Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(462 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Rednails0007 on 1/2/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by Rednails0007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing this for over 2 months now, so I think it's legitimate to write a little review here. :)
I hope that those pros/cons and tricks will be helpfull for some of you.

MY SKIN:
29 years old, so fine lines are starting. :(
Acne prone/cystic acne being treated with benzoyle peroxide every day.
Medium olive tone/NC 25ish. (not a Mac pro speaking here...)

PROS:
Medium COVERAGE (can hide some small blemishes, not the bigger ones)
200 NUDE fits me well during the winter. I do feel that it's a bit lighter than the combo-oily version in 200 nude though, so bare that in mind is you switch between formulas.
Beige colors are great for medium/olive tone skins like mine.
Doesn't break me out (outer foundation can make me react in just a few hours)
Doesn't set into my FINE LINES at all!
PACKAGING (yes!): It's a sturdy bottle that I'm not affraid to travel with (leaking/beaking). To get the right amount of product, I just put a finger on the opening and turn the container upside down and then apply on one zone at a time, blending with a flat top brush to avoid stikes. Almost better than using a pump!
PHOTOS: No flashback and airbrushed look.
COMFORTABLE on the skin troughout the day, not too oily/too dry.
TRANSFER resistant. (in winter at least for me, I've never worn it yet in hot weather)
Doesn't really OXIDIZE on me: even if the shade is sometime not a 100% match, it is easy to fix blending a little bit down the neck and contouring a little.

CONS:
COVERAGE: I would have prefered this version over the combo/oily version only if it covered better my acne scars... I do have cystic acne, so the big red spots/scars do show trough this formula... :(
"Can" be hard to APPLY to makeup newbies (can be striky). TRICK: blend well with a flat top foundation brush. I think that sponges soak up way too much of the product.
"Can" be hard to REMOVE. My trick, use coconut oil and massage it all over your face (yes, even the eyes!) for a few seconds. When you feel that all your makeup is melted (even mascara), remove the excess with a towelette or tissues. Only then, you can wash your face normaly, treat and moisturize. It works like a sharm to me! :)
PRICE: a little pricy for a drugstore foundation here in Canada, but well worth the inverstment in my opinion. Trick: I keep an eye on specials when I glance at the makeup aisles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hondurena89 on 12/29/2013 5:02:00 PM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay if you like looking cakey buy this product. Also note that foundation is not meant to cover your flaws...thats what concealer is for. Foundation is meant to even skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/24/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was recommended to me by the sale clerk when I asked for something more full coverage at Ulta. She raved about this. She was wearing it and it looked flawless and not cakey. THAT'S what I wanted and grabbed it. I tried this foundation years ago when it first came out (yes showing my age) and did not like the heavy feeling or the tightness. So I was worried but she assured me they had changed the formula.

I got number 200 Nude, which is a perfect match for me (NW20). I have been wearing this for a month now since I bought it and wow, it is definitely my favorite fuller coverage foundation by far. I HATE cakey and heavy makeup and this is not that. It is fuller coverage and does not feel like it. I didn't need concealer and my skin is on the drier side. The new formula is great IMO because that heavy feeling is gone and the lighter feeling is there with no tightness.

This photographs good as well and I have had a lot of compliments on my skin since I have been wearing it lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 julinko on 11/10/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by julinko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'll add my two cents on this foundation.
I have mature skin and I want my foundation to cover my uneven skintone but not look cakey.
I takes some practice but if I work it just right and add a bit of highlighter, this works quite well.
Let me also say that I have tried many many foundations over the years, from very expensive to d/s. I'll use this until I find something better that doesn't make my sensitive skin break out.
Thank you MUA for the headsup on this foundation

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellablue123 on 10/22/2013 11:12:00 AM more reviews by ellablue123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite foundation. It's amazing for special occasions, parties, weddings, etc, because it's high coverage. HOWEVER, if you are gonna be taking pictures, like flash photogrpahy, you want something with less spf. This dry/normal formula has higher spf than the oil/combo colorstay (spf 6!) so I would suggest getting the oily/combo one with less spf for better photos at night and during the day.

Pros:
-thick and totally full coverage
-thick but blendable
-lasts ALL DAY


Cons:
only the oily/combo version has a low spf, good for photos
not good for daily wear--too high coverage and feels like youre wearing it
bad color selection, i am asian so i have yellow undertones, just like other asians and also blondes who tan well. These tend to have a very pinkish undertone. However, buff and golden beige are 2 that are yellow toned and i just mix those.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fishynumber2 on 10/15/2013 7:25:00 PM more reviews by fishynumber2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite foundation. Some people said this is fairly drying, and it is a bit, but for me I don't get any patches or flakiness or anything. I put on a lot of moisturizer and I also use primer (Monistat chafe gel or Clinique City Block if I'm going to be in the sun) before applying. I think putting primer on might alleviate some of the complaints other people had about it being too dry.

I love how I can use just a tiny bit and spread it thin for a light makeup day, or build up coverage for a flawless night-out-on-the-town look, and either way it looks good and not cakey.

This makeup is $10 at Target so it's a pretty good price: less than half as much I used to pay for HE foundations and it's also better quality (read: LONG LASTING)!

That's my faaavorite thing about this makeup. It doesn't slide off your face and make you look patchy within a few hours. It STAYS PUT. Even when it fades (like if you wear it for 18+ hours), it seems to wear off pretty evenly so you don't look blotchy. Touch up with some powder and you're good as new!

Also some people complained about there not being a pump. I'll agree that it can be annoying when you don't have much left, you have to wait for it to dribble out. I think it's ok because since it's just an open-mouth bottle, you can actually get ALL of the product out. With pumps, you usually are left with 15% of the product still in there that the pump won't get out. Best change would be a pump top that you can unscrew completely and pour the remainder out, but all-in-all I don't have a problem with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmg613 on 10/15/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by lmg613

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Pros:
-As good as MAC Studio Fix
-Stays on all day, doesn't collect too much in creases
-Matte w/o being cakey, doesn't accentuate pores and fine lines
-Blends easily for medium to full coverage (applied with damp foundation brush)

Cons:
-Color. I had to go a shade lighter than normal to avoid the dreaded pink tint on my olive-toned skin (150 Buff), which brings on the slightly-less-dreaded vampiric tint. Easy fix? Lightly dusted bronzer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 10/13/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My skin type: Acne prone, dry, sensitive, prone to redness NC15-20

I am reviewing the 16 hour one. The one that was before the formulation change. Therefore, I am not sure if there are going to be any differences in my review compared to the newer version. However, I know some of the older version is still being swapped around or sold, so I still thought it was beneficial to do this review

The shade I use is Buff. It is slightly too pink but you cannot notice it unless you really study my face and I do not top it off with powder.

It is a much thinner consistency than the oily to combo one. It is also more satin finish and does not provide as much coverage as the oily one. The oily one I would say is closer to fuller coverage while this one is more a medium. It covered up all my redness and my minor pimples. It lasts all day long and I make sure to use a good oil cleanser to remove it at night. I have been wearing it all week and so far no breakouts. However, sometimes it takes awhile for my skin to react to something. I will update if there are or are not breakouts

Pros
-thin consistency
-great for normal to dry skin
-stays all day
-medium coverage
-satin finish
-gives a flawless no pores finish
-no breakouts (so far!) but it is very YMMV so always try it out for yourself at a place that takes returns

Cons
-hard to take off at the end of the day
-not good for oily skin: I have more oily skin in the summer and I would not wear this in the summer for that reason

Again, I plan to update in another week or so to see if there are any new breakouts or if it stayed the same.
Update 10/20/2013: Still no breakouts a week later! I love this stuff and I will continue to use throughout the winter. So, for those who still have this formula in the back of their drawer, pull it out and use it for dry winter skin! I will update again when I either have used up half the bottle or more which may or may not be awhile depending on other foundations that I use.

Update 1/28/2014: after wearing this more, I realized I didn't get breakouts but I had a reaction to the foundation. *iz sad* So I brought down the rating from a 5 to a 3 because everything else about the foundation is awesome and if it doesn't bother your skin, then I think it is an amazing foundation for the price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah0711 on 10/6/2013 4:47:00 AM more reviews by sarah0711

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am writing this review based on the old formula available before the reformulation to the 24 hour with time release technology (and pump). This stuff was my FAVOURITE!! It gave great medium to buildable coverage with a gorgeous satiny/dewy finish without being oily. The colour Buff was also perfect for me which I was impressed with. I had a bit of a love/hate relationship with this stuff at the start because some days it would apply really nicely and other days it would be a little cakey. After lots of trial and error I found the best way to apply it was with a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush with Mac Prep and Prime Face Protect underneath. It gave a beautiful smooth finish with no caking. Unfortunately I figured this out just as the formula was changed to a 24 hour formula with pump and my old bottle was starting to run out. The new formula is awful! Not a patch on the old one. I read a few reviews and thought die hard colorstay lovers were just being a little touchy about the change but honestly I do NOT like this new formula. The coverage isn't an issue for me but the finish is now quite dry and matte looking, it doesn't leave the same gorgeous satiny finish that the old formula gave and it accentuated the dehydration lines on my forehead and around my mouth. I took it back and changed it over for the Nearly Naked so we will see if this can replace my beloved colorstay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 judiness on 10/5/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by judiness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with all the reviews about the packaging, it's horrible! I use this in shade 150 buff and when it comes to match it's one of the best I ever found. It also stays in all day and applies evenly.

The reason why I said I wouldn't buy it again is that it really doesn't feel great on dry skin. I find it quite uncomfortable and drying. I also despite the sent. It's still the best option I ever found on the drugstore and the shade range is amazing. If your skin isn't overly dry or sensitive I would really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products