and it cleans and lathers up well with a nice lingering scent of sweet florals to the hair.

Did not see any straightening effects at all. Have to use conditioner together to detangle me waist long hair.

Overall average. Maybe will use it for the nice smell more than other factors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mochasplash on 3/19/2009 5:40:00 PM more reviews by mochasplash

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i've only used this once so far but was surprisingly and highly impressed that i had to review it!
i didnt use the conditioner with it, instead i used the garnier masque, strength and repair, which is very mediocre. like very!
i shampooed with this twice and then used conditioner. it didnt get my hair straight, but for shampoo that cost $2, what do u really expect?? it did make my hair surprisingly soft and very easy to manage. my hair is naturally straight that can be bi polar at times. i know the conditioner didnt cause it, cuz it kinda sucks. i put some citre shine serum in before i blow dried my mostly dry already hair. that probably helped a little, but usually when i use that serum my hair doesnt come out as soft and manageable as it did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gosh_grace on 1/4/2009 12:58:00 AM more reviews by gosh_grace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i really like this stuff. it made my hair nice and clean and the smell lasts for days! i'm constantly getting compliments on it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iamnotdead83 on 11/11/2008 1:54:00 PM more reviews by iamnotdead83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this shampoo when I do use it, even though its been a while since I've purchased it.. I straighten my hair a few times a week, so I like using shampoos that are supposed to help you get that "jump start" so to speak.. This shampoo will NOT straighten your hair, so if anyone who bought it thinking it was going to do that, is not going to be happy. Its supposed to help with the straightening process by making the hair smoother and shinier.. It definitly does do that, and I noticed even as I started blowdrying (to prepare my hair for flat ironing). I have no complaints about the smell, its very clean and sweet. The only reason why I don't use this shampoo that often is because I dye my hair, and I prefer to use shampoo's made for color treated hair.. If I go a while without coloring however, and preserving it doesn't matter as much anymore, I do go back to this before I color again.. If you straighten often though, I highly recommend this product..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 raindropz on 11/7/2008 9:40:00 AM more reviews by raindropz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This seems to be a very mediocre shampoo....suits me right for buying it on sale and b/c the packaging caught my eye. =P
i bought this b/c i was hoping it would maintain my already straightened hair. On the contrary, i think it actually made it wavy! Neither is this moisturizing when combined with the conditioner....*shakes fist at herbal essences*. it smells good, but the smell doesn't linger either...would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 abcdefg2 on 11/2/2008 7:22:00 AM more reviews by abcdefg2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

While at my cousin's house, I tried out this shampoo. I have curly, springy hair, this cleaned it up a bit, but there was really no noticeable difference. It smelled good though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ylrebmik7 on 9/4/2008 8:45:00 PM more reviews by ylrebmik7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pearly dark pink shampoo that comes in a "honeyed pear and silk" scent. This worked very well for me - left my hair soft, looking nice with no build-up. I like the look and smell of this. I was hesitant to try this because I've tried many cheap shampoo/conditioners and am pretty picky. My hair is long, straight, color-treated and often looks flat. I used this in conjunction with the Dangerously Straight Conditioner. I also like the package because it's made to sit with the dispenser at the bottom so the product dispenses easily as you use it. I would buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RebeccaRawrx3 on 8/27/2008 7:30:00 PM more reviews by RebeccaRawrx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo is HORRIBLE! It made my hair extremely, extremely frzzy and it made my hair puff out so much that my hair was covering my face! It also made my scalp itchy. But it did make my hair dry faster, and I love the scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Shampoo products