Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(248 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 typewriterwrites on 4/30/2012 8:53:00 PM more reviews by typewriterwrites

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have fairly thin hair and have tried several thickening products but this is the only one I've noticed actually works and makes a visible difference. I use it when my hair is damp. It works well both with air drying and a blowdryer, but I find the best results come from a blowdryer. It's a bit on the pricey side for my taste, but I've yet to find something that works better for me that is as available as this product. Treseme root lifter is cheaper and works for my hair too, but I can barely ever find it in a store and it does not give me as much volume as this spray. It can, at times (mostly when letting my hair air dry), make my hair a bit puffy and kind of 80's hair band looking but I also have naturally wavy hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JosephineC on 4/11/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by JosephineC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

It works, but not enough for me to repurchase. Still looking for something better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 4/11/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After reading another celebrity stylist raving about this in a magazine I decided to try it out. My hair is poker straight, very glossy but also very limp. I have tried so many volumising products over the years but nothing really works.

This stuff unfortunately makes my hair into a sticky, tangled mess. Can't say it added much volume or thickness either to be honest. Pretty disappointing for a product that's getting such a great rap all around. But oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LucyPrescott on 3/12/2012 2:25:00 AM more reviews by LucyPrescott

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on a whim. I absolutely love it. I have fairly flat hair, and nothing seemed to help it.... except for this product!!! I love it. I noticed some bad reviews on it saying it makes hair crunchy and such. This could be due to using it on dry hair... hair needs to be wet before using this spray. Its meant as a prep for blow drying. This is definitely my new staple :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fvger on 3/6/2012 10:39:00 AM more reviews by fvger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used this spray years ago and from what I remember I kind of liked it. I decided to repurchase it a few days ago in search for a thickening product for my fine hair. I tried it this morning and not only did the spray do nothing for volume, it actually left my hair like straw. To my surprise (and shock and horror), they have changed the formula and ALCOHOL is now the 2nd ingredient which explains the 'new' smell as well. What a rip-off for 21 pounds.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 faeriegirl0707 on 2/13/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by faeriegirl0707

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is awesome, I have very fine hair and it works great. The only thing I dont love about this is the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peepeepod on 1/23/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by peepeepod

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What a waste of money! I shelled out $9 for a tiny bottle of this stuff and it does absolutely NOTHING. The only thing it did was make my hair alittle sticky and my scalp itch. Waste of money. I'm glad I didnt buy the full size. Most B&B products do not work for me, I don't know why I even entertained this "thickening spray" as having potential.

UPDATE: I found out that this DOES add some volume to wet hair if you blow dry..otherwise, it does nothing. Plus, the volume is minimal...Living proof volume cream works much better. B&B products just dont work for me..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luisajames on 12/28/2011 2:35:00 AM more reviews by luisajames

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

update:
after finishing my last bottle of this i realized i was pretty underwhelmed by this product. i found that there were other products that work way better and had less hype. overall rating from 4-3 stars. average product.
__
i've repurchased this product multiple times already and i do really like it because it does what is says. this product has a flexible hold and when used on damp hair will not produce any crunchiness or stiffness if blow dried in. i like to apply this all over when the hair is damp (along with undressing cream for added body and fullness) and then spray in sections and round brush each indivial section for ultimate body. i find that when i use this alone it doens't add a ton of body, but it's probably because my hair is very smooth and thick and has a tendency to be flat if i don't make an effort to give it volume. i would definitely recommend this to someone with finer hair that is looking for something low maintenance because i feel like it would work very well with that hair type and with thicker hair if you're willing to put a bit of extra effort but it will definitely hold when heat is applied to it. i wouldn't recommend this as a finishing spray though, i think spray de mode or does it all would be best suited for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redcloud75 on 11/12/2011 7:57:00 AM more reviews by redcloud75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Once I finally figured out how to use this on my hair, I'm happy with it. I've got fine, wavy long hair and spraying this on my roots was a mess - the product made my roots darker and straighter than the rest of my hair. I finally unscrewed the bottle, poured about half a teaspoon in one palm, and with the other hand daubed the product on my roots. I scrunched them, and let my hair air dry. Voilą. Works very well for me like that. On the rare occasions that I blow dry my hair, I skip this as when heated it makes my hair feel crispy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hat on 10/23/2011 4:52:00 PM more reviews by hat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this. Does is really do anything to my hair I don't know. But I just think my hair looks nicer after using this spray. It doesn't have a strong smell and don't feel like I have used anything. So yay, I will buy this again as I think it makes my hair looks nicer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products