Bumble & Bumble Thickening Spray

3.6

255 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Alcohol Denat., Isopropanol, Vp/Va Copolymer, Polyquaternium-11, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Honey, PPG-12-PEG-65 Lanolin Oil, Polysorbate 80, Sodium Chloride, Sorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Eugenol, Limonene, Fragrance.


on 12/3/2012 7:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I always think, "maybe this time it will work" only to met with a heavy alcohol smell, dried feeling hair and lack of "thickening". If you have oily flat, straight fine hair...this might work for you. If you don't have that exact hair type, stay away.



on 12/2/2012 6:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've always wanted to try this product. I received this as a sample, along with the thickening shampoo/conditioner. When I was blow drying my hair, the more dry my hair got, the more electricity and static my hair had. I couldn't do anything to fluff it and get it away from my scalp. I had to rewash my hair and start all over, with my old standby products. There is no way I could have gone to work with my hair the way it was. Awful, would not purchase, very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2012 11:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have long layered fine but lots of it flat hair (Asian). This is hit and miss for me. A little goes a long way. Keep it at the roots and you get thick voluminous hair. I spray a few pumps into my hands then massage it onto my scalp and blow dry. You need to blow dry to get thickness and volume. Air drying wont do a thing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2012 9:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Wow, this was a terrible product for me and really damaged my hair with in just 2 days of using it.

First I sprayed the prep spray throughout my hair, then I sprayed this a couple times and rubbed it in with my fingers, then combed it through with a wide tooth comb. I put in heat protectant and then blow-dried my hair...and it was a frizzy tangly, dry mess the whole time I was trying to dry it! My hair kept getting ripped out when I tried to brush it through. When it was dry, I had no more volume than usual, but my hair looked fried and felt dry as straw. I know why they call this "hairspray" now because it really dries out your hair and makes it sticky. My question then, is, why does Bumble advise you to put this on before using heat tools? Isn't that damaging your hair?

Well it DID damage my hair, and not just in theory because my hair is recovering now with a coconut oil mask. This was yesterday when I used it, and today, after washing and deep conditioning my hair several times, my hair still felt dry and brittle and was a frizzy haystack.

All from this one styling product. And the worst part is, it didn't even do what it claimed to do- thicken my hair.

Beware girls with fine, dry hair like mine, yours may suffer too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2012 10:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If your hair is becoming a sticky, tangled mess chances are you are using way too much. I hate when people don't use a product correctly and then give it a bad review. My hair is extremely dense but thin stranded (so it easy falls flat and heavy) and I only use about three sprays around the crown of my head, not all over. I lift my hair up and spray around the middle, not just on top. I have sprayed it all over before but then my hair is almost too thick, but it does not get sticky and weighed down. When I first bought it I used way too much and it did get like that, but then I used less until I found what worked. If you use this with the styling cream at your roots and the thickening spray all over, your hair will be huge. But if it's sticky and weighed down, use less. A little goes a long way with these products. And by the way, if you have the Tonic spray or Prep spray, you can spray that on any B&B product that you accidently used too much with and it helps break it down and lighten it up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this product. It is meant to be used with heat and in small amounts, otherwise it will weigh hair down (as with all products really....) I layer with B&B prep or tonic spray and follow with Shu Kaze Wave for curls. Love the result - smells great too.


on 6/22/2012 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I absolutely LOVE this product ! Pity that Singapore had a B&B counter but it closed within 2 years...

It does everything it says and more. I have very fine hair, and it gives me the volume I want without stiffening my hair (unlike John Frieda) and given the extreme humidity of Singapore, my hair stays in shape/place all day. no frizz or flyaway. it has a decent fragrance too...

This product was a godsend for me...and I am quite sad its not available anymore :(


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have fairly thin hair and have tried several thickening products but this is the only one I've noticed actually works and makes a visible difference. I use it when my hair is damp. It works well both with air drying and a blowdryer, but I find the best results come from a blowdryer. It's a bit on the pricey side for my taste, but I've yet to find something that works better for me that is as available as this product. Treseme root lifter is cheaper and works for my hair too, but I can barely ever find it in a store and it does not give me as much volume as this spray. It can, at times (mostly when letting my hair air dry), make my hair a bit puffy and kind of 80's hair band looking but I also have naturally wavy hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2012 7:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It works, but not enough for me to repurchase. Still looking for something better!


on 4/11/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After reading another celebrity stylist raving about this in a magazine I decided to try it out. My hair is poker straight, very glossy but also very limp. I have tried so many volumising products over the years but nothing really works.

This stuff unfortunately makes my hair into a sticky, tangled mess. Can't say it added much volume or thickness either to be honest. Pretty disappointing for a product that's getting such a great rap all around. But oh well.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Sumo Tech

46 reviews
image

Brilliantine

153 reviews
image

Styling Lotion

104 reviews
Back to Top