Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.9(482 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 elenidem on 3/15/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by elenidem

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I heard so many awesome things about this foundation, people said it would cover spots and blemishes perfectly and not look too cakey, so whats not to like?

The colour selection is very good and im in the lightest one, Ivory, which is a bit too pale for me compared to the bourjois healthy mix one.

However, it dries VERY quickly so you need to move fast when you are blending and it does leave brush marks so blend VERY CAREFULLY.

So I put this foundation on hoping it would do all these things for my skin and it just didnt do it. It looked so cakey on my face and made every little hair or bump on my skin noticable and as for covering my blemishes, it just made them worse. From far away my skin looked pretty good but face to face it looks so awful and i feel so self conscious when wearing it, especially at school! And for being in the dry formulation it just made my dry patches stand out especially on my nose it looks so bad i actually wanted to cry.

I am so disappointed because really wanted it to work for me. I dont know if im putting it on right or not because everyone on youtube seems to think this is a holy grail foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loucat on 3/14/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by loucat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 50 yrs old and buy the normal/dry in the color sand beige, it stays on all day, u can see a little bit of my fine lines but not to bad, this is the best price at walmart, i use this for everyday wear and for going out i use estee lauders double wear in the color pebbles . i did notice the bottle top starts cracking and breaking towards the end of the makeup but other than that its well worth the price

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 3/14/2014 6:57:00 AM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be one of the best foundations out there. I've used this for years on and off.Recently I've been using EL double wear stay in place make up spf 10. EL is good but colorstay IS comparable and in some ways favourable.For example if it's extra sun protection you're after , Revlon wins hands down. It contains both titanium dioxide and zinc oxide in it's sunscreen,has a higher percetage of sunscreen ingredients and has spf 15.I don't rely on any foundation as a sunscreen alone , I use a separate sunscreen underneath, otherwise you'd need to cake on the make up to be protected. This has no chemical sunscreens in it which are often the cause of stinging eyes.Colorstay has excellent coverage, great staying power.It's semi matte I would say it's not that mask matte, I'm 57, I don't need that.I find it to be quite natura looking, even though it's full coverage, depends on the individual I suppose. I use the shade sand beige and it's excellent for my NW 15 combination skin..This is a top pick on beautypedia ,so it's not full of irritants.This must be removed thoroughly,it can be be hard to remove.But any make up has to be removed properly.I think a lot of "breakouts" is just bad skin care.This foundation has been around for years, but if you've not tried it yet, I'd say it's sure worth a shot.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautyAddict62 on 2/20/2014 1:19:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict62

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

(Not Softflex, just the normal version)

I purchased this Colourstay foundation after hearing it was a good dupe for Estee Lauder Double wear......hmmmmm it is a good enough foundation.
I have it in Ivory which is a perfect shade for my pale skin however it is extremely drying. It has a tendency to cling to dry patches around my nose, cheeks & forehead and makes them even drier! I would advise to moisturize your skin very well before applying. Overall, it is not my favourite drugstore foundation but it is good if you're looking for heavier coverage.

Pros:
*Fantastic colour match to my skin, absolutely no orange tinge whatsoever.
*Nice, sleek & sturdy packaging.
*Lasts all day without getting oily.
*If you have very oily skin, no need to worry as this is extremely matte.
*Great coverage, really hides my red areas, freckles & pores.

Cons:
*Pricey for a drugstore foundation, I paid 12.49 for it.
*VERY drying on skin, despite the fact its meant to be for 'normal/dry' skin.
*Leaves a very chalky, matte finish which is great if you suffer from oily skin but it can look very un-natural & flat on normal skin.
*Can get cakey if applied with a heavy hand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dtormon on 2/14/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by dtormon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

Great coverage for decently-priced drugstore foundation! It layers easily and has good lasting power -almost 8 hours. My only complaints are that the glass-top packaging isn't easy to keep clean or sanitary, and the finish almost makes me look chalky (and I do moisturize well in the winter).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sS1221R on 2/10/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by sS1221R

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

bought this foundation after hearing the hype and needing a new winter foundation after becoming too light for my others. found my perfect shade and this foundation has great coverage. also stays FOREVER with powder. i have problems getting it off if i also use a setting spray. lasts through workouts, concerts, raves, school, etc. only downside is it gives me a weird finish. almost makes my skin look drier. other than that, amazing foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miszxlinda on 2/9/2014 3:22:00 PM more reviews by miszxlinda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to try a new foundation from the drugstore and decided to finally give this a go. I am assuming I picked up a newer version \ formula of this as mine claims to be 24 hours... Was it 16 before? Well anyway, I am in love with the product. I work 12 hour shifts and most foundations I've tried don't seem to last. I have dry skin but will get oily towards the end of the day and often will see patches of my natural skin peeking through the day. But not with this! This formula is thick, a little difficult getting out of the bottle but blends into the skin quite nicely. Although thick, I didn't feel the need to use concealer... This seemed to have FULL coverage & hide my blemishes very well. I have NC 30 skin right now and picked up the shade 240 medium beige. Looked pale when I had it on first thing in the morning but it oxidizes and matches pretty decent! Total love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Britini250 on 2/1/2014 10:48:00 PM more reviews by Britini250

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Best foundation for the money! Gives great coverage and lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rerreguin on 1/31/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by Rerreguin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually enjoyed this foundation! I have been using it for a while. I hate the packaging though i either get to much or too little of product. Wish it had a pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jujusioux on 1/31/2014 7:08:00 AM more reviews by jujusioux

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My skin type is normal but can be dry at times and I have slight redness around my nose and chin - Celtic origins!
When I started using foundation (30yrs ago!) I used a liquid, I don't think there was much else on offer. I like liquid. I can blend it easily and build up the coverage.
I find this one easy to use, lasts all day and covers well.
In my teens to early 20's I used one of Maybelline's liquid foundations(can't quite remember the name but it was something like "Longwearing"....blah blah) and it was brilliant! But they discontinued it and I have tried their other liquids and none of them are anywhere near as good as that one.
But I feel Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin is just as brilliant!
I will keep using this until they discontinue it or change the formula!
My HG!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products