Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(118 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rikiya on 5/8/2011 11:32:00 AM more reviews by rikiya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using Dickinson's Original Witch Hazel which I got from Wal Mart for around 7 or 8 bucks. It's ingredients are: All Natural Witch Hazel, containing Natural Alcohol 14% and Witch Hazel Extract. Previously I had used Distilled Witchhazel USP from the pharmacy whose ingredients were Witch Hazel, alcohol and distilled water.

Since both of them had the same ingredients I had assumed most Witch Hazel toners had to include alcohol but apparently I was wrong according to the reviews I've been reading. I haven't been able to find one without alcohol listed though, so I'll keep using Dickinson's for now.

Overall, it's a great toner. I use it in the morning after I wake up to prepare my face for make up and sometimes once again before I go to bed and randomly throughout the day to get rid of excess oil on my nose and forehead. It isn't drying, and my face feels so soft after using it. The large bottle has lasted me for a few months, and I use it multiple times a day. I haven't seen any noticeable effects concerning acne or scars, but my pores do seem smaller after use.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Littleloti on 4/5/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Littleloti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing and my only regret is not using this sooner. I got this for $1.50 at Walmart and it's a big bottle so it will last awhile. My pores have never been so small and clear (especially on my nose, which has always had big pores). It makes my skin super soft and glowing. It does smell really bad, but that goes away when it dries. I've applied it both with a cotton ball and straight onto my face with my fingers (when I ran out of cotton balls), both work great. I will continue to repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ElleDuncan on 4/3/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by ElleDuncan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Update:
I'm using a big bottle of witch hazel from Walmart, super cheap and I LOVE it.
It's amazing after a quick cleanse; I just pour a teaspoon in my hand and kind of splash it on my whole face, let it dry 50% and then apply moisturizer while it's still a bit damp.
It's excellent.
I can't believe how cheap some of the best things in life are.

I am using a homemade blend of de-bubbled perrier mineral water in a glass bottle with about half distilled witch hazel. I actually liked it better with the one I had with alcohol that I bought previously. Currently I am using alcohol-free distilled witch hazel and it's very weak, especially when I further diluted it with the mineral water.

Either way, it's cheaper than prepared brands, I can control what I put in it, make it stronger or weaker or add other things like Apple Cider Vinegar to it.

Great in the morning as a spritz (I keep some in a glass bottle with atomizer on it) after cleansing with yogurt or brown sugar scrub and it's great to set my makeup, too I discovered. I use with cotton pads at night to be sure all makeup is gone after cleansing and so far have not gotten worse skin, though can't say it's amazing...

Better than any store bought toner I have ever used though (and that includes LRP, Vichy, Chanel, Thayers, Dr Hauschka, and others for very bigger price tag.)

Summary: Witch Hazel is not all the same. Find one, experiment. It's cheap. ANd you can always use it as backup first aid supplies if you aren't happy. The stuff is excellent if you have kids / during summer burn/bug season.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skincareman on 3/30/2011 5:16:00 PM more reviews by skincareman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using witch hazel off and on for more than 25 years. I often stray, lured by fancy packaging and promises, but always seem to end up using witch hazel again and my skin always thanks me for it!


It makes my pores appear tiny, it clears breakouts quickly, helps to keep me from breaking out and it soothes my skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* steffmd25 on 3/28/2011 12:06:00 PM more reviews by steffmd25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have purchased 3 of these in the last 2 years. I first saw this being used on Youtube, and I had to try it. Gets leftover traces of makeup and dirt off of my skin after I wash my face. It is super cheap. $1- $2. It does have a strange scent, but you get use to it. The bottle lasts a long time. This works for me so I don't plan on trying another toner.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ep27 on 3/26/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by ep27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
*Removes traces of oil and makeup (after using Pond's Cold Cream)
*Not irritating
*Cheap (I think it is sold at $1 stores and Dollar General. It is overpriced in the drugstores.)

I have used name brands and generic brands with success. The smell is very mild and you get used to it. I may try a green tea/chamomile tea/apple cider vinegar toner sometime, but this really works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chriol02 on 3/25/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by chriol02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i get mine from Target. the target brand Whitch Hazel is so cheap and i love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DitaVee on 1/3/2011 11:59:00 PM more reviews by DitaVee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been looking for years for something that would keep nail polish on my natural nails to no avail. I recently found an article suggesting using Witch Hazel as a 'pre-treatment' so figured I'd give it a go seeing as I had some left over from use as a toner.


Wow- after spending around $200 on various base, top and treatment coats, it turns out all I needed was a $5 bottle of Witch Hazel :) I simply make sure my nails are clean, apply the WH with a cotton pad, let it dry (a few seconds) then on with the regular manucure.


To give an idea of the improvement: Once I let my nails go back to natural (used to have acrylic) my polish would start chipping and peeling off my nails within 8 hrs maximum, sometimes I wouldn't even get one hour out of it. Within 24 hours I'd be lucky to have any polish left on as it just seemed to shed. I'm not exaggerating whatsoever, it was the most frustrating and disappointing experience ever and after 6 years of natural nails I had practically given up on ever having wearing polish - even treatments just on their own didn't last.


Just a quick swipe of this allows my polish to last up to 5 days, in fact it starts to wear off rather than chip which is aweome for me. I would highly recommend trying this if you have problems keeping polish on.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BoxcarJessie on 10/3/2010 11:00:00 AM more reviews by BoxcarJessie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used the generic, drug store Witch Hazel for over 5 years now as a toner and I cannot rave enough about this multi-tasking product! It is an amazing, natural toner that is fit for all skin types. It constricts the pores after cleansing therefor making them appear much smaller. It refines the skin beautifully! I also use it in my make up setting spray which is a mixture of distilled water, witch hazel, glycerin and green tea. It's amazing to get rid of that powdery,cakey look and just makes your make up look seamless and fresh. I also use it for my under eye area to help with my under eye circles and it works wonders! It does have a small percentage of alcohol in it naturally, but it's such a small percentage, I never notice excessive drying of my skin or the skin of my clients. This is a super affordable, flawless skin gem!! Perfect for all skin types!! It's also fantastic to sooth inflammation of bug bites and minor skin irritations. Highly recommended!

xoxoxo
- Mad Madam Jess

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 longereyelashes on 10/2/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by longereyelashes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There is nothing negative I can say about this old fashioned miracle juice!
It works amazingly on acne. I don't have much acne naturally but when I use witch hazel it all disappears. My skin also looks overall rejuvenated. The bottle goes fast, especially after I mixed the witch hazel with lemon juice for a lovely astringent. The smell isn't an issue at all either. Honestly, I like the smell of the witch hazel.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products