Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* steffmd25 on 3/28/2011 12:06:00 PM more reviews by steffmd25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have purchased 3 of these in the last 2 years. I first saw this being used on Youtube, and I had to try it. Gets leftover traces of makeup and dirt off of my skin after I wash my face. It is super cheap. $1- $2. It does have a strange scent, but you get use to it. The bottle lasts a long time. This works for me so I don't plan on trying another toner.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ep27 on 3/26/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by ep27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
*Removes traces of oil and makeup (after using Pond's Cold Cream)
*Not irritating
*Cheap (I think it is sold at $1 stores and Dollar General. It is overpriced in the drugstores.)

I have used name brands and generic brands with success. The smell is very mild and you get used to it. I may try a green tea/chamomile tea/apple cider vinegar toner sometime, but this really works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chriol02 on 3/25/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by chriol02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i get mine from Target. the target brand Whitch Hazel is so cheap and i love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DitaVee on 1/3/2011 11:59:00 PM more reviews by DitaVee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been looking for years for something that would keep nail polish on my natural nails to no avail. I recently found an article suggesting using Witch Hazel as a 'pre-treatment' so figured I'd give it a go seeing as I had some left over from use as a toner.


Wow- after spending around $200 on various base, top and treatment coats, it turns out all I needed was a $5 bottle of Witch Hazel :) I simply make sure my nails are clean, apply the WH with a cotton pad, let it dry (a few seconds) then on with the regular manucure.


To give an idea of the improvement: Once I let my nails go back to natural (used to have acrylic) my polish would start chipping and peeling off my nails within 8 hrs maximum, sometimes I wouldn't even get one hour out of it. Within 24 hours I'd be lucky to have any polish left on as it just seemed to shed. I'm not exaggerating whatsoever, it was the most frustrating and disappointing experience ever and after 6 years of natural nails I had practically given up on ever having wearing polish - even treatments just on their own didn't last.


Just a quick swipe of this allows my polish to last up to 5 days, in fact it starts to wear off rather than chip which is aweome for me. I would highly recommend trying this if you have problems keeping polish on.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BoxcarJessie on 10/3/2010 11:00:00 AM more reviews by BoxcarJessie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used the generic, drug store Witch Hazel for over 5 years now as a toner and I cannot rave enough about this multi-tasking product! It is an amazing, natural toner that is fit for all skin types. It constricts the pores after cleansing therefor making them appear much smaller. It refines the skin beautifully! I also use it in my make up setting spray which is a mixture of distilled water, witch hazel, glycerin and green tea. It's amazing to get rid of that powdery,cakey look and just makes your make up look seamless and fresh. I also use it for my under eye area to help with my under eye circles and it works wonders! It does have a small percentage of alcohol in it naturally, but it's such a small percentage, I never notice excessive drying of my skin or the skin of my clients. This is a super affordable, flawless skin gem!! Perfect for all skin types!! It's also fantastic to sooth inflammation of bug bites and minor skin irritations. Highly recommended!

xoxoxo
- Mad Madam Jess

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 longereyelashes on 10/2/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by longereyelashes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There is nothing negative I can say about this old fashioned miracle juice!
It works amazingly on acne. I don't have much acne naturally but when I use witch hazel it all disappears. My skin also looks overall rejuvenated. The bottle goes fast, especially after I mixed the witch hazel with lemon juice for a lovely astringent. The smell isn't an issue at all either. Honestly, I like the smell of the witch hazel.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MelissaIsTheBest on 7/25/2010 10:05:00 PM more reviews by MelissaIsTheBest

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot tolerate the smell! I bought this for my acne. Perhaps this product would have worked better had I been able to tolerate it longer, but from what I remember it was rather drying. No use in switching from one evil to another - especially if it stinks so bad in the process!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 7/7/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Witch hazel is a good, inexpensive toner for all but very dry skin. With 14% alcohol, one would think it would be drying but I have not found that to be the case. Although many on MUA have complained about the scent, I do not find it objectionable. It is not good but not bad either...medicinal/herbal, I would say. It has been around since Hector was a pup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahhjosephinee on 6/19/2010 11:05:00 PM more reviews by sarahhjosephinee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like using this as a toner.. it smelled bad at first but I'm used to it now. I always feel like this really cleans my skin of what was left after my actual cleanser.. yay witch hazel! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 6/15/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After years and years of using Proactive, it stopped working for me, and I have, for the past few years, been forced to formulate a new skincare routine. And I have tried EVERYTHING.
I love toners, because they are refreshing, and a good one will balance my dry but acne prone skin. But after trying a million products and spending a ton of money, I have gotten sick of all the bells and whistles. So I decided to try something natural and simple. And I am liking it a lot. Although it's got a pretty high alcohol content, I actually don't find it drying, which it amazing, as everything dries out my skin.
But I think what sealed it for me was the way it's helped clear up the break-out I recently had after trying a bad oil on my face. Also, I got a facial today and the facialist said using witch hazel straight up is a great idea, which impressed me.
Will I repurchase? Yes, unless I find another cheap, natural product that is similar. I'd try out something like that, but I would come back to witch hazel if other natural products don't work like it.
That being said, it smells awful. But I hold my breath when I apply it. For the price & the results, I can hold my breath for 20 seconds. The smell doesn't linger *phew!*

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products