Drugstore Witch hazel

4.3

121 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

distilled witch hazel BP


on 11/9/2011 9:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Thought all witch hazel would be the same.... but I found the drugstore brand (Target, Walgreens, Walmart) to be more drying. I prefer Dickenson's brand witch hazel for only around $3 a 16oz bottle. I have found that I need to add a lot of water to the bottle or it dries out my (oily T zone, normal cheeks) skin.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using witch hazel for years, and I love it. It's a great non-drying toner for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin. It also has many other uses:

* Cold witch hazel soaked cotton pads reduces eye puffiness
* Antiseptic for cuts, scrapes, bug bites, etc.
* Relieves sunburn pain
* Degreases oily hair
* Relieves scalp itch
* Relieves hemorrhoid itching/burning
* Relieves feminine itching (will not cure a yeast infection--only helps the itching)

I just get the generic drugstore/dollar store brand that's less than $2 and will keep buying it!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2011 11:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love love love witch hazel. I do my own "three step system", with the witch hazel as toner. I use the generic brand from anywhere, I've bought from Walmart, Walgreens, Target, Rite Aid, where ever. I have acne prone skin, so when I open a new bottle, I put in about 25 drops of tea tree oil. When I tone, I shake well, apply to a cotton pad, and swipe over my face a few times. I have found this to work way better than any fancy astringent/toner. I have oily skin, and I find it works really well to remove the oil so I stay pretty matte throughout the day. I only use this in the morning - I have a little bit of a different night routine. But, I've used for years, and will continue to use since it's worked great for me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2011 11:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm using Dickinson's Original Witch Hazel which I got from Wal Mart for around 7 or 8 bucks. It's ingredients are: All Natural Witch Hazel, containing Natural Alcohol 14% and Witch Hazel Extract. Previously I had used Distilled Witchhazel USP from the pharmacy whose ingredients were Witch Hazel, alcohol and distilled water.

Since both of them had the same ingredients I had assumed most Witch Hazel toners had to include alcohol but apparently I was wrong according to the reviews I've been reading. I haven't been able to find one without alcohol listed though, so I'll keep using Dickinson's for now.

Overall, it's a great toner. I use it in the morning after I wake up to prepare my face for make up and sometimes once again before I go to bed and randomly throughout the day to get rid of excess oil on my nose and forehead. It isn't drying, and my face feels so soft after using it. The large bottle has lasted me for a few months, and I use it multiple times a day. I haven't seen any noticeable effects concerning acne or scars, but my pores do seem smaller after use.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2011 12:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is amazing and my only regret is not using this sooner. I got this for $1.50 at Walmart and it's a big bottle so it will last awhile. My pores have never been so small and clear (especially on my nose, which has always had big pores). It makes my skin super soft and glowing. It does smell really bad, but that goes away when it dries. I've applied it both with a cotton ball and straight onto my face with my fingers (when I ran out of cotton balls), both work great. I will continue to repurchase!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2011 10:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Update:
I'm using a big bottle of witch hazel from Walmart, super cheap and I LOVE it.
It's amazing after a quick cleanse; I just pour a teaspoon in my hand and kind of splash it on my whole face, let it dry 50% and then apply moisturizer while it's still a bit damp.
It's excellent.
I can't believe how cheap some of the best things in life are.

I am using a homemade blend of de-bubbled perrier mineral water in a glass bottle with about half distilled witch hazel. I actually liked it better with the one I had with alcohol that I bought previously. Currently I am using alcohol-free distilled witch hazel and it's very weak, especially when I further diluted it with the mineral water.

Either way, it's cheaper than prepared brands, I can control what I put in it, make it stronger or weaker or add other things like Apple Cider Vinegar to it.

Great in the morning as a spritz (I keep some in a glass bottle with atomizer on it) after cleansing with yogurt or brown sugar scrub and it's great to set my makeup, too I discovered. I use with cotton pads at night to be sure all makeup is gone after cleansing and so far have not gotten worse skin, though can't say it's amazing...

Better than any store bought toner I have ever used though (and that includes LRP, Vichy, Chanel, Thayers, Dr Hauschka, and others for very bigger price tag.)

Summary: Witch Hazel is not all the same. Find one, experiment. It's cheap. ANd you can always use it as backup first aid supplies if you aren't happy. The stuff is excellent if you have kids / during summer burn/bug season.


on 3/30/2011 5:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using witch hazel off and on for more than 25 years. I often stray, lured by fancy packaging and promises, but always seem to end up using witch hazel again and my skin always thanks me for it!


It makes my pores appear tiny, it clears breakouts quickly, helps to keep me from breaking out and it soothes my skin.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 12:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have purchased 3 of these in the last 2 years. I first saw this being used on Youtube, and I had to try it. Gets leftover traces of makeup and dirt off of my skin after I wash my face. It is super cheap. $1- $2. It does have a strange scent, but you get use to it. The bottle lasts a long time. This works for me so I don't plan on trying another toner.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2011 11:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROS:
*Removes traces of oil and makeup (after using Pond's Cold Cream)
*Not irritating
*Cheap (I think it is sold at $1 stores and Dollar General. It is overpriced in the drugstores.)

I have used name brands and generic brands with success. The smell is very mild and you get used to it. I may try a green tea/chamomile tea/apple cider vinegar toner sometime, but this really works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2011 2:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i get mine from Target. the target brand Whitch Hazel is so cheap and i love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top