Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(212 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nicki715 on 10/16/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by nicki715

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My dermatologist gave me a bunch of samples to try and I will definitely request a prescription. I'm 36 and have hormonal breakouts every once in awhile. When I break out though it's bad. For me, I find this works better for my skin type (oily/combination) than Retina-A. I've noticed a change in my skin within two weeks.
I'd recommend to avoid the red and peeling effect, to start off with an extremely small amount. You should only use a small amount anyway. Little goes a long way.
Most importantly, I use a light moisturizer (cetaphil) after application to avoid the redness and such.
Though if your skin is very dry, try the Cetaphil cream in a jar.
Be patient with this product before giving up.

Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jlo5229 on 10/6/2012 10:58:00 AM more reviews by Jlo5229

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am a 38 year old with severe cystic acne. In my younger years, acne was never a problem. I started flaring up with huge cystic acne at age 30. I have been on every acne regimen you could think of. Doxycycline, minocycline, soldyn, spirnolactone, duac, differin gel, and two full rounds of Accutane! I just switched dermatologists after a nasty flare up and she changed me to Bactrim twice a day, tazorac gel 0.5%, and epiduo gel. My acne cleared up in a week! I don't know if it will last, but I love the tazorac gel. I've noticed scars are lighter and no new acne lesions. I've noticed slight peeling and some redness but my skin is extremely oily so it isn't very bothersome. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this works!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lluvialcorazon on 9/22/2012 2:58:00 PM more reviews by lluvialcorazon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tazorac gel .05% is the ONLY retinoid ive found that works for me. I tried a couple other brands both in cream and gel forms.
Ive been using it for about a week with moisturizer/vitamin cream and my skin already looks 75% better. ( smoother, no knew acne, scars disappearing!! =) ]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 8/28/2012 2:19:00 PM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I'm 40 with hormonal breakouts. Nothing horrible, but enough to annoy me. So, I saw my Dermatologist and they put me on the .05%. My skin can handle almost anything...so I didn't expect much from this low % amount, but honestly, I've been pleasantly surprised. My skin IS smoother. My Derm told me to wait 3 months and then at my next appt they will up the % if I feel I need it.
I will say that I put it on every night...about 30 minutes after I wash my face. Avoid the creases of your nose and the corners of your mouth. Honestly, I haven't had ANY issues. My skin isn't dry, cracking, or anything else...it's just simply smoother.
I wash my face with Aveeno skin calming foam at night. And, every morning I wash my face with Nubian Black African Soap then apply an SPF 30. Easy peasy...I have noticed my blackheads are a lot easier to remove, and my cheeks are so much softer. So, it's all good..can't wait to see what the higher % brings! Lovin' this stuff!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyaddict96 on 8/6/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by beautyaddict96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination, acne prone skin that I have gotten under control for the most part. Out of nowhere, I broke out terribly all over my entire face, especially my chin. I'm actually in Sweden for the summer, so I don't have access to a dermatologist. My mom had this and let me use it. For about 2 weeks, it was embarrassing to leave the house. Not only did I have terrible acne everywhere, but this was really drying, and wherever I put it, my skin peeled off. Then, 2 weeks later, my acne was GONE.
It's a miracle worker, and it's pretty fast working too. It's tough stuff, so dry skin should be expected. It saved my skin ( and my confidence) and now I can go out in public once again. This stuff is great. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellemerson13 on 8/4/2012 6:19:00 PM more reviews by kellemerson13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just started using this product last summer and it has worked WONDERS. Since it takes a pimple 2 months to form I had to wait about 2 months to see any dramatic results. Since starting in August 2011, in november i only had acne on cheeks. I usually had it on my forehead, sides, cheeks, and chin once in a blue moon. Weather changes do have affect on this product. I am a skiier so in the chilly weather it did make me break out due to dry bitter weather. And so on with the sweaty summer. But now it is August 2012 and I only have a tiny few pimples on my cheeks. So it is all worth the money you pay for it. I use the 0.1% gel. the cream didn't help much. It does make your skin very dry though so you have to get the no- acne lotion. I think it's called non-comodegent. Works wonders. Worth every PENNY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iheartmakeup36 on 6/28/2012 2:33:00 AM more reviews by iheartmakeup36

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I've always had trouble skin, and I tried Tazorac once before, but I was too young and couldn't really stick with it. I would get to the initial breakout and peeling skin part, give up, and try something else. This time, I stuck through it and was rewarded with some of the best skin since I started getting acne! It makes your skin very soft and smooth, and is starting to fade my old hyperpigmentation scars. It does make your skin a bit oilier, but since that was never really an issue for me, it didn't pose much of a problem. If your skin's really oily, either look elsewhere or try the Tazorac gel. I think I've found my HG product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gracious_Lady on 6/21/2012 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Gracious_Lady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After trying other retinol acne creams with very limited success, my Dermatologist switched me to Tazorac. I've been on Tazorac to varying degrees for last 13 years. There was a time 3 years ago that my skin got really bad so I went on Accutane. Since Accutane, my face is 200% better, with no acne issues. However, my Dermatologist still has me on Tazorac for maintenance... and it has "maintained" well. I haven't had any acne issues in 3 years! There are 4 types of Tazorac... two strengths in gel formulation and two strengths in the cream formulation. My perscription is the one pictured... white & gold tube 0.1% Tazorac cream. I have used Tazorac gel before and recommend it for very oily, acne-prone skin. If any strength of Tazorac is too strong, I heard from my dermatologist that I can apply it, leave it on for 2 minutes and then rinse it off and get the same effects. (Those directions are actually on my prescription, but I choose to apply it and leave it on all night, which is the standard direction for this med.) Anyway... Tazorac...Absolutely a mainstay in my beauty regime.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 utaliz08 on 5/16/2012 1:54:00 PM more reviews by utaliz08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well hello Y'all. I just want to start off by saying that reading y'all's reviews I have hope that my face will get better by using Tazorac. I started using it friday and I seriously just want to stay in my room and never leave. My face is red, peeling and people don't look into my eyes they are looking at my skin. IT SUCKS. My face started breaking out about 2 months ago, I thought well it will clear up it usually does. I was attributing it to being in Nursing School, stress, not eating right and NOW THAT I AM DONE, STRESS FREE, BACK TO MY NORMAL HEALTHY LIFESTYLE. ITS WORSE. I am so ashamed of my skin that I don't want to go out a date with this cute guy, I don't want to go to the gym and I don't want to even meet up with friends. ACNE SUCKS. Anyways enough of my sob story, I started tazorac on friday....along with aczone and solodyn. I plan on taking pictures every week to map the progress. Right now skin is dry as hell, flaky and red....kinda irritated but doesn't itch. I started using Cera-Ve moisturizing lotion this morning and hopefully I see an improvement. I just want baby butt smooth skin for once. :) Wish me luck guys...I don't want to give up as all of y'alls reviews said your going to want to quit for that first month but it's worth the wait. Send the good skin vibes this way and I will keep yall updated.
God bless Y'all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kjmakeupaddict on 5/5/2012 2:22:00 PM more reviews by kjmakeupaddict

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So, let me start by explaining my skin type: I am 15 with light/medium skin, yellow undertones. My problem is not inflamed acne such as pustules etc., but comedones. Not the average blackheads one has in the creases of the nose but TONS of them all over cheeks/nose/chin. I do have some pimples here and there but nothing major. I also get milia sometimes. My skin is combination to oily but that might be due to puberty.
So, I started with the 0.05 percent gel for 2 months and it worked to some extent, but it removed only about 50% of the blackheads. Then I was moved up to 0.1 percent and have been using it for about 1.5 months now. All I can say is WOW. My skin is nearly blackhead free (except for ones in the creases of my nose) and I barely get pimples. It even helps to make my big pores (due to the blackheads) a lot less visible! Yes, it does make your skin red and flaky at first and I know this time sucks because you won't be able to look extremely weird with makeup on because it will all flake off but it's SO worth it in the end! My friends all envy me because of my skin! I do still have big pores but that is partly heredity and also too much sun exposure. ALWAYS WEAR SUNSCREEN WITH THIS!!! I wear SPF 30 everyday (Peter Thomas Roth's btw). Another thing that has greatly improved the appearance of my skin is Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Line + CeraVe's Moisturizing Lotion (basic one). Ladies, please give this a try. It is awesome. And also check out Paula's Choice - the best skin care line on the market IMO. No fragrance, harmful ingredients or colorants. Sorry for the long text but I hope I could help someone :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products