MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2576 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sacoope1 on 6/19/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by sacoope1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I gave 3 lippies because of its pigment and staying power. I will buy again for a friend.

Mac studio fix fluid in NW45 foundation irritated my acne prone skin and to make matters worse, I have been mismatch by the makeup artist. The inexperience makeup artist would automatically match people with dark skin to NW45.

Being a dark skin female with strong yellow undertones, I have struggled immensely to find a foundation to match my skin tone. I remembered going to 'Harvey Nichols' in the U.K and the makeup artist matched me with NW45. What a mess that was. At the time the lighting was deceiving and my face looked fine, however on exiting the store, people were looking at me suspiciously. As I walked passed a store with reflective glass, I saw my face for the first time in natural lighting and I couldn’t believe it was an image of me. Normally, I would be laughing at girls wearing the wrong shade of makeup, but on this given day it was my turn to be laughed at. I looked like something from a distant planet. My face was red and my neck and chest were yellowish. Thankfully it was chilly on that day so in order to disguise my appearance, I purchased a scarf to hide my neck and a knitted beanie hat to hide as much of my face as possible, lol.
I now use ‘Nars Sheer Matte foundation, in Macao. I must admit that I really like this foundation though it might be a little to reddish for me. But I have come to learn that if I apply a sparing amount the reddish bit would be dramatically reduce. Thus far, it is doing really well on my acne prone skin. However to all acne sufferers, what has worked for me is washing my face with an acne cleanser, then having a light 3-5 minutes facial steam (nightly) , followed by applying acne spot cream or ointment on the pimple, prior to going to bed.

Everybody’s skin is different and would respond differently to foundations and acne treatment. However for me, Mac studio fix fluid in NW45 didn’t agree with my skin and the above acne treatment has rid of my acne. I am in the process of getting rid of my scars.
BUT YOU NEED TO BE DEDICATED AND LIGHTLY STEAM YOUR FACE AFTER WASHING OFF YOUR ANY FOUNDATION/MAKEUP, THEN APPLY THE CREAM OR OINTMENT TO THE PIMPLE/S. PUSTULES BUMPS WOULD TAKE A LONGER TIME TO GET RID OF AS IT FIRST NEEDS TO COME TO A HEAD.

GOT ATLEAST 8 HOURS SLEEP AND YOU SHOULD SEE THE DIFFERENCE IN YOUR SKIN.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SWhitaker05 on 6/18/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by SWhitaker05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually used this product for a few years before I was able to pin point it has being the reason for my breakouts. I used NC20 and color was perfect and the coverage was amazing BUT it's so heavy and made my face look fake. I also talked to some ladies at Sephora who told me it is made with mineral oil which can cause breakouts and the reason for the appearance of large pores. I just bought Make up Forever HD foundation and the Philosophy hope in a jar foundation and both are so much better!! I was a huge MAC fan for the longest time now my skin is clearer and I will not be buying anymore foundation from MAC. I do however love their primer and lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tiaaa on 6/18/2014 5:55:00 AM more reviews by tiaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Shade NC25

Pros: Nice smooth, full coverage with some effort, although not for those who want a natural look. Good range of colours and suits warm undertones.

Cons: After a few months it gets streaky, cakey and makes you look greyish, even after using both brush and fingers. Also a pump would help, its not easy to dispense the right amount with a screw top. Pricey in Aus ~ $50

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ndasilva on 6/16/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by ndasilva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this foundation in hopes of wearing it as a bridesmaid in a wedding I am in this summer. Well, I'm so glad that I purchased this product well in advance as it will not work for me. This product applies beautifully, it has a great consistency and applied well with a tarte brush that I have (I attempted the beauty blender but that seemed to really speed up the breaking down of this foundation). Once set and the rest of my makeup has been applied, I love this. It has great coverage, really nice colour, and the smell doesn't even bother me. I do, however, become bothered when it starts to spread apart and wear off within a few hours. Truthfully, I've had better luck with the Revlon Colourstay than with this...and at 3 times the price it's an unfortunate thing for me to admit!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eviebic on 6/15/2014 4:08:00 AM more reviews by eviebic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a lover of MAC items! (cry at the price here in AUS though!)
Mac Studio Fix Fluid is my go to makeup when i'm going out. It lasts through the night and looks amazing (like my skin looks suddenly amazing!)
I'm quite oily, so i set this with a powder. I'm also very sensitive, I find i can wear this for a few days before it can start to irritate me, so i tend to keep it for events and when im heading out (using something alot more light during the normal day)
Make sure to be colour matched at a counter, i find the shades can run a bit dark and can turn orange. Im a medium toned face - and i wear NW20, with a slightly darker powder to make sure the colour looks perfectly matched.
Also get the pump for the bottle, otherwise it's a messy nightmare.
I find it easy to blend, and although full coverage doesn't feel heavy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hannahwatt on 6/13/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Hannahwatt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

One of the best foundations out there. Although the glass bottle is a bit of a pain! Great price great coverage!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hondurena89 on 6/12/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to give the most honest review that I can about this foundation. For one it's not the worst foundation in the world If you are into high coverage. Someone that like less coverage should've tried the prolong wear. I used this foundation sometimes but not alot. I mostly wear my nyx concealer and mac powder foundation alone. But every now and again I'll bust out my fix Fluid. Why don't I use it everyday??? Because this is not an every day foundation like I have to hurry up in the morning in get out the door makeup. This foundation is high coverage and feels heavy. It's not light weight at all. It cost about 25 dollars with tax about 27. Okay, this foundation come in a glass bottle( no pump). Which is not right. Mac put pumps on this foundation people have been asking for years. I use the color nw43. I was originally matched with a nc50 but about 20 minutes after applying the foundation I would oxidize to like....4 colors darker then my skin. I hated studio fix and I couldn't see why people liked it. I decided to give it another shot and get the right color from a different mua at mac ( a wonderful male who knew more then the female mua). The mua at mac told me I was a nw43' bless his heart because he was right. That's when I saw what everyone else seen in this foundation. And honey this is what you call glamour makeup. I have dry skin but.. .I can use this because this foundation gets dewy and will not stay Matte. Weird because this foundation is suppose to suit those with oily skin. In contrary....with the fact that...it do stay matte in winter. Lol it's so not a summer foundation. It does oxidize do go a shade lighter. It does smell like a jar of chemicals. I have allergies but this foundation had not bothered me. Set set set this foundation with a powder because if you don't you Will be a oil slick. Don't apply to much either because you Will look gross. Alittle go along way. There's only one way for you to know if this is the foundation for you...go get a sample. For one, unlike drugstore products you can actually try a free sample. And if u go and buy it and dont like it as long as you keep the receipt and (or) the black mac box with the bar code, you can get your money back. Even if it's been used. Hope this gave insight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 abbycreane on 6/11/2014 11:06:00 PM more reviews by abbycreane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I got this because alot of people were ranting and raving on about it! I found after a few hours I'd look in the mirror and all my foundation was gone! it feels very thick on the skin aswell! I found for my oily skin it would make it feel more greasy! not happy with it and won't be buying again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zmarie100 on 6/11/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by zmarie100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on the fence.
This foundation offers full coverage but isn't gloopy or thick which is nice. No offending smell, easily applied. (I've tried a few brushes and there hasn't been a problem. I love love love how this foundation looks on the skin after it has been applied.
Unfortunately it begins to fade at around 4 hours - rapidly. It just seems to evaporate off my cheeks and chin and gets scaly and cakey on my nose and forehead. I've tried with and without primer, I moisturize, and I have tried setting it with different amounts of powder. Nothing stops the fading. This ruins my whole face after a few hours and is a huuuuge problem.
Although I love it at it's best, the state on my face after a few short hours is just not worth it.

Additionally, if you're planning on buying this remember you have to buy the pump separately. I don't think this is an issue though as its one of the cheaper foundations mac do and you only need to buy one pump ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ravengerm on 6/11/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by ravengerm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was one of the worst foundations I have ever used. I bought it because one of my makeup guru friends raved about it, as did hundreds of other people online. But it was a total waste of money. Firstly, the packaging was not great. Glass bottles are not my favorite for the fairly obvious reason that you can't squeeze them to get the product out. You have the option of buying a $15 pump to attach to the top of the bottle but I thought that was silly so I didn't purchase it. Boy did I regret that decision. This foundation is so THICK that it's nearly impossible to get it out of the bottle once it's more than halfway gone without giving yourself whiplash from having to shake it so much. And then when the product does get to the top of the bottle, it ALL comes out of the huge top opening at once. Awful. But on to the makeup, I bought the lightest color (NC15) and it was still too dark for me and oxidized even darker once I put it on. This foundation is so thick and clogging that I might as well just rub a stick of room-temperature butter all over my face. The only good thing about this product was the amount of coverage it offered. You literally could not PAY me to go through another bottle of this awful foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products