Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin

3.8

495 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.4%, zinc oxide 2.0% Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, HDI/trimethylol hexyllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, magnesium sulfate, isododecane, boron nitride, methicone, laureth-7, mallow extract, lily bulb extract, lactobacillus/eriodictyon californicum ferment extract, cymbidium grandiflorum flower extract, silk, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, ethylene brassylate, tribehenin, bisabolol, silica, alumina, isohexadecane, polydimethylsiloxane/polymethylsilsesquioxane copolymer, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, sorbitan sesquioleate, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben. May contain: iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide.


on 5/4/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation has good coverage and many shades to choose from. The finish is also nice but what I don't like about it is that at the end of the day, my foundation looks dry and a bit cakey looking :/



on 4/28/2014 1:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love Love Love the coverage and staying power. I stopped using it for a couple of years trying mineral and others keep going back to RCS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've used this product before and for some reason I stopped. I can't imagine why this foundation is amazing! I was recently on a BB cream/CC cream kick. It's all I would use on my face. I figured it was better for my sensitive skin. Turns out BB and CC creams aren't made for me. For awhile they worked but my skin is so oily I would be an oxidized, orange oil slick mess after a few hours. I decided to return to this during a visit to my local cvs. I'm so glad I decided to give this foundation another go because I haven't been more satisfied ! My face stays oil free and matte for my entire 16 hour day. It's so difficult for me to wake up at 4 am everyday, do my makeup and then have to touch up at my lunch hour 4 hours later and then again after Im through with work before I get to school. With this foundations I'm worry free all day! No touch ups, no shine, and no oxidation. My only concern is that this foundation is pump-less. It would be much easier to use with a pump but other than that I have no complaints. I bought the normal/combo skin formula because I read so many reviews on how drying it was. It's perfect for my skin because it keeps me oils free. I didn't bother buying the oily skin formula. I'm so happy with this foundation! Ill be sure to go a shade lighter next time because the color I chose was a tad too dark but I'm making it work. So far I haven't seen any new breakouts which is fantastic because I have sensitive skin. This foundation is sweat proof and pretty much water resistant so be sure to cleanse your skin thoroughly. I find that it's easiest to clean my face with a nice face scrub or my favorite, the clear sonic brush. I'm very satisfied with it and its worth every penny. It's going to save me so much time and grief from touching up frequently. I'm so happy =^,^=

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2014 11:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

I waited awhile to purchase this because usually thicker foundations break me out, but I decided why not. I donít have any good things to say about this foundation.. First it smells like perfume, at first I couldnít figure out what it was, Iím sitting there smelling my brush and finally realized itís the foundation. I donít like the scent!! Secondly (I got this in 110 ivory) the color in the bottle looks like a decent match for my skin tone, well about 10 minutes after I put it on it has a weird white cast to it (not in photos, in real life! Looking in the mirror) Pretty much it made me look like someone from twilight.. really not attractive. Also, it has a severely unnatural finish, when I looked in the mirror it was like my face was a white marble statue.. kind of scary. I donít know Iím almost tempted to go buy the next darker color out of curiosity butÖ


on 4/21/2014 1:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I first heard about this foundation after watching a make up tutorial on YouTube. I absolutely loved the finish it gave. I purchased this with high expectations and it did not disappoint! It was relatively cheap and I loved the packaging. The only bad thing I can say about the packaging is that it doesn't have a pump which makes it easier to use too much and this product runs out very quickly! I love the finish of this foundation. I have combination to oily skin and I find this product really mattifys my skin and gives a really nice flawless base. It's true to what it promises and does last all day. I will definitely repurchase this!


on 4/20/2014 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Awhile back I wrote a rave review for the oily skin version of this but recently I realized that my color, caramel, is too dark and orangey for me. Unfortunately, caramel is the only color that works for me in that line. The lighter shade is too light and the darker shade is too dark. So what I did was switch to the dry skin formula! (Even though my skin is combo oily) Caramel in the dry skin formula is noticeably lighter and less yellow than the oily one. I was right, it is PERFECT. It's like a second skin! The dry skin formula may have a little less coverage than the oily one but it doesn't bother me. It's still medium to full. Also, this formula doesn't make me more oily at all, it still lasts about the same time before I need to powder. I will be buying this formula from now on(:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2014 7:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Ugh. I thought I might actually like this foundation after reading reviews, but I definitely do not! I have fairly dry skin and many foundations tend to cling to my skin and make it look way more dry that it actually is and lawwwwwd this was one of them! I exfoliated, moisturized and primed my skin like usual but it made me have dry patches, made my skin feel tight, and definitely didn't look natural at all. Soooo disappointed.


on 4/8/2014 12:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yuck yuck yuck okay i kind of had a feeling this would happen to me from all the reviews but no i wanted to still give it a shot and that was a fail on my part its sheer -light coverage don't let no one tell you any different it is very drying and cakey even if you exfoliate it is a clingy little thing and the thing that drove me the most crazy getting the stupid foundation out it reminded me of those old fashion restaurants that give you the ketchup in the glass ketchup bottle and you have to shake it out and it comes out a lot like a mess its so thick and i got fresh beige I'm nc30 and it was a tad too light and not yellow toned its peach so that also was a fail oh well on to the next foundation .

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2014 6:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this foundation. I only used it because it's the foundation my mum uses and I receive so many compliments when I wear this. Only problem is it does break me out on my forehead with those tiny little under the skin spots/bumps. But all the foundations this ends up happening anyway and when I remove my make up they go away. I have heard a lot about this product breaking other people out but none the less I love the way it makes me look. It is a matte finish and I don't like matte at all but this is the only foundation I will make an exception for. It's also very light weight. Don't like the fact that it's got no pump though but oh well


on 3/29/2014 5:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used Colorstay off and on for about 10 years now. It's the kind of foundation I can rely on from a DS brand I trust. The color selection is sometimes lacking and the SPF can make my already pale self look vampiric in flash photos. I can't imagine why Revlon has not heeded the call to put it in a pump already. Coverage is pretty solid and I usually just layer a bit on any blemishes in lieu of concealer. It can be drying on dry skin (even this formula) but mixes with moisturizer well. The name is correct: it stays on F-O-R-E-V-E-R.


Back to Top