Aztec Secret • Indian Healing Clay • Masks

rated 4.4(445 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MissOrthodox on 3/12/2014 6:49:00 PM more reviews by MissOrthodox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, only 3/5 because my first experience was not good.

I mixed this with Apple Cider Vinegar, left it on too long and it burnt my face. I had a black cast around both eyes and burns on my cheeks. I then broke out a few days later into what seemed like BILLIONS of tiny whiteheads all over my face!

I'm thinking this may not have been due to the clay, but maybe more my leaving it on for as long as I did. My face was tiiiiiiiiight to the point of washing it off in a slight panic.

This was about 2 months ago. Now my skin in healed, no black burn cast, no whiteheads. I will reattempt with just plain water and update soon.

However, I have used this as a fully body mask and it was alright, nothing special, although I didn't know what I was expecting. It was pleasant, but boy is it messy!

Overall, it's clearly working wonders for others so that's a great sign! I am positive that it will go better next time with just water! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 3/5/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I feel like a mad scientist when mix up a batch of this masque. I take a ceramic bowl, a plastic measuring spoon and use a 1:1 ratio of clay to Bragg's apple cider vinegar, watching the two bubble and fizz when they first meet. Then I use a small, silicone spatula to blend the two into a creamy mixture that smooths easily onto my skin. (I first tried using this masque with water instead of ACV and it was a lumpy mess. I've not repeated that experiment and have been sticking with ACV.)

A word about my skin: it is oily, with *lovely* large pores on the nose & cheeks. Even so, I only use this masque once a week tops, and I only apply it to my t-zone, including the temples if the skin in that region is looking a little bumpy, like it's thinking of breaking out. I also only use this when it's very humid and/or warm outside. My chin and jawline have not been acquainted with this concotion because that's where my skin is most sensitive and this would be far too drying, doing more harm than good in those areas. If the weather is very dry and cold, I also don't use this, or any other masque.

Those caveats aside, I think this is an excellent option for people with oily skin who get a kick out of making their own treatments and appreciate a bargain. The jar is SO big, and you use so little, it's crazy. I'm sure I'll never have to repurchase it. I truly expect this massive jar of clay to outlive me, no lie.

Typically I leave the masque on for 15 - 20 minutes, or until it feels so dry I can't move my face without 'cracking' - a darling look, for sure. (Good thing I locked in my DH with that 'for better or worse' line.) I rinse it off with lukewarm water & my hands, and always find that my face feels super smooth afterwards. There is a little bit of pink or rosiness for about 30 mintues post-rinse, but I've never found my skin is 'red,' nor does it feel tight or dry. (I've also never felt my skin "pulsate!" as the jar claims). It simplye feels clean. Really, *really* clean and smooth, like it took a vacation at a far away spa and was pampered senseless for a week.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 3/4/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing stuff! I love the way this mask make my skin look and feel. Yes, it can be very uncomfortable feeling as you're waiting for it to dry, but it's worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TracyNevins on 3/4/2014 6:17:00 AM more reviews by TracyNevins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

WHAT A MESS!! I am reviewing this from the prospective that I have two teenagers with acne, and a 21 year old that takes excellent care of her skin, but just need/wanted a good pore cleansing. So: mistake number 1: doing all three masks at the same time. When I opened the jar, I spilled a quarter of it on the bathroom floor! There's no inner seal...so watch out when you open it! It drys FAST...so we had to get that stuff up quick! We used pure apple cider vinegar...and mixed a batch for three. My teen daughter was crying because it itched and hurt, my teen son was unaffected and my 21 year old said she felt the pulsating sensation, but it didn't do much for her except irritate her skin. All three of them had beet red faces. It gets in your hair, clothes, and you must use a bowl to rinse it off...otherwise...it will clog your drains. I'm 45 with very good skin , and I use the Alba sea mask...which I love. I'm very leary about using this because I have no acne...and that's what I bought it for.....my teen daughter's acne. After that fiasco, never again. My son will probably use it up or we'll give it away...since it's priced right...no big loss...but not the promised miracle...:(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tigerlily28 on 3/2/2014 5:38:00 AM more reviews by Tigerlily28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a HG product!!!! I am 7 months pregnant and I have been trying not to use any chemical products on my skin out of precaution. However my hormones have been all over the place and acne cysts have appeared on my chin and jaw area. My ob gyn said I could try natural masks to really cleanse my skin. I had a jar of Aztec Indian Clay but had only used it once before, at the time I felt it did leave my skin feel clean but my skin was pretty clear and glowy to begin with.
I mixed the clay in equal proportion with APV and wow, what a difference it made!!! Although my skin was red right after I washed off the mask but it dried out my acne spots, made them less visible and gave my overall face a nice glow!!! I would recommend this to anyone (unless you have sensitive skin, you may want to test this first at a less visible area of your face). It is affordable, natural and long lasting!!!! Who needs expensive facials if you can clear the impurities at home with a jar of this miracle clay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jinajamm on 2/22/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by jinajamm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is AWESOME! I mix one Tblsp of mask mix with one Tblsp of ACV & it's exactly enough to cover my entire face. You don't want to apply too much and have the mask too thick because it will take forever to dry. I leave it on until all the wet areas on my face are dry then use a warm sponge to moisten it then peel peices of it off and put the peices in a paper towel & dispose of it in the trash as opposed to washing it down the drain because it will clog your pipes.

The first time using this, it drew out the impurities right away, acne cysts that hadn't yet surfaced were purged from my skin. It was amazing how it all just came to the surface.

I will defintely buy this again but it seems this tub will last a very long time. It cost only $6.99 at Whole Foods :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CherryJedi on 2/20/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by CherryJedi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is great!

I've been using it for 6 months, twice a week.

What I do is I mix the clay with a tablespood of ACV and green tea.. This is the best combination for me since the tea is rich in antioxidants, and ACV is helping with the pH value of the skin, so I don't have problems with acne and my skin is soft and fresh... :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amattoni on 2/20/2014 8:29:00 AM more reviews by amattoni

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for 10+ years. With that said, it's something I always grab when my skin is at it's worse. Mix with apple cider vinegar to a paste like consistency and apply. I leave it on then remove in shower since it's very messy. Great product and a must to keep on hand!

I just wanted to add a tip for easier removal: place a damp, warm piece of cheesecloth over your face first then apply mask on over it. When it's dry, the mask/cloth will peel off.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 freshface241 on 2/20/2014 8:06:00 AM more reviews by freshface241

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mask is very intense on your skin and really clarifies. However, it dries out my oily skin and leaves it feeling unhealthily tight feeling. I personally only use this on my nose now, and it cleans my pores really well. Don't rinse this down the drain, it clogged the pipe from my sink!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nova0407 on 2/10/2014 4:39:00 AM more reviews by Nova0407

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mask is pretty intense. It says that it pulsates which is true, nothing too extreme it feels pretty nice. I use it with filtered water. The first time I used it, it made my skin soooooo itchy while drying! I had to let it completely dry so I just fought through it. I left it on for 25 minutes. I looked in the mirror and this mask dried so tight and hard that it pulled my skin down and out, I looked so funny I wanted to laugh so bad but I couldn't. When washing this off, I pat my face with warm water to soften the mask, then I soak a washcloth in warm water and wipe away. After, I tone and moisturize my face. I noticed that the mask really helps with new active pimples, it'll dry it out making it slowly go away. Overall I do like this mask but it's not a must have that'll change your skin so don't get your hopes up when buying this and trying it out for the first time. Don't expect it to do WONDERS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aztec Secret products

More Masks products